Cypress Creek Retreat and B&B Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
11 Reviews

Write A Review

Can't wait to go back

4.6 on July 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here last summer and are planning on going again this summer. This place is a real find. The owners are lovely and accommodating, the bungalow is private and comfortable, and (best of all) we really felt like we were able to relax and unwind. Overall, a really wonderful experience.


Pleasant Surpise

5 on February 07, 2013

This a great place. It is away from all the hustle and bustle of Austin. If you want a true Hill County experience this is it. Bring food/beverage for your stay because you will not want to leave. I think our dog had an even better time than we did, if possible.


Cannot wait to come back!

5 on June 09, 2012

I don't even know where to begin...! My friend and I rented this cottage for a week of working (in downtown Austin) and playing (climbing at Reimer's Ranch). The cottage and its location were just perfect. The hosts, David and Patti Boyd, are some of the nicest, friendliest, and most fun and interesting people I've ever met. They really made us feel welcome! The cottage is beautiful and just the right size for a couple or small family. I took the main bedroom and my friend slept in the loft, which is a bedroom in itself. The cottage really is off the beaten path, and it was great to just relax and take in the views. The Boyd's have some terrific animals that are fun to visit with too. Any rock climbers who are looking to spend time at Reimer's Ranch need to check out this retreat, as it is literally 10 minutes from Reimer's, and even closer to Hamilton Pool. We are already planning our next trip. Thank you, Patti and David!


Wonderful, relaxing, close to Austin and airport

5 on March 25, 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a wonderful three night stay. The cabin was perfect for the two of us, but could accomodate more with the loft upstairs. Patti and David Boyd were extremely kind and generous hosts. You will love all the wildlife on their property - birds, two adorable dachsunds, goats and Sammy! Visit to find out more about Sammy. My 19 year old daughter and I spent part of her college spring break visiting Austin and this was a wonderful place to return to after a busy day in Austin. It's also a good place to explore the surrounding area with hiking at Reim Ranch and swimming in Hamilton Pool just down the road. It was so quiet and peaceful and you could see so many stars at night. My daughter wants to stay here anytime we are in Austin, so we plan to return. I highly recommend it.


Awesome place

4.0 on January 30, 2012

WOW! What a wonderful place. The Boyd's were such gracious hosts. This place exceeded our expectations in every way. We brought our Bichon and he was completely comfortable and so were we. The lodging is great and the view is wonderful. We only wish we had more time to stay and enjoy the deck above the creek. Don't miss some time with Sammy! He is a real treat! Also one of the best wineries in the Hill Country is almost next door. Don't miss West Cave Wineries.


Thanksgiving at Cypress Creek Retreat

5 on December 05, 2011

A real delight--- we were so fortunate to stumble upon Cypress Creek Retreat!


Real nice and affordable cabin

5 on September 20, 2011

We were looking around for reasonably priced cabins to the west of Austin, to spend the labor day weekend. We wanted something that was more secluded, and peaceful. Most other cottages we were looking at were too expensive (because they were meant for bigger groups of 6 to 10). Cypress creek retreat was a perfect match for what we wanted. The cabin is located in a scenic place (it was pretty dry when we were there due to the drought - but was beautiful in spite of that). Its really peaceful and quiet, as there is no one around for quite a distance except for the owners. The cabin is completely furnished and well maintained. The Boyds are very friendly people. Their two pet dogs are very adorable. You can hike down to the creek near the cabin, and spend time on the deck overlooking the creek. Nearby attractions include Hamilton pool, pedernales falls, pedernales river, local vineyards, and the LBJ ranch. We are really looking forward to going to this place again, it was one of the best experiences we have had.


Great, peaceful Hill Country getaway

4.0 on September 12, 2011

We recently stayed at Cypress Creek Retreat, as a weekend getaway to unplug, unwind and destress. This place was perfect for that! Still close to Austin - it only took an hour or so to get there - it was a beautiful country home secluded in the trees. There would be plenty to do there for a weekend, hiking and spending the day at nearby Hamilton Pool or the wineries. We drove into Spicewood to eat dinner, but we also cooked at the place, there is a full and complete kitchen which is very nice. This place would be perfect for families. Set well back from the main house where the Boyds live, they are there when you need them but otherwise, you have complete privacy and peace. It definitely relaxed us from our busy lives, we only wish we could go there every weekend!


Great, Cozy, Quiet Retreat just outside Austin

4.6 on July 29, 2011

My wife and I went here for our 2nd anniversary and had a blast. It is super close to a great winery with several more not to far off. Hamilton Pool is about 5 minutes away and such a cool place for a refreshing swim. We had a great time spending time with the goats, the massive tortoise, and the proprietors. Don't skip the homemade biscuits.


Hill Country Heaven

4.8 on July 26, 2011

I planned a trip for some long time friends who were coming to visit me from all over the country. I wanted to take them to the hill country and I wanted them to see Hamilton Pool (you must see it if you visit Cypress Creek Retreat). I am so glad we stayed at this spot. It was beyond our expectation and the owners are fantastic. The cabin (although cabin is an understatement in this case) was beautiful and comfortable. The view was priceless and the friends (animals) on the property were a real hit with my group, especially Sam. You will have to go there to find out what kind of animal he is, since he's shy I'm not going to reveal that here. If you like birds, they have all kinds in the trees on the property. I saw at least 20 different types and that was in the heat of the summer. I can only imagine how many are there in the spring or fall. David was sweet enough to light his barbecue grill for us so I could grill tenderloin venison steaks. I will definitely return to this place and you should definitely visit.


Exceeded our expectations!

5 on June 28, 2011

This retreat is an affordable slice of paradise. My husband and I took his mother, visiting us in Houston from out of country, on a trip to the hill country and had the fortune of finding Cypress Creek Retreat. (1) The owners are knowledgeable about the area, maintain a beautiful home and retreat, are extremely kind and thoughtful. (2) The retreat itself is new, well designed, comfortable, spacious (a loft bedroom upstairs a master bedroom downstairs), and lots of windows with natural light and fantastic views. Fully equipped (huge) kitchen and separate dining area. Comfy living room w/ couch and TV/DVD if you need it. (3) The stunning views down onto the canopy of trees lining the valley below and the river bed are unparalleled - probably my favorite part. (4) close to several outdoor activities we did during our trip. Thanks Boyds!


Cypress Creek Retreat and B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $135
  • Reviews (11) 4.7
  • Rooms 1
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8308253111

Visit Website »

View details

Top