Iron Horse Inn Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
85 Reviews

Write A Review

Elegant and friendly.

4.4 on February 02, 2016

Diana was very pleasant and helpful. Would stay again.


Christmas getaway

4.0 on December 27, 2015

A fantastic getaway to a small town close to the big city. We stayed in the Phillippa's Balcony Room, which was very comfortable. We enjoyed the balcony, before retiring for the evening. We had tickets to Mary Poppins musical at the little Granbury theater. A fantastic production and very professionally done. When we arrived at the Iron Horse, there were snacks and wine for our enjoyment. We had dinner at Let's Eat in Bluff Dale, which was a real treat and then shopped at the little shops around the square. Breakfast was superb with homemade cinnamon rolls followed by a hot breakfast and fresh fruit. It was a fantastic weekend and a fun/friendly place to stay.


Would do this again

5 on December 21, 2015

Booked a room at the Iron Horse Inn as part of a surprise for my husband's 80th birthday. It was a wonderful experience. In addition to our room being beautiful, clean, and comfortable, we also had the opportunity to have several wonderful conversations with our hostess, Diana. During these, we learned a great deal about the B & B's history. Diana was also very helpful with suggestions about other sights to see in Granbury. Saying the food was great is an understatement; it was fantastic! Would do this again anytime.


Honeymoon at the Iron Horse

5 on December 20, 2015

We recently celebrated our honeymoon at the Iron Horse Inn and could not have asked for a nicer place to celebrate anywhere. From the time we arrived at this beautiful historical house and settled into our gorgeous suite until the time we checked out, we had a truly magical time. The photos online, although lovely, do not capture the spaciousness of the home nor do they display it's impressive period design throughout. Our host, Diana, was so gracious and friendly and what a wonderful gourmet chef! The meals were impeccable, so delicious, and the presentations artistically designed. Snacks and treats and refreshing iced drinks were always welcoming and at our disposal in the dining room as well. After she shared the fascinating history of the home, it seemed even more special staying there. The historic house sits a stone's throw near a park with miles of walking paths and only a couple of short blocks to the wonderful old Granbury historic town square, centered around the courthouse with nice restaurants, Opry House and quaint shops. We would recommend this place to anyone whether celebrating a special event or just wanting a peaceful and elegant get away. We have already recommended it to our daughter and future son-in-law for their honeymoon. Can't wait for a return visit!


Fantastic B&B experience - Iron Horse Inn

5 on December 12, 2015

It was hard to pick a place in Granbury because all of the reviews are excellent! We made a fabulous choice. This property is located close to the square and has a great ambiance. Granbury is very nice in the winter, the inn is located near a walking trail that is beautifully lit for Christmas. You walk through this to get to town! Pros: Great location Gracious B&B Host Nicely restored/ attention to detail throughout the house and in the rooms -really highlights the character of the home. There is a sitting room with books, games & movies. Cogdell Suite - Beautiful luxurious room with a lovely sun room -the photos are very accurate. Don't worry about light, the bedroom drapery completely blacks out the light in the morning! We were spoiled, the suite was so lovely! Soft linens, robes in room, chocolates bed side, very comfortable bed! Wonderful breakfast in the morning -tried persimmons for the first time! Cons - I'm stretching here....nothing that would deter us from staying... Hangers in the closet, you've given us wonderful robes and luxurious linens, finish the presentation with nice wooden hangers. Slippers - You spoiled us with robes, add slippers and it would be over the top!!! Toilet paper - same with the luxury feel, go with the double ply vs. single ply This by far was one of our favorite stays, the attention to detail and care of the home was meticulous. The owner was so lovely and very kind to us. She understands her niche and customers very well!


Wonderful Hideaway

5 on November 30, 2015

We couldn't have been more comfortable! The Iron Horse Inn is beautifully appointed with such casual elegance. The charm and character of the historic house has been resurrected with modern amenities! We stayed in the Cogdell Suite and absolutely loved sitting in the sun room during a chilly afternoon. The owner, Diana, was a very unexpected treat. She was a marvelous hostess, chef, and conversationalist. She made our stay perfect in every way! We will definitely be returning for more getaway weekends.


Iron Horse Inn is a wonderful place to stay!

4.0 on November 25, 2015

The Inn keepers were most gracious and helpful, and the food was exceptional. We loved our room--it was like being in a tree house with all the windows. The room was well appointed with a comfortable bed and sofas and an updated bathroom. We look forward to returning.


Beautiful & Historic

5 on November 09, 2015

This was a beautiful & historic B & B. Over the years we have stayed at many B & B's this is one we would love to return to. The owner was very friendly, informative, and a delicious cook.


Great experience

5 on November 04, 2015

Our stay at the Iron Horse Inn was very nice. The owners were very accommodating. The home was clean and well furnished. Breakfast was prepared fresh and hot. We will stay there again.


Excellent

5 on October 21, 2015

stayed in cogdell suite for our anniversary. No jacuzzi tub but has a nice updated stone type shower. VERY BIG ROOM. Extremely clean, not one complaint about anything.


The place to stay in Granbury

4.4 on October 14, 2015

We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts around the world. By far, this was one of the nicest. While the furnishings were period appropriate, the reproduction beds were very comfortable as were the pillows. The rooms were meat locker cold for our 50 something year old sensibilities. We had the Cogsdill room and it was very lovely with a very comfortable seating area. The breakfast we were served was absolutely delightful. Diana is a wonderful innkeeper and puts her guests comfort above everything. Definitely stay here if you come to Granbury!


Great Place to stay!

5 on October 13, 2015

I stayed here for 3 nights recently while visiting my brother. This was a wonderful place to stay- very pleasant, clean, good atmosphere. The owners will tell you all about the history of the house and the original family's story. The breakfasts they cooked were wonderful. Its right next to a beautiful walking trail the city made to the square which is just a couple of blocks away. I would definitely recommend this place.


Honeymoon stay

5 on October 12, 2015

We enjoyed our stay so much. The room, the brunch and the conversation around the breakfast table - all made for a memorable time.


Wonderful stay. Well appointed rooms and great breakfast!

5 on October 11, 2015

We had a great time. The B&B was great. We weill return.


A very pleasant experience.

4.6 on October 02, 2015

The B&B is lovely. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious and filling. Diana, the hostess was gracious and make local history real to us. We will be going back this week-end.


overnight stay

4.8 on September 29, 2015

We spent a lovely night at this B&B. The hosts are so friendly and want their guests to have a wonderful stay. Breakfast was really special. The coffee cake was delicious! The house is very comfortable and we loved the old staircase and the beautiful china cabinet in the dining room. Would definetly stay again. Ann and Brad


I grew up in this home as a child and was anxious to see how it had changed.

5 on September 23, 2015

When returning to the home to stay for the first time since it was sold by my family in the early 90's I was very anxious to see how it had changed. My family had owned this home for over 30 years having purchased it from the daughter of Dan Cogdell. My memory was of a beautiful old traditional home with large spacious rooms and woodwork detail like none I have ever seen. Much to my delight the home seems to be just as it was except for the addition of bath rooms which were certainly needed. We had two bathrooms and now there are eight. The bathrooms were all added using the very large closets so none of the rooms were changed and these additions are very functional and tastefully done with lots of tile and open showers. Diana McBride the Innkeeper has tried to keep the home preserved as much as possible to its original state which says a lot about her interest in the home and Granbury. She runs the B&B like a home with wonderful touches like homemade cinnamon rolls and gourmet breakfast. We stayed in the Cogdell suite which has a sun porch off the bedroom so you can entertain guests or just relax. My family created wonderful memories in this home and I cannot think of any other place anyone could stay that would be any more delightful and take you back to days gone by. My husband and I have traveled the world and stayed in lots of places from B&B's in Europe to 5 star hotels and though I may be a little prejudice because of my history with this house I don't think you will be disappointed if you give it a try.


Lovely B&B

4.8 on September 18, 2015

Iron Horse Inn is a beautifully restored home off the beaten path, but within walking distance of downtown Grandbury. The innkeepers, Diana and Don, were gracious hosts who worked together to prepare a delicious breakfast. I particularly enjoyed the all guests eating together. It gave us an opportunity to meet and visit with fellow travelers. This is a B&B that I would visit again and recommend to friends and family.


Definitely coming back!

5 on September 14, 2015

The couple who owns this B&BS were so kind and sweet....we felt right at home and loved loved loved our room. I can't remember the name of it but the room they re-did with an extra seating room with tons of windows. Absolutely perfect!


One night -- Saturday night. Walked to downtown concert in the square and had dinner.

5 on September 01, 2015

Diana was an excellent hostess at a supurb bed & breakfast. Location was excellent to downtown shopping and events. Rooms were large, very clean and bathrooms were very roomy for a turn of the century house. I highly recommend this property when traveling to Grandbury


Cute B&B

5 on September 01, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay here! Don and Diana were amazing hosts and the house was adorable. We enjoyed the porch at sunset and our suite was awesome. The Cinnamon Rolls at breakfast were hands down the best I have ever had in my life! Can't wait to come and visit again.


What a gem!

5 on August 12, 2015

The house is amazing. The rooms are beautiful and well done. Vintage with a touch of modern influence. Wonderful setup with all the necessary amenities. Will definitely stay again!!


Beautiful Historical Inn

4.4 on July 24, 2015

This is a beautiful, well-maintained old home. Service was exceptional, very friendly, and the breakfasts were wonderful. It is within walking distance to the Square, but not in 100 degree weather. Would definitely stay again.


Wonderful

5 on July 13, 2015

Beautiful and relaxing. Perfect get away from the kids. The area is very nice and the food is great. Can't wait to go back. I will stay longer this time.


Amazing experiance

5 on June 16, 2015

This is an amazing Bed and Breakfast. I've stayed at other "Bed and Breakfast" but this one is the real deal. They prepare a morning feast for you that is to say the least "Out of this World" Thank you for what you do, we can tell you love it! I will definitely go back if I'm in the area.


Great weekend

5 on June 02, 2015

This was one of the best Bed&Breakfast we have stayed in. The remodeling done was of top quality and staying true to form and era. The host was very knowledgeable about the history and has a true passion for the business.


Romantic Getaway

4.4 on May 23, 2015

We enjoyed our stay so much! The Inn is so quaint and the hosts were wonderful!


Mother--Daughter Get-away

5 on May 14, 2015

This was our second time to stay with Diana and Don for Mother's Day weekend! There was also another mother/daughter that had stayed the same weekend the previous year, so it felt like a reunion. The gracious hosts take time to listen to their guests, answer questions, and enjoy the company during their wonderful breakfast which is a 5 star meal in itself with homemade cinnamon rolls, quiche, and other beautifully prepared foods. My daughter and I consider this brunch since we did not have to eat until dinner later that night. We also were treated with extra cinnamon rolls to take home and enjoy...bonus! Our stay in the Sunflower room's king sized bed was nice and very comfortable. The historic home was built in a nice quiet residential neighborhood vs. in town with more noises. There are old historic trees on the site and nice views out from each room. This last weekend was a very heavy storm weekend. As we were heading towards the Iron Horse and called to tell our arrival time, Diana told me to get there as quickly as possible since a tornado was approaching. Upon arrival, we quickly put our luggage into the room and then were shown where the large basement access was located, so that upon the siren we could make our way down. Luckily the tornado dissipated, but the thunderstorm/hail storm was pretty heavy. Both my daughter and I felt very safe and secure in this well built home that has withstood over a hundred years of storms. Come and stay!. Enjoy all wonderful features and benefits and become part of the returning family of guests. Lindsey


loved this place

5 on May 08, 2015

Upon arrival the big shade trees greet you, alongside the large front porch. Our hostess greeted us at the entry, courteously, with smells of vanilla and maple lingering throughout the home. Our room was one of a kind and instantly felt like home! Pro's: Breakfast was served at 9:00am with the other visitors. The owners were very knowledgeable about events in town and gave wonderful recommendations. Con's: Deadbolt only, no locks on the bedroom doors when you leave (although I felt totally comfortable with leaving my belongings!) I can't wait to go back! It was like waking up in an alternate universe everyday! A much needed vacation, only a short ride from Dallas!


Awesome B&B

5 on April 16, 2015

The house was absolutely amazing. The restoration of the home was beautiful. We stayed in the Josephine's suite. The sunroom was so relaxing and roomy. Everything was in immaculate condition. Super clean and fresh. The history shared by Diana really made our trip. We enjoyed getting to know her and visiting with her. The breakfast we were served was exceptional. The house is located away from town for a little peace and quiet but close enough to enjoy a short 10 minute walk to the square. Would put it a the top of the B & B's we have visited. We will be back again. Thanks for making our stay special!


Nice romantic place in Granbury

4.6 on April 14, 2015

Had a romantic evening in Granbury (had never been here before). Don and Diana were very welcoming and friendly, as well as clearly experienced operators. Nicely furnished, very quiet neighborhood. Our suite (Cogdell) is the only downstairs room. It is right across the hall from the dining room, but still felt private. The room itself is very large, with a separate sun porch (enclosed). the king sized bed with its large carved headboard was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and good sized. Diana prepared our breakfast and it was delicious (quiche, country bacon, potatoes, cinnamon buns and fresh fruit cocktail). We would go back in a heartbeat!


GRANBURY'S BEST B&B

5 on April 14, 2015

My wife and I stay at B&B's quite often. WOW how refreshing to find such wonderful Host in Don and Diana. Most friendly and made every effort to make sure we had everything we needed. The house is Historic and the rooms through the whole house were made for comfort and personal privacy. The food presentation is 5 STAR not to mention the taste of everything served was more than pleasing. The attractions are within 5-10 minute walk and there is a very nice walking/bike trail across the street. If you are looking for a good price with above amenities--food--and great host I strongly recommend The Iron Horse Inn. We will definitely be returning. This is what Bed and Breakfast is all about!


Amazing B&B

5 on April 06, 2015

The Iron Horse Inn was hands down one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. The rooms for gorgeous, the owners were very nice and fun to hang out with and the breakfast was amazing. The homemade cinnamon rolls were to die for. We will stay here again and again.


Great Granbury Find!

4.4 on March 26, 2015

The Iron Horse is beautiful and the work the owners have done to restore it to it's original charm and unique design is just amazing. The rooms were clean and gorgeous with modern flair. The grounds and whole house were amazing as well as the breakfast! We will definitely be staying here again! :-)


The Best One Yet

5 on February 25, 2015

This is the best B&B we have stayed at yet. Granbury is a great town with many things to see and do. The Iron Horse in is the place to stay. Rooms are beautiful and have great walk in showers. This place offers the right about of privacy. Breakfast was fantastic and the owners took time to visit with us. We will be back.


Granbury's Best B&B

5 on February 11, 2015

Diana & Don continue to offer the best B&B experience in the area. Their attention to detail and genuine care that every guest is comfortable assures my wife and I we will always feel we are simply visiting with friends when we stay at the Iron Horse Inn. 5 Stars!


Beautiful home

4.0 on January 08, 2015

Excellent breakfast!


Amazing

5 on November 29, 2014

This is a gorgeous B&B, beautiful decor, the best of everything. Diana is such a gracious hostess, very personable. She served us an exquisite breakfast and spent time answering our questions about the history of the inn. We are definitely coming back for another Granbury getaway. Diana & Mark


great weekend getaway

4.6 on November 24, 2014

The Iron Horse Inn is the perfect weekend getaway.


wonderful B&B..probably the best i have ever stayed in...great town also!

5 on November 24, 2014

beautiful rooms and overall home appeal is great!


Wonderful!!

5 on November 20, 2014

Beautiful home, comfy bed, clean, great host and cook! Thank you for a great stay!!


Wonderful B&B

5 on November 17, 2014

This is a wonderful B&B. Diana the host is truly amazing. The food was terrific. The Inn felt so warm and welcoming. We had a wonderful time.


Perfect!

4.8 on October 11, 2014

This was a last minute find for an anniversary get away! They were SO friendly and the rooms were pristine and romantic! Food was to die for and Granbury itself its such a breath of fresh air from busy every day life!


Inspiring B&B

5 on October 02, 2014

The hosts were personable & fun. The food was delicious. We enjoyed the cleanliness & character of the place. Would definitely stay again.


Super place to stay

5 on September 09, 2014

Great pictures but the it is so much better in person, one of the best B&B's I have vever stayed in


The most friendly and hospitable inn keepers!

5 on September 06, 2014

Surrounded by history and welcoming, carefully restored decor, we discovered the most friendly and hospitable inn keepers! We are certain you will enjoy your stay. We have already decided to make the Iron Horse Inn a tradition.


Great weekend Retreat

5 on September 06, 2014

4th different B and B we have stayed at in This area and by far this 1 is the best Exquisite breakfasts, wine and snacks in late afternoon! Super great hosts and rooms were comfortable and quiet Great square a short walk and restaurants were awesome


recent visit

5 on August 12, 2014

I recently stayed at the Iron Horse Inn while on a business trip. It was fantastic! I will definitely go back. Diana was the ultimate hostess and her breakfast was fabulous! Cassie & Ken from Oklahoma


Wonderful Stay!

5 on July 23, 2014

To distract myself from the 10th anniversary of my sweet husband's death, I planned a short stay in Granbury like we had done several times. The Iron Horse Inn was perfect and I enjoyed the visit at breakfast with others staying there. The room was beautiful, extremely clean, quiet and peaceful. It was a terrific way to reminisce some great memories of our married life. I'll definitely go again.


What a great B&B in Grandbury, TX

5 on July 22, 2014

Wonderful house....beautifully restored. The owners, Don and Diana, are so nice and gracious hosts. The house sits just two blocks from the town square, and is easily accessible via a nice walking path. I highly recommend the beautiful bed and breakfast.


Granbury

5 on July 15, 2014

The McBrides have done an outstanding job bringing a top quality bed and breakfast to Granbury.


Great B&B!

4.8 on June 19, 2014

We had a wonderful time here when we went to Granbury. We stayed in Phillippa's Balcony in the front - it was spacious and very nice and we loved the balcony. The breakfast was great and the owner's were very friendly. I would recommend to anyone!


Nice stay

4.0 on June 17, 2014

The owners were very accommodating and shared some great history about the house and property. Great breakfast and nice grounds. They continue to make improvements and updates to the property.


Great Experience

5 on June 05, 2014

It was a very good experience staying at Iron Horse Inn. Breakfast wasn't a five star experience-more like 7...especially the chocolate chip banana muffins . Highly recommend this B&B. Furnishings were beautiful and the Inn owner was friendly and informative.


Our anniversary weekend

5 on June 03, 2014

This beautifully restored historic home pops up on the "Top Ten Bed & Breakfasts" list in Texas and for good reason! It is indeed a fine establishment. I surprised my husband by bringing him here this weekend for our 6 year wedding anniversary. The owners, Mr. & Mrs. McBride, have been absolutely lovely and have shared very pleasant conversation with us. The inn is nestled in a pretty little neighborhood off the Granbury Town Square, right next to the Veteran Museum and historic walking trail. The outside is painted in a warm yellow and landscaping, including daffodils, surrounds the house. The inside is pristine and has been brought back to life by the hard work of the owners. The floors are all chestnut colored wood, with rich chocolate colored beams on the walls and ceilings. The furniture is mixed vintage and modern Victorian with great textile accents everywhere you look. We stayed in the Bluebonnet Room, which was cozy, with 2 toned paint. The bathroom has lovely ceramic "slate" tiles on the floor and in the open frame shower, as well. Each day there are snacks in the dining room (this Saturday there were chocolate banana muffins and Brie, with iced tea!) and breakfast is served here, as well, with your fellow guests. We were lucky enough to eat excellent egg and sausage strata, cinnamon rolls and fruit and granola parfait Sunday morning. We enjoyed some fabulous conversations with our fellow guests and even made some new friends. This place has been nothing short of magical. We cannot wait to come and stay again. I highly recommend this lovely place :)


A new favorite

5 on May 27, 2014

My wife and I have been doing the b&b thing for several years now. Don & Dianna's facilities are fantastic - but so are many others. What truly sets this place apart is Don & Diana. The McBride's are extremely hospitable and very accommodating. What's more, they are veterans in the business, and it shows in everything they do. Highest possible recommendation.


Wonderful B&B

4.8 on May 07, 2014

Great place to spend away from the metroplex. Amazing breakfasts, lovely rooms, charming atmosphere, and only a stone's throw from downtown. Would highly recommend.


Wonderful B & B

5 on April 16, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Iron Horse the weekend of April 5th. Diana was a great host. She gave us a tour and history about the house. The afternoon snacks were delicious and we had a great beverage choice too. We will plan on going back. Thank you Diana and hopefully we will get to meet your husband on our next visit.


One of the best Bed And Breakfast places we have ever been!!

4.8 on March 26, 2014

Diana is an absolute gem...she was at the door to greet us; as soon as, we walked up. She then proceeded to tell us about her, and give us the grand tour. All of the rooms are beautiful, and extremely clean. After finishing our tour, she then gave us an upgrade to the room we had originally booked! We then got settled in our room, and went for a walk to downtown for some shopping. When we got back to the house she had some wonderful homemade snacks, and wine ready for us to enjoy in the dining room. Breakfast in the mornings were all wonderful, and a variety of things were offered... an egg dish, fresh fruit, yogurt with granola and fruit, and the cinnamon rolls she makes from scratch are the best we have ever eaten. I highly recommend Iron Horse Inn for your Bed and Breakfast choice while in Granbury. My husband and I stayed here during March for our mini Anniversary getaway, and truly cannot wait to visit again!! Thank you Diana for your wonderful hospitality, and we enjoyed getting to visit your home, and get to know you!!


great stay in Granbury

5 on March 24, 2014

We came to Granbury to visit family. This house is beautifully restored and furnished but not like a museum. Our room was luxurious and quiet. Breakfast and evening snacks were delicious and generous. Diana made her mom's cinnamon rolls for breakfast one morning; they were outstanding. We would definitely return to the Iron Horse Inn.


Anniversary trip

4.6 on March 21, 2014

It was a beautiful place to spend our anniversary. Don was a wonderful host.


OUTSTANDING STAY

5 on March 19, 2014

Just returned from a weekend getaway to Granbury, Tx. The weather was not that cooperative, but our stay at the Iron Horse Inn made up for that. Don and Diana McBride were wonderful hosts.The suite we stayed in was really comfortable, both the bed we slept in and the overall comfort of the rooms. But most of all we enjoyed our Sunday morning breakfast around the table with eight other people that we didn't know, but participated in a wonderful time of conversation lasting for two hours or more. A most satisfying time. Thanks Don and Diana for a swell getaway.


Awesome

5 on March 13, 2014

One of the best b&bs we've ever stayed in


Fabulous B&B

5 on March 06, 2014

Girl’s weekend at the Iron Horse Inn in Granbury, Texas was made even better because of owners Diana and Don McBride. The main house is a beautifully restored Craftsman style home filled with antiques, modern amenities and luxurious accommodations . Diana and Don are fabulous cooks – breakfast was amazing and our afternoon “snack” included gourmet selections such as baked brie! The Inn is an easy 10 minute walk to the Granbury Town Square which has many historic attractions, great boutiques and a variety of restaurants. The McBride’s have lots of plans for the Iron Horse Inn, including renovation of the Carriage House and the addition of a Spa. We’re going to go back with our husbands and let them BBQ with Don while we try out the new spa after shopping! Don and Diana make you feel like you are at right at home!”


What a fantastic place!

5 on March 04, 2014

I booked on line at the last minute, taking a chance on finding some place for the night. My husband and I were absolutely delighted to find a wonderful place. The room was perfect including fresh flowers and heart shaped chocolates in the room. Such a lovely thing to see as we entered our room. It was a very nice touch. Breakfast was served at a large table with other couples,everyone seemed to love meeting and getting to know each of the couples. We all sat and talked for a long while after the meal. Simply delightful!


A perfect mix of old and new

5 on February 24, 2014

We had a delightful stay at the Iron Horse Inn for several reasons. The suite was huge and gave us lots of space in the bedroom, bath, and sitting area (a charming and comfortable lounging, TV, or working space). The historic home had many lovely antiques but also contained comfortable and practical pieces that gave an overall eclectic feel to the entire home. In addition, the bathrooms were spotless and modern - I loved the way the home was a perfect mix of old and new. Last but not least, the food was wonderful and the hosts knew how to make you feel like a personal guest in their home. We couldn't find anything to improve!


BB

4.8 on February 19, 2014

What a delight! From the moment of our arrival until the sad time of our goodbye, Diana and Don were welcoming hosts. The house is stunning; beautifully appointed showcasing the Craftsman style. The room was magical. And the sheet test was passed! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and eagerly await our next visit there.


Over night stay

5 on January 20, 2014

Very nice bed and breakfast. My wife and I loved the room, the service, and the owners. We are definitely going back.


Iron Horse Inn

4.4 on December 13, 2013

Beautiful property. Friendly staff. Very Classy. A lot to do in the area. Very Warm Ambiance. SNACKS and breakfast were yummy.


Christmas High Tea

5 on December 10, 2013

I booked the Iron horse Inn and had them cater a Christmas High Tea for my ladies group. It was a perfect holiday gathering, the tour of the Inn with the knowledgeable staff, the beautiful table settings, the Christmas decorating, the tea sandwiches, sweets and tea were divine! Thank-you so much for a wonderful and fun afternoon.


Excellent Honeymoon...

5 on November 24, 2013

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast, and we enjoyed our stay. The owners were warm and friendly. The breakfast was delicious, and they had fresh baked goods and refreshments for their guests throughout the day. The bed and breakfast was beautifully furnished, and the king sized bed in our room was nice and comfy. The neighborhood it was in was quiet, but close to downtown Granbury. My husband and I would like to go back one day.


What a great weekend

5 on November 18, 2013

We had the entire B&B for our family and some of the wedding party for my daughters wedding on November 2nd. Don & Tabor made our experience memorable and very pleasant. We had the entire house to ourselves and they provided our breakfast every morning. I even had the cottage for my daughter and her husband to stay in on their wedding night. It was awesome. I highly recommend this B&B and the McBrides are awesome.


Overall excellent place to stay!

5 on November 12, 2013

Had a great one-night stay in Granbury as a mini getaway with my wife. Diana was extremely friendly and helpful. Food and snacks were great. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!


Charming B & B

4.2 on November 04, 2013

This was our first time to visit Granbury. We enjoyed the Iron Horse B & B very much. We plan to visit again!


Beautifully done

5 on October 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the first time last weekend. We have stayed at several B&B's over the years and Iron Horse is one of the best we have been to. This was an anniversary trip so relaxation and recharging was the goal. We were not disappointed. The Josephine Suite was wonderful. Recent restoration by the McBrides was done with excellence and their breakfast and hospitality was great. About a 10 minute walk to the square so it is not in the middle of town where some B&B's can get a little noisy. Peaceful and comfortable.


Great new Granbury B&B

4.8 on October 09, 2013

Iron Horse Inn was recommended by our good friend and incredible winemaker, Tiberia of Barking Rocks Winery. Not only is it close to the winery but Diana & Don were the most gracious hosts! We felt right at home with them and their guests. Her breakfast was delicious, creative, and oh so filling, too. I appreciated the comfort of the king size bed and the quiet, beautiful room we enjoyed.


Awesome experience!

4.8 on October 04, 2013

Diana was a wonderful hostess and went over and above to serve us snacks, drinks, and the breakfast was amazing! I highly recommend it! The only thing that would make it even better would be a bathtub to soak in but other than that it was great!


A FIVE STAR EXPERIENCE

5 on September 01, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at many B&Bs in the U.S. Very few match the elegance and cleanliness of the Iron Horse Inn in Granbury. Don and Diana are seasoned B&B owners, and it shows!


Excellent

4.8 on August 28, 2013

Inn owner was very attentive. Meals were excellent. Hot chocolate chip cookies on arrival. Highly recommended.


Great

5 on August 26, 2013

Diane is an exceptional cook. She is very friendly and willing to share knowledge of the property. Rooms were great, bed was comfortable.


Granbury delight

3.8 on August 20, 2013

Newly renovated, the Iron Horse Inn is a delight in Granbury. My husband and I enjoyed our relaxing stay there. The new owner, Diana, is hospitable and friendly. The breakfast was unique and delicious, especially the homemade cinnamon rolls. All the rooms are newly decorated and bathrooms completely renovated. Yet the home still maintains its antique vibe. It’s a good value and reasonably priced.


Most Beautiful B&B

5 on August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Iron Horse Inn B & B. I can honestly say that it is the most beautiful, charming, and clean Bed and Breakfast that we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The hostess is kind and friendly, and made us feel right at home. I felt like I had known her for years. She immediately took us on a tour of the stunning home, and went over its rich history. Delicious refreshments were made available shortly after our arrival. We were given a tour of all of the beautifully decorated rooms. Each room has its own personality, and they're all amazing. The cleanliness of our room was the best I've every experienced. It was perfect. I'm a perfectionist and very picky, and this B & B is the best I've ever experienced. The breakfast the next morning was incredible. Our hostess is an awesome cook. Again, the best breakfast I've had the pleasure of having. I highly recommend this B & B, and look forward to visiting again in the future. Thank you, Diana, for this wonderful, memorable experience!


Iron Horse Inn, Granbury, TX

4.6 on July 30, 2013

We recently spent a Sunday night at the newly renovated Iron Horse Inn. We've stayed in a lot of B & B's, but the beds here are absolutely the best!! Diana was gracious and generous with her time, and upgraded us (without our asking) to the Cogdell Suite as it was still available when we arrived. There were delicious cookies and drinks when we arrived. The excellent breakfast boasted several courses, baked cinnamon grapefruit, egg dish, coffee cake, juice, coffee. Everything is spotless! Bathrooms are modern and beautifully tiled and the bath towels are huge, soft and luxurious. The house is gorgeous, there is off-street parking and great location - a short (2-3 blocks) walk on the paved hike & bike trail to the town square. Lots of shops and a beautiful live theatre on the square. Many nice restaurants on and just off the square. Granbury has a lot to offer for a getaway, art galleries, museums, nice lake with sand beach, drive-in theatre.


A Reinvented Arts & Crafts Gem

5 on July 25, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in a lot of B&B's over the years including the earlier version of the Iron Horse. We just spent this past weekend there and the renovations the new owners, Diana and Don, have made are incredible. They have done a superb job of sustaining the original "Arts and Crafts" 100+ year old home while upgrading all of the guest rooms, the private bathrooms, and the common areas. Diana and Don could not have been more hospitable and accommodating; not to mention that the breakfasts they prepared were to die for! We highly recommend the Iron Horse for a weekend getaway (like we did), a longer stay, or for any special occasion.


Beautifully restored Codgell home.

5 on July 02, 2013

Had a wonderful experience here. The hostess was so accommodating, breakfast was delicious and the Josephine suite was perfect. I would definitely come back and send my friends and family!


Iron Horse Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $225
  • Reviews (85) 4.8
  • Rooms 6

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8179939847
  • Mobile 1-9134496198

Visit Website »

View details

Top