Walnut Canyon Cabins Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
32 Reviews

Write A Review

Birthday Weekend

5 on August 19, 2014

Walnut Canyon Cabins was suggested to me by a co-worker and it was a hit! Really enjoyed the cabin. It was perfect for what I wanted/needed. Laurie and David were so friendly. Wished we could have visited more but we were busy little tourist. All the chickens, goats, mini horse and donkey etc... Made it even more enjoyable. WIll be back!!


Peaceful get Away

5 on August 15, 2014

Peaceful, beautiful, exceptional cabins to stay in. If you're looking for a get away this it the place to go. We wouldn't want to stay any where else in Fredericksburg. Also the cabins are so clean.


Family Weekend

5 on August 04, 2014

Stayed at the Hideaway this weekend and it was perfect! Loved sitting on the porch to have our coffee and seeing all the deer and bunnies and even a fox!! It was the perfect place for a weekend getaway from our busy life in Dallas. Two thumbs up!!!


Anniversary Weekend

4.4 on June 12, 2014

Thank you, David, for a wonderful place to get away and enjoy the beautiful scenery. The Tree House was so much more than I expected. The pictures on the website are beautiful but when you see it in person it doesn't compare. The smells, the extra little touches in the cabin made it so special! We stayed 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back!!!!!


Beyond Expectations!!

5 on June 02, 2014

We just returned home from two nights at Walnut Canyon Cabins. Previous trips to this area and previous accommodations never provided the true Hill Country experience like Walnut Canyon Cabins. Everything about this place exceeded any expectations we had. The view was breath-taking, the amenities first class, the facilities were immaculate, and our host, David and Laurie, were incredible. Their desire for you to enjoy this "Slice of Heaven" is seen everywhere. We will be back and will tell everyone we know!! Jeff & Cynthia


Anniversary Get-Away

4.6 on May 19, 2014

Loved the peacefulness and quiet of the beautiful canyon! It's close enough to the city for shopping, other activities, but far enough out for great relaxation and viewing of wildlife in their natural settings. The farm-fresh eggs and other breakfast 'freebies' are a wonderful bonus! We were lucky enough to have a thunderstorm roll over the canyon one night for a fantastic light show! Thank you David and Laurie for a wonderful Anniversary trip with great memories!


Quiet getaway

5 on May 01, 2014

Loved the remoteness and quiet of this place. Clean cabins overlooking beautiful landscape. All the breakfast items needed are included. Linens included. Every extra bathroom amenity you may have forgotten is included.


Wonderful Experience

5 on April 27, 2014

David and Laurie are wonderful hosts. The cabin was beautiful and has a great view. It's close enough to town to be convenient and far enough out to be peaceful. We will be returning and highly recommend Walnut Canyon for others.


Time In GOD's Country

5 on January 14, 2014

My husband and I went for only 3 nights. We wished we had more time. We enjoyed the fresh eggs and sausage for breakfast. The farm animals made me feel like a kid again. We liked that WalMart and HEB were right there in Fredericksburg. This is definetly a place we will come back to. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!


Peaceful B & B

5 on November 18, 2013

Super nice place. Cabin was nicely decorated and loved the wood interior and the rope trimming. Very peaceful area. Loved the balancy in the treehouse. Will definately be back!!! The owners knock it out of the park with these cabins!!! Your missing out if you dont stay here!


So Worth It

5 on October 29, 2013

A few weeks ago my husband and I got married and chose Walnut Canyon Cabins as the location for our honeymoon. So often upon taking a vacation you need two weeks to recover. Not at this amazing place. We chose the Tree House and would definitely chose it again. The atmospher here was so relaxing we changed our plans in order to spend more time at the cabin just getting to relax. The little amenities that are provided add to the experience. From our little perch in the Tree House we sipped our coffee and watched the sun rise and later as the day came to a close we could watch the stars come out. It's quiet with the only possible distraction the wonderful animals that live on the property. We will most definetly be back. Thanks again for such a peaceful getaway. The Boerners


A Little Piece of Heaven

5 on October 24, 2013

WOW, AMAZING! "The Lookout" was the perfect place for a peaceful weekend getaway. The view was breathtaking and the cabin had everything you could think of right down to the farm fresh eggs and even the things you forgot. The only reason we gave Walnut Canyon Cabins a 5 star rating was because 6 is not an option. We will absolutely be back! -Bryce & Lynn


The BEST Vacation spot in Texas!!!

5 on October 05, 2013

We spent our 8th anniversary at Walnut Canyon Cabins. We stayed in Tree House Cabin and it was ABOVE and BEYOND our expectations! Plenty of room for parking the truck, trailer and the bike. The area is so beautiful and quite and the view is simply amazing! We had planned on doing the usual shopping in Fredericksburg but never really made it. We were so intrigued with the BEAUTIFUL Hill Country area surrounded by the cabins that we spent our time on the Harley exploring the beautiful scenery and at the cabin enjoying the quite peaceful atmosphere. We saw deer right outside the cabins and enjoyed the farm animals David and Laurie have as well. The cabin was exceptionally neat and clean and stocked with breakfast items, fresh eggs, coffee, creamer, any thing you need to cook up a meal. There are toiletries in the bathroom in case you left anything behind or if you are a biker that doesn't trailer your bike you may just not have had room to pack it! The cabins have washers and dryers with laundry soap as well. They have thought of everything to make your stay pleasant. We rode our Harley down to Boerne on our anniversary looking to pick up a couple of t-shirts from the local Harley dealer there. It was a BEAUTIFUL ride only about 35 miles from the cabins. We came back with a NEW Harley and the t shirts too of course. We met a new FRIEND in David. He even took the time to ride with us and take us on a fabulous bike tour of some of his favorite back roads and country side. We took pictures along the way, stopped at a local café and had lunch with him. He is simply amazing! Good people really do still exist and if you are looking for a FABULOUS place to relax for a few days or a few weeks with GREAT People and BEAUTIFUL scenery you have found your place. Walnut Canyon Cabins with David and Laurie IS the place to be!!! We have already booked with them for future dates and are looking forward to returning. Bill & Deanna, Burleson Texas


Our most relaxing stay in years!

5 on October 03, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a rustic getaway to lodge at, away from the city, yet with just enough creature comforts to make our outing enjoyable. We happened across Walnut Canyon Cabins through an internet search and it appeared to have everything we were looking for. After a picturesque ride up from San Antonio, we arrived at our destination. We were immediately struck by the astounding natural beauty of the grounds, with large live oak trees and rustic looking cabins placed selectively among the most serene wooded setting. David checked us in and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. You couldn’t ask for a more hospitable, friendly host to welcome you in. Later he showed us around the quarters where we were thrilled to see and hold a baby goat as well as seeing an assortment of farm-yard animals. The roosters occasionally crowing gave the place a truly “country” feel. Once checked in to our cabin, we were drawn to the back porch, where we had the most amazing view of the canyon along with the "green" rugged hills situated just beyond. It was almost breathtaking, and it took a minute to realize there were a couple of sturdy rocking chairs to sit down in to relax and take in the postcard-like scene! The cabin itself had everything you could want in a country place. It had an almost pioneer home feel, yet included everything form running (softened) water to a flat screen TV with an assortment of DVDs. David and Laurie even provided fresh picked eggs in the refrigerator along with orange juice, sausage and coffee. Our stay was the most peaceful, relaxing time we have experienced in many years. It was even more beautiful than the pictures on the website that drew us to choose the location in the first place. I told my wife it felt downright therapeutic - we can’t wait to get back and do it again – only this time we plan on making it a longer stay!


Highly Recommended

5 on July 09, 2013

We absolutely loved our cabin. If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing location, then this is the place to stay. We will definitely be back!


Amazing Stay

5 on June 07, 2013

We loved staying here. Very affordable and loved the cabin we stayed in (Rocky Top). It was beautiful decorated, and the owners thought of EVERYTHING you would need to stay there and were very generous with the amenities. It was peaceful, quiet, and David is very nice. We will certainly stay here again if we are in town. Highly recommend!


Best cabins to stay at in Fredericksburg, Texas!

4.8 on May 25, 2013

After staying at both the Lookout (once) and the Rocky Top (5 or 6 times) (obviously we love the place!) we recently held our intimate wedding on the deck of the Rocky Top! It was fabulous! Having become friends with David & Laurie over the years, they made our wedding very special with flowers, mints, toasting glasses for our champagne, and a beautiful granite cross and David even helped pick up a few items that were a surprise to both of us and arranged for the minister. We can't thank them enough for everything they did or, more importantly, for their friendship. God has blessed us! Brent and Brenda Bishop Arlington, Texas


Far exceeded any other Bed and Breakfast experience we have had

5 on April 29, 2013

Staying here -WAS- our vacation... we went in to Fredericksburg a couple of times but couldn't wait to get back to the cabin. So peaceful out there! The highlight of the day was waking up and sitting out on the porch watching the sun come up and the fog roll in and out. They also have miniature horses to pet and chickens... so you get fresh eggs for breakfast! Can't wait to go back!


ABSOLUTELY the BEST Cottage "resort" we have ever stayed at!

5 on April 23, 2013

My husband and I are from Ontario, Canada - we rented a Harley and toured Hill Country for a week in April. Hindsight being 20/20 - we should have stayed at Walnut Canyon Cabins for at least 3 - 4 nights instead of just the one. It is centrally located for Hill Country riding/touring and absolutely the best cottage style resort we have ever come accross. David and Laurie are phenomenal hosts and they truly have thought of everything to make your stay not just comfortable, but truly relaxing and luxurious. The cottages are all quite new and beautifully designed and finished. With the amenities inside - from the comfortable bed, soft linens, spacious and well appointed bathroom and kitchen - there it truly nothing that you will miss. We checked in then dropped our gear, went into town to buy some steaks and wine, then drove the quick 15- 20 minutes back to the cottage. We stayed in the Lookout and it truly was a breathtaking view. All of the wood work, trim and furniture in the cottage is so welcoming and warm - it just truly was a beautiful place. The website has a definite "religious" undertone to it and I really want to stress to anyone considering this place not to be scared off by that. Neither my husband or I are practicing people. We respect other's religions and as long as it is not preached to us in an attempt to convert - we say - do your own thing. We stayed and talked with David and Laurie in their home for an hour on our checkout and I can truly say that I would love an evening of sitting with them, having dinner and drinks and just being ourselves. Do not second guess your choice of this resort - it truly is the most beautiful setting we have ever come across and run by the nicest and most decent people we have ever dealt with. I wish them all the success in the world and hope this resort continues to thrive!


Very happy

5 on April 01, 2013

We are so happy that we chose this location. It was just the getaway that we needed. Loved the drive going into town and loved sitting on the backporch in the evening and talking. Farm fresh eggs upon our arrival and were perfect for our breakfast. Cannot wait to come back and visit soon!


Didn't want to leave

5 on March 20, 2013

Finding this place on the internet was a stroke of luck, we found the site just searching for cabins near Fredericksburg, looked at the photos, called the owner Dave (who couldn't have been nicer) and booked for two nights. It was the best part of our trip! Upon arrival, the property was neat and clean. We were greeted first by two shetland ponies and a variety of proud standing roosters and chickens. Our cabin was the "Look out", it was very clean and comfortable, stocked with fresh eggs, waffle mix and sausage. The kitchen had everything needed to cook meals and Dave lent us his 8" chef knife! .The view from the rear facing deck was stunning, the sunsets and peaceful nights were a wonderful introduction to the hill country of Texas. After being at the Walnut Canyon Cabins for 15 minutes we both wished we had booked the place for our entire trip to Texas. Thanks again Dave & Laurie for creating this wonderful peaceful place...We'll be back.


HEAVENLY!!!

5 on February 26, 2013

What a wonderful getaway for my family. We truly enjoyed the scenery, privacy and what a cozy cabin. I plan on coming back in April and bringing some new guests along, I am so looking forward to it. Thanks David!!!


Incredible

5 on February 04, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at Walnut Creek Cabins. David and Laurie certainly know the meaning of Southern hospitality. The cabin was quaint and the views were spectacular. This was the perfect weekend getaway! We will defiantly be coming back in the future! Dawn & Rene


Perfect Get-Away - very romantic

4.8 on June 20, 2012

We stayed in the WOODS Cabin. Like the other cabins at Walnut Canyon it DOES have a view, but the interior is all wood and very rustic/ romanic. All the amenities are very new and clean, fridge is large and we had a lot of fun making waffles and fresh farm eggs and sitting on the stunning poarch. Great windows that allow wind to come through. AC works great too though. Lots of privacy. No cheesy fake flowers or overly cluttered decor. Owners were great. Never saw them, which was kind of perfect with the getaway feel of it. Also recomend trying the cafe that you pass as you get there - Alamo creek cafe or something like that. Quite an experience. Stayed in other places and this is definiely the best. Will be back.


Dallas, texas

5 on June 09, 2012

What a wonderful, quite, clean, beautiful place to stay to get away from the busy city life. You won't find a better value any where. I can't wait to go back asap. The cabins are gorgeous with all the needs of home.


Peaceful and Amazing

4.4 on September 27, 2011

Thank you David for allowing us the opportunity to stay in your lookout cabin. The view from our patio was amazing and the pictures do not give enough credit. This was the perfect start to our honeymoon with the peace and quite, we only wished we had booked are whole trip here. Next time we stay we look forward to trying the farm fresh eggs with our breakfast.


Best stay ever

5 on September 21, 2011

This place was as close to what Heaven would be like.The owners put a lot of effort to see that have need of nothing.The sunrise from the back porch can't be put into words.If you get a chance to book with them you will never forget it.Also just down the road is a cafe Alamo Springs cafe you will not be dissapointed in the service or food.The fresh eggs in the fridge were the best.


WOW!!!

5 on August 06, 2011

My friend and I take an annual trip to Fredericksburg before our teaching jobs start back up. We found this place just by browsing the search engine for bed and breakfasts. We were so pleased to find this hidden treasure! David and Laurie were so friendly and made you feel welcome and right at home. It was so easy to go into town for shopping or our wine tour and then head up the hill for bats, burgers, and the best cabin view! Enjoying our time on the back porch with coffee in the mornings and wine in the evenings. Time flew by while we just watched out over the view listening to the sounds of birds and watching the deer. Wonderful place! We plan on going back again, and we may even let our husbands come too...if they're lucky!!!! :)


A Perfect Setting!

5 on July 15, 2011

I found these cabins while searching for bed and breakfasts in the Fredericksburg, TX area. I finally decided on Walnut Canyon because of the location, price, pictures, and the fact that I could get 2 bedrooms. We were thrilled with everything. The cabin is beautiful, clean, and tucked away nicely in the hills. The view is gorgeous and upon arriving, we found the refrigerator stocked with fresh yard eggs from our hosts' hens, juice, and biscuits. The cabins are centrally located to San Antonio, Fredericksburg, Johnson City and every major attraction the area has to offer. It was so nice to leave the crowded tourist areas/attractions and take a leisurely drive into the hills to wind down the day. Also nice was the fact that, being on gated private property, I didn't have to worry about my vehicle and posessions, and my children could play outside without worry. They had a great time seeing and feeding the ponies owned by our hosts. David and Laurie are extremely nice and helpful. They made sure we lacked nothing. We will stay here again any time we are in the area.


Amazing B&B, exceeded expectations

5 on July 12, 2011

Somehow this place appears nowhere on Trip Advisor. We accidently found it through the phone reservations lady. With only 2 reviews, we were skeptical, but arriving, that soon extinguished. This place is amazing. Somewhat new, the cabins are very nicely constructed and furnished. The view from the balcony is magnificent. Eggs, pancake batter, and juice are in the fridge for breakfast, and for lunch/dinner, one of the main hangouts and 'best burgers in Fredericksburg' (they were pretty delicious) is right down the road, next to the batcave tunnel (another must visit attraction). A note, we only stayed one of our two days, the other at the #1 Trip Advisor B&B: The Hangar Hotel. Let me tell you, Walnut Canyon was 100 times better, we will be going there next time we visit Fredericksburg. A very unique experience, would fully recommend to anyone.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much! I was glad I got to meet ya'll and we will be looking forward to seeing you again. God bless, David


Wonderul weekend getaway in the woods!

5 on June 09, 2011

This has to be one of the most tranquil places I've visited!! My boyfriend and I stayed in a beautiful cabin, equipped with everything we could possibly need to spend a relaxing weekend away from the hustle-and-bustle of the city. We saw so much wildlife while sitting out on the deck - numerous deer strolled by, along with a wild turkey. Hummingbirds flew around the feeder that hangs from the roof of the deck and bright red cardinals also flew nearby. David and Laurie were so welcoming and friendly, making recommendations of places to visit/eat in nearby Fredericksburg, and offering all their land to wander around and explore.


Just what the doctor ordered....

5 on May 26, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Woods cabin on May 20-23, 2011. What a relaxing weekend. The view was to die for. Private, quiet and very peaceful. Our host raises thier own chickens, providing quite a selection of fresh eggs in our frig. for breakfast. If you want to leave the rat race behind, this is the place to be. Our cell phones did not work while up in the mountains. But sitting on the balcony with a glass a wine, admiring the view. The phone issue became a mute point.


Walnut Canyon Cabins

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8304569326

Visit Website »

View details

Top