Old Schoolhouse Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
83 Reviews

Write A Review

Attention to detail - Airy and pleasant.

4.8 on September 13, 2014

Relaxing and comfortable - A great place to come for the three days I had and get some quality work done. Special attention paid so that most guest needs are anticipated and taken care before they are even thought of. Thank you for a beautiful stay.


Quiet stay in the high desert

4.0 on September 12, 2014

Stayed at the Schoolhouse Inn for some R & R. The inn is near the edge of town, but within an easy walk to most restaurants, pubs, and shops. My room was clean, spacious, comfortable, and very quiet. The owners are friendly and very knowledgeable of the regional history, town happenings, and desert wildlife. Breakfast was on the back porch and was darn good. This is a nice place to call home for a few days and explore the surrounding area.


Love the Old Schoolhouse!

4.8 on June 24, 2014

Great food, kind people and spacious rooms. :) Will stay again in the near future.


Old Schoolhouse is a winner

4.8 on May 30, 2014

In April we enjoyed a stay at the Old Schoolhouse B&B. The web site pictures accurately convey how it is set in the middle of a large inviting yard dotted with pecan trees. The Kennedys were gracious and interesting hosts who made a point of talking with us each morning (which we really appreciated). Breakfasts were great and nicely varied. We stayed in the large, high-ceilinged Reading Room. It has a private entrance and elevated outdoor sitting area. The sitting area looks out at the gravel parking area (not a problem) and spacious yard. We had great weather and loved sitting outside at the end of the day with our binoculars and bird watching from comfortable chairs. We peeked into the other room when it was empty and it would have been very comfortable also. We went to a star party at the McDonald observatory, easily accessed by good highway, and highly recommend that experience in this dark sky area. The Fort Davis area itself is wild and scenic and well worth days of exploration.


Old School House B&B

3.8 on April 21, 2014

Be sure to visit the NPS Fort Davis National Historic Site when staying in Ft. Davis, TX, and the nearby McDonald Observatory.


Peaceful green oasis

5 on April 09, 2014

Wonderful restful B&B ! Great hosts and delicious breakfast!


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on February 03, 2014

We stayed at the Old Schoolhouse B&B in early January 2014. It was a great experience. It was super cold out, but the inn was cozy. The decor was very old Texas which made it feel very authentic. The new R&R suite we stayed in had a private bath and study area. It was a great value. The owners were very kind and made a great breakfast for us. If you are in the area stay here!

Innkeeper Response
Well, as the first guest in our newly formed R&R suite, we are glad to hear that it was a good experience. We feel this new configuration will allow people more room to spread out and relax. And the private bath should be helpful as well. Thanks for taking the time to post, and please come back.


Fort Davis - Great place to stay

5 on February 02, 2014

We recently spent three nights at the Old Schoolhouse B&B on a trip to Fort Davis. The location is very convenient to the McDonald Observatory, Marfa, and Alpine. It is quiet but still just a short walk into town for dinner or other shops. We stayed in the "Readin' Room" which is amply furnished with a king size bed, sofa, coffee table, extra blankets, stands for your luggage, separate bathroom, large shower, etc. It even has a separate entrance right out front to your car (there is ample, easy parking). We found the room and common area equipped with everything we needed. The place is nicely decorated and feels homey and casual. Carla and Steve are wonderful hosts who swapped stories with us during our leisurely breakfasts and shared their knowledge of the area. The hot breakfasts are very good (we had eggs and Belgian waffles on different mornings). Because it was chilly when we visited, we didn't spend much time outside, but there is a nice back porch that looks like it would be a great place to relax on a warm afternoon. We would definitely stay there again.


Welcoming and Warm B&B

5 on November 05, 2013

This was our first stay in a B&B and we look forward to a return trip. The hosts were warm and welcoming and our room and adjoining bath were charming and clean and very comfortable. The breakfast meal was delicious and nobody could finish all that great food! We met lovely and interesting guests. It was quiet and private and exceeded our expectations.


Enjoyable

4.6 on October 14, 2013

My partner & I stayed here for a night. The room was very nice looking and had plenty of character. Which is why one stays at a B&B, right? Plenty of extra quilts for the cold night air, but I guess the house is insulated so well that the temperature indoors was perfect without any cooling or heating. The hosts were pleasant company over breakfast. (Which was served on the dot; that's really my only nit: some flexibility there would have suited my morning habits.) The B&B is at the edge of town with a gorgeous view of the mountains. The neighbourhood is pretty to walk in but unlit so do your walking during the day: it's pitch black at night. If we'd stayed for another night, we would have enjoyed sitting out in the large yard with the house.


Wonderful night

5 on August 01, 2013

From the beautiful grounds to the superb hospitality of the owners, the thick white bath towels, and the sense of historical presence, the Old Schoolhouse B & B is the most delightful and comfortable B & B I've ever experienced. It would make Ft. Davis a wonderful destination ll by itself. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Innkeeper Response
We're delighted that he hit all the marks with you. That's our goal. Please come back anytime you're out our way.


Two nights in Fort Davis

5 on June 23, 2013

The Old Schoolhouse was a wonderful stay in the small town of Fort Davis. A beautifully kept home and property, it was a serene and friendly place to stay. I enjoyed meeting and chatting with Steve and Carla, and liked the unusual breakfast options. Brian Bourgeois


25th anniversary

4.8 on June 10, 2013

Our night in the 'riting room was comfortable & enjoyable. Though the room was not large it was tastefully decorated. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast out on the deck in the lovely backyard. Our host & hostess were pleasant to visit with & informative about the area.


Wonderful weekend

4.8 on June 10, 2013

Great room and great hosts. The room was very comfortable and the bed was outstanding. We enjoyed sitting outside in the evening and watching the deer wander in and out of the yard. Breakfast was very good. The location is incredibly quiet and also convenient.


The Old Shoolhouse is Fantastic

5 on April 30, 2013

Don't let the dirt roads of Ft. Davis put you off. If you are in the area or just passing through this is a great stay. The reading room is large and beautiful. The king size bed has a tempurpedeic mattress that made the bed the most comfortable in all of my travels. The room had a private entrance (great if you are visiting McDonald Observatory and coming in late) and a porch overlooking a green and meticulously kept property. A herd of deer entered at dusk to chomp in the grass. The breakfast was gourmet and ample with baked eggs and fresh fruit in a goregous presentation. The hosts were friendly and helpful and sat with us during breakfast discussing the area and our travels.


Excellent B & B

4.4 on April 28, 2013

This is a wonderful B and B and Carla is an excellent hostess. The one drawback is the need to share a bathroom when both of the smaller rooms are occupied. This is the one and only negative.


Great place!

4.4 on April 20, 2013

Welcoming and nice atmosphere, excellent room!


Rested for a Soaring adventure

5 on April 04, 2013

I just spent six wonderful days in the Ft. Davis, Marfa area. Each day was started with a different breakfast surprise - all very delicious. I especially enjoyed the Eggs Benedict, the waffles, and the Scotch Eggs all with lots of fresh fruit. Morning chatter amongst guests was always delightful and some mornings quite witty. The hosts, Steve and Carla, shared lots of good area tips on what to do and see. Between Ft. Davis, Marfa and Alpine there are lots of great places to have an evening meal. Then a relaxing night in a cosy room with a restful bed. Each day I was in perfect shape for a lot of fun soaring in Burt Compton's glider at Marfa Airport. Highly recommend the Old Schoolhouse as the best B&B in the area.


Fantastic Hosts!

5 on April 01, 2013

Our spring break visit to Big Bend and Ft. Davis turned out a little differently than we had planned, but thanks to Steve and Carla, we were able to make the best of it! Their kindness and generosity will not be forgotten. The family style breakfasts in the morning were such a pleasure. Steve and Carla really know a lot about the area and had some great suggestions on things to do/see. On top of their caring service, the house and rooms are beautiful and incredibly comfortable. I hope to make it back again sometime soon!


a happy visit

4.0 on January 07, 2013

Carla and Steve did everything possible to make our recent short stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. They have made the old school into a delightful place to stay, without the formality of many US bed and breakfasts - one feels like part of the family.


Superb Bed & Breakfast experience.

5 on January 03, 2013

This quiet and secluded, beautifully maintained B&B is top notch. Best nights sleep in ages and a great breakfast at this historic property. Strongly recommend.


First Timers!

4.8 on January 02, 2013

This was the first time we have ever stayed at a bed & breakfast. The Kennedy's were extremely polite. Hats off to the cook(s)! We are looking forward to going back again soon.


Hospitality at Old Schoolhouse

5 on November 01, 2012

All four in our party slept well on the firm, comfortable beds--the most important aspect of any bedroom. Carla even put some of our dirty clothes through a cycle on her washing machine and we found them folded on the bed that evening. (We had packed clothes for a colder temperature and the unseasonably hot weather caught us by surprise.) We found the value and the cleanliness to be outstanding. Carla's breakfasts were delicious. Breakfast provided the opportunity for us to converse with the other couple staying at Old Schoolhouse and with Steve and Carla. We all enjoyed the substantive talks with them. Should we visit west Texas again, we will certainly stay at Steve and Carla's.


Gem in a Rugged Town

4.6 on October 18, 2012

Short stay in an area with few amenities. Provides a very enjoyable and restful place while taking the activities in the area such as McDonalds Observatory.


Best Towels in the West

5 on October 17, 2012

This is a great place to say, came in late Sunday night, everything is immaculate. Got up the next morning early walked on the dirt roads down to Fort Davis. It was like being back in time the dirt roads in the fog, you can almost hear the voices of the past. Carla and Steve a great host and make a great breakfast. If you're in Fort Davis this is the place to stay, everything is first rate and I think the towels are the nicest house ever used in my life. The women will love this place, guys will to, its very rustic, historic, and meticulously kept. David Warmke


Dave & Sandy Brady's review - Irving, TX

4.8 on September 07, 2012

We loved our visit!! Was so peaceful and quiet. Outdoor/indoor space allowed us freedom to do as we wished and the breakfasts were wonderful! We also enjoyed dropping into your church on Sunday - we had a very enjoyable Labor Day weekend...Thanks!!!


A wonderful experience

5 on September 06, 2012

Made me feel very pampered. Every thing was very luxurious and the food was exceptional.


great bed & breakfast.

5 on August 19, 2012

We have a wonderful experience. Would highly recommend to everyone. A great place to stay. Can't wait to go back to the Fort Davis area. thanks Steve & Carla


Bed and Breakfast of the West

5 on August 13, 2012

My husband and I were in the Ft. Davis area for my Great-Aunt Teda's 100th birthday party. We chose to try a Bed & Breakfast this visit for the first time and I am glad we did. Steve and Carla are both friendly, inviting and amazing hosts. The breakfast recipes were new to me, and along with traditional offerings just terrific both mornings as we all cleaned our plates. The house was inviting, clean, well decorated to fit the West Texas atmosphere. My daughter was sure her room must have been the Principals Office and the beds comfy and cozy when we were there to sleep! It was a very busy weekend for us, we were able to come and go without feeling like intruders. and I felt safe in the house and surroundings. I highly recommend the Old School House when you are in Ft. Davis area. We hope to return and stay a bit longer, why not? To get a great nights sleep and a wonderful breakfast is restful, accommodating and fun. Thanks you two, enjoyed and hope to visit again soon. Larry and Vicki Coker Royse City, Texas PS Thanks so much for the snacks, they came in handy for the road home.


we are going back

5 on August 09, 2012

My wife and I only had a brief stay at the Old Schoolhouse B&B, but it was tremendous. The folks, Steve and Carla, are friendly and enthusiastic about the area (W TX desert mountains) and provide a very warm atmosphere in the beautiful, historic structure. (They are also great cooks!) We'd definitely recommend staying there, and we'll likely be back in the near(-ish) future.


Great food, friendly company, nice yard.

4.0 on July 25, 2012

I enjoyed our stay. It was as I expected. The food was very good and I really enjoyed the company during breakfast. Very nice yard and great view's. My only downside is that there wasn't a good spot to setup a scope on the property. But there were several places nearby to find a good view.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking the time to review us. It certainly is a trade-off for views of the lovely night sky, or the shade of our pecan orchard. We are glad you were able to enjoy one of the several local areas to set up your scopes. Our other vacation rental property (Hopes Ranch) has completely unobstructed views and may be a good choice for your next visit. We're anxious to have you for another visit.


Best place to stay in the Davis Mountains

5 on July 18, 2012

We stayed three nights and felt at home and welcome from the moment we arrived. Steve and Carla are excellent hosts. We fully enjoyed the Reading Room and found the bed to be exceptionally comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and the conversation around the table on the deck casual and friendly. We highly recommend the Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast.


First Time Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 14, 2012

This was our first time to visit a Bed and Breakfast. I was a little skeptical about sharing a bathroom. We were late getting there but Carla met us at the door with a nice welcome. She walked us through with a well thought out description of keys, bathroom, drinks, ice, when coffee would be made and when breakfast would be served. We are a technology oriented couple. The number of plugs came as a complete surprise. I have never stayed anywhere that had enough plugs for both smart phones, two computers and a Nook Color! The queen size bed was very comfortable. There were two lamps on either side of the bed and an wonderful ceiling fan. Also, there was an alarm clock and a CD/Radio in the window. On the dresser was a notebook of local restaurants and attractions. There were three typed sheets on the dresser to answer all of our questions about the Bed and Breakfast including how to connect to their network. On the back of the door were two robes and plenty of hooks for your clothes. Breakfast was served at 8 AM on the dot both mornings. The food was above excellent! Steve and Carla were very friendly and helped everyone get aquainted. I was wondering how eating with two other strange couples would feel. It turned out to be a lot of fun. This was the most well thought out place to stay for guest comfort! My husband and I plan to stay here again. We felt very pampered!

Innkeeper Response
So glad to know that your first visit to a B&B was so positive. Each facility is unique and focused on hospitality in an exceptional way. We hope this was just the first of many visits for you to our inn.


Great place to stay

5 on July 09, 2012

Comfortable, great owners and a wonderful breakfast. Highly recommended.


Great experience in Fort Davis

5 on June 30, 2012

The Old Schoolhouse is a treat not to be missed1 Excellent experience and a real credit to Carla and Steve. Thanks for making us so welcome.


Wonderful relaxing trip

5 on June 10, 2012

We stayed at the Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast, and enjoyed the relaxing retreat. We had two delicious breakfasts, and they worked around our food allergies. We'd stayed a few years before, and were delighted to see our suggestions implemented! Wished we had two sets of keys. We really enjoy the Readin' Room with its private bathroom and entrance.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for coming to see us again. We take every suggestion seriously, and we implement any of them that we can for the benefit of future guests. So we are glad you noticed. On your next visit, we can happily give you a second set of keys.


Most relaxing vacation I have ever had!!

5 on May 09, 2012

This is a great bed and breadfast!! Steve and Carla are exceptional hosts. The breakfasts were great and Steve was very helpful in plannng our days. It was so quiet and peaceful. We would definately stay there again.


a favorite B & B

5 on May 08, 2012

Great place for all 3 couples. to stay. Loved the old schoolhouse in the middle of a pecan tree oasis. Delightful hosts, delicious food and great accomodations!


Nice peace and quiet

4.0 on February 21, 2012

This is the second time I rent the reading room. I need to be deconected from the city and my work, and this place it's PERFECT, for that. NO tv, NO radio, NO phone. This place is perfect if you need a "me time" to be conected with your honey. I will be back again.


A Perfect Stay

5 on February 03, 2012

We stayed at the Old School House for two nights in January. It was lovely, from the big comfy bed to Carla's superb freshly cooked breakfasts. The best bit was Steve and Carla's wonderful hospitality and friendliness. They are terrific hosts. This is a luxury B&B at very reasonable prices - highly recommended.


Great Stay

4.6 on January 25, 2012

This is a fantastic place. Cozy, warm room on a 20 degree night in Fort Davis. Very easy access to the McDonald Observatory. Steve and Carla were very kind and engaging to our 8 year old twins. The breakfast was hearty and had us raring to go for our trip to Big Bend. We will stay there again next time we visit the area.


Enjoyed our stay

5 on November 29, 2011

Steve and Carla were wonderful hosts. Our two kids loved them and Steve shared his amazing rock collection with them. Breakfast was tasty and the baked oatmeal was really good! Clean, warm room. (We stayed in the Reading room)


Great B&B

4.4 on November 10, 2011

Lots of character, comfortable, friendly hosts, great home cooked breakfast


Wonderful Experience

5 on October 25, 2011

Just stayed there over the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it. Love the old charm and Steve and Carla were very welcoming. Both are great cooks. I'd recommend staying here for any length of time. Thanks again and we'll call when we plan on making another trip out that way! Richard and Teri


A Great Fort Davis Experience

5 on October 11, 2011

I was in Fort Davis, TX, to participate in the Big yearly West Texas Trail Walker's event. The Volksporting event was fantastic. I found lodging at the Old School House Bed and Breakfast and that was also a superb experience. It is a very well kept property in the heart of Fort Davis and the Innkeepers are a delightful couple. The facility was excellent, clean , and oh so comfortable. Sunrise and Sunset are experiences not to be missed. Karla' breakfasts are delicious and worth every bite. The experience is well worth the modest cost.


Old Schoolhouse B&B

5 on July 21, 2011

This B&B was so relaxing and the breakfast was superior. It was private; it had a small-town feel but it was not boring. The innkeepers were warm and friendly.


Rest and relaxation in Ft. Davis, TX

4.4 on April 04, 2011

We stayed in the Reading room which is very large with a comfortable king-sized bed and a large couch. There is no television in the room, so we had nothing but peace and quiet. There is a private porch on the east side and a deck which faces west, so we were able to view both sunrise and sunset. The breakfasts were excellent. Carla made us feel very welcome.


Great night's stay!

5 on January 18, 2011

My wife and I drove from Houston to Ft. Davis to go to the observatory. Unfortunately, although it was clear almost the whole trip, it was raining during the time we were at the observatory. However, we loved our stay at the Old Schoolhouse. Though we were there only for a night, we had a pleasant time and hope to return soon. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the common area was relaxing and filled with many books on the local area. It also had a "paperback swap" section. After we got back from the observatory, the rain stopped and the clouds went away (of course), but we were able to view the stars from the back porch of the b&b. I'm looking forward to returning again soon, and hopefuly being able to do some bird watching and hiking.


A wonderful stay - highly recommended!

5 on January 13, 2011

We stayed at the Old Schoolhouse over the New Year period. The property itself is lovely: lots of old-fashioned charm, and very tastefully furnished, in keeping with the history of the building. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The thing we were most impressed with, though, was the wonderful hospitality. Fantastic breakfasts, with something different every day, and a warm welcome from Carla and Steve, who went out of their way to help us enjoy our stay.


Rest and Relaxation in Comfortable Surroundings!

5 on December 13, 2010

I'm a B&B devotee and search them out wherever I travel. The Old Schoolhouse fits the category of Just Right. The room was warm and welcoming, and the innkeepers had provided scads of information about the surroundings--places to go; things to do. I drove up the mountain to the Sat night observatory sky tour--how marvelous! My only regret is that I didn't have more time to languish on the sofa and read, listen to the quiet, and enjoy the great environment. If you go anywhere near Fort Davis, turn off the Main Street and find an enclave of welcome and calm.


Quiet and Cozy

5 on December 01, 2010

The four of us enjoyed our stay and the friendly host was very informative about the area, where we had been, and where we were headed. The breakfast was beutifully presented, but when he mentioned it was going to be oatmeal, I was a little taken aback. I don't eat cereal as a rule. Well, this was WONDERFUL and DELICIOUS...more like muffins. I even asked for the recipe! Loved our experience and would come back again.


A wonderful small-town retreat

4.4 on November 19, 2010

Stayed 2 nights on the Reading room. Very quiet even when we were not the only guests. Three blocks away from the main highway that runs through town; could easily walk to restaurants and also take early-AM walks with beautiful views and wildlife sightings. Convenient to Ft Davis NHS and Ft Davis State Park is just a few miles away. We had a very relaxing stay and were totally satisfied.


Great place to stay

4.0 on November 15, 2010

Great room, food and hospitality. I highly recommend this B&B.


wonderful place to stay

5 on November 11, 2010

Our hosts were friendly and helpful; gave us suggestions on how to best use our time. Breakfasts were delicious and they accommodated our vegetarian needs. We recommend them highly.


Quiet and Hospitable Place to Stay with Scenic View

5 on October 14, 2010

Clean nicely furnished adobe-very quiet-walk to town and fort. Hosts are very hospitable and friendly-good resource for what to do in the area. They spent time visiting with us over breakfast each day. Enjoyed the Reading Room with private bath. Breakfasts were excellent. Would highly recommend for an enjoyable stay in Fort Davis at a reasonable price.


B&B "Best of the Best"!!

5 on October 13, 2010

An oasis in the desert...Told Steve and Carla: Being a guest in your home was like being at home..with exception...have never, ever sat down to such breakfasts.... An absolute epicurian delight!!


Great place to stay

5 on August 14, 2010

Our stay at the Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast in Fort Davis, TX was delightful. The accommodations were quaint (we stayed in the Reading Room) and the breakfast was great, sitting on the patio among the pecan trees looking at the mountains around us. Steve and Carla treat their guests very well and I would return again and enthusiastically recommend their B&B to all our friends. Thanks for a great stay!


Wonderful-- Great hospitality

4.8 on August 14, 2010

This is a FABULOUS B&B. The rooms were large, airy and beautifully appointed. We stayed in the Reading Room. Our room had a private entrance and patio. The breakfast was large and tasty. Yummy biscuits, fresh,fresh fruit. Our host was gracious and accommodating. Highly recommend-- we will be returning next year when we pick our daughter up from camp. Liz Gerron North Andover Mass


Jewel in the Texas Outback

5 on July 09, 2010

Conveniently located less than a half-hour drive from some of West Texas' hottest attractions, the Old Schoolhouse lies nestled at the foot of an impressive stone mountain at the edge of a quaint alpine town. If you seek peace and quiet, spic and span, and tasty, creative breakfasts, this is the place for you. If conversation is your bent, then you can't beat the convivial, knowledgeable innkeeper, Steve Kennedy. I can vouch for the vigor of his repartee! Surely the best B&B in Ft. Davis and probably the best in the area (I've stayed at one other, and this was the clear winner), the Old Schoolhouse is truly a jewel in the Texas Outback. We will definitely be back!


Perfection in Paradise!

5 on July 06, 2010

What a powerful location and delightful inn. The setting, accomodations, furnishings are top-notch. We stayed in the Old Schoolhouse and had wonderful breakfasts, conversation and advice on local attractions and natural history. Would love to rent the Hope Range house on the next visit but then we'd miss the breakfasts and conversations!! What to do?? I'd recommend Old Schoolhouse with enthusiasm to anyone looking for a beautiful, peaceful setting and perfection in Paradise!


Congenial and Knowledgeable Hospitality

5 on April 24, 2010

Well away from the main road of Fort Davis, but still a very easy walk to town, you'll find the Old Schoolhouse B&B, surrounded by pecan trees and woods. Steve and Carla have converted this old schoolhouse into thier home and a most comfortable and informal B&B. They spent two evenings with us sharing their extensive knowledge of the cultural and natural history of the Ft. Davis area of of Big Bend National Park. Being grounded in biology and also outdoor enthusiasts, their stories and expertise added significantly to our time exploring the area. Their B&B was quiet, very clean, and the rooms and beds very comfortable. The generous breakfasts, which included fresh fruit and homemade pastries, were delicious and a perfect way to begin a day of exploring or just relaxing. We heartily recommend the Old Schoolhouse for those seeking to relax and experience congenial and informal B&B hospitality.


Th Old Schoolhouse Experience

5 on April 10, 2010

From the description in the guidebook we already knew that our stay in Fort Davis would be the centre of our two-week holiday in Texas, but the Old Schoolhouse experience exceeded our expectations in so many ways. Rooms, hospitality, setting and breakfast were all remarkable, adding up to a peaceful and rejuvenating retreat in the South West. We could not recommend Steve & Carla's place too highly. Phil & Tricia, London, UK


best experience

5 on April 07, 2010

I don't know what I enjoyed most; the deep mountain silence and waking to see the sun shining on the yellow bedroom walls, the charming hosts, the delicious breakfast or the sense of history. Go! You'll love it. Julia Robb, Marshall, Texas


Old Schoolhouse B&B

5 on March 26, 2010

The bed was so comfortable, slept so well! The towels were full and soft, very nice. Little touches make this a great place to stay!


Loved it!

5 on February 22, 2010

After a week of hiking Big Bend NP, my husband and I wanted to spend a couple of days at the famous McDonald Observatory in the Davis Mountains of TX. But alas, where would we stay in the town of Ft. Davis with a population of only 1,500 people? As out-of-state folks and totally unfamiliar with the area, we found the Old Schoolhouse B&B on the Internet. It is beautifully remodeled with upscale accommodations and very clean. Personable and gracious hosts - Steve & Carla - provided a delicious homemade breakfast and lots of fun chit chat. I reserved the "Reading Room" from their website description. Interested in the rich history of the of the area, we were delighted to find a nice collection of local history books in their small library. By the way, the McDonald Observatory was conveniently located only 16 miles up the road and the restored Ft. Davis National Historic Site just a few blocks away which we enjoyed the next day. It proved a perfect choice. ~ Suzanne


Savor the Flavor

3.4 on January 13, 2010

Adobe comfort with the most luxurious robe and towels EVER - sumptuous hot breakfast daily (no menu repeats) on a quiet edge of town. Historic adobe building with modern amenities and local knowledge. A lot to see and do in the area!


Peace, comfort, and great food in a friendly town

5 on January 06, 2010

Steve and Carla hit all the right notes in running a b&b -- wonderfully prepared and varied breakfasts, quick response to our vacation needs, friendly visiting with lots of local knowledge, and an attentive dog to pet. The location is fantastic, close to historic Fort Davis, scenic hikes in the state park, the McDonald Observatory, and an excellent botanical garden just down the road. Everyone we met in town was helpful and sociable. Altogether a memorable stay.


Nice getaway

3.6 on October 27, 2009

Very nice, small B&B. Good bed and soft towels. Owners very easy to talk with.


Excellent Choice!

5 on October 25, 2009

We come from a big city and are not use to small-town hospitality at all. The Kennedy's at the Old Schoolhouse gave us a very nice first impression, and we would re-visit any time we're back in the area again!


Breakfast and Biking

5 on September 21, 2009

Inn Keepers Carla and Steve provided exceptional accommodations, service, and conversation. I highly recommend a stay here particularly if you are interested in cycling in the Davis mountains. Steve is a bicycling enthusiast who knows the locals routes, and the small details that can make the rides even better. Breakfasts served as excellent pre-ride fuel while complimentary soft drinks afterwards were also a wonderful touch. All in all a great experience, value, and excellent place to stay for cycling enthusiasts or anyone else touring the Davis Mountains of Texas.


Great get away, good cycling country

5 on August 23, 2009

Our stay was a great vacation time. We enjoyed Steve and Carla as host, they treated us as long time neighbors. Steve took me out every morning for a cycle ride, which is one reason we chose this destination. The room was clean and private and the food was excellent. The grounds are beautiful with well kept yard and many old pecan trees. Just a great place to get away and rest.


Good old-fashioned school days!

5 on August 18, 2009

Pleasant weather! In west Texas mountains -- a charming & quaint B&B with wonderful hosts and hospitality. Breakfasts were superb surprises!


An oasis in Fort Davis.

5 on July 30, 2009

Beautiful historic building with lush green grounds, many trees, cool breezes and a good view of Sleeping Lion Mountain. Great breakfasts, delightful setting.


anniversary getaway

4.8 on July 23, 2009

A romantic interlude from the daily grind! Carla was most hospitable, providing personal service without any intrusion on our privacy. Recommendations for activities and/or dining opportunities were wonderful. Her knowledge of the area is built on personal experience. Kuddos to Carla for the delicious breakfasts. Conversation and personal interest added a feeling of visiting an old friend.


Great Spot in Ft. Davis, TX

5 on June 04, 2009

We had a wonderful 2 night stay in May 2009. The Old Schoolhouse B&B is a GREAT place to stay with VERY clean & comfortable accommodations and a fabulous breakfast. The location is perfect for a visit to the McDonald Observatory and the Ft. Davis National Historic Site. The innkeepers - Carla & Steve Kennedy are remarkably professional in their operation of this B&B and you can be assured of very prompt responses to questions about the area or their facilities. I would most definitely stay with them again on another trip and recommend it to friends. Try it yourself - Im sure you'll feel the same as we did! Ed & Margaret Betanzos - Tucson, AZ


best B&B experience yet

5 on June 01, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Old Schoolhouse and Ft. Davis. After 7+ hours in the car, the quiet setting allowed us to unwind in peace. It was great to be able to walk everywhere in town from the Schoolhouse. The themed rooms are decorated nicely, and there was plenty of space for our own luggage. We stayed in the 'Riting room which we enjoyed. The delicious breakfast of pecan waffles and fresh fruit started the day off right. The Kennedy's do a great job running the Old Schoolhouse Inn, and we will definitely stay there again. Stay there if you get the chance!


Gorgeous Place & Good Folks

5 on May 31, 2009

Carla and Steve are great hosts and greet you with a smile and genuine warmth. A home to wildlife and travelers alike, their historic and beautifully landscaped place is well appointed inside and out and fits gorgeously with the rugged backdrop of Sleeping Lion Mountain. I stay at many hotels on my travels but have never had a finer breakfast. Whether your plan is to use Fort Davis as a launch platform for a Big Bend vacation or just check out the many points of interest in the area, you won't find better accommodations anywhere. I've stayed here twice and plan to come back again. Billy Spence - Austin, TX


Great Place Old Schoolhouse and Hope's Ranch

5 on April 06, 2009

We have brought our group out to the Old Schoolhouse and Hope's Ranch in April for the last three years and plan to be back again next year. Each time we bring a few new folks along in our group and they are always impressed with the accommodations and how pleasant and comfortable a place it is to visit. Everything is very clean and well taken care of with all kinds of little extras that make your stay that much more comfortable. The only thing I heard people complain about this past weekend was that the Old Schoolhouse was just so nice a place to spend time in that they almost didn't want to leave to go outside and ride their bicycles!


My Favorite B&B, Hands-Down

5 on March 27, 2009

I've stayed at the Old Schoolhouse B&B multiple times over the years, first as a couple, then later, as a family with our two daughters. Steve and Carla go out of their way to make us feel welcomed, helping us arrange activities they know we'll love, and providing great conversation in addition to the fantastic food. Recently, when we've taken our daughters or friends along, we've stayed at Hope's Ranch and really enjoyed the privacy, space, and convenience. Plus, who doesn't love a sleeping porch! I tell everyone I run into who's traveling to West Texas that The Old Schoolhouse is a must.


great stay

5 on March 11, 2009

A++ experience! Highly recommend! Owners, food, accommodations, and setting were excellent.


Highly recommended!

5 on March 03, 2009

Best B&B, roomy, comfortable accommodations. Helpful, friendly hosts.


What a wonderful visit

5 on December 09, 2008

As we drove into the driveway, we spied three deer browsing under the pecan trees. What an enchanting sight! The room was fantastic; very romantic. Our hosts were delightful. We will return!


Historical B&B beside mountains

3.8 on September 21, 2008

This is an old schoolhouse converted into a B&B. The rooms were a little small but very comfy with most of the original floors and walls. Staff was nice and breakfast was good. Fun to watch hummingbirds on the deck with a mountain shear about 100 ft from the house. Within walking distance of the rest of town. Only complaint was that doors stuck so you had to pull them very hard to open and close. This made quite a bit of noise if you got up at night.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. You're right! The record-setting rainfall here in town left doors and windows swelling to unprecidented dimensions. After a couple of days of struggling, we shaved off the edges of the doors that had the most trouble. With those modifications and now dry weather, we have no more issues with those doors. We appreciate your understanding of the ever-changing challenges of keeping our historic inn working at its best. We hope you'll come back to see for yourself.


Old Schoolhouse Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $93 - $145
  • Reviews (83) 4.8
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4324262050

Visit Website »

View details

Top