Davis Mountains Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
205 Reviews

Write A Review

Certainly a 'come back' place!

5 on April 09, 2014

This was our first time in Fort Davis. The peaceful, friendly and clean atmosphere of our stay was incredible! Bill and Nancy have a couple of lodging properties which they have transformed into a 'welcome home' feeling. So much enjoyed our stay. We will return!


Fort Davis had the best!

4.8 on April 02, 2014

My girlfriend and I went on a tour of West Texas. We stayed in several hotels but our favorite places were Fort Davis and the Davis Mountains Inn. The rooms were great and the atmosphere and town were quaint and peaceful. It was so nice to wake up in the morning to a well cook and hearty breakfast that changed daily. I highly recommend that if you are traveling out to West Texas for some fresh air and quite, stay at the Davis Mountains Inn.


West Texas getaway

5 on April 01, 2014

There had been a computer mixup in our reservation, but it was quickly fixed and we enjoyed a good night's sleep and a wonderful breakfast prepared by our hosts. This was much superior to a hotel stay. The house is bright and cheerful as are the hosts!


Beautiful rooms, but sounds from the other guests kept us awake all night.

2.6 on April 01, 2014

I loved the room. We stayed in the Lion Mountain Master Suite. Beautiful tub, nice shower. Lovely linens. Nice romantic touches. But the walls are so thin between the two downstairs rooms (only separated by a door and a corridor that obviously echoed the sounds) that we found ourselves unable to sleep due to the very loud snoring and sleep moaning by the couple in the other room. It was nice to have a separate entrance and breakfast was very nice. Stayed two nights but slept fitfully both nights due to the very loud noises. I don't know what they could do differently, but it definitely made our stay less than optimal. We have decided that B&B stays are just not for us, if that's a concern at all B&B venues.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our guests always compliment us on the Sleeping Lion Master Suite's comfortable accommodations. This is a very surprising comment since there is a door, a hallway, a bathroom and another bedroom door between the two units which would not be the case in a standard hotel with only one wall between units. I am pleased that you appreciated the private entrance, the Jacuzzi tub, large shower, lovely linens, and the "nice breakfast". While the Inn is upscale to most Bed and Breakfasts don't give up on the B & B experience. We do take customer comments and suggestions seriously, thank you for your feedback.


Fun times at Ft Davis

5 on March 16, 2014

Nice place, very, very nice people! If we go back that way, we will plan to stay there again!


Spring break 2014

5 on March 15, 2014

We don't normally stay in B&Bs. But this one was great! Fantastic folks, great food, and tremendous location. We will definitely be telling our friends!


Visit at Davis Mountain Inn - Fort Davis

4.8 on March 08, 2014

Friends recommended this place and did we hit the jackpot. It was a wonderful nights stay. Felt like we were in our own home. Beautiful B&B.


Star party 2014

3.4 on February 03, 2014

Nice spot. No one around except for at breakfast. Rooms are nice. Doors not locked in the evening.


Davis Mts Inn

4.2 on January 18, 2014

Beautiful place, hospitable people.


Gibbs Stay

4.6 on December 27, 2013

Food and ambiance was wonderful. Room was a little cool with only a space heater for upstairs room. Wonderful experience overall!


Great place to stay if you're in the area!

4.0 on December 22, 2013

As part of a little road trip through Texas we wanted to do the "Star Party" at the McDonald Observatory near Fort Davis and a little search for a place to crash pointed me to the Davis Mountains Inn. Nice big home and our main floor room with private bath was clean and comfortable. As it's not a busy time and we happened to be the only guests for the night (and we spent most of the time out at the observatory!) we didn't interact with the staff much so I suppose that part of the visit may be a bit different at a busier time of year. We are early risers so getting up to find our coffee, tea and home cooked breakfast all underway was most welcome and filled us nicely for the day ahead. All in all a great spot to say and the next time we come down that way (and we want to go to the observatory again) we'll book this place without question.


Lovely Ft. Davis B&B

4.4 on December 02, 2013

Very personal and attentive service.


A wonderful jacuzzi room getaway!

4.6 on November 16, 2013

My fiancé and I drive across country from San Diego to North Florida. Along the way we wanted to stay at Bed & Breakfasts. I found Davis Mountain, which was about an hour out of our way, but we are ao glad we decided to stay there. It was in a cute small town, excellent service and our room was perfect :) Thank you :)


Welcome to Big Bend

5 on November 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Davis Mountains Inn. Bill, Nancy and all the staff were very welcoming. This small town has no fast food establishments - in fact, no one was ever in a hurry. Peaceful, good views, great room - can't wait to go back.


Wonderful Retreat!

5 on November 06, 2013

We had a big group and rented on suite and 3 rooms for 3 nights. Everyone really enjoyed this location! The rooms were clean and decorated nicely. The beds are comfortable. The grounds are very peaceful and beautiful. Deer were feeding in the morning and beautiful butterflies. The atmosphere was like home with snacks in the kitchen. The coffee was brewing first thing in the morning and the homemade breakfast each morning had different selections and were wonderful! I would, and already have, highly recommend this great place!


Needs an on-site maintenance man

3.8 on November 01, 2013

There are numerous things that need to be repaired. Just to name a few - Leaky faucets in shower and in tub, Window screen off. Front porch hand-railings rotting. Door mats need to be replaced. US flag is tattered. Entire house needs to be vacuumed completely. Bushes need to be trimmed. Flower beds need a lot of work. We thought we were dealing directly with the owners but realized we were dealing with Bed and Breakfast.com


Sawtooth Ridge Room at Davis Mountain Inn

3.8 on October 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Mountain Davis Inn. Angelia was a delight. She was full of information about the Fort Davis area. Her breakfasts were delicious also. We stayed in the Sawtooth Ridge Room. The room was comfortable, clean and decorated nicely however there is no handrail going up the stairs to this room. It is very steep. Carrying luggage, with nothing to help balance, is dangerous. The entire house was exceptionally nice and clean. With the addition of a handrail for the upstairs room, I would give it an A+.


Charming and Comfortable

4.8 on October 28, 2013

Davis Mountains Inn was a delightful place to stay during our visit to West Texas. The home is warm and inviting and the room and bed were comfortable. We enjoyed chatting in the living room, and one night we played dominoes. It was like a home away from home with no worries. The breakfasts were hearty and tasty, and all the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. We will stay here again if we are in the area.


Great place to stay!

4.8 on October 27, 2013

We were fortunate to meet Bill and Nancy Davis our first morning at the B&B. They are lovely people as is their home . Our room was super! The breakfast was great! The company of the staff was just right. They were also very helpful with information about the surrounding area. If you're going to be in this area of Texas I whole heartily recommend staying at the Davis Mountains Inn.


A nice vacation base

4.6 on October 22, 2013

We stayed here for a week in the Sleeping Lion Suite, using the Inn as our central point while we traveled around to various attractions in the region, as well as New Mexico. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, without being intrusive at all. The suite itself is well worth the price per night, as you get the typical creature comforts of a B&B, along with some nice amenities such as a large walk-in closet, hot tub, walk-in shower, and a large counter space with two bathroom sinks in case you or the significant other needs it. The rooms are tended to while you are out and about, with free breakfast every morning. The breakfast food is standard issue- bacon, eggs, biscuits, etc., but better than the free breakfasts you see at your typical hotel. Overall, well worth the price, and we will be returning again for sure.


charming Inn

4.0 on October 11, 2013

We found the Inn to be very comfortable, and the staff very nice, frienly, and helpful


Wonderful Weekend

5 on October 10, 2013

Entire house was reserved with family and friends. Had a great time hanging out inside and outside. Weather was prefect. The breakfast each morning was outstanding. We WILL stay there again. Looking at other opportunities to enjoy this place.


September 2013

5 on October 02, 2013

It was a wonderful visit as ususal. Would not stay at any other place.


Great B&B!

4.4 on September 25, 2013

Great location for what we needed. Very clean and very comfortable stay. The staff was very hospitable and the breakfast they cooked was outstanding!


Relaxing stay

4.4 on September 02, 2013

A perfect place to stay in a neat town. Completed a trip for the McDonald Observatory.


Enjoyed privacy of Fisher suite

4.4 on August 29, 2013

Love the town and our stay with you guys was great. The grounds were beautiful and peaceful. Lots of birds and stars at nite! We have already recommended friends friends to stay at the Fisher Suite. Breakfast was great but wished it could be served longer than 1 hour. We will definitely stay with you again, J&H from Houston


Immaculate and a great stay!

4.4 on August 28, 2013

I would (and actually hope to) stay at this delightful B&B again. We reserved two rooms. Everyone said it was a great choice: immaculate, quiet, beautiful, good breakfast, and beautiful rooms and living room.


Great Stay

4.8 on August 18, 2013

I would stay here again and recommend this Inn,


Beautiful Bed & Breakfast in Fort Davis!

3.8 on August 18, 2013

My family of 4 had a pleasant stay at the Davis Mountains Inn recently. The Fischer Hill Suite is perfect for families! We found it a little odd that upon arrival, we had to check ourselves in. If there were problems, you had to call the owners. Breakfast was the usual fare--eggs, bacon, toast, and your choice of beverage. All in all it was a nice stay but it would be nice for someone to be on the premises at all times.


Stars of Texas

3.8 on August 15, 2013

Large 3 BR unit, easily sleeps 6. Very comfortable beds and nice new furniture. Could use some more eating/kitchen amenities( e.g. were asked to wash dishes, but no soap provided), but I know this is a recently purchased property and a work in progress. If charging for missing towels, need to be sure count is accurate. Overall a pleasant, quiet unit very conveniently located close to town. Will likely return.


Great stay

4.0 on August 15, 2013

Great spot for a romantic getaway. Our room was great, king bed, huge bathroom with a whirlpool tub for two and a big shower. Nice garden area was perfect for drinking our morning coffee. Great breakfast. Not a lot to do in Fort Davis but just what we wanted.


West Texas Getaway

4.6 on August 07, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Davis Mountains Inn. Bill Davis was a gracious host, the breakfast meals were fantastic, and the surrounding scenery in the Davis Mountains made our trip complete.


Davis Mountains Inn

4.6 on August 03, 2013

very nice accommodations. The people were very nice, the breakfast was great, and we really enjoyed the snacks. thank you for making our vacation experience a really good one.


Home Away From Home

5 on August 01, 2013

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at this inn. It was a home away from home. The breakfast was delicious. Thank you.


relaxing and quiet

4.6 on July 29, 2013

The breakfasts were very tasty and well prepared!


Best place to stay in Fort Davis

5 on July 18, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at the Inn and it was wonderful. My mother and father were with us and they said out of all the Bed and Breakfast's they had stayed at in the many years of their travels (which have been many) that Davis Mountain Inn ranked as one of the very best.


Nice getaway

4.4 on July 17, 2013

Everything was outstanding. The only thing is that the rooms do not have the bathroom within. The bathroom is shared by at least two rooms. It would have been perfect is the bathroom was withing the bedrooms. Luckily we were the only ones there for the night and we did not have to share it with someone else. Other than that, it was great. The cook who prepared out breakfast was outstanding and did a magnificent job. I would recommend this to anyone.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying at Davis Mountains Inn recently and for taking the time to write a review. I want to clarify that Davis Mountains Inn only has 2 rooms that share a bathroom (Blue Mountain and Mt. Livermore). EVERY other room has private baths in their rooms. I will make sure our cook gets your compliment on breakfast.... she does a terrific job! Please visit us again soon and ask about our 10% discount as a returning guest!


family vacation

4.4 on July 14, 2013

The room we stayed in was just what we expected from the picture. Its was nice abd spaceous for the four of us. The staff was sweet and helpful. And the cook was wonderful.


Better than I could have ever dreamed

5 on July 09, 2013

The rooms are very clean, views are spectacular, staff was very friendly and helpful. They made you feel at home in every aspect. The bisquits are out of this world and home made. If I am ever in Ft. Davis again I will definately stay here again. Thanks for a warm welcome!!!!


A stay near the Davis mountains

3.8 on June 30, 2013

The house was easy to find. It was nice to have warm bread pudding awaiting us. Being the summer, the upstairs rooms were quite warm and did not cool off until the middle of the night.


Our Trip in June 2013

5 on June 23, 2013

My kids had a great time! We stayed at the Casa de Gracias. The Davis' had recently purchased it. We enjoyed our time and will be returning again to the Observatory and we plan on staying with this family every time we make this trip! My kids especially enjoyed "comfortable couches and beds...(and tv :-)) I appreciated the full kitchen and prepared several meals there. Because we stayed at the Casa, we did not have the opportunity to enjoy the Davis' famous food! But the survey will not accept and review without a rating, so I put 5 stars - I heard it was good! Will have to try at the next visit!


One of the best B&B's out there!

4.0 on June 15, 2013

This truly felt like a home away from home! It was very cozy and owner Bill was a great host! The room looked exactly the same as it did online and there were no surprises. Very well kept and even had a nice backyard to relax and enjoy the crisp mountain air. Would definitely recommend and to anyone staying in the Fort Davis area.


South Forty King Suite

4.0 on June 11, 2013

We spent Memorial Day weekend at the South Forty King suite. There was some inital confusion about our room assignment, but once that was settled we enjoyed a fantastic weekend here! The HUGE bathtub is awesome and the king-sized bed is super comfortable. I enjoyed having a coffee maker in the bathroom and gourmet coffee, creamers,etc. are provided. The room was exceptionally clean and the decor was very nice. The only thing that would have made our stay more comfortable is if a kitchen sink had been provided in the kitchenette area. We had a great time for a great price and we plan to come back!


Davis Mts Inn... a great stay

4.4 on June 03, 2013

The Inn was a great place to stay, near Ft. Davis and Marfa both. Lovely home, comfortable room, I felt right at home there. It was nice and quiet, I could sit on the back porch or front porch and enjoy the stars and the evening sounds. Breakfast was yummy and I enjoyed the company of the other guests and conversation with Angela.


Very nice place, I would recommend

4.2 on June 01, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, relaxing, comfortable, very good breakfast.


Second Honeymoon

4.8 on May 31, 2013

Lovely rooms great location in Fort Davis.


Pleasant stay

4.0 on May 29, 2013

Four of us stayed in the guest apartment. It was pleasant - although the bedrooms were small. We weren't there long enough and the weather wasn't good enough for us to truly enjoy the lovely location of this lovingly run B&B. The breakfast was homemade good. This B&B can be recommended.


Nice & Relaxing

5 on May 20, 2013

The bed and breakfast carries a warm and welcoming environment. The owners were always around to ensure that guest felt welcomed and answer any questions about the area and what attractions were close by. The place was clean, the food was delicious, and the Texas hospitality was very apparent. It was a perfect weekend.


Awesome place to stay

5 on May 07, 2013

Very nice place. 'homemade" breakfast was the best. Not in town, but close enough to be just right.


Ft Davis getaway

5 on May 02, 2013

Beautiful House And scenery Stars at night were awesome


Sleeping Lion Suite Stay

4.2 on May 01, 2013

My wife and I spent last Friday night staying in this suite after we could not find a room in Marfa. I believe this was better than staying in Marfa. Visiting witht the other guests and getting to know Bill & Nancy Davis, the owners, was a real treat. If you are looking for a place to stay, relax and have a great breakfast before heading out this is the place.


Lovely studio, so many stars!

5 on April 18, 2013

Spacious, private studio with friendly horses, cats and a dog that showed us around the property. The star gazing here is exceptional given that the studio is halfway between Fort Davis and the McDonald Observatory so there is practically no light pollution. If it is going to be cold out, definitely bring plenty of warm clothing since the space heater in the studio can only do so much. Also there is no cell or wifi available at the studio, you have to drive up the road a ways to get a signal just so you know.


My Week at Davis Mts. Inn

4.4 on April 10, 2013

Rooms are clean, reasonably priced, and well appointed. Breakfast was the really good, and there was plenty to eat. The Inn has well cared for grounds, and there are places to set up a telescope and enjoy the magnificent dark skies. I will be staying here on my future visits.


Great place to stay!

5 on April 08, 2013

My husband and I wanted a weekend in Ft. Davis and chose to stay at the Davis Mountains Inn. We stayed in the Sleeping Lion Master Suite and it was wonderful. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were quite spacious. In fact, it even had large walk-in closet. The breakfast each morning was delicious and there was plenty for everyone. I would stay there again!


Great Place To Stay

4.2 on April 06, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the beautiful and charming Davis Mountains Inn. We truly felt like house guests of Bill and Nancy. I'm just sorry we couldn't stay longer. I will recommend the Inn to anyone I know visiting Fort Davis and/or the McDonald Observatory.


B&B with mountain view and lots of Texas history

5 on March 31, 2013

Excellent everything. Bill and Nancy have the details down pat. After a long motorcycle ride to the Davis Mountains and Observatory the DMI was a just what we needed to wind down and rest for the next day. Accommodations were perfect. Angela made a hearty and superb breakfast. Be sure to have a meal and some ice cream at the Ft Davis Drug Store.


Great Experience

5 on March 28, 2013

Our recent stay at this property was excellent. The management was very attentive and friendly. The property was also new, clean and very roomy. It was so nice to have our "home away from home" to return to each day. We would recommend Davis Mountains Inn to anyone traveling to Ft. Davis.


Oustanding!

5 on March 28, 2013

Bill and Nancy were great hosts and it was a very restful weekend. Great place to get away.


Great Getaway!

5 on March 13, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful time at Davis Mountains Inn B&B last week. This newer house has old world charm and warmth! The hosts, Bill and Nancy Davis, were incredible and made sure our stay was relaxing. As long time residents of Ft. Davis, they know the area like the back of their hand and provided "insider" info into all the area has to offer. This is our second visit and we will definitely be back! We stayed in the Sleeping Lion Suite on our first visit - great room with 2 person spa tub and a private entrance to the back deck! Last week, we stayed in the Guide Peak Room and enjoyed the private bath and comfortable bed! Immaculately decorated and clean! It was a great romantic getaway for us! In our opinion, it's the best B&B in the area!


relaxing

4.8 on March 13, 2013

Everything was fine except the low ceilings in attic suite was a problem since I am 6" 3" Other than that we were very pleased.Miss Angela serves the best breakfast this side of the Pecos!!!


Fisher Hill Suite, WONDERFUL

5 on March 08, 2013

We (2 couples) stayed in the 2-bedroom suite while passing through. Actually we exited I-10 on the way from Arizona, thinking Ft. Davis might be an interesting town to stay in. We were impressed from the minute we walked in. We arrived late, and keys with a note were awaiting us on the table. The suite was fantastic, and little things like really thick bath towels made our stay perfect.


Great Value

4.2 on February 20, 2013

We chose the Davis Mountain Inn for a one-night "get-away". Super clean, nice rooms. Bill and Nancy were very pleasant. Breakfast was amazing!!!


So happy we chose DMI

5 on February 05, 2013

Had a wonderful experience at the Davis Mountains Inn. Our suite was warm, inviting and immaculate. The breakfast was so yummy and our conversations with the inn's owners was lively, informative and fun. Can't wait to go back.


Winter Roadtrip--last stay

4.6 on January 21, 2013

Drove in from Carlsbad returning to San Antonio from a road trip to the Grand Canyon. Our stay made us reconsider B&B's for future travels. We've used B&B's through Europe, but not within the US. Very pleasantly surprised with our experience in the Davis Mountains and would not hesitate to stay at this quiet, retreat again.


Recent Brief Stay in Ft Davis

4.6 on January 13, 2013

The room was clean, comfortable and perfect. The hosts super nice. would definitely recommend to friends and return ourselves.


Perfect for Star Parties!

5 on January 07, 2013

We stayed Davis Mountains Inn when we attended a star party at McDonald Observatory nearby. It was a great experience - the house was charming, the hosts were very friendly and cooked up a mean breakfast. If I ever need a place in that area again, I would definitely go back. The rates were reasonable and our room was very comfortable.


Great hosts, great value

4.6 on January 06, 2013

We spent two nights at the Davis Mountain Inn in December 2012. We would highly recommend it. The location is convenient to Fort Davis and the Davis Mountains, Marfa, and the Big Bend Parks. Service was fantastic. It's a great value, comfortable, warm, and friendly.


Wonderful!

4.6 on January 06, 2013

Lovely B&B! Nancy, Heather, and Bill did a great job. Fort Davis area is beautiful. Breakfast was amazing each day.


New Year's trip

5 on January 05, 2013

What a great stay! Bill, Nancy, and Heather were so welcoming. My family and I felt very at home. Great breakfast, comfy rooms, and plenty to do and see in the surrounding area. Would definitely stay again.


outstanding

5 on January 04, 2013

very comfortable and secure place to stay


Peace and quiet in the solitude of west Texas

4.6 on January 03, 2013

Me and my girlfriend traveled to Fort Davis, Tx all the way from Houston. We very were surprised and delighted at the hospitality of Nancy, Bill and the others around the house. It was a very friendly environment to be in -especially coming from Houston having to deal with the Big City mentality! Very relaxing accommodations. And it was only 20 minutes away from McDonald's Observatory, which has an amazing facility for star watching. and if you don't feel like driving that short... you can simply go into the back yard of the Bed and Breakfast and look up :). Beautiful Place. Delicious Breakfast! We will be returning one day!


elegant and worth the price B&B

4.8 on January 01, 2013

Had a little difficulty locating it as we arrived at 8.30pm. Loved the room (sleeping lion suite), cleanliness and safety. Location is beautiful.


Best place I've ever stayed!

5 on November 26, 2012

This place was awesome! The rooms were clean and inviting. The enitre place was laid out so well that one could enjoy anything from absolute privacy to socializing with other visitors in the common areas. The views both day and night were incredible and that alone was worth the stay. The people were great, both the hosts and the other people who were also visiting. We were so happy we extended our stay by two days.


All this and music too

5 on November 25, 2012

Davis Mountains Inn (DMI) came highly recommended to us by a friend. In spite of the online photos and the rave review of my friend, DMI still exceeded all our expectations. The place was spotless, beautifully furnished, with thick towels, crisp sheets, night-time snacks, and a scrumptious breakfast. The best part, which is usually the case, was visiting with the owners, Nancy and Bill, hearing about their busy, interesting lives and learning more about Ft Davis, the town they love. Oh, and Nancy played piano . . . beautifully.


Happy to stay again

4.2 on November 21, 2012

cozy common area, friendly owners - very accommodating, convenient to McDonald observatory


Great Getaway

5 on November 08, 2012

The B&B was an enjoyable experience, the hospitality of the owners was outstanding along with the food, very clean rooms.


Great Place To Stay

5 on November 04, 2012

This is a great place to stay in a very beautiful part of Texas. Close to town and the McDonald Observatory. The owners and staff were very friendly. The room was exactly as shown on the website. Great dark skies and a very nice backyard with power if you bring your own telescope. We would stay again. One thing to note is the 911 address for the inn is not even close to the physical address so use the GPS co-ordinances or the town of Fort Davis then follow the directions from their website.


Great place to stay!

5 on October 25, 2012

Very nice place, very nice people, and convenient location. Highly recommended!


Homey, comfortable and welcoming!

4.4 on October 22, 2012

Upon our arrival, we found a German Chocolate cake waiting for us to share. I liked the deco. The rooms and house were comfortable. Our hosts were accommodating; they were willing to add my son for breakfast if he had been able to stop in. We were there only in the evening for two evenings so we did not tour the grounds but the back yard looked nice. It is right next door to an rv park. Two upstairs bathrooms share a bathroom. We were in one of those rooms. There was no one in the other room so we had the bathroom to ourselves. I was glad not to share as the bathroom is small and I would not have been sure how to clean it between our showering and those in the other room. I woulds definitely stay here again without hesitation.


Our stay at Davis Mountains Inn

4.6 on October 22, 2012

This is a very nice bed and breakfast. The property is well maintained with lots of beautiful flowers surounding the house. The rooms are more than adequate and well furnished. The breakfast was very good with several things to choose from and the owners are very nice and helpful. This was a totally great experience!


I could not have had a more pleasant stay and plan to return!

5 on September 25, 2012

Vicki West


Just like being at home.

5 on September 20, 2012

This B&B was very quiet, clean and absolutely beautiful. Would definately stay there again.


Beautiful Stay

4.2 on September 18, 2012

i highly recommend the Davis Mountain Inn. Bill and Linda were excellent hosts. The Inn was peaceful and beautiful.. The breakfast, prepared by Bill and Linda, was excellent and a great opportunity to meet and mingle with other guests.


Star of Ft. Davis

4.8 on August 30, 2012

We recently made a family trip to Ft. Davis on our way to Big Bend and stayed at the Davis Mountain Inn.....it was wonderful! We were able to reserve two rooms for our family. One was perfect for my in-laws who are no longer married (they had separate rooms within the room! and a common area) The other room rented was nearby theirs....we mentioned that our small son would be staying in our room and they set a small bed in our room to make it more comfortable! We appreciated that! In the morning we were treated to great hospitality by a homemade breakfast and great conversation from our hosts! Thank you Bill and Nancy for welcoming us into your lovely home. Don't forget to visit their restaurant in town ;)


Very Pleased

5 on August 27, 2012

The rooms, grounds, and general atmosphere were serene and well-kept. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We'll be back!


R&R at it's BEST!

5 on August 15, 2012

We were in need of some R&R and found Davis Mountains Inn to be the perfect, remote, get-away. It was peaceful and quiet. I finished my book in the beauty of the back yard garden and our room was romantic and inviting. I even sat down at the baby grand and played a few classical pieces from Nancy's collection. Bill and Nancy are great cooks, invisible when you want to be alone, but there for some good conversation if you're interested. You'll have to travel for a good dinner but the town of Davis is fun to walk through.


Wonderful anniversary

5 on August 11, 2012

Thanks Bill, Nancy and Heather for going the extra way to make our 19th anniversary extra special. The Roses were beautiful. Thanks for everything and making us feel at home. We look foward to our next visit.


Peaceful, Elegant and best for seeing the night sky!

5 on August 10, 2012

We happened on this gem in Fort Davis through the internet. We had a lovely room with a view of the mountains. It was close to quaint Fort Davis with its shops and delightful Drug Store restaurant! The hosts were amazing. They are interesting, efficient and very accommodating. We would highly recommend this spot :)


Davis mountains inn

4.2 on August 09, 2012

Very nice stay. Comfortable beds. Great breakfast. Soft water would be appreciated.


Great Trip

5 on August 05, 2012

The Sleeping Lion was the Master of the original house. Huge walk-in closet with mini fridge...huge 2 person walk-in shower...huge 2 person tub with jets in huge bathroom with two sinks...felt like home. My wife is very hesitant to stay long away from the comforts of home...but not when she saw this room. Bill and Nancy are great people and most informative. Nancy use to work at the Fort Davis Historical Fort and she shared her knowledge of it's history beyond the norm. Bill offered great suggestions of things to do in the area beyond the obvious. We stayed 3 relaxing nights and took in all the sites including Marfa lights and Alpine Big Bend Museum. We added a night to our trip at the Chisos Mountain Lodge in the middle of Big Bend after Bill highly recommended the scenic drive on hwy 170 from Persidio to Big Bend.


Davis Mountain Inn

5 on July 30, 2012

Our stay was great! Nice place, nice grounds and great food. Only comment would be to have more comfortable chairs on the porch/yard for reading.


Best Bed and Breakfast that I've ever stayed at in Ft. Davis

4.0 on July 25, 2012

The rooms were very nice. The service was great. The rooms were clean. Food was excellent and plenty of it. I will stay there again on my next trip. The only downside for me was the weather as it rained quite a bit while I was there.


Arabella Mountain Studio was so peaceful!

5 on July 24, 2012

Thank you for your hospitality! We hope to return next year! The Dahlstrom's


First Time B&B

5 on July 23, 2012

First time at a B&B. Was kind of hesitant and didn't know what to expect. After two days of staying there I would definitely go back. Our suite was very clean and spacious. The owners Bill and Nancy were very professional and at the same time treated you like family. Loved eating breakfast in the beautiful kitchen.


Great place to stay

5 on July 20, 2012

Stayed one night. Room was big and easy to relax in. Breakfast was outstanding. Had very good conversation with Bill in the morning. Wonderful place.


A Real Treat

5 on July 16, 2012

Booked at the last minute for a quick get-away....could not have been more pleasantly surprised. Bill and Nancy were simply the best. Will look forward to visiting them again!


Outstanding, in every way.

5 on July 16, 2012

Our hosts, Bill and Nancy Davis, are gracious, helpful, and friendly. The room was well-appointed and very comfortable. Our breakfast was delicious, and the conversationwith the Davises and the other couple staying that night -- over homemade pancakes, Nancy's grandmother's homemade syrup recipe, bacon and eggs -- was engaging. We made new friends. You can't ask for more.


Very relaxing B & B

5 on June 29, 2012

Very enjoyable and friendly B & B. We would defintely stay here again.


Home away from home.

4.2 on June 21, 2012

The rooms were clean and the hospitality was great. It felt like a home away from home. Also, it is close to the observatory and you can easily access everything in town from this inn very easily.


Davis Mountains Experience

5 on June 21, 2012

Our family really enjoyed the stay at the Davis Mountains Inn...best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. Beautiful place and the staff was very friendly and informative.


Relaxed and Casual B&B

4.4 on June 20, 2012

I'll admit that I've spent much more for a decent B&B so I was a little skeptical before my arrival. I was not only pleasantly surprised but nearly blown away at what a great little place this is right outside of downtown Fort Davis. My wife and I stayed in the Sleeping Lion room with the jacuzzi tub and walk-in shower. Definitely worth the extra $ if that is what you are looking for but from what I saw the other rooms were of equal value. The service was great! Angela was extremely hospitable - providing information on day trips and destinations in the area. She also cooked an outstanding and hearty breakfast every morning (Note: her cinnamon pancakes are to die for). I'd recommend this place to anyone planning a trip to the Davis Mountains / Marfa area.


Country Charm

4.8 on June 18, 2012

Very clean, peaceful, and definitely welcoming. A place we can count on as a home away from home.


Fisher Hill Suite - great for a family

4.2 on June 13, 2012

The homemade breakfasts were outstanding! Our host made us feel right at home and gave us many wonderful pointers for activities and about the scenery that we enjoyed. We also enjoyed relaxing in the garden. One of the bedrooms would have been better with a ceiling fan like the other one had.


Excellent experience

3.8 on June 10, 2012

Beautiful inn, charming room, and a wonderful breakfast! A perfect place to relax.


Great getaway!

4.8 on May 29, 2012

We enjoyed our overnight stay very much. The only thing we regret is that we didn't stay longer. Our hosts couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming, and the breakfast was delicious! We felt as though we were with friends and will definately go back.


Great B&B

5 on May 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Davis Mountains Inn for 2 nights. The room was very nice and clean and the bed very comfortable. The people that ran it were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was very good. We would stay here again given the opportunity.


Davis Mountains Inn--Outstanding place to spend a few days.

5 on May 20, 2012

A very pleasant and comfortable place to stay. Wonderful breakfast to get the day started right.


A great place to stay. Breakfast was awesome even with my special dietary needs. Great hosts too!

5 on May 03, 2012

A short two day stay was a delight. Quiet and peaceful. Bed was very comfortable. An overall A-1 experience.I'll be back in October for another stay.


Nice overnight stay.

5 on April 30, 2012

This was a great night spent at a Bed and Breakfast. After a week of camping at Big Bend this was a nice retreat. The food was great, Angela, our Hostess, was friendly and informative of local events and such. I had the pleasure of speaking to Dessa on the phone she was very nice.


Sleeping Lion Suite

4.8 on April 30, 2012

Wonderful peaceful stay and great inn keepers. Very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.


Comfortable and convenient

5 on April 30, 2012

This was a wonderful place for three adults since we needed two bedrooms and we got the suite with kitchen and breakfast The decor is nice, breakfast was good and we enjoyed talking to the other guests at breakfast. It was a great place to stay while we visited the McDonald Observatory. We highly recommend it!


Nice place and getting better.

3.4 on April 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Davis Mountain Inn. It is a nice place and they are obviously working to make it better. I would stay there again.


Beautiful Home, Excellent Service

4.6 on April 18, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay, and will be back if anywhere near the area again.


Davis Mountains Inn Lodge

5 on April 18, 2012

This is the perfect escape when you just need to get away from it all. No cell phone and no internet made me a happy boy. The proximity to both Fort Davis and McDonald Observatory are perfect. The roads are beautiful. The hosts great. I highly recommend staying here if you want seclusion and privacy.

Innkeeper Response
Just a note to readers.... this review is pertaining to the Arabella Mountain Studio. The Davis Mountains Inn DOES have cell service and internet but you can still get away from it all and leave those communication devices in the car! :0)


Family getaway at Davis Mountains Inn

4.4 on April 11, 2012

The Inn was lovely and comfortable. The hosts were warm, friendly and helpful. Angela can sure cook a delicious breakfast. Sitting in the back by the outdoor fireplace and waterfall was very relaxing. My family truly enjoyed their stay at the DMI and I will be more than happy to return to this welcoming Inn.


Wonderful Weekend Getaway!

5 on April 11, 2012

Recently spent an evening here and loved it! We stayed in the Sleeping Lion Master Suite which was beautiful. The room was spacious and cozy. The private bathroom featured a dual showerhead and a jacuzzi tub - both were fantastic! The entire facility was clean, comfortable and welcoming. We slept in on Saturday morning and Nancy was sweet enough to save breakfast for us! Overall this was an awesome experience. I will definitely be recommending the Davis Mountains Inn to my friends and will most assuredly stay here again!


Our 2nd Visit

5 on March 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 18-months ago. It was great as before. I would dare say, this bed and breakfast will spoil you! Highly recommend this inn.

Innkeeper Response
So good to visit with you again! Let's go for three.....


Charming inn with a fantastic breakfast!

4.2 on March 16, 2012

The hostess, Nancy, that made us breakfast was incredible and very welcoming. It was a little odd to not be greeted by someone when we arrived, but the instructions by the front table were clear and easy to understand. In the morning, we got to meet other guests at the kitchen table who were all very interesting and friendly to interact with. We had a wonderful visit! I only wish we could have stayed longer. Gorgeous view and a secluded little area that is not far at all from all the restaurants (walking distance).


Best Bed and Breakfast in Fort Davis, Texas

4.0 on March 14, 2012

Beautiful home, rooms, and the nicest people you will ever meet. Beautiful place!


Davis Mountain Inn

4.6 on March 11, 2012

This is our second time to stay here. Bill Davis was so nice to stop by and talk to us and the breakfast was so delicious. We will definitely stay again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying again at the Davis Mountains Inn.


Breakfast was an occasion!

3.6 on March 09, 2012

We were at the Inn during the "off" season and were the only inhabitants of this huge house. The joy was when Angela would arrive at 7AM and start stirring in the kitchen. Less than an hour later there was a lavish spread laid out for us. And she joined us at the table with her coffee and gave us the 'low-down' about the area.


Wonderful Band B

5 on February 27, 2012

We were tired after our long trip and were pleasantly suprised to find cookies. wonderful comfortable beds and 2 other quests we chatted with. Quiet, restful, very clean and then to top it all off a spectacular breakfast that set us for the day. We were surprised to see other guests in morning since it was so quiet where we slept. We all chatted away and were given great info about the area. Highly recommend


Wonderful

4.8 on February 17, 2012

1st time at a Bed n Breakfast. Great experience! Loved the house and the hosts! Really interested in renting the entire house for our bike club! Great location and beautiful view!


A+ B&B in the Davis Mountain

5 on February 08, 2012

Bill and Nancy, Thank you for the relaxing getaway. You provided all of the comforts of home. Your cheese eggs and fresh baked goodies were DELISH! Can't wait to make it out to Fort Davis again. Max and Dahlia Torres


Awlays a good stay!

4.0 on February 06, 2012

stayed 2 nights on a business trip. Did not take advantage of the dining.


Wonderful Escape

5 on January 31, 2012

My husband I brought his parents to the Inn! We all LOVED it! The owners were outstanding in every way! The Breakfast "hit the spot!" We'd definitely stay again!


Wonderful Experience - Definitely Will Be Back!

5 on January 21, 2012

The Davis Mountains Inn was beyond my expectations. The rooms are immaculate, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. Bill and Nancy are warm, gracious hosts and their breakfasts are delicious! Plus, the price is extremely reasonable. I definitely recommend Davis Mountains Inn and look forward to returning someday. Debbie W.


Far beyond my expectations

5 on January 18, 2012

My stay at Davis Mountains Inn was totally spectacular. Bill and Nancy make each guest feel at home--they make a wonderful breakfast, too. The icing on the cake was meeting the family. I feel as if I've made some new friends. Thanks!


Great Place to Stay for Christmas

4.6 on December 27, 2011

This should be called a BREAKFAST & BED place. The breakfasts are to die for. On separate days we had the full variety for breakfast's, all hot and freshly made. Biscuits, pancakes, french toast, breakfast quiche, and chilaquiles to name a few. The room was as advertised. We stayed in the the big suite and it was room enough for four adults, with one bathroom. Also included a small fridge , a microwave and a sink a the bar.


Thanksgiving

5 on December 14, 2011

The Sleeping Lion Suite was amazingly comfortable. What a relaxing and cozy place to stay! Everything from the fresh coffee in the morning, to the brightest stars at night, was just perfect.


Great Hospitality

4.0 on December 13, 2011

Wonderful inn and host Bill Davis. The morning conversation was great, food excellent, and general atmosphere, very much like your own home. I would stay here again anytime.


Anniversary getaway

5 on December 07, 2011

My husband and I went as a getaway for our anniversary. It was great. Loved the house and our room. It was beautiful and decorated for Christmas. The breakfast was amazing. I can not wait to get to go back.


Really felt welcome and Hosts VERY knowledgeable

5 on December 02, 2011

Nancy and Bill were the true gem of our stay in Ft Davis. They are fully integrated into the community and a wealth of knowledge about the history of the entire area. Their B&B is extremely clean, lots of light, comfortable beds and beautiful kitchen/dining area. Nice piano, too!


Can't wait to come again!

5 on October 07, 2011

Nancy, We talked about the "puddle pads" that I make and the ladies neck ties. Please contact me if you are interested in me sending you some. I would like to send you a picture of the ties. We loved our stay and look forward to coming again. Love in Christ, Warren & Mary Ann Hart


Outstanding

5 on October 04, 2011

Best time ever the staff and place was fantastic. I well we will stay there again.


Great place to relax!

4.8 on September 25, 2011

It was such a treat to stay at Davis Mountains Inn. We were in the area for the Cyclefest bike ride, and Nancy and Bill were most helpful with a very early-morning DIY breakfast on Saturday. After the ride, we were able to relax on the back porch while watching a storm roll in - such a beautiful sight! The breakfast the next morning was excellent as well, complete with homemade bread. The heavenly smell of it wafted through the house as we awoke. We will return!


WONDERFUL!

5 on September 22, 2011

We stayed in the Fisher Hill Suite for 5 days. It exceeded all our expectations. The grounds were so relaxing and the views were amazing. Nancy and Bill were there when we arrived and made us feel completely at home. In the mornings we were greeted by Angela who gave us so much usefull information along with a fabulous breakfast everyday! We wanted to relax and enjoy the sites. Before breakfast I especially enjoyed hot chocolate on the private porch. We are looking forward to returning. We also enjoyed going to the Drug Store (also owned by Bill and Nancy). Bret and Barbara Bailey


Luxury in the heart of the Davis Mtns

5 on September 17, 2011

The Davis Mtns. Inn is a wonderful place to stay during your forays around the Ft. Davis, Marfa and Alpine triangle. Two of the suites are very large and the other rooms are comfortably sized. With six bedrooms sleeping up to 14, the Inn would be a good place for a gathering of family or friends. There are two living areas, one part of a two bedroom suite, and the main living room, a common area. The kitchen is also very large and in the common area. The Inn was in immaculate condition for our stay. The landscaped grounds in the back are lovely despite a very hard summer and the fires that surrounded the Inn only 5 months earlier. Take a look at their website. Unlike the websites of many other B&Bs and inns, their website photos accurately portray the accommodations. Two final points: 1. The room rate is a bargain. We stayed in the Sleeping Lion Suite and recommend it. It's huge. 2. The Inn is immediately adjacent to an RV park. This creates an unfortunate first impression when approaching the Inn. But the park is small and clean, and the seniors occupying the RVs didn't seem to be hard core, late night partiers as we never heard any noise.


Wonderful place to stay!

5 on September 14, 2011

Beautiful place and excellent breakfast! We felt very welcome here. We would definitely stay here again!


wonderful

4.8 on September 03, 2011

This was the best B and B ever.We had a great time and would recommend it to anyone.Quite,relaxing and the service was excellent.Hope to go again sometime.


Davis Mountains Inn, Ft Davis, TX

5 on August 28, 2011

We were very pleased to have a comfy and clean room after roughing it in Big Bend for 4 nights. The breakfast Angela made for us was wonderful as well. The grounds are beautiful and would make a nice place for family reunion.


The best place ever!

4.0 on August 21, 2011

Their is so much I could say but don't have the space. it was our first time to stay here and it was awesome we will be back... the host was wonderful the breakfest was the best loved the peach jam. well it was all good. Bill you and Nacy are very warm people alto I didn't get to vist with Nacy so I know your wonderful and Angela thank you so much for how you made us feel at home the weather was great enjoyed setting out back . we miss it a lot. many Blessings to ya'll.


Great Place and Folks

4.6 on August 18, 2011

Very nice house and grounds. The breakfasts were great. Everyone was helpful and actually went out of their way to make us very comfortable. The room was comfortable and quiet.


Good and Bad Points

3.0 on August 16, 2011

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Davis Mountains Inn. Fort Davis was the most beautiful town compared to Marfa and Alpine that we visited, especially considering the mountain backdrop. The rooms were clean and were given a key for our to lock our belongings as we explored the area. The beds and especially the pillows were the best we had on our 6 day excursion through the area. The only drawback was that, in the Sawtooth Ridge Room, the shower in the bathroom was quite small and when you opened the door there was no way to prevent the showerhead from spraying water out onto the floor. The owners were very nice people and gave us great detailed information about the area as well as pleasant conversation. As for the breaskfast, this might have been the biggest disappointment. After spending $100 on a room, we were served only eggs, bacon, and coffee/juice. The bacon was overcooked for my tastes as well. I would have appreciated some toast/biscuits and maybe some potatos or hashbrowns. The inn itself was very pretty and had great views of the surrounding area. However, don't be misled by the pictures, because on the right side of the house is an RV park. Despite this, there was no noise or anything of the sort from it. I bring this up to merely point out that it's not as secluded as it looks. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. I'm not sure if I would return primarily because the breakfast is one of the primary reasons I stay at these places. For the price we paid I feel as though we could have found something better at the other places in Fort Davis.


sawridge room review

4.6 on August 10, 2011

Beautiful property with very clean rooms. Breakfast was good and the hosts were very friendly and helpful.


Davis Mtn Inn July 2011

4.4 on August 04, 2011

The manager and staff were wonderful. The back yard was hard to leave. The house was amazing and well decorated. I felt safe there. I wished I had it for my back yard. The town was friendly although go with the idea of taking your time getting served at local cafes.


A Great Place to Stay

4.6 on July 24, 2011

Absolutely no complaints. Extremely pleasant inn keeper and cook. The breakfasts were outstanding. I highly recommend the Inn


Great Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on July 11, 2011

We've been coming to Fort Davis for years and only this past year parted from our routine to discover the Davis Mountain Inn. The hospitality of the owners, the service, the rooms and the great breakfast make this a delightful place to stay. We love being just outside of town for the views surrounding the house. It's great for a biking trip - easy access to good riding. We've been there twice now and will not go back to any of the other hotels if Davis Mountain Inn is available.


The BEST!!!!!!

5 on July 10, 2011

This was the first time we had ever stayed at a bed and breakfast. We did not really know what the expect. We were totally blown away! Bill and Nancy made us feel like family, and we forgot we were staying at a Inn. The room was awesome, breakfast we great all three days.. Bill and Nacy also own the Drugstore in Ft Davis which also gets 5 stars for food and service.. We are already planning our next stay at our new vacation home in Ft Davis... :)


Nice and comfy!

5 on July 07, 2011

Awesome Bed and Breakfast. The owners could not have been more helpful or pleasant. It was like being at home. Nice and comfy!


Fabulous stay with wonderful people

5 on July 05, 2011

Bill and Nancy made it a point to visit with us most mornings in their beautiful resort. Even when they were not there, Angela made us feel totally at home. We found the food at their "Drugstore" to be the best in town even though it is very reasonably priced. Our son-in-law chef compared it favorably to the Riata in Alpine and Maiya's in Marfa. But it was not until we checked out and headed back home that we found out how special Bill and Nancy really are. Our car broke down a couple of miles out of town. The tow truck could not accommodate all four of us so out of desperation we called Bill and Nancy. They not only rescued us from the side of the road, but they let us hang around the Drugstore until we found out that the car would take another day to repair. We stayed the night at their Drugstore and enjoyed their company even though they were hard pressed for time because of all the people pouring into town for the 4th. I would recommend Bill and Nancy to anyone headed to or through Ft. Davis.


The Best Ever!

5 on June 20, 2011

My daughter and I stayed for four days and by the third day, we were family!! Bill and Nancy were like old friends, so friendly, so warm, so welcoming, so accomodating. The rooms were beautiful, so comfortable, homey, and I slept like a log every night. I even enjoyed an evening downstairs in my pajamas watching a movie wrapped up in a blanket, and even played the piano! Angela and Paige were so friendly and warm and also made us feel so welcome. Breakfast was over the top!! Thank you all so very much. I will be back!!


Thanks for a fabulous trip

5 on June 06, 2011

Our stay was pure pleasure. The great service started with the reservation process. She was able to accurately describe the inn,rooms and outdoor space, so we could choose the right accommadations for our stay.The inn was true value. The room was very large and quite comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful and different each of the 3 mornings we were guests. The innkeepers, Bill and Nancy, along with Angela the housekeeper added so much to our stay. Their knowledge of local points of interest enhanced our experience. It's rare to find innkeepers with so much love for what they do. We have stayed at many B&Bs and this was one of the best. Natalie & MH


We can't wait to go back!

4.8 on June 03, 2011

Bill, Nancy, and Angela were warm, friendly, and fabulous hosts. Having breakfast with them each morning added to our experience and allowed us to learn so much about Fort Davis and the surrounding communities. The house was immaculate, and the outdoor areas were beautiful. We are already planning our next visit.


Awesome B&B in Fort Davis, Texas!!!!

5 on June 02, 2011

I just can't say enough positive things about the Davis Mountains Inn. The wife and I went back to Fort Davis, the town where we grew up, to attend our 25 year Class Reunion. The owners allowed us to use the Inn as our 'Head Quarters'. It was outstanding and a very memorable experience.


What a wonderful place to stay!

5 on May 30, 2011

I had a thoroughly delightful visit! The room was perfectly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was different everyday – all of it delicious. The Inn is in a great central location for many sites and activities – McDonald Observatory, Davis Mtn State Park, Ft Davis, CDRI, several scenic routes, Alpine, Marfa, etc. Both front and back decks have great views of the night sky. The Innkeepers Holly and Nancy were very friendly and a joy to share stories with over breakfast! I especially enjoyed the ‘sneak peek’ of the new gallery. I would recommend this place to anyone.


Probably a poor time to visit

3.4 on May 05, 2011

We arrived only 3 days after a fire had burned through the area leaving the property green in a sea of black. This probably accounted for most of the rough edges. The breakfast was outstanding but the recommendation for dinner was average at best.


Outstanding

5 on April 28, 2011

We stayed at Davis Mountain Inn the night of the Mumford & Sons concert in Marfa. It was an amazing experience. The service is spectacular. The owners were very hospitable and enjoyable to talk with. Great overall value!


lovely b&b

4.4 on April 28, 2011

highly recommended for visitors to the Davis Mountains, Chihuahua desert, Big Bend, & Marfa.


Great place to stay!

4.8 on April 27, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Davis Mountains Inn. Bill and Nancy are great hosts and made us feel welcome in their home. Our room was clean and comfortable and the house was cozy. We appreciated a home-cooked breakfast instead of the breakfast vouchers that are so common these days. We would definitely stay here again!


honeymoon weekend

4.8 on April 20, 2011

the newly married Franklins were very impressed and very happy with the Inn and the service and the friendliness ,it was great ,I want to come back in Aug . for my birthday,You could do one more thing to make it surperb...... steaks on the grill outside and James Taylor to seranade us sounds good ??? I can't tell you how much I appreciate your friendliness and Angela with the history lesson


Davis Mtns are on the must-return list!

5 on April 15, 2011

Upon arrival in this quaint West Texas town, I was immediately impressed by the friendliness of everyone we met. The folks at the Davis Mountains Inn were there for our arrival, showed us our gorgeous suite, and oriented us to the house and the area. Everything was incredibly clean and cared for, the property is a lovely place to relax. Angela cooked a tasty, and unique, breakfast every day and those cookies in the afternoon were more than a temptation! From the moment we booked our reservation, through to our departure, every exchange was friendly, caring, and efficient. We will return!


Wonderful place!

4.6 on April 11, 2011

The king sized bed was very comfortable, the bath room with Jacuzzi tub was luxurious. I highly recommend this place.


outstanding

5 on April 07, 2011

The room was very comfortable and it was very clean and peacefull.


You Gotta Love These People!!

4.6 on April 04, 2011

The place extremely nice. Amenities aplenty. Bill and Nancy are very friendly and know the area well. Great for visitors. We had a great honeymoon experience in the Slepping Lion Suite, and would recommend the Davis Mountains Inn to ANYONE passing through the Ft. Davis area! Thank you and we want to return because the country, hospitality, and friendliness of the area, and TDMI is just so comforting! Love the floats at the drug store too!!!


Oasis of West Texas

5 on March 25, 2011

Oasis of West Texas. Oh so Beautiful! Quiet, comfortable, beautiful, huge bathroom with jetted tub and stone shower, private entry, only to awake to a gorgeous sunrise and a wonderful breakfast. The Davis's and Angela were so warm and friendly. We left relaxed, refreshed and not wanting to leave. We will be back for sure!!!!


True small town charm

4.2 on March 23, 2011

This Davis mountains in was a welcome respite after camping in the Big Bend wilderness for four days. Lovely rooms, charming hosts, peace and quiet, and a short bike ride from the quaint Fort Davis downtown. We look forward to visiting again!


lovely house, bit of sense of isolation

2.6 on March 11, 2011

I thought it strange for a B&B that the owners never showed (in fairness they were working on a new business, but they did not live at the house). a very nice lady fixed breakfast, but while adequate it was not very good. Except the home made bread which was wonderful. The whole place needed a bit of cleaning and sprucing. And the upstairs bedrooms were very inadequate as far as natural light. However, I am not complaining. It was afine place to be for a couple of nights, and I enjoyed it.


Davis Mountains Inn

3.8 on February 28, 2011

We enjoyed our one night stay. The innkeepers were very nice and the breakfast was delicious. We will definitely stay there again.


Just What We Were Looking For!

5 on January 18, 2011

My husband and I spent our first anniversary at the Davis Mountains Inn and had the most relaxing, comfortable vacation we could have hoped for! Bill and Nancy truly made us feel right at home. We loved our morning chats over breakfast (which was always delicious!) and their abundance of suggestions for sites to hit around town. The room was spacious, clean, and extremely comfortable - we felt like it was our home away from home. Absolutely can't wait to come back with the family!

Innkeeper Response
We very much enjoyed you both. Remember we have a job for you if you want to live in the country! Blessings.


Wedding weekend

4.0 on January 13, 2011

Of the Pollocks, 17 members came from far distances to attend the Bencomo wedding and stayed at the Inn. It was indeed the "ultimate experience in B&Bs." We found our hosts welcoming the family, beautiful setting and everything promised on website. Lovely weekend! Thank you Nancy & Bill! Bobbie Mueller


Addie Willie Wedding

4.8 on January 13, 2011

Wonderful place! I sure am missing your breakfast. Thanks for everything. Jack


Lorri and John

4.0 on January 03, 2011

We had such a wonderful stay! The house and the mountains around it were so beautiful. Our room was perfect. We loved the whirpool tub. Lorri and John


Our Weekend

4.0 on December 31, 2010

We had a wonderful time staying at the bed and breakfast. It was a quiet getaway from all of the demands of daily life. We especially enjoyed walking down the road to take pictures of the sunset both evenings. Bill and Nancy were amazing! They both are very friendly and we enjoyed sitting at the table sharing stories and laughing. We would gladly go again and would encourage anyone else who just needs a calm, quiet retreat to go there also. It was one of the best weekends that we have had in a long time.


Wonderful stay

5 on December 27, 2010

We stayed at the Inn while visiting the McDonald Observatory: great hospitality, great advice, and great location. A perfect little vacation.


The Halls on 12/17/10

5 on December 18, 2010

Had a great time, loved visiting with Bill and Nancy. Good breakfast and a really great location. Will visit again in the fall, before winter's freeze has set in. Thanks to the Davis's for a great time!


A lovely evening

4.0 on December 09, 2010

Davis Mountain Inn was a lovely night away - I wish we could have stayed longer


Comfortable, convenient

4.4 on November 29, 2010

Location is convenient but not overly picturesque as it is adjacent to a vacant commercial property and operating RV park. House is clean and comfortable.


Anniversary Trip

5 on November 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Davis Mountain Inn for our anniversary and it was an amazing experience. We were a little nervous since this was our first time at a B&B, but Bill and Nancy made us feel right at home. They were perfectly gracious hosts and are the epitome of southern hospitality. I thoroughly enjoyed our conversations over breakfast, much more than I ever anticipated. I cannot wait to return and have already recommended this place to several of our friends. Make sure you ask Nancy to play the piano for you - she is amazing!!!!


Just left & planning to visit longer next time!

4.0 on November 22, 2010

We were a military couple moving from one assignment to the next. Davis Inn was our pitstop enroute, but felt like a mini honeymoon! The Lion suite was fabulous! They even accommodated my special dietary needs (as requested when reservation was made). Breakfast the next morning was soooo yummy! Best of all is the great conversation with Bill & Nancy - they are genuinely nice people -- we felt (and hugged) like old friends by the time we departed. We cannot wait to return -- with our children too!


Great place to stay!!!

5 on November 15, 2010

A great place to stay. Very affordable and the owners were great! Loved your garden in the backyard, got some great butterfly pictures. We will definitely be staying there again! Carol Ramirez Midland Texas


Charming place to stay

3.6 on October 29, 2010

The inn is in a beautiful setting, the hosts and the house are charming. The garden is still a work in progress, but it will be really inviting. The room we stayed in could use some storage, like a small piece with drawers, and better lighting in the suite's sitting area. All in all we were quite satisfied.


Relaxed

4.8 on October 27, 2010

This was our first stay at a B & B and we are already planning our next trip back. Bill and Nancy are great host. Can't wait to get back.


Unbelievable hospitality

5 on October 23, 2010

My wife and I were married at the Davis Mountains Inn in October 2010 - the first wedding the inn had hosted. Bill and Nancy, the proprietors, rushed to finish the little wedding spot they were building, complete with a brook, flowers, benches and a fire pit. It was beautiful. I can't say enough about Bill and Nancy's hospitality - we've never felt more welcome at any place we've ever stayed ... and I doubt we ever will again. They are the warmest hosts you can imagine. And they were incredibly kind to our three kids, ages 8-12, pulling out the croquet set and other games for them to play. They also suggested a couple of local attractions that we all loved. Last but certainly not least, they cooked some of the best breakfasts we've ever had. They were both hardy and healthy. My wife and I can't wait to go back in the spring and ride our bikes around Fort Davis and the mountains. If you're visiting Fort Davis, you could not hope to stay in a nicer place.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for letting us share in your very special day. What a terrific family. Truly the pleasure was all ours. Can't wait to see some photos.


Arabella Mtn Studio

3.4 on October 21, 2010

This is a wonderful place to get away from it all. Very quiet, great views of the sunrise/sunset, dark skies for stargazing and three of the friendliest cats you'd ever want to meet!


11th Anniversivary

5 on October 04, 2010

Davis Mountain Inns was beautiful. The owners and friends were lovely and friendly. The in room two person jacuzzi tub was delightful. The only thing that could be changed was the hand held showerhead needed to be unclogged,not too bad of a down fall. A mini fridge for late night drinks and snacks would be good. We will return and stay 2 nights instead of just one so we can take in all of the local flavors.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for letting us know about the shower head. The mini fridge idea is great. We will pick one up at our earliest convenience since there is plenty of space in that room. Thanks for the suggestions and yes, absolutely, you need to come spend longer next time.


Exceptional

5 on September 08, 2010

My wife and I enjoyed four days during June at the Davis Mountains Inn. Bill and Nancy Davis were wonderful hosts and made us feel at home. We highly recommend it! Mike and Jensy Gregory, Irving, TX


Quaint and secluded

4.6 on August 26, 2010

We had a fantastic stay. We stayed in the Sleeping Lion suite. The room was quaint and spacious, the bed was fantastic and the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in other then our own. The bathroom was HUGE and the shower and jacuzzi tub dreamy. The breakfast was punctual, and hot every morning, the scrambled eggs to die for. Our stay was soooo relaxing and each day envigorating. We could not have asked for a better place to have stayed. Thank you for a wonderful trip!


Incredible Find!

4.6 on August 26, 2010

Loved this B&B! We found sharing the upstairs bathroom with another room to be a little awkward, so we would book a different room next time. However, if a family needs to book two rooms, the upstairs would be perfect. Book in advance - seems to be popular! If we are ever going to be in the Fort Davis, Marfa, Alpine area again, we will definitely stay at the Davis Mountains Inn.


No Stress Zone

5 on July 13, 2010

If you want to make the world go away, get to this place. I had to decide whether to retreat to my amazingly comfortable room or enjoy engaging conversation in the kitchen. Maybe it was because we were exhausted and stressed when we arrived, but the place almost has a healing touch. I would definitely stay here again. Radical Hopitality!!!!


32nd Wedding Anniversary at Davis Mountains Inn

5 on July 10, 2010

My husband and I were on vacation, destination New Mexico but due to extremely bad weather and thunderstorms during July 4th, 2010 we made last minute changes to our plans. We searched the internet and headed back to Texas to check out the Fort Davis Mountains, the McDonald Observatory and other local attractions and also came across Davis Mountains Inn. I quickly made a reservation and to my surprise found out this was a bed and breakfast. This was the first time we'd ever been to a bed and breakfast and it was perfect. We were able to celebrated our 32 years of marriage at this quiet and peacefully serene home. I remember Nancy the Innkeeper asking what made us decide on this location and I told her it was her website indicating," that I could sit on the porch and stare at the mountains." We were able to spend some time on that porch overlooking the Davis Mountains which were breathtakingly beautiful as well as our entire visit at the Inn.


Davis Mountain Inn is a winner!

4.6 on July 08, 2010

What makes this Bed & Breakfast so nice is the people that run it. They care about your stay and go out of their way to make you feel at home. I would love to visit again. Highly recommended!


Davis Mountain Inn is warm and welcoming

5 on June 30, 2010

The unnkeepers are friendly and a great source of information on the area. The breakfasts were delicious. I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before and this experience makes me glad I did.


If ever in Ft. Davis, STAY HERE

4.6 on June 29, 2010

Nancy couldn't have been more accomodating. I felt more like I was at home than at an inn. I would recommend staying here to any and everyone.


CHARMING, ENJOYABLE STAY

5 on May 27, 2010

Davis Mountains Inn was one of the best bed and breakfast places ever! The Fisher Hill Suite was beautifully decorated, comfortable and inviting for two couples. Bill and Nancy truly give their guests Southern hospitality in every way and every morning you will be served the most delicious breakfast ever, especially the pancakes. We look forward to returning to the Davis Mountains Inn and are telling our friends to come with us.


Wonderful Place!!!

5 on May 17, 2010

From the moment we got there we where in love with this place. It was so nice and cozy and the owner's where so wonderful. I have stayed at a few other places in Ft. Davis, but will stay here from now on... Love, love, love this place!!!!!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for submitting such a nice review.....we loved, loved, loved having you stay with us too! :O) Remember that on your next visit, you will receive a 10% discount as a returning guest. Thanks for visiting Ft. Davis.


Davis Mountains Inn visit

3.0 on April 09, 2010

We recently visited Ft. Davis, and looked for a spot to stay in which we had not stayed at before. This inn was the former residence of the owner of "POPS GRILL" and it is a beautiful house. The Breakfast is superb. The grounds need attention, and the innkeepers were occupied elsewhere. We chose not to use the grounds for a picnic we had planned, and think that the price of the place does not equal the service we got. The innkeepers need to remember that repairs should not be done while the inn is occupied, guests go to other places to "get away".

Innkeeper Response
I am so very sorry that your experience at the Inn did not meet your expectations. We have lived in Fort Davis for 20 years and this has been the coldest winter that we have had, therefore in March the lawns definitely were not yet green and the trees had not leafed out. Last week, I did get my spring planting done and the lawns and trees are coming right along with Springtime. Some repairs must be done when the Inn is rented, however, we do try to respect our guests rest and perform the "extras" when our guests are off premises. Hopefully, you will have a better experience on your next visit with us.


Wonderful Warm, Cozy Place to Stay!

4.8 on March 22, 2010

This home was our favorite SPOT during the 7 day, six night spring break vacation visiting beautiful West Texas & Hill County. The home was updated, large rooms, nice tiled bathrooms, SUPER clean! And the BED was the most comfortable-awesome mattress, down comforters, egyptian cotton sheets-SO SOFT-WOW-the Best rest we had on the road! We felt right at home and enjoyed the company tremendously. I highly recommend this new Inn for one and all traveling in the area!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for the nice review. It truly is our goal to offer comfort for our travelers. We very much enjoyed having you as our guests. Please come again!


Davis Mountains Inn is a perfect choice!

5 on December 27, 2009

We just spent a wonderful night at the Davis Mountains Inn. Nancy warmly welcomed us upon arrival and made us feel right at home. Everything was very clean and the decor was tasteful, clean, modern, and welcoming. The room was lovely, and there were a few information packets already in the room to help us enjoy the most of Fort Davis. The bed was incredibly comfortable and eased us into sleep. Breakfast included some of the best pancakes we have ever had, and it was a pleasure to sit and chat with Nancy, Bill, and the other guests. Nancy and Bill are gracious hosts and are a wealth of information for things to do in Fort Davis. We would love to visit again, and will certainly recommend it to friends and family!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for reviewing the Davis Mountains Inn. We have met THE NICEST people in this B & B venture. Thank you also for the recommendation, please do come again.


Phenomenal B&B

5 on December 24, 2009

Davis Mountains Inn is a fabulous bed and breakfast. It is clean, large, new, quiet, easy to get to, and comfortable. Bill and Nancy Davis are wonderful innkeepers. They catered to our every need and the home made breakfast delicious. The conversation with them was fun, engaging, and enlightening. Our stay at the Davis Mountains Inn was truly a high point of our trip to West Texas.


A gem

5 on November 18, 2009

This was the first time my boyfriend and I had the chance to experience a bed and breakfast. We were very impressed with the house layout and service. Justin was very helpful and welcoming. We plan on going back with some friends in the future! A great place to relax and take in the beautiful landscapes! It felt like we were visiting with family!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words. We really enjoyed getting to know you. Please tell your friends and come back and see us. Remember that you get a 10% discount as a return visitor! Blessings on you.


GREAT weekend at Davis Mountains Inn

4.8 on November 17, 2009

The Davis Mountains Inn was overall an incredibly good experience. The Innkeepers were so kind, helpful and informative. The fact that we were able to take pottery lessons while we were visiting was a GREAT added bonus. I honestly can't think of anything that would have made our visit to the Davis Mountains Inn any more enjoyable than it was.

Innkeeper Response
What a fun day of creating! Thank you for submitting your review of the Inn and the services that we offer. We want you to come back again.


"Best B&B Ever"

5 on October 28, 2009

Most enjoyable stay. Very beautiful, peaceful place on the outskirts of town. Warm, family atmosphere made us feel comfortable and so welcome. The beds are heavenly! Breakfast was excellant and homemade goodies were there around the clock. We will be back!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the excellent review of the Davis Mountains Inn. We hope to have you return for a visit. More goodies await!


Great Experience

4.6 on October 27, 2009

I was so impressed with the owners of this facility. They were extremely impressed with their services. I would definately recommend this place!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the review of Davis Mountains Inn. We appreciate the recommendation. Please come again!


What a totally wonderful place!

5 on October 05, 2009

We needed some R & R and we got it. The best bed I have ever slept in......Sleeping Lion Master Suite.


Davis Mountains Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $89 - $189
  • Reviews (205) 4.6
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (432) 426-3118

Visit Website »

View details

Top