Songbird Cottage Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
29 Reviews

Write A Review

Great Place for a Honeymoon

4.6 on September 09, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Songbird Cottage for a few days during our honeymoon. It was absolutely wonderful. The privacy was amazing. We enjoyed how secluded it was, yet very close to everything. The two acres are beautiful and the cottage is very charming. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to spend a few days in The Woodlands.


Relax and still be in the middle of everything....

5 on May 12, 2014

The Songbird Cottage is a fantastic three-room cottage, nestled on a wooded lot located just a few miles from the center of The Woodlands shopping and dining and all the surrounding towns and attractions. Upon arriving, we were cordially greeted by the ground's ambassador, Godfrey the cat, who remains outside in case guests have cat allergies. The cottage is set aside from the main house with it's own private parking and entrance. The grounds are well lit so returning in the evening after a full day is not an issue. Tim has dedicated the backyard to the comfort of his guests by providing a beautiful, shaded sitting area complete with a fountain and working fireplace. My wife and I were amazed at the the great lengths guest needs have been anticipated. Just inside the screened-in porch were bug spray and sun screen to help manage the Houston summers. In addition, there were extra towels, blankets, all the needed bathroom amenities inside. Although the cottage is decorated with antique armoires, a four-poster bed, and vintage tableware, there is satellite TV and wi-fi, for those not quite ready to "cut the cord", and a fully equipped, private kitchen. The cottage has its own HVAC system so the guests can adjust the temperature in the cottage to their liking. Allowing the guests to make breakfast in the private kitchen makes for a very relaxing, lazy morning. We highly recommend the Songbird Cottage. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return! Thank you Tim!!


Hidden Treasure - Peaceful Getaway

5 on April 12, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a marvelously refreshing five day stay at Songbird Cottage March 28 through April 01, 2014. Although I had read the positive reviews and looked forward to our stay, my expectations were greatly exceeded. Tucked away in a peaceful setting with greetings from Cuddles the dog and Godfrey the cat, we found a wonderful spacious cottage ready for us to retreat from the hustling pace of Houston and the I-45 corridor of traffic. There was indeed quite the chorus of birdsong which could be enjoyed on the plaza-patio with fountain and fireplace. It was a great pleasure to meet Tim Lockwood, the innkeeper who readily customized the breakfast fare in the full kitchen. It was a nice change to be preparing our own meal at a leisurely pace. We are getting more acquainted with B&B travel experiences and our stay at Songbird Cottage certainly has made us eager for more. I look forward to a return visit. Shelton H. April 12, 2014


Very Nice B&B

4.0 on March 21, 2014

This cottage, though small, is very nice and well maintained. We particularly enjoyed the screened sun porch and the very large patio with the fish pond and fire place. A very good value for the price. The owner lives on the property and goes out of his way to assure your visit is enjoyable.


Quiet, Clean, Secluded, Great Stay

5 on February 11, 2014

This B&B is exceptional. Clean, roomy, period furnishings, secluded, comfortable. Queen bed was excellent. Large tile shower was wonderful. All in all a "10".


Great hidden B & B

4.0 on November 18, 2013

A great hide-away in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the Woodlands. One of the most unusual and unique B & B's we have ever stayed in and we would recommend it to any B & b lovers. Larry & Cynthia Wilson


Nice and secluded

3.8 on October 08, 2013

This was a nice little house to stay in for a weekend away from my busy life! My sister and I enjoyed a crafty sister's weekend, drank coffee on the porch in the morning and had everything we needed for the weekend. Tim, the owner, was nice and flexible and very responsible to my inquiries. Thanks for a great weekend!


Amazing place!

5 on September 11, 2013

Songbird Cottage was exactly what my husband and I were looking for in a weekend getaway. We were close enough to the 'real world', but we had the feeling that we were far enough away from the hustle and bustle and in our 'own world'. We highly recommend Songbird Cottage to anyone looking for an escape. Tim is a wonderful host who thought of everything! We will definitely be back! Suzanne and Linn


Priceless Memories

5 on August 06, 2013

Absolutely Wonderful... Everything was perfect, peaceful and relaxing.. will return for many years to come.. The grounds were so comforting you have no choice but to relax and let the stress of the city life just fade away...


Best kept secret in the area!

4.8 on July 27, 2013

An oasis in the heart of Spring! Surrounded by lush greenery and swaying bamboo trees, this B&B is quiet and peaceful. I needed a personal getaway to re-energize and relax my mind. Songbird Cottage has a true cottage feel. The bedroom and living room were very comfortable. Plenty of ceiling fans and A/C unit were ample for comfort. The kitchen was PRECIOUS and stocked with everything I needed. Tim provided my personal breakfast favorites to the "T", plus more! The bathroom ~ completely updated and towels were fresh. I walked the 3 acre property and listened to the birds sing! Lovely patio! Bed and Breakfasts' typically have a community table for guests to be served. However, this trip I needed time to myself and at my pace. The self serve breakfast is a rare find and more than perfect for my visit. Thank you Tim for providing a place of retreat!


Our home in the Woodlands..

5 on July 25, 2013

Thanks Tim and Godfrey! Tim was so accommodating. Being there for the 3rd time made us really feel at home. Would love to stay in your place again!


A Magical Getaway

5 on May 16, 2013

There is something very magical about Songbird Cottage. When entering the property there is an immediate peace that is felt. The innkeeper, Tim Lockwood, was one of the kindest, most thoughtful, generous, & accommodating people I have ever met. He was helpful, friendly, and made sure to personalize everything for the duration of the stay. Moreover, Tim provided a wonderful and welcoming letter & snacks. The communication received was bar none. Every beautiful part of the magnificent cottage acres were manicured with care. Furthermore, it was apparent the amount of pride he has taken to make sure each guest feels special & relaxed. Moreover, the cottage is about 5 minutes from world-reknown shopping, spas, and gourmet restaurants. The decor of Songbird Cottage is eclectic shabby chic juxtaposed with antique elegance. Every room of this simple, yet sophisticated retreat cottage has personalized details that seem tailored to the guests. There were fresh pastries, fruits, breakfast foods, and other thoughtful morsels & snacks. The bathroom was very clean and the shower had every type of aromatherapy to pamper your head to your toes. One of the best parts of this 2 acre wooded getaway was the stone plaza, fountain, and massive fireplace. At night, the lights that adorn the perimeter of this outdoor oasis create a magical effect that transports you to a place of soulful inspiration & unrivaled relaxation. Outstanding place to stay. I will return here for every visit to Texas and will refer all friends and family. Thank you, Tim. Julie

Innkeeper Response
Wow! I can't thank you enough for your thoughtful review Julie. It makes my job so rewarding to receive such appreciative words. I really enjoyed your visit & hope you can return soon!


Quite and peaceful cottage

4.6 on May 15, 2013

For us it was an excellent location--easy to get to and from. Also we always enjoy the peace and quiet for small B & B's. As fellow innkeepers we would recommend the Songbird Cottage quite highly to all. Wes & Nancy

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much, Wes & Nancy. It is a thrill to be appreciated by other innkeepers. You can be sure I will reccomend your place to others traveling to Sturgis & will now put South Dakota as a destination for my travels.


Great place!! We will be back!!

5 on April 25, 2013

Thank you for a great stay. Enjoyed having breakfast at out leisure. We had everything we needed! Beautiful courtyard and grounds to enjoy walking or just relaxing. Shopping and restaurants are close, but not too close. We will be back soon.

Innkeeper Response
I really appreciate your comments & am glad you felt so at ease at Songbird Cottage and enjoyed the area. Hope to see you soon.


Singing the praises for Songbird Cottage

4.8 on February 11, 2013

This cottage inspires dreams of a simple life as it should be. The combination of quaint and elegant makes you feel at home yet with a feeling of being treated to something special. We loved the privacy we had while being able to enjoy the outdoors with the fireplace, being able to cook our own breakfast, yet all the while we were minutes away from The Woodlands Market and Old Town Spring and we enjoyed both.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for such a glowing review. I am very pleased that you appreciated so many of the things we have to offer, and hope you come back soon. -Tim


Peace and Quiet in the Midst of Fun Activities

4.8 on February 10, 2013

Songbird Cottage was supurb. It's a very quiet peaceful getaway but close enough to lots of fun activities - nice restaurants, the gulf coast, the Woodlands, shopping...have fun during the day and then return to your oasis for relaxation and quiet time. The cottage is excellent, so many nice features, very roomy, big comfortable couch, great kitchen that Tim stocks with wonderful breakfast foods after requesting what you like, so many items we could not try them all, yet so generous. You can wake up and eat at your leasure, no breakfast "schedule" like so many B&Bs where you have to eat at a certain time. The outdoor fireplace and screened in patio are nice extras. Come here to enjoy a wonderful haven and great surrouonding activities!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your generous review. I am thrilled that you were so pleased with all the amenities and hope to see you again! -Tim


Sisters' Weekend

4.6 on October 16, 2012

What a wonderful time we had. The main room was very cozy. There was plenty of room in the kitchen and in the bath. The screened in porch was an excellent place to sit in the morning with coffee. There are paths to walk around the property. The patio is very serene. They met our every need both before we arrived as well as while we were there. We would highly recommend Songbird Cottage.


Great get away spot!

4.0 on July 30, 2012

Nice place to go relax for a weekend. Essentially in owner's backyard but large yard made us forget we were near anyone. Beautiful yard with nice patio area. Really close to Woodlands amenities


Just what we needed!

4.4 on June 05, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the cottage. It was a B&B for one couple and we loved the privacy, along with the option to have meals there if we chose to. Tim & Rosa thought of everything, down to fresh flowers and specialty dessert and breakfast choices. Thank you so much!


Simply wonderful!

4.8 on February 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed in this wonderful cute cottage from January 2nd through the 10th, 2012. It is a place so great that we both said to each other "let us come back here often!". Tim was accommodating and Godfrey, the cat, so charming! Rosa made the cottage so great that we felt we were in the B and B's in the countryside of England. It was a retreat we needed after a busy and hectic year. Thanks so much you guys for letting us stay in your place!


Damn Cute!!!

5 on December 14, 2011

This cottage isn't cute, it is Damn Cute!!! With antiques and other appointments to this cottage, a new bar has been raised for other B&Bs to follow. We loved the privacy and spaciousness of the place. Loved it so much, we are ready to move in. My hope is that this review is appreciated a little but not too much. We don't want the Songbird Cottage popularity to make our return visit problematic to reserve. Who wouldn't love this place? By the way, thanks for the Strawberry Bluebell ice cream, a special request. The photos do not do justice to the place and experience.


Great Stay

4.4 on November 22, 2011

Great location, quiet, outside fireplace and patio is first class; will be my first choice when visiting the Woodlands


Honeymoon Stay

5 on September 06, 2011

The cottage was so quiet and peacful and the woodsy feeling of everything was queit romantic.


Charming Cottage

4.8 on September 02, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Songbird Cottage for a weekend getaway and had a wonderful time. The cottage is very charming and is in an ideal location to be close to restaurants, shops, etc. but also feel like you are away from it all. We will definitely stay again sometime.


The Sanctuary of Songbird Cottage

5 on August 10, 2011

I love this cottage so much I refer to it as "My beautiful cottage" in talking about it and my time in Texas. The website does not do justice to this special place as the minute you walk in, its beautiful energy takes over and you feel at home in a place you just know is special. Plenty place to unpack belongings so that it felt like home too. Breakfasts were divine, I loved the stillness and the space of the cottage and its surrounding gardens. I especially loved writing in the mornings under the ceiling fan in the enclosed porch with my tea and Godfrey the Cat. Rosa and Tim are outstanding hosts and took care of all my needs. Thank you Rosa and Tim, and Godfrey The Cottage Ambassador Cat, for creating this sanctuary of a cottage. I will not want to stay any where else when I visit the area again. K


A Wonderful Surprise

4.0 on July 11, 2011

The Songbird Cottage was a wonderful surprise. It is a nicely decorated, one bedroom cottage with a stand alone bathroom and a full kitchen. Breakfast is provided, but with the full kitchen we were able to run to the grocery store and ended up having all our meals there (a real money saver). The owners are very friendly an accommodating without being intrusive and are easily accessible as they live in an adjoining property. They responded quickly to all our request. There is easy access to a beautiful patio with a fireplace and a fountain with Koi fish, a very nice place to enjoy a glass of wine. It is a very restful place. With the birds singing, and the peel of thunder in the distance, and the comfortable recliner and couch, it was nearly impossible not to take a nap. My wife and I are definitely planning to return again in the future, and I would highly recommend the Songbird Cottage for anyone who needs just a long weekend to get away from it all and relax


"beautiful solitude"

5 on June 27, 2011

A wonderful place to relax and recharge the soul...the grounds are lovely and completely private. The cottage was spacious and the decor is beautiful. The attention to detail was very much appreciated. Rosa and Tim are truly caring innkeepers who love their visitors and treat them like family! Be SURE to treat yourself to a most memorable time in The Woodlands at Songbird Cottage....it's a must!


A Perfect Getaway

5 on May 20, 2011

Songbird Cottage (appropriately named because of the many songbirds and even the newly hatched hawks in a treetop nest) is the best bed and breakfast I've ever had the privilege of staying. Rosa is a joy to meet and the beautiful accommodations are perfect for a romantic getway and/or a refreshing alternative to a hotel if you're in the area for business. We loved self-serving breakfast selections and even the sweet treats in the candy jar. We will definitely return!


Overnight at Songbird Cottage

4.0 on May 06, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the cottage after attending a Jimmy Buffet concert at the Cynthia Woods Pavilion in the Woodlands. We didn't want to drive all the way back to College Station, but all the big hotels close by were booked. The cottage was easy to find and just about 10 minutes away from the concert venue. It was charming and very comfortable. We enjoyed being able to make our own breakfast in the morning. We sat out on the lovely patio drinking coffee and listening to the birds sing. It was very peaceful and relaxing and much better than staying at a hotel. I would recommend this cottage wholeheartedly!


Songbird Cottage

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 1-8326592299
  • Mobile 1-0000000000

Visit Website »

View details

Top