The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
179 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful hosts and excellent accommodations

4.8 on December 29, 2013

We contacted James and Susan at the last minute when another reservation fell through. They immediately worked out very nice accommodations for my mother, high school aged daughter, and myself for our 2 night get away retreat. We greatly appreciated all of the personal attention they gave us which totally met our hope for a welcoming atmosphere at a B&B. The rooms are cozy and although there isn't a lot of extra space in the bedrooms they welcome you to enjoy a sunroom and the living room. The availability of tea, coffee and hot cocoa throughout the day and Susan's cookies each afternoon were a real treat. After serving a 3 course breakfast each morning they stayed to visit with the guests and provided us with a lot of information about local attractions. Overall it was the true experience we look for in a B&B get away.


Epitome of Bed & Breakfast

5 on June 10, 2013

My husband and I chose The Brenham House for a peaceful weekend getaway from hectic Houston life. It was an optimum 1 hour and 15 minute drive. Our arrival was a warm greeting with no hassle and immediate attention. This is far different from the randomness we find with a hotel stay. James and Susan, the owners, treat their B&B as if it were their home. It is clean with any needed amenity. The food they made was remarkable with more than enough to please anyone. Needless to say our peaceful retreat has turned into many more at their B&B and we will continue to recommend it to everyone!


Very pleasant weekend!

4.8 on May 19, 2013

We just spent the weekend in the Antique Rosr room. Everything was so very nice. James and Susan are terrific hosts. The food was superb! We definitely recommend this B and B. the only thing I would change about our weekend is we would rather have stayed in one of the larger rooms. Antique Rosé room is a little small when you are wanting to relax and read, talk and or watch TV. We did enjoy sitting in the enclosed porch which was right next to our room. That made our small room better; having the porch right there. Try this B and B. You will really enjoy it! The Jarvis'


Review from Rockwall Texas

5 on May 16, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Brenham House last fall. Very pleasant innkeepers. We hope to go back some time. Michael & Teresa


weekend away

3.6 on April 29, 2013

My husband went away for a quiet weekends. This bed and breakfast offered an extraordinary breakfast and geat hospitality. The bed and breakfast was clean and well maintained. I was disappointed in the scenery outside. Overall, it was an excellent experience. James and Susan wer e very personable and knkowledgeable about the area.


I love Texas!

5 on March 12, 2013

It was my first visit to the Brenham area and the Brenham House Bed and Breakfast was such a peaceful place to stay. I chose the Antique Rose Room because of the clawfoot tub and soaked my troubles away! The high , fluffy bed was a dream. Having left winter behind me up North, it was such a joy to visit in the garden, see flowers in bloom and watch the Mockingbirds and Cardinals building nests. And the food, prepared by the owners, served on lovingly set tables, what a way to start the day! Thank you james and Susan, I'm moving to the area! Best Wishes, Terry from New Hampshire


Amazing breakfast and hospitality!

4.8 on February 24, 2013

Our stay was wonderful and James and Susan are amazing cooks! The home is beautiful and very comfortable it's also close to downtown shopping so I highly recommend it if you want a great place to stay while visiting Brenham!


The Brenham House

5 on October 21, 2012

This is a lovely and quiet place to stay. Not a far commute from College Station for the big games. The Antique Rose Room was lovely and oh so comfortable. The food was excellent. James and Susan Lopez are wonderful hosts.


More than outstanding!

5 on September 23, 2012

Have stayed in several B&B's but none as perfect as this. The room (we had the Bluebonnet Room - two females having a girl's get away) was spotless, beautifully decorated, large and welcoming. Breakfasts were delicious, the cookies were to die for, and Jim and Susan were the friendliest couple around. Loved their visits after they finished serving breakfast, just chatting with us like we had known them all our lives. You can't go wrong here!


"Girls Weekend"

5 on September 10, 2012

From the minute we drove up to the Fall decorated home, entered through the front door and met James our weekend was like being at home. The relaxed and warm feeling you had being greeted and shown the house was like knowing Susan and James all your life. The home with all of the beautiful antiques and different motifs in the home made you feel happy to be there. The breakfast each morning was delicious, hot coffee and, tea waited for you as you came into the living room while James prepared the dining room table for everyone to enjoy the breakfast that he and Susan had prepared. You could smell the baked "goodies" coming from the kitchen and you waited in anticipation. The Sopapia Cheesecake...... you can't imagine how yummmmmmmmmmmmy. We will be back to enjoy the hospitality of James and Susan and to enjoy the relaxation of being at the Brenham House.


Excellent!

5 on August 14, 2012

This B&B truly is as good as it gets. Thank you James and Susan for opening up your home to us - and it DOES feel like a home, not a business - and for being so gracious and friendly. (Highlight of my stay was when you two shared so much of your history and especially when you took the time to visit with us before and during breakfast.)


Compfy B&B

5 on July 24, 2012

Thank you to James and Susan for making our first experience at a B&B a memorable one. The the house was updated but still in keeping with the times. Very comfortable beds and bedding. We had our own bathroom and temperature control for the "Robins Nest' room. Great location and we look forward to going back!


Charming B&B

5 on July 23, 2012

We are airline people so are very use to hotels. My husband surprised me for our 20th Anniversary with staying here. I immediately appreciated the charm of tasteful antiques, the hominess of the entire space, and the warm welcome feeling when being greeted by the owners. The beds had high thread count bedding, very comfortable mattresses and abundance of pillow. Loved the fact that our room had a sitting area and it's own bath (I believe each room has it's own bath)... Breakfast was wonderful all the way from the place settings to the FLAVOR... beautiful fresh flower center piece for us to enjoy as well... I want to bring my whole family back to enjoy the charm and hospitality.


Great place to stay and great hospitality

5 on July 06, 2012

This is a great place to get a way and stay. I stayed a few weeks ago. It was just heavenly. The room was so nice and cozy. The house is beauty and comfortable. The grounds are so nice and beautiful. The innkeepers were so accomodating. This place was so serene and so inviting. I will be back soon. Thanks for a great stay, Marsha


Girls Night Out

5 on July 03, 2012

My girlfriends and I return each year to a wonderful Ladies Retreat! Outstanding rooms, service, and friendship!


Wonderful Stay

5 on June 29, 2012

I've stayed in many bed-and-breakfasts, and this is by far the best I have ever experienced. Thanks.


Great Escape from Houston, Texas

5 on December 29, 2011

We had a very relaxing stay at The Brenham House. It is amazing how different Brenham is and yet it is so close to Houston. There is a peace about this little town. There are so many shops and restaurants in the downtown area. The Brenham House is a great location to the downtown. The home is very comfortable and James and Susan really seem to enjoy innkeeping! Their breakfasts were outstanding and we really looked forward to each of them! We stayed in the Garden Dream room upstairs. It was beautifully decorated and private. The room also had individual climate control, so we could set it however we liked. We will be back again.


Dreamy B&B

4.0 on December 03, 2011

There was not one detail left undone. The Brenham B&B is inviting, comfortable and beautiful. I was made to feel like I was home, and the food......... You'll have to see for yourselves. Words cannot describe how delicious the ample 3 course breakfast was! Thank you Susan and James!!! I will be back .


Thankful Ladies

5 on October 16, 2011

Dearest Susan and James, What a wonderful evening we had at the Unity Theater and then coming to the Brenham House where we truly enjoyed the soft music, hot tea, and sitting in the back porch enjoying our girl talk. Leah and I want to express our deepest appreciation for the hospitality. We also loved are Bluebonnet room. And especially the wonderful breakfast and more girl talk! Thank You, Christine Miller.


Simply Tranquil & Delightful

5 on September 06, 2011

Our trip was a last minute get a way from the city and we picked the perfect place to stay. It was more than we expected and extremely pleased with the house in general from our greetings upon arrival (which we were way early and they let us settle in without hesitation) to our time of leaving by Susan and James. We were given tons of info to help us on our site seeing expedition which was a Winery, Blue Bell Factory, Antique Stores and the Airport Dinner. Our room “Blue Bonnet Suite” was just wonderful and loved the private entry from the outside to our room. We had a nice relaxing evening on the patio playing Chinese checkers and cards while having a couple glasses of wine. When we retired to our room to soak in the awesome claw foot tub and then watch a movie from the selection of DVS provided at the Bed and Breakfast. The breakfast was to die for…. We rate a 6 star out of a 5 star… if that is possible. If you are looking for a beautiful, quaint, peaceful place to get away from the city, this is the place for you. We will definitely return soon. Thanks Susan and James, you were fabulous and we truly enjoyed the conversation after breakfast as well. Cheers!!


A Wonderful Stay

4.6 on June 19, 2011

My husband and I (from Houston) booked a room for the first time at The Brenham House for our anniversary this past weekend. We were pleasantly greeted at the front door by the owners, James and Susan who had cookies and spa water waiting for our arrival! After going out to one of the local wineries that they had recommended (Windy Winery-which was tasty and relaxing), and stopping off for dinner at a local steakhouse, we returned to our lovely and comfortable room which had a private bath and connecting library suite. Breakfast the next morning was a delight as it started out with fruit and granola, made it's way to the best tasting egg dish I've ever had, and ended with a homemade brownie sundae! The lively conversation with the other guests and with James and Susan that morning made for a spectacular ending to a wonderful stay at The Brenham House! We shall return!


A Must Stay!!!

5 on May 31, 2011

Great food, comfortable beds, friendly hosts, all set in a beautiful town makes Brenham House Bed and Breakfast a Must Stay even if you have to go out of your way.


A little Paradise

4.6 on December 29, 2010

I spent two wonderful peaceful days in Brenham House Bed and Breakfast. My room was cozy and pretty and very comfortable, the food was outstanding, original, delicious... incredible!!! The hosts were warm and I felt like talking with close friends. It was a wonderful experience.


An anniversary weekend of our dreams

5 on December 14, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at The Brenham House, and the weekend was one of our dreams in very large part because of The Brenham House. The house itself is absolutely beautiful, as well as very comfortable. The hosts have thoughts of everything in terms on what will make the house pleasing both to the eye and for your stay. The bed was extremely comfortable. The food (both at breakfast and afternoon refreshments) was to die for - the hosts are the most talented chefs! In addition to all of this, the hosts are very welcoming and friendly. We truly couldn't have asked for a more perfect B&B.


Great getaway

5 on November 29, 2010

Breakfast was wonderful - I cook breakfast for my family every morning, so a key criteria for any B&B is whether they're willing to do at least as much as me (preferably more, since I'm paying ;-)...). Lets just say we didn't have to bother with stopping for lunch, since breakfast kept us going all day. Cozy, comfortable rooms, James and Susan are great hosts. Looking forward to going back.


It's Like Coming Home!

5 on November 24, 2010

We have just recently moved to Brenham, Texas. Before moving here we stayed at the Brenham House several times. It is so comfortable and James and Susan are so welcoming you just want to come back. We decided for our anniversary to book a night again because we enjoyed our stays there so much. It was great as always. The food was outstanding and upon arrival Susan had baked a delicious cake for all of the guests. We know where to go when we need a little pampering! The Brenham House Bed and excellent breakfast!


Best of B&B's

5 on September 28, 2010

James & Susan Lopez treat you like Royalty. Each room is beautiful and so clean. Breakfast is a three course meal made from scratch.


Outstanding B & B

5 on September 17, 2010

We just returned from a two night stay at the Brenham House. We had a wonderful time and the entire experience exceeded our expectations. Susan and James are terrific hosts! The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and the presentation was outstanding. We hope to visit again in the near future. If you have the opportunity we would recommend staying at the Brenham House. Mary & Eddie Wheelock, TX


Perfect weekend retreat

5 on September 09, 2010

The Brenham House B&B surpasses all of our expectations, the breakfast, accommodations, hospitality, location were all excellent!


Just like home!

4.2 on August 17, 2010

A very pleasant stay with very pleasant hosts. The house was most comfortable and the service excellent and food delicious. James and Susan are blessed with servants hearts!


What the Dr. ordered!!

5 on July 30, 2010

Our stay at The Brenham House was simply what the Dr. ordered. Everything was so personalized to include the welcome with our names in the front door area. My husband and I highly recommend James and Susan to provide you not only with a very quiet restful stay but delicious food, and a place we now consider our " home away from home". We look forward to our next visit very soon. Ken and Lori Rochow, Houston, TX.


Love The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

5 on June 21, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at The Brenham House. It is a relaxing place to stay. Wake up to the birds chirping and the very quiet of a small town. The breakfast is served to you and it is very special. Everyone at the table enjoyed the food and the conversation was great. James and Susan are so accommodating and really know the area. They can guide you to area sites and hints for what to do first, second and so on which will allow you to take more in in a day. I would suggest you plan to stay at least two days like we did. There is so much to do in Brenham and the surrounding area!


Brenham House

5 on June 02, 2010

This B&B is just what we needed for a refreshing 2 day trip. There were many extras included: cokes, water bottles, secure wifi, afternoon refreshments, games and a selection of free videos.


Resting Place

4.6 on May 27, 2010

My husband and I love exploring different B&B's. The Brenham House is the typical B&B but exceeded our expectations. Of course, it was all beautiful inside and out, but when we showed up the owners greeted us so warmly at the door they offered us tea and cake and a cozy spot on the living room sofa. It was like we were family. Very sweet couple indeed! The place was so restful and relaxing. Antiques and other beautiful decor filled the casual but elegant home. Our room was very spacious and beautiful as well. It was very quiet and we were able to enjoy a restful sleep. Breakfast was served at 9am in the dining room by the couple in an elegant setting. Wow! It was amazing! A three course breakfast that left us in no need for lunch later! We were first served tropical sorbet in pretty crystal sorbet glasses. Then roasted potatoes with a deviled egg salad baked on an english muffin were served. And to top that off, french toast casserole. Come to find out they were previous owners of a successful bakery in Houston. Not suprising at all with the amazing breakfast we were served. The location was great also, near downtown Brenham. The price is very reasonable considering the fanastic service, food and accomadations. We can't wait to visit Brenham House again.


Bridge Getaway

5 on May 27, 2010

This was the perfect place for our bridge group. Great accommodations with exceptional breakfasts. We will come again.


Fabulous Host Couple!

4.4 on May 21, 2010

Fabulous host couple! My only disappointment was our room size. It was a small room at a high price for what it was. The breakfast was good, but not a show stopper. Afternoon cake was wonderful.


Charming, Delicious and Relaxing!

4.8 on May 14, 2010

My daughter and I spent a "Mother's Day" weekend night at the Brenham House. The hosts were so accomodating and hospitable! The room and bed were immaculate and comfortable, the afternoon brownie and tea snack inviting, the grounds so well kept and the delicious gourmet breakfast the "icing on the cake!" It was a peaceful respite and we will be back!


Above and Beyond

3.8 on May 06, 2010

The owners added so many personal touches - ice cream sundaes when we arrived, all-out great breakfast that was designed for my gluten-free needs. And they are as kind and personable as anyone I've ever met!


Wildflower Sights

5 on May 03, 2010

The Brenham House is a terrific B&B. It was like home only better as I didn't have to cook. I really hope to go again. The hosts were wonderful.


Beautiful Bluebonnet Trip

4.8 on April 30, 2010

Delicious food; lovely ldoging; gracious, friendly hosts. Bluebonnets blooming in front yard. It doesn't get any better than this.


Pampered and Blessed

5 on April 29, 2010

Brenham House has great ambience and even great breakfasts! The 3-course breakfasts are delightful and filling.... we love the "breakfast desserts". James and Susan Lopez are very gracious hosts who take great care in seeing that their guests are well-satisfied.


Wonderful!!

5 on April 19, 2010

James and Susan made you feel like you were staying with good friends. Would come back in a heartbeat!


Warm and Welcoming

5 on April 14, 2010

The Brenham House is a great package: delightful decor, family treasures on display, comfortable rooms, delicious food, caring hosts. It's a wonderrful place to visit. I will definitely return.


A Place to Remember

4.8 on March 25, 2010

Met by the friendly proprietor - given access to all common areas - breakfast outstanding, genuinely friendly hosts, each room with individual charm.


Beautiful Stay

5 on March 18, 2010

My husband and I took a long weekend and stayed at Brenham House Bed and Breakfast. It was our first time at a B&B. From the moment we entered, until we left, we felt pampered and taken care of by the owners! We had wonderful homemade treats by Susan and James, and wonderful original breakfasts each morning. We were there to relax, and relax we did! It may have been our first bed and breakfast, but we know it won't be our last! We will be back!


Girls Weekend

5 on March 10, 2010

The Brenham House is very nice, the rooms were beautiful and comfortable. The food was great. James and Susan were wonderful hosts.


Girls Weekend

4.8 on March 10, 2010

Everything was clean, neatly decorated, very homey. Great food.


Girls Weekend

5 on March 10, 2010

A beautiful home and what a gracious host. Just like coming home. Breakfast was the very best I've had. I will be coming back.


Brenham House

4.6 on March 09, 2010

Great hospitality from owners, evening deserts, coffee and tea. Great brunch - roomy, fresh.


A Wonderful B&B

5 on March 02, 2010

Our host James and Susan were very friendly and sweet. They went the extra mile to make our stay perfect. Everything was beautiful, cozy and clean. The food was excellent.


Highly Recommended

5 on February 17, 2010

The Lopez's are wonderful hosts, greeting us with homemade goods and hot coffee. James even helped me unload the car since my husband had just had surgery. The house was pretty, and very comfortable and clean. Their home-cooked gourmet breakfast was fabulous and a real treat. We can't wait to get back and be spoiled again.


They have done it again!

5 on February 14, 2010

I recently went BACK to the Brenham House B&B for our anniversary 02/12 and we were met with open arms like we were among family. My husband a very quiet to himself person, came out of his shell and was so chatty this time around, Breakfast was delish! And the room was heavenly! Until next time Susan and James!


Delightful!

5 on December 30, 2009

Our time at Brenham House was relaxing and very enjoyable.


What's not to like?

5 on December 11, 2009

Cozy beds, homey surrounding yummy food, gracious hosts. We will be back for more of the same.


Wonderful weekend getaway

4.4 on November 16, 2009

Great location, beautiful room, fantastic breakfast and delightful innkeepers. We will be back!


Very Enjoyable

5 on November 04, 2009

While planning a recent trip to Brenham, I found that all the B&B's in Brenham were full. (Still do not know why) At the recommendation of another Innkeeper, I arranged to Stay at the Brenham House. What a joy. The house is very comfortable and secure. The Antique Rose room was comfortable and private, it is the last room on the hall before the sun porch. All the amenities are of first quality. Free WiFI, snacks after 3 in the afternoon, free soda and water. A real joy. And the food, the sweet and spicy bacon, who ever thought of baking bacon in the oven! Susan and James run an excellant establishment. I will be back.


Restful respite

5 on October 20, 2009

Wonderful B&B experience. Hosts know their business; they provide a very comfortable escape from the stress of the day.


What a Wonderful House & Hosts

5 on October 19, 2009

My sisters and I met at the Brenham House for a girls' weekend of shopping. The hosts were very friendly, the food was wonderful, and the beds were so comfy. We would recommend Brenham House and hope to return.


Excellent experience!

4.6 on October 14, 2009

We loved our stay at the Brenham house. The rooms are cute, the service is wonderful, Susan's cooking amazing! We will surely be back!


Eats ... and Treats!

4.8 on October 11, 2009

My Mom and I had the honor of staying recently. RoundTop, Warrenton Antique Festival. The food (one of my faves) ... was INCREDIBLE. (And I took my time at it too, thank you!) The bed ... was comfy. Yay, a great night's sleep! The room ... was gorgeous! The Innkeepers ... had amazing hearts, the Inn was full of LOVE. We were blessed by the entire experience! Ps. The veggies with breakfast were different, a mindful bonus. Delicious! And Susan's laugh was beautiful and contagious! Thank you for everything ...


Delightful B&B

5 on October 08, 2009

We spent 3 nights at The Brenhem House and it was so lovely. The hosts James & Susan are a delightful couple and we enjoyed getting to know them. The breakfast and afternoon snack were so delicious that we ate way too much. The beds were the most comfortable we have ever found at a B&B. We would go back anytime we were in the area.


The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

5 on October 06, 2009

Enjoyed my stay very much. Everything was great!


The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

5 on October 02, 2009

We were very pleased with our visit to Brenham House.


The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

5 on October 01, 2009

A truly delightful B&B visit. Great food as well as a very comfortable sleep -- James and Susan make top notch innkeepers!


Outstanding Breakfasts!

4.8 on September 30, 2009

James & Susan are naturals at being innkeepers. Friendly and low-key. The food was over the top with freshness and originality! Wonderful stay!


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast

5 on September 29, 2009

The Brenham House B&B was one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. Susan is a wonderful cook, and both she and James are mindful innkeepers. The house was exceptional, and the food was divine. The cookies each afternoon was a real delight! I would refer anyone to stay here! Diane Cook


Wonderful Night

5 on September 20, 2009

We were greeted at the door by BnB owner, James Lopez. He graciously introduced himself and his home to us. His wife, Susan, was in the kitchen preparing another batch of cookies for her hungry guests. She is a superb cook and really shines with her breakfast menu! We stayed in the Garden room which was on the second floor. The room itself is large with hardwood floors and an antique bed. A beautiful stain glass pane hangs from the wall. We were celebrating our 27th wedding anniversay and would definitely recommend the Brenham House to anyone who wants to see the Brenham area (there is lots to do there) or is headed to College Station for an Aggie game or Austin for a Longhorn game (hiss).


Amazing place to stay

5 on September 07, 2009

My husband and I are repeat boarders at The Brenham House. We met some old friends there for this stay and none of us could believe the breakfast. A 3 course brunch with a refreshing desert the night before. Hosts James and Susan Lopez make B&B staying a delightful experience all the way around.


Hospitality with a gourmet touch

5 on September 02, 2009

This is an outstanding B&B with all the charm one expects: lovely antiques, family pictures, comfy beds. To top it all off the gourmet breakfasts offer three sumptuous courses almost beyond description.


Outstanding!

5 on August 21, 2009

I loved the experience will be back! Susan & Jimmy are so warm & friendly, treated us like family. I will never again choose a hotel. Thanks Susan & Jimmy!


A restful time.

5 on August 19, 2009

A quiet and restful time. Get a break from the usual busy life style. Lovely time. Got to see parts of Texas history we had not seen. Good weather. Great folks to visit with. Very hospitable! Bill and Marieta.


Great house

5 on August 19, 2009

We had an awesome stay. Very gracious and restful. Made you feel right at home. Efficient and good.


The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 18, 2009

Outstanding does not even begin to tell you what a wonderful stay we had at the Brenham House. The bed was so comfortable and the food was so good. James & Susan are precious people and definitely are fabulous hosts!


Fantastic Reunion Stay

4.8 on August 16, 2009

James and Susan were great hosts and are just tremendous individuals!! Susan's breakfast was fantastic treat; couldn't have asked for anything better. This B&B simply begs one to sit back, relax and enjoy the ambience, people and community in which it exists.


hurry and get here

5 on August 11, 2009

We have stayed at B&B's in previously. The Brenham House in Brenham, TX was our most enjoyable. The ambiance is very comfortable. The library room is most recommended. The location is in a quiet neighborhood, just a couple of blocks from the historic town square. Nearby is good food, wine, antiques and beautiful countryside. if possible, bring your bicycles. James & Susan Lopez are some of the most inviting innkeepers (and potential friends) one can meet. Although I have traveled the world, never have I had a better three (3) course breakfast!! Certainly is gourmet quality. There are many touches that are extended to make one feel welcome. I previously failed to mention that the cost is most economical. Kathy and I are looking forward to many return visits. Thank you James & Susan. Will see you again. David H


Nice folks

3.0 on August 05, 2009

Our hosts were very hospitable and the food was great. The room and amenities were not as nice as other B&Bs we've stayed at. Enjoyable stay.


The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 05, 2009

The brenham House owners are a very special, gracious couple, and, truly, the house is wonderfully decorated, extremely comfortable. I would heartily recommend the place.


Glorious Morning!

5 on August 03, 2009

If you want to be spoiled, this is the place to go! Very clean. Delicious food! James and Susan could not have been kinder and more generous! Good location. We stayed in the 'Glorious Morning' room which has an adjoining library. Stay there, you'll love it!


Great B & B

5 on July 29, 2009

My husband book The Brenham House for our anniversary. The hospitality, room, and breakfast was wonderful. A great place for a relaxing get away. Date of stay 7-24-09


best breakfast in Brenham (and beyond...)

4.4 on July 28, 2009

Susan & James were terriffic hosts, and the gourmet breakfast was absolutely delicious. I would make a trip to Brenham just to stay here for the food!


wonderful experience

5 on July 16, 2009

Amazing food, clean, fresh, relaxing. Our mother and daughter getaway was wonderful. We will have fond memories of our time together.


Just what the doctor ordered!

5 on July 16, 2009

This was my first time at a B&B. I am now a B&B fan for life! Relaxing atmosphere, amazing food, wonderful hospitality and quiet..very quiet!


Relaxing and Comfortable

5 on July 08, 2009

The innkeepers were very personable and extremely generous. The Stay was relaxing and we will return very soon. The home was clean and very comfortable.


June 20th Anniversary - 28 years

5 on June 26, 2009

My husband and I wanted a quick nice getaway, to celebrate our 28th anniversary. We decided on the Brenham house which was a close drive and that way not too far from home. They greeted us nicely and made us feel at home. Quarters were very clean and everything was exceptional down to the food, conversation and hospitality. Made you feel like part of their family. Will be going again soon.


Memoralble Anniversary say

5 on June 22, 2009

Susand and James are great hosts; they are both very personable. We were immediately made to feel welcome and at home. They were very good at making themselves scarce if you preferred more privacy but also great at visiting if you started conversations. Would definitely recommend. The best part was truly the food; the scones are the best I have ever eaten.


something you don't want to miss

5 on June 19, 2009

We just happened upon this Bed and Breakfast and has not planned on staying in one. We are from out of state and this was the highlight of our trip through Texas this week. This home is wonderfully furnished - so peaceful. The owners are so warm and inviting. They were so welcoming and provided a brunch the next morning that was absolutely wonderful. Staying here was a treat that everyone should have a chance to experience. We were so pampered yet given our privacy. This was a place we should certainly love to return to some day and would recommend it to anyone we knew. June 19-20, 2009


Loved It!

5 on June 14, 2009

My Mom and I felt like we were visiting long-time friends. James and Sue are the perfect hosts and the house is lovely. We enjoyed relaxing on the porch. We hope to make a return trip!


VERY IMPRESSED!

5 on June 03, 2009

This was my husband and i first bed and breakfast. I was really impressed with it... i felt like it was a home a away from home...susan breakfast and snacks are to die for..everything is homemade and delicious...she makes it seem soo simple...i will be back for sure..this is a place to stay and feel relaxed...i give it 4 star


A wonderful place to relax and recharge

5 on May 24, 2009

My wife and I are at that "Tweener" stage in life where we are taking care of the older and younger generations of our families. Couple this with both of us working full time demanding jobs and you have a formula for mega-stress. When we need to get away to recharge our batteries, we go to The Brenham House. Susan And James greet us upon arrival with delicious afternoon homemade treats such as their special brownies and strawberry lemonade, and then sit with us and answer all of our questions about Brenham and the local area. There is a great deal to do in the area. The Lopez's know the best restaurants and have wonderful suggestions for whatever activity you fancy. If you just want to hang out around the house, they have a library with books and DVD's for all tastes. There is a back room that has board games, cards, a small refrigerator stocked with drinks and a microwave with popcorn. From this room you can play, read, or simply watch the birds out in the garden area. Outside the yard is well-groomed and equipped with padded furniture and even a hammock big enough for two. The rooms are beautifully decorated with antique furniture and art. The bed and padded chairs are so comfortable! There is a TV and DVD player, along with some microwave popcorn, in each room. The soaps and shampoos are spa-style, and there are even soft robes in the room for your comfort. The brunches are absolutely delicious. They were in the restaurant business for years in Houston and it certainly shows! Susan has even put together a cookbook (Which my wife bought) of her most-requested recipes. The local are has lots to do from winery tours to live music on the town square to the monastery that raises miniature horses. We always come home refreshed. The Brenham House is the only place we'll stay when we vsit the area. They have truly spoiled us!


Great Place to Enjoy

5 on May 13, 2009

This B&B has the loveliest hosts and best food ever! It is super-relaxing and everyone need is attended to. Love it!


we had a great time!

5 on May 13, 2009

Attention to detail and hospitality were fantastic. Our needs were anticipated. A very lovely inn!


everything was perfect

4.8 on May 13, 2009

Had a wonderful time and would love to come back!


yesterday

4.4 on May 13, 2009

Black-eyed Susans, daisies, soft breezes, faint train the the night, all take one who is looking, back to yesterday.


Brenham House

5 on May 13, 2009

Excellent hosts-made us feel like family. Very kind, considerate and met our every need, sometimes before we knew we needed something. Beautiful home.


outstanding hospitality

5 on May 13, 2009

Very relaxing and enjoyable. I plan to return in the future!


The Brenham House

5 on May 13, 2009

Loved our stay. Great food and service. The hospitality was outstanding and it was enjoyable setting to know other guests.


ALREADY BOOKED FOR NEXT VISIT!

5 on May 06, 2009

What a gem! Perfect visit, warm engaging hosts. Food was beautifully presented and delicious. The setting is warm, cozy and welcoming. Susan and James treated us like special guests and that is how we felt. We have booked for a fall visit and intend to be regulars. Can't go wrong staying here! Wonderful experience. Nancy and Gil - Houston


A Fabulous Weekend

5 on April 28, 2009

This was the perfect getaway for a girls' trip. We had the whole downstairs area to ourselves and enjoyed three different gathering areas (living room, library and sun porch). The inn was delightful, with everything we could possibly need or want. The breakfast was out of this world good! The hosts were so pleasant and accommodating, tending to our every need. The bedrooms were very comfortable. We were spoiled from the moment we arrived!


Excellent!

5 on April 21, 2009

It was our first stay in a B&B. What a great experience! The hosts were wonderful as well as the food and rooms.


wonderful B&B

5 on April 17, 2009

This inn is a wonderful establishment. The owners are incredible, and their B&B is clean, neat, and as good as a B&B gets! Try it, you will love it!


A Peaceful Escape

5 on April 15, 2009

It is such a quaint little house nestled in a well manicured garden. The home has a Southern touch and is decorated in such a way to invite you to rest. For example in our room you are invited to pull a book off the shelf and sit a while and read. Or pull up a chair and play a game of solitaire or checkers. Our mattress was very plush and comfortable and the house had a fresh country smell to it that put you at ease. The breakfast was delicious. Our only regret is we could not stay longer. James and Susan are great Innkeepers and they have a personality that invites you to come back. My husband visited another Bed & Breakfast the same day in the same area and he chose this one simply by the first impression given by James Lopez. Mr. Lopez really knows how to be hospitable.


totally awesome

5 on April 14, 2009

Best ever. Keep up the good work. Susan and James are GREAT!!!! We'll be back!


very pleasant experience

5 on April 13, 2009

I will go back for the antique market and stay there!


Excellent

4.8 on April 13, 2009

This was our first visit to a bed and breakfast. It was wonderful and all others will now be held at a very high standard.


Bluebonnet Trail visit

4.6 on April 10, 2009

James and Susan are gracious and friendly hosts. Our room was large, comfortably furnished, and very clean. We will recommend this B&B to our friends and we will be back!


B&B to see

4.6 on March 31, 2009

Hospitality; friendliness; cleanliness; comfort - all these are here plus a beautiful breakfast, both table settings and scrumptious homemade food


Brenham House

4.0 on March 27, 2009

Hosts were very hospitable and made me feel at home. We were served wholesome breakfasts. wonderful place to stay!


wonderful-slotlessly clean- superb decod

5 on March 27, 2009

I can't say enough about the hospitality of James and Susan. They made me feel more than welcome and comfortable and the food ; I don't have words to describe. It was out of this world!


charming B&B, run by a charming couple

5 on March 19, 2009

Look forward to next getaway at Brenham House!


Highly Recommended

5 on March 17, 2009

The Brenham House is a wonderful place to stay. James and Susan are great hosts, the food is top-notch, and the value is well above average. We stayed in the Garden Dream Room for two nights. It was a relaxing weekend with lots to do. My wife and I visited antique shops, the George H. W. Bush Museum (College Station about 1hr. north), and the Blue Bell Ice Cream Factory. There are several other things to do, but we ran out of time. The Brenham House has a great location to everything in the area. I highly recommend this B and B!


comfy and quiet

4.2 on March 03, 2009

The beds and bedding were very comfortable. hosts were extremely nice. Food was great and abundant.


A LOVELY TIME

4.0 on February 27, 2009

We arrived 2 hours earlier than planned and Susan & James didn't hesitate to make us welcome. The house is a lovely older home and the decorations wonderful. It is a very neat, clean and relaxing place to stay. They told us all about the amenities, gave us directions and made us feel very at ease. The 3 course breakfast was excellent. I'm sorry we weren't able to stay another night. I have been telling everyone that if they go to Brenham to please stay at The Brenham House B&B. We will definitely go back and stay there again.


Great Experience

5 on February 23, 2009

the breakfast was a five star experience!


wonderful stay

4.6 on February 23, 2009

James and Susan are excellent hosts, breakfasts were fabulous. House was very comfy and cozy.


Valentine's celebration

3.8 on February 18, 2009

Overall, stay was great. Hosts were outstanding. Accommodations were clean and bright. Bed was very cozy.


Hospitality Par Excellence!!!!

4.8 on February 17, 2009

My wife and I spent a wonderful, restful and delightful Vanentine's weekend with the most gracious of hosts, James and Susan of The Brenham House B&B. Since we arrived on a Thursday, we were the only visiter yet we were showered with such hospitality as we have ever experienced in a B&B. The house is lovely and peaceful and the breakfasts were trully 5 star - the best ever. Thank you James and Susan for making our weekend one we will never forget.


Best in the West!

5 on February 15, 2009

We try to stay at B&Bs whenever we travel, and our brief stay at Brenham House was the highlighy of our trip. BH proprietors James and Susan made us fell "right at home". We ate great food, did walkaouts around the town from this great location, told tall tales, and every need was met beyond our best expectations. We plan to stay here everytime we return to the Brenham, TX (aka Houston) area.


jewel in Brenham

5 on January 28, 2009

Lovely restored home- very gracious couple. Great breakfast. Looking forward to a return


the best

5 on January 28, 2009

The best B&B we have ever stayed in! Everything was perfect!


a great place to stay

5 on January 22, 2009

Very clean and accommodating. Great people/innkeepers and great food!


Best in Texas and Southwest

5 on January 21, 2009

As well seasoned travelers, we have stayed in a number of outstanding B&B's all over the country. Our high expectations were well exceeded when we spent two delightful nights at the Brenham House in Brenham, Texas. James and Susan Lopez, owners and innkeepers, are living their dream. That is, establishing and operating one of the finest B&B's in Texas and the Southwest. They are well on their way toward realizing this dream as evidenced by their beautiful home, comfortable accommodations and superb breakfasts. The Lopez's attention to detail is extraordinary and their sense of hospitality unparalleled. The Brenham House is a premiere Bed and breakfast which is first rate in every respect. We can confidently say you will not be disappointed if you chose this wonderful lodging accommodation.


Wonderful Visit

4.0 on January 19, 2009

Enjoyed our stay at the Brenham House. Susan and James were very gracious host and excellent chefs! The B&B was beautiful and attention was paid to every detail.


Great innkeepers, great house!

4.8 on January 19, 2009

James and Susan are exceptional hosts who really make you feel at home. We had a great visit! Wonderful food, too. My only complaint is with Brenham itself -- no fault of theirs. Any accommodations within about a mile of the main rail line near downtown will hear blaring horns off and on through the night, and I'm a very light sleeper.


Brenham house

4.0 on January 14, 2009

Our stay was wonderful. Great hosts, comfortable accommodations, and terrific food! We will definitely be back!


A gift to a healthy New Year

5 on January 13, 2009

Our B&B stay was a gift, which was a pleasant surprise and it opened our eyes 'to a new experience that we never had considered as a way to getaway' from our stressful lives. It left us with a new outlook on how wonderful and important they are to a healthy way of life.


everything was absolutely wonderful!

5 on January 09, 2009

It was one of my favorite B&B's that I have stayed in so far! Will do it again!


Brenham house

5 on December 18, 2008

wonderful stay in the Brenham House!


weekend getaway

5 on December 18, 2008

James and Susan made my weekend stay. They had welcome sign our front with my name on it. The food was great. I would stay here again and will tell everyone the same thing!


Brenham house

3.4 on December 15, 2008

nice stay


an outstanding getaway

5 on December 09, 2008

The Brenham house is located on a quiet street near downtown Brenham. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly and made to feel at home. The owners are wonderful people. The beds and linens were wonderful, and bathrooms spotless. The breakfast was exceptional. I would highly recommend it!


Comfy, cozy, delish!!

5 on November 25, 2008

The room was so inviting with all the comforts of home! The bed was so comfortable. Jim and Susan were very welcoming and the breakfast was fabulous! They even catered to my food allergies!


Great Enjoyable Stay

4.0 on November 24, 2008

My husband and I had a most enjoyable stay at this B&B. James and Susan are exceptional innkeepers that made us feel special and welcome. We sooooo enjoyed the fantastic breakfast, the accommodations, and the suggestions as what to see in the area. They really went the extra mile to make our stay a wonderful memory. A+ for a great place to stay.- hope to return sometime


nice place to stay

4.6 on November 11, 2008

great stay. lovely hosts, great food, beautiful rooms.


Best of the best

5 on November 05, 2008

This is the best B&B our girlfriend getaways had ever stayed in. Best food and service, best beds and best hosts. we were pampered and felt very special!


the best

5 on November 05, 2008

This is the best B&B I have stayed in. The breakfast, beds, and hospitality was superb. I definitely would return!


very charming

3.4 on November 04, 2008

very warm and friendly


excellent hosts!

5 on November 04, 2008

James and Susan made us feel most welcome. The food was beyond any my group had ever experienced in the past 15 years we have been going to B&B's. Recommended to friends and worth a second stay there.


by far the best

4.0 on November 03, 2008

the hosts were outstanding and went out of their way to make sure we had a great weekend!


excellent B&B

5 on November 03, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed our weekend at the Brenham House! Outstanding service and house! we would highly recommend to others!


wonderful B&B

5 on October 29, 2008

very hospitable. perfect breakfast!! Very comfortable beds, and beautiful grounds!


The Brenham House

4.6 on October 29, 2008

Delightful! Attentive and warm hosts. lovely accommodations, very pleasant and very enjoyable.


Incredible Breakfast; charming setting

5 on October 27, 2008

We loved the place! The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had! The hosts were fun and very informative. The town itself is great and a nice get-away for a weekend. We will definitely return and whole-heartedly recommend it!


Our wonderful stay

4.8 on October 23, 2008

The NICEST people run this beautiful home. I HIGHLY recommend it to everyone! Breakfast was great; felt at home!


The Brenham House

3.8 on October 22, 2008

James and Susan were very gracious hosts and very helpful with info about restaurants, festivals, and knowledge of surrounding areas.


Fabulous Place

5 on October 13, 2008

Wonderful place to go and kick back. Great hosts. Very helpful with suggestions for entertainment and dining. Very comfortable beds and outstanding 3 course breakfasts!


The Brenham House

5 on September 29, 2008

Our stay was outstanding! The food was delicious and very elegant. This would be a great get-away for my husband (Brian) and me (Tish). It was very relaxing and comfortable. Both of you are very kind hosts/innkeepers and may God bless you.


Labor Day Without the Labor

5 on September 24, 2008

Our stay was outstanding. We have stayed in many BB in Texas & Missouri & this was by far the BEST. Accommodations were first rate, the food was 5 star, but best of all were our hosts. James & Susan are truly gracious & lovely people. We will be back.


The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 19, 2008

Very pleasant stay!


A cozy, refreshing interlude

5 on August 01, 2008

We found the Brenham House on the internet and it exceeded all our expectations. Will recommend it ot family and friends.


Wonderful Get Away!

4.8 on July 31, 2008

James and Susan go to extra mile with their smalltouches to make your stay memorable. Our anniversary was wonderfully romantic. The house was also very clean and breakfast was awesome.


Thoroughly enjoyed the Brenham House

5 on July 28, 2008

From their warm welcome to their farewell, owners James and Susan made every effort to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms were quiet and comfortable, and the breakfast was 5-star quality. Anytime we are in the Brenham area, the Brenham House will be our first choice for lodging.


The Brenham House

5 on July 17, 2008

Beautiful grounds and house inside and out - wonderful breakfast, snacks, refreshments, innkeepers were outstanding and helpful - rooms beautiful, comfortable and cozy. would definitely go back!


The Brenham House

5 on July 17, 2008

James & Susan Lopez provided a very warm, comfortable retreat. Breakfast was outstanding, lots of little "extras". Loved it!


Wonderful Weekend Retreat

5 on July 14, 2008

Great location in quiet neighborhood, but close to downtown. Excellent accommodations and breakfast to die for. Very friendly hosts. We will definitely return for another stay.


The Brenham House

4.8 on July 10, 2008

Loved our stay...loved our hosts...loved the FOOD! Farmer Bakers KNOW how to cook!


The Brenham House

5 on July 07, 2008

the Innkeepers showed a great deal of hospitality and concern for the guests. Great experience!


The Brenham House

5 on July 03, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Brenham House B&B! It is a lovely home, the hosts are very warm & friendly & the food was outstanding! We definitely plan to stay there again.


Excellent

5 on July 02, 2008

Excellent people, accommodations & food!!


Spring Retreat

5 on June 20, 2008

Last April my sisters and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend in Brenham. We stayed at an exquisite B&B. The Brenham House and thoroughly relaxed in this lovely place.


Lovely Stay

5 on June 06, 2008

charming clean accommodations combined with exceedingly good food served in an exquisite manner. good choice!


Wonderful

5 on May 30, 2008

Wonderful, relaxing-great food. Thoughtful hosts-would highly recommend-and would love to come back.


Wonderful Weekend in Brenham

5 on May 22, 2008

We enjoyed a great weekend at the Brenham House B&B. The hospitality and food were exceptional.


A Must Stay

5 on May 14, 2008

Charming country B&B in a perfect location - close to everything. Enjoy a quiet, relaxing stay with excellent accommodations and a super host and hostess.


The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

4.4 on May 02, 2008

very gracious owners anxious to please; over the top breakfast included in rate; lots of thoughtful touches like cold beverages (bottled water, soda) for guests to take with them. dessert for an afternoon


A Lovely Home Base

4.6 on April 24, 2008

Brenham's central location among key visitor sites (the April bluebonnet-filled trails, Bluebell Creamery, Antique Rose Emporium, Washington on the Brazos, Martha's Bloomers, +more) is perfect. But discovering the lovely, Texas-friendly Brenham House was a trip highlight. Hosts Susan & James Lopez live on-premises and pamper you like family. Our rooms with private baths were very comfy & decorated with antiques and bric-a-brac, much of it handed down through the hosts' families. The twin beds were much appreciated (they're hard to find in B&Bs). And the gourmet breakfasts, complete with "dessert", were dee-licious and elegantly served on Lenox china with silver & crystal. Didn't leave a crumb on those pretty plates! Brenham features several entertaining weekend events during the year, at least one of which should give us an excuse to go back. We're sure looking forward to another visit with the Lopez's at their lovely Brenham House B&B.


Wonderful B&B

5 on April 24, 2008

It was truly a memorable stay! Susan and James were exceptional hosts and the food was wonderful. We were greated with fresh brownies and great coffee and ended our stay with a gourmet breakfast. We will definitely visit them again.


The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

5 on April 23, 2008

GREAT!!


The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

5 on April 22, 2008

Enjoyed our stay. Susan and James were great hosts. The breakfast was delicious and hospitality outstanding.


The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on April 22, 2008

Warm, friendly-comfortable accomodations delicious food!


The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

5 on April 22, 2008

The owners have thought of everything. Comfortable, tasteful, spotless. Beautiful garden, china, and linens. And Susan and James are a true team and they care about their guests.


The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

5 on April 21, 2008

My stay at the Brenham House is one I will always remember. The hospitality and food were outstanding. Would definately recommend it!


The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

5 on April 21, 2008

Charming and personable, Susan and James don't miss a thing. Incredible home made food, fresh baked cookies for snack and popcorn and movies. Just incredible customer service and an incredible visit!


Great Overniter

4.0 on April 08, 2008

My daughter and I were treated to the most delectable breakfast ever. I've visited several B&B over the years and this is the best food by far. Will definitely do it again. Perfect weekend away for a couple too.


Lucky referral

5 on April 08, 2008

We were fortunate to have been referred to this B&B by another B&B owner. The Brenham House is A-1 in our estimation. From a large bar of bath soap, cozy robes, TVs/DVDs, popcorn, gourmet breakfasts, mid-afternoon treats, great coffee, maps and recommendations for local sights and restaurants; the owners thought of everything. We will certainly do a return visit to The Brenham House and tell our friends about our stay there. Better yet, we will bring our friends with us.


A Very Special Weekend

5 on April 07, 2008

My husband and I spent our first anniversary weekend at Brenham House. James and Susan made it a weekend to remember. Our room and bathroom were spacious and beautiful, the food was delicious, and their special touches made it perfect. It was a wonderful experience, down to the last detail. Our stay at Brenham House made an already special occasion better than we ever imagined.


Can't Wait To Go Back

5 on March 21, 2008

We don't even know where to begin! There is so much to talk about. We have already planned our next trip to stay at The Brenham House. I for one cannot wait to take another long luxurious bath, followed by an uninterrupted sound sleep, and wake up the smell of a fresh breakfast consisting of blueberry pancakes, bacon, eggs, fresh fruit, and freshly squeezed orange juice. We can't wait to see what they serve us next time! You can definitely tell that Jimmy and Susan have been in the restaurant industry for years. My husband and I had such a romantic time having coffee in the sun room and spending the day walking around historic downtown Brenham. Everything was just so cozy, clean, and downright peaceful. Jimmy and Susan made everything so perfect for us! You will not be disappointed.


Family Time In Brenham

5 on March 07, 2008

Our trip to Brenham was eye-opening. After many trips back and forth on the interstate, we took the country backroads to get there. What a change from the hustle of our usual lives! This quiet, yet sophisticated, little town was a pleasant departure from life at home. The hospitality of the host couple was superb. The accomodations were wonderful. It was a weekend to remember.


Great Experience

5 on March 06, 2008

Attention to detail is evident throughout the house. James and Susan are delightful hosts. The breakfast was outstanding and plentiful.


"Glorious Morning"

5 on February 26, 2008

Our room Glorious Morning was great. The library made it feel spacious. The 9am breakfast was spectacular. You could go until dinner on this feast. It was real food, nothing "continental" about it. The side yard with it's pecan trees and flowers are a nice addition. Our hosts were very charming. We had a wonderful stay.


The Brenham House Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $129 - $179
  • Reviews (179) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9792519947

Visit Website »

View details

Top