Sycamore Cottage Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room5.0
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
25 Reviews

Write A Review

An unexpected treat!

5 on November 19, 2013

We were so fortunate to find this gem in Brenham for a quasi-spontaneous get away weekend! The house is meticulous, furnished with interesting antiques and artwork, and perfectly situated whether you want to walk to the historic downtown area or head out of town to the many interesting sites and events in the area. The owner's hospitality is genuine and generous. We could not have selected a better place for Rest and Relaxation! I recommend Sycamore Cottage Guest House without any reservation (no pun intended).


Outstanding!

4.8 on September 09, 2013

Sycamore Cottage was perfect for my stay in Brenham. The home is absolutely beautiful, and decorated very tastefully. The history of the home and the photos of the remodeling process add a very interesting and personal touch, and show the incredible amount of love and labor that were put into the remodeling. The home is very conveniently located to restaurants and the downtown area, yet in a very quiet area allowing for relaxing times, especially to enjoy the front porch swing. The accommodations are immaculate, and the owners stayed in touch, making sure that everything was acceptable during my stay there. I definitely recommend staying at Sycamore Cottage.


Great location and peaceful surroundings

4.0 on June 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sycamore Cottage. It was very close to the downtown area and yet it was very quiet as we sat on the front porch.....never hearing noise from the neighbors. The home was very charming and comfortable. The owner stayed in touch with us, making sure we had everything we needed, and was very accommodating. We will definitely make plans to return!


3rd Annual Girls' Weekend

4.6 on June 24, 2013

This was our 3rd Annual Girls' Weekend -- where 4 friends from college get together without kids, dogs or husbands -- to laugh, play, shop, and relax! The Sycamore Cottage Guest House was the perfect place for that. A quiet, relaxing place close to historic downtown Brenham. The Guest House was clean and comfortable ... met our expectations


Great Time in the Beautiful Syncamore Cottage

5 on June 24, 2013

just wanted to say there is NO doubt we will return to this great place! Everything in this home was beautiful and SPOTLESS !! We thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Too bad we didn't see all the GREAT DVDs until the morning we were leaving; however, we did stay an extra 1-1/2 hours to watch "HOPE FLOATS" .... thank heavens you had Kleenex there, too! Great weekend in a GREAT cottage !!


Antique Week

5 on April 09, 2013

We came for Antique Week and so enjoyed our stay. We have stayed at several places around the area - but this has become our favorite. After shopping all day, it was so nice to come to our own little haven and unwind. Soaking in the clawfoot tub and the fabulous showers were fantastic. Especially enjoyed the pictures and info on the history of the cottage and furnishings. We look forward to coming again. James & Mishell Rowe/Glen & Nancy Hoyt


Great Place for a Girl's Weekend

4.8 on December 04, 2012

We stayed at the Cottage for a girl's weekend. Beautiful, comfortable and relaxing!


Fabulous B&B in Brenham, TX

5 on December 04, 2012

Some friends and I had the pleasure of staying at Sycamore Cottage in November ... it was the perfect spot for a girls getwaway weekend. The cottage is delightful ... beautifully appointed and very comfortable, with all of the comforts of home (including wireless access). We relaxed on the porches with our coffee and wine, set up a puzzle at the kitchen table, and propped up our feet in the living room ... so relaxing. Plus, the cottage is within easy walking distance to downtown Brenham ... antique stores and unique restaurants. We highly recommend Sycamore Cottage!


Charming and Welcoming

5 on January 17, 2012

My mother and I read about the Sycamore Cottage in Texas LIVE magazine. We decided to make it a destination for our next get-away. The owner's directions were easy to follow and a notebook of helpful information awaited us. The cottage is close to many lovely restaurants and we ate at three of them. The cottage itself is too charming for words. I chose the Victorian bedroom with the high tester bed. The bath has a clawfoot tub plus a spacious stand-up shower. My mother chose what I call the "quilt room". The bed can become two twins. There is a bath with stand-up shower. Both rooms have flat screen TV's and there is also a TV in the kitchen. The owner was kind enough to stock the kitchen with our favorite breakfast fixings and drinks. The story of the restoration of this cottage is fascinating and documented in an album in the livingroom. We felt honored to be allowed to stay in this cherished family home for just a little while.


It feels like coming home...

5 on September 26, 2011

We have been "RoundTop Antique Show" attendees for many years and have stayed in numerous lovely bed and breakfasts, as well as private cottages during our excursions. Our top priorities have always been "safe and clean". This fall we decided to stay in Brenham and enjoy the town, local shops and eateries...as well as the easy drive to RoundTop and surrounding areas. Our stay at the Sycamore Cottage was, by far, our favorite dwelling! This sweet house is beautifully restored and decorated with appropriate time pieces, as well as a mixture of interesting eclectic artwork. The house was immacutely clean and stocked thoughtfully with drinks and snacks of our preference. Although the house is beautifully restored, it has all modern conveniences...wonderful showers...footed soaking tub...luxurious linens. As much as we loved the interior, we also enjoyed relaxing evenings on the front porch swing or the private backyard deck. Each day, after trekking through the pastures and tents of our antiquing trips, we returned to the comfort of the Sycamore Cottage... and it just felt like "coming home".


Perfect Home Away from Home

5 on August 14, 2011

My mother, daughter, sister and I stayed at this beautiful home for a few days away from the menfolk. The owners love this family home and pour their love into the amenities that are provided to make your stay a perfect getaway. Rodney contacted me in advance to find out what kinds of food and drinks we liked, so it was customized just for us. We arrived to find fresh fruit on the table and refreshing drinks in the fridge. The shared spaces are inviting and comfy, and the bedrooms are lovely. The renovation is amazing, turn of the century charm with present day luxury. Thank you so much!!


Brenham Perfect

5 on April 18, 2011

Just a block down from main street, this quaint cottage was perfect for a family get-away. This home has been carefully and lovingly restored to give a flavor for turn of the 19th century gentile living in a Central Texas town. Downtown Brenham is making a come back with interesting shops and placed to eat. The perfect weekend get-away.


Round Top stay

5 on October 07, 2010

Oh my! My friend and I just had a wonderful stay at Sycamore Cottage We booked the cottage for the Round Top Antique show and have already talked about scheduling our return stay! It is soooo charming, yet so comfortable and functional. We were so taken with the cottage when we arrived... a charming house with a beautiful wrap around porch. Once inside, I was amazed at how beautiful and spotless each room was. They are great spaces. The cupboards, shelves and dishes in the kitchen were wonderful and Rodney filled the kitchen with perfect breakfast food for our stay. The living spaces are very comfortable and fresh flowers made us feel very special. Every detail was perfect. I can’t wait to return. Go there!


Picture Perfect

5 on July 02, 2010

The house should be featured in a magazine! The renovation of this family home is amazing – elegant but comfortable. All modern conveniences in a charming home. First Class!!!


paradise close to town and country-side

4.6 on April 27, 2010

I recently stayed at this cottage for 1 week with a friend.The owner obviously takes a lot of pride in his place.It is newly renovated and spotless.The interior is filled with interesting art and artifacts, nothing frilly,chintzy or tacky.I liked that.We opted out of breakfast but found fresh fruit,cheeses and other goodies anyway.I enjoyed the deep,vintage tub,sitting on the outdoor deck at the end of the day and the wildflower fields in the nearby countryside.I would recommend this place highly.


October in Brenham

4.8 on October 12, 2009

This is the perfect meeting place for a "girls weekend away." There is plenty to do around town but you will also be content to relax at the cottage.


Awesome accomodations!

5 on October 11, 2009

The cottage is a rare treasure! It was beautifully remodeled with such perfect attention to detail. It was so nice to have the modern conveniences with old world charm. Rodney went out of his way to have our favorite food and drinks. It is definately the #1 B&B our of a long list that I have rented. We want to go back to be able to spend time on the porch. It was too cool this trip.


April 24-26, 2009

5 on April 28, 2009

A wonderful house beautifully restored with period pieces plus modern enhancements. The garden and porches are wonderful for adding to the relaxation. We especially enjoyed "following the sun" with our lawn chairs. It was a short walk or drive to many restaurants and shops which made for a great balance between hide-away and being out and about the city and country side. We were four individuals staying in the house and everyone was able to please themselves. Everything we needed was present in the house and for those essentials individual to us, Walmart or other shops were easy to reach. The directories and the history books were helpful and fun to read.


Wonderful get away!

5 on April 27, 2009

We had a wonderful time in our own private guest house. There were four of us, and we never felt crowded. The home is lovingly restored and very quiet. The photo albums with the records of the restoration show how much work has been done. Great location within walking distance to downtown. I would love to make this a repeat visit!


Awesome

4.2 on April 21, 2009

We had a very relaxing stay. The house is beautiful, clean, and really feels like home. Close to downtown and places to eat. Rodney has done a fantastic job of mixing the old and the new with decor. Great sound system for music lovers. I would definitely go back and will recommend this AWESOME home to friends.


Wow

5 on April 15, 2009

We can’t imagine a more lovely place to stay. The house is serene. We liked being able to have breakfast in our pjs!! So private having the whole house to ourselves.


Our favorite B&B

5 on April 09, 2009

We were one of the first guests at this newly opened guest house. The house is more beautiful than the photos! It’s one of the nicest, most relaxing places we have stayed. Thank you.


Hospitality without the hassle

5 on April 01, 2009

Rodney went out of his way to make sure we were settled in and had lots of information for exploring Washington County. The house is in easy walking distance to downtown shops and a great Italian restaurant just one block away. We will tell our friends about this special place.


Private Guest House!

4.6 on February 24, 2009

We had the whole house! It was perfect for us and another couple that were looking for a weekend getaway. Each bedroom had its own bath. We liked the self-serve breakfast that we could have whenever we wanted. The back deck is great! There is a great restaurant just one block away.


Bliss in Brenham

5 on February 24, 2009

Here, finally, is the perfect place to call home (away from home) in the greater Houston/Brenham/Round Top area. The home has been tastefully restored, honoring the period of the architecture while offering the latest of modern updates (bathrooms, TV's, sound system and Wi-Fi). There's a full kitchen and yet, Sycamore Cottage is within walking distance to downtown with all it's dining. It's lovely and peaceful inside and out. I've stayed over the weekend several times and each time, I wish I was able to stay longer. My goal next is to book in time for Round Top and stay all week as it's unlikely this hidden treasure will stay that way long.


Sycamore Cottage Guest House

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9793374850

Visit Website »

View details

Top