Lake Travis Tree Lodge Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful Experience

4.6 on March 01, 2014

After many stays in B&B's across the country this was most definitely a "will return" location. Not only did the rooms meet and exceed expectations, it would be difficult to recreate the same experience in my own home! The scenery was spectacular with the lake and the natural beauty of Texas. The rooms were very open, spacious, and immaculate. The complimentary bottle of wine was excellent and being able to enjoy that with the sunset made this all that much better. Dining might not be something that's offered on location but with the choices of high end dining establishments within a mile and the choice of casual dining right around the corner it was without any effort that we were able to enjoy eating out and then retiring to Treetop! What an experience the entire weekend was. This one definitely goes into the "must return" category. Thanks so much for the true Texas hospitality and the experience of a lifetime for both my fiance and me. No planning required!


30th Birthday Surprise Weekend

5 on November 14, 2013

Boyfriend and I stayed at the Lake Travis Tree Lodge for the weekend of Veterans Day, which was also my 30th birthday. We are both active duty military, and really wanted to go on a cruise, but we could not take our leave together. So I told him to plan a weekend away. He came across the Tree Lodge when he was looking for a place to stay in Austin. I was absolutely astonished with him actually being able to plan a great weekend, but also picking this BEAUTIFUL place. The room was well maintained, the "innkeeper" was easy to get a hold of if we had any questions. We didn't do much sight seeing because we came to relax. It was a great way/place to relax from the stressful life we live as US Army recruiters. I would sugges the Lake Travis Tree Lodge to anyone!!


A Place to Return To

4.8 on October 14, 2013

This guesthouse is just what we were looking for to celebrate our anniversary. Bruce is an excellent host, who greeted us as we drove up and acquainted us with the place. We could contact him if we needed anything, but we were set! There were helpful reading materials to get to know the area or books just for casual reading, along with a nice bottle of vino to toast to our 34 years together. Such a serene setting to sit on the deck to enjoy the view-- as though we were the only two within miles. Enjoyed the birds at the feeders and bird bath. Very accommodating spacious place for our 3 nights there! In the future we'd make this our place to return to.


Excellent

5 on June 16, 2013

What a fabulous place to stay and enjoy the natural beauty of Texas!


One year anniversary trip

4.4 on June 06, 2013

My wife and I came to the Lake Travis Tree Lodge for our one year anniversary. After spending a lot of time looking for the perfect place I came across the Lake Travis Tree Lodge. It was everything I had expected and so much more. The views were incredible, and since it was early May we were able to enjoy the views from the couch or bed with the patio doors open. There is only a mini fridge and microwave, but it's all you need as there are plenty of great restaurants nearby as well as a propane grill for guest use. This was a surprise for my wife, guys, you can't go wrong planning a trip here. Bruce was a great host, he is not intrusive but was very helpful for anything we needed. We are definitely planning to come back.


Tranquil! and WOW!

5 on May 29, 2013

Tranquil! The view from the deck is peaceful because of the sights, AND the sounds, like the birds that call as they swoop through the trees and the trickling water on the owner's deck below. Brian, the owner, has provided a respite from the hectic lives we live. You will find yourself nestled in the trees on a newly built deck with deck chairs and a table perfect for an outdoor meal for two. Rooms are clean (so important!), and elegantly appointed (a bonus!). Kitchenette is filled with thoughtful items like a cutting board, spoons, scissors, napkins, . . . everything I might want or need. Complimentary water was great! Coffee was tasty! I loved the lotion and bought one to take home. I was impressed to see a bottle of wine on the table with two glasses greeting me when we entered. WOW. I don't want to give away the secret, but you'll truly enjoy the getaway Brian has created! Whether you want lots of information about the area or to curl up in the quietness of a vacation and de-stress, Brian's Tree House is a perfect place to be.


Beautiful getaway

5 on April 28, 2013

The Lake Travis Tree Lodge was truly a wonderful getaway for me and my boyfriend. We mostly enjoyed the nature. To be able to wake up and have a cup of coffee on the patio was perfect. Bruce was so great! He accommodated all of our needs and was so nice! We plan on going back in the summer so we can enjoy Lake Travis. Thanks again Bruce! J&L Houston, Tx March 2013


A great hide away in NW Austin!!

4.2 on April 15, 2013

My girlfriend & I stayed here 4/12-15. It was a B-day gift for her & I chose the Tree Lodge because she likes views & we weren't disappointed! Views from the deck & the bedroom are gorgeous. There was always a nice breeze blowing while we relaxed on the deck overlooking the lake. Bruce met us out front shortly after we arrived. The Tree Lodge has its own private entry & stairway so there is plenty of privacy but Bruce was close by if we needed anything. I know Austin fairly well & there were no problems with the room so other than recommending a couple of places to eat & ride (we were on a motorcycle) we had privacy the whole weekend. Speaking of places to eat I recommend County Line BBQ on FM 2222. The Oasis is nice for a margarita & a great view but the food is a little pricey for what you get. If you get downtown try Corazon on the Castle esp for Happy Hour. The Iguana is not far from the Tree Lodge. As for places to see: check out Mt Bonnell off of 2222 about 2 miles past County Line BBQ. The Oasis is a must-see even if you just go there for a drink. Check out the bats under the Congress Street bridge (Go to the TGIF at Radisson on Cesar Chavez an hour before sunset & get a table on the patio). And 6th street for some good music & even better "people watching". Overall, the Tree Lodge was a great place to stay. The only thing that could make it better is if there were a hammock & hot tub. The only negatives would be the hot water doesn't last long (just enough time for 2 adults to shower if you hurry) & the fridge is kinda small. Keep in mind that this is not really a B&B. There isn’t much to eat in the Tree Lodge but Austin is like a food Mecca. We plan on coming back again. Thanks again Bruce for a nice place to hide away & for the suggestions on where to ride. We enjoyed the ride out Hamilton Pool Road & the breakfast at the place on Hudson Bend was delicious!


2 THUMBS UP TO THIS B&B!

4.6 on February 13, 2013

The trip was a Christmas gift from my boyfriend. I had never visited Austin and we wanted a weekend away to relax! We stumbled across the Lake Travis Tree Lodge and didn't really know what to expect. Neither of us had ever been to a bed and breakfast so we didn't have many expectations. The tree lodge was located perfectly. It was close enough for our dinners out on the town and secluded enough when we wanted to get away. It has an amazing balcony view overlooking some of Austin and we felt so comfortable during our stay. The lodge is extremely "homey" and Bruce was very cordial and hospitable. We met him once and had a nice chat and the rest of time we felt like no one else was around, it was amazing. We definitely enjoyed our stay and we hope to go back soon! If you're looking for a great getaway and time to yourselves then this is the perfect place!


Lake Travis Tree Lodge

4.6 on February 08, 2013

Our stay was relaxing and stress free... exactly what we were looking for. Our host was gracious and accommodating and exceeded our expectations. Awesome lodge!


Weekend Getaway

4.0 on February 04, 2013

My husband and I went on a Hill Country bike trip and got the chance to stay at this wonderful Tree House. The place had a beautiful view. We enjoyed the eclectic feel of the condo furnishings and special soaps and bath salts that were available. Everything very neat and clean. Very close to the lake, and local restaurants. We ate at the Oasis... beautiful restaurants on the water. The neighborhood was quiet and the porch was comfortable. WE REALLY enjoyed a quiet weekend retreat away from our busy lives. Thanks for sharing your place with us!!!! The Taylor's


Romantic getaway

4.4 on November 14, 2012

If you are looking for a romantic weekend with a lot of privacy and easy access to nature and great food, stay here. The view from the balcony is gorgeous. The accommodations are very comfortable, very tastefully decorated and if you are a guy making the reservations, you will score big with your significant other :) Don't expect a full blown kitchen and cooking. There is a microwave and fridge. Bruce was nice enough to leave a complimentary bottle of wine. So we would go and get great BBQ and just awesome Mexican food and bring it back, chill and have a great time. You will love the place. Highly recommended


A wonderfull birthday surprise

4.0 on September 29, 2012

I surprised my husband with this little getaway for his birthday. He was delighted, as was I!! Everything was just perfect from the great view, the little birds and squirells that entertained us from the balcony, the cozy, well equipped rooms, and especially the thoughtfullnes of our host! We were completely comfortable and relaxed. we will come again!!


Rest and Relaxation

5 on September 10, 2012

My husband and I came to the Lake Travis Tree Lodge for a weekend getaway and it was wonderful .We did absolutely nothing! Everything we could have needed was provided, and the recommendations for places to eat was very helpful. It's so easy to be busy, and this was exactly what we needed to have a nice break. Everything was comfortable and relaxed and I would definitely recommend it for anyone who needs a little R&R.


Wonderful and comfortable retreat

5 on August 23, 2012

Even though we are lucky enough to live in Austin, we still like a quick getaway. Lake Travis Tree Lodge was our home away from home for a two night weekend that left us feeling refreshed and truly like we had been "somewhere" even though we were less than 1/2 hour from downtown Austin. Sitting high up in the large oak trees, with a magnificent view of Lake Travis, the Lodge was comfortable and had everything we needed. The pictures don't do it justice (except the sunrise - delivered just as wonderful as it looks in the pix!) We will be back. Thanks, Bruce, for a great time.


Hidden B&B TREASURE!

5 on August 06, 2012

We come to Austin quite a bit and usually stay downtown. This time my wife wanted to avoid the highrises and get back to nature a little. We looked at lots of options, but we were most intrigued by Lake Travis Tree Lodge and we booked a weekend stay. Unbelievably quaint, clean and comfy! The view of Lake Travis as awesome and we spent most of the time on our private deck watching the birds, squirrels and the Hill Country. We were only minutes from downtown, but after the first night we never left the Tree Lodge! We stopped by the grocery store and got some steaks - then barbequed them on the grill that we had at our disposal. The rates are extremely reasonable - I've paid more at some Holiday Inns! Also Bruce, the owner, is a nice guy and a native Austinite - his attention to detail and service made our stay that much more enjoyable. 2 BIG THUMBS UP for Lake Travis Tree Lodge!


Views to die for!

5 on July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Tree Lodge for a weekend away from the city. Even though we weren’t really that far from anything, it seemed like we were miles away, up on the hill with the most amazing view of the lake. The view in the evenings is out of this world, especially with all the night sounds we heard while we sat on our deck amongst all the trees. It really is a lodge among the trees. We felt right at home, it was so comfortable and clean. We had all the privacy we wanted, yet Bruce was there to answer any questions. He told us about a “secret” park a couple of minutes away on Lake Austin nicknamed the “Redneck Riviera Country Club” and about a special restaurant – Don Mario’s – that serves authentic Mexico City style food. (Get the Tingas Chicken!!) We were blown away by the Mark Goad original works of art on the walls and the all natural locally-made soaps, lotions and oils by Mystic Moments (complimentary & also for sale). We had such a blast and can’t wait to come back again. Thanks Bruce for a special "vacation"!


Great get-away from city life

4.2 on May 29, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the tree lodge very much. It has a great view and it's located in a beautiful and peacefull surrounding. Combined with the kindness and hospitality of Bruce, the owner, you are at in perfect place to forget your day-to-day troubles and just relax.


First Time B&Bers

4.6 on May 05, 2012

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast. We weren't exactly sure what to expect but what we experienced was a very relaxing and peaceful weekend. The rooms make you feel at home and the view is beautiful! Bruce was very helpful with directions and was always available.


Serene getaway

5 on April 24, 2012

The tree lodge is very clean and comfortable. We had such a wonderful time. Bruce is a thoughtful and gracious host. He left cheesecake in the fridge for me because it was my birthday! So sweet. Def would go back!


Lake Travis Tree Lodge

Details

  • Nightly Rate $185 - $185
  • Reviews (20) 4.7
  • Rooms 1
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 1-5124153033

Visit Website »

View details

Top