Recent Reviews in Troy, New York

Comfortable with a lot of character at Gardner Farm Inn (Troy, New York)

4.8 reviewed on January 12, 2016

Great escape from hectic life in the city. This was a bed and breakfast with a lot of character. John, the proprietor, is not only a superb host, but also has an artistic eye for design. He has created a comfortable, hip, and welcoming inn. We stayed two nights and felt free to either spend quiet time in our room, visit sites and events in town, or socialize with guests. John uses his fundraising and event planning skills to facilitate a social environment where guest mingle with ease. Had some of the best conversations in a while over a delicious breakfast of frittatas and freshly baked mixed berry muffins. We enjoyed it so much that we plan to make a trip back.

View more reviews for this inn


Already reserved our next stay at Gardner Farm Inn (Troy, New York)

4.6 reviewed on December 31, 2015

The rooms are just like the photos- gorgeous, with beautiful ensuites. The breakfast was delicious!! John is so thoughtful and went the extra mile to give us a memorable stay. We booked ahead for our next visit because this new B&B will surely be booked out once the word is out.

View more reviews for this inn


Brilliant, beautiful B&B - lovely host! at Gardner Farm Inn (Troy, New York)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2015

My stay with John at the Gardner's Farm Inn was one of the absolute highlights of my trip. John is a hilarious, warm, welcoming and helpful host who makes any guest feel like you're a part of his home. The house is stunningly decorated, and each bedroom is huge and gorgeous, with a luxurious ensuite in each. The town of Troy is an easy walk away, and is a fun, quaint little place. I could not recommend more highly.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful destination at Gardner Farm Inn (Troy, New York)

4.8 reviewed on October 30, 2015

We,stayed at the Gardner farm in late September . It was a welcome surprise. John as everyone has mentioned is a fabulous ,generous host and went well beyond our expectations looking after our needs with care and understanding. The rooms are beautiful and Troy provides a fascinating setting for a visit. John happily gave us tips on where to go and what to see. We recommend Gardner farm inn highly and hope we can visit again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Retreat at this Gorgeous B & B at Gardner Farm Inn (Troy, New York)

5 reviewed on September 10, 2015

I stayed at the Gardner Farm Inn over Labor Day holiday weekend. It was wonderful! I was traveling alone, to clear my head from the noise of Manhattan, and John made me feel completely at ease.John is such a gracious host. He was kind enough to give me a ride into town and to the bus station on my departure - and even took me to the overlook to see the Uncle Sam monument and get a view of the town from above. He didn't have to do that, but it made my trip more memorable and it was really thoughtful of him! John is knowledgeable in local history and the best places to eat, drink and enjoy the town also. The Inn itself is just gorgeous! Every corner thoughtfully decorated - every ornament, frame, book, camera is interesting and makes you wander where it came from or why it's part of the Inn now. Most of the items are things that John has collected over the years, which makes the Inn really feel like you're sharing part of someone's home - in a good way though, where you feel welcomed and comfortable. I spent a morning just exploring the Inn and taking photos (some attached - including a photo of John and me with my favorite piece, a portrait of a faceless child, there are a few around the Inn). The rooms are comfortably sized and suit a range of travelers (I got a tour as I checked in early). I stayed in the Oscar Wilde room - it's beautiful! Elegant and old worldly feeling. The queen bed was super soft and comfy and there are a range of pillows to suit. My first night I slept almost 12 hours straight and don't think I moved once, I was THAT comfy (and yes, I was also exhausted!). Breakfast both mornings was fresh and delicious - french toast with berries and pineapple with natural maple syrup; ham and cheese quiche. I plan to come back to the Inn with my husband as soon as our schedules allow and I look forward to trying out one of the other rooms. I cannot recommend the Gardner Farm Inn enough. Don't hesitate in making this place your new favorite B & B!!

View more reviews for this inn


I can't wait to go back! at Gardner Farm Inn (Troy, New York)

4.8 reviewed on August 29, 2015

My husband and I stayed in John's lovely home a few days ago. John is by far the inn's best feature, which is strong praise. He is a very sweet, kind, generous man, and is genuinely interested in getting to know his guests. We were welcomed like old friends and felt right at home immediately. Every room in the inn is decorated thoughtfully and elegantly. John has an amazing eye for art and objets, and he stashes wondrous and fascinating little decor details everywhere. I could have wandered around the house for hours and been absorbed in details. The fundamentals are also very nice-- the bed was soft and comfy, and the rooms are big and airy. The bathrooms have copious lovely marble tile everywhere. I am really looking forward to my next trip!

View more reviews for this inn


Every little detail catches the eye! at Gardner Farm Inn (Troy, New York)

4.6 reviewed on August 28, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Gardner Farm Inn a few days ago (late August 2015). We stayed in the John Waters room. Like all of the common spaces in the inn, our room was decorated very thoughtfully. I could have spent hours wandering around the house staring at all the little details. John has an amazing eye for art and antiques, and general objets. The rooms are airy and spacious, and the bathrooms are lovely marble all around. John is a kind and generous soul. He welcomed us into his home and he treated us like old friends. I can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Very Impressed at Gardner Farm Inn (Troy, New York)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2015

The Gardener Farm Inn is a beautiful inviting B&B. The rooms are spectacular with antiques furnishings with new private baths in each. The finishings are so lovely...like the lighting and woodwork. John the Innkeeper is as friendly and welcoming as one will find. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


Delicious Breakfast at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

3.6 reviewed on November 21, 2013

While the city of Troy is not nice at all, Tina and her homemade delicious breakfast are really great!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful "hostess," amazing house. at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2013

This stay was enjoyable in every way. The house is fabulous and the room was comfortable. You can see that a lot of work (and money) has gone into restoring and updating this wonderful house. Tina was way above and beyond helpful, spent ages in pleasant conversation with us as she served us a tasty breakfast. Neighborhood looks a little run down in spots but gentrifying in others. The off-street parking was private and secure, and as an old lady of 64 I would not be the least bit scared to be in the area alone.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

4.4 reviewed on July 18, 2013

What a surprise to find a lovely B&B tucked away in this neighborhood. And with a fun story about its history too (you must ask to get the story...)

View more reviews for this inn


troy treasure! at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

4.4 reviewed on June 20, 2013

Amazing value in an urban neighborhood. Beautiful architecture, charming interior and delightful management. The twin beds were comfie but squeeky, a minor concession. Bravo to Christina for creating a sweet haven in Troy!

View more reviews for this inn


Quick overnight stay at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

4.8 reviewed on March 04, 2013

As others mentioned... its a little off the path and the neighborhood looks suspecious. But this is a classic example of don't judge (no pun intended) a book by its cover. The accommodations were great and the environment was warm and friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


Super hostess at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

5 reviewed on October 07, 2012

Tina is very friendly and helpful. Definitely stay here when in Troy

View more reviews for this inn


A charming oasis in Troy at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2012

Our stay was perfect in every way. Dedicated parking, beautiful accommodations, modern conveniences, an abundance of books, games, and movies, and an expert innkeeper who is also a fine cook--all of these made our stay comfortable and memorable. We have found a new home away from home! Tari and Lori

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful little fimd! at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

4.4 reviewed on August 04, 2012

This place is a little gem. Off the beaten path in Troy, but only minutes from Albany. Tina really makes your stay comfortable, pleasant and special. Only a couple of hours after my reservation, she sent us a personal email with all of the main attractions, dining, and sites to see. Rooms are nice and clean, but what really reels you in is the Mansion's historic charm, warm atmosphere and yummy breakfast tailored by visitor! If you are traveling through or need to spend a couple nights around Albany, this is a wonderful little adventure with a lot of soul.

View more reviews for this inn


Thanks! at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

4.6 reviewed on June 14, 2012

Great bed and breakfast, good food in the morning, room was nice. Only downside is location

View more reviews for this inn


really pleasant stay at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

4.0 reviewed on October 21, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay, particularly the breakfast! As other reviews have said the area is a little run down, but the B&B is great. The only thing I would mention is that our room (Urzan) was quite noisy because of the traffic outside.

View more reviews for this inn


Great little hidden treasure at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

4.0 reviewed on September 18, 2011

Warm & comfortable feeling here. Tina was a "gem". If we are in the area again we would definitely stay here! Great value for the dollar.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful oasis in Troy, NY at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2011

The room was beautiful and clean, bathroom had everything you could need, and a shower with amazing water pressure! Breakfast was spectacular, particularly the hash browns with spicy peppers from the owner's garden. We're already planning our next visit - I would return just to stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


The most splendid victorian mansion at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2011

We stayed just one night, but I wish it could have been more. The house has character by the shed-load, and Tina is so welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was superb. The photos hardly do the place justice. And if you are interested in the history, just ask!

View more reviews for this inn


Judge For Yourself at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

4.8 reviewed on July 21, 2011

The Olde Judge Mansion stands like an anacronism in modern day Troy. It's Victorian facade has little reflection in the neighborhood it lies but within its walls one finds a home, moreso, than a bed, bath and key. Its innkeeper triples as guide, cook and friend. I couldn't want for a better breakfast nor guidance to the special sights that abound. The inn is a mere two blocks from historical Oakwood Cemetery ( grave of General George Henry Thomas, Uncle Sam and an album of notables ), a half hour from Saratoga and two exits acroos the Hudson to Albany. I couldn't think of a better stop, one worth remembering, when exploring the rarified environs of upstate New York....and you won't lose your wallet !

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely stay at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2011

The Olde Judge was a great place to stay, it allowed for a relaxing time in a beautiful Victorian style home. Everything about are stay was excellent and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Olde Judge Mansion Review for April 9, 2011 at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

3.6 reviewed on April 17, 2011

The innkeepers were genuine, hospitable and knowledgeable of the local area. We felt very comfortable and at home. I would definitely recommend this beautiful, ornate Victorian mansion as a travel respite and oasis located in a densely populated area of Troy.

View more reviews for this inn


A Welcoming Retreat at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

4.8 reviewed on February 26, 2011

Tina is a great host, and the house is amazing. Breakfast cooked to order in the morning. When you arrive, you are at home, and you will want to come back next time you are in the area. Troy actually has a lot of offer. Never knew before that it once was the wealthiest city in the US, and this can be seen in the beautiful architecture downtown. Closest place to eat is about a half mile - perfectly walkable - and if you want great and reasonably priced Italian food, go to Verdiles, a family restaurant since the 1940s. Lots to do in and near Troy. Snow conditions for cross-country skiing and snowshoeing were less than stellar during our visit, but that did not stop us from enjoying this getaway and home away from home.

View more reviews for this inn


Don't miss this hidden gem! at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2010

Gorgeous restored mansion tucked away in Troy, NY. Proprietress Tina cleans, cooks, provides suggestions for activities, and hosts great conversations in the dining room. We will always stay here on future trips.

View more reviews for this inn


A gem along the way... at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

4.2 reviewed on July 24, 2010

Beautiful old mansion with stunning woodwork, warm accomodating host. A bit hard to find in the dark; I arrived late at night after getting a little lost (had to loop back around through another neighborhood), but was welcomed graciously and taken well care of throughout my short stay. As I pass through the area frequently, I plan on making it a regular stop!

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay! at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

4.2 reviewed on March 01, 2010

Just got back from two nights and two wonderful breakfasts at the Olde Judge Mansion. Much more interesting than staying in the chain hotel. Extremely generous breakfast, great local advice, even made sure we didn't get ripped off by the taxi drivers, as they don't use meters there. Bathroom was down the hall but only used by us, so not a problem. Excellent value, great hospitality - would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


A Lovely B&B at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

4.0 reviewed on August 29, 2009

My Fiancee and I stayed at Olde Judge Mansion for a one night stay. The room we stayed in was very nice. The architecture of the building reminded by Fiancee of her fathers home. The two small negative points we had were we had to go down one flight of stairs to use the washroom and to shower. The other is the location of the B&B. We know this cannot be changed but we always had to drive if we were going somewhere. The breakfast was great and a good way to start the day. Tina was a great hostess. Frank & Anu Kingston, ON Canada

View more reviews for this inn


If Ever In Troy, NY, Stay here. at Olde Judge Mansion (Troy, New York)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2009

Don't be intimidated that the Olde Judge Mansion is in a ghetto, Troy is such a depressed city you won't have anywhere to walk to in the evening anyway. On a Saturday afternoon we found 2 bars open by the waterfront and a few antique shops. Christina is an exceptional hostess, the house incredibly beautiful, and the enclosed parking lot completely safe. This is the best deal you will ever get at a B&B. In Cape May, Boothbay Harbor or any place else, you would be paying over $200 to stay in this gem. The only reason we stopped in Troy was to stay here; others stay because of its proximity to the race track or because they are visiting someone. Other than that, Troy makes Newark look good.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Gardner Farm Inn (4.82)
  2. Olde Judge Mansion (4.57)
Top
}