gloucester place Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
23 Reviews

Write A Review

Finest place in town!

5 on August 20, 2014

My wife and I visited Tobago, Bea and Win and Gloucester Place in March of 2014. What a wonderful experience we had. Not only are Bea and Win the finest of hosts but their guest house is beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. Bea is a great cook and Win is just as good of a server as they keep you advised of the high points of the island and their life full of adventure. We stayed in the Concord Room which was simply and tastefully furnished. It had a very nice balcony that overlooked incredible sunsets on the Caribbean Sea. It was the perfect place to enjoy a cold Carib beer while talking with your mate about the adventures you had that day. Gloucester Place is in a good central location on the island from there you can easily take day trips to close by, nearly deserted, beaches and snorkel and swim to your hearts content. You can walk to the local tavern, Andy’s, and take in refreshments as you sit on his upper deck watching the fishing boats come in to Parlatuvier Bay. Don’t forget to visit Castara’s fine “Mom and Pop” restaurants for the best local cuisine and, almost more importantly, to visit Heavenly Bay, which we did a few times. If you need a car rental be sure to contact Taylor Auto Rental, they are very nice folk and very accommodating. When will we get back to Tobago again? I am not sure, but we will be staying with Bea and Win at Gloucester Place, for sure!


Quite Pleasant!

5 on April 01, 2014

My sister, nephew and I had the complete pleasure of staying at Gloucester Place house in March of 2014. Innkeepers, Win and Bea were truly a delight and made our stay that much more a success. The house is a distance from the main town, airport and ferry but completely worth the trip. This part of the island is so tranquil, manicured, green and unspoiled. We enjoyed just wandering (we had our car) or walking to the nearby waterfall or lunch/drink spots and beach. The breakfast on the open-air deck/kitchen starts each day the way you would want on vacation. Yum! Bea and Win are very accommodating in every way, you can even eat other meals in their house and they're quite the duo in the kitchen. I especially enjoyed their stories from many years of life abroad. Good times had by all. So much so, we're going back in April!


Delightful B&B

5 on March 28, 2014

Gloucester Place is a terrific find for those of us that like to be a little off the beaten path when on vacation. Win and Bea are perfect island hosts and they want to share the best of Tobago and every gem that the north side of this beautifully unspoiled island has to offer. We were literally taken in as family and really made to feel so welcome. Everything about the house is relaxed and calm and the sound of the waves always present crashing onto the rocks below is truly mesmerizing. Coupled with the views of the forest in one direction and ocean in the other you can’t help but smile about how lucky you are to have been smart enough to book this place! We suggest you come hungry because there is a lot of good food to eat on this island and Bea’s fresh banana pancakes at breakfast should not be missed. We enjoyed watching the local birds right at the inn, relaxing at the pool, walking to the local waterfalls, going into the rainforest, touring a cocoa plantation, visiting nearly every beautiful cove beach on the island and most of all the thrill of driving around the entire island anticipating what view the next hairpin bend would bring.


Friendly bird watching paradise

3.6 on February 05, 2014

If you want a clean, comfortable guest house with the most welcoming and friendly owners, away from the tourist hotspots, then this is it. Originally picked as part of a bird watching trip, so we could be near the rainforest reserve in the north of the island it is a gem. Bea and Win just make you feel relaxed and at ease as soon as you arrive. The guest house is in a cliff side location with spectacular views overlooking the Caribbean Sea about an hours drive from the airport. With a few tips on the local spots from Bea and Win we were soon watching some stunning birds. Top River Falls in Parlatuvier is not to be missed. On the short easy walk to these picturesque falls we saw specialities such as Barred Antshrike, White-fringed Antwren, Green Kingfisher, Rufous-tailed Jacamar and Blue-crowned Motmot. Around Parlatuvier Bay itself we saw Magnificant Frigatebirds, Brown Booby and Brown Pelicans. If we come back to Tobago, Gloucester Place will be top of our accommodation list. Thanks Bea and Win for a most enjoyable stay


Great B&B on north side of Tobago

4.6 on January 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Gloucester Place for 10 days over the holidays and had a wonderful time. Bea and Winn are super sweet and helpful. The house is very clean and the grounds are beautiful, especially the pool/yard. We woke to the lovely sound of birds each morning and then were treated to yummy breakfasts and great conversations. The rooms are perfect - all that we needed and more. Fresh beach towels were provided each day. In addition, they did laundry for us twice! So awesome. It was also nice to have a balcony facing the beautiful Caribbean Sea. You definitely need a car on the north side of the island, which is more quiet and less developed. But we found this side pleasant and next to our favorite beaches and restaurants. I highly recommend staying at Gloucester Place for a nice and peaceful getaway in Tobago.


Amazing holiday

5 on January 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our three grown up children (19 yrs - 26yrs) It was like staying in Paradise. Beautiful location, friendly hosts and wonderful food.The breakfasts were different each day. We requested an evening meal one night and it was delicious. Our bedroom had an amazing view looking down through the lush vegetation to the sea. All three rooms had an en suite bathroom and access to a balcony - very clean and comfortable. Bea and Win made us feel very welcome and were interesting and interested hosts. If we ever have the fortune of returning to Tobao we'll definitely stay here again!


Ticks all the boxes!

4.6 on December 20, 2013

Gloucester Place ticks all the boxes. We have stayed in all sorts of accommodation all over the World but the Sargent’s B&B is exceptional. Our visit was a long weekend away from the hustle and bustle of Trinidad. We left the tackiness of Crown Point behind and drove up through the countryside, arriving on the stunning North coast. The house is in a magnificent location above the little fishing village and bay of Parlatuvier. It has lovely gardens and an outstanding view down to the sea from the terrace, and from our very comfortable room. Win and Bea are the perfect hosts: welcoming, a mine of information and Bea is a great cook. We instantly felt at home. After a few drinks at the nearby bar and good conversations, we fell asleep listening to the sea and awoke the next morning to the sounds and sights of Tobago’s amazing birdlife. A little bit of Paradise…


Truly Paradise

5 on November 24, 2013

Truly Paradise. Floating in the infinity pool, seemingly about to float into the ocean and surrounding rainforest, the bird calls the only sound in the silence, you will find yourself relaxing to an entirely new level. The main house with guest rooms and bungalow are spacious and furnished beautifully from the lives and travels of the wonderful owners, Bea and Win. And super clean! Competing for your time and interest will be the huge balcony with similarly spectacular views accompanied by loads of up to date magazines where one can easily spend hours. The balcony leads off of the dining area where Bea and Win whip up spectacular breakfasts. There is a nearby beach in the bay, which one can walk down to from the guest house as well as beautiful waterfalls and other bays nearby.Win and Bea are helpful with tips of where to go and visit although its tempting just to stay and enjoy Gloucester Place the entire time. My husband and I loved every single minute of our week's stay.


Wonderful location, outstanding hospitality

4.8 on February 14, 2013

We spent four wonderful days with your hosts at Gloucester, Win and Bea, in January 2013. Parletuvier is as non-touristy as it gets, while Bea and Win deserve all the plaudits others have mentioned for their warm, welcoming, hospitality: this is like an ongoing house party of comfortable conversation, excellent accommodation, and great good...including an evening meal if you want (alternatives in the area are pretty limited). You have great access to whatever-you-had-in-mind, from snorkeling to some of the best birding in the Caribbean, pleasant walk to a waterfall, watching the fishermen, etc. Outstanding value, yet it's the warm welcome that makes this a #1 on our list.


Beautiful Ocean View near small fishing village

4.8 on February 09, 2013

We had two nights here in January '13. You do need a car to get around especially if staying more than a couple days. But Bea will cook dinner if needed. Great banana pancakes for breakfast! There is a Shared common veranda area overlooking the pounding surf below. Infinity salt water pool is down 14 steps. (The only issue we had was getting there on Northside Hwy - we took the wrong road at Moriah. Stay Right in Moriah? The road to this B & B has a hundred S curves, and you drive on the Left.) The owners live on site and make themselves available to assist you. We enjoyed dinner at Marguerite's in Castara on a Sunday night when all else was closed. We enjoyed meeting the owners, American ex-pats, and other guests - a young couple from Sweden. Gorgeous place to stay. All good.


Essex Cottage

5 on January 08, 2013

We stayed in Essex Cottage over the Christmas. The tree house property is just fantastic with stunning views. The open plan living and kitchen area with the verandah and shutters that open the entire length of the property gives the feeling of absolute freedom. The property owners Bea and Win are wonderful people and so very helpful. It was a treat having Wonder Dog to accompany you on the beautiful local walks, a real friend with a lot of character. The location is superb to sample the real Tobago, yet still in easy reach of good beaches and villages. We found everyone in the villages very friendly and very helpful. What a pleasure to order such things and pumpkin bread and banana bread from someones home and then to go back and collect still warm and fresh.If you want to see Tobago and sample the real way of life go and stay with Bea and Win, you will have treasured memories forever. Thank you so much for your friendship and kindness, we will return.


lovely

5 on January 01, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful b+b at the north of the island, castara is particularly beautiful. Do go to joanna in parmalatuvier for an evening meal, she is a superb cook, bea can help you out with this. Look out for wonder the dog who has adopted the house!!!


Amazing!

5 on May 06, 2012

We stayed in the concord room for three nights in April 2012. Everything was amazing! Bea and Win (and Wonder the dog) were extremely nice and we were made to feel like this was our home from the start. The accomodation and property are excellent. The location was great, close to nice beaches and walking distant to Glasgow's Bar and Parlatuvier Bay. Bea and Win will cook you dinner or there are good options in Castara which is about a 10 minute drive. We wish we had stayed here longer and we hope to return to Gloucester Place and Tobago soon.


The Perfect Getaway!

4.0 on February 26, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better stay at Gloucester Place. From the moment we arrived at their bed & breakfast, Bea and Win were unbelievable hosts! Their lovely home is set on a gorgeous landscape overlooking the ocean with several prime lookout points. The lush property with waterfall, infinitey pool, various fruit trees, and large wrap-around porch are maintained excellently and make for a very tranquil environment. While staying at Gloucester Place, we enjoyed several amazing meals. Not only is the included breakfast a pleasure each morning, Bea and Win also offer specialty meals to their guests at nominal costs. It is highly recommended that guests partake in the opportunity to feast with their humble hosts! Gloucester is conveniently located within a short drive or manageable walk to several beaches and delicious places to eat. If you are looking for a "non-touristy" taste of the local their guests Tobagonian flavor, this is the place for you!


Lovely location - fantastic hosts

4.8 on January 22, 2012

Great location in Parlatuvier - the guesthouse is located on a hill overlooking the village. The room was very comfortable and we also enjoyed relaxing on the veranda and watching the birds in the garden. It is off the normal tourist trail and feels like you are in the "real" Tobago. The owners are very friendly - they gave us lots of help with suggestions of things to do and booking guides. Bea's cooking is fantastic and it is well worth having dinner at the guesthouse as well as breakfast.


wonderful place

3.4 on December 27, 2011

If you are looking for some place very close to paradise- choose this one:-)! We (a german couple around the age of fourty) planned all our trip with mytobago.com and we expected this stop to be the highlight of our journey...and it was. The house, the pool, the hosts, the surrounding, the rainforest, the close beaches...really everything seemed to be perfect here. This beautifull house is very quite, has a stunning seaview and a lot of tropical birds around. The hosts are trying to make your stay unforgettable and the dog (wonderdog) is very kind. Overall these very some days we will remember with pleasure.


Nice B&B stay

4.4 on December 09, 2011

Bea and Win are wonderful hosts. We were made to feel very comfortable upon arrival, Bea offered us cold fresh made lemonade and bananas from their trees, showed us our room and later Win gave us a lay of the land, the path to the beach and to the river and mini falls down the hill alongside the house. It is located on the north end of the island, somewhat remote and away from the “urban” area. It is a great place to retreat to for quiet relaxation – expect no night life – you would need a car to drive to the nearest “town” Castara. Gloucester house sits above Parlatuvier fishing village and a 10 minute walk down 200+ steps leads you to the beach and village. If you like to run, there is a tough uphill run from the beach at Parlatuvier up the hill and also a path leading to bloody bay (that path can be muddy if there is rain. Our room has a balcony looking down to the ocean and the distant waves breaking over the rocks. The bed was comfortable and the air-conditioning kept us comfortable. The only quirkiness was the bathroom which does not have a door although it was set around a corner. Also, as we were the first guests for the season, the water from the hot water heater, having sat unused for a few months, emitted a sulphur dioxide smell. It started dissipating after a while. The house has a great verandah overlooking the ocean – breezy – with chirping birds, A great place to relax, read or basically do nothing. We were fortunate to meet another nice couple staying at Gloucester place at the same time. The nice part about staying at a B&B is the social interaction with the hosts and other guests. We enjoyed the company and conversations. Bea also offered to cook dinner for us one night and we enjoyed a meal of chicken curry. She was wonderful in also cooking a chicken dish to cater to my wife’s dietary needs. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Gloucester Place.


American and European comfort, Island life

4.6 on December 05, 2011

My husband and I spent a lovely five days at Gloucester House on the island of Tobago. It was our twenty-fifth wedding anniversary and a very special trip for us. We found Gloucester House, and its owners, Bea and Win Sargent, to be gracious and charming, and the House comfortable, and relaxing, with a view to dream of. The Sargents were welcoming, very gracious, offering interesting conversation and a host of stories from their time overseas to share, as well as a willingness to “disappear” at the right times. They are very knowledgeable about their island, and were willing to direct us to beaches, restaurants, boats, and other attractions on the island. That said, the best attraction on the island was the porch! Just to sit there, enjoying the birds, the view, and watching the stars come out was the best possible “attraction”. The beds are comfortable, the sheets soft, the food was top notch. If you are looking for an island experience with top notch amenities, we recommend Gloucester House, at Parlatuvier Bay, Tobago.


Great B & B.

4.0 on December 03, 2011

Fantastic Breakfast & dinner The hosts were very accomidating and the local people friendly. Beach, Pub & food are close. Highly Recomended!


A Little Piece of Paradise in Tobago

5 on March 31, 2011

We feel very fortunate to have found Gloucester Place in Tobago. It is a laid-back, lush and gorgeous piece of paradise. The B&B, the property, the pool, the birds, the accomodations, the food were all outstanding. Our stay was relaxing. Better yet, were the charming hosts, Bea and Win Sargent. They did EVERYTHING that they could to make our stay a memorable one. Bea is a world class cook. Her "paradise pancakes" are to die for. All of the food prepared for us was fresh and first quality. Bea was wonderful in accomodating my unusual dietary needs and worked with me to insure that every meal was special. What we liked most of all was the inside view of what ordinary life is really like on Tobago. Win and Bea give so much back to their community by tutoring school children, selling native crafts for local artisans (they take NO profit from these sales) and helping to re-build homes for their neighbors. We enjoyed meeting local residents and tourists at their B&B. Win & Bea are gracious hosts to all who stay with them...even the difficult trio from Grenada who were guests during our stay. Win goes out of his way to make sure that he points out all the highlights of the island. We can recommend Gloucester Place to all without reservation.


Great Place to stay and relax !

4.0 on March 15, 2011

We stayed this January for two weeks in a party of four and I must say this was the best experience! First we stayed at the Mainhouse and enjoyed the best breakfast on island and then we moved to Essex Cottage. Bea & Win (&Wonder-Dog) are great hosts and they make you feel at home immediately. The nature and the people in Parlatuvier are outstanding, we also made many friends from the local people, everybody know's Bea & Win. Dont expect any entertainment, entertain yourself on this wonderful island, we had the surrounding beaches mostly for ourselfs. If you want to explore secret waterfalls and other spots just ask Bea&Win or the local fisherman. A must for everybody who loves nature and wants to get away from the crowd.


A beautiful place to stay

4.6 on March 12, 2010

We enjoyed Bea and Win's hospitality for ten days and what a treat it was! Our stay felt like we were visiting with friends. Bea is an amazing cook and prepared delicious (and wheat-free) breakfasts and quite a few wonderful dinners for us. Gloucester Place itself is a beautifully open and airy house with a great porch overlooking the cliffs, a dramatic blow hole and the Caribean Sea. Our room was beautifully furnished with artifacts from Bea and Win's stay in India. There was a huge and very comfortable bed, fluffy feather pillows and high-quality cotton sheets. There was also an air conditioning unit, so we slept in cool comfort each night. Bea and Win have lots of local knowledge and gave advice on places to visit and on which driving routes we should take. A highlight was a birding trip they organized for us with Newton George. We had the perfect holiday and we're already planning our stay at Gloucester Place for next year.


A lovely guesthouse in Tobago

4.2 on February 20, 2010

We had a wonderful 4-night stay at Bea and Win's Gloucester Place. Less like a hotel or even a bed and breakfast, it was more like being a much-welcomed and appreciated guest in someone's home. Quiet location, extremely comfortable king-sized bed, fantastic breakfasts, washer and dryer that guests can use. The first night we arrived (hungry and tired), we were invited to take part in a lovely fresh fish dinner -- our good luck that the visitors in the Essex Cottage had just gone fishing that day and had extra! Also, Bea and Win freely shared beach towels and snorkel equipment, as well as loads of info about where to go, what to visit, restaurants, beaches, etc. Topped off by the great location, well-suited for visiting any part of the north section of the island, we were sorry to leave after only 4 days. Highly recommended, and we hope to go back.


gloucester place

Details

  • Nightly Rate $70 - $110
  • Reviews (23) 4.6
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 8686395476

Visit Website »

View details

Top