Free $50 gift card with a $250+ gift card purchase

Recent Reviews in Topsham, Maine

Hooray Black Lantern at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 13, 2014

Wonderful inn, terrific and knowledgeable innkeepers (do not doubt Tom's recommendations as they are SPOT ON), wonderful location that is close to everything in the vicinity but also more private and secluded with beautiful grounds right on the river. Would go back tomorrow if I could !!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful Black Lantern stay at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on June 03, 2014

My Fiancé and I had the pleasure of being a guest of Tom and Judy on the 24th of May, 2014. Everything about our stay was fantastic, from the homemade Rhubarb Muffins and fresh fruit in the morning to the wonderful, warm and friendly demeanor of our hosts (Tom and Judy) to the care that they went to avoid problems with my fiancés severe peanut allergy. All in all, this was a quaint, warm and restful place to stay. We can't wait to get back up that way and stay longer than a day.

View more reviews for this inn


Thank you at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

5 reviewed on September 17, 2013

Thank you to Tom and Judy for a wonderful stay at their bed and breakfast. The room was great, the company was great and the food was great. We loved the yard and the flowers. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch the night it was so hot. You gave us good ideas for places to dine and sight see. We would stay there again when we visit Maine.

View more reviews for this inn


WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE! at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2013

Great experience staying here. Our family consisted of visitors from West Virginia, Germany, and Tennessee.. Tom and Judy were great. They offered recommendations for places to visit and to dine. We will definitely book with them again.

View more reviews for this inn


2nd Anniversary in Maine at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2012

This was our third trip to Maine... and we really lucked out finding the Black Lantern! Our stay was just perfect.... The Black Lantern is very cozy with a warm, casual decor. Tom and Judy recommended great sightseeing locations and places to dine. We spent a day in Reid State Park and Popham Beach, the next on Orr's and Bailey's Islands and in Harpswell. We'll be back again!

View more reviews for this inn


Maria & Ed's sstay at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on July 25, 2012

The B&B is beautiful. The house is very tastefully done both indoors and the gardens. Tom and Judy are great innkeepers. We only stayed one night and the one breakfast we had was delicious. The service is great. Wish we had booked for a longer period of time.

View more reviews for this inn


Near Freeport ME. Wonderful place. at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2012

The house was extremely clean and very well decorated. Felt like home. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Attached bathroom was very clean and private. Breakfast both days was outstanding. The owners were very friendly and made some great suggestions on where to go for dinner. Will definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


charming sunnny home at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on March 05, 2011

The hosts know how to present a beautiful breakfast, following a home like comfortable night's sleep. The home was very clean with tasteful decor, in a neighborhood of grand colonial architecture.

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from home at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 11, 2010

Tom and Judy were the perfect hosts, we felt like we were home. Their charm and hospitality set the tone for a wonderful getaway. Waking up to an incredible brekfast was the perfect start to Veterans Day. The house was very comfortable and beautifully decorated, very inviting. We were greeted with a firm handshake and warm smiles and left with hugs and fond memories.

View more reviews for this inn


Not fancy, but nice at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on January 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed one night in January at the Black Lantern. It is a very spare place, without frills or lavish touches. It fits well in its rock-ribbed New England setting with the ice bound Androscogin (?) River visible from the back yard. Tom and Judy, the owners were warm and friendly folks, and provided enjoyable conversation, a good dinner recommendation, and a delicious breakfast. You do share the dining room with their two shih-tsus, but the dogs were cute and added to the experience. We paid $95.00 for a large room with bath and a nice view. Can't beat that, we'd stay again without hestitation if I needed a place in Brunswick/Topsham for the night.

View more reviews for this inn


Really nice place to stay at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 08, 2009

We recently spend two nights with Tom & Judy and had a great experience, our room was very nice and the breakfasts were amazing. Almost too pretty to eat, and really tasty. They are very nice and interesting people and we enjoyed visiting with them and the other guests in their comfortable house. We appreciated their suggestions of places to visit in the area and would definately stay with them again if we are ever in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Most gracious of hosts at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 25, 2009

Tom and Judy are the most gracious of hosts. And boy can they cook! They accommodated our daughter's special dietary needs in a breakfast that was delicious for all! Can't wait to come back and visit them again!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Inn and Friendly Innkeepers at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 19, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the Black Lantern twice, have sent others there, and will return when we are next in the area. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the sitting room downstairs comfortable and homey. Guests are asked for their breakfast preferences the night before so that everything is ready for them when they enter the dining room in the morning. The inn's location is excellent -- walking distance to restaurants in Topsham, and a one-minute drive (literally) to Brunswick. There's a lovely view of the Androscoggin River from the back yard and some of the rooms, and a stairway that Tom built leads down to the riverbank. Tom and Judy couldn't be friendlier, know the area well, keep a collection of local menus, and even know what movies are playing nearby. Judy's prize-winning quilts decorate the walls, and Tom's breakfast is not to be missed. The dogs are so cute that you can't help but fall in love with them. If I were running a bed and breakfast, the Black Lantern is the one I'd try to emulate.

View more reviews for this inn


A fine experience at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on August 18, 2009

My wife and I found this B&B to be everything we were looking for at great value. Our hosts made delicious, creative meals that accommodated out dietary requests and were extremely helpful with our day trip planning. It was a perfect compliment to a great vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


Our Best Bed & Breakfast Experience at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2009

Was there for a destroyer christening in Bath. Felt as though I was treated as if I were royalty and couldn't ask for better service. Breakfasts were exquistly delightful and showed lots of gourmet talent. The river breezes keep the bedrooms cool as well as the porch which we used regularly. Definitely on our list of places to stay at again when we're in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Black Lantern (4.76)
Top
}