Canyon Sunrise Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.4
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
15 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely Honeymoon

5 on March 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Mariposa for 3 nights for our Honeymoon. It was secluded, peaceful and extremely relaxing. We truly enjoyed it; the hot tub was a luxury and even Bob, the cat was charming. We'll definitely go back.


Mariposa

4.4 on May 22, 2011

My wife and i stayed at the Mariposa (Canyon Sunrise) for our 25th wedding anniversary get-a-way. This was just the perfect cabin nestled in the hill country. Just simply fantastic...pricate hot tub, private pool and cold sheets on the king size bed...


Wonderful stay

4.2 on April 17, 2011

We have stayed at the Mariposa cabin at Canyon Sunrise several times now. Always an enjoyable time, relaxing and quiet. Hottub is great and weather allowed us to enjoy the pool and deck this time.


Dwayne and Dalen's second stay!

5 on February 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed for the second time. Thought we would try it in the winter time. It definately had a different feel but wonderful nonetheless! We still enjoyed the Dragonfly to it's fullest. Great little getaway for us! The instant we walk in the door we are relaxed. Rejuvinated when we leave it what we set out for and we are! Thanks for a great place to just relax!!


Great!

4.0 on January 10, 2011

We enjoyed staying at the Sundance cottage very much and look forward to going back. The scenery is beautiful....Very peaceful. The cottage and everything is well kept. Thanks!


We loved it!

4.4 on November 28, 2010

Four moms who were looking for a girl's getaway had a fabulous time! We loved the cabin. So charming! And the view and grounds were beautiful! We loved shopping and eating in the town square. Truly a wonderful weekend! Thank you!


Wonderful!

4.6 on November 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. As soon as we set foot inside the cabin we were in love with it! It is located in a secluded area and it was exactly what we were looking for. It is a place that you can take your own food into and cook yourselves, or go into town and eat around there. We absolutely loved it and will be staying there again in the summer or for an anniversary weekend!


A great country getaway!

3.2 on November 03, 2010

We have stayed at Canyon Sunrise 3 times (2X Sundance, 1X Mariposa) and have thoroughly enjoyed it each time. The private hot tubs & pools for each cabin are wonderful! These are cabins in the Texas Hill Country - not hotel rooms - so there is no "service" or "dining" available. However, the owner is easily reached and very accommodating. Can't wait to go back for a 4th visit!


Very satisfied

5 on October 28, 2010

Had a great time at Canyon Sunrise. Everything was perfect. Bob the cat was very nice and like to snuggle up to you. The hot tub was great but there could've been a little less chlorine in the water. My husband and I smellt like that for the next 24 hours. Everything was great! Would definately recommend it and come back.


Perfect Romantic Getaway

5 on September 29, 2010

We have stayed at the "Dragonfly" twice; it's the perfect romantic getaway. It's quiet and very private. This place is exactly what we were looking for. The first time we stayed the weather was extremely hot so we made good use of the pool. The second time, this past summer, it rained for two of the five days that we stayed, so we got in the hot tub; it was awesome. Rodney, you and your wife did a great job on this place; we love the decor, the privacy and, of course, Mr. Stubbs. We have recommended this place to all of our friends. It really is the perfect place to reconnect, recharge and reignite that fire within.


Loved it! Want to rebuild our house like this!

4.6 on April 13, 2010

My husband and I were married along the banks of the Blanco early April and I randomly found this place for our wedding escape route once we tired of the festivities. My google search totally paid off! We stayed at the Dragonfly and it was fantastic. All of the photos on the site don't do justice to the details. This particular cabin spoke to me because it came with a private pool, hot tub, bathtub built for two, and a hammock. The hammock clinched it for me since my new hubby has made it his life mission to collect one from every country south of the border. But, I digress, the kitchen is truly fully stocked with most anything you need to cook a great meal...not that I did that but it also had a wine bottle opener to suit my needs. There is a little path that leads through parts of the property that was covered in wildflowers this time of year. It was a very Sound of Music gorgeous hilltop moment for me. I took care not to walk up on the neighbors as that might ruin the desired mood of privacy.


Our Favorite Place To Stay in Wimberley

5 on August 11, 2009

We have stayed at the Canyon Sunrise cabins several times-both in the Dragonfly and Mariposa. Rodney always goes out of his way in setting up any of our needs. We fell in love with Wimberley-so much that we got married in the town in the Fall of 2007. This is a little peace of heaven-our escape from big city life. We love the cabins, seclusion, pool, hottub, wildlife,and the most beautiful view of the Texas stars at night. We really love seeing "Our Vacation Cat", sweet little "Mrs. Stubbs" who has showed up everytime we visit. My advice is go to Wimberley, stay at Canyon Sunrise, put on some Stevie Ray Vaughan, and enjoy the deck and pool with a cold Shiner :) Thank You Rodney for creating such a magical getaway !!!! My husband and I can't wait to come back in September.

Innkeeper Response
Thank You so much for the kind words. It's always nice to have repeat guests. Means I must be doing this right. Mrs Stubbs will be waiting for you in September.


I loved the Dragonfly...But

4.0 on July 26, 2009

My wife found the webpage and it seemed fantastic, and it is, but the master bedroom had a hole in the wall, about 6" hole coffee pot didn't work...Bummer. The hot tub is on it's last legs, needed to be shocked and the lights surrounding the pool didn't work. In fairness I would go back to see if the issues have been corrected because it is a relaxing rental, don't mean to complain but come on, fix a few things,

Innkeeper Response
I'm glad you had a nice time but wish you would have called with any issues you had so they could have been resolved while you were here. I am aware of the hole in the wall but have not had time to fix it. There was a baby bird that got stuck behind the wall and I had to knock a hole in it to get it out. Don't ask me how it got there but it did. Coffee pots don't last forever and the only way I know if they go out is if someone lets me know. I've always got one on standby. Not sure what the issue was with the hot tub. It's not on it's last leg. It's only a few years old and is shocked and cleaned thoroughly after each guest. All the lights around the pool work. I'm assuming you are referring to the string lights hanging over the hammock. Those have never worked. They are in the shape of wire Dragonflys and just thought they looked cool. They were never meant to be used as a lighting source just decoration. I built Canyon Sunrise myself 13 years ago and manage the property with the help of my lovely wife. We work very hard to make sure everyone has a wonderful time and I have books of letters from satisfied customers. If there is ever an issue please call and I will do my best to resolve the problem. Thank You!


SUNDANCE

4.0 on July 07, 2009

Just got home from Canyon Sunrise. Stayed in Sundance. Cabin was very comfortable, especially considering it was early July in central Texas and one of the worst heat waves in years. Mornings and evenings were especially nice. Loved the back porch. Saw lots of wildlife, including deer, fox and many kinds of birds. It's so quiet and peaceful, you are literally forced to relax. I would recomend to anyone and for sure am going back. Rodney, you done good!


Our Home Away From Home

5 on March 06, 2008

We have stayed at the "Dragonfly" Cabin twice-it is a piece of Texas Hill Country Paradise. We love this funky "Austin Chic" cabin, the wonderful private pool and hot tub, and the deck that is the best place to view an amazing field of stars at night. "Sing Me A Blue Sky"-we adore the "Dragonfly" and Canyon Sunrise.


Canyon Sunrise

Details

  • Nightly Rate $170 - $195
  • Reviews (15) 4.5
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5128473909
Top