Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
30 Reviews

Write A Review

Very Enjoyable Stay at Chaska House

5 on April 21, 2014

We took a 2-day trip to check out the bluebonnets around Ennis and Waxahatchi, Texas the Friday and Saturday before Easter Sunday. After checking the B&B listings on the web, we chose Chaska House in Waxahatchi as the place to stay. We certainly weren't disappointed; Louis and Linda Brown were just the nicest and friendliest couple, and as hosts they went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. They suggested a great restaurant for dinner, provided fresh baked cookies in the evening and an outstanding breakfast the next morning. The house was just magnificent with turn-of-the-century furnishings and antiques everywhere. The bed was one of those high four posters, king size and the most comfortable you can imagine. The room had a firg, flat screen tv, wi-fi and just about every convenience you might find in a 5-star hotel, a giant shower and a soaking tub; just great. We plan to go back at the next opportunity.


Lovely week-end

4.4 on April 08, 2014

My sisters and I have been taking a spring trip together for the last 25 + years and we love B&Bs. The Chaska House is delightful and the Browns are the best hosts we have had the pleasure to stay with! By the time we left we felt like friends instead of guests. Thanks Louis and Linda for a wonderful stay.


Wonderful Weekend

4.8 on November 11, 2013

Each year I book a bed and breakfast for my mom's birthday weekend. Last weekend we stayed at Chaska House and enjoyed one of the best B & B experiences we've ever had. The property is amazing! Louis and Linda spare no expense to make your stay as pleasant as possible. One highlight was breakfast where both the meal and the conversation were wonderful. I would highly recommend Chaska to anyone looking for a B & B in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area.


Enjoyed the stay

5 on November 05, 2013

Can't believe how nicer these guys are. Went down for breakfast at 9 and everyone was still sitting around talking 2 hours later. It felt like we were leaving friends behind. Room was amazing and the restaurant catfish plantation, right around the corner was too good. Already recommended it to our friends and look forward to coming back. Thank you so much.


TCR Weekend

4.4 on November 02, 2013

Texas Country Reporter Festival 2013, Chaska B&B close to downtown (walking distance), clean, quaint, historical, great porches & big trees, clean rooms, great host, good breakfast & other guest conversation, would recommend to others and will return! Tuscan Slice - great place for dinner, go see the park, cemetery and the prettiest Court house in Texas!


Wonderful & will return!!

4.8 on October 29, 2013

We stayed in one of Hemingway's cottages and had breakfast at the Chaska House. It was perfect for our "girls get away", private but inclusive too! OMG, Louis & Linda are charming people too! Very personable, warm, inviting and make you feel like family! Ready to go back!


Great experience

4.8 on October 16, 2013

We have stayed in a fair number of B&Bs but the Chaska House is number 1 on our list. The Brown's are a most interesting couple and the accommodations were wonderful.


Fantastic

5 on September 29, 2013

This is the whole package: the house itself, the roomy rooms, the special attention, the great breakfast, and the friendly manner of Louis and Linda. They also seem to attract interesting guests. That meant we had fun conversation at breakfast. I left both physically and spiritually refreshed.


Fantastic!!

4.8 on May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over Mother's Day weekend, both to celebrate that day as well as our anniversary. After browsing different properties, we chose Chaska House, and are we glad we did! We stayed in the Clemens-Twain room, which was enormous, with comfortable period furnishings, wood paneling, and a bed that was so tall we had to use footstools to get in it! The bed linens were some of the most luxurious I've slept on, and the bathroom was very well-appointed, with a frameless glass shower and a darling clawfoot tub. The house itself is breathtaking, with a charming wraparound porch and lovely gardens, and the innkeepers are so friendly and have great stories to tell. My husband and I met some wonderful people over the delicious breakfasts and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will definitely be back!


The best place on earth

5 on March 16, 2013

My wife and I went there on our honeymoon and stayed in Hemingway retreat. The owner were the nicest, most pleasant people. The room was perfect. And breakfast was superb. We will definitely be back for anniversaries, getaways and any other opportunity. If you are considering going I would recommend it to everyone for any and all occasions. This place is the best!


Absolutely amazing!!!

5 on March 16, 2013

I do not have one complaint about the chaska house. my husband and i stayed.there last night for our honeymoon. We stayed in the hemingway retreat one. it was spacious, clean, cozy, neat,full of artifacfs, and the sheets were the softest in the whole world. The jaccuzi tub for two was wonderful and the water got HOT! The owners are the nicest people i have ever meet in this kind of business. the woman encouraged my husband to carry me over the threshold as she took pictures for us. The breakfast was hot, unique, made from scratch and made you feel good. Stuffed french toast and homeade syrup! Yum! The couple sat at the breakfast table after serving us and told us stories and gave us great advice! I cannot wait to go back and.try out the other rooms!


wonderful summer get away

5 on July 19, 2012

this was a return trip for me / first time for my husband we had a delightful time exploring waxahachie and all the great antique shops hope to convince my girlfriends that we need to do a return trip in feb


honeymoon

5 on May 02, 2012

This was the first time i stayed in a B&B my wife and I had a great time, and plan to go for our anniversary every year.


Great Honeymoon Hideaway

4.0 on March 01, 2012

My new husband and I spent our wedding night at "the retreat I". We had a late check in but Louis was so understanding and welcoming. It's just a short walk from the main house. It felt like we were in the country. We relaxed and enjoyed the jetted tub. Breakfast was wonderful and even the guest were nice. I was very impressed with Louis and Linda taking time out to sit down and visit at breakfast. Their relaxed and welcoming disposition rubs off and you automaticaly feel at home! We ended our special day in a very special place. We will be returning!


New Year's at Chaska House

4.0 on February 26, 2012

Perfect example of the charm and hospitality that defines B&Bs. Our hosts, Louis and Linda, were wonderful and made us feel very welcome. We will come back!


Heaven on earth!!!,

5 on December 08, 2011

Louis and Linda were so warm and funny! I really enjoyed the whole experience. It was very peaceful. I will be back. I can't wait!


Superb establishment

4.8 on July 11, 2011

This is the eighth time we've been and it just keeps on being the best getaway spot we've ever experienced. the rooms are fantastic and the owner's are amazing. we love to come and do a little shopping in town, but the best part is the relaxing and friendly atmospher developed at the Chaska House. Thank you as always for a wonderful time.


Great stay!

5 on April 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Chaska B&B for our 6th anniversary. The Brown's are great hosts and tell a great story about their coming to own the property as well as their family history. Waxahachie is a nice city that's out of the way of DFW to get away to. Louis makes some killer breakfast, so get ready! Also, if you are looking for a nice setting for a wedding or social in Waxahachie, Louis & Linda have another venue dedicated for this. My wife and I were married in Waxahachie as well, so staying there was a nice trip down memory lane. Sincerely, Ben & Erin Alvarez


Old World Charm with Modern Amenities

4.8 on November 24, 2010

We just spent a delightful weekend at the Chaska House B&B in Waxahachie, Texas. Each room is named for an author (Mark Twain, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Teddy Roosevelt, Shakespeare) and decorated in the era of the author. The upstairs landing includes a small common sitting area and an antique buffet holds coffee and soft drinks. We stayed in the Teddy Roosevelt room. It was very large for a B&B room with an expansive sitting area including a flat screen TV and DVD. The owners have managed to combine the charm and elegance of a bygone era with the modern conveniences most travelers expect. The Roosevelt room included carpet in an antique pattern but with extra thick padding. The lighting in the room included overhead potlights as well as antique lamps. The large ensuite bathroom had an old fashioned claw-footed tub, but also had a shower for two, a hair dryer and a lighted makeup mirror. And, the antique reproduction bed with a beautifully carved eagle on the headboard and footboard was king size. The owners, Louis and Linda Brown, are delightful people and enjoy visiting with their guests without being intrusive. Breakfast was delicious. Louis and Linda joined us to share information about the history of the home and the area. They are very knowledgeable and we enjoyed visiting with them. In fact, as we checked out we spent 45 minutes in conversation about various subjects. This is a delightful place for a weekend getaway and is well suited to couples of all ages. Vickie & Dan


Simply Grand

5 on May 20, 2010

Our stay in the Gatsby room, upstairs in the main house, was a great experience. Quiet, peaceful and elegant. This is a beautiful, old home, much like many of the homes in Waxahachie. What makes this one better than the others (including the other B&Bs!) is the sincere and genuine hospitality of its hosts, Louis and Linda. What a lovely visit it was! We are so looking forward to the next time we can be there.


"The Cream of The Crop"

4.0 on January 23, 2010

Louis and Linda know how to do it. The decor was fabulous and excellently done, the music - perfect, it was close to the historic Waxahachie square, the food and coffee was exceptional, and the hospitality - inviting and precious. You guys, God's best to you. He obviously has done just that!


Just to getaway

4.8 on October 05, 2009

My husband and I stayed recently, at the chaska house, during the week. It was our first time to stay in a B & B. From what we experienced, we will definitely be back. The owners are down to earth nice people, the house was warm and inviting, the rooms were comfortable and elegant, the bathroom was spacious and clean. The breakfast was simple but delicious. It was very, very quiet and peaceful. It was a relaxing getaway.


One In A Million

4.8 on September 24, 2009

This b&b was way more beautiful than the photos give it credit. Bedrooms are super clean and enormous. Top notch decorrating, extremely hospitable innkeepers and outstanding breakfast.


enchanting

4.0 on February 18, 2009

I love old world charm, wrap around porches, elegant bedding and decor. I loved the feeling of peace and royalty!


Relaxing "Get Away"

5 on February 08, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing weekend and that is exactly what we got!! We had a massage from the local therapist, and a quiet, peaceful afternoon! The breakfasts were incredible!!!


our visit was outstanding...

5 on November 17, 2008

Our innkeepers very sweet and room was loaded with charm!


wow

5 on October 29, 2008

Hospitality plus! caring, concerned innkeepers- Linda and Louis. Warm and cozy, beautifully decorated beds and breakfast. Breakfast was a culinary delight.


Exceptional people

5 on July 30, 2008

Best B&B I've ever been to. Chaska House is perfect,and the proprieters are exceptional people.


Very nice host/hostess (owners)

3.6 on October 24, 2007

Great intownlocation. Beautifully restored 1900s antique home.


Port in a storm, so to speak

4.8 on October 13, 2007

I stayed at the Chaska over Memorial Day weekend, 2007- a rainy, dreary, stormy, miserable weekend to be traveling. The F. Scott Fitzgerald room was an absolute sanctuary- beautiful, nicely outfitted, and just plain comfortable. Louis and Linda are an absolute delight, and their hospitality is above and beyond. Breakfasts are simply amazing. I would spend a stormy weekend when my plans got rained out again at Chaska House.


Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages

Details

  • Nightly Rate $165 - $235
  • Reviews (30) 4.7
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9729373390

Visit Website »

View details

Top