Bed and Breakfast on White Rock Creek Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Onsite Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
80 Reviews

Write A Review

Hospitable and friendly!

4.0 on April 26, 2016

The overall hospitality and beauty of the area were the high points. Food was delicious as well. We felt the grounds were a little cluttered, but the location of rooms were private and romantic with the need for some updating in the room we stayed. (Shenandoah)


Awesome Place

5 on April 16, 2016

What an awesome place nestled in the trees! Dana and Retha are so kind and helpful and breakfast was so delicious!


peaceful and welcoming

5 on April 13, 2016

I love this bed and breakfast. Second time I have stayed here and both times felt relaxed and welcomed. The area is very quiete! Dana and Renthal are great. I love how they are so humble and make me feel at home. My daughter loved it here for her first bed and breakfast experience! We will be back.


Wonderful location and hosts!

5 on April 06, 2016

We stayed in our first B&B and couldn't be happier. Rooms are in a seperate building with private entrances. Hosts were great and all of their recommendations were spot on for shopping and dining. Great area to walk and breakfast was very good. Will be back on return trips to the area and would highly recommend.


Great weekend getaway!!

5 on April 04, 2016

Was a perfect weekend. Lots to do around the area, the hosts were great and very informative. The room was clean and comfortable and the area quiet and relaxing.


First B&B experience

5 on March 29, 2016

Had an amazing experience!


Fantastic service and the host are absolutely wonder

5 on March 21, 2016

This is a fantastic place for a bed and breakfast, my girlfriend and I loved the large tub and the rooms are decorated with the owners mother's art and it is truly outstanding work. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants luxury for a fantastic price!


AWESOM STAY!!!!

5 on March 21, 2016

My wife and I wanted to have a little get away while in Texas. She book this B&B and it was a great relaxing time. The host are wonderful. They help find a small great place to get a great steak, and had a wonderful breakfast the next morning. I would recommend this to be a stay when in Waco. I plan on getting my mom and her husband to go there for a stay soon. Thank you Dana, and Retha fro the great stay. From Phoenix


First Impressions

4.0 on March 19, 2016

The room was very well appointed and romantic. The grounds need some upkeep and the front of this building gives a bad first impression. That being said once you open the front door you are knocked off your feet with an amazing room. So the outside is a work in progress but the inside is great. Thw meal was outstanding!


Very enjoyable stay, highly recommend!!

5 on March 16, 2016

My husband and I always try to stay at B&B's when traveling. On a recent trip to Texas we stayed at White Rock Creek B&B. Our experience there was wonderful, from our hosts to our room to the breakfast we were very pleased. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the Waco area.


Great One Night Stay

4.2 on March 07, 2016

I love the Waco area but wanted to try something new when I had to stay for one night. I decided to give this B&B a shot and loved it! The location is great, not too far from Waco but just right. Breakfast was amazing!


The Only Place to Stay in the Waco Area

5 on March 03, 2016

Dana & Retha are wonderful hosts and the design work that Dana does on the construction of the buildings and the interiors that Retha creates are so welcoming and homey. Breakfast is a wonderful experience and the information and stories that Dana and Retha can share are charming. The two times we have stayed were very relaxing and quiet. There is so much room to enjoy the outdoors on site and in the neighborhood. And then there's Waco. So much to do and experience.


Mother / Daughter Weekend

4.6 on February 23, 2016

My daughter's first B&B. We stayed in the Garden Suite. Comfortable, clean, well appointed as expected. The owners make it a " must go back" experience.


Hidden treasure

4.8 on February 21, 2016

My husband and I have stayed here three times and have enjoyed each visit. The Plantation Room is well appointed and comfortable; the food is delicious; the owners' service and hospitality are exemplary. Our only complaint is the exterior of the property has been a work-in-progress over the course of the seven years we've been visiting. For example, the room we prefer is over the workshop/storage area which we know because the doors are always open. Walking up to our room looking at power tools and half completed projects takes away from the ambiance a bit.


Very nice stay!

4.0 on February 20, 2016

We had a very relaxing stay. Beautiful and peaceful place.


Great little Bed & Breakfast

5 on February 20, 2016

This was our first trip to a B&B so we were too sure what to expect, but Retha & Dana were very welcoming and were great hosts! Room was beautiful and enjoy the relaxing location!


Great stay.

4.6 on February 17, 2016

Great stay. Would recommend to anyone. Will stay there again myself


A Great Day & Stay in Waco!

5 on February 17, 2016

My wife and I drove up for a weekend. The property is very nice and affordable. The rooms are clean, well appointed and it made for a very relaxing trip. It's also very close to the "action" in Waco :-) so Uber drivers are plentiful and inexpensive from the property if your going in town to hit a restaurant. I definitely recommend this property for your future stays. It's a hidden gem!


A home away from home

5 on February 17, 2016

This was an experience we will never 4 get. The rooms were peaceful and exceeded our expectations, and the setting was like no other. It was beautiful. They went above & beyond to meet our needs & we will surely return over & over again!!!


Nice place close to town

4.2 on February 14, 2016

Nice place to stay. If ever need to go back to Waco, I would stay here. Wonderful owners


Fantastic Experience & Convenient Location

5 on February 13, 2016

My friend and I went on a shopping trip to Waco this February. Retha and Dana, the hosts, were so awesome! They created a home-like atmosphere, had beautiful set-ups, and were always accommodating. We really enjoyed the conversations we had with them. I highly recommend this B&B!!


Our Favorite Place

5 on February 11, 2016

This was our third time staying here and every time we leave so relaxed and rested! We brag out it to all of our friends and family! Thank you Dana & Retha!


Waco Getaway

5 on February 08, 2016

Great food! Retha was a delight. We didn't get a chance to visit with Dana. I'd stay here again.


Great Stay!

4.8 on January 17, 2016

Very nice. We had a great getaway and were able to spend some great "us time." Great hosts, very gracious. Room was pretty romantic.


Outstanding place and people.

5 on January 09, 2016

You will definitely enjoy your stay here. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, and have everything you need. The owners are so friendly and welcoming and GREAT cooks. We highly recommend you give them a try. You will love it.


Perfect

5 on November 07, 2015

We really enjoyed our one night stay, and will be returning to the inn. The bed was so comfortable we slept late and did not want to get up. Having breakfast in the friig to just re-heat was really appreciated this morning because it was raining, and it was yummy...my husband didn't leave a crumb.


Great place to stay

5 on October 31, 2015

Charming get a way. Hosts were very friendly.


Family weekend

5 on October 21, 2015

Wonderful hospitality and comfortable rooms. First time we have stay here and will certainly be back. Great place for a peaceful retreat.


Love this place!

4.6 on October 19, 2015

Retha and Dana take great care of us! This is our 'go to' place whenever we stay in Waco!


Good overnight stay

3.6 on October 13, 2015

Our hosts were very nice and accommodating. The room was adequate for an overnight stay that was not about extended time at the B&B. The grounds seemed to need some maintenance and some clean up. Like the woody environment but did not have time to explore it. Next time


Great experience

4.0 on October 12, 2015

We had a great experience at White Rock Creek. My husband had poor experiences with other b&b's so he was not super thrilled about staying at another, but he was very impressed and we will gladly make another visit. The location is very private. Rooms are in good condition. It is a good distance from Downtown Waco shops and restaurants


Wonderful experience

4.6 on October 08, 2015

Stayed here for our 40th wedding anniversary and enjoyed it immensely. Bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay here again.


Great place to stay!

5 on October 07, 2015

We love Retha and Dana's B&B. They always take great care of us. It's quiet and off the beaten path but close enough to get whatever you need. It's our 'go to' place whenever we stay in Waco.


Restful Get-Away

4.6 on September 19, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely B&B. Gorgeous setting in the wooded area yet not too far from things to do in Waco.


Outstanding Property w/ Very Friendly People

5 on September 17, 2015

I can't say enough about this property. I'll definitely stay again. It's also a great new idea for a "get away" gift for friends.


Piece of Heaven on Earth!

5 on September 16, 2015

This place is amazing! Rooms are absolutely gorgeous! The owners are wonderful, so friendly and ready to make my stay has pleasant as possible. I did not want to leave my room, the bed was out of this world, best sheets (high thread count) and had a memory foam! I love the huge bath tub!!!!! The Breakfast was delicious!!!! I could go on and on, so many amazing thing to list. I will definitely return!


Outstanding Stay!!!

5 on September 11, 2015

It was amazing and spectacular. Would love to come back soon.


Great Country Feel

4.8 on September 05, 2015

Located just outside of Waco, a great Texas country vibe and the owners provide great insight into local food and attractions without intrusive.


Enjoyed our stay

3.8 on August 14, 2015

The decor could use some refreshing. The bed was so uncomfortable! Sloped from the middle. Felt like I might fall out of bed. Horrible backache for several days after. Everything else was fine.

Innkeeper Response
We are sorry for your discomfort. We endeavor to do all we can to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and pleasant stay. At one time, feather mattress toppers seem to be the way to go, but the feathers tend to bunch in certain places and become uncomfortable. Within the last year we have been replacing all of those feather comforter with the memory foam pads. We believe this room was the last to be replaced. Unfortunately we were unable to replace it before this Guest had their stay. It has now been replaced. I think you can tell from all of our previous reviews, we do all that we can to ensure that you have a wonderful stay.


Beautiful plantation room

4.2 on August 08, 2015

Loved the room especially the huge tub. Breakfast was delicious. Would return.


Peaceful Oasis in Waco

5 on June 15, 2015

There isn't anything about this B&B that isn't great. The owners are absolutely wonderful. The rooms are great and the location is incredible. Also you can buy incredible paintings too! Love it! Thanks to Retha and Dana always making it wonderful to stay.


Great Place to Visit

5 on June 09, 2015

Dana went above & beyond during our visit. Awesome room, excellent location, friendly and helpful. Will DEFINITELY go back!


Exceptional in every way

5 on May 29, 2015

Love this place! Romantic and inviting. From the moment we arrived we were impressed. Just beautiful, the Innkeepers thought of every little detail for a cozy, comfortable stay.


So personable!

5 on April 17, 2015

Loved the room and ammenities. Breakfast was amazing! Got one on one information and map upon arrival. Great area and lots to do in Waco or sit in peace and enjoy the B&B. Looking at next availability to return.


good night's stay

4.6 on April 17, 2015

Safe comfortable neighborhood. My room had its own entrance. It wasn't inside the bed and breakfast. It was a separate building.


20 year anniversary

5 on March 07, 2015

My husband and spent the night here to celebrate our 20th anniversary. It was a beautiful room, with a beautiful couple running it. Our stay was quite relaxing and such a romantic room. We stayed in the plantation suite, and I don't think we could've picked a better one. Thanks to you both for making this an exceptional way to celebrate our 20th. God Bless You! You have gorgeous home!


amazing experience

5 on March 01, 2015

I don't normally write reviews but felt I had to here. The rooms were over the top beautiful. You can see that from the pictures. The innkeepers were absolutely two of the warmest most wonderful people you could ever meet. They go to great lengths to cater to any needs you have and make you feel welcome and part of their family. I love the story of how they developed the B&B and how friendly everyone in the small community is. Not only would I recommend it but I see why rock creek is a perfect model of how people and customers should be treated and quality of service is measured. I don't have the words to describe how amazing white rock creek B&B is. Its a must have experience


Great get out of the house

3.4 on November 11, 2014

It was super nice and inexpensive. Only things that could use improvement are picking up around the outside area. And making sure everything works properly. I had a few issues with the toilet handle and some batteries out in battery candles.


Private Unique B & B Stay

5 on July 21, 2014

Our stay was a much more private experience than your usual B & B. The very generous room we stayed in was in a separate building than our hosts. It felt very secluded as our room overlooked a wooded area. However, we had the option of joining our very nice host/hostess for breakfast each morning and they helped us learn about the area. Very good morning conversation. This B & B is worth seeking out if you are anywhere near the Waco, Texas area.


Great place!

4.6 on April 21, 2014

It was a really spectacular room, and the innkeepers were flexible with our schedule.


Great room!

4.6 on April 07, 2014

We had a great night. The room is beautiful and the innkeepers went to lengths to accommodate our special needs.


Love this place!

5 on October 02, 2013

We did not want to stay at the normal hotel, what a breath of fresh air this place is! We will be back!


A Gem in Waco, Texas

4.6 on August 31, 2013

Our one-night stopover on the way to Fredericksburg, TX turned out to be a real treat. The Veranda Suite was exceptionally well done. Dana & Retha were a delight. Retha's breakfast was outstanding (don't miss it). It was a slow weekend for them and Retha was so gracious and charming in giving us a tour of the other rooms and we enjoyed such a blessed conversation with Retha. We look forward to going back!


Bonus wildlife

3.0 on July 01, 2013

I was truly please to see a brown fox off the deck my first afternoon there. Didn't really spend much time at the room, mostly in town seeing what was new since last visit 25+ years ago. Enjoyed breakfast and would definitely recommend staying for a couple just looking to relax and enjoy each others company. Owners friendly and helpful.


Family Gathering

5 on June 23, 2013

Finding a good location for our large family of nearly 30 members is quite a challenge. This year we chose White Rock Creek and were very pleased. The rooms are beautiful, and it would be difficult to overstate how gracious and helpful the hosts are. Retha and Dana went out of their way to make our stay happy and comfortable, and even took family pictures for us. Their back porch was wonderful for morning coffee and visiting with each over. We really enjoyed the huge meadow in back of the main house for flying kites, tossing the football, games of Bocce ball, plus blowing bubbles and splashing in wading pools for our littlest members. If you are searching for a great location for your family reunion, don't miss the B&B on White Rock Creek!


Amazing Country Escape

5 on April 14, 2013

This place it so much better than any commercialized place I have ever been! The carpentry and details in the furniture and architecture these rooms is stellar. Luxury is an understatement for this place. Everything in this place is very nice not only in quality but comfort as well. Retha even set us up with a special decor and breakfast hand delivered to our room. For someone a picky as I am, I struggle to find a problem with this place. All I could ask for is bath sheets instead of standard towels. The bathroom in the is room is the biggest tub I have seen in any place I could find, and my wife loved the lighting. The bed is very comfortable and the sheets are super soft. Great food and very nice owners. A little expensive for one night but very much worth it even for a penny pincher like me.


Breathtaking!!

5 on February 10, 2013

I located this B&B online, and decided to surprise my husband with a getaway for his birthday & valentines. I booked the plantation room based only on the pictures online...as we know sometimes that's risky, but it was last minute. WOW!! Can I just say that this is the most beautiful and elegant place we have ever stayed. I was blown away with the detail and care that is so obviously put into this room. The hand crafted woodwork, the gorgeous decorations and the extra steps taken to make your stay unforgettable just shows that this isn't just someone's job; it's their passion it's their love. And I haven't gotten to the fabulous breakfast cooked by the owners themselves and served fresh in the great room. Thank you so much Dana & Retha for your gracious hospitality and an unforgettable weekend. May the Lords blessings continue to pour onto you both. Mark & Ellen Kracy 2/2013


Great for quick getaway.

3.2 on January 01, 2013

We enjoyed the local getaway. The surrounding area was nice and we enjoyed being together.


If your looking for Southern Hospitality; Here it is!

5 on December 03, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon a few months back and was blown away by the look, feel, and hospitality of the place. The owners were very personable and cooked awesome homemade breakfasts. I am weary of places that skimp on the food and service, but here it was above and beyond service. The place was beautiful and well kept, not to mention the owner built a large part of it by hand. We had a great stay and are looking forward to comming back for years to come. Thanks White Rock Creek for giving us awesome memories!


White Rock Creek B&B a do not miss location

5 on September 03, 2012

Loved this wonderful place, felt like home away from home. Spacious rooms and bath. Located minutes from all major attractions. Reasonably priced for all you get. The energy we felt there was amazing and our hosts Dana and Retha spared no detail for our breakfast meal. We shall return when we visit this area again.


Best B&B ever!

5 on September 01, 2012

This is by far the best bed and breakfast I have stayed at. Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Shenandoah room. It was so nice we stayed an extra night. I didn't want to leave. The room was cozy and inviting as well as the making you feel like no one else was around. It was in a building not in the main house with a well lit path. The owners were so nice and friendly. The breakfast was out of this world good. My boyfriend really love the pumpkin pancakes and will not stop talking about them. I have stayed at several B&Bs but never had an experience as nice as this. I would highly recommend this as a must stay at place.


B&B on White Rock Creek

4.0 on March 10, 2012

My husband surprised me with a stay here for my birthday. We have started staying at more B&BS and this was by far the best. We are in the Savannah suite which is very private away from main house and it was a great room. Even the rain could not wipe the smile off my fac. I would like to return in May when things are starting to bloom.


Favorite B&B

4.6 on February 11, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting Dana and Retha at least once a year, since 2005. This is one of our favorite places to stay! Always Relaxing and Restful!! Love the breakfast quiche! Danny & Lisa/Waxahachie, TX


Fantastic B&B with Great Hosts

5 on January 31, 2012

The B&B on White Rock Creek is the best kept secret in Central Texas. Located only about 2 miles from I-35, it is secluded and in a beautiful country setting. The rooms are remarkably well appointed, original, and large for a B&B with very reasonable prices. The main lodge has a fantastic great room. The breakfasts are great. The innkeepers are extraordinarily nice people who you will want to get to know. This B&B rightly deserves the highest ratings because of the the quality of the accomodations, the location, and the incredible inkeepers. HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION from an experienced B&B couple!!


The best!!!!

5 on July 04, 2011

What a wonderful, cozy, homey place to go. Thanks to the Stricklands the property is clean and relaxing. Ours was an excellent experience.


goureous ,relaxing.fantastic

4.2 on June 03, 2011

this was a really relaxing place. It was clean and so inviting.I needed a place to get away from stress and I found it here. The only draw back was the breakfast was served at 9 a.m. which is too late for me. It was good, but it would have been better at 7 or 8.


Artisans of Romance and Hospitality

5 on January 15, 2011

For our 27th anniversary, I wanted to plan a surprise evening for my best friend, my teen angel. Dana and Retha went above and beyond the expectations of hospitality with helpful suggestions and advice. Then, they put actions to their words and set about getting all of the "extras" we had talked about. Let me just say this. After 27 years together it can be easy to lose sight of each other. After our stay at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast I found my best friend again thanks, in no small part, to Dana and Retha. They are much more than professional inn keepers, they are artisans of romance and hospitality. We both thank you and appreciate the "gift" you have for what you do. We will be back. R.C.


Wonderful, Warm, & Romantic

5 on September 12, 2010

My husband and I just stayed in the Plantation Room, during a marriage retreat that we attended that was sponsered by the Family Life ministry of our church, Emmanuel Seventh-day Adventist Church in Cleburne, TX, on Labor Day weekend of September 2010. My husband was surprised by room and needless to say we had a wonderful time for reflection on our marrige, our commitment to each other, and our love. The atmostphere of the Bed & Breakfest was perfect for the retreat and the personable service that Retha & Dana provided was second to none. The breakfast was delicious! We look forward to another stay at White Rock Creek Bed & Breakfast.


A Waco Jewel

5 on March 10, 2010

My girlfriend and I took a romantic getaway here recently for a day, and everything was so wonderful about our vacation. If you're looking for time spent in beautiful well serviced rooms that each have their own unique taste and flair and a delicious home cooked breakfast then enjoy White Rock Creek. The service and friendliness cannot be beat with your truly unique and gifted hosts. If you're looking for a romantic getaway, or just some peace and quiet, a pretty place to stay, or an original experience, stay here! I know I'll be back again.


Honeymoon stay

5 on December 16, 2009

We chose to stay at White Rock Creek for our honeymoon and we couldn't have chosen a more beautiful, relaxing place. We had a wonderful time in the Plantation room. The jacuzi tub is fabulous!!! Dana and Retha are very welcoming and gracious. The breakfat was absolutely delicious. We will be returning and recommending the B&B to others!


Rest & Relaxation!

5 on September 13, 2009

Dana & Retha are the best hostest's that I have ever met! The weekend that my husband and I went our son became very ill! I asked them if they would mind praying, we did right that moment and my son was healed! The room was wonderful and the breakfast was outstanding! The fellowship I will carry with me forever! Truly and amazing stay! You will be blessed!


Great place to stay

4.6 on August 21, 2009

This was our first experience at a B&B, & it was a truly a rewarding experience. Dana & Retha were awesome hosts, and we felt right at home. We will definitely use their services in the future.


Anniversary getaway

5 on May 23, 2009

We live in the area and booked a night for an anniversary getaway. The room was fabulous. The whole place - setting, atmosphere, etc. was wonderful. The hosts are so courteous and welcoming. A fantastic experience.


best b&b in town

5 on May 09, 2009

We have stayed with Retha and Dana about half dozen times now and we always enjoy our visits. Beautiful property, rooms and awesome host and hostess! Thank you! Tony and Toni


Great Fun...

4.6 on April 27, 2009

I know that bringing a family to a usually quiet and romantic bed and breakfast could bring mixed feelings, but we assured them our children were well behaved and they gave us a shot~ Good thing too, we had a blast. We were travelling from Dallas to the Austin area for a camping trip and wanted to start it off with a bang~ and we did. The room was lovely and spacious, our 4 year old spent most of the night on the pull out sofa bed, but ended up joining the rest of us in the Oh So Comfy King sized bed, no problem, room for all~ We had a blast in the giant whirlpool tub, me and both the kids took 3 baths in our short stay... We are vegeterians and enjoyed a lovely spinach quiche for breakfast, fresh fruit, blueberry bread that I couldn't get enough of, and a hot cup of cofee. We will do it again everytime we can!


Excellent B&B

5 on March 25, 2009

The host are gracious and welcoming. The room was gorgeous and romantic. The price was an awesome value. We went here after staying at another B&B down the road. White Rock was entirely nicer for the same price. Probably the best value and best B&B in Waco. We stayed in the Garden Suite, it had everything: A porch to sit out on and enjoy a cooling Texas evening, a jacuzzi tub in room. TV/VCR with antique loveseat to snuggle and watch movies. The bed was soft and luxurious. Their was a convenient kitchenette setup with microwave, coffeepot and refrigerator. The bathroom was large and well appointed. Their website does not do justice to how well they have put their place together. Recommend: In-room breakfast, and a walk just past their property to the large park. Just for reference this is around the 30th B&B I've stayed at.


This place was GREAT!

4.0 on September 08, 2008

This is the place to go to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We recently stayed at this B&B for one night and we didn't want to leave. Our room had a full kitchen, we were able to pick a couple of movies from their library and pop popcorn - all provided by our hosts. The room was very nice, clean, and our private deck was in the treetops. We really enjoyed sitting on the deck listening to the birds. We were able to walk through the neighborhood and the path that ran along side the creek. It was a totally relaxing weekend. Breakfast was great and we will definitely be going back.


Unique rustic setting

3.0 on August 23, 2008

Pleasant accomodations with no surprises. Very nice proprietors.


highly recommend

4.6 on August 31, 2007

after getting married in the area, my husband and i wanted to stay somewhere with charm, character, and uniqueness - we were very happy with our decision to stay at white rock creek - dana and retha were very accommodating and friendly - we stayed in the savannah suite high in the trees! we would gladly recommend this to anyone looking for something special!


Excellent Accomodations

4.6 on May 23, 2007

My father in law sent my wife and I away for a night a few years ago. Breakfast was great and the service was excellent. Dana & Retha have put a lot into this place and it was very nice visiting with them. I may have to get back to Texas just to enjoy my coffee on the porch in the morning.


Bed and Breakfast on White Rock Creek

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $195
  • Reviews (80) 4.7
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2547999783

Visit Website »

View details

Top