Utopia on the River Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
80 Reviews

Write A Review

Hill Country get away

4.6 on September 20, 2014

Overall, our stay was great. The owners are so nice and friendly, and are very proud of their home and property. Only have 2 slight concerns-the a\c unit is a bit noisy going on and off all nite, and there was very little shower pressure. Other than those 2 things, stay was everything we hoped for, and will be going back for sure.


Wonderfully quiet and serene.

4.8 on September 09, 2014

The owners and staff are absolutely wonderful. Drove the hills to all the neighboring little towns. Just a great getaway.


Don't Miss This Part of Texas

4.6 on August 28, 2014

It was a perfect two day getaway! We hiked both Lost Maples and Garner State Parks, cooled off in the rivers, napped and had delicious breakfasts. Texas is just filled with outstanding scenery and people!


Great B&B

5 on August 20, 2014

Utopia on the River is a fantastic place to get away from it all! The owners are wonderful. I worked with them to book a writer's retreat for later this year; they made the process very easy, and their conference space is great. I was fortunate to be able to visit this past weekend and I couldn't imagine a more peaceful environment. From floating in the pool, to watching the neighboring horses, to relaxing in the wooden rockers on the porch and watching the deer feed at dusk, this vacation was just perfect. My husband and I definitely will be returning!


Remote and quite getaway b&b

5 on August 16, 2014

Outstanding remote and quite getaway


Fantastic family stay!

5 on August 15, 2014

This was a great discovery! It was the perfect base from which to explore the area. The staff and management were all extremely welcoming and friendly, and we felt at home the entire stay! Great value and somewhere we most definitely will return to!!


Outstanding

5 on August 09, 2014

We were very impressed with the quality of service and the friendliness of the staff. We certainly will think about this as a favorite Bed and Breakfast experience. Jim and Carole Putman


Great Get-A-Way Place

3.8 on August 08, 2014

Nice relaxing place to get away from it all. Love the hummingbirds, deer and pool/hot tub. The big cypress tree is a must photo op. The rooms are comfortable except for the hard mattresses. Breakfasts were good and a great time to watch the hummingbirds and deer.


Great B&B!!!

5 on August 05, 2014

Wonderful place to stay!! Greatly enjoyed the owners, location and facility. Highly recommend this B&B for any get away!


Truly coming home

5 on July 23, 2014

This was my second time to stay at this beautiful inn. It warms your soul, feels you with peace, and gives you a glimpse of heaven.


Outstanding vacation

5 on July 21, 2014

The room was clean and comfortable. The service and breakfasts were awesome! The environment is beautiful with deer on the property in the morning and evening. I will definitely stay again.


We didn't want to leave!

4.6 on July 14, 2014

We spent four nights at Utopia on the River and enjoyed every moment. My grandsons and I were not ready to leave when it came time to check out. The scenery is breathtaking and it is so peaceful there. A great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature. The owners and staff were very helpful and pleasant to be around. The daily breakfasts were outstanding! We made friendships with other guests and enjoyed visiting around the pool. What a wonderful place! We can't wait to return.


Couldn't Have Been Better

5 on June 04, 2014

This is our second stay at UOTR. It is the most relaxing stay we've ever had. Deer grazing in the early morning hours; hummingbirds buzzing around the patio chairs as you relax. The staff is amazing and meets your every need. The morning breakfasts are delicious and very filling.


Awesome Stay!

4.8 on May 28, 2014

Very friendly and accommodating. Made us feel welcome and at home. Gave us some great suggestions for enjoying the area.


Great two days

4.8 on April 06, 2014

Wife and I spent two nights the first of April, 2014. What a great time. Breakfast was awesome. Rooms clean and very cozy. Great staff. We ate each morning with several dozen deer and hummingbirds. We will definitely go back. Dwight


Best get away

4.6 on February 26, 2014

The place was secluded and a great mini vacation. The staff was awesome and very helpful. I will recommend anyone to come here. It's a great place and we will be back.


Wonderful Retreat

4.4 on December 30, 2013

The staff was outstanding--friendly, open but not intrusive with suggestions and conversation, eager to please. Breakfast was more than ample and very tasty. We stayed four nights and had a good variety of options over our stay. We enjoyed the great room where breakfast was served--a jigsaw puzzle was out and in progress,couches around the fireplace offered a comfortable place to relax, and the front porch was often occupied by guests enjoying the crisp, fresh air and each others' company.


Great way to spend our 25th Anniversary!!

4.8 on November 29, 2013

Even though the weather was cold, our hearts were warmed by the graciousness and hospitality of Utopia on the River--what a great place to celebrate our 25th Anniversary! Beautiful setting, wonderful room, delicious breakfast and friendly people--what a good start to exploring the magificent Hill Country!


Refreshing!

4.2 on November 22, 2013

Easy to Find, Difficult to Leave!!! Utopia on The River is Over-the-top in All Categories!!!!! Ray


Slice of Paradise

4.8 on November 16, 2013

The staff is absolutely wonderful! I loved the B&B and the town. Everyone is friendly. The rooms are simple and cute. It's an awesome relaxing break from the hustle and bust of the city life. I would definitely recommend the Utopia on the River B&B to others.


Repeat Visitor (Wouldn't Have Returned If It Wasn't Great)

5 on November 14, 2013

Heard about Utopia on the River in 2012 and decided to give it a try. We were so impressed we made it a point to come back again this year. Pretty much says it all. Great accommodations and a warm, caring, attentive staff who treats you like family instead of a customer. To paraphrase Arnold Schwarzenegger, "We'll be back."


What a great getaway!!

5 on November 13, 2013

This place makes you feel like your family while your there. The room was so nice and clean and all the questions we had about the surrounding area were either there on a map or they helped you plan the way. They are great inn keepers and it shows with great food they made and the pride they help their guests! If your every needing a break from the day to day I would say this is the place to go!! They don't call this inn Utopia with out a reason!!


Great to relax and unwind

4.6 on November 13, 2013

My only complaint is the hot tub was not hot enough for my liking, it could have been a tad hotter, but that is my preference and maybe not others.


Peaceful weekend

5 on November 11, 2013

Great getaway with wonderful hosts, scrumptious breakfasts & very comfortable rooms! I would recommend Utopia on the River to anyone looking for a peaceful weekend in the hill country!


Great weekend getaway

4.2 on October 31, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our visit to Utopia. The staff were very friendly and helpful with suggestions about places to go as well as making our stay comfortable. The breakfasts were wonderful and varied.


Hikers from Dripping Springs

4.6 on October 26, 2013

Thanks so much for meeting my gluten-free needs on breakfast. You are such a welcoming group at Utopia. We enjoyed meeting and chatting with other guests. Your location is certainly a little slice of heaven in the hill country!


birthday in utopia

4.0 on September 19, 2013

GREAT EXPERIENCE


A Perfect Stay

5 on September 13, 2013

I visited Utopia on the River for a much needed solo retreat. The staff greeted me warmly and the room was perfect! I rested very comfortably in the bed and the room even had a small fridge and microwave. The rooms are spacious, with great AC and the bathrooms are large and have everything you need. The grounds are beautiful with huge cypress trees, the river, and a pool/hut tub and grill. It's a wonderful spot with an extremely hospitable staff and a great value for a little getaway. I'll definitely be coming back with my kiddo!


Awesome Hillcountry Getaway

4.8 on August 05, 2013

Peaceful. Quiet. Awesome. The river is crystal clear, the rooms are wonderful, the food is fantastic. The owners are delightful.... We will be going back soon!


Peaceful and amazing!

4.4 on August 04, 2013

We just returned after a quick weekend away and I can't say enough positive things about our stay. We loved the property!!! The huge 800+ year cypress was amazing! We enjoyed the pool and the hospitality was fantastic.


Paradise

5 on July 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Utopia on the River from the friendly caring faces that greeted us, the comfy room, delicious breakfast (especially the apple cinnamon french toast just to name one) and the peaceful river, to the charming hummingbirds and deer. We look forward to returning to Utopia on the River. It truly is a "Paradise".


Thank you

4.8 on July 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and the staff was very friendly. We did some star gazing and floating. We will be back.


Great Getaway

5 on July 25, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a brief getaway from our teenagers.Utopia on the River is a relaxing way to escape the city. The staff was friendly and the other guests were nice, We really enjoyed seeing the deer feeding morning and evening,


Perfect Getaway

4.8 on July 09, 2013

If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, then this is the place to come to. You will enjoy the peace and quiet of the country and you are not to far from the city. There are great small towns around so you can shop for that unique treasure to take back home. The staff are the best and make you to feel right at home.


Great Stay

5 on July 06, 2013

Thanks to Karen and staff for a great stay! We love visiting Utopia when we get the chance. Utopia on the River Lodge is wonderful!


Love the hill country!

4.2 on June 26, 2013

Love the hill country! We didn't realize how hilly it can get especially as we got closer to Utopia. Utopia on the River is within driving distance of , Lost Maples State Park, Frio , Uvalde and not too far from San Antonio. So many things to see and do!


A Relaxing Getaway

4.4 on June 18, 2013

In spite of rain showers that limited pool time, we found Utopia on the River to be a great place to stay. Its unpretentious atmosphere in a beautiful setting makes it a wonderful place to release the cares of everyday life and just be for awhile.


Awesome!

4.8 on June 15, 2013

My wife and I and our two kids just got home from a wonderful trip to Utopia on the River. The pictures really do not do it justice the town is beautiful and very quaint and the people are very nice. Only draw back was that i didnt get to have peaches and biscuits. Garner state park is a must and so is the apple store the apple ice cream is amazing. The staff was very knowledgeable and very helpful and overall awesome stay the sign they have is really true.


Wonderful place --- website does not do it justice!

4.8 on April 21, 2013

What a wonderful place to have discovered!! My husband and I made last minute reservation for our 32nd anniversary weekend. Let me tell you --- we are very happy they had a room available. The staff was awesome, the scenery amazing, and the room was extremely clean and comfortable. We had dinner at the Laurel Tree and came back to enjoy the hot tub on a cool evening. Will definitely be back and will tell all our friends and family:) Oh, forgot to mention the delicious breakfast --- just like home.


Many Visits....

5 on April 01, 2013

Tom and I have been visiting Utopia on the River for many years and have seen this wonderful bed and breakfast grow into a delightful getaway. In the past we have arranged for our church group to hold a retreat and we received great hospitality. Karyn and her team were very accommodating to the needs of our group. My husband and I make it a point to go once a year. The beds and linens are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is diverse with more than enough and the views of the hummingbirds, deer and river are peaceful. We like to eat dinner at Fiddlesticks and lunch the next day at Lost Maples Inn. There is antique shopping and fishing right there in Utopia and a great day of hiking 20 min up the road at Lost Maples Park. Schedule a visit today!!! Tom and Lana Sutherland


Our Favorite Hill Country Retreat

5 on March 12, 2013

This was our second trip to Utopia On The River....we absolutely loved it (again) and plan to be back in the summer. Thank you Karyn and Cheryl for your hospitality!


Like Staying with Family

4.0 on March 04, 2013

Our party of five adults stayed last week-end. I was so surprised to find such a clean and attractive inn . Check in and out was fast and effortless. The owners and staff could not have been more attentive. Parking was very convenient. The property is lovely, even in winter. We all enjoyed watching the deer feed at 8am and 5pm.daily. The hot tub was nice and the logoon pool is pretty. The room we had had a big walk-in shower similar to ours at home. The bed and pillows were comfortable and seemed new. There was too much light coming into our room from outside lighting. I know the lighting was for safety but it did interfere with my sleep. Next time I'll bring my sleep mask. We enjoyed our delicious breakfasts. I'll have to bring my own coffee maker next time because I like it really strong,but no big deal. All told we had a delightful time. The area has some fun activities like Love Creek Apple Orchard and The Lone Star Motorcycle Museum.


Escape from Reality!

4.8 on February 18, 2013

Great weekend away! Staff, Breakfast great - very relaxing in the hot tub in the stars at night. Great hikes at Lost Maples Park. We appreciated wifi access since our cells only worked on the way to Sabinal.


Weekend Oasis

4.8 on December 12, 2012

This was a most relaxing weekend. You can do as much or as little as you want. The rooms are great, the breakfast is delicious, and the scenery is inspiring. You can walk, explore the river behind the hotel, or visit one of the many eating places in the area. I can't wait to return.


Thoroughly Enjoyable!

4.6 on December 10, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and loved it! The staff treated us like family! The grounds around the lodge are just beautiful with large very old trees and plenty of wildlife running around to view! The breakfast is great!


A great get-away!

5 on November 16, 2012

What an excellent place for a get away to the beautiful Hill Country in Texas. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The workout room /fitness center was provided by God! We saw so much wildlife in the area and really enjoyed our morning breakfasts generously provided by Cheryl and Karyn. We would highly recommend this place to anyone. We plan to tell our friends.


Argyle Lady Loves UOTR!!

5 on November 12, 2012

We just stayed again and we will stay again and again. Kayrn spoils us all with the most delicious breakfast ever and each day it is different and special. We use the great room for getting together and playing games in the evening. We stroll the grounds and snap pictures of the deer feeding. A very special place for R&R


Wonderful place!!!!! Beautiful, restful location!

5 on November 12, 2012

We had a wonderful time. Karyn Jones, the innkeeper, was very supportive of our group of 41 - 43 Porsche enthusiasts........housed over three lodging locations in Utopia. The great room where we enjoyed breakfast was a wonderful place for us to hang out in the evening and play Rumikubs and talk. Many deer visited in the morning and at dusk.. It's an idyllic location to come and rejuvenate yourself.


Most wonderful week-end

4.8 on November 11, 2012

My husband and I came to Utopia On The River this past week-end for a wonderful restful time. Karyn was so helpful to help us organize our activities. We started each day with a great breakfast. Thanks, Karyn


Utopia on the River, the best B&B in Southwest Texas

5 on November 09, 2012

My wife and I and another couple spent two nights at Utopia on the River B&B. We had a super great time. Wow, what a beautiful place surrounded by huge trees and right on the Sabina. river. The owner are on the property and always willing to provide the best customer service. We loved watching family of Deers feed in the morning and again in the evening. Breakfast always served fresh and hot, just a great place to go for R& R and have fun while enjoying the surroundings. Joe Musco and Company.


Utopia on the River

5 on November 04, 2012

Utopia on the River is a very quiet, peaceful and serene place to stay in the hill country. The room was large, clean and uniquely decorated. My husband and I enjoyed walking the well-manicured property filled with large cypress trees and sitting next to the river and just enjoying nature. This is a great place to relax at!


Utopia on the River

5 on October 31, 2012

Our stay at Utopia on the River was wonderful. The room was large and very nice. The outdoor area was spectacular. Beautiful grounds along the river. A deer feeder brings in the deer in the mornings and the evenings. Even though the river was very low, it was a beautiful place to stay.


Our visit too short!

4.8 on October 25, 2012

We purchased a Living Social offer several months ago. Our visit this week to Utopia proved to be everything that Utopia on the River offered. The natural beauty of the area and wildlife, although experienced by us for only two days, was very relaxing and refreshing. We love to ride our bicycles and found Garner State Park (about 17 miles away) to be a safe and beautiful park to indulge that activity. Great job all around, Cheryl, Karyn and staff!!!


Wonderful stay in Utopia

4.8 on October 12, 2012

My wife and I just spent two wonderful nights at Utopia on the River. The room was very comfortable and my wife loved the rocking chairs. The deer and turkey were feeding just yards from the room and we loved watching them interact. The breakfasts were great and we loved the homemade food. Out time there was too short but we plan to return next year.


Enjoyed It !

5 on October 11, 2012

Peaceful , friendly enviornment and totally comfortable . Sitting on the porch swing and having coffee in the morning was so nice. Deer and Turkeys were there to watch. Breakfasts were wonderful. Only wish we had more time to spend - this trip was just too short ! Thanks to all - we enjoyed it . Terry and Marilyn


Treated like family

4.6 on October 06, 2012

Such a beautiful setting. Loved sitting by the river. Such fun watching the wild turkeys come through the property as well as the deer herd! Very comfortable room and great breakfasts. We were made to feel so welcome! Can't wait to return!


You Need to Go!

4.8 on September 25, 2012

A hidden jewel in the hill country. They could not have been more accomodating. The breakfast was AWESOME! Wildlife was abundant: hummingbirds dashing over your head as you rocked on the front porch, deer grazing so close you could touch them, little hidden places to sit, relax, drink a glass of wine. Jacuzzi to ease the tiredness of hiking Lost Maples State Park. Enough to do for 3-4 days. Save our room. We will return!!


Great place to relax and enjoy

5 on September 24, 2012

Great place to go and see all the deer,turkey,squarrils,and birds. The hosts are great. They are GOOD COOKS.


a piece of heaven!!!!

5 on September 23, 2012

This was suppose to be a getaway for my husband and I, but trouble in our marriage kept him from joining me. I ended up going alone and am so glad I did!!! AMAZING!! Cheryl was incredible and the place breathtaking! Love, loved it!! Carla Shaffer


Absolutely AWESOME!

5 on September 19, 2012

Cheryl and Mack the owners are the most friendly people I have met in a long time! The room was clean and spacious. The food was great! The property was epic with the deer and turkey walking around. Super tranquil! Can't wait to go back and visit my new friends! Thanks again Cheryl and Mack! The Hanseler's


Tranquil

4.8 on September 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay and the people are Awesome! We fell in love with the area!


Love love love this place!!

4.8 on September 17, 2012

My husband and I just returned from UOTR. We had such a great time and hated to leave. You will not find innkeepers than this family. The will go out of their way to please you. The area has so much to do and three days was not enough. Don't go without visiting Garner State Park. Absolutely beautiful as is this entire area. I'm already planning a women's retreat and can't wait to return to UOTR! Cute, very clean and wonderful cooking. What else could you want? I can't say enough about this place!


We loved this place!

5 on September 14, 2012

From the time we checked in to the minute we left we felt very comfortable and at ease. This place has gorgeous scenery and the best owners and innkeeper. This was a surprise for my husband's birthday. We will definitely stay here again and make this a tradition. Can't wait to go back!


We'll be back

4.8 on August 29, 2012

A group of us came up in July and had a blast. The owners are so friendly and make you feel right at home. Having the river right behind the place was icing on the cake as we hung out down there most of our visit. Coming back in Sept. for our anniversary. The group of friend that came with us in July have already booked the whole place for a long weekend in July 2013.


Relaxing !!

4.0 on August 21, 2012

My wife and I just stayed there one night on the first stop of a quick Texas tour and wished every night was as nice. We really enjoyed the property and the people and look forward to going back with our kids. While sitting on the porch having coffee I met lots of the other guest and everyone seemed to be happy and relaxed. This is a great place to relax !


We love this place!!!

5 on July 06, 2012

We just stayed in this beautiful place for 2 nights and I hated to leave. It is quiet, beautiful and the perfect getaway. We enjoyed sitting around the pool and wading in the river (COLD!). The food is great and the owner and her family are very, very nice. Rooms are nice and big and the A/C is nice and cool. We are definitely planning to stay again and again. Thank you, Karyn, for the relaxing stay and good food.


Wedding

5 on January 02, 2012

Our expectations were not only met but exceeded. The setting, the food , the atmosphere and the assistance from Karyn and her crew was outstanding. Not only was the weekend the site of a fantastic ceremony and reception, the entire weekend was very relaxing and meomrable. Thanks for everything.


Home at Utopia on the River

5 on July 05, 2011

Since I lived in Utopia until I went off to college, I love going "home"and staying at Utopia on the River. I want my children and grandchildren to love Utopia for the crystal clear water, abundance of deer, friendly people, and beautiful scenery. I book three rooms at this wonderful lodge each summer so that my family can have privacy but still spend quality time together. Next summer there will be five rooms booked since our extended family will be coming, too. The wonderful breakfasts each morning make a person want to jump out of bed and be first in line to get the mouth-watering biscuits, pancakes, or whatever is on the menu for the day. What a wonderful place! I tell my friends about it almost daily. Oh, no, maybe I had better stop telling people so that I can always get my Room #6! Janice Tampke Teinert


Piece of Heaven!!!

4.8 on May 25, 2011

This is our second trip to Utopia on the river. This is the perfect get away for couples or family. The property is breath taking and the lodge was as cozy as cozy can get. Very nice and very clean. Karen, the inn keeper, makes a spectacular breakfast. She can whip up a meal in no time. Piping hot coffee right at 0730. There are humming birds all over the place. They get so close to you, you can feel the wind vibrating from their wings. There are so many different things you can do when you stay there. Gardner state park is about 20 miles away and the drive is so very pretty. The river there at Gardner was so pretty and clear. We swam and tubbed until the late afternoon. Came back and then bbq our dinner there at the lodge. They have a sparkling pool and hot tub just waiting for you to jump in. Right outside the lodge you can walk and see beautiful horses all up and down the road. This is the perfect Texas get away. No doubt, we will be back!!


Very peaceful getaway in Utopia

4.2 on May 17, 2011

Visting this B&B in Utopia is very much for those looking for peace and quiet. If you are looking for daily excitement, Garner State Park is very close. We went to escape. Deer and hummingbirds were everywhere. Room was very spacious and so was bathroom. Breakfast was good country comfort food. Loved it! We enjoyed the drive because it is truly Texas Hill Country. We took our convertible with the top down and cruised. We went to all the surrounding towns and found it quite restful.


Heaven

4.6 on May 28, 2010

My husband and I recently celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at Utopia on the River. It really seemed like a little piece of heaven. The surroundings were absolutely beautiful. We hiked at Lost Maples, fished on the river, hot tubbed, star-gazed and so much more!!!


Best Time!!!

5 on August 14, 2009

My fiancé and I went to Utopia on the River and were very pleased!! The management and staff were very friendly and made our stay one to remember. The breakfast was great and the hospitality was even better!!! We are definitely ready for next year, when we plan to go again!! It is in the middle of a lot of different towns and sites. It is very quiet and the stars are great to look at and the sound of nature is at its best. If you have ever wanted to know what a small town feel is all about, go to Utopia on the River!!!!


excellent!

3.6 on June 03, 2009

Excellent!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to your next visit.


Utopia- a paradise

3.2 on April 10, 2009

This is a marvelous place to stay. It's quiet, comfortable, easy to find, and hits the spot!


Holidays in Utopia

3.6 on February 20, 2009

Utopia on the River was the perfect weekend for my family, visiting from other parts of the country.


Utopia on the River

4.6 on January 22, 2009

our stay was very enjoyable and relaxing.


Christmas 2008

4.0 on January 22, 2009

We spent our 'after Christmas' Christmas at this inn and it was lovely. We rented all of the rooms for our family and it truly was 'Utopia on the River!'


Utopia on the River,

4.0 on November 21, 2007

This bed and breakfast exceeded my expectations.


Utopia on the River,

5 on November 20, 2007

This bed and breakfast was outstanding.


Great Stay on the RIver

4.6 on October 18, 2007

What a peaceful stay! Everyone was super helpful and pleasant. We loved the homemade breakfast & the beautiful clean, peaceful facilities.


Utopia on the River

Details

  • Nightly Rate $120 - $144
  • Reviews (80) 4.7
  • Rooms 12
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8309662444
  • Fax 1-8309662445

Visit Website »

View details

Top