Bonner Garden Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
67 Reviews

Write A Review

Home Away from Home

5 on February 26, 2014

We regularly visit San Antonio & we always stay at the Bonner Garden. Jim & Margi have perfect the roles of hosts. Everything about the Bonner Garden is perfect: comfort of beds, softness of towels, delicious breakfast, privacy, cleanliness.


Quick visit to San Antonio

5 on February 19, 2014

Stayed one night to attend the rodeo and the hospitality was excellent! We enjoyed a lovely lunch at the Italian restaurant in the neighborhood. Also enjoyed the rooftop view and cookies at night.


A Remarkable Experience!

5 on December 19, 2013

Marge & Jim Herbold are most friendly, welcoming, open, helpful, considerate hosts we've ever experienced. Most attractive, comfortable experience we can remember in all our years! Outstanding.


Very Comfortable and Convenient

4.2 on December 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here while visiting Trinity U and San Antonio. The house is lovely and sits in a historic district. It's close to some very nice restaurants and the accommodations were quite comfortable. Recommended!


Stay Here!

5 on December 13, 2013

This is a beautiful historic home with a super comfortable bed. Very easy to get to downtown, Trinity airport. Hosts were great, food delicious and the pool was an added bonus. We would stay again!


Highly recommended

5 on October 16, 2013

Hospitality was so gracious. Rooms clean and very comfortable. Food exceptional! Great ambience!


We loved it!

4.6 on August 21, 2013

Had a great time at Bonner Garden B&B. We stayed in the studio room that is separate from the main house. We especially liked how close we were to downtown San Antonio. Margi was an exceptional host!


AWESOME

5 on August 15, 2013

Wonderful, wonderful stay. Margi was a great host.


Our first B&B

5 on July 12, 2013

My husband & I drove out from North Carolina to meet up with family at the Bonner House. We stayed four nights and had such a great first B&B experience! Just like others say, Margi and Jim (and schnauzer Dexter!) really made our stay in San Antonio enjoyable. We spent the mornings sight seeing and the hot afternoons in the pool. Several good restaurants nearby, driving 10 minutes or less. SO EASY to get downtown to Riverwalk/ Alamo. And don't be shy about asking for directions or suggestions for restaurants or things to do-- they know it all! We're staying at another B&B now for the second leg of our trip, and it doesn't compare to Bonner Garden.


Sooooo relaxing!

5 on June 30, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay. We avoided the hot steamy river walk in San Antonio and booked this charming B&B. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The bath small but adequate with lots of towels. The pool was fabulous! We took full advantage of staying cool and sat around the pool for hours. We cannot say enough about the wonderful full breakfast served every morning at our leisure. Best of all was the friendliness of Margie and Jim and their attention to every detail of our stay. The Joneses


Lovely House & Neighborhood

5 on June 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Bonner House. Every morning we would walk around the historic neighborhood and admire the beautiful homes. The Ivy room was very comfortable and every breakfast so very delicious. Margi, the owner, attended to our every need. She is a charming and intelligent lady. We had no complaints and everything was excellent. The house is easy to get to and in a nice central location.


Great Experience. Will Return.

5 on May 27, 2013

Being that this was our first experience with a bed and breakfast, we really did not know what to expect. After spending three nights at the Bonner Garden B&B, we are hooked! The owners are absolutely wonderful. They are VERY helpful when it comes to getting around town and provide great conversation. The bridal suite was very comfortable and always spotless. Breakfast was different every day, but equally delicious. I would recommend the Bonner Garden B&B to anyone and we will be visiting again when we are in the area.


A Lovely Stay in San Antonio

4.4 on March 03, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bonner Garden. Our room looked right over the garden and pool. Very peaceful. Great location for getting downtown - a very short drive to the Alamo and Riverwalk and none of the noise. Close to the Brewery with great restaurants. Margi and Jim were friendly and welcoming hosts and served lovely breakfasts. We felt right at home.


Great location for outstanding B & B

5 on March 02, 2013

Arriving at 8:00 p.m. we were greeted by Jim, shown our room, and then enjoyed wine, beer and cookies as we sat in the parlour looking over the history of the house and neighborhood. Our room was charming with antique furniture, lots of light and a large bathroom. The sunrises and sunsets were beautiful from our room! Margi's breakfasts were wonderful!! It was a perfect start to each of our five days in San Antonio. We were within 10 minutes of downtown on easily accessible side streets. Our goal is to return to relax around the pool and rooftop deck.


Very good.

4.8 on February 01, 2013

Hosts very friendly and helpful. Information about San Antonio excellent.


Outstanding!

5 on January 28, 2013

Bonner Garden and it's owners Margi and Jim are top notch in every way. Just imagine a delicious breakfast in an old world dining room and beautiful rooms to relax in after a day of touring or golfing! It's the best. Jim and Margi are very friendly and helpful. Bonner Garden is 5 star for sure. Thanks for the great hospitality and generosity. Ken and Karen


Great winter getaway

5 on January 23, 2013

Bonner Garden and San Antonio are a terrific match. Hosts Jim and Magi looked after our every need. Our room was excellent, and the breakfasts superb. The ambience of Bonner Garden exceeds all expectations. We hope to use Bonner Garden as a regular winter escape from the norther snows. Susan and Joe Lech


Home away from home

5 on October 15, 2012

Mike and I have stayed at more than a few B&B's. The one thing that differentiates a good one from poor - besides the basics of rooms, location etc is the hospitality of the owners. Margi and Jim make every guest feel welcome and spark great conversations around the breakfest table making everyone there a friend. Great food, wonderful room and good hosts all at a reasonable price. Who could ask for anything more!


Incredible Food

5 on October 13, 2012

The little touches here are amazing and the food is wonderful! We definitely enjoyed our stay.


A wonderful gem in San Antonio

5 on October 02, 2012

Bonner Garden Bed & Breakfast is everything you want in a B&B -- beautiful rooms, a lovely house in a great quiet neighborhood of San Antonio, charming and thoughtful owners who provided everything from walking directions to nearby Trinity University to terrific dining suggestions, along with a delicious and varied breakfast. And at a very reasonable cost. There is no reason to stay anywhere else!


Beautiful Experience

5 on October 02, 2012

Jim and Margi made us feel like very special guests in their lovely home.


Bonner Garden Bed & Breakfast

5 on September 17, 2012

Bonner Garden offers great hosts, great conversation, in a beautiful and unique home. We spent a week and every breakfast was wonderful.


Fabulous Weekend!

5 on September 03, 2012

The stay at the Bonner Garden was exactly what we needed from our busy lives! Margi & Jim were very friendly, and made us feel right at home. The breakfast served each morning was delicious! I absolutely loved the banana bread with blueberries. It was fun to see them give my husband a hard time, because he wouldn't eat any. He's not a fan of blueberries, it became the joke of the weekend...loved it! We have stayed at many B&B's before but this one definitely ranks #1. It was all the little things that made the difference. Serioulsy, who expects beer or wine waiting in a fridge to enjoy from your long drive in?!?!? Very cool! We will definitely be back!!! Brenda & Jason (Katy, Texas)


August visit 2012

5 on August 18, 2012

My family had a wonderful stay at Bonner Garden Bed and Breakfast. Our host Margi and Jim were great and very helpful in their advice of local eateries and recommended things to do in the area. In between visits to the zoo and museums, we came back and cooled down in the fantastic pool available. It was certainly a memorable stay for my family, and we will definitely go back.


Bonner Garden B&B

5 on August 12, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed all of our stays at Bonner Garden while our daughter was attending University in San Antonio. Will truly miss our visits. Hope to come back again!


Bonner Garden

5 on August 11, 2012

Wonderful friendly, attentive hosts. Delicious food. Beautiful interior decors. Great location. An all around awesome bed & breakfast.


Home away from home

4.6 on July 11, 2012

The home and pool are lovely - spacious, quiet, comfortable. The hosts Margi and Jim make you feel like extended family, not guests. A real treat to stay here!


Wonder stay

5 on July 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent one night at Bonner Garden and it was a wonderful experience. The room was clean and very comfortable. The TV in the room was nice and it had a DVD player, which was great for a relaxing movie after a busy day out on the town (something you won't find even at nice hotels). There's also a cool balcony on the roof which was cool even on a hot summer night. The owners Jim and Margi were really friendly and accomodating. It was a great stay and definitely recommended.


Excellent location, great value

4.6 on July 09, 2012

We found the Bonner Garden Bed & Breakfast to be ideally located. It is located in the charming Monte Vista historical district just minutes from downtown San Antonio. The neighborhood is charming, and doesn't have the "Disneyland" feel of the river walk. Our hosts made a recommendation to a local Mexican restaurant (close enough that we walked). The food was delicious, and the patrons were largely locals - defnintely not a chain restaurant. I'd happily recommend the Bonner Garden to anyone headed to San Antonio.


The Perfect Hide-Away and Get-Away in the Middle of San Antonio

4.8 on July 02, 2012

Our thanks to both Jim and Margi for their wonderful hospitality and excellent service. The room was wonderful, clean, and comfortable. We both slept soundly on both nights of our stay. Going to the roof at night after the heat of the day has passed is a real treat to feel the evening breezes and see the evening sky uncluttered with trees and buildings. Breakfasts were always a joy with great morning conversations with other guests and both Jim and Margi. The breakfast fare was different and delicious each morning. The surrounding area has other restaurants for later in the day and down town San Antonio is only a short drive away. Excellent location, excellent food, excellent owners. Thank you so much for a wonderful get away.


Extras

4.4 on June 29, 2012

There were amenities that enhanced our stay that were not advertised. That was nice. The pool was fantastic! We will definitely stay again.


Great Place to Stay!!!

5 on May 22, 2012

Margi & Jim are great!!! Great breakfast!!! Great location!!! Will definitely stay again!!!


Nice Find

3.8 on April 18, 2012

This is a beautiful house in a lovely part of the town and just a few minutes drive to the Riverwalk or the Zoo. Relaxing inside or outside the house makes sense too. You might find the wooden stairs a little squeaky, but I don't remember hearing it while in the room. We stayed only one night, though...


A San Antonio Gem

4.8 on April 15, 2012

Very relaxing stay. Particularly enjoyed our morning conversations with Margi about literature, colleges and living in the southwest.


Worthy of Every Star!

5 on March 14, 2012

We spent our honeymoon at this lovely, historic home and were treated to exemplary--yet somehow completely unobtrusive-- hospitality. This allowed us to feel both at ease and at home. Our hosts, Jim and Margi, are a joy to meet; both are well-cultured, erudite and extremely well-versed in all things San Antonio. Margi's cooking is particularly outstanding and was one of the many highlights of our stay. Their willingness to share both their home and knowledge of the city made ours a memorable stay. We found our home away from home in San Antonio--we'll be back.


Really enjoyed our stay. Close to everything.

4.6 on February 28, 2012

The room was very nice, bright and airy. Loved breakfast every morning. Very good service. Also very quiet. We stayed during the winter so didn't get a chance to go swimming but looking forward to it next time. I also really liked the central location. Very close to everything and very close freeway access. However, you would never know there was a freeway nearby. Thanks Margi & Jim!


We Will Be Back!!!

5 on February 20, 2012

Our son's 19th birthday was yesterday, so my husband and I made the trip to San Antonio bringing along 2 of my son's good friends. Margi and Jim graciously invited my son and his friends to join us for breakfast on his birthday since he attends nearby Trinity University. We all had a wonderful time visiting with Margi, Jim and the other guests. What a great way to start the day! Great hospitality and charming accomodations!


Very Comfortable Stay

4.6 on February 20, 2012

Margi worked with us to provide an overnight stay that was wonderful. Both she and her husband are very congenial hosts--Jim even backed my car out of the long drive for me! We have stayed at other B & B's and Bonner Garden is one of the loveliest we have ever been in. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. Breakfast was yummy with interesting conversation. The common room held interesting books and the antiques are lovely. Bonner Garden is easily found, but still within an elegant neighborhood. It's very close to many sites in San Antonio with easy access to major highways. Margi and Jim are knowlegeable about San Antonio. We look forward to staying again.


1st rate

4.8 on December 16, 2011

Handsome house Tidy room excellent breakfast chatty, engaging host


Great Place to Stay in San Antonio!

4.6 on November 11, 2011

If you are looking for a nice place to stay in San Antonio, this is the place! It's in a nice, quiet area, very clean, and the owners are wonderful people. My husband and I have now been there twice and love it.


Great place in a great neighborhood

5 on November 10, 2011

The Bonner Garden B&B is located in the safe and beautiful Monte Vista neighborhood near Trinity University, 15 minutes drive from the airport, and less from downtown. There are coffee shops and restaurants in the area, and we could walk to the northern part of the River Walk in 25 minutes (it's another 20 minutes walk to downtown). The Bonner Garden hosts were friendly and were very happy to accommodate our vegetarian diet. Our room was sunny, clean, and comfortable. A very classy place--I'd stay there again.


Charming B&B, Welcoming Hosts

4.0 on November 10, 2011

We had a fabulous experience with Bonner Gardens and can't wait to return. Our room was lovely and comfortable. It was beautifully furnished, clean, and quite large. The innkeepers were warm and welcoming and are obviously focused on providing a great stay experience. And we thoroughly enjoyed meeting the other guests at the breakfast table. As an added bonus, they have some lovely art work done by the home's previous owner -- who was an artist -- as well as by other local artists.


A Real Gem in San Antonio

5 on October 23, 2011

The atmosphere is wonderful. The hostess is charming. The rooms are delightful. The breakfast was superb. We were centrally located and could visit many places. She also recommended a wonderful Italian restaurant.


Great B&B in San Antonio

5 on October 11, 2011

The breakfast was gourmet , owners very friendly


Weekend in San Antonio

4.6 on September 20, 2011

My husband and I visited San Antonio for our anniversary. Our stay at the Bonner Garden was LOVELY. Our hosts were very kind, friendly, and hospitable. They made us feel welcome, and every aspect of our stay was enjoyable. We stayed in the smallest room, and it was, as advertised, small. Which is exactly what we were expecting. It was clean, comfortable, and charming. Breakfast was fantastic both mornings we were there. We will absolutely be back!


Bonner Garden Stay

4.0 on September 20, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a weekend in San Antonio and really had a relaxing time at Bonner Garden BB. The Breakfast was delicious, the rooms were nice and clean and we had all kinds of help finding things to do in San Antonio.


Looking forward to our return

4.6 on September 11, 2011

We were so delighted with our stay at Bonner Garden. Innkeepers Margi and Jim were so hospitable and just a joy to visit with. We loved our room; it was decorated nicely and very spacious. The pool was just icing on the cake as I think we had record breaking temperatures to deal with. Highly recommend this inn. It was conveniently located to all the popular attractions.


At Ease in the Alamo City

5 on August 03, 2011

Great location, house is beautiful, rooms are very nice. Can't wait to go back.


Super Charming B&B

5 on July 31, 2011

This was our first time to stay at a B&B and I don't know if we'll find other B&B's that compare. We stayed in the Garden room which was very clean, spacious, and charming. The video library is extensive, the food all baked from scratch, and the hosts, Margi & Jim were so kind and welcoming, but sure to give you your privacy as well. I really can't say enough about this place. There's a roof with a porch swing to view the city/streets, parlors, fresh baked cookies at night, with a well-stocked mini-fridge, and a delightful full breakfast served to you whenever you make your way downstairs to the dining room (between 8-10am). While we were staying at someone's house, it felt like a cozy hotel and we were spoiled. The entire house is decorated to accent the age of the house (100 years old) but with updated ammenties. And while the house is old, our room was incredibly clean - even the blinds didn't have any dust on them. And a fresh rose was placed in a room - just a charming, delightful, grand house. We Loved staying here!


Great B&B in a great location

5 on July 25, 2011

The accommodations were very comfortable and Margi and Jim were wonderful hosts. The common areas were spacious and comfortable. Given it was the middle of July and very hot, the pool was very enjoyable. The B&B is located in the Monte Vista section of the city, a beautiful and well established neighborhood, nice for an early morning or evening walk, and very convenient to the downtown area. We were visiting San Antonio while helping our daughter move to the city. Margi was very helpful with hints about the city and places to shop in order to set up a household. We look forward to staying at Bonner Garden during our future visits to the city.


Beautiful house with kind hosts

4.8 on July 10, 2011

Pros: Great Value, beautiful house and grounds, delicious breakfast, good location with respect to San Antonio/ surrounding area sights and activities, kind and gracious hosts.


Great stay

4.6 on June 29, 2011

We stayed in the Portico room and really enjoyed the private entrance and access to the pool. The room was very lean and the bed super comfortable. There were plenty of drinks available and the inn keepers were great.


Our Favorite San Antonio Place

5 on June 28, 2011

Beautiful B&B. A welcome beverage, bedtime cookies, and a fabulous breakfast. All in a quaint neighborhood. Margi and Jim are great hosts and great folks. This was our second stay at Bonner Gardens and definitely looking forward to the third.


Bonner Garden Bed & Breakfast is the Best

5 on June 28, 2011

I've stayed at Bonner Garden 3 times and I'll be back for 3 more at least. Bonner Garden Bed & Breakfast is beautiful, clean, comfortable and the hosts are wonderful. Margi and Jim go out of their way to make my stay enjoyable. I travel for work and Bonner Garden is far and away the best place I stay.


Peaceful B&B

4.0 on June 26, 2011

I just spent two nights here and it was wonderful. Not only was the historic home beautiful but the host and hostess were also. The breakfast each morning was not only made from scratch but very nutritious. The pool was clean and very relaxing on a hot summer day. I would definitely return and also suggest this as a great place to stay. Melbourne Beach, Florida


Margi & B&B was our Yellow Rose of Texas

4.0 on June 24, 2011

Margi was so considerate. Because of children in the house she put us in the "Bridal Suite" so neither of us would be bothered. Ohhhh those fresh cookies and cold beer was a great welcome. The places she suggested to eat at and see was phenominal. It made our "hot, hot" trip through Texas memorable. You can't find any place better. From Peterborough, Canada Raeburn and Sharon


Great find in San Antonio

5 on June 21, 2011

Margi & Jim run a first class B&B with something a lot of other B&Bs don't have - a pool!


The Honeymooners...

5 on June 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in the "Studio" on our honeymoon. The Herbold's are just the greatest people. Both of them took time to talk to us and make certain that everything was up to par. There is a pretty good selection of DVD's and VHS tapes to watch, and cable TV, but don't forget to go out on the roof after sunset and view the surroundings. Also, take some time to look at the art on the wall - this is like a mini-museum. If you are looking for a high quality B&B and a very reasonable price, then this is for you. Trust me, you will NOT be disappointed. We are already planning to take our first anniversary stay there.


Bonner Garden Charm

5 on May 29, 2011

Wonderful accommodations, great breakfasts, super pool. It's a repeat!


Our First Choice for Accomodations in San Antonio

5 on May 25, 2011

We have stayed at Bonner Gardens numerous times over the past 15 years and have always has a wonderful stay. Margi and Jim are wonderful innkeepers. The breakfasts are wonderful and they are delightful hosts.


Bonner Garden Bed & Breakfast

5 on May 25, 2011

I have stayed at Bonner Garden five or six times in the past year, and it has been a pleasant experience each time. The inn is located in the lovely historic district . The inn is well-kept, very clean, and has a warm, comfortable feel. Margi and Jim, the innkeepers make you feel right a home. The rooms are filled with antique furniture and lovingly decorated by the innkeeper with beautiful drapery and bedding fabrics. The morning breakfast is thoughtfully prepared with fresh ingredients, served in the dining room, and is always delicious.


Great for business travel!

5 on May 25, 2011

For the last two years, whenever I travel to San Antonio for business (which is frequent), I stay at Bonner Garden. It is a beautiful, unique and interesting home, and such a nice departure from the cookie-cutter hotel room that is the staple of business travel. With high speed wireless, you have everything you need to be productive AND relax. There is a beautiful view from the rooftop patio, and the front porch is a lovely place to just hang out and read. I think I've stayed in all the rooms now and they are all wonderful, each with their own unique charm. The location is also great; easy access to just about anywhere in the city. It's a beautiful neighborhood, too -- I would recommend a walk in the evening to see all the stately old homes. Jim and Margi are friends to me now, and there's something special about feeling like you're staying with friends that makes a business trip really nice. Their hospitality is fantastic, and Margi is an outstanding cook. I love her breakfasts! But she is also very kind to accommodate me when I am (ahem) dieting! I look forward to these business trips now because of Bonner Garden, and I also enjoy bringing my family to stay here for leisure. You will love it too!!


Location and Pool are Fabulous

5 on June 02, 2009

We've stayed at Bonner Gardens twice, once with teenagers and once with a group of adults. Both times everyone with us had a fabulous time. The pool is amazing, the hosts are gracious and the home is beautiful. M. Frost Austin, TX


Outstanding Service and Accommodation

5 on November 06, 2008

Charming, helpful and welcoming hosts, elegant decor with interesting art, lovely rooms with very comfortable beds, delicious breakfasts and afternoon snacks, convenient to River Walk. Would definitely stay again... Anna W


Terrific Place

5 on June 11, 2008

Stayed at the best in beautiful San Antonio. On the bus line, left the car to enjoy the city. Lounged at the pool, enjoyed excellent breakfasts, clean superb beautiful room, wonderful owner. Amazing time!


mansion with style

5 on June 11, 2008

had an excellent stay at this beautiful mansion. fantastic rooms, all different, all beautiful, very clean, terrific breakfast, on the city bus line, so convenient, pool and garden to relax, the nicest people!!!


Had a lovely time!

4.6 on August 10, 2007

My husband, infant and I recently stayed in the Bridal Suite at the Bonner Garden, and had a wonderful time! We've recommended it to others already... Margi and Jim were wonderful hosts, and the building has so much character. Breakfasts were EXCELLENT!


Bonner Garden Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $175
  • Reviews (67) 4.8
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2107334222
  • Toll free 1-8003964222

Visit Website »

View details

Top