The Peaceful Pelican Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
40 Reviews

Write A Review

Best Stay On The Bay

5 on December 08, 2014

I spent the past weekend at the Peaceful Pelican and it is easily the best stay on the bay. I had the Magnolia suite with a perfect view of the bay and the birds. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were a perfect start to the day and the owner worked around my desire to be up before sunrise, out photographing the local shrimp boats and birdlife and then come back for a nice breakfast. The first night I arrived, I joined a gourmet dinner occasionally held at the B&B and with four food and three wine courses it was both a super experience and very reasonable in price. I would definitely go again and recommend to friends.


Nice Quiet Place with a Great Host

5 on October 14, 2014

This is my second time to this place. It was sold during the summer. First, the new host is great, talkative, and helpful. She is new to the area but a fast learner. She is a great cook for breakfast, trying different things. I can't wait to come back to the place again and see what she has done and learn. The place is unchanged from the first time. We like the third floor. It is very roomy and comfortable. Watching the moon and the sunrises over the water is so nice and calming. This time, we watched a cool front coming racing across the bay. Oh, there is no worry about parking. Palacios is a very small quiet town for relaxing. There is no rat race and rush hour around the town.


visit to the Pelican

4.6 on September 29, 2014

Great place and view. Very comfortable sleep number bed in our room on the third floor. Paula is an attentive host who fixes a mean breakfast. She has an interesting background and stories you should ask her to share.


Wonderful Place to Stay

5 on July 21, 2014

My Husband and I just returned from a stay at the Peaceful Pelican. It was an absolutely wonderful and relaxing experience. The Inn Keeper, Paul,a was so wonderful and accommodating.


Lovely Place to Stay

5 on March 17, 2013

My family spent Spring Break at the Peaceful Pelican, and we had a wonderful stay. The house is beautiful and provides a fantastic view of the bay which can be enjoyed from the guest rooms or the spacious front porch. Each morning Edith prepared an elegant breakfast complete with fresh fruit. My family visited the Gulf Coast because it offers great birding opportunities, and Edith was very helpful in directing us to great viewing locations. And because Palacios is centrally located between Galveston and Corpus Christie, there are things to see and do to meet anyone's interest.


Wonderful Place to Stay

4.8 on January 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Peaceful Pelican. The old Victorian house is charming and the location is just perfect - right on the bay with great views. We enjoyed walking along the bayfront and see the various waterbirds, especially pelicans and herons, up close and personal. Perfect place if you want a quiet and, well, "peaceful" getaway experience.


Quiet Elegance

5 on January 12, 2013

Superb, distinguished, unassuming! Would recommend highly. We are coming back!


The Place to go......unless you want shopping

5 on July 03, 2012

Outstanding in every aspect. Stayed 4 nights with a full house and everything was wonderful. Breakfast was outstanding, service was outstanding, and the treatment was outstanding.....can't put it any other way. Edith was very attentive and if you asked for something she was quick to help. Went fishing and just "hung out" with the family. Not much else to do, but that's what I was looking for. Thanks again for everything and Cpt Hank you recommend as a fishing guide was amazing.


A DELIGHTFUL WEEKEND

4.2 on June 29, 2012

Great conversations with Edith over wine in the afternoon ( nice touch) - a delightful and peaceful time..loved it


A Texas Coastal Retreat!

4.4 on March 23, 2012

We stayed there for two nights during our mild Texas winter. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom was nicely renovated; loved the clawfoot tub. Staying with us was a couple from Houston and couple from England. Breakfast food was good and so was the conversation. There is a Happy Hour in the evening in the sun room.We enjoyed walks along the bay inlet which was right across the street. Our room was the Sunrise Room and one morning we were treated to a sublimely colored sunrise. This B&B is convenient to birding cruises, which our hostess, Edith Gower, arranged the reservations, and the Texas coast. Enjoy!


Clean B&B

3.2 on September 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed there 2 nights. The rooms are clean. You will get a small and simple breakfast. The town is a low income area without much to do. There are two only a couple of places to eat plus only Subway and DQ. The building is a nice historical place.


Best Weekend of Our Life

5 on July 14, 2011

This is the best B and B that we ever stayed out. Every other B and B since has pailed in comparrision. If you are looking for somewhere to get away from it all for a weekend, this is the place.


Outstanding get-away

4.6 on April 18, 2011

Very quaint and comfortable. Edith was WONDERFUL....great food, service, and company.


Perfect Peaceful Getaway

5 on April 10, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a peaceful getaway where we could "chill-lax"(a word we learned from my son, combo of chill-out and relax). The Peaceful Pelican was the perfect B & B to achieve this goal. From the time we arrived and were greeted by Edith, the owner, we knew we had made the correct choice. The Magnolia Room allowed us to view the bay, sunrises, and the magnificant magnolia tree from our 2nd story windows. Edith hosted welcoming happy hours and delicious breakfasts. What I found very interesting, is there were other couples and a family staying at the Peaceful Pelican that were on the same quest to find a peaceful getaway. It was fun chatting with them in the garden room, rocking on the front porch, and around the front patio table. Before venturing out, we were able to obtain excellent suggestions and recommendations about some of the activities we could do in the surrounding area from Edith. Also, ask her about Spoonbills Restaurant in Matagora, it is truly a hidden treasure as far as incredible food and service. My husband and I are definitely going to return to continue to explore this interesting peaceful shrimping town.


GREAT FRIEND GETAWAY SPOT

5 on March 30, 2011

What a wonderful place! The Peaceful Pelican truly is PEACEFUL. Three of my girlfriends and I spent the night there. We stayed on the third floor suite. It was amazing how relaxed we felt after months of school! If you are pondering staying here DO NOT REJECT your instincts that are telling you to book a room RIGHT NOW! We loved the champange massage tub in our bathroom. (We each took 3 baths!) The breakfast was amazing! We ate dinner at PMR, Tran's, and had a relaxing day of swimming, shopping, and just being girls! This is the perfect spot to come to escape city life. We enjoyed listening to Edith telling her wonderful life stories and entertaining the other guests! We are planning to return every year now! The locals in this wonderful shrimping town are so nice and polite! We sat for hours on a bench by the 1.5 mile long seawall talking to runners and fishermen! BOOK A ROOM NOW!!! :)


Peaceful Pelican sets the standard

4.6 on March 22, 2011

This was the first time that my husband and I have ever stayed at a B&B and boy what a wonderful experience it was. I don't ever write reviews, but I was so exciting about our stay that I wanted to share it with those of you who are considering finding yourself out in Palacios. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds are sleep by number and very comfortable. We slept like babies. The view from the porch of the bay was as "peaceful" as it gets. I don't know how Edith does it, but she is everywhere at once. Her breakfasts are out of this world. She's even mailing me my favorite, stuffed french toast. We had a fishing trip and a massage set up on two separate days. The fishing guide practically picked us up in front of the house and the massage therapist that Edith called out for us was outstanding. We stayed for 3 nights and met a lot of friendly people who also stayed at the B&B. Try it and I promise you will be writing your own review too. Btw, the only reason that I scored Excellent on Rooms and Cleanliness was because they were a little dusty and the wash clothes needed replacing with new ones. I do understand that Edith lost her cleaning assistant not long ago, but she was getting someone else soon. It's a big place to handle all by yourself. I can't wait to go back!


Great stay

4.8 on March 20, 2011

We just spent the night meeting up with the in-laws who'd spent several nights. The rooms were great, Edith could not be more gracious and and everyone really enjoyed themselves. This was easily the best B&B I've ever stayed in.


Peaceful Delight

5 on November 11, 2010

My husband and I spent our 12th wedding anniversary at the Peaceful Pelican. It was amazing! The house, Edith, town, local restuarants, view of the bay, fishing piers, etc, etc were completely breath taking. I have no negative comments about this bed and breakfast and encourage you to book a peaceful getaway! A. Bridges, Austin, TX


PERFECTION!!!

5 on August 15, 2010

I hesitated writing a review because The Peaceful Pelican is obviously one of the best kept secrets in the area. Everything was outstanding, including the innkeeper, Edith. We enjoyed every minute of our romantic getaway! I love how the beds are positioned perfectly in each room on the front of the house, so that you can watch the sun rise in the morning by lifting your head from the pillow. Beautiful, historical home which is tastefully decorated very pleasing to the eye. Breakfast was delicious, especially Edith's stuffed French Toast. I look forward to our next visit!!


great stay

4.6 on March 18, 2010

stayed only one night, but it was very nice..edith is a great innkeeper..would highly recommend..breakfast was very yummy...


Peaceful Pelican

4.8 on March 05, 2010

Excellent service, cozy, comfortable, clean, awesome view.


What a lovely place!

5 on October 16, 2009

Peaceful Pelican lived up to its name. We had a enjoyable and restful time, especially sitting in the rocking chairs on the porch watching the water. The rooms were lovely and the service great. We play to return.


Truly a wonderful experience!

5 on October 09, 2009

Our stay was perfect in every way. The owner was terrific and catered to every need. Our room was lovely and decorated to perfection. The history of the house was very interesting. A wonderful time!


The excellent reviews are true!!!

5 on July 31, 2009

We surprised ourselves with this choice.....we added this stop to our anniversary trip at the last minute when we recieved notice of a "Hot Deal" through bedandbreakfast.com and are very glad we did. The house itself was very nice, as was the owner/innkeeper Edith. Our room was so tastefully decorated, with a seperate sitting room and our bathroom was spacious with both a clawfoot tub and a seperate shower.We really enjoyed the ground floor room - not many b & b's have ground floor availability - yet we did not have any problem with noise from the guests upstairs. The sheets were exquisite and towels were soft, excellent a/c and ceiling fans. Best of all, the whole place was clean and well-kept. It was hard to leave the rocking chairs on the front porch - the view of the bay across the street was so relaxing!! The breeze made it enjoyable even on a hot Texas afternoon. Five o'clock brought lemonade/wine hour and time with Edith to learn the history of the house and the town. She also gave us a great tip for a wonderful fresh seafood dinner. Breakfast was yummy: a fresh fruit parfait, stuffed french toast, bacon and sliced bananas, juice and delicious, hot coffee. Again, to the porch we went, enjoying morning coffee. Check -out time was noon, allowing for a leisurely morning. We didn't join in, but we saw many folks enjoying morning walks on the 1.5 mile seawall along the bay. As we told Edith, we will be back!!


Great Place!

5 on July 26, 2009

My boyfriend and I just returned home after 3 nights at the Peaceful Pelican…Needless to say, we did not want to leave. In the small fisherman town of Palacios, TX this B&B is the best in town! The historic home is large in size and uniqueness. We stayed in the 1st floor Suite. This allowed us a private entrance, a sitting room, bathroom, and king sized bed. Each room in the house has its own color and decorated with taste. The innkeeper, Edith, was very accommodating and ensured we felt welcomed. The home is directly across from the bay, with multiple fishing piers. We literally walked across the street and fished until we couldn’t hold our eyes open, and then walked back to our room. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend getaway, and hope to return to the Peaceful Pelican soon!


Peaceful

5 on July 25, 2009

visited on 7/20 - 7/22/09. The stay was not long enough. The Peaceful Pelican is truly peaceful and Edith is a wonderful innkeeper. She was very versed in the history of the house and the area. The breakfasts were delicious. We stayed in the 3rd floor room and loved it. We will definitely visit again.


Honeymooners

5 on July 01, 2009

We came for our honeymoon for a week, and our treatment by the innkeeper was so wonderful. The room we stayed in (The Magnolia room) over exceeded our expectations. It's view of the bay was spectacular. The bathroom also has a footed bath tub which was to die for. Every day a breakfast was differently and tastefully prepared for all of us. The breakfasts were outstanding. When it was our time to leave we left with another memory in our hearts forever. And we cannot wait to go back again.


Bonteous Beautiful

4.6 on May 08, 2009

Secluded, clean, and detailed service. Wonderful respite after an eventful wedding. Relaxing walk by the bay. Yummy breakfast!


More than We Expected!

5 on May 04, 2009

The Peaceful Pelican is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for a quite romantic weekend. Our stay in the Magnolia room was not long enough :-) . The house is beautiful, spotless, and feels for welcoming. Edith is such a great hostess. It's great to know there are quiet, beautiful, "family" friendly places to go to Texas. We can't wait to return.


"Our Secret Getaway"

5 on March 16, 2009

Where do we start, to describe such an outstanding place to escape to for the weekend to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We recommend the 3rd floor suite to all couples that want to experience the "Aw" factor of the Peaceful Pelican! We only had a short time to embrace the wonders of the home, but everything was a charm. All thumbs are up on this B&B.


Lives up to the name!

5 on March 14, 2009

What a wonderful, peaceful escape. The location and the interior promote a comfortable, calm environment that was a perfect coastal experience for the whole family. Our gracious host added to the experience and suggested local places that made the weekend complete!


wow!

4.8 on January 26, 2009

oh wow the hostess was more than friendly! everyone in my family absolutely loved her. we stayed in the third floor suite and it was so comfortable and at home feeling. everything about our stay was great and we hope to go back very very soon!


Great hostess

5 on October 06, 2008

We went to a class reunion in Palacios. We did not expect to find such a lovely place to stay. Edith helped make our reunion even more enjoyable. She also went above and beyond her duties by returning a lonely pillow we left there.


RELAXING AND PEACEFUL

5 on August 13, 2008

OUR STAY (8-5 & 8-6) WASN'T LONG ENOUGH. THE PEACEFUL PELICAN IS AN OASIS OF SERENITY AND PEACE. IT IS WONDERFUL THAT THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO. MY 8-YR OLD DAUGHTER DID NOT EVEN COMPLAIN OF BOREDOM! THE BREAKFASTS ARE TRULY A WORK OF ART. I CANNOT WAIT TO PLAN A RETURN TRIP.


Wonderful, quiet retreat

5 on June 22, 2008

This place is quite a find! In sleepy little Palacios, you can relax and feel right at home at the Peaceful Pelican. Highly recommended for a girls' weekend, business travel, a private retreat, or a romantic getaway. You have a nice breeze off the water, and the front porch is the perfect "sitting" venue to sit & wave to the locals & tourists. I hope to go back soon! P.S. If you like to scrapbook, the 3rd floor is a wonderful spot for 2 people -- it comes complete with an ideal sized table and good lighting.


Great Place to Stay

5 on May 24, 2008

May 18,2008 The Peaceful Pelican was a TERRIFIC choice. We were blessed with a charming hostess, good company, a delicious breakfast and our room was lovely. The room was clean and fresh with a great view of the bay and the attached bath was spotlessly clean and airy, with a huge claw foot tub and an easy access shower. The house is Fine, Fine, Fine and we had Fun, Fun, Fun.


A gem by the Bay!

5 on April 15, 2008

The Peaceful Pelican is truly an outstanding B & B. Although we only stayed one night, we wished we could have stayed longer. The old Victorian home has been beautifully restored and refurbished. It is in keeping with the decor reminiscent of its historical past, while adding discreet modern touches as well. Edith's warm hospitality and knowledge of the area's history was enjoyed by all. Also, her attention to detail when it came to our special dietary needs for breakfast was unsurpassed! We fell asleep to the smell of her homemade breads and muffins baking for our enjoyment the next morning. A breakfast fit for a king was waiting for us when we awoke! We will definitely be back!


Johnny the bird says thank you!

4.6 on April 01, 2008

one night was not enough...the breeze, the birds, the quite...I would wake up thinking how peaceful I felt...Johnny my conure came, sat at the window eating his corn watching and listening with awe and admiration...cool tubular shower, kind and considerate service...


What a wonderful B&B…A real pearl by the shore!!!

5 on March 19, 2008

We had a great time at the Peaceful Pelican. The rooms are decorated with impeccable taste and each has its own character. The claw foot bath tub was a welcomed site after a long bike ride through town. We fell asleep to the smell of bread baking in the kitchen and woke up to fresh coffee brewing … Edith’s hospitality is out of this world It just does not get any better than this.


Marvelous

5 on March 09, 2008

The Peaceful Pelican was lovely. The style is classic and colorful. Palacios is great--we had a great time wandering around the shore. I can't wait to stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for your review!


The Peaceful Pelican

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $185
  • Reviews (40) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3619720317
  • Fax 1-3619726494
  • Mobile 1-7137027700
  • Toll free 1-8889720317

Visit Website »

View details

Top