Prince Solms Inn Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
114 Reviews

Write A Review

absolutely wonderful

4.2 on July 25, 2014

The sophie suite was amazing and the staff was great. The location is fantastic and we will definitely stay next year.


Delightful Experience!

4.2 on May 20, 2014

Our room was so nice and the owner, Al, was the most gracious host my husband and I have ever encountered. He bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable and the service and rooms are excellent. Very clean and every room is so different from the other, but they are all lovely. Thank you again for making our stay a very nice memory.


Warm and hospitable hosts, yummy breakfast and great location!

4.4 on April 07, 2013

Third stay at this B&B and can't wait to go back!


Charming…and Convenient!

5 on January 31, 2013

I stayed at the Prince Solms Inn for a full week while traveling around the Hill Country for business, and I found it to be the perfect home base. And I mean that – it really felt like home. Cozy accommodations, exceptional customer service, and a great breakfast! One day, I even missed breakfast, and was delighted to find fresh fruit, yogurt, and orange juice in my room when I arrived back at the inn. Also, the location in downtown New Braunfels could not be better – you are right on the main strip and seconds from great restaurants and other historic attractions, like the newly-rededicated county courthouse. I hope I find myself back in town – and back at Prince Solms – some day.


Favorite place to stay in NB

4.6 on January 16, 2013

The Prince Solms Inn is a unique and historical inn with genuine freindly service. My wife and I frequent the inn any time we're in NB for any of the local events or concerts. The innkeeper is one of the nicest and most accommodating owners I've ever stayed with. The rooms are period, the floors sqeak, and the bathrooms are unrenovated (small). We love the place because its original. The breakfast is great although we seldom make it downstairs choosing to sleep in. The Piano Bar downstairs is a great place to spend the evening. Your walking distance from downtown or $20 will get you round trip to Gruene.


Prince Solms Inn was fantastic!

5 on January 04, 2013

We stayed there New Years Eve, piano bar in the basement of the Inn, very convient and close to the old town square, about a 2 block walk. Would recommend to anyone to stay here. We will be back!!


Wonderful!!

5 on December 31, 2012

We stayed in Sophie's Suite. I wanted to hear the piano music. Unfortunately, I wasn't feeling good & we stayed in the room only to hear obnoxious noise. The piano guy bailed out. Then at 2am I heard a very loud "thump thump thump" noise. Wishing it was the spirit lady that is known to roam the inn but, it was the guys cleaning up the bar & threw the trash can down the stairs rather than walking it down. OTHER than that we had a WONDERFUL stay!! Very good breakfast!!! Slept very well in the king bed. The room is decorated in Victorian style with New Braunfels history. There is a small frig, microwave & large flat screen tv. We stayed after Christmas but, more than likely I would pick a room upstairs away from the piano bar/patio if you stay during the summer or Wuerstfest.


After Thanksgiving Rest

3.0 on December 09, 2012

We enjoyed our weekend at this charming inn.


Great Hill Country Weekend

5 on December 05, 2012

This is a great place to stay for a relaxing weekend. We enjoyed the personal attention by the staff and the owner. The town was decorated for the holidays and we especially enjoyed the proximity to the square so we could just walk down after dark and take pictures of the lights. Breakfast was excellent - eggs and, of course, fresh kolaches. We will definitely stay there again.


Wurstfest weekend!

3.8 on November 24, 2012

Didnt really get a chance to enjoy the food, too much fun the night before at wurstfest. Very happy about the room/cottage we were in. This place will be recommended for friends and family.


Loud music.

3.8 on October 17, 2012

I really wish we had known that there was gonna be a party in the rot yard that night. We were in a room on the courtyard and it was so loud that we didn't get to sleep until about midnight. We came to rest not party. The room was very nice and clean and the people at the desk were very nice.


Great place!

4.4 on October 11, 2012

We stayed here for a little get away. Our room was not in the actual Inn and I was a bit upset about this however, we were only there for one night. I will stay again, but make sure we are in the Inn. The breakfast was awesome. The piano bar downstairs was fun. I am sure there are busier times and it could get rowdy. Our time was great.


My vist

3.4 on September 19, 2012

Very friendly staff which compensated a bit for a slightly tired look.


Two minutes to schlitterbahn

4.8 on September 16, 2012

Great antique atmosphere and nice rooms. Staff is friendly. The breakfast is good and the location can't be beat. Less than 10 minutes to Greune with amazing restaurants.


Honeymoon stay

5 on September 06, 2012

Beautiful room! Beautifully kept! Friendly staff! Great breakfast!


Aug. 15/16

4.2 on August 20, 2012

I stayed in the Library Room. While the room was comfortable to stay in, the ceiling fan only had one speed...too fast, and I was not able to use the fan because of that. I was promised a oscillating pedestal fan would be placed in the room, but it wasn't.


Schlitterbahn Trip

4.2 on August 20, 2012

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed at the Prince Solms Inn during our trip to Schlitterbahn. Our two children love staying in the loft bed. My husband and I enjoy sitting in the courtyard right outside the door once the kids are asleep. After a full day of Schlitterbahn we're too tired to check out the Piano bar, but it looks like fun... maybe next year


Step Back in Time

5 on August 19, 2012

You realize that you are in a unique B&B when you enter. You step back in time, but still have modern conveniences. A delightful break from the ordinary, sterile hotel room at a very competitive price. Gerry Aitken


cozy getaway

3.4 on August 13, 2012

It was a cozy place to stay overall, but in my opinion rooms could use dusting and spots on carpet could be removed to look more appealing.


Will definitely stay again!

5 on August 10, 2012

Beautiful rooms and great customer service. The elegance and history of the place was wonderful as well. When we checked in, we received an unexpected discount on the room which started the stay in a truly bright way, and the breakfast the next morning ended it divinely. The inn keeper could not of been nicer, and he was very pleasant to talk to as he filled you in on all the good things going on in town and any questions about the hotel and its past.


Highly Recommend

5 on August 08, 2012

I have to say that this is a wonderful place to stay. Very kid friendly as I have 4. Al the innkeeper was so hospitable and treated our family with the utmost respect and friendliness. I told him on our departure that he has a customer for life and he does. We are actually planning another trip to New Braunfels and we plan to stay at Prince Solms Inn once again.


Charming and friendly

4.4 on July 25, 2012

My two daughters and I had the pleasure of spending an evening at the Prince Solms Inn this summer. The inn was simply gorgeous. It retains all of it's old world charm yet still provides some nice modern amenities. The breakfast room was also beautiful and the food outstanding. I'd like to thank Al, the Innkeeper. He was extremely genial and helpful. We will definitely be back!


Awesome Experience

5 on July 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the Prince Solms Inn Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the Hays Room which was perfect for my daughter's Sweet 16 get away. The four girls stayed in the loft area and I stayed downstairs. It was perfect! The place was clean, the staff was friendly and the breakfasts were fantastic! It was close to Schlitterbaun and shopping in San Marcos. We will definitely stay there again and refer this place to others.


June 2012 Trip

5 on July 20, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Prince Solms Inn on a weekend getaway for our anniversary. We stayed in the Sophie Suite. The owner, Al, was great, the food, was great, the location was 2 minutes from Schlitterbahn, and the rooms were beautiful. We highly recommend! The piano bar, downstairs would be very loud for anyone who is a light sleeper. I would not suggest the Sophie Suite for any light sleepers who need to go to bed early. As my wife and I were up late every night or in the piano bar ourselves, it was an extremely pleasant stay. We will be going back as soon as possible.


Prince Solms visit

4.4 on July 17, 2012

The location was great as it was very close to Gruene and the water attractions. The inn keeper, Al, was wonderful giving us suggested places to visit and directions. The breakfast each morning was very delicious.


Awesome!

4.2 on July 16, 2012

Loved staying here! It was fun, and the piano bar is awesome. Met some really cool people, and got some great drinks in the bar. Would definitely go back and recommend!


perfect getaway

4.8 on July 09, 2012

Beautiful B&B, friendly staff, breakfast was such a treat, great location. Can't wait to go back!


New Braunsfel weekend

3.2 on July 07, 2012

The Prince Solms Inn was a great place to stay. We stayed in the Klein Haus as there were myself, my husband and 14 year old son. It was very quaint and I really liked the decor and the creeky wooden floors. Breakfast was tasty. A good location for accessing the Comal River and within walking distance of great places to dine.


Great Weekend Getaway

4.6 on June 27, 2012

This is a real jewel! We booked at the last minute for a weekend away. The inn was so nice that we didn't want the weekend to end. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Will be coming back very soon.


Prince Solms Inn Review

5 on June 13, 2012

This was a very quaint place to stay. Two adults and one small child and we had a wonderfully relaxing time. The breakfast each morning was fantastic with a very relaxed and comfy atmosphere. We stayed in the Hayes Room with the loft for children and were pleasantly surprised at how comfy the beds were and how quiet the nights were. The last night of our stay the Piano Bar was open and was a bit loud, but we were told of this and the supply of foam ear plugs did the trick on blocking out the noise! Didn't bother our little one a bit. The owner was very nice and completely accomodating. We never needed anything extra but he made sure to let us know that he would do whatever was needed to make us as comfortable as possible. He was able to give us a couple of good options for dinner and was very knowledgeable about the rides at Schlitterbahn. It was a wonderful stay and we give it the highest review!


It was a little pricy for the return

2.8 on June 13, 2012

The Chisom(sp) room was pretty cool for my little girls in the fact that it had a lofted bed room for them, but the light up there did not work and was not fixed during our stay. There was another light that was not fixed either. Looks better on the internet than in person. But the breakfasts were very good.


Close, but not quite there

2.6 on June 09, 2012

Building is interesting, well maintained, nicely located, and the innkeeper is very friendly. Breakfast was well presented, but the lack of choice of hot breakfast was a disappointment (we didn't care for one breakfast: "Sunrise Eggs" aren't what we call "Country Breakfast" - as advertised.


at the Prince Solms

3.2 on June 09, 2012

Nice place, friendly service. My room was adjacent the main street. I got in very late and was awakened very early by street noise, sparrows and the incessant wailing of the horn of a locomotive. Five hours of sleep was enough, I guess, and I was up and showered by 8am.


Best weekend ever

5 on June 04, 2012

This is the best bed and breakfast i have ever stayed in, the location is awesome and the staff are outstanding.. The innkeeper is always so inviting and accomidating... Love it and am always trying to find a way to get back there as soon as I can..


Amazing honesty

5 on June 03, 2012

After recently completing a stay at the Prince Solms Inn, I was contacted by their staff because I had left a purse there. This was a very expensive Nancy Gonzales purse. I was able to pick up the purse, as I was again in the area. Great, honest staff.


A really nice place to stay

4.0 on May 31, 2012

This is a very cute bed and breakfast located right down the street (a few minutes walk) from Prince Solms Park with access to the Comal River. There is a piano bar located in the basement of the building so if you don't want to hear music throughout the night, I would recommend staying on the second floor. There are a few restaurants located at the city center roundabout just a few minutes walk down the road. I found the courtyard and the upstairs balcony to be lovely places to relax and enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning.


PB

3.6 on May 30, 2012

A lot i of noise, toilette made noise (shushing sound on and off), left shower nozzle coming out of wall. But nice breakfast, coffee at 7:30 and a gracious and super helpful host (Al) .


Happy Anniversay

5 on May 23, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our Anniversary at this lovely B&B. Al gave us a great recommendation for dinner and the "Sunrise eggs" at breakfast were wonderful. Thank you for a special stay!


I love this place

5 on May 22, 2012

I'm very pleased & satisfied with our stay at the Prince Solms Inn. this trip was our second stay & the 2nd was just as great as the frist one. the bathrooms are very clean. they have excellent customer service. the innkeeper is very pleasant no complants about him or the staff. both times that we had breakfast there were great. at first i seemed scared to eat what i was served but knowing that my stay included breakfast & that it was the whole purpose of the stay i reluctantly gave it a try, well, to my surprise it was delecious and wanted seconds. so, dont be afraid to try the breakfast because it's not as bad as it looks. i'm sure looking forward to my next stay at the inn.


Hays Room

3.8 on May 04, 2012

Had a minor leak in bathroom sink and was discounted for it, very generous. Great location. Can't wait to stay again!


Birthday w/e getaway

5 on May 01, 2012

What a great way to get out of busy San Antonio, Prince Solms was absolutely amazing. Relaxing, gorgeous, amazing porch, really wonderful breakfast, but more important than all that was the owner. He truly made us feel at home and shared so much info. on things we could do while we are there. Next to the outlets,Greene, ect...was a truly plessure to stay there. Will definetly be back! Loved it


Interesting and charming combination

3.6 on April 25, 2012

We enjoyed our overnight stay. We had a very short time to visit the B&B (piano bar, breskfast the next morning) and surrounding area due to our tight schedule. From what we saw we would like to return for a longer stay. I was forced to rate the dining but as mentioned we did not have time to dine at the B&B so it is truely a N/A rating for dining.


Charming

5 on April 22, 2012

Great place


Amazing trip in an excellent setting

4.8 on April 17, 2012

This was nothing like our typical vacations. It was actually relaxing. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to doing this again.


Prince of a Stay

4.0 on March 22, 2012

Al contacted us in the afternoon of the day we were to arrive and we were in the middle of Texas in a town called Albert. He let us know that he would be closing the B&B and needed to know when we would be arriving. I knew we had a bit of a drive ahead of us before we would arrive in New Braunfels so I guessed that we would be in about 8:30 p.m. He said that would be great and I indicated I would call when we got to the area and he would meet us there to get us settled in. Al was there when we arrived and welcomed us by giving us all of the pertinent information we needed to get us through our evening there. We did head out and look around town and spent a bit of time in Gruene. We decided to head back to the B&B and spent the remainder of the evening in the piano bar which was very quiet for the most part aside from the dozen or so people who were also there enjoying the evening. Very peaceful atmosphere and great end to the evening. We would definitely stay there again.


Always enjoyable!

3.8 on March 21, 2012

This was my 4th stay here. I love the atmosphere, the breakfast, the staff and the piano bar downstairs. However, the noise level this time bothered me. There was a party who sat on the patio outside my window talking and laughing loudly until 2 in the morning. Management did supply ear plugs but my husband used our 1 pair. Maybe leave 2 pairs ear plugs or move the patio tables to the back, away from the windows where people are trying to sleep. Glad they were having a good time, though.


Wonderful Place

5 on March 21, 2012

We have stayed there several times and the rooms/service are great! Best place in New Braunfels!!


Library Room

4.4 on March 13, 2012

I stayed in the Library Room on Friday night because I had a 10:00 am wedding to attend on Saturday. My only dissapointment with the room is that the bathroom is very small. No counter space whatsoever for makeup, etc. It is probably intended for a man. Also no coffee pot in the room, so you have to wait until the dining area opens at 7:30 for coffee. If you need your cafienne fix ealier, you should probably bring your own coffee maker. I went down to the parlor for a diet coke. The staff served us breakfast early, so we could get to the wedding in time (we needed to be there for 9:00 photos). Absolutely love the place, but I will stay in a different room next time. The piano bar is a definite plus!


Wonderful, lovely time!

3.4 on March 13, 2012

Lovely, OLD Inn; quaint bedrooms, extremely friendly and pleasant inn keeper; Made all the more wonderful because my Mom and stepdad, younger sister and her family, and my older sister and her daughter (who got married on Saturday) were all staying there as well; I felt like I was at Mom's 1932 home! Yes, the inn and furnishings are OLD, but that adds to the pleasant charm. My older sister complained that her bathroom was too small (Library Room), but she could have switched rooms. Mine was perfect for a nice old inn. My only "complaint" was that coffee wasn't served until 7:30 and breakfast not until 9:00, although there were muffins, coffee, cocoa, and cereal (sans milk) at 7:30 and since we were all down there early, they did put out milk and yogurt around 8:00 or 8:30. I would definitely stay there again!


A complete dream!

4.4 on March 07, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Prince Solms Inn for a (delayed) Valentine's Day get away just last weekend. We live in Austin, so the Prince Solms is just an hour away - far enough to feel like we were getting away, but close enough to not feel like too much of a road chore. Al Buttross, the innkeeper, was extremely pleasant and attentive; the suite we originally reserved was still experiencing some renovations so upon our arrival we were upgraded to the cottage on the property. It was stunning!!! Al even threw in a bottle of wine for us to enjoy during out stay. We only stayed one night, and I didn't want to leave. I can't wait to come back. I can't recommend this place enough.


Best stay in NB!

5 on February 28, 2012

We were late evening arrivals; two of us arrived about 10:30 and the other two just before 3:00 a.m. The Innkeeper was very accomodating with his help in our room choice and the hospitality at the inn (including the breakfast) was some of the best we have experienced anywhere. Thank you, Prince Solms staff!


Early Valentine's Stay

5 on February 23, 2012

We stayed at Prince Solms the weekend before Valentine's Day. Thought I was lucky to get a room and just for the record, the pictures don't do it justice!! The hotel itself is so quaint and inviting and once inside you just want to see every inch of the place. We had a room upstairs but rec'd a free upgrade into Sophie's Choice room after I told the Inn Keeper how interested we were in the haunted room. The room was also above the amazing Piano Bar with wonderful music. The ambiance of the entire Inn was so much fun and very relaxing. The outside was very nice as well with a fire and lite up with lights. The Inn Keeper was so nice and willing to help us. I felt very well treated and feel like I have found the jewel of New Braunfels!! If you are looking for a romantic getaway or mini vacation I absolutely hands down recommend the Prince Solms Inn!!


Will stay here again

4.0 on February 08, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my short stay in New Braunfels at the Prince Solms Inn. The room was beautiful and spacious and the bed was sooooooo comfortable I didn't want to get out of it the next day. The Inn itself is very quaint and within walking distance to the shops, restaurants, and live music. I will without a doubt stay here again.


What a great place!

5 on December 12, 2011

We stayed for just one night but we had such a wonderful stay that we will definately plan for a longer one next time. Rooms were cozy and beds were clean. The downstairs piano bar was so much fun! Breakfast was delicious and the service was outstanding. A definate do over!


Friendly and Convenient B&B

4.0 on December 09, 2011

The B&B's web site was very informative. It gave me a good idea of what to expect at the hotel as well as gave me information about local dining and attractions. The B&B staff was very friendly and helpful at check-in and at breakfast. The Inn location was very close to local dining and entertainment. I enjoyed learning about the history of the Inn prior to my arrival. I also enjoyed dining at the Inn and nearby restaurants during my stay.


Can't say enough wonderful things about our stay!

5 on December 03, 2011

We stayed in the Klein Haus. It was quiet, peaceful, and super clean. Al the Innkeeper was charming, hospitable and full of great suggestions for places to visit. His staff as friendly and professional. The food was outstanding, always piping hot and fresh. We look forward to returning!


A great place to stay!

5 on November 28, 2011

My stay at Prince Solms Inn B&B was great! Al, the inn-keeper, was very friendly. I stayed in "Sophi's Room", which I highly recommend. I was a little worried though when booking the room since the website states that noise from the downstairs piano bar that's in the basement does travel up to the room. However, the noise was hardly noticeable. The location is great as it is in walking distance to the town's shops and a short ride to the nearby town of Gruene. I recommend waking up to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and if you have diet restrictions/needs, they are happy to work with you if you provide advance notice. I would also recommend going to the piano bar in the basement, even though it is not owned by the B&B. The music is relaxing, the art work is interesting, the waitresses are nice and friendly, and of course, the drinks are very reasonably priced. They do have a small menu for food, but the selections are good. Overall, I would stay at the Inn again.


Prince Solms Inn was fantastic!

5 on November 01, 2011

We stayed here as a quick getaway after our wedding and could not have been more pleased. We received a warm welcome and were treated with a personal interest and attention that seems like something from day gone by. We loved the historic cabin we stayed in, and look forward to returning to the inn in the future. We highly recommend it to anyone!


Nice place

4.2 on September 23, 2011

It was nice to stay in Price Solm's Inn. Even better if we didn't bring our kids. Although kids are welcome, my toddlers are not old enough to appreciate this historic building.


Magnolia room

5 on September 23, 2011

Perfect place to stay. One drawback-we could only stay one evening, but wished we would have stayed longer. We highly recommend this charming B&B. Terry & Skip


Wonderful Stay

4.2 on August 30, 2011

What a wonderful experience! My husband and I had originally requested a stay at one of the upper rooms but were offered a free upgrade to a suite (Sophie's Room) being that the inn was not fully booked during our stay. Our room was impeccably clean, our breakfast was delicious, the piano bar was nice for a nightcap, but what most impressed us was the hospitality of our innkeeper. We wanted to thank you again and we hope to visit our wonderful little inn sometime in the future.


Prince Solms 2011

4.6 on August 25, 2011

Near the river, near town. Comfortable beds. Great breakfast. It can be hard to sleep if your neighbor is noisy.


Cute and clean

4.0 on August 17, 2011

Very nice management team! Breakfast was good and it's close to the comal


An outstanding stay!

5 on August 17, 2011

We had a great time! Al is always so helpful! There were 10 of us staying at the Prince Solms for the Grape Stomp at Dry Comal Creek. We all had a wonderful time and the staff is just great! Nancy cooked the perfect breakfast and served it with a smile! Betty - Spring, Texas


Prince Solms Inn

4.8 on August 14, 2011

Great place, rooms on the courtyard are spacious, clean and cool. The Piano Bar is a classic. Great service, great people.


Prince Solms Upgrade

4.6 on August 13, 2011

We had originally booked one of the smaller, upstairs rooms. When we arrived, the inn-keeper discovered that the A/C was not working, so he upgraded us to Sophie's Suite--the best room--at no extra cost! Excellent service, and the feel of staying in a real (and luxurious) piece of history. Next time, we'll save up to make sure we get Sophie's Suite again. :)


Outstanding

5 on August 12, 2011

Prince Solms Inn is a great place to stay. Quite, clean, perfect breakfast, and Al the inns keeper is willing to do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. You are missing a very good Bed and Breakfast Inn if you don't stay there.


Prince Solm review

4.8 on August 09, 2011

Great room, quaint courtyard, excellent service...we loved it!


Pleasant Inn worth the experience.

4.0 on August 09, 2011

I chose this inn as it was close to the Schlitterbahn park, and stayed in Sophie's suite. The room was beautiful and spacious, and we were able to hear music and chat from the piano bar at night. Some guests may dislike the noise, but the inn supplied ear plugs incase. Housekeeping was daily and efficient. The bathroom was quite small but cleanly, although the sink in the kitchenette was blocked with a bread crumb-like substance. The breakfast area had tea and coffee and a selection of cereals, and the main breakfast changed daily. The inn was worth the money and I would stay again if in the area.


River Trip

4.4 on August 01, 2011

We stayed here because of how close it was to the Comal River. Everyone was nice. The Piano Bar in the basement was a great place to go at the end of every night. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to staying here again.


Lovely

3.8 on July 31, 2011

The 'hays' room is wonderful for families with kids. The lady who cleaned our room and made our breakfast went above and beyond the call of duty by getting me some koloches & yogurt for my sleeping boys. Thank you!


Historical inn close to town center and tube rental

4.0 on July 29, 2011

Historical inn still has original architectural with minimal updates, so is old and not best for the disabled. No elevator. King bed was comfortable and clean. Bathroom tiny but very clean. No hair dryer but was not an inconvenience for us as we were tubing the Comal River, only a block away. Dorm fridge in room as well as water and pretzels, but no coffee unit in room. Freshly prepared breakfast was different the two mornings we were there, included juice, fruits, dry cereals, coffee, muffins, and a wholesome breakfast plate cooked on site....not the usual microwaved freeway motel food. Served with real glassware, ceramic plates and heavy stainless utensils on tableclothed tables. Innkeeper and cook were very hospitable, being sure we were comfortable. Piano bar in basement (not part of inn) was a nice way to wind down the day. Since the inn is an 1800 structure, there is no insulation in the walls or doors so you can easily hear your "neighbor". However, we were not annoyed by street noise. We would stay again.


Great place to stay

4.0 on July 25, 2011

We had a nice two night stay at Prince Solms Inn. Friendly staff good food. Great comfy bed!!! It's an old building -- which is part of the charm and why we like to stay at B&Bs. Good breakfast and nice, helpful staff. Good location as well. Make sure you check out the panio bar down stairs. Unique and friendly.


A great stay!!!!!

5 on July 14, 2011

Visited the Prince Solms Inn for the 4th of July weekend. It was a great value and a real joy. Thank you to the staff and we will be back soon!!!


Hmmmmm

5 on July 08, 2011

I should say it was awful! Just so no one will go there and I will always be able to book a room. But the truth is we had a fantastic time. They are in a perfect location. The Staff and Breakfast was great. The Piano Bar is the place to be....


My favorite get away!

5 on July 06, 2011

My husband and I come to the inn several times a year. The service is awesome and the historical B&B is beautiful. We will always be huge fans!


Wonderful Weekend!

3.6 on July 05, 2011

Prince Solms was a wonderful place to stay. It was within walking distance of downtown, Schlitterbahn and the Comal river. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was delicious. The rooms were clean. The only thing is the wall are very thin. You can hear everything in the rooms next to you. They did provide ear plugs which helped some. There is also a piano bar in the B&B which was awesome. We were able to listen to some local talent and relax with drink in hand.


pretty good place

3.4 on June 02, 2011

typically low cost b and b. Ill definitely go again if i get the chance. keep up the good work!


Lovely Weekend at the Prince Solms Inn

3.8 on June 02, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in Sophie's Suite at the Prince Solms Inn over Memorial Day weekend while we were in twon for a wedding. The room had a nice size living room, piano included, that opened on to a large comfy bed and plenty of storage space for our things. The room had a small bathroom but the area just off the kitchen had an additional mirror, sink and a mini fridge and microwave to allow us both to get ready at the same time. The room was very clean and both days we received complimentary snacks, bottled water (as well as drinks provided in the lounge for all guests) and ear plugs in case the piano bar below the room became too much. The piano music and people below us singing along was fun and the bar only stays open until midnight so we were able to go to bed at a reasonable hour. The only downside of this room was the proxsimity to the front door as the walls are thin and you can hear people coming and going if y ou are in the room at all during the day. Also the fan in the living room was not working and the fan in the bedroom we deemed the "hurricane fan" because it had one setting.... FAST! lol The knob had 3 or 4 settings but it never seemed to change from the one speed. Breakfast was served each morning with coffee, tea and orange juice. The service was fast and the breakfast was delicious. If you chose not to eat the hot breakfast provided, cereal, muffins and oatmeal were available to you as well. Overall we had a lovely stay and would come back in the future!


2011 Memorial Day Weekend

4.4 on June 02, 2011

This was our second time at this B&B. Why stay at a chain hotel when you can stay at a beautifully decorated historic B&B. The service was fantastic and the breakfast was very delicious. The B&B is also within walking distance of Schlitterbahn, toobing, and downtown. We stayed in the Chisholm room. The King bed was very comfortable. Our son quickly fell in love with the loft that has a double bed and a huge play area. There were only a couple of faults. The shower head needs to be replaced and the traffic can be noisy in the mid-afternoon.


Fun Day in New Braunfels

3.2 on June 01, 2011

This was a very nice place with lots of different rooms to choose from. We were upgraded to the carriage house since things were a little slow, so ended up with a really expansive area to stretch out in. Plus there is a lot of privacy there. The piano bar is fun and they make an excellent breakfast. We'd recommend it.


Why stay in a chain?

4.4 on May 19, 2011

Our stay at the Inn was a delightful getaway. Since it was mid-week, we had the pick of rooms. Al was a genial and engaging host, and breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay again, and recommend it highly.


Wedding

5 on May 14, 2011

We were down at the inn for our son's wedding. The atmosphere was lovely, the whole hotel clean and well maintained and the staff treated us like famiy. The included breakfast was delicious and well displayed. We would definitely recommend it for adults only or families.


Prince Solms

5 on May 10, 2011

Prince Solms is an absolutely beautiful inn that has maintained its antique integrity. The staff is extremely hospitable and accommodating. This is our second stay and we'll definitely be returning again.


Great Anniversary Getaway

3.4 on May 03, 2011

This was a great anniversary getaway for my wife and I. We only live about 20 miles away but had never spent a lot of time in downtown New Braunfels. I chose the Prince Solms Inn based on some input from friends that had stayed before and also having driven by it at one time or another. It always looked like a neat place. It is an old building that has been remodeled into a very nice B&B. Being an old building, some things are to be expected. Like, the noise from the street or the hall. Fortunately, the owners are also aware of it and provide all guests with ear plugs for sleeping if you need them. It just reminded us of how our houses were when we were younger, not like todays where everything is sealed off from the outside world. The rooms were nicely done. Could maybe use a little more elbow grease on cleaning but nothing too bad. The staff was great. Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was incredible. Green chili quiche, thick bacon that melted in your mouth, and fresh fruit. The inn has a great piano bar in the basement that is open to the public. Overall, a great stay. I would highly recommend it.


Hill Country Trip

4.8 on April 24, 2011

Definitely enjoyed our stay here. The host was warm and friendly, went out of his way to make us comfortable. He even gave us a free upgrade to a better suite, since he had no other guests at this time. I would certainly consider staying here again on future trips


Great girls get away

4.0 on April 21, 2011

Enjoyed a short girls weekend in New Braunfels. The Prince Solms Inn was absolutely gorgeous, full of antiques and great hospitality. Perfect location, walking distance to downtown and the Comal River. The only downside was that the walls are very thin, but they do provide ear plugs for light sleepers. Overall a wonderful place to stay, can't wait to return!


We keep coming back.

4.0 on April 04, 2011

Enjoyed our stay. This is the third time we've stayed at Prinz Soms and each has been pleasant & enjoyable. Meeting other patrons in the lobby or going out to dinner is a benefit of the Inn. breakfast is almost family. We'll probably be back in the future.


Beautiful Historic B&B but a little noisy

4.2 on March 29, 2011

We stayed at the Prince Solms for one night and loved the historic feel of the rooms and the hospitality of the owners. Unfortunately my girlfriend was sick so we turned in early and found that the thin walls let us hear all the goings on throughout the upper floor. Luckily our neighbors were not too loud but it is certainly worth noting for our future stays at the Solms. The next morning the proprietor was very apologetic and friendly before serving us a nice breakfast of fruit and homemade kolaches. Overall, I would recommend the Solms with the caveat of the thin walls. We also did not try the basement piano bar which seems like an excellent spot to grab a drink or 2.


Charm and hospitality

4.0 on March 21, 2011

The room and staff were wonderful. We stayed in the Feed Store which was full of charm. I could have done without the thin walls and the train that ran through town blasting its horn. Fortunately, earplugs are provided!


Great Place and Innkeeper

5 on March 15, 2011

Great service and attention. great breakfasta; appears to be safe


February 25-26, 2011

3.8 on March 02, 2011

We were at Prince Solms for a wedding that was held at the inn. Al the innkeeper was very accommodating and friendly. The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of clean towels.


Great Valentines Evening

4.6 on March 01, 2011

We had a very nice time at Prince Solms Inn, staying on Valentines 2011. i would highly recommend such a stay to anyone.


Great nights stay!!!!

5 on February 16, 2011

I treated my parents to an evening at the inn for their aniversary. I emailed the inn keeper and expressed how much i really wanted it to be a special night. he suggested a special occasion package for a reasonable price that included champange or wine cheeses and other snacks. and a variety of chocolates and flowers. it was perfect. they had a wonderful time. Between sipping wine on the upstairs porch and listening to live music in the basement piano bar on site...they had a wonderful time. Im sure they will visit again!


Weekend stay at Prince Solms Inn

3.8 on February 16, 2011

Inn is located close to shops and restaurants in New Braunfels & Gruene. Room was cozy and had full bathroom. Al was very helpful on making suggestions for restaurants and giving directions. It's easy to find, plenty of on-site parking and there's a piano bar in the basement that stays open late after other local places close.


Wesley and Leslie V Day Stay

3.4 on February 15, 2011

The room and ambiance of the location was lovely. There are lots of places you can walk to from the Inn. I loved the piano bar downstairs. It is AWESOME. We ate at nice local restaurants Liberty Bistro and Pat's Place and really enjoyed the food. The way that the place was set up was that you could come and go as you pleased after hours we the key they provided. We stayed in the Summerhouse room and my husband LOVED the water pressure in the shower. The bed was nice and comfortable. The only complaint I had was that I did not sleep well due to the train that ran right by the Inn. It ran for a very long time and was very loud. Also the hot breakfast was not very good. I would go back but I would only have cereal, yogurt, and coffee or no breakfast at all there. Other than that it was a very nice stay.


Speakeasy feel in New Braunfels

3.4 on February 15, 2011

Prince Solms B&B with its ancient water-damaged wallpaper, high ceilings, and basement nightclub was a great discovery that tickled us pink. Breakfast egg casserole with fresh fruit was delicious. The proprietor was great. New Braunfels offered a really nice little farmer's market where we shopped plus coffee shop on the square and nice walking in town. We went in winter so there were no tubers. Excellent value!


great surprise getaway

4.6 on February 08, 2011

This is a charming place. We walked in and immediately knew we had found the perfect spot for a weekend getaway. Great location just off the square in New Braunfels with great places to eat within walking distance and a piano bar below the hotel. The rooms were all decorated in different themes and were immaculate. We loved this place and will certainly be back. And did I say it was a bargain!


Fantastic weekend destination

5 on February 04, 2011

We first went to the Prince Solms Inn in 1983 on our honeymoon. We didn't go back until our 25th anniversary in 2008. Now we go every year on our anniversary. We have also taken friends and family with us to enjoy the inn. The place is beautiful. We love the breakfast that is served on the weekend mornings. The owner is friendly and helpful. When we only have a weekend to get away, it's a great destination.


Wodnerful Weekend

4.6 on January 09, 2011

we very much enjoyed our stay and cant wait to go back this spring. Great location with easy access to dining and short drive to Gruene. Loved the piano bar down stairs.


Piano in the room? Hell yea

5 on January 05, 2011

Yeah, there was an in-tune piano in our room - perfect for the piano player on the road.


Al is the concierge for New Braunfels!

4.0 on December 31, 2010

Our family enjoyed the rustic Hays Suite with loft for our son! Al was a wealth of information with recommendations for dining and entertainment! Thank you!


Prince Solms Inn during the Holiday Season

4.8 on December 28, 2010

We stayed in the Texas Room, which was rustic and well appointed, also we were allowed to view some of the other room offerings. Next time, we would like to try the Sophie Room, for a change. Next time, who knows which we room we will chose. We really enjoyed the breakfast, the convenience of down town and the proximity to all of the local attractions. Our stay was during the Xmas time period and the downtown lights of NB were just beautiful. One of the attractions we wanted to see was the Xmas exhibit at the Slitterbaugn (sp?), for whatever reason, it was not open.


Great bed and breakfast; we highly recommend it!

4.2 on December 15, 2010

Stayed with a group and had a great time. Terrific location, terrific food, beautiful architecture, lovely place!


Awesome Place!!!

5 on December 09, 2010

Thank you for the most enjoyable time at the Inn! We love Prince Solms!!!! Paul & Nancy


John's review

4.4 on November 28, 2010

Great room , reasonable price , innkeeper very personable. Several attractions within walking distance.


LOVE Prince Solms Inn Bed and Breakfast

5 on November 22, 2010

My husband and I have stayed here on several occasions and we LOVE this place. We have made it a place for a weekend get-away just for the two of us as well as a family spot when we have invited family members and friends to join us. No one in our party has ever been disappointed in Prince Solms (and my sister demands high standards). Al, the innkeeper, and the staff are so helpful and accommodating. The breakfast is great! The location is so convenient and within walking distance to both the Comal River and the downtown area. Gruene Hall, a must visit, is just a short drive away. Before we found this place we stayed at a local hotel chain but we won't be staying anywhere but Prince Solms Inn Bed and Breakfast on our next trip to New Braunfels. We can't wait to visit again! Cindy and Alan Fort Worth, Texas


Will be staying here again next year

4.8 on September 08, 2010

This was a wonderful place to stay. The staff were very warm and friendly. We stayed in the Huntsman room which had a very soft, very comfortable king size bed. The breakfast each morning was delicious. The first morning we had sausage kolaches with cream cheese scrambled eggs and fresh cut fruit delivered to our room. The next morning we enjoyed pancakes, sausage, some incredible baked eggs, fruit, and crescent rolls with marmalade outside in their beautiful courtyard. There is also a fantastic piano bar in the basement of the hotel. The drinks were great and the atmosphere was very festive. The hotel is quite old and has a very antiquated aesthetic to it but at the same time it was very clean and lacked any kind of old or musty smell. The location was also very good. It's only three blocks to the Comal river and there is a wide variety of restaraunts, bars, pubs, and shops within easy walking distance. We will definitely be staying here when we return next year. I should also mention that the per night rate was on average about $50 cheaper than all of the big name-brand hotels in the area.


Weekend Stay in Sophie's Suite

4.6 on August 24, 2010

We were in town last weekend for a family reunion and decided to forgo the usual hotel route and find a place to stay with a little more character. We were pleasantly surprised to find a very large room filled with unique furniture and art. From the lingering music of the downstairs piano bar to the warm feeling we got from our surroundings, we couldn't have been more happy with our stay! The innkeeper Al was very helpful and accommodating when we needed to arrive after normal check-in hours. We weren't able to enjoy breakfast on Saturday morning, but we did enjoy what we had on Sunday morning in the dining room. Unfortunately we were so busy that we never got a chance to walk upstairs and take a look around, but we will be back for sure. This is a great value for a wonderful alternative to boring hotel rooms!


Our stay in Penelope Room

4.2 on August 23, 2010

We had a wonderful room. It was comfortable in all ways. The Breakfast was excellent. I would love to stay there again!


Would stay again and plan to

3.0 on August 13, 2010

It was only a one night stay but we enjoyed our visit at the hotel and club. I would recommend it.


So close to Schlitterbahn!

3.2 on August 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on our get-away to Schlitterbahn without the kids! It was nice and I guess it was clean. You can tell the building is old and I think that made it feel less clean. We really liked being right in the heart of New Braunfels and so close to the water park. We appreciated breakfast brought to our room. I think we will try another place nest time.


comfy and quiet

4.0 on January 06, 2009

We stayed here while we were touring the hill country and having fun at Schlitterbahn. The customer service was outstanding and so was our breakfast. The room and bed was very comfortable. While the bathroom is small and...gasp...there is no tv, I didn't find that a problem as we spent more time in the hill country and in the water.


Das Klein Haus

4.4 on September 20, 2007

Beautiful, private, and cozy. This seperate, historical German homestead was wonderful and comfortable, with it's own full kitchen, full bathroom, living room, and private patio & porch. I'll definitely stay here again!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return the near future. Just a note regarding the "value" portion of the rating: Though bed and breakfasts are naturally more expensive than chain hotels, we have the the lowest rates of any b and b in the area, and they haven't increased in over five years. We also offer discounts at off-peak times, like weekdays —and even some weekends — November through April.


Prince Solms Inn Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $195
  • Reviews (114) 4.4
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8306259169
  • Fax 1-8306252220
  • Toll free 1-8006259169

Visit Website »

View details

Top