Firefly Inn Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

Best experience of your vacation days!

5 on August 21, 2013

If you are looking for excellent accommodations on a hillside in central Texas, do NOT pass this up. While the rooms are beautifully decorated as something out of the Old South style, they are modernly equipped and steeped in charm. The breakfast at your door each day is worth the trip alone! Don't pass this up if you are vacationing near here or just in town to do the Gruene Shopping Adventure.


They Spoiled us...Nice Getaway

4.8 on July 08, 2013

Jack and Cathy put the "breakfast" in Bed and Breakfast.!! Massive and finely cooked gourmet breakfasts served to you on the hillside (or wherever). We went to Canyon Lake for the water and the river, but we left with memories of elegant eggs, Rosemary scones, and Pina Colada cake with strawberries..... OMG !..Thanks Jack and Cathy ..it started to feel like home and then it was time to leave...going to try making Havarti eggs


Just like home

5 on January 31, 2013

Loved the owners....they make you feel at home. The food, service, and scenery were wonderful. Loved having a dessert with breakfast! A beautiful place....made me want to own a bed and breakfast!


Mostly good

4.2 on August 24, 2012

This place was a wonderful place to stay but i was unhappily met with a $25 charge per night for a third guest to stay and i had NOT been told about this when i made my reservations. He said he forgot to tell me and i had specifically chosen this place because there wasn't a charge for a third person. So be sure to ask about all the charges!!!


WOW!

4.4 on July 04, 2010

I found The Firefly Inn to be cozy and comfortable. A sweet cottage like feel in a country setting, quiet and secluded. Breakfasts were a real treat for the senses. Jack and Kathy made my stay feel like coming home. Another plus - a free upgrade! If I could only say one thing about The Firefly Inn Bead & Breakfast it would be: WOW!


Amazing Experience!

5 on June 14, 2010

We stayed in the Persimmon Suite.....it was perfect! Plenty of room, the beds were super-comfortable, and the linens were high-quality, and super-soft. There were 3 of us staying, and we each had a spa robe provided. They even provided us with charcoal for the grill! The breakfast was absolutely amazing. An example: Greek quiche, baked pork chop, roasted new potatoes, watermelon, blueberry cheesecake, orange juice. The owners (Bob and Kathy) are some of the nicest, most down-to-earth people I have ever met! They gave us a map of the area, told us some of their favorite places to visit, and said to call if we got lost or had any questions. It is close to lots of attractions....the Guadalupe River for toobing, Gruene, TX for shopping, dining, Canyon Lake for dining, etc. I highly recommend the Firefly Inn! Can't wait to go back! Amber Westbrook


Best Stay Ever

5 on June 01, 2010

The Breakfast was amazing. It's location is very quaint,beautiful scenery. The Inn Keepers are very nice and accommodating. The beds are very comfortable. It is very clean. This was the best Bed and Breakfast that we have ever stayed in. Will come back. You will be very happy with your choice. It also was very reasonable in price.


Charming Retreat with Knock-Your-Socks-Off Cuisine

4.6 on May 27, 2009

I've been disappointed before by inns and hotels, so I didn't want to set high expectations for this trip (our honeymoon). When we reached the Firefly Inn I still had my doubts because it seemed a bit close to the highway. I wondered how we could experience nature and relaxation so close to a major road. Within half an hour I was SOLD! Jack & Kathy's attention to detail is what makes this B&B a fantastic find: fresh flowers, plush towels, bath oils, spa robes and slippers, luxurious mattress and linens, and soothing decor. The best part was the private porch (available with the Evening Primrose Suite, but the main house also has a porch for all guests to enjoy). We relaxed on the porch swing while listening to the trickle of water below and watching hummingbirds, doves, finches, and squirrels visits various feeders on the property. We also ate our breakfast on the porch every morning. A plate of pecan brownies greeted us upon arrival, and it was just the beginning of a weekend full of some of the best food I've ever eaten. As we thumbed through the guest book we kept reading rave reviews of Kathy's breakfasts, and we thought, "There's no way the food is going to live up to the hype." As a former restaurant manager, I can state with some authority that one will not find a better meal at a five-star establishment. It is important to note that Jack & Kathy were such pleasant hosts. They were very attentive to our needs but respected our privacy and were not intrusive. They are totally the kind of folks you could sit and talk to on the porch, but know when to just let you be. The Firefly Inn is centrally located, and we made trips to nearby Gruene & Wimberly to check out restaurants and shopping. Our favorite excursion, however, was Natural Bridge Caverns, which was also a short drive from the Inn. We plan to make many return trips to the area, and we will definitely make the Firefly Inn our "home away from home" when we do!


"Birthday celebration get-away!"

4.0 on May 09, 2009

This was a great place to get-away and celebrated my friend's 57th birthday! This was her first time to stay at a bed and breakfast. We were very pleased with the hospitality and service. The breakfast was delicious!!!!!


Amazing Stay!!!

5 on November 18, 2008

I surprised my husband for his birthday with a weekend stay at the Firefly B&B. We both loved every second of our stay! The food, service, and room were all incredible. Thank you so much!!


What a great place!

5 on June 19, 2008

We have never gone to a Bed and Breakfast before but we were so pleasantly surprised! When we arrived we were amazed at the location and the scenery! You go up a hill and see this beautiful white house that just looks so cozy on the outside. We were greeted by Kathy and Jack who could have been the nicest people we ever met! The house smelled of something wonderful baking and it was for our breakfast the next morning. When we walked to the Verbena Suite we were in shock of how clean and how cute it was all decorated with all the small details such as the fresh flowers on the table, the fresh flowers that were hanging up above the bed and all the amenities it had! I could go on and on but this is a place that you would feel at home and the BREAKFAST was the best I have ever had and I have had many good cooks in my life time! All I can say is WOW and thank you so much Jack and Kathy for making us feel at home and making our vacation the best ever! Melissa and Jason


Excellent

5 on June 11, 2008

We have stayed in several B&B and this one excels the rest.


beautiful hill country retreat

5 on June 11, 2008

the hosts are very gracious of this beautiful hillside retreat near canyon lake. the breakfast was great and the hosts even welcomed our old dog!


very pleasant

4.2 on June 04, 2008

myself and two friends had a relly relaxing and comfortable stay with very enjoyable breakfasts and very clean and comfortable bed linens


Charming little B&B!

5 on May 28, 2008

This place was worth what we paid for it, the room was very, very nice and the breakfast was absolutely glorious..! The garden is beautiful and the whole place is just very romantic :) My husband and I cannot wait to go back..!


Motorcycle Rally Weekend

4.2 on May 07, 2008

We were greeted with delicious brownies, which we enjoyed over the weekend. Brunch or breakfast was by far the best we've had at a bed and breadfast. Parking up the hillside was a little difficult, but I have to admit we did have three motorcycles and a SUV. Wish we would have had more time to relax and enjoy the lovely porch and the beautiful countryside.


A Weekend in Heaven!

5 on April 30, 2008

My fellow and I stayed the weekend of April 25 & 26. We were greated with warm smiles and hugs and delish brownies in our cottage. We've stayed with Kathy and Jack before and have never been disappointed. The cottage is lovely, the porch swing comfy and breakfast is exquisite, delivered right to the cottage on a tray. We have averaged a visit a year since 2005, to the Firefly Inn and during those stays we've seen 3 weddings in the Gazebo. Kathy and Jack do an awesome job for the weddings. The gazebo is sparkling clean and the grounds are always lovely. I can't imagine a better Bed & Breakfast experience than I've had at the Firefly Inn in New Braunfels.


A Weekend Retreat

4.8 on April 28, 2008

The Firefly is charming and comfortable with beautifully appointed (and spacious) rooms. The breakfast absolutely amazing and was by far our favorite part of the trip. Jack and Kathy welcomed us with open arms and were very accomodating. They were so kind and friendly that it felt as if we were visiting with dear friends. All in all, this is a great spot - one we will definitely frequent and will recommend to all of our friends and family. Thanks so much for a wonderful time at the Firefly :)


Girls Weekend

5 on October 27, 2007

We did a girls weekend for my Mom and cousin's 60th Birthday! It was wonderful. The owners are so nice, the Inn is beautiful,and the food was OUTSTANDING! We have decided to go every year for a girls weekend! Thank you Jack and Kathy for a wonderful weekend.


The Perfect 60th Birthday!

5 on October 26, 2007

My cousin & I were treated to a girls' weekend by our daughters for our 60th birthdays. Everything about the trip was perfect. Our thanks go out to Jack & Kathy for all they did to make it such a success. They listened to us yack for hours and treated us as if we were family. They are a simply wonderful couple with an enchanting bed and breakfast. The food, the rooms, the decor, that front porch, and their company could not be beat at a million dollar resort!! It was a weekend that will be stored in my memory and my heart for the rest of my days. Thank you Jack & Kathy and we hope to return.


Firefly Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $175
  • Reviews (20) 4.8
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8309053989

Visit Website »

View details

Top