Windmill Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
40 Reviews

Write A Review

Great!

5 on November 09, 2012

We enjoyed our stay with Lisa & Harry. They are so friendly and run a first-rate B&B. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.


Unbelievable

5 on October 28, 2012

Underpriced, underrated, but unfortunately maybe overlooked. A surprise for my wife's birthday and a smart choice on my part. She was elated. Hosts are unbelievable and we will be back.


Can't wait to visit again.

5 on October 13, 2012

This was a birthday gift for a friend. Everything was perfect. The hosts were delightful and the setting exquisite.


The Windmill

5 on February 02, 2012

Outstanding accommodations and service. We were treated like royalty!


Super Fine

5 on January 15, 2011

This was one of the most pleasant two day weekends I have ever had. The Borstel's treated me as though I was family.


CONGENIAL HOST

4.2 on November 15, 2010

We traveled to Hillsboro, Tx to attend a concert by Willie Nelson. We stayed two nights at the Windmill. Harry made us feel like family. His breakfasts were excellent. We would definitely stay there again.


Romantic & Restful

4.4 on June 25, 2010

The Windmill B&B is beautifully appointed and feeds the senses as well as providing comfort for the body. The breakfast was delicious. We felt very cared for.


Had a great experience here

5 on March 28, 2010

We came here on a business trip, but with all the charm and quietness of this B&B it felt more like a mini vacation. The 2 breakfast Harry fixed was simply delicious. Thank you Lisa and Harry for the great time there and we will be back in a couple of weeks. Thanks again Claire and Paul Brown


Beautiful, Relaxing B&B

5 on March 24, 2010

Lovely place, out in country, very peaceful and quiet. Lisa & Harry are wonderful hosts!


Delightful in every way!

5 on March 15, 2010

The room was very comfortable and enjoyed visiting with Lisa and Harry, owners. The breakfast was fabulous and we enjoyed a piece of Lisa's famous rum cake upon arriving. Thanks!


Windmill B&B

5 on March 15, 2010

Very serene and cozy. Breakfast was great. Our suite was great. We'll be back.


Windmill Bed and Breakfast

4.4 on September 29, 2009

Very quaint. Excellent customer service. awesome and filling breakfast. Will definitely go back. Great inn keepers. Loved the country environment.


Windmill B&B Rocks!

5 on September 22, 2009

What an awesome experience! From the moment we exited our cart the owners made us feel so welcome. The room was fabulous, the location gorgeous and the food was amazing.


A Great Weekend Getaway

5 on September 14, 2009

This was our first time to stay at a Bed and Breakfast. We wanted to do something special for our 40th wedding anniversary.We decided on Windmill because my wife liked the rooms pictured on the website. It was only an hour away from home. It was out in the country, and away from downtown. Even though it rained constantly, the two days we were there, we had a most enjoyable stay. Fortunately, we just happened to be the only guests that weekend. The rooms were clean and beautifully appointed. We loved the big porch and the rocking chairs. The breakfasts were excellent. When told of my lap band, Lisa made sure to provide me with portions that were not overwhelming. While attentive, they did not hover. We are planning to go back for a week the next time we visit. We hope that time is very near!


An oasis in the country

4.6 on September 13, 2009

We stayed here on our way back to Houston. We had been gone for 10 days and this was the last night of our trip. Sitting on the porch drinking my morning coffee was a real treat. It was the perfect end to a very relaxing vacation. We plan to make the same trip next year and plan to stay here again.


Great Get-away from city

4.0 on August 16, 2009

Lovely country home. Very private off a winding gravel road. Arrived early & was given tour & history of the house. Original section late 1800's. Great views, bed, breakfast....really enjoyed the hot scones!! Every thing was nice. Big bath with tub set under huge window. Lovely time. Nice to be away from city.


Totally pleased

5 on July 02, 2009

A nice peaceful touch from the past, yet present day. Embellished with Victorian surroundings inside, surrounded with country setting outside. A perfect mix of both. Hope to return as soon as possible.


Great Memorial weekend!

3.4 on June 04, 2009

What a wonderful way to spend a weekend. Lisa and Harry are wonderful hosts and the breakfast was delicious. Will definitely come back for another stay. Very relaxing atmosphere.


Windmill B&B

4.0 on May 13, 2009

Absolutely wonderful. Perfect getaway for friends to spend time together. Great food and accomodations and wonderful hosts! Would highly recommend this place.


wonderful place!

5 on April 13, 2009

A beautiful place, both inside and out. The Country Garden Suite was ideal, and the food was excellent. The hosts were very friendly and considerate, both involved, yet behind-the-scenes!


Outstanding hospitality

4.8 on April 10, 2009

Harry and Lisa provided such warmth and comfort that we were put completely at ease to enjoy the surroundings and left refreshed!


Windmill B&B

3.8 on April 07, 2009

Cozy country getaway


restful!

3.4 on March 19, 2009

The best bed I have ever slept in! A very cozy and restful B&B. The hosts are great! And the breakfast was excellent! Very good- served hot and dinning room pretty. Too bad I couldn't have stayed longer.


Loved it!

4.2 on March 19, 2009

Beautiful old house- tons of character! Wonderful hospitality and great food. Very enjoyable, peaceful, quiet!


Relaxing place to stay

4.6 on August 24, 2008

We stayed in the Country Garden suite. Room is very nice and comfortable. My daughter loved staying in the "tent" room and watching the birds outside her window. Lisa and Harry are wonderful hosts. Would highly recommend!!


Home - but better!

5 on August 17, 2008

If you're looking for a quiet, peaceful B&B, close enough to the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex to be a short ride, but secluded enough to help you feel a world away - come o the Windmill. The property is immaculate; well maintained, wonderfully decorated, with fascinating architecture and suites. The beds are like floating on clouds. Don't let the "country" air fool you totally though - satelite TV channels to be able to stay in touch with the world (we watched the olympics and the stars thru the skylight at the same time), solid cell service (if you wanted it), and less than 10 minutes from the Interstate. Harry and lisa make you feel like family, without all the baggage that family has. You feel at home - without the chores. All in all, one of the BEST experiences we've had, in any lodging, from Hong Kong to Paris and beyond. We WILL be back.


Quiet Rural Setting

4.4 on August 07, 2008

My wife and I found the Windmill most pleasant, the service and food very good! The owners went out of their way to see that we were served.


Anniversary

5 on July 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the wonderful, relaxing B & B. This was our 1st time in the 12 years. We have been named to married to stay at a Bed N Breakfast. We loved it!


Windmill B&B

5 on July 21, 2008

Charming, Beautiful and Relaxing.


Premier B&B in Hill Country, TX

5 on July 21, 2008

We completely enjoyed our stay at this B&B. The owners are accommodating, friendly, and breakfast was great.


Peace & comfort in Hill Country, Texas

5 on July 21, 2008

Home away from home! Everything set up for ease & enjoyment. Look forward to coming again!


Our getaway

5 on July 14, 2008

We loved every aspect of our stay. The atmosphere, dining, hospitality were incredible! Perfect for our anniversary. Would highly recommend!


A pleasant surprise in the Country

5 on July 08, 2008

We were looking for a B&B near Whitney for a family reunion there. We were delighted with our room, wonderful food and hospitality- A cool breeze on the porch.


Windmill B&B

4.8 on July 07, 2008

The owner's, Harry & Lisa, were extremely thoughtful & gracious - The met our every need and then some. The inn itself was a beautiful setting, charming & comfortable. I would return


Absolutely wonderful!

5 on June 24, 2008

We needed a place to stay on the way to a business trip in Austin. It was a perfect getaway that was much needed. It is out in the country so you're able to get away from the city noises and lights which is so nice. Our hosts were very pleasant, very accomodating, and didn't hover which was appreciated. We were in the country garden suite and we loved the view of the gardens below. The Jacuzzi was wonderful and the bed was very comfortable. Lisa had made chocolate chip cookies and rum cake to snack on and it was all very tasty. The breakfast in the morning was truly exceptional with fresh fruit, french toast, eggs, and bacon and coffee outside our room at7AM was a nice touch. We loved staying here and we think we'll probably bring our kids the next time we go.


Excellent

5 on June 18, 2008

a wonderful time was had by 6 classmates that had not seen each other for the most part for 55 years. we were treated royally. food was fabulous!


very pleasant

5 on June 09, 2008

this was such a pleasant place and the host/hostess were extremely nice. enjoyed the stay


wonderful fun

5 on June 06, 2008

we were welcomed by the owner and shown rooms with some info about the house. then hose was unobtrusive but available. accommodations clean. the meal was wonderful


Mother daughter getaway heaven

5 on June 22, 2007

This house has to rooms with more than one sleeping area which makes it perfect for mother/daughter, friends or sister retreats! The jacuzzi was so relaxing after a "hard" day of shopping. The grounds were just gorgeous, and beautiful to admire while strolling or sitting on one of the porches with coffee. There was so much to read, that this TV addicted girl found herself with a stack of books and a few magazines in amazement! Words can not describe the delicious abundant breakfast and never ending evening treats! We will be back!


Hillsboro Heaven

5 on May 02, 2007

What a beautiful and quaint house. So relaxing to sit on the porch and watch the hummingbirds. The hosts provided plenty to keep us occupied - a partially worked jigsaw puzzle, interesting books, games, TV (we didn't watch - do that at home!). The 'snacks' were more than adequate - 2 different kinds of cake and a plate of cookies + candy dishes - available always. There were bottles of water in the rooms. It's out of town, but the directions on their website are very detailed and easy to follow - and it doesn't take long to get there. The hosts recommended a wonderful grill in nearby Whitney for dinner and provided a fabulous breakfast - the quiche was light, crisp bacon, fresh cranberry scones, orange juice, iced water, and a fresh fruit cup of strawberries and bananas. Coffee / tea. The coffee and tea at the door in the morning is such a nice touch. The beds were very comfortable, the linens smooth, and the towels soft and thick. I appreciated the old quilts on display. I was looking for a place that had adjoining rooms and this one fit the bill perfectly. This was a mother/daughters trip birthday present for mom. She loved it and I think adopted Lisa and Harry! The hosts, Lisa and Harry, are friendly, accomodating, unobtrusive, and very hospitable.


Windmill Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $110
  • Reviews (40) 4.7
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2545827373
  • Toll free 1-8009510033
Top