Old Rock House Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room5.0
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Onsite Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
23 Reviews

Write A Review

Take a trip back in time... you won't want to come back to reality...!

4.8 on August 26, 2015

Last week my fiancé and I were on vacation and did a ton of day tripping through the hill/ wine country of Fredericksburg, TX and beyond. We had already made lodging arrangements for most of the week but left the last two days open for whatever we could find and whatever came our way. On the last Saturday of our vacation we began looking for a place near Hico, TX because we had driven through many times on our travels and liked the historical look and feel of the town. We lucked across the Old Rock House in Hico, TX. There had been a cancellation last minute which opened it up for us to jump on it. My fiancé and I are both into history and the minute we pulled up to this house we were blown away and it took us instantly back in time. Then we walked inside... we were blown away even more.... this really took us back... the house is from the late 1870's and it has been painstakingly restored to a condition to what we can only assume it was like to live there back in those times. That being said it was instantly comfortable and cozy. No detail was left out and no expense was spared to make this house an incredible place to stay. Everything you could possibly need to feel at home was present and then some. The owner could not have been more accommodating, pleasant, and professional in making our arrangements and stay exceptional. If you come through Hico, TX, staying here is an absolute no-brainer and you will not be disappointed!! Thanks for making the end of our vacation one we will never forget. We definitely did not want to leave....!


Quaint & cozy

4.2 on August 07, 2015

Quaint cozy feel, nicely restored, a bit drafty on a cold day, but otherwise homey and cozy.


Back in Time

4.2 on August 07, 2015

Lovely old rock house, can't help but wonder what all this house has seen! Hico is a very charming and friendly little town well worth experiencing.


Perfect place!

5 on April 28, 2015

We loved our stay in the Old Rock House, quaint, comfortable, casual. Felt like a warm hug in a busy world. Ideal location to explore Hico and surrounding area. If you love history and restoration, you will love this historic gem!


Cozy comfort

4.8 on April 28, 2015

Delight combination of a cabin and a B&B. My family loved it. We will be back! Loved all the teas provided.


This is the best bed and breakfast around!!!

5 on March 08, 2015

This a wonderful restored old house with modern appliances --Feels very loved and tons of old antiques threw out the home -Central air and heat, comfy beds& fully stocked kitchen - you can eat out or make your meal there - Great for weekend get away from the city --When you reserve it the entire home is yours!! Was relaxing and restful - We go back!!!


Loved It!

5 on January 01, 2015

We loved our stay here. So quiet and comfortable. We'll be back soon.


Quaint, Quiet, and Quintessentially Old Texas

4.4 on March 15, 2014

Our family getaway was made complete! The Old Rock House is a great place for couples or families. Near to downtown Hico, yet just far enough away to feel slightly secluded, the house is lovely, well appointed and clean. Breakfast at the Koffee Kup was perfect small town diner fare. Loved everything!


NOSTALGIA ABOUNDS

4.6 on August 26, 2013

The Old Rock House Bed and Breakfast is a delightful blend of the past with the modern comforts of the present. Nestled in a beautiful grove of multiple hundred year old live oaks and lush vegetation, it is a very restful place to stay and relax.


Quaint & Quiet

4.6 on February 24, 2013

We were very charmed. It was like stepping back in time, except more finery! Loved the antiques & secluded quietness of the property. Want to go back!


Family Blessing

5 on September 10, 2012

My daughter, granddaughter and I felt very blessed to stay in such a quaint. serene home, and we found Nico to be most hospitable.


Last Minute Delight

5 on September 06, 2012

Impromptu stay was amazing. Atmosphere was enchanting. Clean -- warm -- welcoming. Will stay again. No question -- highly recommend.


Need to relax?

5 on August 14, 2012

This is a quiet place nestled in trees. The decor is beautiful and everything you need is provided. The owners do a great job with details. Hico has good places for food as well. Don't miss Wiseman Chocolates and the popcorn shop!


Renewing to the mind and soul!

3.8 on August 05, 2012

My family really enjoyed staying at the Old Rock House. It was a trip back to the past! The atmosphere is fabulous.


Great B&B

3.8 on August 04, 2012

We truly enjoyed staying at Old Rock House B&B in Hico. It was centrally located for various places we wanted to visit, and it provided a relaxing place to come "home" to each day!


Great place!

5 on July 27, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Old Rock House. It's clean and beautifully decorated. A great retreat! Would highly recommend to friends!


Beautiful place!

5 on March 25, 2012

Gorgeous place -- felt like home away from home. Comfy beds. All the amenities & privacy to boot. We'll be back!


Old Rock House

3.8 on February 02, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much. It was peaceful & charming & full of character. Overall very delightful.


Sisters Weekend Trip

4.2 on October 10, 2010

The decor is amazing and truly makes you step back in time. After a full day of shopping Hico, driving to the nearby towns and shopping in Dublin and Stephenville and visiting the vineyard in Bluffdale, it was so nice to come back to our "home" and just rock in the chairs on the porch and enjoy the peaceful outdoor surroundings. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and the beds comfy. The clawfoot bathtub reminded me of my grandma's. A lovely place to stay.


Very Nice B&B

3.8 on September 23, 2009

Spacious house, nice decor, great redo of old house. All amenities-but needs cable tv


Old Rock House Bed and Breakfast

3.2 on August 24, 2009

Beautiful & elegant rooms! I would definitely consider returning!


Rockin' Texas Style

5 on August 18, 2009

This beautiful old rockhouse was a tribute to real Texas personality. We enjoyed rocking and swinging among the old oaks outside as well as enjoying the western comfort inside.


great vacation house

4.0 on December 05, 2008

This is a great house. It's a quaint place, yet with lots of space, comfortable beds, and lovely grounds. Would be great for a family vacation. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Old Rock House Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $225
  • Reviews (23) 4.5
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2145381201
  • Mobile 1-2145381201

Visit Website »

View details

Top