The Villa at Messina Hof Winery Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
21 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful Stay

4.4 on October 29, 2014

We recently stayed at this property and had a wonderful time. We stayed over the weekend and while the weekend prices are a bit high, when you consider the rates include a wine tour and tasting, champagne breakfast each day and 2 glasses of wine and cheese plate each night, it really is a good value. The service is excellent and everyone was extremely accommodating. The owner and his wife even stopped by Sunday morning while we were having breakfast--it was fantastic and a nice touch. It is a beautiful property and you won't be disappointed.


Wonderful time

5 on October 09, 2014

We had a great time at Messina Hof. This is a very quiet and peaceful location.


Paul & Heather

5 on August 13, 2014

We loved our stay in the Villa! The wine was great and the food fantastic. The Inn Keeper was adorable and we totally felt like family during our stay! Thank you all!


The Perfect Getaway for Romance and Food & Wine Appreciation

5 on August 06, 2014

This was not our first say at the Villas at Messina Hof in Bryan and most certainly will not be our last, we have 6 more rooms to go! Jean is amazing Inn Keeper and with Mamie preparing the most amazing breakfasts' every morning it makes leaving very difficult on Sunday. We have stayed in the Antoinette room, Thomas Jefferson, Rome & Juliet and the Venus on numerous occasions. Each stay has truly been more enjoyable than the last! We consider Messina Hof and the Bonarrigo's an extension of our family and they are "Choosen Family", which should speak volumes!!! LOL The entire staff is top notch from the office staff, retail - wine bar and most especially the Villa. We do not remember staying her and Jean wasn't the Inn keeper and we firmly believe the builders must have included her with the package! It was a win win for Messina Hof! Love you Jean Butler and the entire staff at MH in Bryan!!!


Top Notch!

5 on August 04, 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend here in the TX room. Huge bathroom and a living/sitting area. The bountiful breakfasts included in your stay were delicious. The owner Paul Bonariggio and his wife Merrill came by each morning to chat with guests. They were also in the wine tasting/retail store and visited with people. Super friendly and down to earth people. We Loved the hospitality! Included in your stay is also a tour of the winery which includes a wine tasting afterward. Really a nice, informative tour and tasted 4 wonderful wines. Another inclusive to staying at the B&B inn is the wine & cheese tasting each afternoon around 4 or 5 pm in the Wine Bar. You pick from 2 full pages of Messina Hof wines, right down to the most expensive ($60). They bring you a slate with 3 cheeses, crackers and grapes. Your wine tasting is a full glass of your choice wine. This is a great appetizer for 2 before you go over to the wonderful restaurant on site. The restaurant is decorated with wine barrels & other wine related collectibles. Great service from the mostly Texas A&M students. They have a top notch chef and his creations are wonderful. We had lunch and dinner at the restaurant and really enjoyed both. Messina Hof is the BEST winery we have visited in TX and we have toured most of them from the Hill Country to Abilene. They offer the FULL experience of touring, tasting, dining and staying all in one location. Highly recommend Messina Hof!


Yearly Visit

4.8 on July 28, 2014

Everything is as usual outstanding!! We have continually visited Messina Hof Winery for the last 5 years and each year is better than the last. The staff is always pleasant and accommodating. We always leave with several bottles of excellent pretested wines and accessories. Anyone looking for a weekend that will be memorable should investigate Messina Hof. ABV


Review

5 on July 09, 2014

Had a great time. Rooms are nice size and very quiet. Jean is a great cook.


amazing

5 on June 05, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay!


Great place to visit

4.6 on April 21, 2014

The B&B is a great addition to the fine dining and the winery. Nice big clean room.


Wonderful stay!

4.0 on May 13, 2013

The staff at Messina Hof Fredericksburg were awesome. The rooms are very nice and cozy. The breakfast provided at the feed store was a very unexpected delight! Wine, of course, was very good at Messina Hof!


Messina Hof - Fredricksburg, TX

3.6 on October 24, 2012

Great Place to stay while visting Fredricksburg and Enchanted Rock State Park. Staff is great and very helpful with any questions about wine or the area. I would love to return. :)


Great Weekend Escape

4.4 on October 02, 2012

What a wonderful visit to the Villa!! The food in the restaurant was wonderful! Everything in the Villa exceeded anything I could have hoped for. The wine tasting and tour was also great. Can't wait to go back.


50th birthday

4.8 on June 01, 2012

Arrived at 2 PM on 30th of May 2012. The staff at the gift shop was very helpful on times for our events. Since I am not a wine enthusiast, the wine tasting class made a difference on how to drink wine. Definitely made a difference. We sampled several and purchased four bottles. The Sherry port was the best. The room at the Villa was very nicely themed and clean. We stayed in the Lancelot and Guinevere and plan on coming again and trying a different room, maybe sample the other rooms in the future. The breakfast at the Villa was AWESOME! Crepes and bacon and fruit were outstanding! The coffee was also better than Starbucks. To the Chef I say Wunderbar, german for wonderful. Also special thanks to Merrill for the grapevine pruning class. She answered all of my questions. I definitely plan on revisiting!!


Birthday Party B&B

3.8 on February 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. Breakfast was my favorite part of the B&B experience.


Great Place to Get Away

5 on January 20, 2012

My wife and I had a great time. Everyone was real friendly and the B&B was spectacular. We will definitely come back.


Nice get away

4.6 on October 17, 2011

Nice get-away for my 4th anniversary.


Best Bed&Breakfast Ever!!!

5 on October 10, 2011

We are so glad we chose Messina Hof for our little get away, it certainly exceeded our expectations in every way. Thanks to every one!


The "Perfect" Getaway!

4.4 on March 10, 2011

The Villa at Messina Hof is great for a weekend getaway! My husband and I live in Houston and we were looking for a romantic spot to spend the weekend and The Villa was the perfect fit. We stayed in Romeo & Juliet room and absolutely loved it! Not only were the amenities great, but we enjoyed the tour of the winery and tasting. My husband and I are both looking forward to our next trip there.


Anniversary at The Villa

5 on December 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Villa for our 29th anniversary this month. We've visited the winery many times and are VIPs with Messina Hof, but this was our first stay at the Villa. We stayed in the Antoinette room and ordered the "Romance Package." Upon arrival we discovered our beautifully appointed room with rose petals scattered all over the bed, a dozen red roses and a dozen chocolate-dipped strawberries along with a bottle of wine on the burlwood antique dresser. On a side table were two of the winery's signature Paulo Port truffles. They are replaced daily. The staff at the Villa are very hospitable. Their breakfast layout featured cheese cubes, crackers, fresh fruit, muffins, breads, cereal, milk and juices all setup on the vintner's table. One morning we had a light, fluffy quiche with a side of bacon and the next morning we had cheese-filled crepes with cherry topping. We were invited to have either a glass of champagne or a mimosa. The Villa was decorated well for the Christmas season. Plenty of garland, lights and decorations made it feel inviting. Antiques are abundant in every room including the grand room downstairs. The focal point is the huge chandelier that hangs from the second story. It is blue and clear crystal. The Villa is close to College Station and Bryan so when not dining at the winery restaurant, or wine tasting, shopping and other activites are nearby. We fully enjoyed our first stay at The Villa at Messina Hof. Merrill and Paul Bonnarigo are wonderful hosts. They stop by the winery frequently to say hello and thank their guests for visiting. We look forward to our next stay!


100% Pampered

5 on June 20, 2010

We stayed in Venus Room (one of the 10 uniquely decorated rooms). From the moment we checked in the visit was all about comfort and relaxation. The winery tour is facinating, the wine and cheese reception in the wine bar (great conversations with wine bar staff) was relaxing, dinner even included a tableside visit from sous chef JC. The Venus room is large and the bath is fabulous. Our stay was made perfect with the wonderful breakfast which included stuffed french toast with a port reduction blueberry sauce.


Wonderful , relaxing experience

5 on January 12, 2009

The B&B was beautiful. The staff at both the restaurant and The Villa at Messina Hof Winery were exceptional. The wine tour was informational and enjoyable.


The Villa at Messina Hof Winery

Details

  • Nightly Rate $165 - $345
  • Reviews (21) 4.7
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9797789463
  • Fax 1-9797781728
  • Toll free 1-8007369463

Visit Website »

View details

Top