The Carleton House Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
28 Reviews

Write A Review

Great time

5 on July 08, 2014

The hospitality shown to us at The Carleton House was amazing. We had such a great time at this B&B. Loved sitting and talking to Kay & Steve. She is a great cook for sure. The breakfasts were out of this world. Never had such a delicious breakfast.


Amazing hospitality!

5 on May 23, 2014

We recently stayed at the Carleton house for one week. I can't say enough about how much we appreciated the whole experience. You could spend days looking at the historical features, furnishings and personal items from the original owners of the home or watching the birds in the beautiful gardens as the roses bloom. The soft music that's often playing compliments the ambiance without distraction. Karen and Steve love what they do and helped make the week so pleasant. It was such a treat to come down to a delicious and completely home cooked full breakfast served in the large parlor with the morning sun gently coming in the windows. Every room is furnished and every meal is prepared by someone who truly cares about your experience. We really needed a break and this was just the right thing to make us slow down and thoroughly enjoy our time in Bonham


Our Anniversary Getaway

5 on May 04, 2014

The Carleton House exceeded all of our expectations. We went for a peaceful relaxing getaway and received exactly that. We reserved the Carleton Suite which is the entire third floor of the main house. The suite has its own sitting room, private balcony, bedroom with a king size bed and private bathroom with a jacuzzi tub for two. Karen made us a wonderful dinner that you would expect from a 5 star restaurant and set it up in our suite for us to dine privately. Steve serenaded us with beautiful music on his fiddle while we had a delicious dessert. After dinner Karen gave my husband and I Swedish massages. We both agree that it was the best massage we have ever had. In the morning Karen prepared an amazing breakfast that we enjoyed on the private balcony while listening to the church bells. Upon leaving Karen had baked us fresh cookies to share with our daughter who did not accompany us on this trip. This home has been restored beautifully and it is obvious that Karen and Steve poor their hearts and souls into this home and their guests. Thank you Karen and Steve for making our anniversary getaway absolutely perfect. We will be returning and will refer everyone we know to The Carelton House B&B.


10 year anniversary

5 on March 14, 2014

This B &B truly exceeded our expectations! We had a wonderful time. The service was amazing and the food was absolutely delicious! The owners are so detail oriented. We felt like royalty!


THE place to stay

5 on October 12, 2013

We used Bonham, TX as our 'launching point' to the local area. Steve & Karen, proprietors, are a wonderful, service-oriented couple. Their idea of service was to exceed our expectations. The breakfast was wonderful. The rooms well decorated. It was like staying in a Victorian museum (so much to see, discuss and wonder).


Felt Like Home

4.8 on August 24, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful evening hosted by Karen and Steve. The welcome was sincere. Enjoyed the tour of the home and hearing the history. The food was gourmet quality and the music and laughter we shared was all bonus. The ride in the Model A the next morning after an exceptional breakfast (loved the cinnamon rolls) was a blast. We will be going back.


Bed and Breakfast Review

5 on July 24, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at The Carleton House. The house is decorated and restored to the time period. Our room and bathroom were adjourning which we really liked. Our host and hostess were friendly and welcoming. Our breakfast was excellent! Would definitely return to this bed and breakfast.

Innkeeper Response
We want to thank all of our guests who took time out of their busy lives to give us such wonderful feedback. We enjoyed serving each and everyone of you!


A Hidden Treasure!

5 on July 20, 2013

Delicious meals, engaging conversation, and top rate hospitality! A hidden treasure perfect for a relaxing getaway.


Best Bed & Breakfast Experience Ever!

5 on April 25, 2013

Fantastic doesn't even begin to describe our stay at the Carleton House! The house was charming and full of history. The massage was a much needed relaxing treat. The food was DELICIOUS! In fact, the food was better than any high dollar restaurant we've been to in Dallas. And last, but definately not least, Karen and Steve were wonderful hosts! We really enjoyed talking with them, taking a tour of the house and a drive around town in the Model A. Karen and Steve made our "weekend away" more special than we ever expected! Don't miss this bed & breakfast, put it on your must do list if you live anywhere in the DFW area or even if you're just visiting town! Can't stop thinking about our wonderful stay here. Thank you Karen and Steve :)


Wonderful Time, Highly Suggest Carleton House!

5 on January 01, 2013

Wonderful time and lovely time!


AWESOME COUPLES WEEKEND

5 on December 10, 2012

This was the most AWESOME couples weekend! We enjoyed the Ivanhoe Tree Farm, the Homestead Winery and settled in at the Carleton House B&B. Steve and Karen made our stay unbelievably special in so many ways there isn't enough room to share them all. Steve is a truly fabulous fiddle player and Karen CAN COOK!!!!!! This is one place you WANT to enjoy!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU and having the snow on the ground when we woke up.... MAGIC!!!!!! The 1931 Model A ride around town, unbelievable gourmet breakfast, and the warm welcoming family atmosphere pulled it all together to become the ultimate road trip experience. Only 1.5 hours north of Dallas to arrive at this HIDDEN TREASURE location.


Wonderful Surprising Gem close to DFW

5 on October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Carleton House in Bonham for the first time last weekend. Everything there was above and beyond what we could have expected. We picked the location on the internet without experience and were blown away by the hospitality, facilities, service, attention, entertainment (!) and food supplied by Karen and Steve. I would highly recommend the Carleton House to anyone wanting to stay anywhere near Bonham or looking for a weekend away from DFW.


Anniverary Weekend

5 on April 23, 2012

Steve and Karen are hosts extraordinaire. We so enjoyed Steve's tour and description of the careful renovation of this beautiful home. Karen's cookies were a welcome treat and her breakfast was also special. We both have dietary restrictions and she catered to them quite well. Our bed and bad were both comfortable plus we really felt like we were enjoying the style and grace of the 19th century with all the comforts of the 21st century. We plan to return and enjoy it again.


The Carleton Casul House

5 on April 13, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay in the Casual House. Steve was so kind to meet us at the home, show us around, and even brought us cookies from Karen. It provided a perfect location for a mini reunion with our dear friends. We slept comfortably and everything we needed was at the tip of our fingers, even baby shampoo, which I had forgot to pack. Thanks Steve and Karen!


HOME AWAY FROM HOME

5 on March 06, 2012

We go all of the time we love it. Have a great time everytime we go. The food is awesome nice to be at home away from the city we ride our bike on the country roades very nice place and peaceful place.


Charming--all a bed & breakfast should be!

5 on February 04, 2012

I have stayed in B&Bs for over 25 years and rate this as one of the best experiences. If you love Victoriana this is the place-the home, furnishings and memorabilia are from that era. But the owner Karen is what makes the home so special as she took time to talk with me about the lovely home and its former owners. My breakfast was gourmet with a luscious omelet and a "made from scratch"apple turnover. My room was charming and I learned it was the bedroom of the daughter who last owned the home. If you want a relaxing place to spend some time--this is it! I also enjoyed the old claw foot tub. The gardens were quite beautiful $ I can't wait to see them this spring. I give this a 5 star. Recently I have been disappointed with some of the b & bs that I have visited, but this is a jewel! Treat yourself to a wonderfule "step back in time"--I will be back!


Week-end in Bonham, TX

4.0 on January 22, 2012

We enjoyed Karen & Steve's home, hospitality, and food. We have found new friends. I want to return in the spring to see the flower gardens in bloom.


Best B&B We Have Ever Stayed In

5 on May 06, 2011

We recently spent a week in The Carleton House, and my husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed it. The bed was comfortable, the house charming, the owners accommodating. Karen is a fabulous cook, and the breakfasts were wonderful. We had a marvelous dinner prepared by Karen the first night we were there, and knew we had picked a winner. In fact, we also had our final dinner in town there as well. Karen went out of her way to prepare meals that met our dietary needs. Steve entertained us with both guitar and violin, and he is a fine musician. They are knowledgable regarding the area which was a great help to us. Also, their prices are reasonable and with the caliber of the food, a real deal. We plan to visit there again in the near future.


Return to Home

5 on April 11, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at many B&Bs in Texas. When we decided to visit my home town after too many years we elected to stay at the Carleton House, and we had a wonderful time. Steve and Karen were excellent hosts and Steve's knowledge of Bonham and the town families was surprising. He and I knew many of the same people and he was able to freshen my recollection of a lot of history. Karen's breakfast was tasty and ample and Steve's expertise with the guitar made our evening enjoyable as we sang many old songs. You will have a thoroughly enjoyable time at Carleton House.


Amazing breakfasts, great place for an event

4.6 on March 27, 2011

Karen and Steve take care of you like you are family, and Karen is an amazing cook. I haven't eaten that much at breakfast in years, and it was soooo good. Carleton house is a wonderful place for a wedding, family reunion, or other celebration. The bed was comfortable, the bathtub was blissful. I would definitely stay here again. They even had wi-fi. I would've liked better tv reception, but there were plenty of dvds available to watch at night.


A ray of sunshine

5 on March 23, 2011

I was in town for a funeral. Karen and Steve were so kind and made me feel so welcome. I would definately recommend their B&B for anyone to visit. Karen is a fabulous cook, when she found out I was diabetic, she made cookies especially for me and shared a sugar free chocolate cake recipe she created herself. I tried it as soon as I got home and this lady should be a chef. She and Steve were a ray of sunshine during a very sad time for me. I'll be back.


First Experience

4.8 on February 14, 2011

This was my first stay at a Bed and Breakfast, what an amazing experience. I have now booked my second stay at a Bed and Breakfast because of my wonderful stay. Karen and Steve made you feel like family in this beautiful home with all the warmth and friendliness of their personalities. The personal touches were extra special and the history of this home was well displayed. Lynnette A. Knafelc


Comfortable Stay

5 on February 13, 2011

This place is quiet and cozy, a very nice getaway. The food is outstanding and the owners are very hospitable and nice. We will go back again!


Christmas at the Carleton House

5 on January 12, 2011

The Carleton House has been the first choice stay for us over the years. We continue going back because of the wonderful hospitality of the hosts, Steve and Karen . . . Karen's meals are always delicious and Steve is ever ready to play some music for us. We've enjoyed their conversation and company and other times have retreated for our own quiet time. The home is exquisite and Steve and Karen are always willing to share the stories of the house. When in the north Dallas area, there is no better place to stay.


30 years of bliss celebrated at Carlton House B&B

4.0 on November 29, 2010

We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and decided to attend the Bonham Bike Rally the same weekend. We booked a room at the Carleton House in Bonham Texas to have a nice getaway and my husband could ride in the rally. After arriving at the Carleton House we were wonderfully surprised at the decor and the amount of history within the house! Karen prepared a FANTASTIC gourmet meal and Steve even played the violin during our dinner for us. The evening was so good my husband skipped the bike rally and slept in the next morning. If you are looking for a NICE, QUIET and RELAXING getaway this is the place to book.


Pleasant experience

4.8 on November 21, 2010

Our first B & B Experience and it was wonderful. The food and the historical house was magnificent....A history learning experience. We look forward to returning and staying here again...


A Step Back in Time...

4.8 on November 13, 2010

This was the perfect get-a-way for a long needed, relaxing weekend! If you enjoy a “step back in time” you will definitely enjoy the atmosphere of the Carleton House. The home is generously filled with timeless antiques and owners knowledgeable of its history and contents. We welcomed the full tour provided (optional, but do not pass on this), which was followed by a wonderful dinner and dessert. The owners were the perfect hosts who were able to pick up on exactly what we needed. We preferred their company after our delicious meal, so they obliged and the conversation was very entertaining. Had we wanted privacy – that would have been extended as well. There was an offer of live music as Steve can play several of the instruments located in the parlor. We ran out of time and never made it that far! The next morning the aroma of breakfast wound its way up the stairs to our room. We enjoyed omelets that were hearty and flavorful and fresh turnovers with hand-kneaded dough from that morning – Karen is a prize-winning baker! While we did pass on the ride in the model A Ford (the weather had turned and our schedule did not permit) we were sent off happy, content and relaxed. We will be returning to the Carleton House again!


Weekend stay - November 6, 7

4.6 on November 07, 2010

Very relaxing stay with a wonderful breakfast. A surprise bonus on Sunday was a tour of Bonham in a 1931 Ford Model A. Wonderful!


The Carleton House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $300
  • Reviews (28) 4.9
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9035832779
  • Toll free 1-8003828033

Visit Website »

View details

Top