Park Lane Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
87 Reviews

Write A Review

Delightful Experience

5 on January 28, 2013

We had a fantastic experience at Park Lane staying in the carriage house. The room was cozy and comfortable. The blueberry-ginger pancakes were delicious. Shakti was a delightful hostess. We'll be back!


We did not want to leave

5 on July 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night on 7-24-12 in the Cottage. We loved it. Stained glass windows in every room. Deco black and white bathroom with dual shower heads was wonderful. Organic linens and mattress was so comfy. Pool was tranquil with outdoor shower. Hens in the back to feed and an atmosphere that was a great place to be and so close to the Congress action. Our host and his fiance who made us an amazing breakfst served without a detail missed, were a joy to talk to. We love this place and will return again.


Relaxing getaway at Park Lane Guest House

4.4 on December 04, 2011

Fabulous quiet getaway in the heart of the city. Absolutely wonderful breakfast served each morning. The carriage house was cute & comfortable. Would definitely recommend staying at Park Lane.


Girls' Weekend Wonderland

4.4 on October 03, 2011

I hosted a trip to Austin for a group of my closest gal pals to celebrate my 40th birthday. Best birthday present I could have given myself. We loved exploring Austin (who wouldn't?) but seem to agree that the highlight of the weekend was just hanging out at Park Lane or, as I liked to call it while we were there, "home". Waking up to a lovely breakfast by the pool, and smiles from two of the cutest dogs you can imagine, sets the mood for the day. Staying at Park Lane helped to create memories that will stay with us for the next 40 years.


Park lane? .... um yes please!

4.6 on August 05, 2011

Staying at park lane was an absolute joy! Between the outstanding service, the beautifully constructed rooms, and the peaceful garden like surroundings we could not have asked for a better weekend!


Peaceful tranquility in Austin

5 on August 02, 2011

A very well appointed, situated, and managed establishment, all as sustainable as can be.


Location, location, location

4.4 on August 02, 2011

I stayed in the carriage house, the bed was like sleeping on a cloud! Soaking in the claw foot tub, healthy walk to town & excellent food, service, & I will return to this friendly, peaceful B&B. Restaurants, music just 5-10 min walk.


My best B & B experience

5 on July 03, 2011

My perfect B & B experience was realized this past April at The Park Lane Guest House! It was the ultimate relaxing, comfortable & interesting place I have visited. It is intimate,quiet & cozy, very small & private. Outside you are surrounded by beautiful, fragrant foliage. The house & cabins are tasteful & charming with an individuality reflecting the owners' hard work & eco- consciousness. No pretense here. With genuine love of their handiwork, the owners made me feel like family when I wanted to talk or ask a question, but are also so unobtrusive, I felt as if I was there by myself! I look forward to staying again one day. I'll have the best coffee & organic breakfast under the giant oak tree next to the charming little pool while listening to the birds & the huge mellow wind chime. I'll look forward to petting the two best behaved cute little dogs & to seeing the new chickens!


Everything we hoped for!

5 on February 01, 2011

The website described everything perfectly so no surprises other than it's better in person, of course! Great location allowed us to walk to clubs and bars at night and yet amazingly quiet when we opened the cottage doors to hear the many variety of birds singing in the morning and early evening. Super comfortable, warmly decorated, and since we are foodies of sorts - the daily breakfast was outstanding - especially the omelet :) Great selection of organic coffee and teas, too! We enjoyed learning about Avatar and will continue that journey of exploration further. Thank you, Shakti, for a wonderful week.


Gorgeous, comfy & quiet

5 on December 06, 2010

I felt so relaxed in this beautiful B&B. The owner is wonderful and the gardens& the pool are very tranquil. The dogs are a great touch!


The Only Place I Stay in Austin

5 on December 02, 2010

What a lovley place. In all my trips to Austin it is the ONLY place I will stay. Walk to SoCo and all the music and resturants they offer. Just love the people and the Austin feel of it all!


Thoroughly Enjoyable Green B&B

5 on August 12, 2010

Our three day stay at Park Lane Guesthouse exceeded all expectations! Wonderful hospitality, excellent organic breakfasts, beautiful grounds, great service, unique and charming rooms, environmentally conscious, and close to shops and restaurants on South Congress!


Great Place!

5 on June 14, 2010

We were lucky to find the Park Lane Guest House. The cottages are very comfortable and you feel well taken care of by the owners. The pool is clean and pretty. The location several blocks from Congress Ave. is very convenient.


Really Nice, but....

3.8 on May 25, 2010

The owner was moody - often gracious, sometimes abrupt. Overall a good place, but perhaps a piece of fruit or a cookie in the afternoon would be nice.


The best little B&B in Austin Texas

5 on April 27, 2010

Park Lane is a little slice of paradise right in the heart of where you want to be in Austin. We enjoyed walking to delicious restaurants, trendy bars, coffee houses, and a wide variety of shops right around the corner from our cottage at Park Lane. It is very conveniently located. On top of that, the rooms are incredibly comfortable (excellent bed, top quality sheets and towels, organic toiletries, and lovely decorations), and the inn keeper, Shakti, made us feel right at home. She delivers gorgeously gourmet breakfasts each morning garnished with herbs freshly plucked from the garden....one more delicious than the next! Our stay was fabulous, and I am sending all of my friends who visit Austin to Park Lane :)


A Nicer Home Away From Home

5 on January 13, 2010

I love Park Lane Guesthouse! My wife and I stayed there in mid-December, and what a treat it was! The Carriage House was beautiful, extremely comfortable with the plush bed and linens, and a great place to relax between our many outings in South Austin. We loved the breakfasts that Shakti served, just delicious, and with a great variety! Their dog-children were also a wonderful treat, as we missed ours at home. It was so nice to get up in the morning and still have a dog to greet us. It's a great feeling to be away from home and never feel as though you have really left. We'll definitely be back again!


Park Lane Guest House

4.2 on December 15, 2009

Great S. Austin location in a quiet neighborhood 2 blocks from the action on S. Congress. The carriage house was comfortable and provided a beautiful pool patio to enjoy a delicious breakfast every morning. We enjoyed the privacy combined w/good advice from our hostess on restaurants, music and our on-going search for retirement location.


Neighborhood B&B

4.8 on December 08, 2009

Wonderfully appointed accomodation with a peaceful outdoor pool on your doorstep. Modern conveniences provided but room has an old world feel to it. Breakfasts were delicious. We're planning our next visit there.


Park Lane Guest House

4.8 on October 08, 2009

Relaxing, peaceful and idyllic. Great location just off south Congress. Shakti is a wonderful host. Our new favorite place to stay in Austin.


Perfect

5 on September 24, 2009

This is truly a perfect b&b. Every detail is taken care of. I especially appreciated that I told the owner I was vegan and she prepared a delicious vegan breakfast. Location was perfect. you could walk to restaraunts and shops. We will be back.


Park Lane Guest House

4.8 on September 09, 2009

Great place to stay -- convenient, tranquil, wonderful pool. Very accommodating.


What a treasure!

5 on July 16, 2009

Park Lane's Vicky House and garden area exceeded our expectations! We felt like kids again, sleeping in the bed loft! Enjoyed the beautiful oasis- like pool and outdoor, but enclosed shower. A fantasy stay for our 12 year anniversary!


Gorgeous, quiet, perfect!

4.8 on June 06, 2009

We stayed at Park Lane Guest House to celebrate our anniversary. Our room was great and the staff was so kind. Breakfasts are vegan, but don't let that turn you off, because they were also absolutely delicious! The garden in the back is a slice of heaven... just beautiful. The room rate was a tiny bit high, but it is on par with hotels in the S. Congress area, and just as nice. Overall, HIGHLY recommended if you want to be near S. Congress.


gentle perfection

5 on June 03, 2009

The best food, the best service, and the best B&B I've stayed in this far in the world.


comfortable funky Austin

5 on June 03, 2009

What a jewel! Beautiful neighborhood. Walking distance to funky shops and restaurants. Best coffee right here at Park Lane. Comfortable beds and pillows.


Park Lane is great!

4.8 on May 11, 2009

Park Lane was simply perfect in all areas! The room was relaxing, the bed was comfy, and the whole property screamed "RELAX!"


for the price it was not that great

2.2 on May 06, 2009

My husband and I stayed there recently and while the place is nice it wasnt great. The innkeeper or whatever she calls herself was not friendly. Not to mention that yappy dog!! There is not any privacy since the door has an sheer curtain. Then they charge you an room set up fee. I was surprised about that. I mean what exactly is an room set up fee.I thought that when you stay anywhere it's supposed to be set up.Since this was or first time staying there and did not know the property we had to ask the "innkeeper" which cottage we were in and she seemed irritated that she had to show us around. I was really upset about that and did not enjoy our stay. We were afraid to even ask any questions or assistance fearing we might get charged for that too. Not to mention she seemed irritated the couple of times we did need her assistance. Like I said the room was nice not great. The location and neighborhood is really nice. I guess I expected a little more hospitality and better customer service.

Innkeeper Response
Of course ,we are never happy when our guests are unsatisfied . Park Lane Guest House is a unique property . Unlike a Band B that many are accustomed to , we offer private full service cottages that gear to the needs of the more independent traveler seeking an upscale home away from home. For clarifiction, our posted rates do not reflect the 15% hotel tax we are required to collect for the city and state. It appears that the amount may have been printed on the wrong line of your receipt. A final note, our little Olevia is approaching 6 months now and is becoming more of the perfect B and B mascot with each new day.


Just wonderful

5 on May 05, 2009

I enjoyed a terrific stay in April 2009 when I was in Austin for a conference. The house and grounds were stunning and lush, my the innkeepers helpful, the scene serene and the breakfast freshly made and delicious. I really appreciate being able to make espresso any time I wanted it. Park Lane is a stone's throw from South Congress but is whisper quiet at night and one wakes up only to birdsong. Big bonus: very sweet puppies on premises. Helped me get through missing my own oogs when traveling. My partner and I will return in June for a vacation, and plan to stay every time we're in Austin. Thanks Shakti and Dev for creating such an open, beautifully designed, welcoming oasis.


We wish we lived here...

4.8 on April 14, 2009

Love the place, love the location (walking distance to South Congress), love Austin. We'll be back!


Best, most outstanding B&B in Austin (or anywhere else, really!)

5 on April 14, 2009

You will wake happy each morning to birds drinking at the water fountain and sleep ecstatic every night. A beautiful, well-kept secret, Park Lane indulges each traveler's wish for comfort, peace, and gorgeous surroundings. Highly recommended for visitors to this warm, interesting city. A treasure!


soco hideaway

3.6 on March 03, 2009

Great location, quiet, friendly, walking distance from downtown. We would return to stay again!


great stay!

4.6 on February 27, 2009

Beautiful house, great location. Friendly and helpful hosts- we had a great time!


Park Lane GH

4.4 on December 15, 2008

Excellent location, close to downtown within walking distance to many great restaurants and live music. Comfortable and cozy and private.


Blissful Stay

5 on November 18, 2008

Every detail was subtly and perfectly attended to both in the rooms and on the beautiful courtyard. We have never had a more restful stay anywhere. Wonderful food and walking distance to all Austin offers!


unique Austin Cottages- relaxing!

4.0 on November 17, 2008

Our cottage was the Vicky-Victorian tiny house, which was private and quiet with a lovely porch. The bathtub with premium bath salts was my favorite thing every evening. Food was amazing. peaceful neighborhood, with classy touches.


best REST in Austin!

4.8 on November 17, 2008

The Park Lane is amazing- hidden off the main road- it is a place to relax in a cozy and quaint setting. The rooms and food are wonderful! the staff was warm and friendly!


excellent

5 on November 03, 2008

outstanding with everything


great!

4.6 on October 31, 2008

comfortable, clean, open, and warm. good amenities, great pool, warm welcome, even late!


Park Lane Guest House

5 on October 30, 2008

Charming inn with enchanting garden. lovely breakfast.


Don't stay at Park Lane Guest House

2.0 on October 27, 2008

Rooms are tiny. There is N0 bathroom privacy besides a drawn curtain. The pool is way too small to actually swim in. Worst of all, the innsitter?(as she called herself) lets her yapping dog out early in the morning to wake everybody up at the crack of dawn. When questioned about why she lets this happen, her lame response was 'Well, dogs bark..." All this combined with truly exorbitant pricing based mostly on cuteness instead of amenities and service makes this a place to avoid.

Innkeeper Response
We are sorry that you did not have a satisfactory experience at Park Lane B and B. Our property is unique, and unlike chain hotels, each guest cottage has its own distinct personality. At Park Lane B and B, we are committed to our guests’ satisfaction and encourage all of our potential guests to take the time to review the accommodations on our website for detailed descriptions and photos of each cottage. Since 1996, we have built our reputation as a "Green Urban Oasis", and the only Band B in town with a private swimming pool. We provide a high standard of service at rates competitively lower than any hotel in downtown Austin. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We do hope that you will visit us again.


oasis

4.2 on October 24, 2008

came to party in Austin, but became so relaxed and content I did not want to leave this little piece of Heaven. Very soothing, but just two blocks from plenty of action!


Real Austin

4.2 on October 15, 2008

Quiet, peaceful haven in a lovely historic area, yet walking distance to downtown Austin


Park Lane

4.2 on October 14, 2008

A very pleasant stay in a beautiful location and peaceful surroundings.


Escape from Stress

5 on September 23, 2008

Come to Austin to escape from Hurricane Ike. Had no idea what to expect when we got here. The peacefulness of the surrounding area helped to alleviate the strass we were under.. Internet access allowed us to keep in touch with family and friends. The Cottage room was well furnished and spotless. Breakfast was delicious. We will return under better circumstances


Special Place For A Special Night

5 on August 20, 2008

Immaculate and perfect in everyway. great way to spend our wedding night. Unique touches to the property, went the extra mile.


Super!

5 on August 04, 2008

Loved every minute of it. Personal, relaxing and beautiful.


Stolen time (Reclaimed from the routine)

5 on July 29, 2008

We came from Fort Worth to steal (reclaim) some time from work and the daily grind. The Carriage House (Park Lane Guest House) was a wonderful refuge. We relaxed, but also went to other places we wanted to see. Everything was within 30 minutes from the B&B.


Hide-away

5 on July 28, 2008

Wonderful spot in the middle of everything, yet perfectly secluded.


A great find!

5 on July 25, 2008

Comfortable, cozy sleeping, refreshing pool, and healthy breakfast - what more could you ask for in a B&B? Bonus, it's nestled in a very cool area of Austin and owners are quite knowledgeable of the best features.


Would stay here again!

4.0 on July 25, 2008

What a lovely oasis, tucked away from the main drag of S. Congress. We could walk to everything we needed in minutes & escape back here to a cool refreshing pool. Our hostess was very helpful & provided a tasty variety each breakfast. The cottage was comfortable, clean & had good amenities.


Park Lane Guest House

5 on July 25, 2008

Great place. Thanks.


Park Lane Guest House

3.8 on July 24, 2008

Tha' charming, lovely little house (Vicky) in a nice environment. Really quiet in the middle of a city. Nice pool, nice family. We will come back again!


"Inn Heaven"

5 on July 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the "Vicky" cottage as an anniversary getaway and it was more than we could have hoped for! The pool and garden area transport you far from the city but a short drive reminded us we weren't far from the action!


Park Lane Guest House

5 on July 24, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay. Great environment, comfortable. We will be back!


The best way to wake up!

4.8 on July 24, 2008

Having a great breakfast made and brought to your room or patio poolside every morning is amazing. The beautiful garden and sands and the gorgeous pool make this the best place to relax.


July 4th Getaway

4.4 on July 24, 2008

The Guest House and Grounds were absolutely delightful. The breakfasts are generous and filling. It is close to everything we wanted to do. The pathway to the pool could use some additional trimming so you don't have to walk on the grass.


Park Lane Guest House

5 on July 17, 2008

Superb location, service & atmosphere. Organic breakfasts were amazing.


Austin Retreat

5 on July 15, 2008

It was our good fortune to discover Park Lane Guest House in Austin, TX. This lovely place, tucked into a neighborhood just off Congress, was perfect. We loved the morning breakfasts at the pool. Comfort, quiet and serenity plus!!


Nice & easy Austin Lifestyle

3.6 on July 09, 2008

Super location, walk or "Dillo" to anything you want to do in Austin. Absolutely no fragrance/chemical issues. Super aware of any food sensativities, no smoking on entire premises so enjoy the beautiful garden and pool to your clean lungs desire. Sink into the quaint, comfortable cottage.


Wonderful

4.6 on July 08, 2008

Peaceful, friendly, relaxing, colorful, lush garden, lots of birds, feels like better than home.


great place

4.6 on June 23, 2008

proximity to our daughter's home makes this a perfect place. spacious living room, comfy bed, great shower and delicious breakfasts made our visit even better. we'll go back.


Urban oasis in SoCo

4.4 on June 21, 2008

This beautifully conceived and executed B&B in the Travis Hts. neighborhood is within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, and great live music. Several times during our week-long stay, however, we were content to just enjoy the beauty, serenity, and comfort of the cottage, gardens, and pool. Great hospitality, delicious breakfasts, decadent linens! We'll be back!


Park Lane Guest House

5 on June 18, 2008

Lovely cottages in beautiful natural setting. Great accomodations and gracious hosts. Very homey with wonderful food.


restful

4.6 on June 18, 2008

my husband and i found park lane b&b to be very restful.the serene atmosphere left us feeling both peaceful and resfreshed


Austin;s Awesome Organic and "green" Cottage

5 on June 18, 2008

Pet friendly. A mother daughter weekend to explore Austin;s offerings up close and personal with relaxation and tranquility added to enhance the enjoyment of our experience.


south austin retreat

4.0 on June 16, 2008

atmosphere is the word to describe this place. the place drips with great ambiance and creative comforts from the great breakfasts to the open-air shower and swimming pool to the cozy beds. highly recommended.


outstanding

5 on June 16, 2008

if i died and went to b&b heaven it would look like this. except i wouldn't have to leave. the attention to every detail made this a truly magical vacation. and i was here on business!


great family gathering

4.8 on June 13, 2008

we rented bath cottages to visit austin family and enjoyed is to much. 84-year-old mo got in the pool and loved it.we had a grand visit and will surely come back


Perfect Austin Getaway

4.4 on June 11, 2008

Great yard that is relaxing. Wonderful location.


Wonderful Place!

5 on June 09, 2008

we had an absolutely wonderful time at a fantastic b&b. cozy, clean, and totally beautiful on all levels


great

4.6 on June 09, 2008

it was great getting to stay here!


darling texas tiny house

5 on June 05, 2008

great, perfect! vintage wood, design- great accommodations- a dreamy loft :)


experience

2.8 on June 04, 2008

great country experience in the city of austin


Charming and Relaxing

4.4 on June 03, 2008

A wonderful place to mingle with nature. Clean and charming, great outdoor shower and pool. Very friendly owners, and their cute dog leila made you feel at ease :)


More than a place to sleep...

5 on June 03, 2008

The Park Lane is a delightful place to stay while visiting Austin, Texas. The cottage is very clean, well "fitted" to enjoy this bustling area - quiet, with scrumptious organic breakfasts.


Fun with "Vicky"

4.0 on June 02, 2008

Great! Charming, eclectic, wonderful host. Close to cool "SoCo" district and downtown - 6th St., Capitol, and UT.


Park Lane Guest House

5 on June 02, 2008

Wonderful food - Complete hospitality, peaceful, restful, relaxing, beautiful surrounding us at every turn...wow!


Anniversary

5 on May 30, 2008

It was the perfect setting for us to celebrate our anniversary! The rooms, breakfasts, travel and dining recommendations were wonderful. It was our first stay at a B&B and it truly exceeded all our expectations. Thanks.


Park Lane Guest House

5 on May 13, 2008

Beautiful B&B, friendly people, felt like home away from home.


Perfect Setting

5 on April 24, 2008

A warm, creative, quiet setting. Excellent food and hostess.


Park Lane Guest House

3.6 on April 22, 2008

We enjoyed our stay here- I feel we got a flavor of Austin! The garden and pool were particularly welcome


Austin's Best Kept Secret

5 on April 21, 2008

Vicky was a wonderfully built little house. Cozy and charming, with attention to detail and a bed that rivals the most comfortable night sleep I have ever had. Excellent breakfast and peace and quiet just sealed the deal. In a great location to walk all the way downtown, or even just enjoy the businesses along Congress.


Loved it!

5 on April 07, 2008

I stayed at the Park Lane over Spring Break with my 16 yr old daughter & her best friend for a girls night out. We felt so welcome & pampered... we didn't want to leave! The Garden Cottage was so comfortable & breakfast was delicious! We can't wait to go back & are planning our next trip!


Perfect Weekend

4.0 on January 13, 2008

I stayed in the Carriage House and didn't want to leave. I enjoyed staying in this type of setting (seperate cottage, opposed to main home) becasue it offers increase privacy and accessability. The breakfast is served at the requested time in perfect, balanced style. The claw foot tub, along with the large outdoor shower, had me running back to my cottage after a long trail ride. They offer great organic coffees and teas in the room that you may prepare at any time. The bath products are pure and a life-saver (I left my can't-leave-home without-it $40 face wash... at home, but the clear glycerin soap was a great substitute). A two block walk takes you to the heart beat of S. Congress... great on Thursday nights and active all week long. The neighborhood of Travis Heights is polished and enjoyable. Park Lane offers the adventurer a great place to recoup from the wide range of activities Austin has to offer or a great romantic getaway. It's not cheap, but still a GREAT value relative to nearby accomodations. I still have not adjusted to no longer having an oragnic breakfast delivered at 9 am with that great classical music filling the air.


A Tranquil Oasis in Austin!

4.2 on November 29, 2007

Lovely, homey accomodations with yummy breakfasts. Comfortable beds, relaxing porch and friendly inn-keepers. Ditch the hotel, stay at Park Lane!


tranquility around the corner

5 on November 27, 2007

My partner and I stayed there a couple of months ago and are looking forward to staying again. It was absoulutely amazing in every way. Our favorite part was the quaint pool and luxurious outdoor shower. We walked to all the local dives and enjoyed breakfast in bed. We look forward to next time!!


A Home Away From Home

4.8 on September 13, 2007

Just a lovely, tranquil place. So much better than a hotel, very clean, nice furnishings and delicious breakfasts. The pool is inviting and cool and the staff so very nice. Stay here when you are in Austin. I did in 2004 and I am going back in November!


Park Lane Guest House

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5124477460

Visit Website »

View details

Top