Mulberry House Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
32 Reviews

Write A Review

Inviting nook

4.8 on September 28, 2014

Mulberrry House is welcoming, private, and warm yet trim and aesthetic. One enters directly into an open space that includes the fireplace sitting area, the television sitting area, the dining area, and the kitchen. The bedroom and bathroom are in the back of the space. The cottage is very well appointed. Nothing has been overlooked. Breakfast items (yogurt, eggs, butter, OJ, milk, fruit) are in the refrigerator and on the counter (bread, coffee, tea). Beer and soft drinks were also provided. Highly recommended.


Simply perfect

5 on February 17, 2014

My husband and I have never stayed at a bed & breakfast and I'm afraid the Mulberry House has spoiled us! The cottage had everything we needed and so much more. The grounds and gazebo were so lovely, we had our intimate wedding under the gazebo. Catherine and Doug went above and beyond in every way to ensure we had the perfect weekend and wedding. We simply couldn't have wished for better. The Mulberry House will always be special to us. I highly recommend it to everyone!


A very special weekend at the Mulberry House

5 on October 20, 2013

My husband and I shared a very special weekend at the Mulberry House. Catherine and Doug go way above and beyond in every way and the house is simply perfect. I highly recommend this lovely getaway!


Weekend Getaway

5 on August 07, 2013

My husband had to go to Nashville on business for a few days and he found this cottage and what a find it was. It was in a great location which was very convenient to downtown. The decor was stylish and very comfortable. It was immaculately clean and neat. Catherine was so helpful with restaurants and places to go. It felt more like visiting a friend. The cottage was very private and we will definitely try to stay there again on our next visit.


Wonderful private cottage in convenient Nashville location

4.8 on October 31, 2012

My wife and I returned to Nashville for 3 nights in October, 2012 for an event at Vanderbilt Medical Center and to see old friends. We opted to stay at the Mulberry House after a careful search of local hotels, inns and B&B's, and we were not disapppointed in the least. In fact, this was one of the best stays we have had in our frequent travels. No detail has been spared in the renovation of this former carriage house, including in the decorations and the amenities offered. We were allowed privacy but the owners were easily accessible for answering questions or just a quick visit. The proximity to downtown Nashville, the Vanderbilt area and Green Hills is hard to beat. But the spacious accommodations and attention to detail in the cottage are what stand out and make this a wonderful destination spot for those looking for a short or long term stay in Nashville.


PERFECTION AND THEN SOME

5 on April 01, 2012

We recently spent three nights in the Cottage. Everything was beyond our expectations. Catherine treated us as house guests, rather than strangers. It was so special that we have gifted two nights to our daughter and future son-in-law for their wedding night in mid-September. In this world of commercial enterprise, it is rare to find a one of a kind anything. This experience was in that category. Jan and Jim Borin


Wonderful for small group retreat!

5 on November 23, 2011

Our office was recently treated to a lovely time at Mulberry House. Our team of eleven used the living room for a day-long planning meeting. The atmosphere was peaceful and so conducive to creative discussion and quiet time for reflection. Cathy and Doug were such gracious hosts. A tranquil retreat, without having to leave the convenience of the city. We'll be back!


Mulberry House weekend

5 on August 25, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at this charming, adorable getaway. Mulberry House is a detached completely refurbished cottage with every amenity you'd look for in a cozy B&B, with the added bonus of a bit of privacy! Doug was a perfect host, and met us on arrival to give us a guided tour of the cottage and surroundings. We soon made ourselves so comfortable that we didn't want to leave. The cottage is roomy and spacious. The full kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to make our own breakfasts, including fresh ground coffee, yogurt, fruit and home made granola. The private fully fenced-in courtyard is an idyllic retreat running over with southern charm. And we loved the privacy - we could have lounged quietly alone the entire weekend. We will surely return and next time we'll spend more time!


The Best Home Away in Nashville

5 on May 17, 2011

Catherine and Doug offer the best in Southern hospitality with great attention to detail with the amenities. This was my 3rd visit to the lovely carriage house and I look forward to returning. It was my home away from home as my son matriculated through Vanderbilt University. May they continue to provide comfort to all who visit! Lisa Roth


A peaceful haven

4.8 on March 09, 2011

We went to Nashville to see our son who is a student at Belmont. We were very stressed as we are selling our house, and our kitchen had flooded. When we arrived at Mulberry House, it was as if every stress and burden were lifted from our shoulders. It was so peaceful and beautiful. Very clean, which is important to us. Catherine and Doug were so gracious and hospitable, meeting us as we drove up. Catherine had included everything we would need, and even stocked snacks in case our son wanted to stay with us. Her homemade granola makes my mouth water even thinking about it! This is an expensive place to stay, but for a special occasion, it truly makes your visit above and beyond your normal weekend getaway. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet, peaceful place to stay in Nashville. Not to mention in a very easy location to get most anywhere. I hope we can go back soon!


came for vanderbilt reunion

5 on October 28, 2010

My wife and i plus our twins spent 3 nights at mulberry house.We loved the quality of the carriage house.The location was very convenient to everywhere we wanted to go.The owners were very friendly,and had the refrigerator well stocked.Plus they continued to ask if we needed anything else.we will diffidently stay again when we come back to Nashville.The Rasmussen's


Best of Everything

5 on September 06, 2010

Having traveled extensively, I have stayed in numerous B&B's, and none compare to my experience at the Mulberry House. Catherine and Doug are the most charming of innkeepers, warm, caring, interesting and willing to do all to ensure your stay is pleasurable. The cottage is most comfortable, and well decorated with lots of great art, and in the most peaceful of settings. The private courtyard, surrounded by old trees will keep you outdoors with a book or glass of wine. It is an ideal location, accessible to everything! You could not ask for more. I can’t imagine a better hidden gem in Nashville or beyond! TL


We love Mulberry Cottage!

5 on March 30, 2010

We stayed here for a month in the fall while my husband was working in Nashville and it was such a graceful nest that we felt like we were on vacation. The bed is sublime. The garden is enchanting. The location is superb. It is walking distance to the artsy 12 South District and beautiful Sevier Park, and equally well situated for trips downtown or out into the country. It is surrounded by the areas of historic interest for the history buffs, and a quick drive down Granny White Pike brings you to Radner Lake which is wonderful for walking in the woods. The kitchen was well appointed enough for us to have most of our meals in, but there are many nice restaurants nearby. And the hosts! The wonderful hosts! We wanted to take them home with us. We are sincerely looking forward to another opportunity to sojourn at the Mulberry Cottage.


Really great - thank you

4.8 on October 26, 2009

I stayed at the Mulberry House a few weeks ago and was very impressed. The location is excellent and just about everything about this B and B is top notch. It is about as relaxed a place as you can be in a great town. The best part about it is the hospitality and helpfulness of the hosts Doug and Katherine. They are the truly value added component of this very recommended b and b.


Just perfect!

5 on August 14, 2009

We were in Nashville to attend our daughter's graduation from Vanderbilt. She lives a few doors down from the Mulberry House and was so excited that we had an occasion to stay there (it was also my birthday.) Well! As we drove away our assessment was, "This was just perfect!" The carriage house is beautifully appointed, but not fussy. The colors, artwork, lighting, and furniture all create a peaceful and calm place to nest and rest. We enjoyed looking at the artwork and inspecting the assortment of books, reading in the big chairs, and having the carriage house be the place to be with my daughter and her husband. The setting... it was like being in a chapter of "The Secret Garden", one feels quite sequestered. This ranks at the top of our travel stays! Doug graciously settled us in, and Catherine was delightful and chatted with us, answering all our questions about the art pieces displayed... very fun! Our thanks to them for the perfect weekend. Sally F. Cincinnati Ohio


quaint and relaxing!

5 on June 09, 2009

We stayed at the Mulberry House for our honeymoon weekend, and it was the perfect place to relax after a weekend of wedding festivities! Doug and Catherine could not have been nicer, and went out of the way to make us feel welcome. The cottage is quiet and private, but you can get to anything you need quickly. We hope to make staying at the Mulberry House a anniversary tradition!


Wonderful getaway

5 on May 26, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Mulberry House. This place is a gem! It was so relaxing and Catherine and Doug are wonderful innkeepers. The house is absolutely beautiful, and it was very close to everything we wanted to do while in Nashville. We would definitely stay there again, and recommend it to all!


"A True Gem."

5 on April 28, 2009

Our first visit to Nashville, a "Surpise Birthday Weekend" for our mom, was a huge success, largely due in part to Catherine & Doug. They could not have been more hospitable or gracious and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was a memorable one. The setting of their beautiful home and cottage was the best retreat after the end of a long day of sightseeing and shopping. Comfy cozy furniture, fantastic eclectic artwork and a fully stocked fridge were some of the highlights to name a few. No doubt about it, we will return to this wonderful haven! Thanks so much Catherine & Doug! The Columbus, OH "Women" Contingent


If I could only stay longer...

5 on January 07, 2009

No better or more charming place to "live" while away from home. These owners know how to provide comfort and decor that make it hard to check out. And their warmth and friendly hospitality are additional rewards. The kitchen is well-stocked with quality essentials, the finest cookware, and delicious breakfast treats and beverages. You will enjoy the latest and greatest electronic equipment for music or movies, and the fine touch of their colors, textures, and antiques from far and near. Please don't book a hotel when you can treat yourself to this unforgetable setting and experience. (Just had our second. We'll be back!) JS/JM


pleasant memories

4.2 on July 30, 2008

this past June my wife attended a conference at the Opryland Resort complex, which seemed to emphasize mass tourism over hand-crafted travel experience. What luck that Opryland had not a room to spare for us - but Mulberry House did. While it was a bit of a commute out to Opryland, it was well worth the minor hassle to come back and settle into the comforts of the secluded carriage house. We live in a historic home in quiet valley in central Missouri and felt as though we were in our home away from home. we're big on attention to detail and were not disappointed in our stay. great location for getting to know nashville up close. hope to return again.


Thanks from Naples, Florida

4.6 on July 28, 2008

Catherine and Doug - this is a bit late in getting done - we stayed mid-June, but better late than never. We truly enjoyed your home and it did feel as if we were staying at a friend's home rather than accomodations or even a B&B! Thank you for all you did to make us feel welcome. Congratulations on having such a wonderful, charming, elegant yet comfortable place. It is a credit to both of you! If we are in Nashville again, we will be back! Allison & Peter


Mulberry House

5 on July 25, 2008

My husband and I are songwriters and we stayed at Mulberry House from July to the end of November /08 so that we could write and become more involved with the music scene in Nashville. As songwriters and musicians, it was the ideal location. The guest house is quiet and beautifully decorated. The landscaping and beautiful old trees make it an easy place to be creative. We felt like we were living in the country, but it was only a five to ten minute drive to all the places we needed to go to regularly on Music Row. Mulberry House is also just minutes away from the Blue Bird Cafe, Douglas Corner Cafe, and Broadway Avenue, all songwriter and performer hot-spots that are a must for anyone trying to break into the Nashville music industry. Because of the location we were able to stay involved with all the music-scene activities, and still have enough time to work on our own music every day. Finally, the owners, Doug and Catherine, were the ideal hosts. They did everything possible to make our time there the best it could be. We could not have asked for a more perfect place to stay. Russ & Lynn


Serenity

4.8 on July 24, 2008

What a great find! Nestled next to the more "public" courtyard behind Catherine & Doug's beautiful historic home, the converted, fully equipped carriage (guest) house was the perfect home away from home. Wonderfully comfortable & quiet.


Arizona Loved Mulberry House!

4.8 on July 18, 2008

We really enjoyed Mulberry House as our home away from home. It is tastefully designed and decorated with lots of details that we kept discovering. The welcome was great, from a well stocked refrigerator to the thick, plush bathrobes and candles waiting to be lit to make our evenings complete. The drive to the downtown convention center was easy and quick. We spent a week at Mulberry sightseeing and attending the International Men's Barbershop Harmony Society convention. We fell in love with the Tennessee country side as well as the city. We look forward to a return to Nashville and hope that our paths will cross again at Mulberry House. Thanks for an exceptional stay......Len & Edie


Beautiful Wedding Venue as well!

4.8 on July 16, 2008

I am so glad my husband and I decided to have our wedding at the Mulberry House. Not only was it the perfect setting with the beautiful gardens and spacious lawn for our 75 guest wedding , Catherine, the owner, went above and beyond to make this day perfect for us! My parents stayed in the guest cottage for the weekend of the wedding and they were so pleased with the room and the service. The location is great too. It is right off the interstate and just blocks away from one of Nashville's hippest and most fun shopping districts. This is truly a wonderful place to spend your time in Nashville!


What a gift!

4.0 on June 06, 2008

A few things.... Our stay at the Mulberry House was absolutely amazing! This spot was exactly what we needed for a long weekend of rest and relaxation - away from our LA home. My husband is in the music industry thinks this is an ideal spot for writing music. Quiet and peaceful. He plans on writing there the next time he's in town. Catherine and Doug, were perfect hosts. After giving us a quick tour of the property, they showed us the beautifully decorated guest house and gave us our space and privacy. My husband and I look forward to the next time we can visit our family and friends in Nashville and stay in this cozy Mulberry house. We LOVED it!


Paradise Found

4.2 on May 11, 2008

I enjoyed 3 glorious days at Mulberry House. I experienced the accommodations of a 5 star hotel in a spacious, tastefully decorated cottage. Mulberry House is located in an upscale neighborhood behind a beautiful Victorian home. But discard all your preconceptions about a Victorian cottage. Mulberry House is not cluttered with knickknacks; there's no heavily carved furniture, dark rooms or velvet curtains. Instead you will encounter airy rooms decorated with Japanese antiques, stylish comfortable furniture, authentic rugs and interesting artwork. There are lots of cozy areas where you can curl up, read and relax. Catherine and Doug are gracious hosts ready to offer suggestions but unobtrusive. I enjoyed the private walled garden just outside of the cottage. I also appreciated the many thoughtful touches, such as an excellent sound system with an extensive and wide ranging collection of CDs, gourmet coffee and fresh fruit, a cozy bathrobe, a great mattress and choice of pillows. Parking is easy. Mulberry House is a wonderful place for R&R but convenient to Nashville's many attractions.


Cozy, peaceful and modern

4.0 on April 28, 2008

As you can see from the pictures, the setting is a jewel in the midst of beautiful trees and landscaping, with all of the modern conveniences one would possibly need. The posts here have described the Mulberry house perfectly, and there is really nothing left to say about the space itself that hasn't already been covered. As for Catherine and Doug, they are wonderful, real people who will do almost anything to ensure your stay is the best it can be. I never had much thought of going to Nashville before this weekend, but I will have to come back, simply to stay in this b&b again. I just hope they are free when I want to go because I can see this place getting reeeeeaaaaallllly busy! : )


From a critical Innkeeper

5 on April 26, 2008

My wife and I have been hoteliers and innkeepers for over 22 years running upscale 4 diamond level properties. We are easy guests but still hard to impress. We were both overwhelmed with Mulberry House and terribly disappointed that we didn't find this gem earlier in our trip and therefore could not stay but one glorious evening. Over a 6 week period on the road we stayed at 8 beautiful boutique properties but none matched the experience of Mulberry House...which was perfection!


A Little Taste of Heaven

5 on April 21, 2008

The Mulberry house it the perfect get away. It is hidden away amongst nature, but it is close to so many attractions. It is very romantic, but yet it is the perfect place for a girl's weekend. Catherine and Doug (Innkeepers) are wonderful hosts and do everything to make sure your stay is the absolute best! I am definitely going to recommend the Mulberry House to all of my friends.


Above and Beyond

5 on April 20, 2008

The Mulberry House was above and beyond all expectations. What Class! The owners personality and warmth only added to this jewel. I found myself wanting to pack up the cottage and take it home. Now that I am home, I want to redecorate in the Mulberry House style. Since I don't have that flair, I will simply have to visit again. Thank you for a wonderful visit, space, and memory. ----Kelly


Mulberry House is the best!

5 on April 15, 2008

A unique and beautiful respite from touristy Nashville, Mulberry House is truly special. It is decorated with beautiful antiques such as a claw foot tub to brass bed and lots of interesting items. At the same time, there are modern comforts such as a Bose Surround Sound stereo, gourmet coffee grinder and maker, and a spa-like shower. The care that the owners, Catherine and Doug, put into the cottage shines through: the food (especially the homemade granola), drinks, toiletries, bedding, plush robes and towels--as well as the beautifully landscaped lot--really add to the sense of being pampered. They were available to answer questions but respected your privacy. Staying at the Mulberry House is perfect for couples needing relaxation, peace, quiet, and time to focus on each other while enjoying nature and the wonderful cottage. I highly recommend this special place to all travelers and hope to stay again in the future.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks, B! I do so appreciate your thoughtful and gracious review. We loved having you two as guests and are working to improve every day. I'll keep you posted on new developments and hope you will keep in touch. Warmly, Catherine


Mulberry House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $275 - $275
  • Reviews (32) 4.8
  • Rooms 1
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6154738437

Visit Website »

View details

Top