Pinhook Plantation House Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
30 Reviews

Write A Review

What a B&B experience SHOULD be.

5 on September 12, 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending some time at Pinhook Plantaion this summer. The house and surroundings are beautiful. The room was immaculate and the furnishings were lovely. Breakfast was a treat to both the eyes and the palette. We left feeling that the proprietor, Miss Ellen, had become a new friend. An altogether wonderful experience, right on the Hiawassee River!


Great house

5 on May 27, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay there. The owners were nice and friendly. Also their supper recommendation was excellent.

Innkeeper Response
We love our guests and do our best to make them comfortable. Lots to do and see. Thanks for your review. Ellen


Off the beaten path

4.4 on November 12, 2013

Pinhook is out in the boonies, but it's worth the time and effort to get there. I cannot think of another B&B that has more homey charm and real country friendliness. Those ladies are the best. We got our money's worth and more.


Mom's Birthday Get Away

3.2 on August 31, 2013

Everything about our stay was wonderful, except for the breakfast. Our reservation was during the transitional period between the previous and new owner. The new owner was very attentive, but the previouv owner came back to make our breakfast. She seemed to be in a very big hurry to leave. We were fed soggy croissants with store bought strawberry cream cheese and jelly, canned peaches with oatmeal brown sugar sprinkles, five quarter-sized sausage patties, and five pieces of bacon. The croissants made my sister gag they were so soggy. We had been told at the time of our reservation the previous owner would bake my 82 year old mother a small cake for her birthday. A store-bought cake was provided right after breakfast. We were not accustomed to having cake for breakfast. Quite peculiar for us. The new owner provided us with coffee, tea, juice, and fresh fruit. That part was very nice. We intend to return for my mother's 83 birthday and are looking forward to seeing the new owner again, and having her breakfast. We really enjoyed our new hostess, Debbie. Thanks Debbie for a delightful time with you. Thanks for the warm reception, the special thoughtfulness you besotted upon us. See you next year.


Loved it

5 on June 13, 2013

Wife and I stayed back in March 2013, we have not had a vacation together in the 17 years of our marriage so this was a first for us. found the deal on Groupon LOVED the stay, cats were the best.lol!! Great place great atmosphere..


Was married at the pinhook at the fountain and had reception and dancing there too. Honeymoon night also.

4.4 on April 30, 2013

I was married at the pinhook July 8th 2006. We planned a big wedding, reception and honeymoon night there. It was great! The only thing I did not like is that a couple came up to stay just as my wedding was winding down. I was hoping for more privacy with all the money I put in. But it still was beautiful and really enjoyed.


Fabulous Weekend Getaway!!!

4.8 on September 09, 2012

This was a very enjoyable stay and can't wait to go back again. Ellen was a pleasure to get to know and a great cook. The location is remote and well worth the trip. Beautiful scenery and the accomodations are so nice. Love the period antiques and detailed decor.


One of the best places I've ever stayed!

5 on June 21, 2012

This review comes a little late, since I stayed at Pinhook Plantation in November last year but I wanted to add a glowing review...even if it is 6 months later! I stayed here enroute to Gatlinburg on the most magnificant drive through the Great Smokies. We arrived late at night after a long day driving, but nothing was too much trouble. Our ground floor room was undeniably perfect, beautifully laid out, clean and the homemade cookie went down a treat! Breakfast was superb and the host was incredibly welcoming. Too tired to make a trip to the nearest shop on the night we arrived, we were even given a bottle of wine 'on the house' which made for a lovely couple of hours on the porch looking at the stars! (It was below freezing but we were wrapped up and it didnt matter!) On waking we were blessed with the most magnificant views, with the Smokies in the distance. I've never seen anything so beautiful in all my life. Visiting at Christmas time, the house felt so cosy and warm with a beautifully dressed christmas tree and roaring open fire in the living room. I cannot recommend this place enough!


5th Anniversary Get Away

5 on May 29, 2012

Ellen is a gracious host and a marvelous cook. We were greeted with a very basket and bottle of wine which my wife enjoyed immensely. This was our first experience in a bed and breakfast and we will definitely be returning!


wonderful B and B

5 on January 31, 2012

Pinhook plantation was such a wonderful and cozy place to stay and visit! We loved the room with its charm and beautiful colors. Ellen was such an accommodating proprietor and a great cook. We cannot wait to go back and visit. The animals are super friendly and easy going. You cannot find a better view from the front door . What a wonderful place to stay! !.


Great find near the Ocoee River

4.8 on September 05, 2011

This is a very cozy B&B near the Ocoee Olympic Whitewater Rafting Center. Ellen and Don are exceedingly gracious hosts who made us feel right at home. We enjoyed sitting on the rocking chairs on the front porch and seeing the beautiful views of the nearby mountains. We also enjoyed getting to know Pinhook's cats and dogs; without fail Katie the cat welcomed us back after every outing.


Weekday Getaway

4.8 on August 04, 2011

The hospitality was refreshing and the house facilitated a very comfortable and relaxing environment. The breakfast was delicious and memorable. There were plenty of local restaurants recommended by the Innkeeper, and the two we tried had superb food and service. The location was perfect for outdoor activities with the local Cherokee National Forest and the Ocoee and Hiawasee Rivers. We went rafting down one of the rivers and fishing. It was an excellent experience and one I'm willing to drive another 8 hours to have!


Very Rural

5 on June 03, 2011

Although Pinhook Plantation House is in a very rural area, it is definitely worth a visit! The directions on the website are very good, and we found it easily. Thanks for a scrumptious breakfast!!


How great to find a pet friendly B&B!

3.4 on May 31, 2011

A really charming, unique B&B! It's comfy, friendly and relaxing. My favorite part was the rocking chairs on the wide front porch overlooking the smokey mountains. I was thrilled to find a B&B that was so pet friendly. And friendly is the best descriptive words for the great people that run the inn as well as everyone in the area. We will always remember our stay here. Thanks so much for your hospitality!


Awesome!

5 on February 18, 2011

This was my husband and I's first stay in a bed and breakfast and it was lovely. The room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. The home owners were extremely kind and hospitable. They also cooked phenomenal food. :)

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for you kind review. We are proud that we have given you and so many new-to-B&Bing guests a desire to continue enjoying ours and other B&B's in the future. We strive to make your stay a wonderful one.


Pets allowed inside

3.6 on February 18, 2011

First the good about Pinhook. We had a very nice stay at Pinhook Plantation. Ellen is very personable and makes you feel at home. The bed was comfortable and the bath was small and older but usable. The decor was really pretty. The breakfasts were really good. We had stuffed French toast, ham and cheese waffles, egg strata, fruits, bacon, and sausage just to name a few. The only down side was that Ellen has 4 cats and a dog that she allows to come inside. There was also a dog that didn't belong to her that she allowed inside. They come and go as they please. If I had known in advance I would not have booked here because I am allergic to cats. I had to buy antihistamines and take while we were there. We stayed gone during the day and mostly just slept there, but my allergies really acted up. We went into the gathering room where we ate breakfast one morning to find the long haired cat laying on the table where we had just eaten breakfast. I also sat in one of the chairs and when I got up there was a big wad of cat hair on my shoulder, so there is a lot of cat hair in this room. I just thought I should put this in the review in case there was someone else thinking about staying here that might be allergice to cats or not like the idea of cats being allowed on the table where you eat. If you are an animal lover and do not mind this then this is a great place to stay.

Innkeeper Response
Comments on this review were very positive on our hospitality, food and their stay in general and we are delighted that they stay all in all was a pleasent one. Our website indicates that we are a pet-friendly B&B. Though we have had guests request a cat to sleep with (we really do), pets are not allowed in the suites and we do our best to keep them out of guest specified areas. We had no indication that there was a allergy problem...we ask when guests arrive of any allergies, along with time they want breakfast, coffee or tea, etc. Our apologies to these guests. We maintain and strive, as you can see by all our other reviews, for cleanlines, value, hospitality and dining quality.


Great experience

5 on September 10, 2010

My husband and I have stayed here twice. Everything is beautiful, the house the grounds. It is tucked away but a great find. Breakfast has been delicious every time. We would definitely recommend this to others.


Great experience!

5 on July 02, 2010

My husband and I and some friends of ours stayed at the Pinhook Plantation at the end of a backpacking trip, and it was a wonderful way to clean up and relax before driving back home. The rocking chairs on the front porch were great; Ellen had chocolate chip cookies waiting for us when we arrived; she was also incredibly accommodating with our 60-lb dog (Boxer) that we had with us. On top of that, the price was comparable to a hotel, which wouldn't have had the comfort and friendliness of a B&B, along with a delicious breakfast of stuffed pears, fresh fruit, bacon, ham, muffins, and stuffed French toast.


A Wonderful Family Experience

4.4 on April 04, 2010

We had a family group, two of whom had never stayed in a B&B. Everyone had a great time. Beautiful location. Ellen & Don make you feel very comfortable and the Breakfast was outstanding. Hope we can go back.


A most pleasant stay at Pinhook Plantation House

4.8 on January 26, 2010

We were very impressed with the room accomodations...very comfortable, very quiet, and most welcoming! We had flight delays, and arrived late, but Ellen graciously accomodated us and delayed dinner for us. She is a very good cook! We enjoyed a gourmet breakfast and she even packed us a picnic basket lunch! We will most definately stay with them again.


First B & B experience WONDERFUL

5 on November 18, 2009

Wow, this was our first B & B experience and it was wonderful. The house was lovely. The room was awesome. We had such a great time with Ellen. She had wonderful breakfasts for us and cooked dinner for us one night. We definately didn't go hungry. She was so friendly and entertaining. Though the B & B was well off the main beaten path is was well worth the drive. We are planning on coming back next year for our anniversary. You will love it!


Pinhook Plantation House

5 on November 06, 2009

Attended a wedding at this B&B which was beautifully done. Stayed 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the food and host. What a lovely weekend!


What more could you ask for?

4.4 on October 28, 2009

Beautiful inn! Views were incredible, food was delicious, atmosphere was cozy, hospitality was impeccable.


Feels like home

4.4 on September 21, 2009

Our stay at Pinhook was wonderful. Ellen made us feel like we were at home. The breakfast was outstanding. We are SO glad that we found this B&B - it was just what we needed for our weekend getaway.


Elegance and Comfort

5 on September 16, 2009

Our three night stay at Pinhook Plantation House was tranquil and relaxing. Each room has been carefully decorated for both beauty and comfort. Sitting on the front porch looking out over the wide open hills would give any guest inner peace. Each breakfast was a culinary feast (we certainly didn't need to eat lunch) and we so enjoyed getting to know our hostess over coffee and tea. The location might seem remote but we were amazed at the local offerings; even a glider plane ride! If we are back through eastern TN you can be sure we will be staying at Pinhook.


Beautiful setting

5 on September 02, 2009

Clean and comfortable room. Excellent service. Food was superb. Ellen was a gracious, warm innkeeper. One of our best B&B experiences.


wedding anniversary

5 on August 16, 2009

We have been going to pinhook for the last 4 years and staying on our anniversary and on my birthday and Ellen has always made our stay so great the food is soooo good we feel very welcome and at home there we cant wait to come back And we tell everyone about pinhook and Miss Ellen


Very nice!

4.8 on August 13, 2009

After looking at the pictures of the rooms on the web, we were surprised when we arrived that they were larger and nicer than we had expected! Ellen is a great hostess and a very good cook - breakfast was really yummy. Views are pastoral - very nice to watch the moon rise over the treetops from the balcony. The hot tub didn't look all that well-maintained, but it was too hot for a soak anyway. All in all, this is a fine place and I'd recommend it to others!


Privacy and beauty

5 on August 02, 2008

Like walking into a "Southern Living Magazine" Great food, very spacious suite and beautiful view.


Weekend getaway

4.6 on August 22, 2007

We had a very pleasent weekend at pinhook b&b Helen is such a great host made us fill at home.We really enjoyed it


Pinhook Plantation House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $70 - $150
  • Reviews (30) 4.7
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4237906606
  • Mobile 1-4237906606

Visit Website »

View details

Top