Recent Reviews in Tallahassee, Florida

Wonderful stay at McFarlin House at McFarlin House B&B (Quincy, Florida)

5 reviewed on August 30, 2016

We came to Quincy for a water ski tournament and decided on a B&B instead of a regular hotel. We have stayed at many B&B's and the McFarlin House surpassed them all! Richard and Tina are lovely and the breakfast was awesome. The rooms are absolutely beautiful! We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B in Quincy Fl at McFarlin House B&B (Quincy, Florida)

4.8 reviewed on July 06, 2016

Stayed over the 4th of July weekend. This was our 4th or 5th stay with Richard and Tina. Richard makes the best breakfast every morning. Very charming old house. Clean rooms and free wifi. Will definitely be staying here again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Feels like a stay in Europe at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2016

The personal architecture, hard work, and detailed design that this couple has put into their B&B is outstanding. Highly recommended for a beautiful stay. They are very friendly, accommodate to your needs, cook great food, and have amazing rooms that will exceed your expectations.

View more reviews for this inn


A Piece of Paradise at Avera-Clarke House Bed & Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on May 16, 2016

We just returned from a wonderful weekend getaway at Troy and Gretchen's piece of paradise...Wonderful people, warm, friendly as was the atmosphere all throughout this little town. They gave us great advice as to what to do, and where to eat dinner. We never ate lunch as breakfast was so tasty and filling! This paradise Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful short walk to the town. I will recommend to all our friends...thank you so very much!

View more reviews for this inn


Ready to return! at McFarlin House B&B (Quincy, Florida)

5 reviewed on March 05, 2016

One of my favorite Bed & Breakfast Inns ever! Richard & Tina have created a fabulous retreat in this gorgeous old mansion. You feel so welcome and all comforts are generously provided. I think they have thought of just about everything to make a guest delighted to stay. I loved staying in the sports room with all of the baseball memorabilia. Richard is a good cook and spirited story teller, so now I'm looking for an excuse to go back..........it sure is fun.

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyable European Stay at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

4.6 reviewed on February 14, 2016

This was a very interesting place, in which they took an ordinary house and extensively remodeled it into a rather unique quaint European villa. The owner, Jean-Michel is an interesting well travelled man. He did most of the art work as well as the Italian architecture and outside courtyard. He also made a wonderful breakfast from scratch consisting of tasty pastries. The Romantic Garden Room The bed seemed a bit small for a Queen and the wicker love seat a bit uncomfortable to watch TV. But the rest of the place was beautiful and romantic. By, 50 State Bucket List

View more reviews for this inn


Great Mother Daughter Outing! at McFarlin House B&B (Quincy, Florida)

4.8 reviewed on January 27, 2016

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Richard and Tina. It was a very cold weekend and when we arrived our room was nice and toasty. We watched movies explored the house and had the most wonderful breakfast. I would definitely recommend the McFarlin House to anyone wanting to get away for a much needed rest. Thank you, Richard and Tina.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at McFarlin House B&B (Quincy, Florida)

5 reviewed on December 12, 2015

Our room was beautiful and comfortable. We were fortunate to see the house decorated for Christmas. It was just beautiful! We had a delicious breakfast and we highly recommend staying here if you are passing through Quincy.

View more reviews for this inn


I always wanted to live in a Victorian type house. at McFarlin House B&B (Quincy, Florida)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2015

Beautiful surroundings, good friends and food

View more reviews for this inn


A very good, but not great, experience at McFarlin House B&B (Quincy, Florida)

3.2 reviewed on July 31, 2015

My wife wanted something special to experience our 2nd anniversary. I also wanted to get away from the city. The result was a three day and two night trip to the northwest of Tallahassee, FL. It had been a long time since I stayed at a B&B, remembering that there were no TVs, phones, laundries, elevators, etc; but given that we now have cell phones, I gave it a try. What I found was atypically friendly hosts, but still the old house with creaky wooden floors, no counter space in the bathroom, too few electrical outlets, old shower equipment, very DARK rooms, and a very HOT room that we stayed in. Others there complained of being too cold, so we got the hottest room in the house. I cut my foot tripping twice on the black rocking chair between the bed and bathroom, due to the very dark room, with lighting too faint to light them well. The bathtub was unusual, leaking water out as you try to bathe. Yet this was the only B&B I have ever visited that offered a supper. And they allowed you to schedule the time up until 7 pm. I even called from a state park saying that I would be late, and they held supper for us. And the supper was huge and excellent. The breakfasts likewise were excellent. So, it was everything that people usually want from a B&B, including an old historical house with period furnishings. Lots of history for that small town northwest of Tallahassee. I guess you need to come with the appropriate B&B mentality. I had not been to one in years, feeling the strangeness of stepping back in time, like stepping into a Charles Dickens "Great Expectations" movie. There are many parks an hour away along the Gulf coast, but the many small towns that surround Tallahassee are pretty depressing. Maybe you would enjoy shopping for "antiques" in stores around the area, but it just seemed run down to me. I far prefer the area along the Gulf coast that we visited.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and Charming at Avera-Clarke House Bed & Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on July 07, 2015

Our Wedding was Amazing! The Avera-Clarke House was such a beautiful setting , Gretchen and Troy were wonderful Hosts. A perfect weekend. Thank you for helping make it so special!

View more reviews for this inn


What a blessing in every way! Great value! Must go! at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on May 15, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed this B & B tremendously! It was so relaxing, serene and beautiful! The food was outstanding for breakfast and dinner! The service was so personal and made us feel special! The bed was comfortable and the room spacious and convenient. Jean Michel and Martha are delightful too! We highly recommend all to visit. you won't be disappointed. We can't wait to go again! Karen & Steven

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Hosts at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on May 03, 2015

I have not had the pleasure of staying at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast as an overnight guest, but am looking forward to it in the future. Martha and Jean Michel were gracious enough to prepare a private dinner for 4 to celebrate our daughter's college graduation last night. Jean Michel charmed us with his stories and Martha served us the most impeccable meal. Both the Salmon and the Chicken melted in our mouths, each was served with exotic Forbidden Rice, as well as fresh baked bread. To top off the meal was delicious homemade lavender ice cream. It was without a doubt the best meal I have ever had. Thank you Martha and Jean Michel for your hospitality. I look forward to visiting soon. Katie M.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Bridal Luncheon at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on April 22, 2015

I wanted a vintage environment for this luncheon and The Cottage provided it. The unique details were everywhere. The food was gourmet and reasonable, the crystal and China beautiful. Frenchy and Martha are warm and gracious and more than happy to show guests around this quaint B&B tucked into a quiet street of historic Monticello. It is amazing what they have created. All my guests were entranced.

View more reviews for this inn


Above and Beyond Service at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

4.6 reviewed on March 23, 2015

Recently used the John Denham House as a base of operations for some biological work on the Aucilla River. Long days in the field meant we were up very early and back late. Ms. Inmon and her team had the early breakfasts ready for us well before dawn.....and those meals were wonderful! And the team were smiling to boot! Couldn't dream of more responsive and friendly folks. Dr. Scott E.

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend getaway at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

4.0 reviewed on December 17, 2014

Stayed at the Denham house back in June. It was a wonderful experience. Great breakfast included and friendly staff. The staff couldn't do enough for you. In fact planning another trip back in April 2015.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely and Comfortable! at McFarlin House B&B (Quincy, Florida)

3.0 reviewed on December 04, 2014

After many hours of driving on a dark, rainy, cold night...what a joy to see McFarlin House all lit up and waiting for us. A lovely and comfortable home! Breakfast was yummy!

View more reviews for this inn


Southern Retreat at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights to attend a memorial 6K run in Thomasville, GA. Very clean and nicely appointed rooms and our host was extremely gracious. I would highly recommend this B&B as a alternative to a run of the meal hotel chain.

View more reviews for this inn


30th anniversary at McFarlin House B&B (Quincy, Florida)

4.6 reviewed on August 20, 2014

Liked it so much that we stayed an extra night!! breakfasts were soooo good!! and I loved how the room was kept clean without even bothering us!! We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Match quality-price and location at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

3.2 reviewed on August 11, 2014

Very good! Pat the hostess very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. The mattress in my room I think it has to be renew soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

4.4 reviewed on July 19, 2014

My husband & I spent two nights as guests at this property (7/14-15/14) upon the recommendation of my niece, who lives in Monticello. Pat, owner/innkeeper, has restored this home as close to its original period as possible, yet keeping it simple and uncluttered. Hospitality, comfort and cleanliness are obviously top priorities; not to mention Pat's delicious homemade breakfasts that we continue to rave about! We are seasoned travelers and give this INN very high marks! Don&Sherry Beaufort,SC

View more reviews for this inn


Girls weekend away at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on July 15, 2014

Meet girlfriends from South Florida for a long weekend over Watermelon Festival. Couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Room was large enough for the four of us to share, plenty of clean towels for all of us, beds where comfortable! Breakfast for first day consisted of fresh fruit, homemade Blueberry Pancakes, bacon and eggs. Second day we were treated to homemade Pecan Waffles eggs and fresh ham, along with fresh fruit. In the afternoons were homemade cookies and in the evenings wine. The B&B was calming, clean, clutter free and welcoming. Great front porch to relax on. We enjoyed taking the Ghost Tour and learning some history about Monticello. Pat and her helper Marcy were wonderful. We didn't want for anything. Would definitely stay again and recommend to everyone. Thank you Pat for making our weekend completely stress free:)

View more reviews for this inn


Our out-of-state visitors loved it! at Avera-Clarke House Bed & Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2014

Our friends were visiting from Virginia for a couple of days and we arranged for their stay at Avera-Clarke in the cottage. They were very happy with the spacious and comfortable accommodations, the friendliness and helpfulness of the hosts, the lovely grounds, and the delicious breakfasts. If you are expecting overnight visitors and are unable to have them stay in your home, treat them to a stay at Avera-Clarke. You won't be sorry because Gretchen and Troy will make sure that your guests have everything they need for a pleasant stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Old World Charm at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2014

I am so glad we stayed with Martha and Jean Michel. The experience is very unique because of all the special details. The design and lavish artistic elements of the cottage have been created by Jean Michel (a charming french-man) and are fun to notice and admire. We enjoyed swinging in the courtyard while listening to the fountain and birds. The backyard garden is cool and filled with unexpected surprises. Martha made delicious home made bread for us. We also had a special dinner with the best salmon I have ever tasted. We loved Martha and Jean Michel because of their kindness and hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Southern Hospitality at Its Best at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2014

My husband and I recently spent two days here. What a special treat! Our room was lovely, the food was divine, and the innkeeper, Pat, is delightful. If you're looking for a quiet retreat in a lovely Southern town, this is the place. And Pat has just started offering an "instant wedding" package for those who want a small, intimate ceremony with all the preparation done for you! I can't say enough good things about the house and it's owner! Kathy H.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Host at McFarlin House B&B (Quincy, Florida)

4.6 reviewed on May 20, 2014

very quiet and the host was great

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience, highly recommended at Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast (Tallahassee, Florida)

5 reviewed on April 14, 2014

From the time I booked my overnight stay at The Little English Guest House, the experience was excellent. Tracey called and gave me easy-to-follow instructions for how to access my room, and in the morning she was a considerate hostess. Breakfast was available, and we shared a pleasant conversation. Additionally, for folks who prefer privacy, Tracey made me feel comfortable to have my own space without intruding. The personal touch of a handwritten welcome card with my name made my evening after a long day of traveling, and the room was great. My only dislike was not being able to stay longer -- it was truly an excellent experience. Supporting a small business instead of a huge corporation was the icing on the cake.

View more reviews for this inn


Luxury while Lobbying in Tallahassee at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on April 11, 2014

My son and I decided to try lobbying in nearby Tallahassee. With hotels at a premium and the prices outrageous, I found the John Denham B and B online. It has been delightful! The 1870's house is restored to its prime, maintaining its charm, with the addition of some more modern conveniences such as private baths in all rooms. Each room has a theme of color and various period antiques. Extremely clean and maintained areas for socializing or just relaxing. The breakfast was outstanding and was ample enough to fill the "bottomless pit" of a teenage boy! The inn-keeper was very helpful and pleasant. I will come back again soon to achieve some political goals in the city only about 20 mins. from this lovely place!

View more reviews for this inn


Steps and No Steps at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

4.2 reviewed on April 04, 2014

After climbing several steps, my less than cordial greeting at the kitchen door, where I saw the hostess working, was to go to another door. At that door, I was told to go around to the front door. So with my bad knees and painful arthritis, I go down side steps, around house and up front steps--all without benefit of railings of any kind. Hostess was nice enough after that. We chose a room with king bed which was comfy but too tall to get into easily. A small step stool would have helped. The bathroom was large but the shower was hard to get water going without getting floor wet. It was impossible to set the unusually large shampoo and conditioner bottles on shower shelves. Lightbulb was out over sink too.

View more reviews for this inn


Thomas and Hanne from Copenhagen, Denmark at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on February 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in this wonderful B&B. We truly enjoyed our stay in Monticello in John Denhams House with Patricia as a very welcoming hostess. The breakfast was the best we had in our 18 days long stay in USA

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}