Haus Schönegg Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
40 Reviews

Write A Review

Stunning views and warm hospitality

4.4 on July 02, 2014

My family of 4 adults and 2 kids and had a true experience of staying in a century old Swiss house with the most breathtaking views ever!! We can't stop raving about it and wish we could stay longer. The warm hospitality of all the family members was very heartening and made us feel at home. The kids had a great time playing with their sons and dogs. We wish we could come back here again one day. Our only low point was that there was just 1 bathroom given we had so many members and it was a struggle getting everyone ready in time. However, the family had informed us of this in advance and so we were prepared. This would have added that additional star to our reviews but this was nothing to worry about given the wonderful experience we had. Thanks Bradley, Mariannne and family!


Warm Hospitality with Gorgeous Scenery

5 on June 21, 2014

The views from the house were stunning. I can't imagine more gorgeous scenery than what we saw out our bedroom balcony. The location was great for its spectacular views and easy access to Interlaken, Thun, and other great attractions. We loved staying out in the "real" Switzerland and we were even fortunate to see local farmers herding their cows up the road to the mountains for the summer. Bradley, Marianna and their children were awesome hosts and we felt very much at home. Our breakfasts were great and their home had a very comfortable atmosphere. We highly recommend this B & B. Kathie Taylor


Stay at Haus Schönegg

5 on June 09, 2014

This was the best and the friendliest bed and breakfast place we have ever stayed in. Bradley and Marianna really made our stay like visiting a family with perks of not helping around the house. First of all, the communication part cannot be easier since they speak 7 languages and can help with suggestions about many local attractions based on your family interests. The house and surroundings were so picturesque that we didn’t want to leave. We could not stop making pictures of the mountains and neighboring villages from our balcony. One of their daughters Lirit was free from school one day and she took us to waterfalls near by and that personal attention really made us feel welcomed. Breakfast in the morning with homemade pancakes, jam and sour cream was delicious.


Fairy tale

5 on January 10, 2014

We booked two nights in Haus Schönegg, from the 24th to the 26th December. We were in 6 adults and 2 kids and, as Brazilians, our wish was having our first X-mas with snow. It seems that this place, and the family who live there, are so magical and blessed that even snow they could deliver to us, at the very best moment: the morning of 25th December, when we woke up with one of the most wonderful views all of us had in our lives. The Alps where colored in a deep white and the lawn, which was still green at the day before, was making no more contrast with Chicho, the beautiful white-haired dog from the House. That was a fairy tale coming from the books to us. Taking some time with the family was an amazing experience, and it is wonderful how this family with their hospitality, some awesome food and also the huge language skills of the kids (who could speak at about 5 idioms each) can catch your best feelings and give you a sense of the peace in which they live on and for which they live for. I strongly recommend!


Outstanding B&B

5 on October 31, 2013

My wife stayed for three night in this delightful B&B in early October 2013. Bradley, Marianna and the children all made us feel so welcome. The steep, winding drive up to their home was a little "hairy" first time but after we had done it a few times it was OK. The "picture postcard"view from our balcony was stunning. The rooms, facilities and breakfasts were outstanding. I can highly recommend this B&B. Kevin


Welcoming and friendly B&B

4.6 on October 16, 2013

Haus Schonegg is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. We were made to feel incredibly welcome not only by Bradley and Marianna but also their charming children (and their gorgeous dogs!). With stunning 360 degree views, breakfasts with local produce and their own fmaily recipes (russian pancakes), comfortable rooms and ideal placement for access to places such as Interlaken and Adelboden we will definately return when in the area again. Cheryl & Jake


Pleasant, Quiet, Inviting and Great Hospitality

5 on September 22, 2013

What a wonderful introduction to B&B's. This was one of the first B&B's my wife, teenage daughter and I have ever visited and we were more than pleasantly surprised. Bradley, Marianna and the kids were great hosts and we immediately felt like we had returned to a long time friend's home for a visit. The rooms were very nice, each room had it's own sink, the shared bathroom and shower were very clean, the balcony and view was just simply breath taking. The area and scenery was so beautiful and pleasant. We loved our walk to the local town, down trails and to the pristine river. We really loved our conversations with not only the parents but the kids! It was so warm and friendly that we regretted not booking a longer stay...we miss Haus Schonegg very much! We would highly recommend this to any and everyone as Haus Schonegg, Bradley, Marianna and the kids now have a special place in our life experiences and in our heart.


Our Swiss Adventure!

4.8 on September 03, 2013

We were not disappointed to stay at Haus Schonegg following stays in London, Paris, and Basel during our trip! We wanted a real taste of Switzerland, with peace and solitude--away from the hustle and bustle. Haus Schonegg was wonderful. Our family of 4 (including 2 teenage kids, ages 13 and 15) had a great time. We were made to feel as part of the family. Our kids enjoyed each other's company playing ping pong, board games, etc., and our entire family was awed by the gorgeous surroundings. It truly is like being in a postcard. For dinner, we made the short walk to Kiental each evening and ate at a local restaurant. Breakfast every morning was prepared by Marianna and was ample and delicious. Our family had no problem navigating each day back and forth to Interlaken and other surrounding areas, using the local bus (which stops just in front of Haus Schonegg) as needed to catch the train. To top off a wonderful stay, we celebrated Maria's 45th birthday our last night there---and Bradley, Marianna, and family were so thoughtful as to prepare a cake to celebrate! It was delicious and what a memorable birthday! Our rooms were comfortable, clean, and had everything we needed. Thank You for everything!!!!


Wonderful visit!

4.8 on September 03, 2013

We had a fantastic weekend at Haus Schönegg. My 4 year old summed it up best: "It's like a hotel, but more like a friend's house." We all felt like we were among friends.


A Memorable Time

5 on September 02, 2013

Our stay at Haus Schonegg exceeded our expections. We stayed longer than we had planned because of the wonderful hospitality and peaceful setting of this bed and breakfast. Each morning we awoke to the sun rising over the mountains and the gentle sound of the rushing river as it tumbled through the valley. We enjoyed warm hospitality, delicious food, and a peaceful reprieve at Haus Schonegg. We have told friends and family in the States of our wonderful time in Switzerland and we phighly recommend Haus Schonegg as our favorite place to stay.


A Gem in the Swiss Alps

5 on July 07, 2013

We loved Haus Schonegg and the family who owns it! Everyone in the family went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Our rooms (and balconies!!) were private and gave us the time to just sit and drink in the beauty together, but whenever we needed help or advice, each were eager to help. When we couldn't find the public grill tucked in the woods they'd told us about, one of them took us there. Above and beyond what we could have expected!! The breakfast Marianna made started our days off perfectly. Rooms are small & comfortable with a sink in each room. Our rooms had small balconies & we spent much of our time on them. A shared bathroom down the hall has a shower separate from the toilets making it not difficult to share. Truly a lovely home transformed into a comfortable BnB w/ small, lovely yard & large picnic table. Enjoyed eating dinner and watching the kids play in the yard, & listening to the cowbells in the distance. The charm and beauty of this BnB & village make the sacrifice of a private bathroom well worth it. Kiental offers wonderful hikes & is located near spectacular outings. Took our car up the Griesalps for a fabulous view & coffee and dessert at a restaurant at the top. Also rode chairlift to top of another mountain in the valley & had a nice 1 hr stroll down. Loved it! We couldn't bear to leave Kiental & Haus Schonegg!


The ideal place to stay.

4.8 on June 23, 2013

After numerous trips to Europe including to Germany, Austria and Switzerland over the past 35 years, I was looking for the ideal place for beauty, relaxation and somewhat away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life for my adult grandson and myself. We found this here in Kiental with a wonderful, generous family who welcomed us like family members. We enjoyed music, excellent conversation and good food and yet had the freedom to be ourselves and go off individually and together into the high Alps. The nearby town is a short walking distance and also provides a sense of history as well as good food. The host family is multilingual and fun to be around.


Peace and Rest

4.4 on June 22, 2013

A wonderful host family- so kind and helpful. The location was close to public transportation. The view in backyard was like a postcard of Switzerland. A great place for peace and quiet and rest.


Unbelievable View!

4.6 on June 16, 2013

We stayed for three nights and had a wonderful time. The mountain view from the room was fantastic. The family went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. A must for anybody visiting the area!


Tranquil getaway

4.2 on June 16, 2013

A wonderful BnB tucked away off the beaten track. A homely lodge hosted by a very welcoming family. Well worth the effort to get there! The location is truly representative of a traditional Swiss alpine village where the villagers still farm for their livelihood.


Wonderful christian atmosphere

4.4 on February 18, 2013

We stayed in this B & B for 3 nights. From the moment we arrived the family was so welcoming. This is why we booked our stay at a B & B was to receive local advice on attractions and get a feel for the culture and community. This family receives an A+ for meeting all of our expectations. It is very obvious why this B & B received an outstanding scenery award. Out of all of our Switzerland photos the one outside of this home is our favorite; it the true beauty of the country!


New Year holidays

4.6 on February 11, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful days at Haus Schonegg this year. Dear Marianna, Bradley and Kids! Thank you for the hearty welcome, delicious buffet and warm, very clean rooms. Your Russian friends, Sasha, Oksana, Andrew and Sergey


Great place to stay

5 on February 09, 2013

Haus Schonegg is a delightful place to stay. The accommodations were clean and well taken care of. The host family went out of their way to treat us as their family. The breakfast was scrumptious. The view was heavenly. Hope to visit again. Highly recommend.


Best vacation ever!

5 on January 08, 2013

Wonderful people, fantastic views, comfortable and cozy chalet, great food!-what more could you ask for? We highly recommend this bed and breakfast. Pam and John Mulhern, Georgia


Very peaceful beautiful

5 on October 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hans Schonegg for 2 days in August and thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the area. Bradley, Marianne and family made us feel very much at home. The breakfast was wonderful with all the home cooked food and we had raclette one evening the best I've ever had Marianne had so much variety in the meal. Delicious salad from her garden as well as mint tea. It was a great place tp stay while we expored Interlachen region. The view is spectcular and I love the little village of Kiental. The Christian music at our meals was so relaxing. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. An excellent place to stay if you are in the area.


A splendid vacation in the swiss alps!

4.8 on October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Haus Schnegg at the end of July. Our 3 nights there were made so enjoyable and peaceful by Bradley, Marianna and the kids. This specific area is a little out of the main hustle and bustle - which gave us the space and quiet we needed. Tips about things to see were readily available. We even took the hosts' bicycles out on a day trip through the surrounding mountains. Upon our arrival all members of the family greeted us and made sure that we were set up OK. Tea and pastries were served overlooking the Blüemlisalphorn. The rooms were clean and met our needs with a small balcony facing the view. Breakfast was the highlight of our stay and included a very wholesome meal according to what we requested. The breakfast is served in the family's dining room in a very romantic atmosphere. In conclusion, I highly recommend the Haus Schonegg as a serene and charming guesthouse during your visit to the swiss alps.


Breathtaking beauty and serenity...

5 on October 04, 2012

If you are looking for breathtaking beauty and serenity, this is the place. The snow-capped mountains are visible from every room and are the backdrop for cowbells and the mountain streams. There is endless hiking and scenery. Bradley, Marianna, and their children are wonderful hosts. They are gracious and flexible. The breakfasts offer a variety of tasty, health, homemade selections, along with homemade bread daily. What a joy it was to have met this beautiful family who love the our Savior, Jesus Christ. His peace and love dwell in this home. (And let's not forget Chicho, their beautiful Italian Sheepdog.) Thank you!


A special, peaceful place to stay

4.4 on September 20, 2012

My mother and I stayed here for one night this summer and were very happy with the stay. There is a great peace there, and a beautiful location, listening to the cow bells during the night and the sound of the river running below. The breakfast was a wonderful spread and it was lovely to meet Bradley and Marianna. It is an interesting house, and a special place to be. We were also very grateful for their flexibility with our arrival time. This is a home away from home, a lovely atmosphere to be in.


Excellent Family and beautiful surroundings

4.2 on September 08, 2012

We had wonderful stay at Haus Schonegg. Family is wonderful with 5 kids. All of them are very caring and make you feel at home. Home cooked breakfast was a real treat every day. Although B&B is away from cities in small village Kiental but the surrounding are just wonderful for relaxation and excellent hiking. Since there is no cafe around in village, Our only suggestion would be convert one small room to Pantry for making tea/coffee or toast etc during odd hrs and also have small laundry for folks who are staying for few days. This will really make Haus Schonegg really home away from home.


The atmosphere of deep spirituality which pervades Haus Schonegg bless everyone who comes there.

5 on September 07, 2012

A warm welcome even though we arrived very late at night. A sense of the presence of God. Comfortable rooms with everything we needed and magnificent views. A delicious and very generous breakfast. I would love to return.


Lovely place

4.4 on September 05, 2012

A very well placed and charming B&B, great hospitality of the owners including their friends. We were traveling with two small children, were offered with two bedrooms and really enjoyed our stay. The possibility of using kitchen when needed was very helpful especially with the children. A very convenient location for exploring Alps.


Amazing place

4.8 on September 05, 2012

We visited this special place this August with our children. We enjoyed the hospitality of a lovely family, who helped us to decide what was best to do in the area. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with balconies to a breathtaking view. The breakfast was superb and we also had a raclette meal which was very good. We can't wait to visit again... D&M Eilon and family


A splendid Alpine retreat!

4.8 on June 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our time with you--your gracious hospitable spirits and the amazing opening onto Kiental Valley. We have been rejoicing in the memories and the photos from our time with you earlier this month. What a life you've been given there! It was precious for us to relax and recreate in the setting of such grandeur and so much history that shapes the story of our own Anabaptist faith. Thank you for sharing of yourselves and your home with us. We will indeed carry the imprint of that time together into our further journeys. May you be blessed as you continue your presence in Kiental.


Excellent!!

4.4 on November 28, 2011

We stayed in Schoenegg House for 5 days in June 2011. The place is a real Alpine village, set in a peaceful, beautiful landscape, atop a mountain. It is still very conveniently placed, 10 minutes away from Spitz, very near Interlaken. We had a simple room, but very clean and functional, with a MAGNIFICENT VIEW! really breatgtaking. The hosts are very helpful and friendly, and the meals we got were superb. In short - a very good choice. Smadar & Yossi Millo, Israel


An Amazing Visit to Haus Schonegg

5 on November 22, 2011

My family of 6 visited Haus Schonegg in Nov. 2011. The location is fabulous, with views of the rugged mountains and the river valley. When we stepped onto the deck from our room, we could hear the river and the sound of cow bells--lovely. Our family had three rooms, each with a great view. Every morning, a full, delicious breakfast was served at the time we requested. We tried both the fondue and the raclette. They were both superb! The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean and homey. However, for our family, the fellowship provided by the hosts made the trip. Their entire family was kind and hospitable. All of our children got along very well and truly enjoyed each other. If we have the opportunity, we definitely hope to return!


Wonderful Experience

5 on November 07, 2011

My wife and I had the wonderful opportunity of staying with Bradley, Marianna and their children in October; they greeted us at the bus stop by their home and helped us lug our suitcases to our room. The room was neat, clean and very comfortable with a great view. After touring their beautiful home, we enjoyed a delicious, traditional Swiss meal with them; their children are pleasant, mature and enjoyable to talk with. This was a great experience! Our only regret is that we didn't have more time to stay at Haus Schonegg---Next time!!! Ted and Barb


Highlight

4.4 on October 26, 2011

Our recent stay at Haus Schonegg was a definite highlight during our recent trip to Europe. To be welcomed and looked after by such a friendly family and to stay in such a beautiful part of Switerzland was an experience we will always remember. And what a great Swiss fondue night. Hope to go back one day John and Debra, South Australia


Warm memories

5 on September 17, 2011

My wife and I have recently stayed at Haus Schonegg for several days. Our hosts and their five wonderful children welcomed us warmly and made us feel at home.We will remember them always with gratitude. The breakfasts were fantastic with a very large selection and attention to detail. The setting of the house is breathtaking.We had beautiful hikes up the valley on two different days and on other days we took day trips to various towns in Switzerland from this rather central location.


Fantastic Holiday in the alps

4.8 on September 17, 2011

We were on a ten day vacation across Germany and Switzerland and were keen on experiencing a couple of days in a Swiss village and took our chance with this delightful B&B...this did turnout to be the most memorable part of our vacation We had an outstanding time at the Haus Schonegg.. The views were stunning and the hospitality warm... Breakfast was just like the ones you read about in the Enid Blyton novels. A must for any one who wants a break from the regular tourist itinerary ....


Warm and Inviting

4.8 on August 15, 2011

We recently stayed for a week, and what warm hospitality we received! The hosts are so friendly and really make you feel welcome. The breakfast each morning was amazing...a few favorites included fresh eggs used to make omelettes...fluffy pancakes with whipped cream and homemade berry sauce...fresh bread! The location is so beautiful...a picture perfect Swiss mountain village!


Premium hospitality - highly recommended

4.8 on July 29, 2011

The 2 days at Haus Schonegg was memorable and too short! The host family provided excellent service from the heart. Meals were welled cooked, tasty esp accompanied with herbal tea, harvested from the garden. Great fellowship with the family members who are all so obliging, caring and professional at the same time. The house and room was comfortable and welcoming, with great views. Memorable, enjoyable stay.


Fantastic !!!!!

4.0 on June 28, 2011

We had experienced the most warm hospitality one may desire . Most Highly recommended.


Truly Great Value with fantastics view

5 on May 17, 2011

Our group of 5 had enjoyed the hospitality and comfort of your home with you & your family during our stay there. The cooking is superb and we had the chance to experience Swiss/Italian food. You had given us a wonderful vacation. We will definitely recommend your B & B to our friends travelling there in the future. THANK YOU. (5 - from SINGAPORE)


Beautiful retreat in the mountains

5 on March 08, 2011

I visited Haus Schonegg when traveling alone one weekend. My stay was wonderful and super exceeded any expectations. The bus driver dropped me off at the door and I was exuberantly welcomed by the whole family including the dog. I slipped off my shoes, was given a fuzzy pair of slippers to wear and shown to my room. My room had a walk out balcony with the most glorious view of the mountains. I awoke each day feeling like Heidi in the Alps. In the morning I walked down the road with one of the boys to get milk from the farmer and fed the chickens. Breakfast was a lavish affair served by the whole family complete with homemade cheese and strawberry jam. In the afternoon I strolled up the hill to the darling village then back along the river. My time here was amazing and I left refreshed and encouraged. The incredibly sweet and hospitable family, coupled with the breathtaking view makes for a unique and unforgettable vacation.


Great Visit

4.6 on March 06, 2011

It was wonderful spending time at the Haus Schoenegg. Our hosts were very accomodating and we enjoyed being part of the family. We had great fellowship around the table and the children were delightful.


Haus Schönegg

Details

  • Nightly Rate SFS 52 - SFS 124
  • Reviews (40) 4.7
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 0041-336760500

View details

Top