Recent Reviews in Stratford, Ontario

Our Yearly Vacation to Stratford is a 10 Year Tradition at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

5 reviewed on September 11, 2014

Members of our Michigan Theatre group Birmingham Village Players have been traveling to Stratford for over 10 years together. I have stayed in several B&B's, but Mornington Rose is by far the best! Everything is fantastic. The breakfasts are my favorite meal of the day and Murray also tempts us with cookies and brownies. The rooms are charming and have everything from your own personal coffee maker to our rooftop balcony. Victoria and Murray are the perfect hosts. Staying with them is like staying with dear friends. I also recommend taking a peek at Victoria and Murray's art studio which is right on the property. You may purchase lovely gifts there . Come and see for yourself how wonderful a stay at the Mornington Rose can be! I can't wait until my next visit!--Suzie Skibicki

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful gem! at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2014

Only stayed one night but next time we would stay longer. Very welcoming hosts who have a lot of pride in their property. The breakfast was superb and would highly recommend a stay here

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic at Woodmont Guesthouse (Stratford, Ontario)

5 reviewed on July 14, 2014

Our expectations of a great week in Stratford, Ontario, were fueled by our tickets to the Stratford Festival. We arrived Sunday early, and Woodmont Guest House had our room ready before our 2 p.m. performance of KING LEAR, which was mesmerizing. The wife/husband team of Randi Patterson and David Patterson own and operate the Woodmont Guest Room, but, perhaps, the actual rulers are Roland (the gregarious) and MacDuff (the shy) dogs, who roam happily and harmlessly about. Roland has never met a stranger, while MacDuff is quite reserved. It's quite the foursome. We stayed four nights and have booked again for next summer. Breakfast was sublime, as were the two dinners we had at the Woodmont. Randi and David are perfectly suited to their roles as hosts, guides, and ultimately, friends. Walking distance to all festival theaters, as well as to center of town. Stratford is lovely, unique, and very, very low key. We can't wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


A Midsummer (Two) Night's Dream Stay at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

4.6 reviewed on June 10, 2014

My fiancé, parents and I recently stayed at the Mornington Rose for a restful long weekend to visit picturesque Stratford and see a play. This beautiful B&B was everything we needed and more! The rooms were very comfortable, breakfast delicious and a very convenient short walk to the main town/shops. Victoria and Murray were very friendly and helpful in making our dinner reservations with a local restaurant, but also respectful of the quiet time we were looking for when relaxing and reading on the house porch or under the gazebo. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and would highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Hospitality plus! at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at Mornington Rose B&B at the beginning of September. It was a truly wonderful experience from the well appointed rooms to the delicious breakfast. Murray and Victoria are extremely hospitable hosts thinking of every need that a guest might have. The location makes it an easy walk to theatres and shopping. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for wonderful accommodation for their stay in Stratford.

View more reviews for this inn


A Hidden Gem at A Valley View B&B (Granton, Ontario)

5 reviewed on September 16, 2013

This is a little piece of heaven situated convenient to Stratford, St. Mary's and London. You are made welcome from the minute you arrive to the moment you leave. It is a unique concept of B&B with a kitchen full of all necessary provisions for you to be able to cater for yourself - this allows you complete independence. As you are the only guests you have complete privacy with Jacqui on hand if required. This accommodation is in a completely rural setting with the advantage of only being a short drive to Stratford for the Festival season. An additional benefit is that Birdlife is encouraged which makes for a spectacular viewing from the Dining Room whilst taking a leisurely breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Incredible Value at an Amazing Price -- A Perfect Stay! at A Valley View B&B (Granton, Ontario)

5 reviewed on September 15, 2013

My husband and I have been renting vacation homes for years, because we like to settle in rather than living out of a suitcase, and we love the flexibility of having a kitchen. When we only have a night or two in a location, we go the B&B route. But A Valley View B&B gives us the best of both worlds! Probably the homiest place we've ever stayed in -- every room is comfortable in just the right way -- with plenty of space for our things without feeling at all cramped. The bird feeders are right outside the dining area's windows. We saw at least 8 different birds, and the black squirrels are gorgeous. As are the gardens -- beautifully kept English style gardens, and everything seemed to be in bloom. Plenty of room to go walking for relaxation or exercise, and the "gravity" lawn chairs made sitting in the garden an experience we didn't want to end! Jacqui stocks the refrigerator with everything imaginable for a delicious breakfast, which we've decided is the perfect way to run a B&B! We can eat when we want, which means we can sleep late or get started on our day's activities at dawn. I spent my days in Stratford at the Shakespeare Festival, doing the tours and Forum events in the mornings and the matinees in the afternoon, and then came back to enjoy the countryside till dark. Her property is so expansive with only the very occasional car passing that sitting in the garden is utterly serene, with only the water in her garden fountain and the occasional bird song breaking the silence. Definitely, on all levels, the best value in the area. We won't come back to Stratford unless we can stay at Valley View again!

View more reviews for this inn


Memorable Time at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

4.4 reviewed on August 25, 2013

Overall wonderful experience. Lovely, comfortable, fragrant and clean room. Generous nature in providing above and beyond. Lovely hosts with Victoria and Murray who even provided me with a special birthday celebration. I'll definetly come back one day. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Paradise Found at A Valley View B&B (Granton, Ontario)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2013

A little piece of heaven on earth. My wife and I needed to get away from the maddening insanity of urban living and find some us-time for a change. This absolutely charming place nestled very nicely off some lovely rolling landscape provided us with just that. It was exactly what we were looking for. But the difference maker for us was the warm kindness and care that Jacquie showed throughout our stay. Your superb hospitality was second to none from beginning to end. Thank you for going out of your way to make our time with you a very rewarding and memorable one. We most certainly appreciated you taking the time to share your photo albums and stories with us. Indeed, every minute of our stay in A Valley View was priceless. We are looking forward to visiting with you again in the near future. God bless. Ed & Vivien, Mississauga, ON

View more reviews for this inn


lovely home; gracious hosts at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

4.6 reviewed on June 04, 2013

We have stayed a couple of times now with Victoria and Murray in the lovely Ivory Room at Mornington. Murray and Victoria and very gracious and generous hosts. Their standards are very high; they try their best to accommodate every palate and provided us with those little extras that are not expected, but that make the visit stand out. Murrary's generousity in driving us back to the train station several hours after we had already checked out is one example of the outstanding hospitality and service provided and why we will be returning again this year to their lovely home.

View more reviews for this inn


great retreat for our 45th anniversary at Stone Maiden Inn B&B (Stratford, Ontario)

5 reviewed on May 21, 2013

This was our second stay at the Stone Maiden Inn. I mentioned to our son how much his mother enjoyed our first stay there 2 years ago. He gave us a gift certificate for 2 nights stay for our 45th anniversary. This place is so wonderful. The breakfasts were amazing. Such professional presentation by the in-house chef. The Hostess (Leah) was also totally professional. She certainly fits in the very professional approach given to every aspect of this fine B&B. High quality linen and very comfortable beds. We will return for sure. All the best to Pat, Kim and their staff. You are doing a WONDERFUL job. Ken and Brenda

View more reviews for this inn


Went above and beyond my expectation. at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

4.6 reviewed on March 03, 2013

I loved the Ivory Room we stayed in! It was very neat, clean, comfy and cozy for my sister and I. Because of the frigid temperature outside, the veranda was inaccessible. However we were warm inside and treated with spiked hot chocolate to soothe our senses. And even more soothing was the delicious and impressive breakfast served at 9 a.m. which was perfect timing. The servery outside our door was convenient and easily accessible for a late evening beverage and snack. Our hosts Torie&Murray were gracious and sociable and paid close attention to fine details. I will no doubt be telling all my friends about my fabulous stay at the Mornington Rose. And I plan on coming back here again soon! -Vicki

View more reviews for this inn


More Than We Expected at A Valley View B&B (Granton, Ontario)

5 reviewed on October 22, 2012

I found this single-unit gem on B&B.com yet didn't know it was a single-unit site until we arrived. It was perfect for a real getaway from everything including other people! After Jacqui showed us around, we thought we might have to go out to eat, only to find a stocked kitchen! This was the perfect option for road weary travelers as we were - so we stayed in and cooked a light supper. The next day we set out to explore the large property on foot and found our way to a lovely path along a quiet creek dotted with beaver lodges and a beaver dam. The property was large enough to walk and talk together and reconnect to nature and one another. At every turn, Jacqui had taken time to make the view of interest and beckon us further to explore the next step. The vistas and snapshot views were pleasing, relaxing, and left us wanting more. Next time we'll stay for a longer visit - just to be alone for together time. Thanks Jacqui Jay and Emmee Chicago IL USA

View more reviews for this inn


The only place to stay in Stratford at Stone Maiden Inn B&B (Stratford, Ontario)

5 reviewed on October 20, 2012

Since the new owners Pat and Kim Walsh took over the Inn three years ago, I would not consider any other place to stay while in Stratford for the Festival theater. I have been travelling to Ontario for over twenty five years and since returning to find the Inn under their direction, feel like it's home again. Excellent breakfast, prepared to order - full or light selections; impeccably clean and well decorated rooms combined with their knowledgeable concern for the clients comfort make it the best location in town.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful and relaxing stay in Stratford at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

4.6 reviewed on September 16, 2012

While in Stratford for the festival, we had a wonderful stay at Mornington Rose. The rooms are lovely and the breakfast delicious - what more could we want.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely august weekend at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

4.6 reviewed on September 14, 2012

A group of four friends travel to Stratford every year and this was the first year we stayed at The Mornington Rose. It was a very pleasant stay, the food was scrumptious and the garden was a delight. I would highly recommend to others and our group are in agreement that we will stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Valley View - Again at A Valley View B&B (Granton, Ontario)

4.6 reviewed on September 09, 2012

As in past visits, Jacqui exceeded our expectations - in terms of comfort, provisions, and convenience. We have stayed here three times, and, each time has been thoroughly enjoyable. We love the privacy, separate entrance, so you can come and go, and enjoy your time together. Close to St Mary's, and only a 20 minute drive to Stratford, we have always found it to be very convenient. We will be back the next time we visit Stratford.

View more reviews for this inn


Hard Act to Follow at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2012

We had a girls' week-end at Mornington Rose and were truly pampered. The house itself has a great deal of charm and ambiance. Our room (with all it's soft tones and elegance) was perfect...really loved the roof-top garden. The upstairs servery was a nice touch...easy to access when all you want is a hot or cold drink and Murray's incredible cookies! Breakfasts were beyond amazing! The quality of the food, the presentation and service surpassed any 5 star hotel in New York. Torrie and Murray are great hosts...will make you feel welcome and pampered. Thanks again Donna and Mimi

View more reviews for this inn


Well worth a return trip at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

4.6 reviewed on July 20, 2012

Wonderful breakfasts--I visited on a business trip, and would love to return for a more leisurely stay. Lovely room, wonderfully welcoming hosts, convenient location, and superb cookies for a late night snack all contributed to a splendid trip.

View more reviews for this inn


Break FEAST at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

5 reviewed on May 30, 2012

We just came home from our 8th visit to Mornington Rose. Each year it gets better and better. The breakfasts prepared by Victoria and Murray are exceptional. The room is always beautifully clean and Victoria and Murray go out of their way to be helpful! Will continue coming back each year as it is "home" in Stratford to us! Judith and Robert Case

View more reviews for this inn


Stratford Serenity lives up to its name! at Stratford Serenity (Stratford, Ontario)

5 reviewed on October 10, 2011

We stayed in the Grand Room at the Statford Serenity this past weekend and absolutely loved it. I have already recommended it to friends and family. Our room was exceedingly comfortable and opened up onto the verandah and a lovely view of the property. Corrie was so kind and hospitable, always offering us something to eat or drink, and really going out of her way to make our stay perfect. We felt immediately at home. And the breakfast. We were thoroughly spoiled. Coffee, tea, a choice of juice, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, ham and cheese melted on croissants, eggs and bacon made to order, toast and jams, waffles with stawberries and whipped cream. There is no question about it - we will be back! - Kara and Brendon

View more reviews for this inn


Mornington Rose Shakespeare Festival Visit at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

4.0 reviewed on September 17, 2011

This is the second time we stayed at the Mornington Rose B & B and once again it was a pleasure. Victoria and Murray are gracious, informed hosts who provide great breakfasts, and make the extra effort to help make your stay perfect.

View more reviews for this inn


Once again, a great treat! at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

4.8 reviewed on August 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for the second time recently and, as before, we greatly enjoyed our time here. The hosts are caring and very attentive to detail. The rooms are comfortable and immaculately clean. Each of the rooms is different, and we have stayed in two of them. Our breakfast each day was quite a treat. The food selection is distinctive and wonderfully tasty, and the service can't be beat. The common areas are nicely decorated and a selection of good reading material is always at your fingertips. They helped us choose restaurants and assisted us in getting our reservations. We will surely return to Mornington Rose!

View more reviews for this inn


Great rooms; great atmosphere; friendly hosts. at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

4.8 reviewed on August 22, 2011

Victoria and Murray add little touches to the rooms and service that make their B&B a first-rate operation. I've stayed at four different B&Bs in Stratford, and this one is by far the best.

View more reviews for this inn


Such a pampering experience! at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

4.8 reviewed on August 20, 2011

I am so pleased that our group found Victoria's and Murray's B&B. We are a group of 8 who 'took over' the entire house and enjoyed every minute of it. The food and service are impecable. The presentation at breakfast is truly a feast for the eyes. All the little extras that they do (water, pop, coffee, tea, and the 'to die for' chocolate chip cookies every day - Thanks, Murray!) are not missed by us. This is the best place we've stayed for the Festival. Victoria and Murray are such gracious hosts. You will NOT be disappointed!

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional Experience at Stone Maiden Inn B&B (Stratford, Ontario)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2011

The Stone Maiden Inn is superb in every way. I was particularly impressed by the choices available for breakfast--4 juice options and 4-5 entree choices...not typical of most B & B's. Everything is very elegant. The breakfast menu completely changed from Saturday to Sunday--something atypical for a B & B. I also liked that the chef uses local food and products.

View more reviews for this inn


Not just a great place to stay, but an amazing experience! at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

4.8 reviewed on June 15, 2011

While the rooms, cleanliness and value are what you would expect for the bed and breakfast community of Stratford, where the Mornington Rose truly excels is in service and dining. Victoria and Murray are simply sensational cooks, and their gourmet breakfasts every morning were among the finest morsels of food I have ever placed into my mouth. Coupled with this, you have daily, fresh-baked cookies for quick snacking, an elaborate collection of teas, coffees, and hot drinks and free wi-fi. What more could you ask for? How about a large porch, balcony and backyard area to laze away the sunny days reading the paper? Well, they've got that too. Of course, it was too cold in early May, but I can't wait to go back during the summer months. A wonderful experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Another great visit at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

3.0 reviewed on June 12, 2011

Saying that Mornington Rose meets our expectations is only appropriate for us since we have experienced Victoria's and Murray's on several occasions and have come to expect the outstanding experience that staying with them represents. Theirs is a wonderful B & B and they are great innkeepers. Give them a try, you will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Stratford Bliss ! at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast (Stratford, Ontario)

5 reviewed on May 25, 2011

Four of us had a wonderful although rainy weekend at the Rose. We were met with gracious and kind hosts who went beyond the call of duty ! Our wedding was planned for on the island however Mother Nature was not co-operating. Victoria and Murray kindly allowed us to conduct the service on their beautiful porch. We all spent much of our day and evening visiting and eating on that very porch ! Our vegetarian breakfast was lovely and our rooms were clean and well stocked. Loved the service station in the upstairs hall ! Thanks so very much for a lovely weekend ! Tracey and Mark, Moni and Tim

View more reviews for this inn


A special experience for a group of friends at Stone Maiden Inn B&B (Stratford, Ontario)

4.8 reviewed on May 16, 2011

I've just returned from a wonderful weekend in Stratford, ON, spent with a group of women friends at the beautiful Stone Maiden Inn where we experienced the exceptional hospitality of innkeepers Kim and Pat Walsh. All of us have traveled extensively and have stayed in inns and hotels around the world. We agreed the Stone Maiden ranked among the very best by location, management, attention to detail, attractiveness, price, and even food (thanks to Mark, the inn's gifted young chef). I can't wait to return for another visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}