Get a free $50 gift card with a $250 gift card purchase

Recent Reviews in Stonington, Connecticut

Wonderful Waterfront Inn at Steamboat Inn (Mystic, Connecticut)

4.2 reviewed on September 19, 2014

We stayed here via a gift certificate from my son. It was a wonderful experience. The inn is right on the river/waterfront and located right downtown, so my wife loved easy access to all the shops in Mystic. The room was incredible, the only thing that was not exceptional was the breakfast. It was a normal muffin, bagel, coffee juice and scrambled eggs. Don't get me wrong, it was still very good, but often at a B&B you'll get an exceptional breakfast. You'll have a great time if you go, and we'll be back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Historic Stay at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on September 13, 2014

We absolutely loved staying in this inn. Built in 1710, the owners have cared for this old beauty yet having modern bath facilities & amenities for their guests. Interesting history of this home/tavern. Be sure to check out the bartender's "cupboard & the "ballroom" upstairs with once-movable wall. Breakfasts are amazing served in the lovely dining room. During evening cookies & coffee or tea, be sure to sit in the parlor/library. Great rescue dog, Kelly, will help take care of leftover breakfast meats. Do yourself a favor, stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely, tucked-away B&B at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on September 08, 2014

Beautiful 18th century house. Rooms are large and comfortable. Grounds are extensive and quiet. Sandra and Jim are very accommadating, nice people without being intrusive. House is very close to major attractions, incl. Mystic town, Seaport, Aquarium, Stonington Burough,etc. Would come back.

View more reviews for this inn


What a wonderful place! at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2014

We spent two wonderful nights at the inn. The room was terrific and the breakfasts were delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Quiet Place To Stay & Relax at Steamboat Inn (Mystic, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2014

From the moment you check in, you're treated like royalty. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Great clean room with comfortable bed, fabulous tub/shower. Breakfast was terrific each day with a good deal of choices. Complimentary soft drinks and coffee all day. Sherry and cookies each evening. All included. Would most definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay and unwind.

View more reviews for this inn


Another second penny was like stepping back in time.. at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on July 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A New England treat! at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

3.8 reviewed on July 08, 2014

A mile off RT95 yet it is everything you could ask for in a New England B&B! Very true to the era in which the home was built except the indoor plumbing! Stonington and the surrounding area offers special discoveries year round. Food, history casinos and easy access. Try it you won't be disappointed!

View more reviews for this inn


Sandra's breakfasts are worth the price of admission. at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

4.4 reviewed on July 02, 2014

Not for everyone. You have to love quirky old houses, cats, dogs, and interesting people. Jim and Sandra are gracious hosts full of suggestions of where to eat, ideas of things to do and places to see, and stories about their varied lives.This was our third visit to Another Second Penny Inn and we look forward to staying there again and again.

View more reviews for this inn


Very homey! at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on June 19, 2014

This was a very pleasant stay. The owners are very nice and friendly and their animals are too. They have rescue dog, cat and horses which was a real treat.The breakfast was delicious and the room very comfortable and beautiful. Our rescue dog was welcome there and we all had a great time. Highly recommended!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A step back in Time at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2014

What a warm, comfy-cozy and enjoyable stay. The breakfast were home-made deliciousness. Every day something different and special to eat. We loved "The Russell Suite", two rooms of old time décor and charming antiques. The Clawfoot 'spa' tub was especially delightful after a long day of touristing around the Mystic area. Sandra & Jim love what they do and it shows is everything about "Another 2nd Penny Inn. You really will enjoy your stay, what are you waiting for..

View more reviews for this inn


A Hidden Gem in SE Connecticut at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2014

I was extremely impressed and pleased with my recent stay at "Another Second Penny Inn" in Stonington, CT. The inn keeper is Sandra and not only did she greet me warmly as I pulled into the driveway, she helped me carry my suitcase to my room on the second floor when she realized I had a knee injury. The house is a beautiful, historic, 300 year old residence that is furnished tastefully with antiques and surrounded by well maintained grounds. I stayed in the spacious & sunny Denison room which has a huge private bath complete with a modernized claw-foot jetted tub, twin sinks and a small refrigerator with assorted beverages provided by the Inn. I will reiterate that this is a 300 year old house so the floors are wide-planked wood and they do slant and creak which I expected but that just adds to the character. Downstairs are a common room/library and the formal dining room where Sandra serves a scrumptious, many coursed breakfast each morning on her grandmother's antique china at a time you select......8:30 or 9:30 and I do believe there are other options available. Sandra prepares breakfast with fresh ingredients including eggs from the hens on the property and you do not leave the table hungry.......all I can say about the food is YUMMY! She provides enough great conversation amongst the guest to make you feel comfortable with one another but is not overbearing. The Inn is centrally located with easy access to I-95 and the shoreline towns of SE CT...it's about 30 mins to Clinton and the premium shopping outlets, very close to Mystic Seaport and Aquarium, Westerly & Watch Hill, RI, Stonington Borough and both the Mohegan Sun Casino and Mashantucket Pequot Casino. It took me exactly 45 mins to get to TF Green airport in Providence. Everything about this B&B is terrific and if I ever get back to that area to stay, I will definitely stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


A Little bit of Heaven at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on May 21, 2014

Beautiful surroundings in a lovely area of Conn. Close to Mystic, Conn. and area points of interest. Our hosts were absolutely wonderful. Felt like we were stepping back in time. Warm welcome with delicious treats served on beautiful china. Truly a big wow!! Breakfast was superb. Couldn't ask for anything more. Definitely worth a visit and most of all a relaxing stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding B&B! at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on March 30, 2014

This is absolutely the best Bed & Breakfast we have ever stayed at! They had very nice rooms, made better by the fact that they had a lot of history in the house, with which the proprieters were well acquainted. We didn't need it but they even make accommodation for certain dietary needs in a fantastic 5-course breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely and quaint B&B at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on March 19, 2014

Recently stayed in the Russell Suite of Another Second Penny Inn. It was adorable! Lots of space, bed was comfortable and the fireplace was nice. I would only warn people of the shower. It's the most high pressure hand held shower I've used! The InnKeeper was pleasant and accomodating. The 5 course breakfast that was served in the dining room made us feel like royalty. She also had homemade cookies and snacks out throughout the day which was nice. We added the celebration package of flowers, wine and cheese. The cheese plate was magnificent. I also like that the room had a mini fridge, stocked with soda and water.The location was also perfect! 10 mins from Mystic, and 10 mins from downtown Stonington. This was my first experience with a B&B and I would highly recommend Another Second Penny Inn if visiting Mystic.

View more reviews for this inn


valentines day stay at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on March 05, 2014

1st time at an inn, on a snowy valentines day stay. was very happy with the privacy and rooms. stayed in the suite, & it was so romantic we wanted to move in. great restaurants very close by and the breakfast was amazing. Jim and Sandra were great people and very kind. everything about the experience was perfect!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved Another Second Penny at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

4.4 reviewed on February 27, 2014

Lovely place, the Denison is a fantastic room. Although the bed is a bit too squeaky. our manager was delightful and a great cook.

View more reviews for this inn


A sincere pleasure at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2014

It is very infrequent that I take the time to review restaurants or hotels, etc.; but in this instance I felt compelled to give credit where credit is due. This B&B is exceptionally clean, it has that mix of historic charm and modern amenities that I was looking for, and the inn keepers are extremely warm and kind. I would recommend staying here again... I certainly will be returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing weekend getaway at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on November 14, 2013

Jim and Sandra are wonderful innkeepers; they gave us recommendations for restaurants and places to visit in the area and did everything they could to make our stay as relaxing as possible. Breakfast in the morning was delicious, and we particularly enjoyed our conversations with the other visitors of the inn. Would love to stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely old house in the woods at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

3.8 reviewed on November 01, 2013

My family and I recently stayed just for one night as it was located near Mystic Seaport which we were interested in visiting. The house was very old with tons of character and charm...in line with that, this is not your pristine, minimalist place to stay and if you expect that you'll do fine. The bathroom in the Russell suite looked new and clean and had a rolled top bath with a shower above it. It had a gas fireplace which was nice on a cold evening coming home from dinner. The bed was fairly creaky probably due to the frame arrangement. Breakfast was served in the dining room downstairs...beautifully set with many courses to delight in. Lovely way to start the day. All in all, a lovely old house in a beautiful setting with a few liveable quirks.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Inn - Prime Location at Steamboat Inn (Mystic, Connecticut)

4.2 reviewed on October 19, 2013

We received a warm welcome on arrival and we're delighted with our room (No.1-Ariadne) which was very comfortable and spacious having a large bathroom with a double whirlpool tub. There was a lovely view of the river and being on the first floor gave more privacy. The location is ideal for restaurants and shops and is within easy walking distance of the excellent Mystic Seaport Museum, a must visit. This rated in the top three of all the Inns we stayed at during our 3 week tour of New England.

View more reviews for this inn


Serene at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on October 17, 2013

Enjoyed the serenity of the grounds. The breakfast was delicious. The Inn was comfortable. All places to visit was convenient b/c Rt. 95 was right around the corner. Will visit again soon :)

View more reviews for this inn


A splendid B&B at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on October 11, 2013

Having run a B&B in England for 12 years we tend to be hyper critical. As this was our first stay in a B&B in USA we did not know what to expect. The whole experience was very good and the attention to detail 1st class. Sandra's breakfast was worth the stay on it's own! Thank you for making our stay in Stonington so memorable. David & Cally Horton. Upper Farringdon, Hampshire. UK

View more reviews for this inn


Another Second Penny Inn at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

4.4 reviewed on September 25, 2013

Loved the personal touches....the breakfast table was so beautifully set, & the meal was lovely! I felt right at home.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful and pretty. at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on September 02, 2013

Great service and room quality in a quaint little inn. Breakfast was exceptional, created to our wishes and served on beautiful china. The only suggestion we would give would be to improve signage; we drove by it once and took a while to figure out which door to go to at first. Otherwise, awesome!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent at Steamboat Inn (Mystic, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 19, 2013

As always!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect quick escape at Steamboat Inn (Mystic, Connecticut)

3.2 reviewed on August 13, 2013

My husband and I needed to get away for 2 days after a very stressful month. We found a perfect retreat at Steamboat Inn. The room was wonderful though at peak tourist time being along the water at street level might be a little intrusive. Very clean and loved taking the bikes out around town. The only negative was that the staff were not overly friendly. They were gracious when asked to leave the car parked after we checked out and to take bikes, but a little short on that B&B hospitality. Would stay again though and would recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, as always! at Steamboat Inn (Mystic, Connecticut)

4.2 reviewed on August 12, 2013

I love staying in this small Inn. Beautiful setting, friendly but not cloying, well maintained.

View more reviews for this inn


An Excellent Getaway at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay in the Dennison Room at Another Second Penny. The room was super-clean and charming. Sandra made an excellent breakfast every morning (home-made coffee cake, muffins, cinnamon rolls, blueberry pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, fruit dishes...) so much variety and everything was delicious! I jogged in the surrounding areas everyday of our stay and found Stonington to be beautiful, green, and peaceful. The location of Another Second Penny allows for many convenient day trips. To name just a few, Mystic, Providence, Newport are all an easy distance to travel. Also, you will love the pets, Kelly and Hobo; just like their owners, they make for a very welcoming environment!

View more reviews for this inn


Old New England Bed and Breakfast at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

3.0 reviewed on August 06, 2013

Enjoyed our stay

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful, Comfortable and Friendly Atmosphere at Another Second Penny Inn (Stonington, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2013

My husband and I were very pleased with the clean, comfortable room in which we stayed and enjoyed reading about the history of the inn. The breakfasts were fabulous and filling--a great way to start each day of sightseeing. The only thing we didn't care for was the tub/hand-held shower which was a little difficult. Wonderful hostess and overall experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Another Second Penny Inn (4.56)
  2. The Inn at Stonington (4.41)
  3. Steamboat Inn (4.40)
Top
}