Recent Reviews in Stockbridge, Massachusetts

A 6-star B&B! at Federal House Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on June 19, 2016

I've stayed at B&Bs and small inns worldwide, and Federal House Inn is one of the best! The rooms were great, but I feel like that should be standard in a B&B. What sets Federal House apart is the hospitality. The new owners, Marcia and Ken (never met the previous ones, so this isn't meant as a comparison) are warm, inviting, and attentive. They created ease the moment we walked in the door with a friendly welcome, a general tour, and afternoon tea. Our intent when arriving at 4:30 was to check in and immediately go out to dinner; however, we felt so comfortable, we sat down for another hour with tea, crackers and cheese, and out-of-this-world chocolate chip cookies. And, the tea was sweet! A rare treat! Breakfast was served at a time we chose, which happened to be 7am due to our schedule. No matter, everything was ready. So. The food. Unbelievable!! Truly wonderful two course breakfast with a citrus slushie in between. It's Marcia's family recipe. Amazing. Pumpkin scones. Melt in your mouth. Veggie Frittata. Savory and portioned perfectly. Make sure you leave time to savor the breakfast. It's a gift to yourself worth indulging in! I go to the Berkshires once or twice a year for programming at Kripalu, a place with world class food and customer service. It feels like my second home. This year's trip kept me in town for Friday night. Because there's no checkout at Kripalu on Saturdays, I booked a night at Federal House. Now, when I travel to Kripalu, I need to stay longer just to go back to the Federal House Inn because it too feels like my second home! Marcia and Ken, thank you for being part of what makes the Berkshires so special for me.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful inn in the Berkshires at Federal House Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2016

We absolutely adored this inn!! Ken and Marcia were wonderful and could not be more accommodating. The food was outstanding! Make sure to try Ken's special bacon and Marsha's fruit ice! The inn was charming the rooms were large with wonderful fireplaces and the bedding was so comfortable. Tons of things to do in the area! We can not wait to get back!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Couldn't be more lovely at Federal House Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on June 06, 2016

Innkeepers Marcia and Ken create a warm, welcoming atmosphere in their historic home. Breakfasts are spectacular three course affairs, with the most interesting and delicious menus. Comfy beds, and endless attention to every detail of your stay. Unforgettable experience. Highly recommend..

View more reviews for this inn


Hosts Extraordinaire at Federal House Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2016

Our family had three rooms for three nights. We were treated so warmly and generously by our hosts, Marcia and Ken. Great cooks and conversationalists. A wonderful find.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazingly Nice at Applegate Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

3.8 reviewed on May 25, 2016

The staff and owners where amazingly nice. Also had a nice time socializing with other quest during the cocktail hour.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm and inviting B&B at The Garden Gables Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

3.8 reviewed on April 25, 2016

The inn's proximity to the town of Lenox and the ability to walk to the theatre, plus short drives to the Audubon society, Chocolate Springs Cafe and Vittori's Furnace Brook winery was a delightful bonus. The inn is exquisite and the staff/owner that make it so should be applauded!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place at Applegate Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on April 23, 2016

Three friends and I met at Applegate B and B for a one night reunion. We loved staying in the cottage as it had 2 bedrooms sitting areas and its own kitchen. We. enjoyed the wine and cheese while sitting in the beautiful sun room. Breakfast was outstanding with more food than the four of us could possibly eat. Thank you Len and Gloria. We would love to return!

View more reviews for this inn


19th century charm at Inn At Green River (Hillsdale, New York)

5 reviewed on April 16, 2016

We have been staying here for years and will continue to return for as long as we can. The proprietor is not only charming but is a top flight professional, not to mention a terrific cook. A "don't miss" experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Babymoon at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 22, 2016

We had a great time...the atmosphere, the food, the room.. it was amazing!! We will be coming back soon !!!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely, Warm, and Delicious. at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on March 20, 2016

We had the wonderful Birchwood Inn to ourselves for the first week of March when most local inns close. Becca was an attentive host, ensuring tea or coffee was ready whenever we wanted, baking something tasty every afternoon. Her breakfasts were delicious. I could live in the library. We'll be back. Note: the review page wouldn't allow me to select Outstanding or I would have.

View more reviews for this inn


Couldn't have been nicer at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 18, 2016

Ellen, the Innkeep at Birchwood and her staff are lovely people and very helpful. The big public room is everything one could want in a welcoming cozy place to retire to with a book in hand - or simply wander and see what you pick up.

View more reviews for this inn


The Perfect Stay at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 08, 2016

We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Becca was great. Great food. Great library. Great everything!

View more reviews for this inn


Spotless beautiful B&B at Applegate Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 03, 2016

Perfect in every way! From the moment you step in the house, you feel welcome. The house is immaculate and clean. The room was perfect, spacious, quiet and suuuuuper clean! The afternoon wine and cheese was delightful and breakfast the next day was very good.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B at Applegate Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2016

We've stayed at many B&B's and this is by far our favorite. The staff is outstanding, very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend the Applegate Inn in Lee, MA.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay in room #9 at Applegate Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on March 02, 2016

We had a great stay at the Applegate Inn. We stayed in room #9 which is located across form the main house on the ground floor. It was very clean and beautiful. The bed was comfortable. In the evening we jumped into the jacuzzi to relax after a long day skiing. The inn is located close to to Butternut and Jiminy's Peak, so we tried both. I really liked the twilight skiing at Jiminy's and would warmly recommend it. If you make the drive out there and want to stop for the most amazing pizza there's a place called the 'roasted garlic' on the way. Also we found this cute little shop in the town with reasonable thrift prices called 'finders keepers'. The wine and cheese at 5pm and the brandy in the room was great. I wish I could eat more at breakfast but I'm a super picky eater (like a child) and the food was pretty complex (compote, baked apple, salmon cake, stuffed french toast with raisins) but my husband enjoyed the food. We had free wifi in the room though not strong enough to stream a movie so we connected through our phone. I missed having an outside hangout space at night, like a wide picnic table or hammock or a trail to stroll around and look at the stars, I think that's a small thing that could add a lot to this beautiful inn. I really recommend staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


Dynamite light show! at Federal House Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on February 25, 2016

The gas fireplace went "on the Fritz", as they say, but went out in grand style! No problem, there was an electric heater available, and the writhing demise of the fireplace was a glimmering display of memorable proportions. This house is a cozy, welcoming and warm visit, always too short no matter how long the stay. The breakfast is always scrumptious, the room elegant. The afternoon "nibble hour" is a great time to chat with other guests and plan an evening's dine out. Always a memorable time away there, but feels like home. Close to everything there is to do and see in the Berkshires. to paraphrase the Terminator: "We'll be Bach!"

View more reviews for this inn


Applegate Inn at Applegate Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on February 24, 2016

Room 8 is fantastic! The breakfast the next day was unique, tasty and filling. Pam is wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


Like Going HOME! at Applegate Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

4.4 reviewed on February 24, 2016

Wonderful And Welcoming Host. Great attention to details.

View more reviews for this inn


My Wedding at The Garden Gables Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on February 23, 2016

We planned a destination wedding and the Inn and its staff were AMAZING. They helped us every step of the way. While we were there, they were always available to provide EVERYTHING and ANYTHING we needed. The entire weekend (rehearsal and dinner, ceremony) was perfect. The rooms were comfortable and beautiful. They catered all our events and the food was SUPERB! Thanks Chef Justin!!!! Justin was finely in tune with everything going on. When my bride missed out on the cupcake flavor she wanted, he somehow knew about it and somehow came up with more and gave to her the next morning. He secretly made a special request and surprised me with it. He was spectacular. Jayne was the inn's special event coordinator in charge of our event and she did a spectacular job. The town is very quaint and has a rich history. I do not have a single negative comment to make. They far exceeded my already high expectations. I cannot wait to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint and clean B&B at Applegate Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on February 19, 2016

The Applegate Inn is a beautiful bed and breakfast located in the heart of Lee, MA. It is a short drive to nearby towns such as Lenox and Great Barrington if you want to explore, try different restaurants, or enjoy a spa service. We visited in winter and still managed to be active with hiking trails close by. The Inn itself is very clean and the staff go above and beyond to make your stay special. The breakfast is delicious with staples like cereal, fruit, and yogurt as well as a different main dish offered daily. It would have been nice to have the choice of an entree but overall an excellent meal. They also have fresh fruit, cookies, popcorn, and a full refrigerator stocked with water and soda available to you anytime! My husband and I enjoyed the available board games and puzzles and would have loved a larger selection of games to enjoy while sitting by the fire at night. We would recommend this Inn to anyone and hope to visit again in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Birthday Get-away at Inn At Green River (Hillsdale, New York)

5 reviewed on February 12, 2016

Even though it was February and there was no snow in the Berkshires, I took my husband on a weekend get-away to the Inn at Green River. I am so glad I did. We had a wonderful time. The inn was cozy, comfortable and immaculate. Deb made us feel right at home and her breakfasts were delicious! It felt like we were staying at a friend's house (a friend who makes sure you have a good time)! We look forward to returning in the summer or fall months.

View more reviews for this inn


Winter girlfriend getaway at The Garden Gables Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.4 reviewed on February 11, 2016

I spent a lovely two nights with friends enjoying the fire in the fireplace. Breakfast was delicious both mornings. The Inn is walking distance to shops and restaurants.

View more reviews for this inn


January escape to the Berkshires at Applegate Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

4.4 reviewed on January 31, 2016

Arrived early to find everything ready and an exceptionally warm welcome. Although this was our first visit The assistant innkeeper recognized our name and made us feel at home. Room 5 was as promised and the 5:00pm wine and cheese gathering with the innkeepers and other guests made the visit for us. Hurry and book a stay here - you need this experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Top Notch Inn at Applegate Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on January 31, 2016

i will start by saying that i wanted to give this inn 5 stars but i could not check the 5th circle on my computer. This Inn is a great place to stay. The owners and staff are very friendly and make you feel at home. Our room #9 was in the carriage house across from the main Inn. It was clean, comfortable and quiet with a king size bed, kitchenette fireplace and a jacuzzi. They have a wine and cheese hour every day at 6pm in the living room of the main inn where all the guests can meet. There are plenty of restaurants in lee to choose from and it is close to the lee outlet center, butternut and jiminy peak for skiing. this was our second stay at the Applegate and we will definitely be back soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding B&B that keeps us coming back year after year at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on January 26, 2016

We have been coming annually to the Birchwood Inn for 14 years. Ellen, a warm and wonderful cook and host, has become a friend. The location and cozy atmosphere of this B&B simply can't be beat. Ellen's breakfast is outstanding. Don't miss this gem in Lenox.

View more reviews for this inn


TERRIFIC IN EVERY WAY! at Applegate Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on January 20, 2016

This Inn is outstanding! This was a return visit to the Applegate Inn. We stayed for 2 nights but wish it was longer. Gloria and Len, Pam and the entire staff are so friendly and helpful. Our room, #9, was spotless, well appointed, very quiet and comfortable. A delicious breakfast is served in a very nice dining room. At 5 o'clock wine and cheese is served in a beautiful living room on the main floor of the inn, where all of the guest can meet with each other as well as Gloria and Lenny. The inn is located about 3 minutes from main street in Lee where there are a number of different restaurants and bars as well as local stores. Also a short drive away is Lenox, the Norman Rockwell Museum, Stockbridge, Great Barrington, Butternut, Jiminy Peak and the Lee Outlets for you shoppers. Our next visit will be in the spring so we can do some hiking in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


the best breakfast anywhere at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on January 04, 2016

We always love the Birchwood Inn. Ellen is a gracious hostess and her breakfasts are elaborate works of art and yumminess. Each breakfast includes two freshly made bread and muffins, a marvelous fruit-based appetizer and a delicious main course. The fire places in the rooms and the magnificent library make you never want to leave the inn. It's our favorite place all through the year.

View more reviews for this inn


Our favorites place at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.2 reviewed on December 24, 2015

We've been coming to the Birchwood Inn since 2002. We will continue to go. It offers the best breakfast imaginable: every day there are two fresh breads, a marvelous fruit-creation appetizer, and a spectacular entree. The food is always creative, beautiful and incredibly delicious. The inn comes with huge library with a large inviting fireplace. There is enormous variety in the rooms, but if you go upscale you will find spaciousness, another wood burning fireplace, and luxurious bath. If you go with the more economic rooms, you can idle inn the library and at tea-time enjoy home-made cookies. Lenox is the most beautiful town in the Berkshires. Go and pamper yourselves! We could not. think of a better place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.

View more reviews for this inn


Special Anniversary at Birchwood Inn (Lenox, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on December 22, 2015

We spent the weekend at the Birchwood Inn for our anniversary. This was our first stay and we would definitely return. The inn was wonderful, the breakfast was one of the best we've had after years of visiting inns. The staff at the inn could not have been nicer and more helpful and the area offered a lot. It was a quick getaway and very special.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding at Applegate Inn (Lee, Massachusetts)

4.2 reviewed on December 13, 2015

Wonderful place for a romantic weekend. Very friendly and helpful staff and owners.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}