Recent Reviews in Steeles Tavern, Virginia

beautiful and secluded at Sugar Tree Inn (Vesuvius, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

Our stay was extraordinary! and the service was enhanced by the delightful assistance of Riley and Alison! The breakfasts were abundant to say the least, not to mention delicious. Our evening meal was also delicious. The venue is close to so many outdoor activities and right off the Blue Ridge Parkway as well as museums, wineries, breweries and fine dining smack in the middle between Lexington and Staunton. An excellent experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway from DC at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 17, 2016

It's incredible to think this little hideaway is such a short drive outside of DC, but once you're on the property you feel like you are in an entirely different world. My boyfriend and I stayed at Steeles Tavern for a weekend (Friday - Sunday) and were blown away at the property, the amount of activities to do, and the warm hospitality from Ray and Melissa. The house was impeccable and so inviting. Our room was so spacious and clean. I think they must have newly renovated the bathroom because the double shower heads were so nice! The sheets and robes were so soft and the bed slept like a dream! The food was nothing short of amazing. I have a gluten allergy and Melissa went above and beyond to make me feel included. The gluten-free options she made are nothing short of amazing and my boyfriend even stated that everything "tasted like the real deal". We look forward to coming back very soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary getaway at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 03, 2016

Melissa and Ray are very gracious hosts. We stayed a night in the Chardonnay room and a night in the Ivy cabin. Melissa and Ray offered suggestions for things to do, where to dine, and wineries to enjoy. The breakfast at the B&B was outstanding. We liked the French toast Melissa made so much we asked for the recipe. This was our first B&B experience. The Chardonnay room is on the first floor it has a sitting room and a large walk in shower. the bedding is soft and comfortable.We enjoyed the private hot tub at the cabin and the king four post bed.

View more reviews for this inn


Definitely worth a return visit at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 19, 2016

We don't stay at many bed and breakfasts, but this one is definitely worth a return visit. It was perfectly located for our purpose. Their directions were spot on, their hospitality amazing, their breakfast delicious, and the room was gorgeous, as was the whole house.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend couples getaway at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2016

The Inn was well maintained and Melissa and Ray were great hosts. The rooms were what he had expected. We had stayed in Petit Verdot Suite and it had a nice sitting room along with a spacious bath and gas stove. The Inn is close to hiking, vineries and two great little town of Lexington and Staunton VA. Melissa's breakfast...

View more reviews for this inn


Mountain getaway! at Sugar Tree Inn (Vesuvius, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 21, 2016

We've stayed at Sugar Tree Inn twice now and have enjoyed it each time. We've stayed in Sugar Tree Country, located upstairs in the lodge and in Skyline, one of the Queen rooms in the Log Cabin. The accommodations are great, with a simulated rustic look, but featuring modern amenities. The views are great, although you may be surprised to find yourself "in the clouds" occasionally. Jeff and Becky are friendly hosts, providing all the services and information needed for a pleasant stay, while remaining unobtrusive at other times. They produce amazing breakfasts and dinner meals... Feasts for the tummy and the eyes. The Inn is convenient to some historic towns, with interesting shops, wineries, scenic drives and great hikes, such as the one to Crabtree Falls. Check the Sugar Tree Inn out... You will be pleased.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely lovely! at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 06, 2016

All around first class with delightful hosts on a beautiful venue.

View more reviews for this inn


A first class B&B at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 23, 2015

Our stay at Steeles Tavern Inn was delightful. Ray and Melissa were very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the decor was lovely. The homemade cookies awaiting our arrival and the breakfast the next morning were delicious. We especially enjoyed visiting with the other guests and would hoghly recommend a stay at this B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Thanksgiving EVER! at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on December 07, 2015

Our stay was amazing! Ray and Melissa (the owners of the Bed and Breakfast) took great care of us. The level of hospitality they showed us made us feel very welcome and at home. As we entered we were greeted by Ray and he gave us a tour of the home, and immediately made us feel like family. We stayed in the "Norton" which In my opinion was the largest and best looking room. We had a king sized bed, fireplace, and a double Jacuzzi tub. Melissa made sure we had our complimentary homemade cookies waiting for us in our room. Every morning we woke up to coffee and an assortment of teas and different cakes, along with a gourmet breakfast. Their attention to detail and willingness to please did not go un-noticed. If you are looking for a place to get away where your only concern is whether you want to make happy hour or take a dip in the Jacuzzi tub, or relax on the beautiful grounds, then you need to book your stay. You will not be disappointed..... #Trulygenuine people#Lovedourexperience#Fivestarsalltheway!

View more reviews for this inn


Home base while hiking at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 29, 2015

We stayed with Ray and Melissa for two days while hiking in the Shenandoah and Blue Ridge. The inn is lovely and so were the in keepers. We stayed in the Chardonnay room with its new luxury shower. It was perfect after a long day of hiking. The happy hour they host is a great opportunity to meet the other guests and get tips on things to do as well as sample some local wines and brews. I highly recommend the Rockbridge Reds. Breakfast was amazing and large enough for big appetites. Melissa's care in preparing fresh using quality local ingredients started every day out right. I hope your stay includes her French Toast Soufflé and bacon. Yum!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 22, 2015

This is a great Bed and Breakfast! Melissa and Ray have gone the extra mile to ensure that their guests have an enjoyable visit right down to the smallest detail. We arrived at this 100+ year old home that has been so beautifully renovated to find amazing craftsmanship original to the period in which it was built. The decor and furniture are beautiful and inviting. Some older homes can have an old smell (my nose is sensitive) but this home smelled great. My husband and I stayed in the Norton and its bedroom and bathroom are very spacious and it has a beautiful electric fireplace. The sheets, robes, and towels were so soft! There is a Keurig coffee/tea maker upstairs with other complimentary drinks and snacks. We had dinner in Staunton at the Mill Street grill. Breakfast was rosemary potatoes, local bacon, southwest quiche, and baked grapefruit with a really good crusted cinnamon topping. I'm not sure of the type of coffee that she used but it was very good and smooth. Breakfast was great! I can't say enough good things about our stay at the manor and would highly recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


Social hour was great at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 04, 2015

Steeles Tavern Manor was our first introduction into a Select Registry property. What a great introduction. Everything had been considered to enhance our stay-from the luxurious sheets to the beautiful room. The overall ambiance was outstanding and very tasteful. The breakfast in the morning was very well done and well presented. We especially like the “social” hour in the afternoon as a way to get acquainted with other guests and our hosts. Since we were new to the area, it gave us a chance to ask questions and exchange notes on where to go and what to see. A very nice touch!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to relax! at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 28, 2015

Great spot to spend our 25th Wedding Anniversary!

View more reviews for this inn


Visiting Beautiful VA at Sugar Tree Inn (Vesuvius, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2015

The day we arrived we received a warm welcome from Becky. She showed us the cozy inn and our room in the cabin. Our bed was very comfortable and plenty of hot water. We had a great breakfast of Becky's delicious oatmeal, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, juice and coffee. We hope to return next fall. The mountains are breathtaking.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding all around at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on October 11, 2015

After our daughters wedding we needed some r&r. Melissa and Ray at Steeles Tavern did not disappoint. Our room was lovely the jacuzzi tub renewing with all the touches of home: cozy robes, fresh cookies, a lovely olive tea soap. The grounds were inviting and provided a peaceful escape for one of the afternoons. We loved the screened in porch where we had breakfast watching the colors on the tree change outside.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful hosts, beautiful place at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 02, 2015

The location is idyllic; but easily accessible from I 81. The property with lovely landscape, pond, and rushing stream takes one away from the daily grind. The large rooms are comfortable, nicely furnished and immaculate. Breakfasts were EXCELLENT! Hosts are warm, friendly and knowledgable. Numerous & varied activities within an hour drive. Perfect for us. J&L, Pittsburgh, PA

View more reviews for this inn


BEST OVERALL at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2015

Melissa & Ray are outstanding hosts. The rooms are very comfortable and the entire manor was very clean. The breakfast each morning was gourmet if not better, and the evening wine tasting was a treat. The surrounding area is full of interesting and fun things to do.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B of our vacation at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on August 22, 2015

We stayed at Steeles Tavern Manor at the end of our week traveling the length of the Blue Ridge Parkway. It was the best B&B of our trip. Ray and Melissa are consummate hosts, very personable and accommodating. The Room was immaculate and very nicely furnished. The private bath was large and well equipped. Wonderful grounds and breakfast, it was a treat. You cannot go wrong when deciding to include Steeles Tavern Manor B&B along the way!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 09, 2015

Definitely one of the best B and B's we've stayed at. The rooms were charming and comfortable and the owners warm and gracious. Our only regret was we stayed only one night. Next time it'll be at least two!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Getaway Location with Great Experience at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 08, 2015

We visited Steeles Tavern Manor B&B for a two day weekend stay and were very pleased with our experience. We would highly recommend the location for anyone interested in a relaxing location to spend some quality time together. The location sits on a 50 acre site and is off the beaten track with very little distractions other than a stray cow to bother you. The B&B has 5 rooms and 3 cabins and was built in 1919 and is very spacious. The hosts are terrific and do everything they can to make your experience an enjoyable one. They are a fountain of knowledge about what to do in the area should you wish to get out and enjoy the wonderful mountain scenery in the area. They recommended we drive the Nelson’s Loop and we did so through the George Washington National Forrest and it was full of great views and an interesting driving course for those that want to not know what is around the next corner in the road. The loop takes you an area with a number of wineries and three craft beer breweries. They recommended the Veritas Winery for a visit and we thoroughly enjoyed it. As many of the other reviewers have stated Melissa’s cooking is terrific and I think she produced the best breakfasts I have ever enjoyed. We stayed in the Norton Room and it has a great view and is spacious and really had everything we could ask for. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back. I strongly suggest you give the location a try if you are thinking about enjoying the mountains for a get away from the daily grind.

View more reviews for this inn


Mountain hideaway! at Sugar Tree Inn (Vesuvius, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 09, 2015

Peace, quiet, great food, comfortable rooms with fireplaces and hosts that make you feel at home. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


A Great Escape at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 08, 2015

We were so pleased to stay at Steeles Tavern Manor. Ray and Melissa were so accommodating and put simply, wonderful hosts. The rooms were clean, tastefully decorated and made for comfort. The breakfast was just amazing and we hope to return again.

View more reviews for this inn


Luxury Along the Blue Ridge Parkway at Sugar Tree Inn (Vesuvius, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 02, 2015

Jeff and Becky Chanter made our anniversary visit a special memory. This was our third stay at their charming log style country inn. The views from the front porch were spectacular. We arrived and were greeted with cookies and lemonade. After a warm and refreshing conversation we checked in to our favorite room which had a fireplace and whirlpool tub. They made dining suggestions at a nearby restaurant and sent us on our way with directions. The recommendation was excellent as we enjoyed a great meal with nice ambiance. After returning to the Inn, we enjoyed great conversation, hot chocolate, and a delightful apple pie ala mode. We crawled into the most comfortable bed and fell right to sleep. The next morning we awoke to the smell of bacon frying in the kitchen downstairs, While enjoying my morning coffee, I chatted with Jeff about how they found this spectacular lodging destination. This was followed by a hearty gourmet breakfast which included Becky's famous baked oatmeal. Since we were only able to stay for one night we reluctantly packed up and returned home with many great memories of the Sugar Tree Inn. Jeff and Becky are excellent hosts and make you feel like part of the family. We will return as soon as our busy schedule permits.

View more reviews for this inn


What a wonderful find! at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 12, 2014

What a delightful spacious beautiful home and setting, love the floors, colors and decorating. Tea, cookies, happy hour, all awaited us. Great theme, wines., Great conversations with hosts and guests. Yes, the breakfast was fantastic, french toast souffle sausage, parfait and zucchini bread. Wow! Great stay, would love to return. Tank you!!!

View more reviews for this inn


"Our 40th Wedding Anniversary Getaway" at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2014

After searching several weeks for the perfect place to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary, we found and booked 4 nights at the Steeles Tavern Inn. What a wonderful choice! The Inn is located on a large beautiful piece of property that is quiet and calming. The Inn owners, Melissa and Ray, really made you feel at home. The breakfasts we had each morning, cooked by Melissa, were delicious. And the complimentary wine in the evening was a very nice touch. Our room was both elegant and cozy. The fireplace was inviting, the king bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were luxurious! (So nice we purchased a set) We have stayed in many places all over the world and this is one of the best we have ever stayed in. JUST BEAUTIFUL!!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Another wonderful stay! at Sugar Tree Inn (Vesuvius, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 21, 2014

We have stayed here once or twice a year for about 3 years now and it has always been a great stay. It is a beautiful mountain get-away place and that does mean you have mountain roads...it's part of the experience! It's quiet and peaceful and nearby hiking trails offer lots of scenery and wildlife. We enjoy staying in the lodge and being lazy - not having to walk to the lodge to eat. The innkeepers make us feel like family! The food is delicious and plentiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect place to see the fall foilage at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 11, 2014

Traveling from Jacksonville, FL. Wanted to experience something more than just a view of a hotel chain parking lot - especially in the fall. Steeles Tavern B & B was perfect. Property is large and has paths I could use that went into the forest. Inn Keepers were very friendly and down-to-earth. Breakfast's were excellent. Had the best sleep I've had in years.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Experience! at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2014

We could not have been more pleased with our stay. everything about Steele's Tavern Manor was exceptional. The Alexanders are first class owners of a warm and hospitable property. We would definitely return and have already recommended the B&B to friends.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful experience at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2014

My husband and I stayed here overnight during a road trip we took in early September. We were so impressed - Melissa and Ray went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and they were so friendly and sweet. The food was delicious and Melissa was happy to accommodate my eating restrictions. We would definitely go back to Steeles Tavern if we're traveling through Virginia again in the future, and will recommend the experience to others. Thank you so much for making our stay wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, Relaxing B&B at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on September 30, 2014

Thank you Ray and Melissa for a fantastic stay! We enjoyed our weekend get-away so very much - it was just the type of place and weekend we needed to disconnect from the stresses at work and home and reconnect with each other. Melissa is an outstanding cook (amazing chocolate-chip cookies!). Breakfast was filling and delicious. We felt so taken care of and cozy at Steeles Tavern and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a B&B in the area!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}