Recent Reviews in Spartanburg, South Carolina

The Inn of the Patriots at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2016

The Inn of the Patriots is a delightful Bed and Breakfast. The museum is very interesting and the added anadotes provided by Marti are an added bonus. The food is exceptional. We met some very nice peole staying here and spent a wonderful time in the town of Shelby.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful getaway at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on August 17, 2016

This is was not far my home but I would consider a treasure. The owner, Marty, and housekeeping staff were very attentive and kind. The tour of the home was fun and informative. All of the amenities includes in your stay were an added very

View more reviews for this inn


Good time in little known town at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.4 reviewed on August 15, 2016

We were looking or a quick getaway where we could enjoy some peace and quiet. Less than an hour from our home we discovered The Inn of the Patriot. Marti was a geneous host - greeting us at the door and quickly checking us into our room. The house was ours to explore with a wonderful tour the next morning. After staying in several bed and breakfast type inns over theyears - this is what we expected. However the shower "room" was too small to actually use. Skip the gift shops on site...the same stuff you find at Williamsburg. Would have appreciated a better selection of eclectic one of a kind items. Overall - very nice and enjoyable!

View more reviews for this inn


Love this B & B! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on August 12, 2016

Very quiet. Outstanding food. Great hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2016

Great stay--wonderful and hospitable host but not intrusive. Clean and very well-appointed rooms with tons of amenities. Great breakfast. History buffs will love.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing getaway at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on August 02, 2016

Each room was uniquely decorated, food was delicious and staff was really nice. My only complaint is the bed was really uncomfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyed our Stay! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on July 21, 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Inn, July 4th. We took the lunch cooking class and learned how to make pizza and wonderful bread. The room was much larger and the bathroom nicer than the pictures. The whole experience was well worth the trip. The innkeeper is so interesting, that I would do it all again. It was a very nice 2 night get a way.

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice B&B. Excellent breakfast. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.4 reviewed on July 20, 2016

Very nice B&B. Excellent breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2016

One of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in; the culinary and White House history was fantastic. breakfast 5 star and restaurant in Shelby also outstanding. Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Two nights at the museum at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on July 12, 2016

We very much enjoyed our stay. It was something different, we learned a lot, beds were comfy, A/C definitely cooled well, lots of opportunities to interact with other guests and a good breakfast. Our room had a flat screen TV on which the music channel was playing pleasantly when we came in. Fake flowers inside and outside are not our thing and contribute to the cluttered look. Most importantly Marty and his staff were very friendly and attentive. The website on his PC gave us great detailed information about the area, restaurants and places to see. Shelby is a nice town with treelined streets, a cool brewpub and many restaurants. The recommended Ni Fen Bistro was excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, historic inn with friendly, professional service at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on July 06, 2016

Chef Marti gives a wonderful history lesson of the area as well of some tidbits of presidential foods. The rooms are a nice size and themed with private baths. The breakfast is far more than what one would expect! Everyone who is staying there is served at the same time which encourages conversation of other patrons.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved it. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on July 02, 2016

The breakfast was superb. The rooms were comfortable. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Marti is great!

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyable Experience at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on July 01, 2016

Only stayed one night, but have a great memory to recall. Breakfast had new to us, delicious dishes to try and a homey, comfortable setting. Loved the rural community, peaceful and relaxing. B and B is close to great restaurants, Gastonia, NC and antique shops. Will not hesitate to return one day if we get the chance.

View more reviews for this inn


Interesting B&B at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on June 27, 2016

This is an interesting B&B because it is also a museum. The owner was a former presidential chef and has some interesting stories to tell. We were introduced to some interesting places to visit. We went to the King's National Park, 2 different wineries and some very good restaurants.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy but room to improve at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

2.8 reviewed on June 23, 2016

Nice comfortable, cozy rooms, but amenities underdeliver compared to web page descriptions. Average compared to nicer B &Bs.

View more reviews for this inn


GREAT ENTERTAINER at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on June 16, 2016

OUR EXPERIENCE WAS QUITE NICE AND PLEASING. THE RESTAURANT THAT WAS RECCOMENDED FOR US TO EAT AT THAT EVENING WAS OUR ONLY DISAPPOINTMENT. THE SERVICE FROM THE KITCHEN WAS TERRIBLE, WRONG FOOD AND THE WAIT FOR THE FOOD WAS OVER AN HOUR. I WOULD ALSO RECCOMEND DROPPING THE TOUR OF THE BASEMENT. MARTI WAS QUITE ENTERTAINING WITH HIS KNOWLEDGE AND STORIES HE PROVIDED. SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING ALL AROUND.

View more reviews for this inn


Interesting place! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.4 reviewed on June 14, 2016

It was a pleasure to stay here. So much history, and the tour was so enjoyable. Marti is a wonderful character.

View more reviews for this inn


Don't miss this one at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on June 10, 2016

My wife and I spent two nights here for our 25th anniversary. I am former military and greatly appreciated the history and Revolutionary artifacts presented in this historical home. Couple that with the incredible knowledge and culinary skills of the owners made this visit memorable. We will visit again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2016

Great place to stay. Chef Marti is a wealth of historical knowledge. Would go back again and take the cooking class.

View more reviews for this inn


Patriot at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on June 03, 2016

First time at a Bed and Brrakfast- wonderful stay. Lots to do in the area

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Memorial Day Weekend at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a two night stay at the Inn of the Patriots in Grover, NC. The accommodations were great ( we stayed in the Colonel Cleveland room) and the breakfast each morning was wonderful. Chef Marti, the owner, is a walking history tour and takes great pride in sharing the historical facts of the region, as well as his experiences while in serving as Chef in the White House and at camp David. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to a return visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Historic Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2016

On a recent stay we enjoyed a comfortable themed room with lots of amenities, friendly and helpful host, delicious breakfasts, located near historic battlefield with an inviting front porch to unwind. Marti is eager to share his various chef experiences and provide a tour of his numerous collections with many interesting details.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Weekend Getaway to Remember at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on May 26, 2016

A personal welcome by Marti was a very nice touch. He took us to a short tour of the property and gave us some history lessons. The Inn was spacious, and was literally packed with history and war memorabilia. Our room was large, filled with, again, memorabilia pertaining to the theme of the room. The bathroom was split into toilet and shower, apparently due to the original layout of the house. The bed was comfortable and everything we needed was provided. Marti recommended paces to visit in the area, especially the two nearby vineyards and wine tastings. Dinner at Ni Fen was very good in DT Shelby. Breakfast was home cooked all the way. Delicious and delightful. We thoroughly enjoyed the cooking class. We didn't know you could make a basic dough and turn it into so many different breads, and every bit we baked turned out amazingly good. All good things had to come to an end at some point, and that point in time came too soon. Thanks to Marti and his very friendly and helpful staff.

View more reviews for this inn


Patriot Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on May 23, 2016

Food was outstanding. First time at a B & B. Wonderful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Very relaxing environment at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on May 09, 2016

My husband and I recently celebrated our anniversary at this lovely inn. Marti was very hospitable and made it clear he wanted our stay to be as enjoyable as possible. We loved our room (the Magnificent Polynesian), displayed with all the items the owners had accumulated during their travels in Asia. For a history geek like me, the historical tour through the Presidential Museum was wonderful. I especially loved the Presidential dinner china. It's close to Shelby, which had a surprisingly lovely downtown area. Although on the pricey side, if you are looking for a unique experience, then this inn should be on your list.

View more reviews for this inn


PATRIOTIC B & B at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 04, 2016

Stayed in the Col Cleveland room for 2 nights, it was cozy and comfortable. Our host Marti had many tales of his service time as a chef in the White House and Camp David. the breakfasts were hearty and the bed comfortable. which is what you want at a b and b. make sure to try Ni Fen restaurant in Shelby. and chimney rock state park. one thing I would recommend Marti change is either start breakfast at 830am or delay the tour/presentation till 1000am to allow the guest to enjoy the b and b experience of lively conversation.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, last minute getaway! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on May 01, 2016

Hats off to Chef Marti and the Inn of the Patriots for an awesome last minute getaway! We enjoyed our stay in the Babe Ruth Room, the bed was so comfortable. We were greeted promptly at 9a for a gourmet, hearty breakfast. The tour was very informative and the authentic pizza cooking class we took alongside our stay was great as well. Will definitely be back for more!

View more reviews for this inn


Inn of the Patriots at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on April 30, 2016

We loved the Inn of the Patriots. Great time, good location and the Host and staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Loved learning to make authentic pizza. Definitely take the cooking class!

View more reviews for this inn


Fun Cooking Class at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 28, 2016

What a blast my wife and I had. My wife enrolled us in a cooking class for my birthday. Can I just say Chef Marti is awesome. We had a great time learning and eating that day. The B&B is neatly done and full of history. My wife and I did not stay over night at the Inn but we have planned to return for her birthday in a a few weeks. What a great place and a great experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Nature and Earth Room at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2016

Our second visit was just as pleasant and relaxing as our first three years ago. Our room was very comfortable with a new king bed and roomy bathroom with full tub and shower. Great dining and shops in Shelby just 20 minute's drive. Our cooking class was delightful and educational. Went to chimney rock for a day trip only an hour away.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Inn of the Patriots (4.51)
Top
}