Recent Reviews in South Lake Tahoe, California

Excellent Stay at the inn with great breakfast! at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2016

Wonderful inn with a great staff. Breakfast was outstanding. They really pay attention to detail to ensure their guest's comfort. Room was spacious and clean, and bathroom had all the amenities. Great place to stay when visiting Tahoe!

View more reviews for this inn


Never a let down. at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2016

Jerry and Kevin were great hosts. We were a little disappointed that the Hot tub was not operational. Jill and I enjoy a soak every night before bed. The room was great. The weather was great. All in all it was a wonderful get away.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful facilities, excellent service, and great location at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 14, 2016

We stayed here for three nights to celebrate our 20th. It was our first time here, and also our first time to Lake Tahoe. We had an absolutely great experience, which started with our accommodations. Our hosts were excellent throughout the stay. The breakfast was an experience, and Jerry seemed to relish in going out of his way to provide a delicious breakfast each morning (while accommodating my wife's dietary restrictions). In addition, they provided wine and cheese each evening at 5:00. The wine selections were good (and restocked as necessary) and it was a nice way to spend time with the other guests. Our room was a stand-alone cabin that had a wrap around fireplace. The room was tastefully decorated and setup to provide all the basics, including a shower for two and a Jacuzzi tub. We also had a refrigerator and microwave and plenty of room to lounge if we wanted to hang around the room. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room though. The grounds at the location, as well as the main lodge, were decorated to provide an inviting and warm environment. We had our own outdoor table, and there were also plenty of benches and a patio off the main lodge to sit and enjoy the beauty of the surroundings. The facility itself is centrally located in S Lake Tahoe. There were four excellent restaurants within a 5 minute walk, and we could walk to the lake in 15 minutes. We were also a 10 minute drive from the casinos at Stateline, and the Heavenly Mountain ski area (which has tons of cool stuff to do in the summer as well). My wife also enjoyed the Rejuvenating Spa that was a five minute walk from the inn. All in all we had a great time and the Black Bear Inn was an excellent place to call home for the 3 plus days we spent at Lake Tahoe. Jerry and Kevin were awesome hosts and really took pride in the facility and their service. We are definitely coming back and will stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Classy and comfy at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 13, 2016

The Black Bear Inn is a delightful place to stay in South Lake Tahoe. The owners have created a beautiful setting with gardens and a rustic, but fancy at the same time atmosphere. We stayed in Sutter Cabin with our teenage daughters. It was perfect for us with 2 bedrooms and a spacious living room. Breakfasts are amazing. Kevin and Jerry take great pride in offering good food and tasty wine and cheese happy hour every day. I highly recommend this place!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful but noisy at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

3.6 reviewed on August 13, 2016

This inn is beautiful, clean, and nicely decorated. Our only problem was the street noise. Our room was very nice and the bathroom was large; both very clean. However, our room faced the street and with no a/c we had to keep the balcony door open at night. Noise from cars, barking dogs, and people yelling in the middle of the night made for a restless night. On the plus side, wine & snacks were available each day; breakfast was delicious; and the owners were wonderful! Would definitely recommend; but get a room facing the back!

View more reviews for this inn


EXCELLENT at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2016

THIS IS THE BEST B & B WE HAVE EVER STAYED AT, JERRY AND KEVIN GO OUT OF THEIR WAY TO DO ANYTHING TO MAKE YOUR STAY OUTSTANDING, THE ROOMS ARE SO RELAXING, THE BREAKFAST'S ARE 10 STARS, AND EVENING WINE AND CHEESE AND FRUIT ARE SO FUN, GET TO MEET OTHER GUESTS AND THE GROUNDS ARE SO TRANQUIL, I CAN NOT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT WHAT A WONDERFUL TIME WE HAD, CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK!!

View more reviews for this inn


Linda and Johan’s hospitality is 5-star. The rooms were smaller than we expected, however all we needed. We have traveled all over the world and stayed in many B-n-B’s and never had such a comfortable and welcoming experience. at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2016

Azevedo

View more reviews for this inn


Black bear tahoe at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.4 reviewed on August 09, 2016

Repeat guest. Jerry and Kevin are awesome. The place is a gem.

View more reviews for this inn


A Perfect Getaway! at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.6 reviewed on August 07, 2016

We travel to Lake Tahoe a few times a year & decided to try something different from the Casino Hotels or the timeshare thing. While the Black Bear Inn is a bit pricey, it was worth every penny. the grounds are beautiful. Jerry & Kevin are wonderful hosts, and the food is outstanding! We will definitely be back!!

View more reviews for this inn


Anonymous- at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2016

Fantastic, innovative and massive breakfasts! Great attention to detail in the rooms--eg. flashlight in bedside table, ice pack in freezer, etc. Very friendly and accommodating staff/owners. Beautifully designed property.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional B&B in Tahoe at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 01, 2016

This was an outstanding place. Beautiful grounds and excellent service.

View more reviews for this inn


Wondeful stay at charming Black Bear Inn at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.8 reviewed on July 31, 2016

Our experience at Black Bear Inn was wonderful from start to finish. Having caring and friendly owners onsite adds to the experience. The evening wine and breakfasts were great and the property including the garden is beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


J & R July 2016 at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2016

This was an excellent B & B. The rooms were nice and clean. The owners were very nice and accommodating. The breakfast served everyday was excellent!!! Would love stay here next time we visit Lake Tahoe!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great location, cozy cabin and wonderful service! at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.6 reviewed on July 09, 2016

We highly recommend to stay in this B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


The best of South Lake at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on July 08, 2016

Absolutely my favorite place to stay in South Lake Tahoe. Great, high-end accommodations, outstanding personal, friendly service and 5 star food. Plus a quiet, secluded environment. What more could you ask for?

View more reviews for this inn


Rustic elegance throughout! at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on July 08, 2016

The atmosphere of Black Bear Inn is terrific. The decor of the lodge and the rooms makes you feel like you are in a high end rustic mountain setting, which you are. The breakfasts each morning were outstanding. Definitely will visit Black Bear Inn again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


4th of July at Black Bear Inn at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.4 reviewed on July 07, 2016

My husband and I stayed at the inn 4th of July weekend, we were very happy with our stay. The staff upon arrival was so warm and welcoming, the outdoor area is so beautiful I spent some time reading in the garden. The bed was SO comfortable. All and all we will be returning, no doubt about it!

View more reviews for this inn


Heavenly Valley Lodge at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.4 reviewed on July 04, 2016

A very nice place run by exceptionally nice people! We fully enjoyed our visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B & B at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2016

The innkeepers were absolutely wonderful, very detailed, awesome chefs. The lodge was beautiful as were the grounds. I would recommend this B & B and we will be back next year.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Place! at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.4 reviewed on June 24, 2016

The owners are wonderful people! They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. I would absolutely return because of them and their passion for what they are doing.

View more reviews for this inn


Back again, this time wife's birthday at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2016

Back again to stay at Linda and Johan's great B n B, this time for my wife's birthday. We totally enjoy staying with Linda and Johan, making one feel like family. Enjoy the evening cocktails, breakfasts, (even customized for dietary needs) and the welcome cookies. The rooms are all different and unique, cozy and comfortable. Will be back later in the year. If you are a biker, complementary bikes for riding the roads and trails.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on June 16, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 2 yr anniversary here and it was amazing. The owners are very friendly and sweet. The breakfast was fantastic both mornings. We were there memorial weekend. This place is located in a wonderful location near shops and restaurants. We are planning our second trip here for September. Tim and Casey

View more reviews for this inn


Highly Recommended at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on April 14, 2016

Johann and Linda are very friendly and helpful. Their happy hour and breakfasts are outstanding.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful place to stay at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on April 09, 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights after visiting San Francisco, we would have liked to have stayed longer! Our hosts Linda and Johan couldn't do enough for us, gave us recommendations on what to do and where to eat, spoilt us with great breakfasts and treated us to happy hour drinks and snacks in front of the fire in the evenings. Our room was so attractive, cosy and clean with every extra you could think of including bathrobes, coffee making facilities and a fridge. The location was great, you can walk down to the lake in about 10 minutes. I would not hesitate to recommend this lovey lodge!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely breakfast; gracious hosts; noisy room at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.2 reviewed on March 31, 2016

We were the only guests at the inn for one night and wanted to stay near the Heavenly California lift so this was perfect. Except that I didn't realize the Frontier Room was on the road: very loud traffic noise most of the evening and it started up again very early in the morning. I wished I had asked to move to a room in the back as the road noise was deafening and we had not brought ear plugs! Otherwise, a good experience: the breakfast was outstanding and the wine and cheese very nice. I would go back but would not choose the Frontier Room again.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on March 28, 2016

My husband and I stayed here for out anniversary and we're just so pleased with the whole experience. The innkeepers, Johan and Linda, we're extremely kind. There was an amazing homemade breakfast every morning, fresh cookies in our room every day and a great happy hour each evening. We will definitely be staying here again and will be referring family and friends if they ever come to Lake Tahoe.

View more reviews for this inn


Black Bear Inn February 2016 at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.4 reviewed on February 25, 2016

My husband and I recently visited the B&B in February to celebrate our anniversary. We have been to the b&b 2 previous times and both times stayed in the main building. This time we took a cabin and although it did not snow (which we had hoped) we wanted to be able to watch the snow. The "Happy Hour" which was wine & cheese. Very enjoyable to sit and chat with the other guests. Breakfast was served every morning. The best day was Sunday as they served Eggs Benedict. The other 2 days were also good. We will be back again hopefully when it snows.

View more reviews for this inn


Our new go-to B&B at Lake Tahoe at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on February 24, 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Black Bear Inn for a weekend of relaxing and skiing - it couldn't have been more perfect for either. Situated on Ski Run road, the B&B is less than 3 minutes from Heavenly and even has a bus stop outside so you don't need to deal with parking. They have a ski room to store boots, skis and boards in so your equipment doesn't get cold in the car overnight. The B&B itself has been designed with impeccable taste - comfortable and pleasing to the eye, it was hard to get ourselves to leave! We immediately felt at home with Kevin and Jerry - they are phenomenal hosts. The morning breakfasts (8:30-9:30) are to die for, and we loved the fireside wine and cheese (5:00-6:00) chats. We know where we will be staying on our future visits to Tahoe and highly recommend that you make the Black Bear Inn your B&B of choice!

View more reviews for this inn


Another Great Stay at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on February 19, 2016

Once again my wife and I had the opportunity to stay at the Lodge. This being our ??? number of times back (at least twice a year). Linda and Johann make you feel at home and part of the family with great rooms, cocktail happy hour, and breakfast--all for a great price. Love the people and the place and will be back!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Tahoe B&B at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on February 17, 2016

We were there for Valentines weekend and had a great time. The breakfast was wonderful and the place was immaculate. The 2 gentleman that run the place do an outstanding job.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}