Recent Reviews in South Lake Tahoe, California

Great Gem and Close to Everything at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.4 reviewed on September 27, 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed two nights here in September. Walking distance to Lake Tahoe and nearby restaurants. Breakfast is a gourmet event. Wine and cheese at 5:00 is delightful. Nice big quiet room. Missed being able to use the hot tub, but everything else was terrific.

View more reviews for this inn


Celebrated 30th Anniversary! at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on September 26, 2016

This was our first visit to Lake Tahoe. An absolutely beautiful inn with owners that truly appreciate and know how to take care of their guests! Jerry and Kevin provided wonderful restaurant, hiking and site seeing recommendations. Breakfasts were delicious! Black Bear Inn will be our first choice for a place to stay for future visits!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Stay at Black Bear Inn! at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2016

Jerry and Kevin are warm and hospitable hosts, and the breakfasts they create themselves are delicious and filling, the offerings changing from day to day. The inn itself is spectacular and inviting, with a huge great room centered by a three story stone fireplace and comfortable and inviting seating. The place is meticulously clean. Both Kevin and Jerry are fountains of knowledge about the Tahoe region particularly recreational opportunities and good places to dine.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.2 reviewed on September 19, 2016

celebrating our 46th anniversary at The Black Bear Inn was incredible Jerry and Kevin were excellent host. Beautiful , Quiet, Warm and friendly. Dr. And Mrs Joe A. Dendy

View more reviews for this inn


Superbe - will be actively recommending to all friends at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on September 18, 2016

superbe

View more reviews for this inn


Black Bear Inn is a great place to stay when visiting Lake Tahoe at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on September 14, 2016

Bill and Kathy - Jacksonville, FL

View more reviews for this inn


Labor Day Weekend Stay at Donner Lake Inn B & B (Truckee, California)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2016

Very enjoyable stay. It was a busy weekend with tight itineraries and the host were so accommodating! Knowing we were going to miss breakfast two of the three mornings due to our schedule they were so quick to provide a healthy alternative (packed to go)! Completely unexpected and over the top! The attention to detail and their genuine care for making your stay one of the best is very obvious! The area speaks for itself with the beautiful views and peaceful surroundings. I'm so very glad we have had the privilege to meet Mindy and Paul. Spectacular hosts for sure!

View more reviews for this inn


Deserves a Six for Service at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2016

We visited Johan and Linda's B&B the first of September. This was our fourth visit to their wonderful location. We are never disappointed. Linda makes a fabulous breakfast every morning and we thoroughly enjoy Happy Hour around the fire pit!

View more reviews for this inn


Definitely not going to be our last time at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 24, 2016

We just got back from our trip this past weekend, so this is still fresh. First, we were greeted by the very warm hosts, Jerry and Kevin. When we got to our room (Stagecoach Cabin Room), we were beyond amazed. The setup, decor, and everything is just so great! There's a fireplace as well! The location is amazing, it's literally about 7 min walk to the beach! and we were super lucked out because there was Farmers Market when we did our walk. Several cafes & awesome restaurants were also walking distance. I'm trying to think of another word greater than amazing for the breakfast. Because it is beyond amazing. You can tell Jerry and Kevin really put their hearts and souls into making this B&B the way it is. The only one thing I can say that's not so awesome is the bed sheet smells a bit mildewy. But they still deserve 5 stars. That's how good it is. DEFINITELY WILL COME BACK.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Treasure on Donner Lake at Donner Lake Inn B & B (Truckee, California)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2016

Paul and Mindy are wonderful hosts, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beds were extremely comfortable and the food was incredible. Mindy even went out of her way to find delicious gluten free muffins for one of our family members who has a diet restriction. This B&B is a true gem, and we will definitely be back soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Beware Frontier room at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

1.6 reviewed on August 17, 2016

Frontier room window/french door fronts on very noisy active main street. Shutting door does not shut out noise which starts early in morning and goes on all night, but does shut out air. Apparently this is not news to the owners who put a standing fan in the closet. We took out the fan and had it on all night to circulate air and cover the street noise with white noise.There is no other AC in the room. The small closet that held the fan is the only storage in room. There are no chest of drawers or shelves so we lived out of our baggage for 6 days. The fireplace hearth shelf was covered with antique gewgaws, as was the mantel, which we had to move to make room for our belongings as there was no place else to put them. The bathroom, almost the same size as the main room, has a large container of liquid soap but no body lotion...really needed in this dry climate. The house itself is beautiful and so is the garden. The spa/hot tub was unusable the 7 days we were guests. The beautiful log main stairs in the owner photos had 8.5 to 9 inch risers, a difficult climb, rather than a more comfortable 6 to 7 inches. We had to use the back stairs instead. There was no guest computer access available although there was wifi and the owner did print out our airline boarding pass when requested. There was a wine and cheese hour from 5 to 6PM. No coffee or tea was offered or available. The breakfasts were more gourmand than gourmet…lots of beans and potatoes. Local restaurant menus had to be requested and the few available were out of date.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Stay at the inn with great breakfast! at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2016

Wonderful inn with a great staff. Breakfast was outstanding. They really pay attention to detail to ensure their guest's comfort. Room was spacious and clean, and bathroom had all the amenities. Great place to stay when visiting Tahoe!

View more reviews for this inn


Never a let down. at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2016

Jerry and Kevin were great hosts. We were a little disappointed that the Hot tub was not operational. Jill and I enjoy a soak every night before bed. The room was great. The weather was great. All in all it was a wonderful get away.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful facilities, excellent service, and great location at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 14, 2016

We stayed here for three nights to celebrate our 20th. It was our first time here, and also our first time to Lake Tahoe. We had an absolutely great experience, which started with our accommodations. Our hosts were excellent throughout the stay. The breakfast was an experience, and Jerry seemed to relish in going out of his way to provide a delicious breakfast each morning (while accommodating my wife's dietary restrictions). In addition, they provided wine and cheese each evening at 5:00. The wine selections were good (and restocked as necessary) and it was a nice way to spend time with the other guests. Our room was a stand-alone cabin that had a wrap around fireplace. The room was tastefully decorated and setup to provide all the basics, including a shower for two and a Jacuzzi tub. We also had a refrigerator and microwave and plenty of room to lounge if we wanted to hang around the room. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room though. The grounds at the location, as well as the main lodge, were decorated to provide an inviting and warm environment. We had our own outdoor table, and there were also plenty of benches and a patio off the main lodge to sit and enjoy the beauty of the surroundings. The facility itself is centrally located in S Lake Tahoe. There were four excellent restaurants within a 5 minute walk, and we could walk to the lake in 15 minutes. We were also a 10 minute drive from the casinos at Stateline, and the Heavenly Mountain ski area (which has tons of cool stuff to do in the summer as well). My wife also enjoyed the Rejuvenating Spa that was a five minute walk from the inn. All in all we had a great time and the Black Bear Inn was an excellent place to call home for the 3 plus days we spent at Lake Tahoe. Jerry and Kevin were awesome hosts and really took pride in the facility and their service. We are definitely coming back and will stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Classy and comfy at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 13, 2016

The Black Bear Inn is a delightful place to stay in South Lake Tahoe. The owners have created a beautiful setting with gardens and a rustic, but fancy at the same time atmosphere. We stayed in Sutter Cabin with our teenage daughters. It was perfect for us with 2 bedrooms and a spacious living room. Breakfasts are amazing. Kevin and Jerry take great pride in offering good food and tasty wine and cheese happy hour every day. I highly recommend this place!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful but noisy at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

3.6 reviewed on August 13, 2016

This inn is beautiful, clean, and nicely decorated. Our only problem was the street noise. Our room was very nice and the bathroom was large; both very clean. However, our room faced the street and with no a/c we had to keep the balcony door open at night. Noise from cars, barking dogs, and people yelling in the middle of the night made for a restless night. On the plus side, wine & snacks were available each day; breakfast was delicious; and the owners were wonderful! Would definitely recommend; but get a room facing the back!

View more reviews for this inn


EXCELLENT at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2016

THIS IS THE BEST B & B WE HAVE EVER STAYED AT, JERRY AND KEVIN GO OUT OF THEIR WAY TO DO ANYTHING TO MAKE YOUR STAY OUTSTANDING, THE ROOMS ARE SO RELAXING, THE BREAKFAST'S ARE 10 STARS, AND EVENING WINE AND CHEESE AND FRUIT ARE SO FUN, GET TO MEET OTHER GUESTS AND THE GROUNDS ARE SO TRANQUIL, I CAN NOT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT WHAT A WONDERFUL TIME WE HAD, CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK!!

View more reviews for this inn


Linda and Johan’s hospitality is 5-star. The rooms were smaller than we expected, however all we needed. We have traveled all over the world and stayed in many B-n-B’s and never had such a comfortable and welcoming experience. at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2016

Azevedo

View more reviews for this inn


Black bear tahoe at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.4 reviewed on August 09, 2016

Repeat guest. Jerry and Kevin are awesome. The place is a gem.

View more reviews for this inn


A Perfect Getaway! at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.6 reviewed on August 07, 2016

We travel to Lake Tahoe a few times a year & decided to try something different from the Casino Hotels or the timeshare thing. While the Black Bear Inn is a bit pricey, it was worth every penny. the grounds are beautiful. Jerry & Kevin are wonderful hosts, and the food is outstanding! We will definitely be back!!

View more reviews for this inn


Anonymous- at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2016

Fantastic, innovative and massive breakfasts! Great attention to detail in the rooms--eg. flashlight in bedside table, ice pack in freezer, etc. Very friendly and accommodating staff/owners. Beautifully designed property.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional B&B in Tahoe at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 01, 2016

This was an outstanding place. Beautiful grounds and excellent service.

View more reviews for this inn


Wondeful stay at charming Black Bear Inn at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.8 reviewed on July 31, 2016

Our experience at Black Bear Inn was wonderful from start to finish. Having caring and friendly owners onsite adds to the experience. The evening wine and breakfasts were great and the property including the garden is beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


J & R July 2016 at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2016

This was an excellent B & B. The rooms were nice and clean. The owners were very nice and accommodating. The breakfast served everyday was excellent!!! Would love stay here next time we visit Lake Tahoe!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great location, cozy cabin and wonderful service! at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.6 reviewed on July 09, 2016

We highly recommend to stay in this B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


The best of South Lake at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on July 08, 2016

Absolutely my favorite place to stay in South Lake Tahoe. Great, high-end accommodations, outstanding personal, friendly service and 5 star food. Plus a quiet, secluded environment. What more could you ask for?

View more reviews for this inn


Rustic elegance throughout! at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on July 08, 2016

The atmosphere of Black Bear Inn is terrific. The decor of the lodge and the rooms makes you feel like you are in a high end rustic mountain setting, which you are. The breakfasts each morning were outstanding. Definitely will visit Black Bear Inn again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


4th of July at Black Bear Inn at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.4 reviewed on July 07, 2016

My husband and I stayed at the inn 4th of July weekend, we were very happy with our stay. The staff upon arrival was so warm and welcoming, the outdoor area is so beautiful I spent some time reading in the garden. The bed was SO comfortable. All and all we will be returning, no doubt about it!

View more reviews for this inn


Heavenly Valley Lodge at Heavenly Valley Lodge (South Lake Tahoe, California)

4.4 reviewed on July 04, 2016

A very nice place run by exceptionally nice people! We fully enjoyed our visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B & B at Black Bear Inn (South Lake Tahoe, California)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2016

The innkeepers were absolutely wonderful, very detailed, awesome chefs. The lodge was beautiful as were the grounds. I would recommend this B & B and we will be back next year.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}