Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
122 Reviews

Write A Review

Our first B&B, and what an impression!

4.6 on September 21, 2013

My wife & I came up to visit Mt Rushmore and the area for a few days. This was the first time we'd tried a B&B, but we wanted to take the risk of having the experience. Ron & Leslie are terrific hosts. Our first day Leslie advised us well on what to do during the afternoon and where to eat. They have a great house and are nice people to sit and chat with. Breakfast was off the charts! Healthy portions and great taste! I will always compare other B&B's to theirs; a tough act to follow!!


Made us feel like family.

5 on July 28, 2013

Just finished our week at the Elk Ridge B & B. Reading all the reviews, one comes away with the feeling these inn keepers are too good to be true. My wife and I found them to be genuine, wonderful and thoroughly enjoyed our stay with them. Ron and Lesley are pleasant people, offering clean accommodations as well as offering an awesome breakfast. We called ahead and informed Lesley about our newly discovered gluten free issues, and she didn’t miss a beat. She’s a gem and he’s a character full of interesting stories. Their living room is full of artifacts, each one with its own story to be told. You decide the interactions, if it’s privacy you’re looking for, just stay in your quiet room. But we found ourselves spending time with them and found them to be great company each evening! Elk Ridge comes highly recommended by Mark and Sue F. Foxboro, MA


Best Place to Stay in South Dakota!

5 on July 08, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 4 wonderful nights at Ron and Leslie's B&B. Everything was spectacular! My husband was nervous, at first, not having stayed in a B&B before - but was quickly put at ease. As we were leaving he said "I cant imagine staying anywhere else!" Leslie is not only an outstanding hostess, but also the best chef in SD! Highly recommend!


Great Hosts!!!

4.4 on June 30, 2013

Had a great time stayed in the Duke room....loved the spa tub....Leslie and Ron were great hosts....breakfast was amazing!!!!


The highlight of South Dakota

4.6 on April 29, 2013

My wife and I travelled through Mount Rushmore for our vacation last week and our first B&B stay of the trip was with Elk Ridge. Ron and Leslie were so warm and welcoming. It was a great getaway. We stayed in the largest of the rooms "The Duke" for two nights. The hot tub was just what we needed after traveling on poor roads for several hours. The breakfast was AMAZING. The first day we had a cream cheese apple stuffed french toast that we had to get the recipe for. As we are aspiring innkeepers, it was really nice that Leslie and Ron were so transparent about their experiences and the business. The area was neat, the room was good, but the people are what make Elk Ridge a true treasure. God Bless you guys, Mike and Carrie


Wonderful Experience!!!!

5 on February 11, 2013

My Husband & I wanted to do something different to celebrate our 5th anniversary. So we decided to try Elk Ridge B&B. We absolutely enjoyed every minute of our stay!! The room was clean,so nicely decorated and had so many little extra touches that you wouldn't get from just getting a motel room. The bed was also very comfortable, the breakfast was awesone and so nicely served and the sceney was beautiful. Ron & Leslie were great hosts and we left there feeling just like family. All in all it was the BEST anniversary we have ever had, and it will always be a very wonderful memory for us. Thanks SO MUCH Ron & Leslie!!!!


Wonderful B&B!

5 on September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast near Hill City, SD in early September, 2012. We knew it was going to be a great visit when Leslie welcomed us warmly and gave us a tour when we checked in. We had a private entrance to our room,a private bath, and our own deck from which to observe the beautiful night sky and the deer in the backyard. The room was spotless, and the breakfasts were wonderful! I would recommend this B&B for anyone wanting a quiet place to stay in the central Black Hills.


A fantastic experience!

4.4 on August 22, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Elk Ridge B & B in Keystone! The hosts were inviting and helpful. Leslie greeted us at the door as we walked up. The western decor matched the "theme" of the area. The location was very convenient being within four miles of Mount Rushmore! My girlfriend and I agreed we would return to Elk Ridge! We would also recommend it to family and friends. It was a great stay! Brent


Black Hills Honeymoon

5 on June 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Ron and Leslie on our last night of our honeymoon (6/21/12). We stayed in the room called "Big Jake." Oh wow, that room is beautiful!!! The bed is made of logs... the decor is a bit western, the bathroom was big, bright, and airy... The cookies and turn down service was amazing. Leslie made a wonderful breakfast and they were the most easy going people to talk to!!! Our favorite B&B of our honeymoon by far!!!!


Wonderful!

4.8 on January 12, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend at Elk Ridge bed & breakfast. They were great people and went the extra effort to make our time there excellent. And the food was amazing, Leslie is a great cook. I'd say the best part about the trip was all the little extras that really made the difference!


What a great place to stay when away from home!

4.6 on October 20, 2011

My wife and I spent 2 nights with Leslie and Ron and we absolutely enjoyed our stay. The greatest aspect of the stay, especially compared to the many other B&B's we have visited, is the breakfast. It was like sitting around the family table, even though you just met the people sitting with you. The conversation was easy going, constant and Leslie and Ron were fully engaged in it. The food was outstanding. And breakfast was an hour earlier than we are accustomed to at B&B's and that suits us much better. If we ever get back to that part of the country, we will definitley check to see if Leslie and Ron are still hosting the Elk Ridge B&B! Larry and Deb Davis Wake Forest, NC


Wonderful

5 on September 18, 2011

We were only able to stay for 4 nights because the rooms were full on the balance of the days we spent in the Black Hills (what a disappointment that we weren't able to spend more time at Leslie and Ron's). We found such a warm and inviting place for our vacation. The breakfasts and evening treats were fanatastic. Leslie's food is wonderful. Elk Ridge became a home for us while in the Black Hills and we will return if we have the opportunity. Clean, great amenities, and just a wonderful time of food and conversation at breakfast. Highly, highly recommended!!


Elk Ridge B&B

5 on August 06, 2011

Everything was wonderful, clean, great food -- Leslie & Ron were great.


Warm, friendly, & the perfect hosts

5 on July 08, 2011

My husband and I stay in b&bs often. I can't say enough good things about this place & these people. The room was immaculate & had the amenities of a nice hotel. The breakfasts were amazing & amazingly delicious. But it was the gracious, warm welcome of the owners that made our stay special. We had our own garage & full run of their home if we chose. They made sure we always had everything we needed, & then some.


Look no Further

5 on June 30, 2011

We just returned from a relaxing 5 day stay with Ron & Leslie. What a great time! Everything was as advertized except for the surprise treats that awaited us every night. Leslie has such a calming spirit and what a great cook. If you spend some time with Ron you might even get a good story or two. We will be back! Doug & Karen Sioux Falls, SD


4 days of sightseeing and relaxing

4.0 on June 02, 2011

Leslie and Ron were wonder hosts. Breakfast was not only tasty but creative and beautifully presented. A little chat or respecting our private time. We had a great time.


Elk Ridge - the BEST

5 on May 28, 2011

We stayed with Leslie and Ron at Elk Ridge for 4 days in May and what a wonderful time. Both are great people and so helpful. They took great care of us, anticipating all our needs. Ron gave us great driving directions to all the sites. Leslie started us out with an amazing breakfast each day. What a pleasure to come home after a day of sight-seeing and sit in the living room with a cup of tea just relaxing. We would definitely stay with them again when we return to South Dakota.


will return

5 on April 01, 2011

Leslie and Ron Passons are fabulous hosts. Ron is an expert on wildlife and all things John Wayne. Leslie has a wonderful sense of humor, sets gorgeous tables, and is a wonderful cook. We loved staying in their home and look forward to returning.


They dont get any better than this one!

5 on February 21, 2011

I am sure I could write a book (instead of a review) Elk Ridge by far exceeded our expectations. We checked in mid afternoon on Friday and from the minute we stepped in the door we felt welcome and at home. Our origional plan was to stay the weekend, after a blizzard and closed interstates we were blessed to stay and additional evening. Leslie and Ron went ABOVE AND BEYOND what is expected, (and Leslie may be the best cook I know) we spent a PERFECT and lazy day visiting with the Inn Keepers and were made to feel like their home was ours. They are truly gifts from God and know how to make everything exceptional. All the little extras from Roses to scented oil for the tub, to cooking us Dinner due to the snow and the inability to travel, and the dog, oh that dog, sweet as pie (I seriously thought about packing her in my car :) I could not think of a better place to spend our 10th anniversary, and would recommend this B&B to all. We have stayed at several B&B's and this one is definatly our favorite. We cant wait to come back. PS... Ron and Leslie if you are ever in our area, please look us up, we really would love to "treat you" to dinner! Love and God Bless. Steve and Chasidy


Beautiful Location, Inn and Innkeepers!

4.8 on January 26, 2011

This was a first B & B experience for my husband. He was a bit uncomfortable at first with the setting of actually being in the living areas of the innkeepers home. It was odd to me at first too - but we soon realized we were among friends with Leslie and Ron - they are experts at making you feel at home. They upgraded us to the best room at no extra charge since we were the only guests there (middle of winter!) Leslie cooks a huge breakfast that was yummy and different each day (we were there 3 days). Ron was so kind as to clear our car of the snow that covered it the morning we were leaving and the treats at the end of the day in our room was a nice touch (chocolate covered strawberries, cookies and one night lemon bars). We were in town due to a death in the family and we treated ourselves to this place to offset some of the grief and it really did comfort us. Leslie also offers a prayer before breakfast and we both thought that was such a special and important touch. We would recommend that they have a touchpad type lock system put on the sliding glass doors so that guests do not have to go through the front entrance and also so they don't have to leave it unlocked for you. That would be our only recommendation...how can you improve on perfection? Oh, we also thought the "treat" their dog Abbey brought Ron from the forest the day we left was hysterical (part of a deer) - you are for sure in the forest here with beautiful views and we loved the soft snow falling and watching it through the many window views of this grand place. We will be back!


A perfect wedding present!

5 on November 23, 2010

For our wedding, my sister and her fiance gave us a free night's stay at the bed and breakfast of our choice to be used whenever we decided we needed a mini second honeymoon. We chose Elk Ridge because the location and price were perfect - and we could not have made a better choice! Leslie and Ron were so incredibly warm and welcoming - we immediately felt like were visiting old friends. The room was clean, comfortable and romantic, and the breakfast we enjoyed the next morning was amazing. The setting is absolutely incomparable, and so convenient to everything in the Southern Hills. Our stay was so enjoyable and relaxing - we would love to go back the first chance we get!


Wonderful visit

5 on November 22, 2010

We were treated extremely nice by hosts, Ron and Leslie Parsons. They made sure we were comfortable and provided exellent agendas for us. The accomidations were great and the food was superb.


Fabulous Vacation

5 on November 07, 2010

We had a wonderful week at Elk Ridge B&B. We did not want to leave as it was like leaving family. Our room was so comfy, cozy and clean as a whistle. We have stayed in many Bed and Breakfasts but none with as welcoming and friendly hosts as Ron and Leslie. And you won't get a better breakfast anywhere. Anything you wanted to know about where to go or what to see they had all the info. It was nice to have a private entrance to our room but we felt welcome in the evening to just hang out and visit with them. We wanted just a peaceful and relaxing vacation and our stay at Elk Ridge made it just that. We hope to return to the Black Hills some day as this was our first visit. When we do our trail will lead right back to visit the Passons and their very special place among the pines.


A fantastic place to stay near Mount Rushmore

5 on October 26, 2010

We only stayed for one night in September but really enjoyed it. We were made to feel really welcome and it is such a beautiful house in such beautiful suurroundings. Leslie and Ron provided recommendations for dining and places of interest near by. A really enjoyable visit and a really nice dog as well!


Wonderful visit

5 on October 24, 2010

This is a bit of homey hospitality in the midst of a beautiful location. It most reminded me of a European B&B in that you are actually in the home of your hosts. And they are just lovely hosts. But there is no pressure or expectation to hang out with them. There are private entrances to the rooms, and each room has its own bathroom. Our two rooms each had a private balcony as well. The rooms are tastefully and beautifully appointed. Leslie's breakfast was scrumptious, and Ron plodded out our route to the badlands. They and their house is a real class act.


Lovely setting, comfortable lodging

4.2 on October 23, 2010

Hosts were very cordial, room very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was very good.


I would go back to Eld Ridge B&B

4.4 on October 22, 2010

The inn keepers are lovely people, the room imaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast was one of the best on our trip. If we were back in the area we would likely stay at Elk Ridge, this time for more nights.


Peace & comfort

4.8 on October 17, 2010

Great hospitality! Yummy breakfasts, most comfortable bed! All in a serene setting. What more could you want!


A Perfect Place to stay!!

5 on October 03, 2010

We LOVED our stay at Ron's and Leslie's beautiful B&B. They are absoluting WONDERFUL people. Our room was so cozy, the food we will not forget as it was more than we could have expected and we felt so 'at home' with them. I could have stayed all day there between the peaceful room and the beautiful and peaceful outdoors. We are from Ohio were in town for Sturgis. If I ever need a 'getaway' I can not think of anywhere more perfect to go to. Thank you Ron and Leslie! You are absolutely the BEST!!!!


A Jewel of a B&B

5 on September 28, 2010

From the warm welcome on our arrival to having to say goodbye we enjoyed a most wonderful stay. Accommodation, foor & our hosts were all excellent.


August at Rushmore

4.6 on September 26, 2010

Leslie and Ron were very welcoming and friendly. They made us feel very much at home. The location is peaceful, secluded and beautiful. It's about 10 minutes from the main part of the city of Keystone. Breakfasts were hearty, satisfying and out of this world yummy! And there was plenty of it. We would have loved to have stayed one more night...especially to see what Leslie was going to cook up next!


Great Stay at Elk Ridge

4.2 on September 18, 2010

Stayed at Elk Ridge for 4 nights early August. Ron & Leslie provided a relaxed & comfortable stay in a great location. They could supply good tips on any attractions & sights in the area and Leslie provided a superb breakfast each morning. Highly recommended


Great place to stay

5 on September 16, 2010

During a recent trip through the Black Hills on the way to Yellowstone I stayed at the Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast. It was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were very comfortable, food was excellent, the view was great, but most of all, Leslie and Ron made me feel like family. I would highly recommend Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast to anyone who wants to have a wonderful home away from home experience. Bill Work


Wonderful B&B

4.0 on September 09, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at Ron and Leslie's Bed and Breakfast. We had a wonderful time and I was so very glad I found this BNB and reserved a room for part of our vacation. Ron and Leslie made you feel so much at home and so welcome! The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts Leslie served each morning were delicious!. The homeowners go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They are very informative about different activities in the area. When we left, I knew we had found two good friends in those Black Hills. I hated to leave for I knew we had 'stumbled on' a little piece of Heaven nestled in among the pines. We plan on coming back and bringing others. If you ever gets a chance to visit the Black Hills, I highly recommend you make your reservations at Elk Ridge BNB.


Great hosts very relaxing, atmosphere & setting outstanding

5 on September 08, 2010

Ron & Leslie were so inviting, helpful, accomodating and friendly that we instantly felt "at home". I really enjoyed All of Ron's great collections and especially his firearm expertise. Their friendly canine "greeter" only made the experience even better!


Elk Ridge Hospitality

4.0 on September 08, 2010

We had an enjoyable stay with Ron and Leslie. They went out of their way to assist us in every way. Breakfast was very good! Our room was comfortable and we got a great nights sleep.


Just like home in the Black Hills...

5 on September 05, 2010

Great location in the heart of the Black Hills. This cozy hideaway on the back side of Mt. Rushmore was the most comfortable, friendly place we have stayed. The room was charming and romantic. The bed was soft and snug and the jacuzzi tub relaxing after a full day's sightseeing. Leslie is an amazing cook and she and Ron were gracious hosts. Elk Ridge B & B was an incredible value. We had a wonderful time and plan to go back. In fact, I am recommending this place to all of my friends and family. Thank you, Ron and Leslie, for your warm hospitality.


Our first

5 on August 27, 2010

Our family of six stayed with Ron and Leslie for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the new experience as we had never stayed in a B&B before. We felt welcomed like family. Leslie and Ron's enthusiasm for the area and sights was infectious. Their suggestions for dining were excellent. We only wished we could have stayed a few more days to see more of the local beauty.


Secluded and restful

5 on August 21, 2010

Our stay at Elk Ridge was the best. We really enjoyed every minute there. The breakfasts were delicious and there was always a special sweet treat waiting in the room when we returned at night. We had to leave very early on the last day and needed to skip breakfast, but Leslie was up, had coffee ready in to go cups and a sack of goodies for the road. It felt like we were leaving family when we started for home. Fantastic Hospitality and Service!


The best

4.2 on August 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Elk Ridge during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally week. We were not frequent B&B users. Our stay was OUTSTANDING! Leslie made us feel like loved family in for a visit. Her cooking is fabulous. You have all the privacy you want or if you want good conversation you can sit on the porch and visit with Leslie and Ron. If we travel from Cincinnati to S. Dakota again we will not stay anyplace else.


Pines among the presidents

5 on August 09, 2010

In the shadows of Mt. Rushmore lies a lovely B&B. The innkeepers, Leslie and Ron have a beautiful and interesting home they share. Wonderful amenities, delicious meals, a welcoming friendly atmosphere. We loved every minute there and cannot recommend it enough. What a treat while visiting the Presidents.


Best value and outstanding hospitality!!

4.8 on August 08, 2010

We felt right at home. Ron and Leslie are people who you can become immediate friends with. Leslie can make a top notch breakfast! Beautiful place in a quiet setting. True southern hospitality in South Dakota.


A little bit of heaven

4.0 on July 26, 2010

Tranquil surroundings with breath taking views. Leslie and Ron make you feel like family. And Leslie's breakfast is to die for. We look forward to a return visit with our extended family.


Warm Hospitality & Fabulous Meals

5 on July 24, 2010

The Western decor took a backseat to the warm hospitality and fabulous meals prepared by Ron & Leslie. Each morning's breakfast was better than the day before and left you well fortified for a day of sightseeing. The bedroom/bath was cozy and extremely comfortable, thanks in part to the incredible Select Comfort Sleep Number Bed!! And Leslie managed to find the SOFTEST, lightest & warmest blanket ever (bought two of them for our home when we returned from Elk Ridge.) Even had our own private outside entrance to the room which was quite nice. Ron & Leslie were always available to give advice on local sights and especially places to dine. And thanks to them,we saw some truly memorable views during our South Dakota vacation. If you want a relaxing, fun and interesting time that will re-charge your batteries you can not do better that staying with this warm and caring couple at Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast!


"Wish we could have stayed longer!"

4.0 on July 24, 2010

Elk Ridge B&B exceeded our expectations. Leslie and Ron were warm and friendly. Ron was extremely helpful in getting us around the area. We were traveling with another couple and they were beaming with the accommodations. The sleep number beds were a big hit after a long day of travel. The decor in the home is wonderful....such detail. And the robes and chocolate-covered strawberries put a smile on our faces. Leslie puts on a delicious breakfast and I have even made her fruit salad since our return home. Met a couple in Montana that were from England. They happened to research Elk Ridge for next year's holiday. I was more than happy to recommend this B&B highly. No one would be disappointed staying at Elk Ridge.


Great place in the Black Hills

5 on July 24, 2010

Elk Ridge B&B was one of the loveliest experiences of our trip this year. Warm and welcoming, the hosts provided the most comfortable accommodations, delicious breakfasts and great company all in a beautiful setting along a fabulous road. -Amy and John Campbell


Wish we could have stayed longer.

4.2 on July 24, 2010

Very friendly & hospitable hosts, great rooms & location. We stayed 3 nights in June and would recommend this B & B without reservation or hesitation. If travelling from Hill City and you pass the carved bears - you've gone too far ! Retired couple from England.


great people

4.8 on July 23, 2010

We had a lovely stay at Elk Ridge. Our room was charming and owners were incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was outstanding. Have recommended to friends


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 23, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Elk Ridge. The room was great and had everything you could need. The two breakfasts we had were the best we had on our three weeks trip. Leslie and Ron are very good hosts and very knowledgable.


So "at home" we forgot to leave!

4.8 on July 23, 2010

Fantastic breakfasts and lively conversation shared with owners and other guests at breakfast time. Our room was pleasant with a large attached bath. It also had a back entrance, which made it convenient to come and go as we pleased. So "at home," our day of departure took us by surprise! -Rochester Hills, MI


Delightful Stay

4.6 on July 22, 2010

Leslie and Ron were very warm and hospitable hosts. They gave us a great recommendation for dinner and tips about other area attractions. Our room and bed were very comfortable with an unusual number of amenities. The chocolate covered strawberries on our bed when we came in from and evening out were icing on the cake! We will definitely stay at Elk Ridge again when we are in the area.


Delightful in Every Way

5 on July 22, 2010

Elk Ridge came highly recommended by friends and we couldn't have been more pleased. Ron and Leslie make the visit more like staying in the home of friends than of staying in an inn. They were very warm, welcoming, and helpful. We look forward to staying there again.


A Great Place to Stay

5 on July 05, 2010

We stayed one night while visiting the Black Hills in June, 2010. We found the innkeepers very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Our room was comfortable, the breakfast delicious, and the setting memorable. We will return here the next time we are in the area.


Black Hills Sojourn

4.8 on July 02, 2010

Wonderful two-day stay with gracious and responsive hosts. Strongly recommend a future visit for anyone looking to get away from it all and still see the monument.


Best place we stayed at

5 on June 08, 2010

This was the best place we stayed at during our month long X-country sightseeing trip. The room and bathroom looked brand new and were decorated so nicely. The accomodations were the cleanest we have ever had. We could tell the hosts make it a priority. The breakfasts were very good and the hosts made us feel like we were part of the family. We highly recommend this B&B.


A Wonderful Visit!

4.6 on May 02, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful time visiting with Leslie and Ron. They are the consummate hosts. The scenery around their lovely B&B is breathtaking and the rooms are comfortable and cosy. Leslie makes an amazing breakfast! We would definitely stay here again.


Absolutely Awesome!

5 on April 10, 2010

What a spectacular bed and breakfast! The hospitality that Ron and Leslie extend to their guests is absolutely incredible. The "Duke" room, filled with accents of the old west, along with Ron's 'John Wayne' memorabilia, were top notch. The stunning view of the Black Hills and MT Rushmore was breathtaking. Not only did we have lit candles, dessert, and a marvelous sleep number bed awaiting us, the privacy and relaxation that we experienced was amazing. The breakfast that Leslie prepared and served the next morning was phenomenal! Our grandiose stay with the Passons was magnificent and we are already planning a return visit to Elk Ridge Bed and Breakfast.


Tranquil Beauty

5 on April 07, 2010

Leslie and Ron are welcoming, warm and helpful. The beauty of the area is spectacular. There are numerous incredible activities minutes away. A wonderful retreat!


Quick getaway

4.6 on March 17, 2010

We needed a weekend getaway to refresh ourselves after a remodel project and very much enjoyed it. Food was superb, very clean, well furnished room.


great country Bnb

4.6 on March 10, 2010

Great hosts, fresh flowers, outstanding breakfat, fresh cookies in evening...couldn't ask for more. Great retreat.


What a great find!!

5 on November 09, 2009

After a long day of traveling (it was after dark and our GPS was not working) we arrived at Elk Ridge B&B to be greeted by our gracious hosts, Ron and Leslie. What a welcome relief it was to stay in such a beautiful, comfortable and clean B&B. Ron and Leslie are the perfect hosts, we truly felt welcome. The food was delicious, chocolate covered strawberries that evening and a hearty breakfast in the morning. We would recommend this B&B to everyone. Close to all the attractions too! Thank you Ron & Leslie.


Intimacy & Luxury

5 on November 03, 2009

We had a wonderful night in the Black Hills staying here. Food was excellent and the hostess was exceptionally nice & warm. All I can say is Luxury! Sleep number beds and candles lit.


fantastic stay

5 on September 30, 2009

Our stay at Elk Ridge was wonderful.Leslie and Ron are the warmest couple.Staying with them was like visiting old friends.From the moment Leslie greeted at the door we could tell we had chosen the right place. Their home is comfortable and spotless.The conversations we great and the food was amazing. The extra touches,home baked cookies and chocolate covered strawberries was above and beyond our expectations. We will definitely return. Lea and Mike Austin,Tx


Wonderful place

5 on August 24, 2009

Top quality service. Great western decor. Friendly & helpful hosts! Close to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse


Remarkable B&B

5 on August 21, 2009

Great B&B - close to Mt. Rushmore and Crazyhorse. personable owners. Luxury rooms. Delicious breakfast


absolute sweetness!

4.8 on July 10, 2009

My wife, Carrie and me were very happy to stay a few days last November. Great atmosphere and sweet people. The cooking was outstanding, the cozy, warm and non-commercial honespun American west feel was very welcoming. I love the outdoors and this place is highly recommended. Our room faced the back of Rushmore and the easy drive and yet, 'in the sticks' feel gave us a lot of needed r&r. Also, it was great to be with Steelers fans! -esp since we won the Superbowl that season! ; ) A great couple hosts this nice, clean and very traditional American rugged getaway! -sorry it took so long to write this ya'll! -John Breedlove, Denton TX


Great bed & breakfast

5 on May 31, 2009

While searching for Elk Ridge B & B on the winding road we saw this serene picturesque setting. We all said that we wished that this could be where we were staying. What a pleasant surprise when we discovered that was it! From the initial welcoming to the luxurious bedrooms and baths and the fabulous breakfast we thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing respite from the tourist scene. I anticipate returning for a week. Nancy


Ron and Leslie

5 on May 10, 2009

We arrived at the Elk Ridge Bed and Breakfast to be met at the front by Leslie. Her charm and warmth immediately put us in a relaxed and cheerful mood after a long drive. Her rooms were impeccably clean and the John Wayne western motif was wonderful. Ron came and introduced himself and we knew right away this was the right choice for our Anniversary get away. Their knowledge of the area was astounding and very helpful. They made subtle suggestions on the best places to go and spend a full day sightseeing and knew all the great places to eat. Each night as we returned there was a special surprise in our room, which made us feel more like family then guests. In the morning Leslie would prepared meals fit for royalty and they both joined us in conversation and food. Ron always had great stories to share and his wit and wisdom was welcome and enjoyed. In all the worse part of our entire stay was the day we had to leave. It was as though we were leaving our loved ones behind to return to the realities of life. Thank You Ronald and Leslie for the greatest vacation we have ever taken, and for the love and friendship you allowed to flow making us feel so welcome.


Anniversary Getaway

5 on April 04, 2009

Thanks to Ron and Leslie! They made our 1st anniversary so special. Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. We were welcomed with soft music, candles, and fresh fruit. We really enjoyed the sleep number bed and luxurious soft blankets. It was great waking to a hearty breakfast. Leslie is a great cook! We truly enjoyed visiting with Ron and Leslie. What wonderful people! Elk Ridge is a must if you plan to be in the Keystone area. You will not be disapointed.


Thanks Ron and Leslie

4.4 on April 02, 2009

Thanks to Ron and Leslie! What wonderful hosts. They made our first honeymoon absolutely spectacular. Everything was perfect: the candles, soft music, and fresh fruit awaiting our arrival; the sleep number bed and and super soft blankets; waking up to a hearty home cooked breakfast; and the hosts themselves. We truly enjoyed their company and conversation. We couldn't have found a better place to stay. Ron and Natalie, SD


Highest quality

4.8 on March 19, 2009

My wife and I stayed for a weekend trip. Everything about our stay made the trip better than we could have hoped for it to be. The location offered numerous day trips and directions and recommendations from Ron and Leslie made getting around easy. If you are going to be in the Black Hills of South Dakota, you should stay here.


Outstanding Value and Hospitality

4.0 on February 04, 2009

We are a B & B owner ourselves and it makes for an informed commentary on another. We received far greater hospitality and service than we could have ever anticipated. If you want an experience you will not forget, make time to spend time with the Innkeepers as they are the best! The whole experience, the innkeepers, the accommodations, the luxury and comfort, the breakfast...the whole experience awaits you too...Don't hesitate as it is Outstanding!!!! Zeno and Conchita from the TheStMarysInn.com

Innkeeper Response
This review, as with all of the others, humbles me.


Black Hills

4.0 on December 19, 2008

It was a wonderful stay. The host and hostess were very accommodating. The rooms were clean but very small except for the Great room. That had a big fireplace and a view of Harney Peak. Breakfast was set at 8:00 but that made us get up and going earlier, which was good.


mt rushmore

3.4 on November 20, 2008

the room was fine the view terrific. I had and issue with the owners in that they appeared to be parnoid. One evening returning from dinner around 9pm I walked into the common living room and the owner grab a large billy club and only put it down after he recognized me. Leslie was friendly and even go up early the lat day and prepared a box breakfast for us. My wife missed having bar soap to use in the tub.

Innkeeper Response
I am sorry that this guest was put off by my husband's motion when he entered the room. The fact is...my husband suffers with neck and back pain and he rests/leans his neck on a night stick for relief. It is large and his motions are jerky anytime he moves...so he may appear paranoid. We changed from bar soap to liquid soap due to escalating cost of bar soap and the WASTE.I have so many bars of left over soap I could start my own line of soaps! Fear not, that will not happen. If only these guests had asked, we have bar soap for those who prefer, I just do not use them on a regular basis. My parting line, as the guests get on with the business of getting settled is ..."if there is something you need, you are welcome to it if we have it". Again, we are sorry if these incidences made there stay less than desirable.


Weekend away

4.0 on November 15, 2008

This was a nice relaxing place to stay. It has it's own entry into the house for each room. Very calm and secluded area. Beutiful with a very welcome feeling.


Yearly Oct. visit

4.0 on November 06, 2008

Leslie and Ron were great. Wonderful food. :) Smoking bothers me and wish it would have been mentioned in the contact information. Beautiful area to visit.

Innkeeper Response
We are very aware that some folks do not like smoke of any kind. It is posted, that Ron smokes a pipe, on the room rate page.


wonderful stay

4.6 on November 03, 2008

Innkeepers, Leslie and Ron, were warm and welcoming. The room was great, especially the sleep, bed, and jacuzzi tub. We will definitely return if we are back in the area!


Excelent Place to Stay

4.6 on October 10, 2008

Great Decorated Rooms. Helpfull inkeepers. good advices/tips for trips


Quiet, Peaceful & Relaxing

5 on September 25, 2008

Our stay was more than what we had ever expected. We plan to return & would highly recommend to everyone. The food was delicious all three days, as will as the fresh baked cookies that were waiting for us in our room. The personal touches they provided made the experience above & beyond our expectations. Pete & Elaine from Nebraska


Splendid

5 on September 17, 2008

As B&B first timers, Leslie and Ron welcomed us into their comfortable home. The Passons made us feel like "old friends" who had come for a visit. Our stay was relaxing and peaceful. And the "no need for lunch" breakfast was delicious. Gods blessing to the two of you! Kim (aka Kelly)


Exceptional

5 on September 13, 2008

Fantastic breakfasts everyday! I don't know how Leslie does it! Can't wait to go back!


Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast

4.2 on September 09, 2008

Outstanding and exceeded my expectations.


Another great experience with bed and breakfast

4.0 on September 08, 2008

This is why I recommend bed and breakfasts. Quiet and beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and staying in a homey atmosphere is great. Not to mention the breakfast table... We appreciated the adults only. Thank you very much Linda


Amazing Hospitality and Leslie's French Toast!!

5 on September 07, 2008

My husband and I had the best time in South Dakota and the Passons' just made it all the better! We were on a cross-country trip from Philadelphia to California and back, and we decided to stop in South Dakota to see the sights and stay at the Elk Ridge B&B. It was so comfy and cozy and we were totally blown away by Leslie's stuffed french toast in the morning! I swear, it was the best french toast I've EVER had!! We will certainly stay at the Elk Ridge B&B again, and tell others about it! Thanks a million!!


Very pleasant

4.6 on September 06, 2008

The area attractions (national and state parks) were all conveniently located to the B&B and the hosts were helpful in directing us to them.


Great Stay

5 on September 04, 2008

Ron & Leslie are great hosts - they make you feel at home the moment you arrive, the location was perfect for visiting Mt. Rushmore and the Black Hills.


A wonder B&B experience

5 on September 04, 2008

Elk Ridge B&B was wonderful experience and our host and hostess were genuinely delightful! Our room exceeded our expectations, and Leslie is a great cook. All the little extras made our weekend very special.


absolutely wonderful

4.8 on September 03, 2008

The host are so friendly and accomodating. We had such a nice time with them and what a gorgeous place nestled in the heart of the Black Hills. Leslie is a fantasic cook. Ron and Leslie made our anniversary a very wonderful memorable time. You won't be disappointed. Kevin and Joan


Best B&B we've ever stayed at

5 on August 31, 2008

The Elk Ridge B&B in Keystone, SD is superb. Our room was spacious and homey. The Sleep Number bed and the spa tub made for a luxurious stay after being on the road and staying in hotels for over a week. Leslie and Ron were great hosts and the breakfast was fabulous. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Our only regret was we had only one night there.


minnesota trip

3.6 on August 27, 2008

beautiful surroundings, very nice innkeepers, rooms very clean and modern, wonderful deck with easy access from vehicle. excellent breakfast.


Bike Week at Elk Ridge

5 on August 25, 2008

We love bike week, but to us it is a vacation we look forward to with great anticipation. I do not look at it as an endurance test. Our bad experiences with lodging has far outweighed the good and it was with more than a little fear that we road our Harley, one day, 643 miles in heat across Minnesota and South Dakota not knowing what we would find at the end. I had never stayed at a B&B before and was not excited to find a doily ridden cedar chest of a room at the end of the day. We were hot, tired and looking forward to a shower. We were greeted with great warmth to a home in the pines overlooking the back side of Mt. Rushmore. We were taken to a beautifully appointed room with lit candles, light jaz playing and a beautiful private bath with Jacuzzi tub/shower and more candles. I was in heaven but before we even got our boots off we were sitting on the balcony smelling the pines, we mixed a cocktail we brought and never moved. We slept wonderfully on Sleep Number beds, were served a home made breakfast so huge we would never need to eat again and lingered so long over flavored coffee, it was hard to get on the bike and roam for the day. But when we did, how wonderful to know we had our room and our hosts to come back to. I will honestly tell you we hugged Leslie and Ron with tears in our eyes when we had to leave. I have not been so relaxed in a very long time, it was our most enjoyable bike week experience by far and have told many of our friends of our wonderful stay and are already planning the trip for next year. Truly outstanding. Debbie Ptacek


A gem in God's Country

4.2 on August 21, 2008

This is truly a hidden nugget in a slice of heaven. The location is breath taking, the room was beautiful - sleep number bed...need I say more and the hospitality unparallel. The home cooking was tremendous. We don't have enough nice things to say about Leslie and Ron. You'll truly enjoy your stay!


The ONLY way to visit Rushmore

5 on August 16, 2008

Leslie and Ron not only accomodated us with less than 24 hr notice, but treated us like long lost family. We needed one night's lodging on our cross country drive and planned only a drive-by viewing of Mt Rushmore and then a 7 hr sleep before moving on. Our prompt, not to be negotiated departure time of 8:30am went right out the window when we realized what special folks, and fabulous "new friends" we'd met! it was after 11am before we hit the road and later that night, even bleary eyed at almost midnight, still driving, we happily remembered how worthwhile our delay was. We cannot wait to go back and bring our family to meet these great folks! Mark and Roe (Westwood, NJ )


Great place, wonderful people!

5 on August 13, 2008

We felt just like family and hated to leave! Ron and Leslie are wonderful people. We have and will recommend this place to everyone we know! Ed and Debbie Behnke


Loved it!!!

5 on August 10, 2008

We loved our stay. The food was exceptional, the accomidations wonderful, but best of all were the innkeepers. They made us feel like family, and the evenings we shared on the decks will always be a special memory for us. Note: get to know the people who love the inn (the owners) and you will fall in love with them and the inn. Kudos for Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast we loved it. My husband still talks about the food!!!


Wonderful

5 on August 09, 2008

The breaksfast and cookies were excellent. I want to go back - so very relaxing. Leslie and Ron made me feel like I was at home. The rooms were beautiful.


simply wonderful

5 on August 06, 2008

We've stayed in dozens of B&Bs over the years and without hesitation I would classify this one as the very best. The food was wonderful, the rooms spotless, the setting serene, and most importantly, the hostess and host were a true pleasure to be around. Visiting with them during breakfast and at other times was a pleasure. If you are visiting Mount Rushmore, you will be very glad you chose to stay here.


July11-13,2008

4.4 on August 04, 2008

Our stay at Elk Ridge B&B was outstanding and I would highly recommend staying there while in the Keystone area. We arrived on Saturday evening and the breakfast Leslie served Sunday morning was amazing. I have never had such a hearty start to my day. Delicious! The view from the house looking on the back of Mount Rushmore makes you contemplate not even leaving the deck and the grounds to go look at the front. "A beautiful setting" is an understatement. Ron and Leslie are fantastic hosts and we will strongly consider vacationing in the area again in part just to stay at the Elk Ridge B&B again.


End your search and stay here!

5 on August 03, 2008

My son and I stayed here the third night into a month long vacation. I knew even before getting home that this was going to be one of the best places we stayed. Ron and Leslie are warm an do everything they can to make you want for nothing. Our room was beautiful, towels fluffy, and the sheets waaay up there in thread count. Breakfast....let's just say it was one of the best we've every had. I'm not a spring chicken, and consider myself to be very well traveled...I would stay here again in a heatbeat. The entire experience was 5 star!


Black Hills Visit

4.4 on August 01, 2008

What friendly folks! The B&B is in a beautiful, quiet setting, miles from town, yet close to Rushmore and Crazy Horse. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and wished we could have stayed longer. Our hosts were very helpful in guiding us to places of interest and good dining spots. I would go back tomorrow if I could!


Wonderful in every way!!!

5 on July 30, 2008

We enjoyed our 3 night stay with Ron and Leslie so much we could barely tare ourselves away to drive home to our kids!!! They are so delightful and real! They made us feel right at home and they made everything perfect! The rooms, the food, the conversations, the COFFEE, everything!!! We will definetly return. Thanks for everything Ron and Leslie and keep up the great work!!


AMAZING!!!

5 on July 30, 2008

We went to South Dakota for our honeymoon in July. Ron and Leslie made everything perfect!! Everything was amazing!! The rooms, the conversations, the cleanliness, the FOOD, everything. We only wish we could have stayed longer. Ron and Leslie made us feel right at home and wish them the best of luck! If we're ever in South Dakota again we will definetly be staying there again!!! Thanks for everything Ron and Leslie and give the puppies lots of love for us!!!!


Warm and Friendly

4.8 on July 25, 2008

Ron and Leslie were very interested in every guest enjoying their stay. They shared thier knowledge of the area and were very friendly and open.


"Location, location, location!!!"

4.8 on July 22, 2008

Stayed 3 nights, July2,3,4,'08.


The only way to stay in the Black Hills!

5 on July 19, 2008

We were extremely fortunate to choose Elk Ridge among others as it surpassed our expectations. Leslie and Ron operate an establishment perfectly suited for the region with an atmosphere that accents the experience. The rooms, food, view and especially the company were first class and very comforting. We felt relaxed the whole time and did not want to leave. We hope you get a chance to enjoy it as well.


First Class B and B in the Black Hills

5 on July 13, 2008

What a wonderfull experience. Hosts Ron and Leslie made us feel very much at home. They provided excellent advice on the attractions and local dining. Their beautiful home is off of the main highway (quiet), yet very close to all of the sights of the Black Hills. The breakfasts were some of the finest we have had anywhere. Again, a fabulous experience. We will return to the Elk Ridge B and B as soon as possible.


A much needed quiet, relaxing getaway!

4.0 on July 13, 2008

Leslie and Ron were the perfect hosts. They have a gorgeous home that they have decorated just as perfect as can be. They are wonderful to be around and Leslie made the most impressive and delicious breakfasts. You did not even need to eat lunch. They had wonderful tips and suggestions for things to see and do. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who needs the perfect getaway. My husband and I are already planning our return.


An absoluetly wonderful getaway!

4.8 on July 09, 2008

This was my husband's and my first experience with a bed and breakfast...It was amazing! Our stay was short, but Leslie and Ron made us feel right at home. The setting is breathtaking, the room was above and beyond, and the hosts' knowledge of the area is first-hand. We cannot wait to go back!


Wonderful Honeymoon

5 on July 08, 2008

We stayed at Elk Ridge Bed and Breakfast during part of our honeymoon trip. The place was clean, luxurious, private, and in a gorgeous place. The breakfasts were marvelous, and it was the perfect distance from Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, and the other sites of the area. We had a wonderful time, and would definitely recommend Elk Ridge for any romantic getaway!


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast!

5 on July 05, 2008

Leslie and Ron made our stay one we will always remember. The home and the setting are beautiful. Breakfast delicious!! Can't wait to return.


Best Place To Stay

5 on July 03, 2008

What a joy to stay at the Elk Ridge B&B! Leslie and Ron are gracious hosts and most helpful with evening dining suggestions aa well as sights to see and the best times to see them. Creation at its best surrounds you at the Elk Ridge. We would have liked to stay longer. We also enjoyed Buck and Mouser.


So beautifull we didn't want to leave

4.0 on June 24, 2008

Leslie and Ron made us feel like family (family you like!). Their home is beautifull and Leslie is one great cook! Breakfast was fantastic. Ron helped us plan our sightseeing trips and suggested places we would have missed that were wonderful. We will definately go back and hopefullly bring our parents next time.


Heaven !!!!!!!

5 on June 22, 2008

The most relaxing stay we have had, even extended one day. Food and Hospitality were fantastic. Lovely people. Will definely go back.


Most Graciuous hosts!

4.8 on June 12, 2008

Leslie and Ron were the most gracious and helpful host that we have the pleasure to stay in their home. Their 'Bed and Breakfast description does not truly describe reality. They provided area site seeing information that was first hand knowledge not just research. Their home was located in the most beautiful setting and very relaxing. The breakfasts served were at least 4+ star rated. The opportunity to just set and visit with both of them in the evening was very thoughtful and friendly. We felt really at home with them!


Our First B & B Experience

4.2 on June 09, 2008

My husband and I have never stayed in a B & B before. I really wanted to give it a try, and after talking on the phone with Leslie, I was very excited to stay there. Our room was very private and breakfast (we are HUGE breakfast fans) was delightful. It was a combination of great food and great conversation with Leslie and Ron. Thanks so much for a great first B & B experience!


Want An escape from the busy life?

5 on May 24, 2008

We were delighted with the Leslie and Ron's accomodations for us. They are so personal and friendly and fun to talk with. For those who think they prefer privacy--you can have that here too. You'll have your own patio door exit from your room. So convenient to everything, yet soo quiet and relaxing. Food is delicious. Bed is a Sleep Number--So enjoyable to sleep on!


VERY IMPRESSED

5 on October 26, 2007

Ron and Leslie are warm,wonderful,meticulous,& professional hosts. Accomodations were extremely comfortable & clean. If you leave hungry in the morning blame only yourself as the breakfast is large and delicious.


Elk Ridge.

4.2 on October 18, 2007

This bed and breakfast was outstanding.


Nothing but superlatives!

5 on October 11, 2007

Our trip to the Black Hills was made even more memorable because of Ron and Leslie. They shared so much of their home and themselves with us. The attention to detail, the delicious breakfast, and the setting had us wishing we could have stayed longer. Stongly recommend!!!!!


Excellent B&B!

5 on September 28, 2007

Beautiful rooms and location. Super hosts made it a very pleasant stay - we'll be back!


Fantastic First B&B Experience

4.0 on September 01, 2007

Rooms where great, Ron and Les were fantastic hosts. Breakfasts were beyond our expectations!! We WILL return and send friends and family....


you gotta' see it!

5 on July 20, 2007

You just have to stay at this place. The pictures do not capture all that it provides you...


Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $175
  • Reviews (122) 4.7
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6055742320
  • Toll free 1-8663809090

Visit Website »

View details

Top