Abingdon Manor - Country Inn & Restaurant Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services5.0
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining5.0

Score Breakdown based on
24 Reviews

Write A Review

The Best

5 on June 29, 2014

This is the best B&B we have ever experienced. Only place to stay when passing through Florence.


A Fortunate Turn of Events

5 on April 14, 2014

My wife and I had to be in Florence for 2 days for a business function during race week in April and could not find a hotel room. Trip Advisor led us to the Abingdon Inn and boy were we glad. What a gem. The Inn was charming and extremely well kept. We could only have dinner on the first night and boy what a meal! Would rival any 5 star restaurant for taste, service and presentation. We were so impressed that we debated "calling in sick" to our business function the next night just so we could stay for dinner at the Inn one more time! Mike and Patty were such gracious and thoughtful hosts and in my opinion are the "icing on the cake" of the whole experience. We are already trying to decide how soon we can come back.


Could not ask for more

5 on January 30, 2014

The Inn itself is a beautiful mansion that is meticulously maintained. The furnishings are impressive and the entire Inn is spotless. The dinner and breakfast were excellent. We enjoyed the fireplace and the very comfortable bed in the Hunter Room. My wife and I spent the night here on a trip from Pennsylvania to Florida. I can't imagine a better place to stop, (just a few miles of I 95) and we will stop there again. Mike and Pat were the perfect host & hostess.


Magnificent Abigdon Manor Inn and Restaurant

5 on July 10, 2013

Three nights in this beautifully appointed mansion were not enough. Every attention to detail was in evidence from the second we entered the property. Mike and Patty were engaging, friendly and eager to attend to our needs. The home was comfortable and luxurious. The gourmet breakfasts were the perfect start to each day. We plan to stop in again the next time that we're in the area.


Weekend Escape

5 on June 03, 2013

I own a manufacturing company, my wife is a special education teacher. We needed a weekend escape to relax and than recharge. Abingdon Manor was the perfect place to stay to accomplish just that.


Such a treasure!

5 on March 02, 2013

If you want the complete experience, please visit Abingdon Manor on your way down I-95. It is well worth the stop! The food is simply unbelievable. The flavor, plating, and combination of textures was well above expectations. The service is certainly five star. The owners remember what you like and how you take your drinks when you return. The bed was soft as a cloud and the owners think of everything in terms of creature comforts. You will be thrilled with your stay or your meal! We will definitely be back for a cooking class or a meal soon!


Relaxing Getaway

5 on January 05, 2013

This was a gift to ourselves. We were welcomed from the start with our host calling us by names. I loved being taken to our rooms and the common areas discussed as we went by. Room was great and the claw foot tub wonderful to just let the day slip away. The meals were perfect. Dinner from start to finish was served in an unhurried and graceful manner. Planning on our next trip, maybe a cooking class...


An Oasis in Backcountry SC

5 on June 18, 2012

A totally unexpected find, Michael and Patty were very friendly and professional, the accomodations were very nice and comfortable, the food was spectacular. All details and extras had been well thought out. Will need to return for the cooking classes. Beautiful house and grounds.


We highly recommend this inn

4.6 on March 11, 2012

Everything about the inn and the service was superb. We will definitely go back! Dinner there is a treat.


Elegantly Spoiled

5 on January 16, 2012

Wow, Wow, Wow... what else is there to say. The Inn is lovely and the interiors are beautiful. You will be transported back into time. From the time you drive up, you are waited on and made to feel like a very special guest. We enjoyed browsing the rooms, having wine by the fireplace ( of which there are many), and sitting, enjoying the view of the grounds. We stopped here because we read about the food and decided to make a night of it. It was a last minute decision on our trip and the best part of it. This Inn is right off I-95. Quick and easy to get to. We enjoy fine dining and wine and the restaurant did not disappoint. The tables are set with fine china and crystal. The 6 course dinner was perfection. When we arrived back to our room there was champagne and chocolates waiting that we enjoyed by the fire. Treat yourself and enjoy this Inn.


A Hidden Gem!

5 on November 21, 2011

I came out of the bullpen to drive for my son who had to work to accompany my husband from Connecticut to Florida. What a fantastic Inn! It is everything and more than we expected. We will recommend this 5 star (in our view) B&B to all our friends. The ambience and the evening dinner was just perfect and delicious. What a find!


What a wonderful property!

4.2 on September 26, 2011

Wow! This place is so fantastic! The property is beautiful and the hosts are fabulous! My favorite part of the experience was the dining for the 6 course evening meal and the breakfast. There were so many special places inside and outside of the house to enjoy and relax. Mike and Patty, the owners, are first class. I would definitely stay there again.


Great place

4.6 on September 21, 2010

My wife and I really enjoyed Abingdon Manor. The owners were not present, but Vicky did a terrific job of making us feel at home. Lovely rooms, great dinner!!


Excellent in every respect

4.6 on May 08, 2010

Always a warm welcome, first class accomodations and excellent food and service.


What an unexpected delight!!!

4.4 on January 08, 2010

We stayed overnight in July of 2009 on our way to New York City. This was a planned part of the trip as this trip was for my Father and was 'all about food' with some ambience thrown in. Well, we got both here. The setting was so cozy. The food was outstanding!!!!!! The room I chose was the hunter room and I just loved it. Everything was comfy. My Father stayed in the red room and he was quite comfortable too. Michael made us feel very welcome. It was a trip-highlight, for sure! A true delight!!


Loved it!!

5 on August 04, 2009

What a wonderful hidden treasure! We had a lovely relaxing stay with scrumptious dinner and breakfast. So relaxing. Can't wait to go back!!


A night at Abingdon Manor

5 on June 22, 2009

We just celebrated our anniversary at Abingdon Manor where we enjoyed staying in a beautiful room, eating a delicious dinner and breakfast, and relaxing. Michael and Patty Griffey are excellent innkeepers who make you feel right at home. Ed & Connie B.


Best Dinning Experience of my Life

4.6 on April 12, 2009

Michael and Patty know what they are doing. The Manor provides a serene atmosphere to relax the weekend away. But if you are smart, you'll spend as much time in the kitchen with Patty as possible. You go to Abington Manor for more than a getaway. Each meal that is served is a six course experience. The food is simple, elegant, and absolutely divine. The Host and Hostess welcome you in and you forget that it is not your home. I can't remember another time when I was actually sad to depart a vacation. I will be recommending this to everyone I meet. I went for my cousin's Bachelorette believe it or not. It is nice trip for an anniversary or a group vacation. Really, pick a reason, any reason, just go.


What a Gorgeous Setting

4.6 on October 16, 2008

The house and grounds are beautifully appointed and the innkeepers are gracious. But all pales when compared to the food served in that gorgeous dining room. We had a superb five course dinner and a smashing breakfast the next morning. The wine list was thoughtful and reasonable. Definitely get the Red Bedroom at the back of the house. Thank you again Patty and Michael.


Unequaled

5 on March 29, 2008

I have been listening to the praises of Abingdon Manor from my husband and friends for some time, but only recently had the opportunity to stay there myself. I can only say that their glowing recommendations were understated. Innkeepers Michael and Patty have a beautiful home set in a very peaceful little town. As others have noted, you will hear the occasional train, but that only adds to the feeling of having stepped back in time to a more gracious era. The grounds at Abingdon Manor provide an idyllic setting for restful contemplation. The bedrooms, library, parlors, porches, and other common areas of the manor fill your soul with thoughts of yesteryear (mingled with the more current luxuries of heating, A/C, and private bathrooms). The food will bring on a Pavlovian condition that I am sure will be hard to expunge, as my mouth continues to water whenever I think of the dinner and breakfast we shared (prepared by gourmet chef Patty and assistants). All of this comfort and luxury is held together by the gracious and friendly service provided by Michael, Patty, and all of their staff. I would highly recommend the delights of Abingdon Manor to others and am looking forward to my next visit.


Wonderful

5 on January 07, 2008

We had the opportunity to stay at Abingdon for our first night of our honeymoon. What a wonderful place to start off our honeymoon. Every detail made our stay relaxing and enjoyable. The home is beautiful and Michael and Patty are so accomidating. We have visted many inns, but Abingdon has been our favorite thus far.


Absolutely gorgeous!

4.6 on November 12, 2007

What a grand home! We had a difficult choice of rooms, as all are gorgeous! Breakfast was wonderful. Worth the trip.


Outstanding...

5 on October 17, 2007

Wonderful comfort, fascinating property, great small town atmosphere (even with the train during the night), gourmet dining.


Wonderful place to stay

5 on March 15, 2007

We spent 2 nights recently at the Abingdon Manor in the little town of Latta, SC. The house is a beautifully restored turn of the century mansion with 7 nicely furnished bedrooms plus several large common rooms. They have a fixed menu dinner each night ($48; ours was sea bass which was excellent), and a very nice full breakfast in the morning (included in the price of the room). The staff was very attentive; Vickie, our hostess was particularly nice. All in all, a wonderful place to stay. One small warning. The Inn is one block from the CSX Railroad main line. I didn't count, but I heard that there were 30 trains a day through there, including some in the middle of the night. And since there are a bunch of grade crossings in Latta, there is a lot of whistle blowing. If you love trains, as I do, it's great. But you may be wakened during the night by passing trains. The Inn provides ear plugs, which help.


Abingdon Manor - Country Inn & Restaurant

Details

  • Nightly Rate $180 - $215
  • Reviews (24) 4.8
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8437525090
  • Toll free 1-8887525090

Visit Website »

View details

Top