The Inn at Middleton Place Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
30 Reviews

Write A Review

A Wonderful Experience

5 on October 29, 2013

The inn, and Middleton Place itself, were one of those unexpected finds that really makes a trip. We were excited to see the inn after running across the website and making reservations. However, we did not expect to have such a wonderful experience overall. Our room was absolutely lovely, with an elegant simplicity that radiated warmth and comfort. We particularly enjoyed the architectural touches that set it apart from any other lodging of our trip. Notice how the curve is echoed in the ceiling in the bathroom, in the glass block window, and the arch under the stairs leading to the upper levels. We had requested a room with a river view and were on the second floor with a magnificent view across the Ashley River and marshes beyond. Upon entering the room we found a very thoughtful gift and card from Abigail Martin, General Manager, as we had indicated our stay was part of our 30th anniversary trip. Thank you Abigail! We met some very nice people, and enjoyed wine and hors d'oeuvres at the reception held in the Lodge Building our first evening there. Breakfast was at the Lake house, a short and pleasant walk from our building. Breakfast was excellent, light and satisfying. The Lake house staff, as everywhere on the property, were polite, helpful, and generally seemed concerned about the experience for their guests. Again, Ms. Martin should be applauded for this. It is a lovely and easy walk through the woods and along the river from the inn to Middleton place. We were anticipating spending a half day or so there. However, we became so engrossed in the history, the beauty, the guided tours, etc. that we ended up spending the whole day. We loved it. In the evening, we walked the lighted path again from the inn to the millpond for a spectacular night view with the moon peaking through the moss in the trees. Overall, our experience at The Inn at Middleton Place was excellent.


Southern Charm and Beauty

5 on April 17, 2013

Our stay at Middleton Place Inn was a great find. The grounds, room, hospitality, staff, restaurant, tours and flora beauty were terific. We took the carriage tour and the house museum tour. Our time did not permit us to take the walking tour of the gardens but will surly do that if we return to Charleston again. I can't say enough about the quality and sincerity of the staff from the General Manager the staff. When staying at the Inn all the tours etc, are included which makes it a terriric deal. If you're looking for a great place to spend time in Charleston for a day or overnight you won't be disappointed. Bill Burris


Wonderfully memorable

4.8 on December 06, 2012

I responded to The Inn at Middleton Place, to my core: The simplicity of the furnishings, the beauty of the tranquil setting filling the view from our room's window wall, the pool positioned beside the river and the quiet wooded walk over to the Middleton Plantation grounds. We enjoyed the afternoon wine and/or beer happy hour and the breakfast options were better than average, with fresh breads being my favorite. I couldn't recommend this Inn highly enough.


fabulous find

5 on August 21, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner with local fish, salad and veggies from the garden. Lovely, comfortable room and package included breakfast, tickets to Middleton Place and gardens - very special and we'll return next summer.


Beautiful and Great value B&B

5 on April 22, 2012

Beautiful view of the river. Can walk the gardens as much as you want for free. Floor to ceiling windows were a first for me. Delightful reception in the evening. Breakfast is a very short walk from the room. A pretty walk over to Middleton to go to a gourmet lunch or dinner. We will be returning.


The Inn at Middleton Gardens

4.2 on March 20, 2012

Just back from a surprise 70th birthday celebration with family and friends. Everyone loved the Inn and the many amenities included in the package. This makes a wonderful spot for a group gathering or a private getaway. It is an outstanding value and a beautiful site to visit.


I loved everything about this place

5 on December 25, 2011

Everything about this inn was a pleasant surprise. It is very monolithic, yet warm and roomy inside. I think a fabulous setting and contrast. If you have kids, they will love the pool-sized bathtub. The breakfast was awesome and the hors d'oveurs (i tried) were great big shrimp cocktail with blue cheese. My only suggestion, not complaint, would be some crackers to go with the blue cheese. Otherwise, we loved everything about the place. It was a refreshing change from the hustle & bustle of downtown Charleston. Being able to access the grounds of Middleton Place was a great plus in that you can see the gardens at the best time of day - morning. Also, if you want one of the nicest low-country horseback rides, this is the place. I give this venue 5 stars for good reason, you just can't beat it.


This is the Place

4.8 on August 05, 2011

MIddleton is just a most magnificent place. If your heart needs some peace and fresh air, some wild and photogenic views go here, see all on acres and acres of blissful sights. A writer, a photographer would revel in the scenes and atmosphere here. It is inspirational. Beebe Barksdale-Bruner


We loved our trip

4.6 on July 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on a business trip, but each night were able to get away and relax. The Inn and Middleton itself each have so many things to do and see, each beautiful and unique and each so much fun. The fact that you get into Middleton for free when staying at the Inn is totally worth it in and of itself. But the Inn is so cool in it's architecture and landscape, we could have been happy never leaving. The free breakfast was good, but I did splurge one day and get some warm food too (which is not overpriced). The staff was all super friendly and so accommodating. Just wonderful! We really enjoyed the pool too. We were able to make it one evening. We can't wait to visit again, this time in spring so we can see things in bloom over in the Middleton Gardens.


Review

3.6 on July 14, 2011

We had a lovely stay at this Plantation. They gave us a cold deluxe breakfast everyday. The rooms were comfy enough, but the highlight was the view and the surrounding grounds at the plantation which were ours to enjoy during our stay.


Weekend Trip

4.4 on July 08, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend. The staff were extremely helpful. The rooms were really cute. The view of the Ashley River was gorgeous. I will definitely come back to this place if I visit Charleston again.


Very unique place with true southern hospitality and serenity

4.4 on June 15, 2011

Very unique architecture set in peaceful surroundings. Very relaxing and calm. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Loved sitting out on deck overlooking woods, water, and even alligators and eating breakfast. Great way to start a day. All surroundings are very natural - woods, paths, etc. Sits right on Ashley River. Path to Middleton Place stableyards and gardens is very natural and somewhat lit at night. Middleton Place gardens are pretty; stableyards are very historic and interesting. We even got to milk a cow. Middleton Restaurant is very unique - beautiful views, great service, unique entrees -- but very pricey. There is about a 15 minute drive to Historic Downtown Charleston, but worth the peaceful, serene, atmostphere of the Inn at Middleton Place.


Birthday Blast

5 on February 07, 2011

The Inn at Middleton Place really made it a very special time for my daughter's birthday weekend. Everyone at the Inn and the restaurant went out of their way to treat her as a special guest, especially during dinner . This weekend was "the greatest" in her words ! Again thanks for making an 11 year old's birthday one that she will remember. Ira Rivers


absolutely loved our stay here.

5 on October 19, 2010

had a long weekend with the wife and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay than the Inn at Middleton Place. Nice, quiet, and scenic are the best descriptions that I could use. Will absolutely stay here again.


Loved It!

5 on March 10, 2010

My family recently stayed at the Inn and it was such a relaxing atmosphere. The staff at the Inn could not have been more friendly and helpful. I would definately stay here again. Our room was considered the River Room which overlooked the Ashley River. There was nothing to complain about. Thom & Gina


Unique setting for a getaway

4.0 on June 06, 2009

This inn is part of an old plantation rich with history. The rooms are very "wright" and part of a conference center. A short walk takes yo to the plantation with its beautiful gardens and absolutely wonderful restaurant. What a great place to experience history!


Beautiful surroundings and outstanding service

5 on January 06, 2009

My husband and I spent a romantic weekend in December at Middleton Inn in Charleston, SC. Upon arrival we were greeted by live oak tree's so massive and beatiful you would swear you saw Scarlett O'hara on the lawn in front of Twelve Oaks. Driving back into the property are the Middleton Stables where my husband and I were so fortunate to have gone on an hour long trail ride with our guide David. I would definatly recommend this service during your stay. Not only was our guide very informative we were able to enjoy lots of breathtaking scenery that we otherwise might have missd on foot. The horses were very friendly and it made for a relaxing ride. Especially for my Husband who had never ridden before. David was able to give lots of history while we meandered through the beauty of nature that is so abundently rich there. My favorite part of the ride was the view of the Ashley River and seeing all the wildlife. The Middleton Inn staff were very accomadating allowing an early check in time and providing champagne and choclate covered strawberries upon arrival. Ms. Martin was exremely helpful when making reservations. She recommended the dining enhancement which was a fabulous deal. We really enjoyed our dinner at the resturant. The scallops were to die for! Also, the atmoshere was warm and cozy. The complimantary buffet style breakfast each morning was second to none. No stale danishes here! The best shrimp and grits I have ever eaten. A true dish of the south!! But if grits ain't your thing (smiling) the fresh fruit, bacon, eggs, yogurt, cereal, danishes, coffee and juice should do the trick!!!! All in all The Inn at MIddleton is a must see and stay. My husband I will certainly be returning. Happy Vacationing!!


Great for a Group Retreat

4.2 on December 29, 2008

Our organization recently used this property for a business retreat. Lovely site, great activities, and the inn personnel were very easy to work with, very accommodating, and welcoming. K. D./Executive Assistant


A holiday oasis

5 on September 28, 2008

Rooms and amenities far exceeded our expectations. So much to do and see, that you will not want to leave the property! Breakfasts were delicious. Service was superior. And it comes with a resident cat!


Wonderful Anniversary!

5 on September 02, 2008

This is truly one of the best kept secrets in the southeast! My husband and I stayed at The Inn at Middleton Place for our 12 year anniversary and could not have asked for more. This was actually our second visit to the inn. We received a gorgeous and quiet room overlooking the Ashley River. We enjoyed the cocktail reception (free wine and beer) in the lodge, hiked the grounds and found dozens of shark teeth, enjoyed dinner at the restaurant that night and then went for a late night stroll on the plantation grounds which was spectacular. The next day we rented bikes and rode around the old rice fields...it felt like we were hundreds of miles from civilization with nothing but nature around us! Plus we even received a full hot breakfast the next morning which was delicious. It was one of our best anniversaries yet!


OK - but expected more

2.6 on July 27, 2008

Having stayed at several plantations before, I really thought Middleton was going to be very nice - but found they were outdated in their rooms and missed little opportunities that could have been worth the price. It was ok for the price included the gardens and museum, bt not sure I would go back.


History - and More

5 on June 06, 2008

As a history buff, I was thrilled to enjoy a "living history" experience in a beautiful setting with excellent accommodations, service, and food. A great birthday get-a-way.


Rustic, yet elegant

4.6 on May 28, 2008

My husband and I loved our 4-night stay at Middleton Inn. We felt like we had the advantages of both camping (being in a natural setting) and staying at a first rate bed and breakfast (large, comfortable room with nice perks like bathrobes and bottled water provided). Breakfast was perfect, something for everyone, both hot and cold. The staff was so very accomodating and friendly, especially the nature walk and kayaking guides. Having access to the platation gardens next door was wonderful and added to the value. We could also quickly drive into Charleston for the day and then come back, relax, and take a sunset hike to spot egrets and alligators. A very nice short get-away vacation from the Atlanta area.


Great for history and nature lovers

4.0 on December 14, 2007

We stayed at Middleton Place Inn last year Dec 30 and New Year's Eve and loved it. I'm from the Charleston area and know that the weather is nicer in Dec than in the summer. And it certainly was lovely lsat year - in the 50s-70s. We were outside alot. Inn guests can go on the plantation grounds at any time - it's like having your own private estate. Stunningly gorgeous. We enjoyed all the tours and rented bikes and rode out to the labyrinth and then to the stables. It was a little too cool to kayak. The rooms are nice: fireplace, huge tub and king bed - very romantic. Not dirty as so many people have said. If you freak out over snakes and bugs like some reviewers, don't go to the SC lowcountry - or at least, stay in downtown Charleston. Its semi-tropical, for goodness sake! If you want to be in the country, go between Oct and March - before the bugs come back! We enjoyed the breakfast and evening receptions. I highly recommend the Inn as a good value. In fact, we will be back for anther romantic NYE in two weeks!


A work of art off the beaten path

5 on September 02, 2007

What a surprise to find this hidden treasure adjacent to the ruins of a rice plantation. The Inn is worth a stay if only to relish the award-winning architecture in its perfect setting. The views from our glass-walled room were spectacular. My only regret is that the August weather made lighting the fireplace out of the question; we'll return in winter to enjoy that amenity! Breakfast is an excellent low-country buffet and the restaurant at the nearby (a short walk)Middleton Place Plantation is wonderful. We highly recommend the Inn at Middleton Place; a uniquely luxurious experience.


Our Honeymoon

4.8 on August 20, 2007

My new wife & I stayed in the Ashley River room for the first two nights of our 4 night stay in Charleston. The Inn at Middleton Place was the perfect place to start our life together. Our room was superb, the breakfast great and the grounds lovely. Be sure to use the pool (we had it all to ourselves). We took a great guided kayak tour of the river. Dinner at Middleton was delicious. All in all, it was Great! The last 2 nights were spent at 21 East Battery, a sister property.


Beautiful surroundings

5 on June 21, 2007

I won a trip through Sassee magazine. My husband and I recently visited Middleton Place. The panoramic view of the Ashley River was gorgeous from our room. They have a restaurant on premises that has picturesque views from every table. The food was very tasty and served with great presentation. A resident cat named Zoe adopted us she was very friendly. There are kayak (guided or self-guide) tours everyday. We were unable to take one but plan on it during our next stay. There is horseback riding, biking, etc. The tour was very interesting. Our room was quite cozy with fireplace and a lovely view of the Ashley River and woods. The entire staff was very personable and informative. There is a breakfast buffet served everyday which was very tasty. There is a social hour served with wine or beer and munchies, Abigail, the Innkeeper arranged everything and made our stay very comfortable and quite entertaining, we felt very special. We would definitely do a return visit and plan on telling our friends and family about this hidden treasure.


Great inn with modern flair

4.4 on April 17, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. Certainly we enjoyed it, but we were glad that it was at the end of our honeymoon. The bathroom was fairly open to the room and the tub/shower was massive. We found the temperature in our room to be freezing cold and we were not able to adjust it -- I slept under the blanket and every towel in the room, and that was in early September with high-80 degree days! Certainly this is a place that you can enjoy the views and the plantation, and we have discussed returning, though we would bring a few more blankets of our own!


A Shagri-La Hidden in the Woods

5 on March 07, 2007

I have visited Middleton Place on several occasions during the last few years, and each visit has been even more enjoyable than the one before. Twice my husband and I have spent New Year's Eve at The Inn at Middleton Place; the inn is also one of his favorite places to visit. Middleton Place Inn is situated on the magnificent grounds of Middleton Place Plantation on the outskirts of Charleston, SC. The floor-to-ceiling windows, in the guest rooms, allow guests to enjoy the woodsy setting--on a bluff overlooking The Ashley River--even when inside their rooms. Each guest room includes a wood-burning fireplace, a mini-refrigerator, an impressive array of amenities, and a spacious bathroom with an oversized tub and shower. Each evening a reception is held in the lodge where guests are offered complimentary wine and appetizers; a delicious breakfast buffet is served in the mornings in the lake house. Fine dining is available at the inn's restaurant within walking distance of the inn. During the day, guests have an opportunity to visit the plantation home, explore the landscaped grounds, and participate in a wide variety of activities. The staff at The Inn at Middleton Place is friendly and helpful. The Inn at Middleton Place is an inn I enthusiastically recommend!


Hidden Gem!

4.8 on January 22, 2007

I have fallen in love with this local retreat! Wood burning fireplaces, a huge garden tub, kayaking on the Ashley River, candlelit dinner at the plantation and a house cat named Zoe. I recommend this hotel for a local, long distance or a group getaway.....what a surprise!


The Inn at Middleton Place

Details

  • Nightly Rate $129 - $550
  • Reviews (30) 4.6
  • Rooms 53
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8435560500
  • Toll free 1-8005434774

Visit Website »

View details

Top