The Cabell House Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.5
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
40 Reviews

Write A Review

Very Convenient Location

3.0 on May 05, 2014

This bed and breakfast is in a perfect location and that is really the best part about staying here. It is both quiet and convenient to just about everywhere in Charleston. There is parking on the side of the house; but it can be quite tight.We stayed in the Randolph Room which is very small and the bathroom is outside of the room. There was construction on the veranda outside of the room, so that could not be used. The fixtures in the bathroom were rusty and really need to be updated. Perhaps because of the veranda construction, the side porch seemed to be dusty and cluttered and some of the furnishings appear to be worn. The breakfasts which were good.


GREAT B&B!!!

5 on November 02, 2012

My wife and I live in Charleston and come here when we need to get away. We love the rooms and the hospitality. No complaints, everything is great!


Past Prime, but nice

3.4 on September 15, 2012

We stayed three nights. The furniture is noticeably worn and the piazza out our bedroom had broken furniture so you couldn't use it. The first level piazza is nice so we used that instead. The room was nice and the cleaning gal did a great job. There is individual coffee servers in the room which is great because I need my coffee first thing. Breakfast was good, but not great. Had fresh fruit and yogurt every morning and a meat/eggs/bread. No special recipes or homemade breads....The front yard was dug up and have to walk across the dirt to get to the front steps....overall a good value for the area.


Very pleasant stay!

4.8 on February 27, 2012

We stayed three nights and did not want to go home. Pleasant clean rooms and great B&B atmosphere overall. The bathroom sink in our room was on the small side, but it worked out well once we got used to it. The breakfasts were fabulous and offered a welcome opportunity to visit with both the B&B staff and other guests. The location is an easily manageable walking distance to historic downtown Charleston. We hope to stay here on future visits to Charleston.


Oh-la-la! Adore Cabell House!

5 on July 30, 2011

In such a competive market, this place is stellar on every front. It's relatively inexpensive (one would expect to pay much more for such amenities). The accommodations are plush and filled with ambiance (ours was a large corner room with dressing room, anteroom, and gorgeous bath). Were the other culinary offerings in Charleston not so enticing, one could almost exist for the day on Ms. Cabell's copious breakfast. This spotless auberge is a short pedicab away from Charleston's prime offerings, provides parking, encourages pets, and shelters an extremely friendly staff. You can't find any better in the Low Country. Book early as these precious rooms go quickly!


Couldn't be in a better location if you tried!

4.0 on June 05, 2011

This was our first time in Charleston and we could not have picked a better place to stay! The location is perfect, right across the street from battery park and the water! We rode our bikes every! The room was wonderful! We actually had a door to go out to the upper deck and were able to go sit out there and drink our coffee in the morning; it was really lovely. Randy and Nikki were wonderful, very accommodating. We will definitely stay there again! Beautiful house, huge breakfast; you will love it as much as we did!


the perfect inn

5 on March 10, 2011

my daughter and i stayed at this delightful and gorgeous b&b in historic downtown charleston for 2 nights. the room was beautifully appointed, roomy and comfortable. the cabell is in a perfect location (church street) - near the battery and a short walk to all the wonderful attractions charleston has to offer. randi - our gracious and hospitable hostess, and a true charlestonian - was a wealth of information. nikki -the very pleasant inn manager- turned out a delicious breakfast both mornings we were there. we were made to feel like family and didn't want to leave. we will definitely go back there and hopefully the near future!


Incredible Cabell Retreat

5 on January 07, 2011

I stayed in the Cabell House last spring, and found the experience wonderful. Randy was so helpful, hospitable and welcoming, and made our stay most enjoyable. The Inn itself is perfectly located in the historic district, and is beautifully maintained. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone seeking to enjoy all Charleston has to offer.


Great Time and Location

4.8 on April 28, 2010

The Cabell House is truly in the heart of historic Charleston. It is located on Church St. just three houses off the battery. Church St. in this area is a lovely one lane street with hardly any traffic. Great location to walk to all the area sites and restaurants. We were able to enjoy walking to all the garden tours during our April stay. My wife and I stayed for four nights and got to know Randy and her staff. Randy is truly a Charlestonian and had many stories to tell us about growing up in Charleston. We truly enjoyed getting to know her and look forward to going back.


A relaxing weekend!

5 on March 06, 2010

Thank you Randy for a relaxing weekend. I needed a get away from hectic Atlanta; you and your wonderful Charleston filled the bill. I left that Sunday feeling like I spent the weekend in the home of a old family friend. Walking at daybreak on the battery, walking to lunch, dinner and shopping, I did not crank my car until it was time to leave. Driving through town does not do it justice. Walking is the way to feel the history of the area. Please keep my room for me; I'll be back soon.


Beautiful and Relaxing B&B

5 on March 03, 2010

My Boyfriend and I stayed at the Cabell House one week in Feb and fell in love with it. Randy and her staff were wonderful, attentive, and friendly. Our room was very spacious and cozy. The bed was comfortable and inviting. When we arrived we were not sure what to do around town or where to eat and Randy gave great recommendations and pointed us in the right direction. The breakfast was delicious and perfect. Her guest are given another option to go to the sister B&B for a hot small buffet sytle breakfast, which we did once, but overall preferded the food and company at the Cabell House. I would tell everyone to stay at the CABELL HOUSE whenever they visit Charelston.


Best Kept Secret in Charleston

5 on February 06, 2010

The best week-end ever! My husband and I wanted a romantic getaway without having to drive too far. We chose the Cabell House on Church Street because of its central location. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Randy, the proprietor, with a warm smile and friendly welcome. It is apparent that this house was once a home inhabited by a happy family. The feeling and sense of home was overwhelming, I wanted to breath it all in. We enjoyed looking at Randy’s family pictures and hearing the stories of her parents, brothers and sisters, and other relatives. Each room is named after members of Randy’s family. We stayed in the Clairborne Room. Our room and bath were very large, comfortable, and scrupulously clean. The bedding was adorned with the finest linens, and we slept like babies. In fact, I had trouble getting my husband out of bed in the morning! We were pampered in the morning with a beautiful table setting and a delicious continental breakfast. Nikki, Randy’s assistant, couldn’t do enough for us. In conclusion, if you are looking for a true Charleston historic home, complete with antiques and true southern hospitality, The Cabell House is an excellent choice! Thank you, again, Randy, for making our stay one we will never forget. We will visit again soon!


Southern Hospitality

4.8 on February 06, 2010

From the time I spoke to Randy Cabell, owner of the property, I anxiously awaited our trip. It was our first time in Charleston and the Cabell House was the most perfect example of the warmth and beauty of this Southern city. The house's decor and architecture were both charming and historic. Randy greeted my husband, myself and our dog, Annie, with her warmth and cold drinks. She was a great source of information and suggestions. The house is located on a quiet cobblestoned street near Battery Park and the water. We were able to walk to everything and enjoy the charm and history of this beautiful city. Our room was just exquisite with a poster bed with soft linens and a wonderful window seat. The bath was outfitted with wonderful toiletries. Alongside the bed was a Keurig with a variety of teas, coffees and hot chocolate and also a tray of water and wine glasses. Although we could have opted for a full breakfast at a nearby inn, we enjoyed a continental breakfast with fresh fruit, yogurt and hot croissants which was more than sufficient and delicious. When we return to Charleston, we will be sure to return to Cabell House.


CHARMING, FRIENDLY & IN THE HEART OF THE CITY

5 on December 14, 2009

My husband treated me to a 4 day getaway at the Cabell House bed & breakfast. From the moment we pulled up we felt transported to the southern era of elegance and charm right out of a Alexander Ripley novel. We were greeted at the door with charming southern hospitality by the host, Randy. The house and grounds are so fabulous, I wanted to stay at the house the whole time. The bedrooms were spacious, impeccably decorated & comfortable. We had lovely evenings sitting on the porch taking in the wine & scenery. I'll be back again in January. Thank you, Randy, for opening your home and making it feel ours.


the british came

4.6 on November 07, 2009

we had a wonderful stay with Randy and David adding to the charm of visiting Charleston. Randy could not have done more to make us welcome and was brilliant at answering all our questions and guiding us to great restaurants. David even drove us to our restaurant one evening as it was pouring with rain - much appreciated when in your "party frock" Its the only place to stay in Charleston maureen and peter alnwick northumberland


We're back!!

5 on August 07, 2009

My mother and I stayed at the Cabell House last summer and just loved it. So we came back. We really got the full Charleston experience. The house is charming and cozy. Randy is a wonderful hostess. We also enjoyed our breakfast at the Cabell's sister B & B, the Palmer House.


Very nice

4.2 on July 26, 2009

Randy was very kind and helpful and so were Gabrial and Nadra. My husband and I, along with six of our friends, stayed at the inn for two nights. The continental breakfast was excellent--with two different types of coffee (French Roast and Creme Brulee flavored), croissants, muffins, various breads, a variety of cereals, fresh fruit, and yogurt.


Charleston 2009

4.6 on July 16, 2009

Very nice location, quiet street. The house was beautiful and Randy's stories were even better!


Great Place to Stay

5 on May 22, 2009

Randy is absolutely a great hostess. Our room was extremely comfortable and we were given full information about sights and resturants. It was fun because my name is Randy, also, and we had some good laughs when soneone said "Randy" and we were both in the same area. Delightful place to stay. Great location and fanstatic service. Randy could not have been a better hostess. Thanks so much for a wonderful time, the other Randy!!! :)


Big Letdown in Low Country

1.2 on May 08, 2009

charleston..owner lives in house,no one home to greet us,nothing fresh in our room,coffee tray soiled,coffee maker leaks,cream spoiled,staff called in sick,innkeeper sorry,paying guest gets no promised breakfast,no next day room freshening,big price tag,shame on you randy cabell calling yourself innkeeper,mr and mrs jim niemir, florida

Innkeeper Response
It's true, you caught us on a very bad day. The homeowner (me) recovering from the flu and both housekeepers coming down with it. Room, breakfast and hospitality all dependent on these people. But shame on you, mr and mrs jim niemir, for never voicing a single disappointment with us. When guests assure us that they are fine, even in the face of a problem, we believe them. My apologies for what truly was a rough visit. Please contact me for a complimentary repeat and let us show you how responsive and hospitable the CABELL HOUSE normally is. Randy Cabell


Great place to stay in Charleston

5 on November 01, 2008

We were guests at the Cabell House in mid October. It was absolutely fabulous. Randy was a gracious hostess and made us feel very welcome. Our daughter was married at the Palmer House around the corner and it was a wonderful week-end. It was very clean, romantic and beautiful home. I would recommend this Bed & Breakfast to anyone. When we go back to Charleston, we'll be returning to the Cabell House!


A Week-end At the Cabell House

3.4 on September 14, 2008

Our stay at the Cabell House was memorable. You really can walk to everything. The Innkeeper's family has lived in the house since she was a child and she had wonderful stories and information to share about the neighborhood she grew up in. She sent us over to a childhood friend's house around the corner for a visit and breakfast. The evenings were very quiet, just right for sitting on the porch with a glass of wine. We plan to stay there again.


Nice Place

3.0 on July 13, 2008

It was a nice place; conveniently located; pretty neighborhood; quiet


Love it!

5 on July 04, 2008

Absolutly terrific B&B. Randy is the perfect hostess. The room, food, and hospitality were top knotch. We will definitely be returning! - L&S from Danville,Va


Beautiful and Charming

5 on June 09, 2008

I traveled to Charleston with a girlfriend and stayed here for two nights. It was charming, clean, comfortable, and close to everything historic. It took us less than ten minutes to walk to nearby restaurants and museums. The rooms are beautifully decorated and breakfast is delicious. Randy is a wonderful host and really cares about her guests. She even took pictures of us on the porch before we departed for dinner one evening. I would highly recommend this hotel - and I am very picky!


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on May 15, 2008

I would recommend this B&B due to its friendly staff, beautiful rooms and great location. Everything you want to do is within walking distance. This B&B is also pet friendly and has a pet friendly park right down the street. I would splurge on the Palmer House breakfast just due to the wonderful view of the water.


Randy's Magnificient Cabell House

4.6 on April 27, 2008

Combine Randy's personality, and location and you get AWESOME! My husband and I chose The Cabell House initially for its prime historic location. We enjoy riding our bikes while visiting Charleston, and there wasn't any place on our agenda that we didn't reach conveniently. Meeting Street was just a block away, and goodness what fantastic historic sightings we viewed while heading up town! The Battery and lovely gardens were within one block. Everywhere a fabulous view! Incredibly, this beautiful home has been in Randy's family for generations - treasures abound! The continental breakfast was generous, our lovely room, freshly painted and decorated, opened up to the 2nd floor porch, and the Senseo coffee maker was a plus. We will certainly make The Cabell House our frequent stop-over location each and every time we visit Charleston in the future.


a wonderful stay

5 on April 15, 2008

What a gracious home and hostess and one who puts you at ease right away! And then when you enter your room you feel like a queen, so elegant and cosy, with grand windows that give the room lots of light, and every one overlooks a roundabout porch. Clean bathroom, great shower, tea and TV in the room and beautiful artwork, I could have stayed forever! You come down the elegant staircase in the morning to sit at a long dining room table set with china for breakfast of fruit and yogurt, toast, jams and muffins, hot coffee and cereal. Lovely! And it was a glorious and easy walk from her house by the water to town shopping area and restaurants. The hostess Randy Cabell makes sure you have a great stay: you can tell she really cares about her guests!


You MUST stay at this B&B in Charleston, SC

5 on April 11, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Cabell House the last weekend in March. We had a wonderful time. The owner/proprietor, Randy Cabell, was extremely gracious. We stayed in the Nathaniel Room which was gorgeous - queen size Charleston rice bed with a sofa and chairs, a small dressing room and a bathroom - 3 rooms. The silver service with bottled water was an elegant touch. There was a beautiful large antique men's dresser, mohaganey or cherry, and an armoir with lots of space for your belongings, along with a thin streamlined HDTV. The bed had luxuriously beautiful and comfortable linens and pillows - I really did NOT want to get out of bed - I could live there forever. Ms. Cabell was extremely helpful regarding historical places to visit and authentic restaurants. Ms. Cabell was a pleasure - she was busy running the House but she was always available for us and our questions. My husand and I hope to stay at the Cabell House every time we visit Charleston.


Charming and tranquil and very Charleston

5 on April 11, 2008

My husband and I brought friends from England to stay at Cabell House for several days in April.We were thrilled with our rooms, which are large and beautifully furnished---the Nathaniel room is especially lovely. The breakfasts---fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, pastries, toast, juices, coffee--- were excellent---everything offered was of the highest quality. Randy's warmth, wit, and attentive hospitality made our stay a real delight!


Charleston Charm

4.4 on March 02, 2008

Randy Cabell, shares ample Southern charm with this home she grew up in. Located less than half a block from the Battery on South Church Street, it's a great location for everything from launching a Carribean cruise from, on the Norwegian Cruise Line (just blocks away), to taking a casual horse and buggy ride through "America's most historic city". Quaint boutiques, museums and antique shops are all located close by, and a short taxi ride or brisk walk will place you at the old Slave Market on Market Street. For a relaxing and fun vacation, I would highly recommend setting up stakes at the Cabell house.


Beautiful home, mediocre service

3.4 on February 29, 2008

My sister and I stayed overnight at the Cabell House B&B on 2/27/08 as part of a girls' getaway. I spoke with the proprietor, Randy, by phone when making my reservation and she was very friendly and said she looked forward to meeting us both. However, when we arrived, we were greeted at the door by the housekeeper. She showed us to our room, and noted that Randy was "in the back." She did not give us any further tour or information. Our room was 58 degrees. The thermostat was in a locked box. My sister just happened to bump into Randy in the hall, who then very nicely changed the thermostat and gathered up some hot chocolate for us. The remainder of the evening was quite nice. We were told (by letter, prior to our stay) that breakfast was from 9 - 10:30 am. We told Randy twice that we would be eating there at the B&B (and it was marked in bright orange on my check in sheet). We left our room with our luggage at 9:15 am and met Randy coming down in her robe. My sister said that we wanted to come down and eat a quick breakfast before leaving. Randy seemed surprised that we were eating there and then reminded me that we needed to pay (even though I had already done so by credit card in advance). She then said she would get dressed and come down. However, a few minutes later, David came down. He was very helpful, though admittedly unsure of what he needed to do. The cereal was all in open boxes and a bit stale. Otherwise, breakfast was good. We then had to ask the housekeeper for our receipt in order to sign, as Randy had still not come downstairs, and we were ready to leave for the day. Overall, the facility was quite beautiful, but I would not choose to stay there again based on the service we received.


Lovely B&B

4.0 on February 28, 2008

My husband and I came to Charleston for a quiet vacation and that is exactly what we got. The house was beautiful and the hostess was very friendly and helpful. The only problem we had during our experience was breakfast. It is not served at this B&B; it is at The Palmer House and no one would answer the door. However, our hostess called The Palmer House and walked us over, and they made breakfast specially for us.


Charming and Gracious

5 on February 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed here in February, 08. Randy (our hostess) is as charming and gracious as her home. We were so comfortable here, and truly enjoyed the genteel quality in the house and the furnishings. It was great fun to get to see behind the doors of one of Charleston's beautiful homes. You will be glad you stayed here! Melody Sindel


Lovely B&B, charming innkeeper!

5 on December 26, 2007

My brother and sister-in-law from New York City stayed at Cabell House in early December 2007 when they visited Charleston to celebrate their silver wedding anniversary. They chose Cabell House because of the pictures on the website, and were also delighted to meet and visit with the charming innkeeper, Randy Cabell. She even surprised them with wine and candy for their anniversary!The next time I visit Charleston myself I will be sure to stay at Cabell House.


I can't wait to stay again!

5 on November 07, 2007

Excellent, the room was spacious, super-clean, furnished with lovely antiques, and was very comfortable. The bathroom was new and furnished with European-style fixtures, including a rain-shower head in the corner shower. The off-street parking was very nice to have since the home is so close to the battery. The host family is very friendly and offered use of their piazzas to guests. A special treat is the agreement Cabell House has with the Palmer House (Pink Palace) home. Cabell guests are invited to free afternoon wine/cheese at the Palmer Home and for $5 can have a hot southern breakfast. Continental breakfast is served at the Cabell. I can’t wait to stay at the Cabell again.


Very nice B & B

3.4 on October 17, 2007

The Cabell House is a very quaint with the old Southern atmosphere. Very much to do within a short walking distance. Rand was very pleasant and provided the Southern hospitality much talked about. Thanks Randy.


Very lovely

3.2 on August 07, 2007

Randy was a lovely hostess, and thanks to her and her beautiful house, my daughter and I enjoyed our stay very much. The friendly and helpful Tina offered us much of the SOuthern hospitality that makes us want to go back again and again.


Excellent Birthday Present!

4.4 on July 30, 2007

My husband brought me to the Cabell House for my birthday on July 20th. Randy helped my husband by having fresh flowers, champagne, chocolates, and even a birthday card for me in the room when we arrived. The location is quiet and away from the hustle and bustle and within walking distance to the park. All the staff was friendly and made us feel very welcome. We loved our stay here and plan to return again.


Very Nice Stay

4.2 on July 20, 2007

The room was wonderful and we were close to everything we wanted. It was our first bed and breakfast stay and it was very nice.


The Cabell House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $185 - $255
  • Reviews (40) 4.4
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8437237551

Visit Website »

View details

Top