King George IV Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
16 Reviews

Write A Review

Motorcycle gang with no where to park

5 on October 08, 2013

Well we came to Charleston to visit and see the sights and we were not staying at the B&B, but we were on motorcycles, and let me say Charleston is not motorcycle friendly, and in the midst of being denied a place to park again, out of no where came our knight in shining armour, Terry (owner of B&B )who invited us to park in his parking area, offered us breakfast, gave us a tour of his beautiful B&B, very friendly housekeeper sorry but don't remember her name but she was very precious, we do plan on stying there our next visit, a special thanks to Terry and Debra, special and wonderful people.


Charlene and the young lady that was covering for the owners over valentines weekend was great. They both went above the call of duty to help meet our needs and desires for great resturants. This was a great weekend get away for me, Thanks so much for caring about people.

4.8 on February 20, 2013

Libby Kickliter


First time B&B experience... FANTASTIC!!!

5 on August 05, 2011

We returned home last night from a five night stay at King George IV B&B. It was our first experience staying in a Bed & Breakfast and we were a little leary BUT we are already talking about a return visit!!! I can not say enough about our Host and Hostess Terry and Debra. The rooms were gorgeous and clean! Breakfast each morning was EXCELLENT and plentiful (Terry makes a fantastic omlet!). Upon our arrival Terry gave us recommendations on sites and resturaunts and they were all SPOT ON! Terry and Debra went above and beyond by suppling us with beach towels and a cooler for our trip to the beach. One hot afternoon we decided to take a rest from walking and went back to our room where my husband ended up napping in the air conditioned room and I ended up on the beautiful front porch napping with a book in my lap. What better way to spend a relaxing vacation !!! God willing we will return!!!


Right in the middle of everything! Spoleto 2011

5 on June 24, 2011

We went to Charleston for the Spoleto Festival, and the highlight of our 4 days there was The King George. With free parking, we left the car and walked almost everywhere. If our destination was too far to walk, the free trolley was only a block east or a block west of the B&B. Our host, Terry, cooked and served delicious breakfasts, with fresh baked breads, omelets made-to-order, and friendly conversations with him and the other guests. Suggestions for what to see., where to go, and how to get there were plentiful. Several afternoons, and in the evening, we walked back to King Charles and relaxed on the veranda for a while to enjoy the breeze from the trees that shaded the porches. Our room was spacious and comfortable. A review is not complete without mentioning Charlene, the delightful hostess who greeted us when we arrived, and was the finest example of Southern hospitality that we have ever met. She was available every day to solve any problems, (we had none) and to suggest great restaurants and interesting places to go.


A true gem in a treasure of a city

4.2 on February 22, 2010

The King George IV Inn met and exceeded our expectations. We were lucky to find it online when we decided to spend a day there on our way back home from Myrtle Beach. We've been to Charleston in the past and love the city and all it has to offer. We stayed in Room 6 which is decorated in red with white magnolias. It immediatley reminded us of the many beautiful historic houses we have visited. The room was large with a private bath, small kitchenette, and a door leading to the piazza. The bed was very comfortable and took us back in time to a slower, more elegant period of time. There was a small offstreet parking lot which is nice in a city with limited parking. The breakfast room was small, but warm and friendly. Debbie, the manager was very hospitable and mentioned to us that the innkeepers, Debra and Terry were out of town the day that we were there. The food was filling and very good, nothing special, but there was a variety of items to choose from. Yes, we will return to the King George IV Inn on our next visit to Charleston and will recommend it to family and friends. It is truly a gem in a treasure of a city!


THE BEST OF CHARLESTON PERIOD

5 on May 26, 2009

You will be very hard pressed to find a more beautiful or luxurious Inn to stay at. The room my Honey and I stayed in (#2) was as if we stepped back in time. Furniture that is as solid as the day it was made and just as Beautiful. The room was so clean, and authentic with more towels in the bath room then I have ever seen in any motel/hotel or other Inn. Terry and Debra (the owners) treated us as family, and as if they have known us for a long time. They made room for my Harley to be parked in their carriage house where it would be safe and out of the weather next to their Harleys. The Breakfast was fresh, good, and plentiful. Terry's home made bread was off the chain, my Granny can't bake bread that good, and her bread is good. That weekend was for my Honey's Birthday, and the King George the IV made my Honey cry with tears of joy. When you go to Charleston you need to stay at the King George the IV. I want to thank Debra, Terry, Ms. Debbie and the staff for a weekend get a way of a life time. WE WILL GO BACK REAL SOON ! David D. Johnson Sr po box 16549 Augusta, Ga. 30919


Can't Wait To Go Back!

4.4 on May 12, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here tremendously! The location was perfect! The owners were very friendly - we learned a lot about their family & the reason they went into business. The rooms were great, very quaint & cozy. Parking was a bit tight, but we got in. Breakfast was surprising in that they did not expend too much effort in preparing it, but it was tasty & filling; fresh juice, milk, coffee, yogurt & fruit along with bacon & waffles, homemade bread. So all in all, it was a pleasant experience and we felt right at home. I think when you weigh up the cost of staying there in comparison to the pricey others in the area, you really get your money's worth. Look forward to returning soon!


Felt like Family

4.8 on January 15, 2009

Upon our arrival, Terry gave us an overview of the City recommending tours, restaurants and sights. To our delight, the King George is close to all points of interest and provides a nice relaxing retreat in the evening. Innkeepers Terry and Debra treated us like family and went out of their way to accommodate our breakfast wishes and make us feel special. Mom wanted poached eggs on the first day, no problem. The second morning the poached eggs were already prepared. Our last evening, Debra was making holiday cookies. Knowing we were leaving early in the morning and would miss the planned display, Terry brought us a plate full. Innkeepers assistant Debbie was equally accommodating and helpful. What a terrific team!


Couldn't have been nicer

4.6 on December 28, 2008

We recently spent a week at the King George IV and were pleasantly surprised with everything. The room was large with a comfortable sitting room and a small deck so that we could sit outside. We didn't bother to put the card on our door to have the room cleaned every day but to our surprise, it was done anyway and when we left a bottle of wine on the table, we found that they had left wine glasses for us when we came back in the afternoon. The proprietor was really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was relaxing with lots of choice. The best feature was the fabulous location. Right downtown, just steps to great resaurants and stores so that we didn't have to take the car except to visit plantations. Occasionally a little noisy outside in the morning but very likely hard to avoid when staying downtown and worth the convenience. Will definitely visit again and hope that other B&B's that we visit will measure up.


My Private Escape!

4.4 on November 30, 2008

Spur of the moment trip to Charleston with no kids and no reservations was made memorable by my stay at the King George IV Inn. I lucked into a two-night, mid-week availability at a fantastic and I mean fantastic rate. Upon arrival, Owner Terry immediately made room for my car in his own spot in the very full rear parking lot, with a smile and while unloading the day's marketing. Miss Debbie swiftly checked me in and offered some really good dining recommendations and maps to find them. As a single female traveler, I was delighted by the very personal attention I received at the King George. Miss Debbie's recommendations were spot on. Justine's was delicious, the red rice was pretty close to my Grandmother's. As beautiful a city as Charleston is, in July one should expect high heat and humidity. Blessed relief was found in Room 4. My window unit a/c cooled both rooms very well and I made good use of my private bath! The shower had plenty of water pressure. I enjoyed chatting with Terry and Debbie, learning about the work put into renovating this lovely B&B over the years. Family pic's are scattered about and your every need is anticipated. Shared a cheery breakfast with Terry and another guest family, got my bearings and headed over to King Street for a little early shopping. Back to the King George to drop off packages and yet another shower before wandering all over town. Tried lunch at the rooftop bar pool at the Market Pavillion Hotel for great views, wonderful breezes and substantial portions...less expensive than their downstairs Grill 225. Again, thank you Debbie! More walking, shopping and tons of photos later and I was ready to shower and chill out on my private porch with a good summer reading paperback. The honor snack bar was a saving grace on night #2 when I headed out too late for dinner. A little fridge, a TV and a comfy couch in the sitting room made me feel right at home.


lovely place to stay

3.8 on September 28, 2008

nice and helpful housekeepers beautiful room short walk to downtown


AMAZING!

4.6 on August 07, 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at the King George IV Inn-it was our first trip to Charleston and our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. What can I say? Everything exceeded our expectations! Terry and his wife were wonderful innkeepers! Terry was so helpful with helping us choose restaurants/tours/shopping areas, etc. He made breakfast each morning and there was always someone in the kitchen to chat with. There were always cookies/beverages available throughout the day/evening time and also a snack and beverage section that was 50 cents an item...very reasonable compared to the prices in the shopping areas of Charleston! Our room was BEAUTIFUL and so much more than we could have expected! It was almost TOO cold temperature-wise, which was something my husband and I appreciated after a long day of being in the sun and heat. We did receive a 10% discount for being in the military, which was extremely nice of Terry and his wife! The King George is in a great location for walking all over Charleston...we never once had to use our car to go anywhere, which was so nice! Overall, we had an AMAZING time and wish we could have stayed longer...amazing rooms, great breakfast, wonderful innkeepers! What more could you ask for?


Nice B&B, but...

2.6 on July 29, 2008

Beautiful rooms, antiques, quaint. Nice porches. Great four poster beds, fireplaces. Liked having a mini fridge in the room for a bottle of wine, etc. Great location. Parking in the courtyard was a little tight. The innkeepers had a lady by the name of Debbie working there. She was great, warm, friendly, helpful with advice on sights. She was the opposite of Terry and Deborah (the innkeepers). Also, for 50 cents (honor system) you could get chilled bottles of spring water prior to your daily excursions. (Bottle of spring water in downtown charleston store is nearly 2 dollars!). Drawbacks: Terry was somewhat aloof and reserved. Wife (Deborah) was practically non-existent. What little we saw of her, she was aloof, perhaps a quick hello, (minimal eyecontact) but that's about it. Don't expect any warmness from the innkeepers. Breakfast room is nice, clean, but the "check-in" area is here too, so it is a little crowded. Plus, they have a grape decorating motif (grape vine wallpaper/fake grape vines/plastic tablecloths) which conflicted greatly with the historic, tastefully done rest of the house. Finally, the breakfast... what can I say? On the good side, they had biscuits with gravy/sausage, which was good. Always fresh fruit. Good coffee, tea selection, cookies, etc.. Also, homemade quick breads (pineapple bread, cranberry bread, raisin bread, etc...) Occassionally scrambled eggs and grits. On the bad side, FROZEN eggo-style waffles. Quite surprising. Frozen waffles appeared every day, with maple-flavored syrup. (No whipped cream). Frozen waffles in a b&b? For the price of this room? I could have gone to Denny's for better waffles. Also, once, the quickbread was burned (crust on top was black). One of the few times Terry talked was to tell us to cut the burnt crust off. Very surprising. They definitely need help on their breakfast; the innkeepers personality could use a little more warmness too.


Pefect Weekend Getaway

4.2 on February 21, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at King George IV this past weekend for our first trip to Charleston, SC and were looking for a comfortable and affordable bed and breakfast. King George turned out to be the perfect choice. It is conveniently located in the historic district, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and the food was good. The breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs and a rotation of either grits, biscuits/gravy and bacon. There was fruit, toast and cereal as well. The kitchen is always open to guests of the B&B so you can have tea and cookies at any time of the day or night! We stayed in room 7, which is one of two rooms that does not have a private bath (7 & 8 share a bath) but the room had an in-room sink and was adorable just the same. We were not disappointed with our choice and the owners were friendly and helpful as well, ensuring that we had a parking spot in their yard and maps to walk around town. If we ever go back to Charleston, we would be sure to stay there again.


I shouldn't tell you this....

5 on July 30, 2007

I shouldn't tell you what a great place this is because when I want to visit again it MIGHT be booked. Me and my wife visited last weekend and really enjoyed the place. The location, owners and manager were all top notch. From meeting us at the door, talking during breakfast and saying goodbye we felt at home. They recommended GREAT restaurants around town and just talked family with them...SUPER NICE Stay here with confidence and enjoy Terry's homemade bread.


Lovely settings

4.6 on April 20, 2007

Ken and I stayed for a few days in the fall of 2004 - great location and very nicely decorated. Room very comfortable and lovely settings.


King George IV Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $175 - $245
  • Reviews (16) 4.5
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8437239339
  • Fax 1-8437237749
  • Toll free 1-8887231667

Visit Website »

View details

Top