Country Victorian B&B Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Services4.4
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
60 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect location

4.4 on February 17, 2014

Nice room with a private entrance and bath. Generous, well-prepared breakfast. A good value for a perfect location. Tradd is a quiet street of lovely homes, tucked just a block off of Broad. Perfect place to stay and experience historic Charleston.


very pleasant stay

3.6 on June 18, 2012

I believe the hostess must be reading these reviews as we had no complaints. Plenty of breakfast and she made a point of asking if we wanted more each day. The place is clean and full of character. Yes, you have to take your shoes off in your room, but it that really so hard? She has a floor rug right at the door for you to stand on as you do this.


Quiet and Homey in Charleston

2.8 on May 03, 2012

Our first visit to Charleston, and the Inn was a good place to begin our adventure. The Innkeeper had lots of good tips for eating and touring, and the room was clean and neat with a comfortable bed. A pleasant, if unspectacular place to stay, with an excellent location..


A Happy, Memorable Time

5 on May 01, 2011

My husband and I were looking forward to our stay in historical Charleston. The Country Victorin Bed and Breakfast on Tradd Street was our choice. We had a wonderful time! We felt close to Diane Weed, the innkeeper, the moment we chatted with her. She reminded us of our sweet aunt. Diane was a retired teacher, she lived in Japan & Hawaii, and she loved baking cookies. We arrived a bit late Sunday night in April but Diane was waiting for us concerned whether we had gotten lost or not. Next, we followed her up to a country Victorian decorated room which intrigued us. We couldn't stop talking about each antique. Because we take off our shoes at our house, having to do that in her house made us feel right at home. We had shoes going 3/4th up the stairway. As she showed us around, she also introduced activities of interests as well as various restaurant ideas. The brochures and maps left in our room were extremely helpful. The location of this bed & breakfast was perfect (in the historic district, close to museums, restaurants, stores, antiques shops, and tennis courts), quiet (we loved the gas lamps outside), and safe (even late at night). Every person we met in town offered information of favorite places to visit or eat. Breakfast on the piazza was delicious, filling, and enjoyable as we cheerfully connected with Diane each morning. Diane's suggestions were accommondating and thorough. She even made phone calls for us for different historical tours. Our room was always clean and Diane's nice touch of leaving snacks added to our cozy environment. We loved the tours that explained the preservation and history of Charleston. The beaches were about 20 - 30 minutes away. The plantations were larger than we expected. You see, this town absolutely captivated us and we can't wait to return. That includes returning to Diane's Country Victorian Bed & Breakfast.


Think twice before booking!

2.2 on April 09, 2011

Rooms: musty, although clean; not one comfortable place to sit and relax; many, many rules are posted throughout the rooms; heat was not available for a night that dipped down to low 40's; be sure to request bath mat for the slippery tub; shoes may not be worn inside - take care on the steep, slippery staircase! Service: breakfast time is rigid; request for 10 minutes earlier was refused Dining: light, tasty breakfasts; if you are a big eater this won't work for you; did find a half of a toothpick in my breakfast sandwich. That was a nasty bite!


Charming Accomodations

4.0 on September 28, 2010

Ample parking, able to greet us even though we were a late night arrival, had customized maps we used to navigate the city, had a walking tour booklet we used to tour the city, interesting antiques on the walls, bedside m&ms!, baggie of cookies!, SNACK BASKET!, wonderful breakfast on the porch.


2nd Honeymoon was very special here!

4.0 on July 19, 2010

We stayed here 10 years ago and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We found the place again today as we were driving around town. We got to walk around and take some pictures. We plan This stay here again.


Delightful

4.0 on June 27, 2010

I was vacationing alone in Charleston, and it was like I was staying with an old friend. Diane was gracious, helpful in suggestions of things to do, and delightful breakfast conversation.


Anniversary in Charleston

2.2 on May 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed in Charleston, SC for three days at the end of May. Our first choice was Lavender and Lace, but no rooms were available by the time we were able to commit to dates. They did, however, recommend Victorian B&B. Diane met us as we drove in, showed us our room (both are located in the addition between the carriage house and the main house - not really what I was expecting, but not terrible) and went through her introduction to the room and the area, plus provided a map with highlighted recommendations. As we got in late, we went out to dinner and then to bed shortly thereafter. Breakfast the next morning was artfully presented, but was less than what we were used to. After quickly drinking the small glass of juice, I asked if I could have another. The pause before saying yes indicated to me that seconds were not an option. Breakfast the next day was similar (pretty but small), and we decided to skip breakfast on the third day and ate at the buffet uptown in the Embassy Suites. There was a bag of four cookies in the room on the first day and a snack basket on the next, plus a small glass jar of M&Ms in the room. Still, with a breakfast that was not as filling as I'm used to, combined with notes and rules on every other wall that reminded us how we were in someone else's house (as opposed to a home away from home) I wouldn't stay here again.


Returning with a Smile

5 on May 27, 2010

I was thrilled when Diane had "my room" available at the Country Victorian B&B on historic Tradd Street. The location is lush and close to all the historic sights~ very peaceful at night. If you're looking for a place to unwind away from the hustle and bustle this is the place! I relaxed more than a few times with a book on the porch and enjoyed the breeze. Her breakfasts are wonderful & I so enjoy talking with her each morning. Being a clean freak myself I very much appreciated the extreme cleanliness of the house. I would highly recommend staying with Diane & hope to return myself sooner than later! Thanks Diane for the wonderful stay!! karen e from Plymouth, Minnesota


Mother's Day and Graduation Weekend in Charleston

4.4 on May 12, 2010

I had my Mom from Germany in town for Mother's Day Weekend and my Graduation. I could not have picked a better B & B to stay for us! Although the exterior of the house may appear a little run down, don't be fooled: our room was lovingly decorated with antiques from the Victorian period that truly made our stay memorable. Everything was very neat and extremely clean. Ms. Weed prepared delecious, rich breakfasts that you don't want to miss: anything from yoghurt, fruit, eggs, to coffee cake etc. She further was very helpful and an excellent source of knowledge regarding Charleston. The location is prime as you are south of Broad St. and everything is within walking distance. You'll even get little plant starters as a good-bye present. Thanks for a great weekend!


Great! Place to Stay

4.2 on April 22, 2010

This was a wonderful B&B within easy walking distance of everywhere in historical Charleston! My husband and I loved it! Diane was the perfect hostess and helped us out much more than we expected. Her breakfasts were perfect along with some surprises. We had a wonderful stay.


Historic Charleston

4.0 on April 06, 2010

We picked a great place to stay for a couple of days in historic Charleston. We parked our car and walked everywhere because our B&B was so close to everything we wanted to see. Diane is an excellent hostess. She is a long time resident of Charleston and so is very knowledgeable on restaurants, events and places of interest and readily guided us, giving us good suggestions that helped us make the most of our stay.


Beautiful Charleston

3.6 on April 06, 2010

We enjoyed our stay. Loved being able to walk everywhere. The B&B was very close to everything. Weather was wonderful and we will probably go again.


Bad choice

1.6 on March 11, 2010

Exterior in disrepair. Innkeeper acts as if you are an interruption to her routine. Breakfast was below standards of McDonald's. Safety with gas heaters is in question. Overall a very undesirable place to stay. Location is the only positive.


We Love it Here!

5 on December 28, 2009

We always look forward to our stay in Charleston, especially at Country Victorian B&B. This is our third stay and the friendly and familiar atmosphere make it feel like we are coming home again. The winter weather was wonderful compared to up North. Breakfast in the cozy dining room was a buzz of friendly conversation and delcious treats. For a home style B&B, this place can't be beat!


Perfect Weekend

5 on November 29, 2009

We spent a perfect weekend at Country Victorian Bed and Breakfast. Charleston is a beautiful city and we were in the perfect location to enjoy it all by foot. We started our day off with a hearty breakfast of fruit stuffed waffles, sausage, grits, fresh fruit, pumpkin bread, juice, coffee and tea which was a good way to begin our day of touring in the cool, but comfortable weather. We returned in the afternoon to our charming room (We loved all the antiques in the room.) to find a basket of treats and hot chocolate. Diane's suggestions for places to eat and things to see were most helpful. It was truly a home away from home and we look forward to returning in the spring.


Country Victorian B&B

3.2 on October 30, 2009

Diane was a delightful host. She met us on the road and made sure we were comfortably settle in our room. The B&B is extremely well situated if you wish to explore Charleston to its historical fullness. The room was decorated in Victorian antiques. The Breakfast was on time and well presented, plus very good. I'm sure If you elect to stay with Diane you will not be disappointed.


Wonderful Experience

5 on October 29, 2009

Staying at Country Victorian B&B was a wonderful experience for us. Charleston is a beautiful city and Diane is the perfect guide to all that a guest might want to see and do. Our room was very clean, and charmingly decorated in antiques that were interesting and had great stories. The bed was big and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and served with presentation in mind. Afternoon snacks were much appreciated and a nice touch! We enjoyed our stay and were able to tour all of Charleston on foot from this perfect location.


Wouldn't be anywhere else

4.8 on September 13, 2009

We stayed at Diane's Country Victorian B&B this summer for a few days. We were amazed by the charm of Charleston - and by Diane's hospitality. If you are staying with her, you will really experience the warmth and friendliness of Charleston. Our room was filled with antiques, which all had a special story. The bed was huge and very cosy. The breakfast Diane made for us was extraordinaire and so, so good! She also baked us delicious cookies and after a long day strolling around in wonderful Charleston, we came home to a "snack time"-basket filled with sweets and cookies. Diane insisted that we would bring along what we couldn't eat along with us for the trip. She also made nice, cool bottles of water for us for our trip further. At breakfast we really enjoyed chatting with both Diane and two other guests. It was the best bed and breakfast, and we can only give it - and Diane - our best recommendation!


Just What We Wanted!

5 on August 30, 2009

This B&B provided everything we were hoping. Location was perfect and allowed us to walk everywhere without the worry of finding a parking place. Diane was extremely helpful and knowledgeable concerning what to do and see in Charleston. Price was more than reasonable for the accommodations, location and wonderful breakfast. Thanks Diane. P.S. We loved our surprise gift!


Great locations, great accomodations

4.6 on June 27, 2009

Booked the two-bedroom suite which was great for traveling with our son. Breakfast on the piazza was tasty and filling and it was fun watching the carriage tours roll past. A great location - five to ten minute walk to restaurants, market, and the waterfront. The house is old and rooms are full of antiques (and charm), so we would not recommend this B&B to fans of chain hotels. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. A very quiet neighborhood full of beautiful historic homes. Diane is a wealth of local information and gave us great suggestions for activities and dining. A very pleasant experience that we hope to repeat soon.


Great value in the heart of old Charleston

4.8 on June 24, 2009

The owner, Diane is very nice, knowledgeable and happy to help. She has a very interesting personal history too! Our room was huge, but also very welcoming. The location is far better than what we were hoping for. Our breakfasts were delicious (best coffee I've had in ages) and when we had to leave before sunrise on the last day she even packed us a breakfast goody bag to take on the road! I would highly recommend the Country Victorian.


Outstanding B&B

5 on May 03, 2009

A perfect setting in a historical city. The B&B is right in the middle of Charleston's historical district. You feel like you are in a different era. The breakfast was really good and the keeper of the inn was a wonderful host. We can't wait to go back and spend another anniversary with Diane Weed.


A Wonderful Week

5 on May 01, 2009

My husband and I spent a week at the Country Victorian B&B in Charleston SC. We had a great time. Diane Shared her knowledge and expertise on all manner of subjects. She helped us find the best restaurants, a quilt shop, and which routes to take. All the information she gave us was perfect. Add to that the fact that we had quilting and gardening and food in common, I felt like I was visiting a wonderful friend or relative. The room was lovely with lots of antiques and a big kingsize bed. We couldn't have asked for more.


Right in the Middle of Things

5 on April 27, 2009

You are right in the middle of things when staying at the Country Victorian B&B. All the Historic sites of Charleston are right within walking distance. This B&B is in a residential area so is very peaceful, birdsong fills the air as you sit on the front porch. Staying in this B&B lets you experience Charleston of another era-immerse yourself in the history rather than staying in a generic chain hotel. Breakfasts vary each day and other treats are provided in your room. Thanks Diane, you made my stay special!! karen from Minnesota


Kay and Billy T in Charleston

4.0 on April 06, 2009

We found Country Victorian on the internet, and pleased that we did. After traveling eight hours to reach Charleston, we met our host, Diane Weed (who has lived here for 28 years in this home built in 1820), who provided us much more info about Charleston and helpful hints. After our talks, she recommended Poogan’s Porch, had already made a reservations for us, and easy walk at the corner of Queen and King Streets, and we thoroughly enjoyed the salad, crab cakes and shrimp and grits, plus the intimate, romantic small restaurant. Try it, you’ll like it. Next morn, we were up and ready for breakfast with Diane, an entertaining one and chefy. You had to be there. We conversed more on Charleston and Diane’s life (in the military and living around the World) and departed for a day in Charleston. Next day, Friday morn, we’re up and out to met Diane with breakfast on her “piazza”. Entertaining again. Diane is truly creative! Come to think of it, Charleston is like Diane’s breakfast parfait, delightful!!! We highly recommend her B&B for the antique collections, quaintness, entertaining gourmet breakfast and Diane’s personal interest in her guests, you’re all hers while you’re guesting… Hey, You know 4 balls is GREAT; 5, would be like staying in Buckingham Palace or, i.e. like "BP" What's relative? We enjoyed our stay and the location is great, South of Broad... There is no need to venture out more than Just North of Broad...


Spring in Charleston

5 on March 30, 2009

We truly enjoyed this B&B. Loved our charming room with all the antiques. Location was perfect for the home and garden tours right in the heart of the Historic District. Breakfasts were wonderful as was the opportunity to visit with other guests. Diane's recommendations for restaurants and what to see and do in Charleston made our stay!! It's obvious that she enjoys what she does and makes her guests feel welcome.


Valentine Weekend

5 on February 26, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay---loved our accommodations, breakfasts were great, location was ideal, and Diane was ever so welcoming and helpful. Diane, thank you for all the extras and we are taking good care of our Victorian plant gift. Hoping to return again soon.


Great Winter Getaway

5 on January 27, 2009

This place couldn't be beat especially with the great winter getaway prices - $99 a night for three nights during the week. I realize not everyone can get away on a Monday - Wednesday nights, but if you can, don't miss this bargain. Locaton was ideal, and we enjoyed a nice breakfast with conversation which was the perfect way to start off our day. We plan to return in the spring because it's the perfect location for the Annual Home and Garden tours.


Anxious to return

5 on November 12, 2008

Our recent stay was wonderful! We took a suite that had a delightful sitting area with sunny windows to read, an exceptionally clean sleeping & bathing area and scrumptious breakfasts. Diane was informative & gave great recommendations for eating out. (Loved them all) It was a rather cold time of year (Oct-Nov) but we were comfy snuggled in our cushy bed. Next time down, I hope to stay longer!


Our Favorite

5 on October 25, 2008

This is our second visit to Country Victorian B&B. We have stayed at many B&Bs and even though all are nice, this one really offers the charm we look for in a B&B. The homey atmosphere of the rooms, decorated in all antiques with interesting histories, provides the comfort we seek in our travels. Diane is a great hostess and offers a world of information on what to do and see in Charleston. It's a real treat to wake up and enjoy a wonderful homemade breakfast each morning and pleasant conversation with Diane and other guests. The prices are very reasonable for Charleston and the location can't be beat! We will be back again!


Going back in time

5 on October 20, 2008

105 Tradd Street it tucked away from the hustle and bustle. You can relax in your room or on the piazza. The innkeeper is full of ideas, information, and stories of the area about Charleston. My room was tastefully decorated with unusual Victorian antiques. Breakfasts were varied with homemade treats. Relax and enjoy.


Thanks Diane!

4.2 on October 18, 2008

The house is quaint and homey. My favorite place to hang was the piazza for breakfast.


A visit to Charleston,S.C.

4.6 on October 14, 2008

We liked Country Victoriasn B&B because of The super location in the main part of the old city.The rooms are clean and attractively decorated. The innkeeper serves a delicious breakfast and is very knowledgeable of points of intrest in and near Charleston. She supplies excellent directions to all areas and events. We enjoyed our visit.


My wonderful B & B experience

5 on October 11, 2008

Diane was a wondrerful, friendly host and served a vaiety of unique and delicious breakfasts. The location was just what we wanted close to the heart of town and with parking available off the steet, behilnd the house. The room was absolutely charming and just full of antiques and with a private bath. The bed was quite comfortable and our host provided us with information on and coupons for a variety of tours. She made us feel it was our home away from home and visited with us endlessly as we enjoyed breakfast. I would highly recommend the County Victorian B & B to anyone who is looking for real southern hospitality at it's best. Diane made us realize she was truly thrilled to have us in her home and we plan to return to experience this again when we're back in Charleston. Don't miss this one.


My stay at Country Victorian B&B

4.0 on October 10, 2008

I have been a visitor of the B&B for 8 years. It is very close to galleries, shopping, the Battery, tours, whatever you would want to do in Charleston. The B&B is very comfortable and Diane makes you feel like you are home. The decor is country with numerous antiques around and it feels very cozy. There are homemade muffins and breads made daily for breakfast and they are quite tasty. Diane treats everyone like family.


great getaway

5 on October 10, 2008

Cute place with antique furnishings. Hostess willing to help with dining suggestions, activities, and current events in the area. Great location- can walk to all the local sights. Very clean and neat.


Charming and homey

5 on October 10, 2008

I've stayed in bed and breakfasts for 20 some years and must say that Country Victorian was one of the most relaxing and comfortable places to stay that I've encountered.


Friendly B and B

4.0 on October 08, 2008

Diane was such a charming and friendly hostess during our stay. She kept us well informed on the happenings of Charleston while feeding us the most scrumptious meals. I especially enjoyed our own private entrance which made me feel much more at home and comfortable. We had our meals on the porch which was awesome during the wonderful weather we had.


Anniversary Celebration

4.2 on July 22, 2008

Diane was very kind and helpful during our stay. She made our trip very memorable. We truly felt like we were in a home of our own family. From the outstanding breakfasts to the snack baskets, and the information on what to do, everything was spectacular. Diane went above and beyond our expectations when she invited our son who lives nearby to enjoy a breakfast with us on the piazza. She truly has a "Southern Hospitality" spirit. Thank you for helping to create great memories Diane! We will be back. J&B


Cancellation

4.0 on April 28, 2008

Ms. Weed was a delight with regards to accommodating us, however, we had to cancel our reservation for 4 people due to personal matters. She was kind and understanding and when we reschedule our trip, we will be sure to stay at the Country Victoria B&B. Thank you.


Charleston Rendezvous

4.4 on April 23, 2008

I had a wonderful time staying with Diane in her beautiful and authentic home. The ambience was perfect and Diane was so friendly and helped me navigate Charleston. I will be back and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting.


Great Location, Excellent Service!

4.2 on April 23, 2008

This was a fantastic location in the heart of downtown Charleston. Everything was in walking distance, which was wonderful. Diane, the innkeeper, is a very knowledgable and helpful person when it comes to what to see and do in Charleston. The room was very nice, although, keep in mind this is a historic home, and you have to make allowances for things that go along with an older home. Additionally, the walls are not sound proof, so if you are a light sleeper, that might be a problem. We tried to nap one afternoon, and the house next door was doing a garden tour, and the guest chatter and music kept us awake as well as the leaf blower and raking outside our window. Also, if you need modern amenities like a big jacuzzi tub this might not be the place for you. If, however, you like a clawfoot bathtub/shower, it is perfect! It just depends on your personal preference. Also note, the tv was just a small portable one, so if you like to watch tv, this might not work for you. We didn't mind at all! Diane's breakfasts were wonderful! We enjoyed her creativity with each meal. We also very much appreciated that she did not serve heavy breakfasts, as we were doing a lot of walking and did not want to be overly full. It also saved our appetites to try the wonderful southern cuisine later in the day! I just can't rave enough about Diane's helpfulness as well! We did a cruise out of Charleston, and she offered to let us store our bags at her place at the end of our cruise when we had to get off the ship early in the day, but did not need to get to the airport until the afternoon. This allowed us to have an extra play day in Charleston without our luggage instead of having to hang out in the airport all day. We are so gratful for that! Overall, I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone who apreciates old homes, and who wants excellent, personalized service.


Excellent location

3.2 on April 20, 2008

We very much enjoyed our stay in Charleston and found Diane to be extremely helpful. We loved all the wonderful suggestions that she made for places to eat and things to see. She gave us several helpful tips. It was so easy to walk every where that we wanted to go. The room was comfortable and quiet. We slept very well.


A Great Experience!

5 on April 15, 2008

We were very pleased with our experience at this bed and breakfast. Diane made us feel welcome and right at home from the moment we arrived. Our room was decorated with antiques which we loved, especially the claw foot tub in our bathroom. This really added to the ambience of the home. Her attention to details was quite evident. The breakfasts were delicious and always presented in a very creatively, with smiling faces on the grapefruit. She also made a special effort to work around food allergies. During breakfast conversations, she would give us ideas of what to see and do that fit with our interests. She also knew all the good places to go for lunch and dinner. Diane's knowledge of Charleston was very valuable to us, and the location of her home is right in the heart of the historic district. We will definitely recommend this b&b to others.


Great experience!!!

5 on April 01, 2008

My daughter and I very much enjoyed our time at this B & B. Diane went out of her way to make sure our stay was easy and comfortable. When we return to Charleston, Diane will be our first phone call. Thanks for a wonderful time.


Too many rules

2.4 on November 16, 2007

Our stay revolved around the convenience of the owner - unload at a specific time, park on the street,eat between 9 and 10 AM and no wearing shoes inside. We were told numerous times that this was her private residence and were allowed into the dining room only. Tea in room, but we drink coffee - early! So we had to get up and go elsewhere. No parlor for mingling. Luckily it was warm enough that we could sit on the porch in our coats. We asked that 2 bottles of wine be chilled - she only had room for one. We felt like we were imposing on someone who wished that we really weren't staying there. We have always loved B & Bs, but this was the worst place we have ever stayed.


Hospitality Best Defined

5 on October 30, 2007

From the moment we sought to make our reservation the courtesies extended on the phone to arrival to the breakfasts to simply the most wonderful hospitality one could imagine----we truly enjoyed our Victorian Bed & Breakfast experience. An absolute "1st Rate/5 Star Program" for the entire stay.


very pleasant stay

4.4 on September 27, 2007

Owner was charming and so helpful to us in giving us directions and suggestions. The location is supreme, walking distance to everything. A good value for the price.


A True Delight!

5 on June 29, 2007

A True Delight! We decided to celebrate our anniversary at a B&B in Charleston, SC. We checked out many places and decided on Country Victorian Bed and Breakfast on Tradd Street. It had a great location and the price was right. (Many places we called were over $200 a night and only offered a continental breakfast (coffee & a pastry). The moment we arrived and saw this beautiful Victorian home, met Diane, and saw our room with a plate of cookies waiting for us, we knew we had chosen the right place. Our room, with a king-sized bed, was an antique lover’s delight! It took me back to days at my grandmother’s house making me feel very comfortable and right at home. Diane’s attention to detail was noticeable everywhere in the room. Diane’s knowledge of Charleston was invaluable. All her suggestions on where to dine, what to do, and what to see were right on target! In fact, if it wasn’t for all her knowledge in matching activities to our interests I’m sure we wouldn’t have enjoyed all that Charleston had to offer as much. I can’t forget to mention our breakfasts that were served to us each morning outside on the piazza (porch). It was a real treat to be served breakfast outside while watching people walk by and hearing the “clip-clop” sound of the horses as they pulled the carriages and related the tales of history to the occupants. Our breakfasts were wonderful – not only delicious, but Diane’s creative presentation was always an added surprise. Visiting with Diane and the other guests at breakfast was the perfect way to start each day. A snack basket each afternoon, filled with all kinds of goodies, was another unexpected treat at this B&B. How thoughtful!!! I can say that we have never spent a more delightful five days at a B&B and we have stayed at many B&Bs all over the US and Europe. It was truly a home away from home with Southern hospitality at it’s finest. We will surely return!


true charleston gem

5 on June 15, 2007

This wonderful b and b is run by Diane, a very lovely woman who knows everything there is to know about charleston! The rooms are clean and truley have country charm. Wonderful location, we really enjoyed our stay.


Homey BB in great location

5 on June 11, 2007

This homey b and b is owned and operated by Diane, a very sweet and knowledgeable Charlestonian. The house is in a fantastic location, just blocks from the Market, Battery, and Meeting street.


Location, location, location

3.6 on May 25, 2007

This charming Victorian in Charleston's historical area was a real treat, including snacks that owner Diane left for us each day. Breakfast on the piazza with other travelers made this part of a memorable B&B stay. This mother/daughter traveling team enjoyed looking at all the antiques in the room and reading the notes and tidbits dotted through our room, hallway and bathroom (complete with claw foot bathtub!). Breakfast meals were adequate, with two days of hearty meals and a smaller continental style breakfast the first day. Walking to where our car was parked around the corner just gave us more opportunity to explore the loveliness of historical Charleston.


Welcome Home

5 on May 21, 2007

Our stay at the Country Victorian BB was simply put... a pure delight. The atmosphere of this BB is authentic and homey. The food is delightful and Diane is wonderful. She treats you as if you were family, and after the first day you really feel as if you are. The location is excellent being in the historic section... well within walking distance of everything. We were welcomed with homemade cookies and incredible breakfast each day. Sitting on the porch in rocking chairs was absolutely wonderful in the quiet evenings of Charleston. Diane is very informative and helpful. I highly recommend this BB if you want to feel at home.


What a joy

4.8 on May 20, 2007

What a quaint place to stay. It was a pure delight to talk to our hostess, Ms. Weed each morning at breakfast. Being familiar with Charleston, it fits in with the area. We enjoyed our stay here and plan to retun. Thank you Ms. Weed for your hospitality and our stay at your B&B.


Home away from Home

3.6 on May 09, 2007

After having spent 4 nights at a 5-star hotel in the heart of Charleston our stay at the Country Victorian B&B was exactly what we needed...a home away from home! Upon arriving at the quaint residence we were greeted by the innkeeper who immediately made us feel like special guests in her home. Having stayed at many B&Bs across Canada and the United States our stay at the Country Victorian was most enjoyable. We were very pleased with the location, accomodation as well as the great selection of breakfast items served. Diane went out of her way to make our stay comfortable and we were very appreciative of the little extras she provided which included homemade cookies and bedtime snacks. As our flight was leaving early on our last day she made sure to send us off with a "breakfast on the go" bag for us to enjoy on our flight back home. Thanks once again for making our stay in Charleston a very memorable one!


Great Location and House

4.6 on May 06, 2007

The location is in the heart of old Charleston. The room was the perfect retreat after a day of exploring Charleston. Our innkeeper, Diane, was very accomating. If you want the feel of an historic home in old Charleston this is the place. The innkeeper is very informative about the area for places to see and dine. We were greated each morning with a delicous breakfast and good conversation on the porch. Just park your car on Tradd St and easily walk to every location.


A true bed and breakfast experience

4.0 on April 25, 2007

If you want a true bed and breakfast experience, then the Country Victorian is the place to go. There are only a few rooms to be occupied so you truly have the homey feel. The innkeeper helpfully suggests places to go and things to eat - after you have eaten the fresh, home baked cookies left for you! Breakfast is a special treat with Spanish eggs or grapefruit faces smiling up at you! We had a suite that was absolutely spacious in an old carriage house. If you like country touches, the collection of old coat hangers were fascinating. But the best part is the location. Right in the heart of the historic district, you walk out on the street and feel the carriages are real, not simply taking tourists to see the marvelous sites but to transport an elegant lady and gentleman to the picnic grounds!


Easter in Charleston

1.8 on April 12, 2007

Having stayed at numerous B&B's in my travels all over the country, I was very disappointed in both the accommodations and food at the Country Victorian B&B, Charleston, SC. Our innkeeper prepared a minimal breakfast most of our stay. The food was cold (WHEN we got a hot breakfast)and in very small portions. On our last day, a cup of fruit and two breads were served. I kept waiting for something more substantial to come out, but alas, nothing arrived. No juice was ever offered or served. On a day she DID serve a little more substantial breakfast, the hashbrown nests holding scrambled eggs were overcooked and hard to eat. The waffles the day before were ice cold and appeared to be frozen toaster waffles. We had to practically beg for heat in our room as it turned chilly during our stay and were told to 'wear a sweater' for breakfast on the porch. Luckily it was so cold, she had to admit us to her interior dining room to eat. The inn restriction of removing our shoes before entering the dining area or our room was annoying at best. This information is only told to you upon her confirmation e-mail after she has gotten a handsome deposit. We were also assured before our visit we could get a parking pass for on street parking during our stay and had to almost beg for that as well. Only after arrival did she mention she only received 30 such parking passes for the year, which explained her reluctance in providing one. She advertises Wi-Fi on premises for the lucky ones with a computer, but the television in our room received only 4 channels, all with considerable interference and snow in the picture. Her room 'rules' are posted everywhere and as adult travelers, we found this to be annoying and insulting. For the price we paid, this would be the last B&B I would ever return to and cannot recommend anyone going there.


Country Victorian B&B

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8435770682

Visit Website »

View details

Top