Battery Carriage House Inn Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.1
  • Value3.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining3.8

Score Breakdown based on
8 Reviews

Write A Review

Great location to walk downtown Charleston

3.6 on August 27, 2012

Clean with a great location. The off street parking is not a problem. Breakfast is continental and majority of the house is a private residence so it's a little bare bones. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Not quite the full B&B experience but much more cozy and personal than a chain hotel. We would stay there again.


Disappointed

2.0 on September 21, 2011

We stayed September 19th. We were sorely disappointed. This is not a house. It is a Motel set up in the back of the house. The rooms are small and you enter from the outside. The young man who greeted us was bothered by our questions. There is no view and the descriptions on their web site are deceptive. We have stayed in many B&Bs across the US and Europe this was one of the worst for the price. Breakfast was not much. The bed was comfortable.


Charleston Battery House Inn

5 on April 11, 2011

Right on the Battery. The setting could not be better. Across the street from the beginning of the Civil War. A three block walk downtown for some of the best restaurants in the country! The room are quaint and period. A wonderful weekend. We look foward to our next visit to the Carriage House Inn.


Lovely night in Charleston

4.4 on March 21, 2011

My partner and I spent a wonderful night and morning at the Charleston Battery Carriage House Inn. The location was amazing ... right off of the battery park. We spent the early morning watching the sunrise over the harbor; had our picture taken together by a local jogger; and enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the arbor. We highly recommend this inn to our fellow gay and lesbian travelers.


Beyond Belief

4.6 on April 13, 2010

There are so many wonderful things I can say about this place. The rooms were added where the livery formerly resided and this is important. Each room has its own entrance - and bathroom - and the B&B experience where you are in a home and literally heard by everyone throughout the night does not apply here. You do not have the clostrophobic feel nor the need to be quiet when coming in after a long day of sight-seeing. Your keyring even has a key to the gate so you can come and go after the staff is gone. Facing the park on battery you are right on the water. We went during April and the wind off the water was cool and no humidity. The room was spotless and the maid service made it so every day of our stay as we enjoyed Charleston. Breakfast was wonderful and the coffee especially tasty. We got in late and didn't turn in our order for the next morning and the staff made sure we were included. Truly they made the experience feel like home because of their interest in our needs. The garden was lovely and there is a beautiful arbor where you can take breakfast or just sit and enjoy the day. A short walk - less than a half block - and I was standing on the sea wall with a view of Ft. Sumter, the USS Yorktown, Mt. Pleasant, James Island and the ports of Charleston. The only issue is parking. There is none on the property. You park on the street against the curb of the park - only one side of the stfreet has long term parking. We found after four in the afternoon parking was freed up. We usually stayed out all day and there was ample parking when we arrived later in the evening. Charleston is a walking city and one filled with history. This B&B offers you the opportunity to be a part of this. We talked about returning on the flight home, and 20 Battery will be our destination for a terrific and romantic place to stay.


Didn't feel like an Inn.

4.0 on May 19, 2009

Because we were directed to a room in the LOWER carriage house, we felt like we were staying in a nice motel room. Our room was one of a string of rooms that ran up the driveway along the ground floor level. When we sat outside, we were not permitted to go up to the large front porch as that was a private residence. Our outdoor seating was under the porch. Rooms were very clean and neat, the receptionist was very helpful, and wine and cheese was offered in the afternoon, but we felt like we were relegated to the servants quarters. We have visited many B&B's and this did not have the feel of an inn, but rather a motel.


Best stay in Charleston

5 on December 30, 2008

Great location, very nice rooms and we enjoyed our stay very much, great value after Thanksgiving on "Hot Deal!" Would definitely return at any time of the year! Chuck and Sue Starr


Great Character! Fantastic Location! Wonderful Staff!

4.4 on October 16, 2007

This Bed & Breakfast was nice. We loved the location across from the Battery. The staff went out of their way to help us feel comfortable, make dinner reservations and many other plans. Tea and cookies in the afternoon was perfect after walking around town. We loved sitting in the lobby sipping wine with the other guests in the evening. We plan on returning!!


Battery Carriage House Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $169 - $299
  • Reviews (8) 4.1
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8437273100
  • Fax 1-8437273130
  • Toll free 1-8007755575

Visit Website »

View details

Top