Ashley Inn B&B Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
23 Reviews

Write A Review

Great Stay.

4.2 on May 29, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was wonderful. Would stay here again. Quiet rooms. Within short walking distance to eating places. Fuel and Hominy Grill. Make sure you go in a small vehicle as parking is very tight.


Very enjoyable stay

5 on April 16, 2013

Why stay at a chain hotel. The ashley was better in many ways.


Exceptional

5 on February 19, 2013

Beautiful, well maintained, pleasant, able to mingle with guests, owner, and the help, or if you choose, can be more private, great breakfasts with 2 completely different options each morning, good on-location parking, reasonable rates, not in historic district, but better because it is very near historic district yet close to many good restaurants. I'd love to move-in and live there. Owner provided lots of historical insights and recommendations for things to see and do as well as local restaurants that are quite good.


Great Place

4.2 on August 23, 2011

Great place to stay. This is our second stay at the Cannonboro Inn, the sister to the Ashley Inn. When we get back to Charleston, I will make sure to revisit. The breakfast is great along with the very nice staff.


trust your innkeeper

4.6 on August 07, 2011

Don't go ,if you want to be in the center of the tourist area .Definately go if you want southern hospitality ,quiet efficient service and decadent breakfasts. 100yards or less north or south will get you a free airconditioned trolley to the visitors center and tourist mayhem. Tea time, with tasty treats was a chance to mingle with other guests and staff in an informal atmosphere . If this innkeeper tells you a restaurant is a tourist trap with a good vista , reasonable salads and poor service , I'm going to believe her from now on . We booked and stayed 3 nights ,we moved to a"modern" facility for a further 2 days and a ..... pool? A decision we came to regret . loved the city ,loved the ashley.


Loved it!

4.0 on June 26, 2011

We were last minute guests and Susan made sure we had a comfortable place in the guesthouse! It was wonderful! We ate at Fuel, which was yummy. Loved their guava Mojitos and cucumber cocktails. We were close enough to walk everywhere. I cannot wait to return to the Cannonboro or Ashley Inns. Thanks for making our honeymoon wonderful!


Excellent Service and Charming Accomodations

4.0 on March 24, 2011

My wife and I have frequented the Ashley Inn and sister B&B, The Cannonboro Inn, several times during the past year and have been pleased that we did after each visit. The staff is excellent and the location of the inns make it easy to explore the city.


The BEST Charleston Experience

4.4 on March 17, 2011

The inn is located just one block from MUSC (Medical University of South Carolina) and provided a fine place to stay while my wife had surgery. We spent 6 nights in the "Carriage House" which is a two bedroom apartment attached to the inn. We had our own living room and kitchen facilities, but always ate the sumptious breakfast in the inn. The afternoon wine and cheese was a special touch. The inn provided a very relaxing place for my wife to recuperate from her surgery prior to driving back home. The service from all of the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.


Great Place!

5 on March 12, 2011

I stayed here with my mom and it was great! The breakfasts are generous and the people are outstanding


wonderful inn

4.6 on January 30, 2011

Stayed at the ashley inn in charleston sc to celebrate my birthday. We had a wonderful stay and felt very comfortable in our room and enjoyed sitting on the upstairs porch. Very nice innkeeper and she had alot of helpful information.


Friendly & relaxing

3.6 on January 24, 2011

I stayed at the Ashley and its sister Inn, The Cannonboro B&B, in January 2011 for a total of five nights. The weather was colder than normal, but the Inn's staff more than made up for that with the warmth of their welcome. Rooms were comfortable, breakfast plentiful and the area restaurants great. Be sure to try Hominy Grill just a few blocks away, wonderful low-country cuisine in a relaxed but not too casual atmosphere. Charleston public transportation had just started running several free shuttle services looping around downtown. One shuttle stops about two blocks from the inn and takes you to the visitors center and from there into downtown. Or you can walk.


5 stars are not enough

5 on December 05, 2010

Stayed at the ashley in on our vacation to charleston sc. We stayed in the suite and it was everything we were looking for in a place to stay. The staff, especially lynn were great. Answered every question and provided outstanding information to make our trip there the best vacation we have ever had. Only a block and a half from a tram stop so our car never left the parking lot on our stay there. The breakfast each morning was divine. 5 stars are not enough to describe the accomodations, service, and staff. We will return to charleston in the future and will never stay anywhere else.


Outstanding time in Charleston

4.8 on September 25, 2010

We couldn't have asked for more! Susan, Jan and LaVern all made for a very special vacation. They never steered us wrong with recommendations on things to do or places to dine. We had a wonderful time on our first trip to Charleston. The accommodations were lovely and the Breakfasts were delicious!


Ashley Inn a great get away location.

5 on September 13, 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Ashley Inn August 31 & September 1, 2010. Barry and his staff are really friendly and make you fill at home. The breakfasts were yummy. Hope to get back real soon. The Trudells of San Antonio, TX.


Wonderful room and breakfast

4.4 on June 18, 2010

We stayed there with another couple and we all agreed, it could not have been better. The breakfasts were so yummy. The owner, Barry, was very informative in Charleston history and gave us great ideas of what we should see. Wish we could have stayed a couple more days.


Wonderful Service

4.0 on September 20, 2009

My Wife and I came for a weekend and this to be a wonderful experience.


great!

5 on September 13, 2009

we loved to stay at the ashley inn, unfortunately two days were not enough.it was our first time in charleston and it was like coming home. barry, his wife and the staff were gentle, helpful in any way and we loved the breakfast.we came from germany and learned much about southern hospitality at this inn. thank you!


Wonderful B&B Stay

4.6 on February 17, 2009

Our stay at this B&B was just outstanding. The staff (Jan and LaVern) were just totally wonderful with all the help they provided. You couldn't have asked for a more pleasant place to stay on our first trip into Charleston. The rooms were clean and pleasant. Breakfast was a great surprise on how good it was. We will stay here again. Thank you Jan and LaVern.


Wonderful experience

4.0 on October 20, 2008

My daughter and I were enjoying a "girls" weekend. Even though it rained each day, this wonderful abode was our nest. the breakfasts rival any gourmet restaurant. The afternoon wine and snacks, were eagerly anticipated to see what delights Jan would offer. We recommend this without reservation. You won't be sorry.


Wonderful spot!!

4.4 on October 18, 2008

We stayed in the carraige house with friends and were treated like close family members. Unbelievably great breakfasts, complimentary bikes for getting around town and and very knowlegable and informative Inn owner ready to help you with ANYTHING. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for anyone looking for a quality, friendly, beautiful B&B.


Perfect Getaway

5 on October 18, 2008

One of the best places I have stayed in Charleston, am a native and have stayed in manhy of the B&B's around town. Barry and his whole staff make you feel just like a welcome guest in a private home. The carriage house was perfect for the 4 of us to getaway and catch up. Thank you for a wonderful time.


Very Disappointing

4.0 on June 03, 2008

This B&B is very overpriced for what you get - a room not well furnished (not even a nightstand by each side of the bed), a very average breakfast, and very inconvenient location (not really near the historic district).


Great service with even better breakfast

4.4 on September 28, 2007

The Ashley is a beautiful home that is close to all of the area attractions. Parking is very easy and with a short walk you are downtown. The best thing about the Ashley is the wonderful breakfast. It is not only hot from the kitchen but the menu changes everyday.


Ashley Inn B&B

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8437231848
  • Fax 1-8435799080
  • Toll free 1-8005816658

Visit Website »

View details

Top