The Rhett House Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
40 Reviews

Write A Review

Frankly, My Dear Stay at the Rhett House!

4.6 on November 26, 2014

Stayed in room #17 for two nights across the street from the main house. Didn't miss a thing, visited the main house for tea time cookies, 5:00 hors d'oeuvres, breakfast and dessert time! Would like to go back in warmer weather but enjoyed the working fireplaces in the breakfast and living rooms. Upon arrival drank some sparkling wine and learned a little about the history of the history-thank you Mariah. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and we liked the privacy. Ahhh breakfast, yummy blueberry pancakes, grits with gouda, and fresh fruit. Nice folks staying there as well as attentive staff. Only complaint-our visit at the Rhett was too short!


2 night getaway

4.8 on November 24, 2014

Came for a two night stay. The hospitality and food were top notch!! Thanks for making this a great getaway!!


The Rhett House, Beaufort

4.6 on November 22, 2014

Our stay at the Rhett House was magnificent. I was on a road trip with 13 year old son just 'getting lost'. We made the reservation from Charleston the same day as our arrival. We arrived around 8:00pm and the woman who was at the front desk was very cheerful, welcoming and helpful. She offered me a complimentary glass of champagne which I accepted the next night. She directed us to restaurants a couple of blocks away on the water. We had room #7 which is huge. The room seemed a little musty at first. I guess it's becsuse of the climate and because it's a room on the 'lower' floor. The bath is tiny, but I don't mind that. After all it's a historic building that predates indoor plumbing I believe. However, the room opens on to a beautiful brick patioed garden with a fountain. It was nice to have the private entrance. There are several beautiful outdoor spaces to sit and chat, read a book, or just think. The Rhett House is visually like a movie set of a charming inn in the south - like something we conjured up. We had breakfast in the porch one morning and another in he dining room. They each had their own magical qualities. Besides the full inclusive breakfast, there was always some sort of snack out for guests. Cookies and sweet tea during the day, hors d'oeuvres in the evening and home made desserts at night. The stuff was lovely and we spent one evening chatting in the parlor over hors d'oeuvres and wine (or sparkling cider in my son's case). There is an honor bar with wine beer, mixers, sodas, etc. and you pay for the alcohol on the honor system but the rest is gratis. I would have liked to stay at least another night there. And highly recommended it.


Centrally located and great service

3.8 on November 14, 2014

Stayed for one night in early November. This was my husband's first BB so wasn't sure what he would think. He loved it! We had a great room (#10) which has a separate entrance off the back porch so easy access to your car or to walk the wonderful historic area without going through the house. All of the staff was friendly. Breakfast was cook to order and the evening dessert was excellent (Key Lime Pie). The appitizers before dinner were just cheese and crackers so a little disappointed there -- perhaps cause the inn wasn't fully booked. No liquor on Sunday just beer and wine and also several of the downtown restaurants are closed on Sunday. Short walk to the Marina where we caught a carriage ride of the historic district. Nice place although a little pricey.


Enjoy

5 on November 11, 2014

Wonderful jewel in quaint little town


Wonderful Stay

5 on November 09, 2014

Could not ask for a more relaxing and charming southern experience. We will certainly do this again.


warm and wonderful

5 on October 27, 2014

It doesn't take long to feel welcome. I was traveling alone and did not feel at all awkward. My only wish was that I could have spent more time there to really benefit from the hospitality. I will definitely be returning Thank you so much!!


A place to be pampered !

5 on October 17, 2014

We stayed two nights in Room 9 which had its own entrance from the porch and easy access to breakfast and happy hour. The staff could not have been nicer without ever seeming hassled. We were greeted with champagne on the porch and settled in easily. I cannot imagine staying at any other place in Beaufort and can't wait to return !


Great B&B in Beaufort

5 on October 15, 2014

All was wonderful. Great B and B


A very quiet place to stay for holidays and/or business.

4.6 on October 08, 2014

Enjoying four days of friendly service and great southern hospitality. Room and breakfast are exceptional. Very clean place in a quiet neighborhood. Great beach nearby. Most importantly: the service is fabulous.


Great Stay In Beautfort

5 on September 27, 2014

Pleasant Southern Hospitality !


Birthday Celebration

5 on August 27, 2014

Celebrated my wife's birthday in style. The RHI was fantastic from start to finish. Great Southern hospitality from the welcoming champagne to the delightful breakfast. Room #1 was terrific with beautifully appointed furnishings. The Inn was all we hoped it would be!


The Rhett House

4.0 on August 25, 2014

Perfect location, central to Historic Charleston. Outstanding service. Comfortable and clean accommodations.


Charmig Stay With All The Hospitality of the South

4.2 on August 17, 2014

We stayed three nights at the Rhett House Inn, in cottage 18 with private parking. The cottage was charming and very well maintained with a very comfortable bed. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. The Inn is located within a five minute walk to many fine restaurants, shops and the waterfront. The carriage ride tour was very informative and was very enjoyable. We highly recommend this guest house when visiting Beaufort SC.


Our favorite B & B

4.0 on August 14, 2014

A beautiful home in a beautiful town. From the wonderful staff to the delicious breakfast to the great evening snacks and deserts everything is the tops at the Rhett House Inn. Definitely our favorite B & B!


Beautiful place to stay. Don't miss the state park.

5 on August 04, 2014

The Rhett House Inn is beautiful and Beaufort is charming. The Water festival was going on when we were there and i would recommend going at a different time. The festival spoiled the water front somewhat with noise and barriers. But definitely -- Beaufort is worth a visit.


Very relaxing experience!

4.0 on July 28, 2014

The staff were incredibly welcoming, helpful and sincerely seemed to want our stay to be perfect. We stayed in Room 15 in the Cottage, a short walk from the main house. The room had a king sized bed, fireplace and small refrigerator and was very spacious. One of our favorite parts of the room was the balcony sitting area in which we enjoyed our morning cups of coffee and then in the evening with our glass of wine and desserts. There was always a nice breeze up there and it made for a very enjoyable experience. The only drawback I had with the cleanliness of the room, the bedroom was dusty, but otherwise was clean, the bathroom was the area of concern. The light fixtures were filthy and the Jacuzzi tub had not recently been cleaned as it had dirt and debris in and around it. Also, when I turned on the jets, many black pieces came out; it felt very unhygienic. But that said, once those were addressed our entire experience was excellent and very much exceeded our expectations. The staff were absolutely incredible as was the food which was served for breakfast, cheese plate in the evening followed by incredible desserts. I would entirely recommend this B&B to anyone as we had a very romantic, relaxing and entirely enjoyable experience.


The Rhett House Inn - A Lovely Get-a-way

4.2 on July 14, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Rhett House Inn. We especially enjoyed having breakfast on the porch and having a late dessert in the kitchen. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.


Rhett House Getaway

5 on July 10, 2014

I have been staying at the Rhett House in Beaufort since 1998 -- not sure how many visits, but many. (-: It is always such a pleasure & such a wonderful restful & pampered getaway. The staff make you feel as if you are staying in a friend's home -- always attentive, friendly & responsive. Beaufort is a delightful area to visit with a wealth of history to explore, as well as shops & delicious (and varied) dining experiences. Of course the wonderful, relaxed full breakfasts of your choice at the Rhett House are one of the best dining experiences of all, as are the wonderful cookies & desserts to round-out your afternoons & evenings!


Get-A-Way

4.8 on June 26, 2014

Great stay at Rhett House - Everything was exceptional especially breakfast!


Outstanding

5 on June 18, 2014

Unbelievably charming! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Room 7 which had a private access to the garden. Friendly and accommodating staff. Will be back to enjoy this beautiful Inn again!


Great day away at the Rhett House!!

4.0 on June 17, 2014

My stay at the Rhett House was fantastic. I have always had bad experiences at B&B's, but this was great. The rooms were nice and clean. The value is what I would expect given the location, service, and extras you get by staying here. Overall, the service was amazing. I would come here again for sure!!.


Excellent experience at Rhett House Inn

5 on June 14, 2014

We had an excellent experience at the Rhett House Inn. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The staff were friendly. There was lemonade, tea and cookies in the afternoon, followed by hors d'oeuvres and a cheese platter. There are many great restaurants in Beaufort. After dinner, we returned to the Rhett House Inn for delicious dessert. There are many fun activities in Beaufort, and we enjoyed being in walking to distance to the activities. I would highly recommend the Rhett House Inn. We will be back!


Rhett House Review

2.8 on June 07, 2014

It was pretty much what I expected. Would have liked a little more "southern hospitality" as that was the only thing that was lacking. Thought the price was a little high for what we got though.


Southern charm at its best!

4.0 on June 03, 2014

We spent our 30th Anniversary at the Rhett House. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all that the Inn had to offer, but also enjoyed getting to know the charming town of Beaufort. The staff was helpful and attentive and the house lives up to its high rating. We plan to go back when we can stay longer!


Hits all the right notes...

5 on May 30, 2014

Beautiful sweet spot to stay, friendly staff, comfortable rooms, lovely porches and gardens. Great breakfasts and cheese & charcuterie in the evenings. Loved the loaner bikes to cruise the area, and loved the hominess of walking through the working kitchen to get to the bike rack.


Great southern hospitality

5 on May 26, 2014

A 2 days stay in a charming house, with warm hospitality rather than mere effectivity. Very well appointed rooms, excellent breakfast and a reception desk very knowledgeable about the town and the region


Lovely stay in May

4.0 on May 26, 2014

Wonderful stay; Superb service from the moment we arrived; Large pleasant rooms; Lovely settings on the porch and grounds; Staff is welcoming and gracious; Breakfast and hors d'oevres and dessert were terrific. One main concern was the lumpy beds and pillows. Please replace the mattresses and provide pillow varieties.


The Rhett House is lovely!

5 on April 22, 2014

Joyce welcomed us as soon as we arrived through the back door! The kitchen smelled of fresh baked pie and cookies - wow. The house is beautiful - so charming. A few blocks to the main street and the water front. Cocktails in the front room was really fun - meeting the others staying there. Breakfast was great. Rooms large and comfortable. Highly recommend.


Anniversary

5 on April 11, 2014

Great vacation spot for rest and relaxation. Extremely enjoyable place to stay. Very capable and friendly staff.


A Port in the Storm

2.8 on March 10, 2014

We arrived in Beaufort on an atypically cold and rainy day that was warmed immediately by the gas logs fireplace in our room. The Inn is comfortable, conveniently located, and has a professional and friendly staff. The only negative was an average eggs to order-type breakfast unless the "famous Southern" refers to offering grits and country ham as sides. If so than it is a Southern breakfast but we have had more tastily-prepared offerings at iHOP. Nevertheless, if it's plantation ambiance you want then the Rhett House delivers and does very well. We enjoyed our stay.


Bed not so comfy...

4.4 on January 24, 2014

We love the Rhett House Inn and have stayed there multiple times. This stay however was not as restful as before. The mattress on our bed was awful and the waterproof mattress pad made a crunching noise every time you moved. The sheets were also scratchy, a very low thread count. We had never experienced this before when staying there. We were thankful to return home and sleep in our own beds. Everything else was outstanding! The bed was our only complaint.


Quaint, Cozy and Comfortable

5 on February 11, 2013

My partner and I traveled 8 hours to Beaufort, SC, on business and arrived in the town about 8:00 p.m., without a reservation - I had an important business meeting the next morning. We searched TripAdvisor for B&B's on our cell phone and called the closest one in the old town, the Rhett House. The on-duty host, Lanier, answered the phone, welcomed us at the door, showed us the available accomodations (we selected Room #2 on the 2nd Floor), checked us in, offered us a selection of wines, directed us to a restaurant, and made sure we both took a slice of homemade Key Lime Pie to our room for an after dinner dessert, and lent us one of 5 movies made locally in Beaufort to watch later on. For walk-ins without a reservation, we couldn't have been welcomed more warmly. We slept well. Although I had to be at my business meeting at 8:00 a.m., my partner slept in. When I returned at 10:00 a.m., I was expecting to receive coffee at most, but was delightfully surprised to sit down and, in short order, have a full breakfast served (pancakes, eggs, bacon - the whole works) - they have a chef on staff. Before we checked out at 11:00 a.m., we were greeted personally by the owner, thanking us for staying, and the morning hostess provided us a map detailing a self-guided walking tour of the historic town, which we loved. Overall, we had a fabulous experience at the Rhett house, and are looking forward to visiting again soon - with a reservation.


Antebellum Grace and Beauty

5 on April 23, 2011

This property is a visual delight, both inside and out. When my wife and I, traveling Canadians dawdling our way around the southeastern US arrived, we were greeted with the welcoming arms of the south. The innkeeper, Anya, quickly and cheerfully guided us through the checkin process and by coming in through the 'friend's back door' we were able to meet the Inn's owner, Steve, who very quickly invited us to visit his own home, The Innkeeper's Cottage. Our stay here for three nights was most pleasant, made even better by the wonderful breakfasts on the verandah, where I truly learned to love grits as a part of my gourmet breakfast. This inn, however, would not be for those with handicaps as the many stairs would make it a challenge to negotiate. That being said we loved our time both in the Rhett House Inn and in the wonderful old town of Beaufort.


Rhett House Inn transports visitors to a bye gone era - and back!

4.2 on July 09, 2010

The Rhett House Inn transports it guests back to an era of old world Southern charm and stately mansions. The setting in and among the oaks and Spanish moss covered trees, is light years away from the fast paced hustle and bustle of Beaufort's more cosmopolitan neighbor to the north (Charleston). The staff were outstanding from initial contact through reservations, check in and recommendations for dinner options within walking distance of the Inn. Visitors must take the opportunity to walk to dinner and visit the beautiful waterfront park afterward to ensure there is room for the Inn's complementary (and scrumptious) desert offerings. Breakfast the next morning was made-to-order and quite excellent. My wife and I would definitely stay at the Rhett House Inn on a future Beaufort visit. P.S. The Inn advertises a Sunday Brunch that would be fun to try if you were just passing through.


Perfect

3.8 on January 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed here in September. It was our anniversary gift to each other. It is a little expensive, but worth every penny. If you decide to stay at Rhett House, you will not be disappointed! I can't wait for our next anniversary. It will be spent at Rhett House Inn.


Wonderful!

4.0 on June 21, 2009

Our stay at The Rhett House was absolutely wonderful. The room was extremely spacious and beautifully decorated. The afternoon refreshments hit the spot after a long day of driving. The house is in walking distance to the downtown area and park. Breakfast was delicious.


Lovely place!

4.2 on July 09, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Lovely B&B, friendly and accommodating staff. We felt at home using the common verandas and rooms and the breakfast was quite good. The complimentary array of desserts in the later evening was an unexpected treat!


Great Find

4.0 on February 18, 2008

Driving from Savannah to Charleston we came upon Beaufort. We just drove around looking for a place to spend the night and chanced upon The Rhett House. What a fabulous surprise. Great room, great town and great breakfast. The Innkeeper also steered us to a remarkable Seafood Restaurant. Mata


Enjoy Southern Comfort at its Best

4.8 on January 12, 2008

Experience true southern hospitality in one of the most beautiful old southern homes with an amazing outdoor courtyard to relax in. Rooms are spacious and comfy. I swear...the very best grits for breakfast in the entire South! This B&B is a true jewel, charm, romantic and a wonderful location. We will be back. Wonderful and lovely.


The Rhett House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $289
  • Reviews (40) 4.5
  • Rooms 17
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8435249030
  • Fax 1-8435241310
  • Toll free 1-8884809530

Visit Website »

View details

Top