The Rhett House Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Onsite Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
130 Reviews

Write A Review

Love the Rhett House !

5 on September 08, 2016

Just love this place - you could not find a more charming welcoming place to stay in Beaufort SC


An amazing weekend at the perfect bed and breakfast!

5 on September 05, 2016

Our experience at the Rhett House was wonderful. It was relaxing and romantic. The room was lovely, the food was fantastic and everyone there was very kind. We can't wait to go back! - Rebecca Wiegert


Perfect location, walking distance to restuarants, bars and shops

4.0 on August 30, 2016

Rhett House Inn was a great location to enjoy some quality time with family. Great and luxurious rooms and wonderful main house. The breakfast in the main house every morning was the best atmosphere to get grounded with family and kick off the day. The Rhett House Inn is in a great location, convenient to the water, parks, historic grave yards, restaurants, bars, shops and ice creameries. We were close to Parris Island and the beaches for much needed family time post USMC graduation. Great spot! Beautiful, homey and peaceful. Thanks Rhett family!


Can't wait to go back!!!!

5 on August 28, 2016

What a wonderfully romantic weekend in a beautiful city! We can't wait to go back!


First time, B&B

4.8 on August 21, 2016

From the moment we arrived we were met with gracious and courteous staff. The Rhett House was like a glimpse back in time, with the history all around us. I can't wait to return, and I'm already looking at another B&B to try, but the Rhett House may outshine the others.


Rhett Inn

5 on August 06, 2016

Incredibly charming setting. Wonderful attentive friendly staff. We will be back!


Best place we stayed on our vacation

4.8 on July 27, 2016

The breakfasts were good and a great way to start our day. The homemade deserts at night were a great way to end the day. The service was fantastic and set the standard for service that we expected on the rest of our trip.


Great Bed & Breakfast

5 on July 25, 2016

Joseph Hawkins


Very restful stay

4.6 on July 23, 2016

Emily was outstanding, always busy, but she still had time for our questions and made us feel so welcome! The chef ( Her name escapes me at this time.) was outstanding! She is fantastic at her job, and was so nice when she waited on us the first couple of mornings we were there. The location of the inn is perfect! Although the temps rose up in the 90's each day we were there, it was still nice enough to eat on the porch each morning - especially with ceiling fans going!


Mostly good

3.2 on July 22, 2016

We stayed for 1 night in July and it's a beautiful place with mostly great service. We went out for dinner and the night shift front Of house said she would put dessert in our room as we wouldn't be home for the night time snack. We came home to find nothing and were disappointed. The day time host was very helpful. It's a very nice place but Im pretty sure if we were of more renown we would have been treated differently. For the price I would have expected a mini fridge but there was only a bucket for ice. Overall it's a great place and they are proud Of having movie stars as guests but treating the non stars like stars would have had me coming back.


Birthday overnight

5 on July 14, 2016

Everything was great! Felt like part of thr family!


wonderfully outstanding, loved it, will definitely return

5 on July 10, 2016

awesome


Perfectly perfect

5 on June 28, 2016

A friends road trip landed us in Beaufort for 2 nights. Although we read great reviews about The Rhett House, you never know if the place will live up to the hype. The Rhett House surpassed our expectations. The service was impeccable, our room was delightfully charming, and breakfast was delicious. Walking distance from most things in Historic Beaufort.


Great location, wonderful views, great amenities, friendly staff.

4.0 on June 27, 2016

Very enjoyable stay. We would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Beaufort.


Our review of the Rhett House

3.8 on June 27, 2016

Outstanding and informative staff; we had a wonderful stay.


Wonderful!

5 on June 21, 2016

Prepare yourself, this might get lengthy. I booked a room for myself and my fiancé for our pre-wedding and then our wedding night. Our wedding was a destination wedding (from TN) and we had a lot of things for the wedding, like decor, wine and snacks, and our luggage for the honeymoon. The staff at the Rhett House (I'm so so sorry I don't remember names!!) allowed us to store all our wedding stuff in the house without hesitation or additional charge. It doesn't get better, right? Wrong, because it does! They left a dozen red roses in my room, just because I was getting married the next day. So sweet! The rooms are just perfect - large, spacious, and very era - appropriate. We were greeted warmly every time we saw anyone who worked there and they were beyond tolerant of all the wedding party comings and goings. I had only booked my fiancé's room for one night and requested a late check out for those "getting ready" photos. They did us one better and gave him a new room (someone was coming to stay in his) and told them to take their time. Honestly, I could not have asked for a more friendly, welcoming, and inviting space to stay and prep for my wedding. The Rhett House Inn really helped to make my wedding just absolutely amazing. 100% recommend staying here!


Real Southren Comfort

5 on June 16, 2016

Staying at Rhett House in Beauford,SC was a real treat for my husband and I. I am employed with the Hilton in southern California and usually stay at one of our hotels. We decided to treat ourselves in southern comfort. What a good decision we made. Our stay there was relaxing, charming, comfortable and we did feel like we got to experience real Southern hospitality. I would refer this B & B to all who want a little spoiling!!!


Great place to stay!

5 on June 08, 2016

An absolutely amazing place to stay! Already planning a trip back in the near future!


Excellant

5 on June 05, 2016

Nice relaxing stay. Clean, excellent food and service! Will definitely come back!


Excellent place to enjoy Southern Quality of Life

4.0 on May 24, 2016

We came to enjoy the spirit of Gone with the Wind and weren't disappointed. Excellent location, stately hotel though relaxed in style, spacious and beautifully decorated room, very nice and elaborate breakfast.


Love the rooms and the staff

5 on May 10, 2016

WOW! what a wonderful stay. LOVE the staff and the room. Would definitely come back if I am ever in the area.


Quaint B & B

4.8 on May 10, 2016

So friendly, welcoming and charming B&B


Beautiful and relaxing

5 on May 09, 2016

We stayed in room 4. It was very beautiful and relaxing. The room was very clean and comfortable. The inn itself is just beautiful and charming. This was our first trip to Beaufort on our way to Savannah and it was a great place for a visit. Breakfast on the porch was lovely. I would highly recommend it.


Oustanding B&B !!

4.8 on May 07, 2016

Lovely place. We should have stayed longer!!


Lovely B &B

5 on May 07, 2016

The inn was charming and welcoming. It felt like stepping back into the old south. Looking forward to a return trip soon.


Enjoyed our stay

4.2 on May 01, 2016

We had a delightful two night stay and would happily return!


Southern hospitality

4.8 on April 28, 2016

This was our first visit to the Rhett House in Beaufort. It was beautiful! We enjoyed sitting on the front porch at breakfast where a breeze kept us cool. The bicycles which were free for guests were an added bonus and a great way to sight see on the back streets of town.


Great time!!!

5 on April 27, 2016

This was a great weekend and a great place to stay with good food and service


Nice Weekend Getaway

5 on April 26, 2016

Our visit to the Rhett House was wonderful. From check-in through departure it was everything I expected based on other reviews we had read. Friendly and accommodating staff, clean rooms, and a great breakfast. We found Beaufort a wonderful choice for a weekend getaway when you want a relaxed environment while also being a city full of history like Charleston. Thanks to this visit, we will be visiting Beaufort much more often, and will make the Rhett House our choice for lodging whenever we are in town. The Inn's proximity to downtown's shops and restaurants made it easy to leave the car parked and just walk wherever we chose to visit. Overall we had a great time and hope to return again soon.


A Delightful Evening at The Rhett House

5 on April 23, 2016

What a treat to spent an evening at The Rhett House. We were greeted to the beautiful Inn with Southern charm and a nice variety of cheese, crackers and wine. The evening spent on the porch with others staying at The Rhett was a delight and our room, #3 was a delight. Beautiful furnishings, impeccable cleanliness, wonderful morning breakfast and a taste of old-fashioned Southern living. Will definitely be back next year. Thank you!!!!


A Beautiful Historic Home

4.4 on April 20, 2016

This is a beautiful home in the historic district of Beaufort, SC. Within 2 blocks of the downtown area full of shops and restaurants. You can easily park your car and walk around the downtown area from the Rhett House. The beach is about 15-20 minutes away on Hunting Island. The room was very clean and spacious, with a private entrance and a private bath. The private entrance led out to a garden. The breakfast was fantastic, and there was a cheese tray in the evening with champagne. Everyone was incredibly nice, and they went out of their way to make you feel welcome.


A great place to stay - quiet, relaxing, wonderful breakfast

5 on April 19, 2016

From reception to checkout things were just perfict


Perfect getaway in a beautiful town.

5 on April 06, 2016

Loved the evening desserts! The Inn's bike were a great way to tour the town.


What More Can I Say--Outstanding In Everyway

5 on April 06, 2016

The Rhett House Inn is the classic example of a truly outstanding B&B. The physical facilities are majestic and timeless, and the service is beyond reproach. Combined, it makes for a wonderful atmosphere for guests. This was our second visit, but it will not be our last. Can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Beaufort!


Wonderful B & B

5 on March 31, 2016

A lovely place to relax and enjoy a peaceful setting with an historic atmosphere. Well appointed with many amenities including a complimentary champagne toast, cheese platter and fabulous pies and cakes for your sweet tooth. Just a short walk to downtown Beaufort. I'd definitely go back for another stay.


Nice stay

4.6 on March 26, 2016

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast. The only downfall was that we didn't receive everything that was supposed to be included in our package. Sent 2 emails but emails bounced back because their mailbox was full. Kinda bummed about that but still had a very relaxing time. It was a very beautiful and peaceful place to stay. The breakfast and deserts were out of this world delicious!


Very nice inn

4.2 on March 24, 2016

Pretty inn great service


Revisit

5 on March 24, 2016

We loved this inn. Perfect weekend


Our Stay At The Rhett House, Beaufort, SC

4.6 on March 22, 2016

This was our second visit to the Rhett House and we could not have been more pleased. We were made to feel at home and found the staff to be helpful and very friendly. Beverly's breakfast's were worth the price of admission, she is such a nice lady. A drink on the porch before (or after) dinner is a real treat. And of course, after returning from dinner you had the delicious desserts to look forward to. Beaufort is a very special place to us and staying at the Rhett House makes it all the more special. Doug and Frances


Lovely B&B and the best service!!

3.6 on March 19, 2016

We felt welcomed and at home. Everyone was warm and the desserts outstanding.


A place to relax

4.8 on March 18, 2016

The AAA 4 diamond rating is well earned. The staff was welcoming, friendly and professional. This is the premier inn in Beaufort, SC. The complimentary breakfast and homemade evening desserts were outstanding. Free off-street, on-site parking enables the guests to park the car for the whole visit and easily walk to the shops, restaurants and waterfront. We could not have asked for more.


Feb Stay

4.8 on March 15, 2016

We loved our stay at The Rhett House from 2/26 to 2/29. The inn and staff were outstanding. We will be sure to stay at The Rhett House during our next trip to Beaufort this fall. The Dalton's of Voluntown, CT


A special place in time!

5 on March 04, 2016

We love this Inn. It is truly a step back in time. The service and breakfast were outstanding. Special thanks to Beverly, Jannell, Anna and Deborah.


Rhett House 2016

4.8 on March 03, 2016

Our stay at the Rhett House Inn was most enjoyable. The inn and its staff were outstanding. We will be back. Loved the evening deserts, especially the Walnut pie. Peter & Char


Great Stay

5 on February 29, 2016

We stayed at the Rhett House for a Marine Graduation at Parris Island. The staff was friendly & the breakfast outstanding. The homemade pies and cakes were a real treat. This was our first visit to Beaufort which we found to be a very quaint historic city. We plan on returning to this hidden gem.


Rhett House Review for February 19, 2016

4.2 on February 23, 2016

We were pleased with our stay. The homemade chocolate cake was the highlight of my entire life. :)


Southern Charm at its Finest

4.6 on February 13, 2016

Experience southern grace and charm at its finest at the Rhett House. It's a fabulous place for first time visitors to the low country. It's a great place for returning visitors such as myself too.


Great Setting in Historic Beaufort

2.8 on January 14, 2016

Breakfast was good , but showed no imagination that we've come to expect at upscale B&B's


A little slice of Heaven.

5 on December 09, 2015

We landed at The Rhett House Inn as an 'any port in a storm' kind of situation after leaving another hotel that was deplorable. On arrival however, the relief was tremendous. The Rhett House Inn was roomy and comfortable, with all the amenities anybody could desire. Quality amenities with a vintage feel. It was like coming home, and I was comfortable walking barefoot in the room. In a hotel! Unfortunately, we didn't have the opportunity to stay for breakfast, but the chef saw we were leaving early and made sure to get us coffee and a bite to eat before we left. Talk about personal service. Truly, the next time we're in the area, I'll be booking my stay at the Rhett House Inn.


A beautiful and charming experience!

5 on December 06, 2015

Our stay at Rhett House Inn was beautiful, relaxing and wonderful. The staff members were top-notch, friendly, chatty and just made us feel like we were more than guests. Breakfast was so wonderful and civilized on the veranda that I'm now spoiled for any other experience. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!


Less than expected

3.0 on November 29, 2015

I anticipated exceptional service but was disappointed.The front desk on our arrival was detached and disinterested.We had to lug our bags up to our first floor room and despite doing so in presence of front desk was not interested.When enquirers bout dinner we were given list of restaurants.Noboffer to call and make dinner reservation.Very much left to make own decisions.Service at breakfast was slow and disappointing.The chef was friendly and the desserts kept for us by night desk who were more helpful was delicious.I really did not feel valued as a guest and having Ben to a similar establishment in my home country felt that the admin staff were standoffish!All I all disappointing given the host and website expectations!!


wonderful experience

5 on November 27, 2015

I cannot really put into words how wonderful my stay was. I found a new family here and will be staying with them time and again. I was with them the days prior to Thanksgiving and had I not had plans would have shared Thanksgiving with them. The hospitality, food, guests, and their friends are above and beyond any place I have been. I will be returning time and again.


Relaxing stay

4.6 on November 23, 2015

My wife and I stayed in Room 14 for five nights during October. The bedroom is small but very cozy for sleeping. Excellent temperature controls for heat and AC. Nice decor, TV, and a larger than expected private bathroom with a walk-in shower. Very clean room, towels, and linens. Room is main level with a private entrance across the street from main building. We enjoyed starting each morning with a nice breakfast on the front porch of the main building...followed by relaxing walks around the historic town before heading out for the day. The staff was friendly and helpful. Always good smells coming from the kitchen. Location is excellent. Easy short walk to main area of shops and restaurants along the water. The only recommendation for Room 14 might be to upgrade the mattress. We slept just fine, but the mattress had a barrier or liner under the sheets that crinkled. This is a minor point...but it didn't provide that luxurious feel you might want or expect. That said, we loved our stay and we highly recommend The Rhett House. If we return to Beufort we will defnitely stay again!


Comme dans un roman

5 on November 21, 2015

Nous avons été accueilli tres gentillement avec des snackies et du champagne,que nous avons bu en terrasse, confortablement installés dans le salon en rotin noir et blanc, devant un coucher de soleil. La chambre était belle et romantique, trés bien décorée. Nous avons eu un trés agréable sejour, les petits dejeuners pris en exterieur, et une visite du lieu par Mr Lagnier le directeur commercial qui est un passionné. La ville de Beaufort est trés paisible, et notre séjour a "the Rhett House" a été un pur moment de bonheur, dans un autre siècle.


A taste of the old South.

5 on November 19, 2015

I have wanted to stay at the Rhett House Inn for quite sometime as our family has ties to the Rhett family, thus making the home a 'family' home. Needless to say our expectations were exceeded. Besides being located in a very charming town, the accommodations were just perfect. Our room was large and spacious; perfectly appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful, beyond what is typical. The cook is AMAZING. We had dessert (White Russian Cake), which was do die for! The lovely lady at the front desk make wonderful suggestions of what to do in Beaufort, as well as in Charleston, which was our next stop. If you are coming to Beaufort, the Rhett House Inn is a MUST!


Perfect Southern Experiece

5 on November 16, 2015

I stayed at The Rhett House for the 2015 "Pat Conroy at 70 Festival" and am so glad I did. It was exactly what I was looking for: to stay in a B&B that feels like a comfortable, Southern mansion. Everything was lovely, especially the staff, who were all so bright and accommodating that it felt as if I'd known them for years! I highly recommend the The Rhett House. The location is a perfect base with which to see Beaufort, and everything within is beautiful.


New Management Please!

2.2 on November 13, 2015

Our 2 night stay was totally affected in a negative way by a large group of bike riders descending on the inn. Check in took 35 minutes, no champagne was offered nor were we shown to our room. Management didn't go near the stairs. The wi-fi nor the TV worked during our stay. The horderves were a nasty salami & boxed crackers. See Trip Advisor for our breakfast experience. The management waited for complaints to surface before addressing all situations where a bit of professional skill would have worked much better. 50% deposit collected 5 months prior, unlike the other 4 B&B's we stayed in.


Comfortable Elegance

3.8 on November 10, 2015

After driving from Roanoke Island and encountering a two and a half hour detour on I-95, we were delighted to arrive at the peace of the Rhett House. We'd arrived in time to enjoy a glass of wind and some appetizers at the end of the day. Our room, Number 1, was indeed Number One! Spacious, well appointed, a lovely view of the courtyard - the room was a great choice. As we were late getting in and would be late returning from dinner, one of the staff thoughtfully saved us a piece of pie and left it in our room. The area where the Rhett House is located is quiet, a block off the busier waterfront street. I can't say what their breakfast offerings are very morning, but when we stayed, breakfast was eggs, omelets (with whatever you liked in them), breakfast meats, and your choice of bread. It was delicious! The Inn is a beautiful step back in time. The innkeepers are obliging and friendly, and the staff are all there to make your stay an enjoyable one.


Exactly What I'd hoped For

5 on November 05, 2015

As a Southerner who now lives in California, I wanted the entire Southern experience during my stay in Beaufort, and found it at The Rhett House. Absolutely beautiful, decorous and perfect. The staff was so friendly and attentive, I felt like I'd know it my entire life! My experience at The Rhett House put a good name on Beaufort and I will return to this lovely, homey refuge again.


Really nice place to stay.

4.0 on October 26, 2015

Very historical. Only a couple blocks off the main strip. Walked to dinner. Be sure to go out back and up the street to the big white church. Some really old gravestones and pretty neat to see. The staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was very good as well. Offered champagne during check in, that was a nice touch.


Very Nice B&B

4.2 on October 20, 2015

We had a great one night stay at The Rhett House. The staff was very accommodating. We stayed in one of the cottages. It was great! We had a private porch with rocking chairs and ceiling fan. The Inn is located within easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. I would definitely stay there again.


Great place to stay... Very Historic

4.2 on October 15, 2015

Very nice old historic B&B, staff was great, breakfast was really good. Great location to walk along the Historic streets. Were able to even walk to dinner at a nice Italian restaurant.


Exceeding our expectations in Beaufort

4.2 on October 04, 2015

Beautiful main house and to our surprise, our suite was in another building that was both private and very nice. Bathroom was much larger than most BnB's w a separate tub and shower. Terraces not suitable for eating outside but didn't matter because breakfast on the terrace of main house was sublime. Location super convenient to everything. Lovely experience!


This is our Number One Choice in Beaufort

5 on October 03, 2015

Another great, relaxing stay. Very informative and attentive staff. Love the private dining room and the service that you receive. Chef Beverly has inspired me to try making southern biscuits and soft scrambled eggs as good as hers. Chef Beverly personally took care of us-warm and welcoming. TRUE SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY. If you cant do breakfast during your stay you are missing out.


Real charm where charm means something

4.4 on September 15, 2015

We spent two outstanding days at The Rhett House -- a spectacularly beautiful home in a town that made us feel at home. Staff at the House were open, friendly, helpful and wonderfully regular people. Breakfast from Beverly was the reason to wake-up, followed by a walk along the water front. Needless to say, we'd return on a dime.


Southern hospitality experience

4.2 on September 05, 2015

We enjoyed our 5 day stay at the Rhette House. Room 18 at the Cottage House was private and lovely with it' s own off street parking spot. The service and hospitality we received from the entire staff was fabulous.


Experience the Old South

3.4 on September 01, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the beautiful Rhett House. Our spacious upstairs room looked out upon the inviting upstairs veranda (surrounded by moss-draped oaks). All that would ever be needed for a relaxing afternoon there would be a glass of lemonade and a Pat Conroy novel. The Rhett House is walking distance to restaurants and sites. I wish we had planned a longer stay.


The best place to relax in Beaufort, SC

4.8 on August 17, 2015

We have stayed at the Rhett House Inn four times. It is always a perfect weekend getaway and our favorite anniversary celebration place! We have not been disappointed once. Book early!


Great Spot

4.6 on August 10, 2015

This was our second stay at the Rhett House Inn and it is our "go-to" stay in quaint and charming Beaufort, SC. The staff are attentive, friendly, and always willing to help.


Loved the veranda

4.2 on June 11, 2015

While eating breakfast on the porch one morning I asked Miss Beverly if the biscuits were trained to float to the porch themselves, or if she hd to carry them. Her reply: "Would you like another?" And it was good.


A restful stay at the Rhett House

3.4 on June 05, 2015

We stayed at the Rhett Inn on our travels along coastal SC...each night of our stay was at different B&B. Our meals were lovely and the Inn itself was beautiful. If we did it again, we would choose a house room as we stayed in one of the cottage rooms which was of average decor..the shower handle fell off when I turned it on & several of the light bulbs were out. The bed seems small for a queen & was covered with a plastic mattress cover that crinkled all night long. At the price, overall it wasn't our favorite along our trip but a good stop nonetheless.


Handsome structure, beautiful oaks Make impression

3.0 on June 04, 2015

Attractive, historic


Sumptious Southern Splendor!

4.6 on May 26, 2015

We decided to splurge on only a few B&B stays on our 12-day Southern Road Trip and we chose Beaufort's "Rhett House Inn" based on its great reviews and location between Charleston and Savannah. Well, the reviews couldn't have been more right on! The only mistake we made was not booking a second night so that we could have spent MORE time enjoying the fabulous front porch while watching carriages clip-clop by on the street below, or lounging in our spacious and elegantly decorated room (#10) or reading a book while listening to the splash of the garden fountain just beyond our very own, private screened porch. The afternoon staff that greeted us at check-in with glasses of wine and served us tasty late-night dessert delights, as well as those that cooked up our made-to-order breakfasts, all couldn't have been friendlier or more professional! The inn's location just a block from downtown was also a plus for a bit of window-shopping and and an evening meal. I would have to say that our stay was a treat from start to finish!


Great location

3.0 on May 19, 2015

Overall I thought the Inn was a good place to stay. Great location. They serve breakfast, have snacks, a cocktail hour (you have to pay for your drinks), and dessert and coffee in the evening. One thing about the breakfast I thought was odd for a B&B is that it's the same menu everyday and you pick what you want to eat. I guess I was just expecting a new breakfast everyday. But it is good and bad because you get to eat what you want but could get boring. The porch is great. The room was very nice but the bed was WAY too soft (Room 2). So if you are booking here I would ask about the bed. On my way out I met the owner and he was very kind.


Real Southern Hospitality

4.6 on April 15, 2015

My wife and I spent three April nights at the Rhett House Inn. An attractive, antebellum home in the historic district of Beaufort, SC, it is the ideal setting for tasting the South at its best. The service, from housekeeping to management,, was extraordinary, both in friendliness and competence. The breakfasts were excellent. The location is ideal. The edible amenities made it even more special.


Outstanding in all respects. THE place to stay in Beaufort.

5 on April 14, 2015

We also enjoyed the special added attraction of the Navy's Blue Angels providing "the sound of freedom" during our stay. Beautiful, peaceful garden right outside our door. Carriage ride was extraordinary and informative. Easy access to all of historic Beaufort.


Highly recommended

4.4 on April 14, 2015

The staff at the Rhett House could not be nicer or more helpful. We had a lovely stay.


Wonderful stay at the Rhett House

5 on April 05, 2015

They spoil you from the minute you arrive with a welcome glass of champagne until the last minute of your stay! Afternoon tea & sweets, then cocktail time with more food, and in the evening they set out several types of freshly baked desserts. Bicycles available for guests which is so nice! Breakfast was amazing, fabulous location, lovely accommodations-we will definitely return.


Great weekend getaway

3.6 on April 01, 2015

Had a great time. Staff and owner were all very nice and helpful. Will be back for sure!


Great Mini- Vacation

5 on March 23, 2015

Outstanding, Our time there was very relaxing. The Staff was friendly and inviting. Don't miss evening drinks on the front porch or the evening deserts in the kitchen. We loved our stay there, we stayed in the cottage- We LOVED it. Betty and Tim


One word...AWESOME!

5 on March 18, 2015

Totally AWESOME.


Karen made the stay wonderful...

5 on March 08, 2015

My wife and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast so we thought we would try one when i had to visit Beaufort for a business meeting. In addition to it being a business trip, we coupled it with a trip for my wife's birthday and it was wonderful. Upon arriving, we were greeted with a smile, offered drinks and snacks and told about all the amenities. We ventured off for a carriage tour and dinner and ipon coming back, there was desserts and coffee waiting for us. We played Scrabble in the main room before retiring for the night. What a pleasant experience. Karen was so gracious and friendly the entire trip. The reason we would visit the Rhett House again is because of Karen. Thank you for a wonderful experience.


Awesome Stay in the Cottages

4.4 on March 06, 2015

Great B&B in Beaufort, loved having a whirlpool tub and my own porch at the cottage. Food was decent, staff was great.


Will Return Again!!

4.8 on February 28, 2015

My husband and I stayed here as it was less than 10 minutes away from Parris Island where our daughter was graduating from Marine Boot Camp. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left, we could not have asked for better service or attentiveness. We were treated like family. Our innkeeper, Mariah, was the absolute best! The desserts served in the evening were amazing as well as the breakfast options that were offered. The room (#9) was very clean, well-serviced, and quiet. We wished we could have stayed longer, but we hope to return soon to enjoy even more of the Rhett House Inn!


A great find

4.2 on February 24, 2015

Sitting on the verandah watching the world go by, a glass of wine by the fire, desserts to welcome us back in the evening,a lovely historic town and a stunningly beautiful room with a bed so high we made good use of the stepladder! We cannot think of anything which could make this delightful inn better, every detail has been considered.


Wonderful Staff

4.4 on January 26, 2015

The staff made this destination one that we'll cherish. They were so personable and eager to make our stay memorable. This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience and because it was so nice, we'll vacation this way again. If the bed were more comfortable and the free but slightly used fire log had actually been flammable...lol...the stay would have been perfect.


A great anniversary weekend.

4.4 on January 13, 2015

Beautiful setting. First class in all respects.


Real Southern Hospitality

4.0 on January 08, 2015

Our stay at the Rhett House was lovely. Even though the weather was rainy, we enjoyed the evening refreshments in front of the fireplace. Homemade desserts were delightful. (They even printed out the recipes for me). Breakfast was served in true Southern Hospitality. The staff members were so friendly. Accommodations made me feel right at home. And the check in and check out process so easy. Definitely will return to the Rhett House.


Perfect place in Beaufort, SC

5 on December 02, 2014

Great location by the downtown shops and attractions. Accommodations and people are very nice.


Wonderful Stay at Rhett House

5 on November 29, 2014

We spent two days at the Rhett House while we were in town visiting relatives. We were very pleased with the warm southern hospitality, lovely rooms, delicious breakfasts and the overall ambiance of the Inn.


Frankly, My Dear Stay at the Rhett House!

4.6 on November 26, 2014

Stayed in room #17 for two nights across the street from the main house. Didn't miss a thing, visited the main house for tea time cookies, 5:00 hors d'oeuvres, breakfast and dessert time! Would like to go back in warmer weather but enjoyed the working fireplaces in the breakfast and living rooms. Upon arrival drank some sparkling wine and learned a little about the history of the house-thank you Mariah. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and we liked the privacy. Ahhh breakfast, yummy blueberry pancakes, grits with gouda, and fresh fruit. Nice folks staying there as well as attentive staff. Only complaint-our visit at the Rhett was too short!


2 night getaway

4.8 on November 24, 2014

Came for a two night stay. The hospitality and food were top notch!! Thanks for making this a great getaway!!


The Rhett House, Beaufort

4.6 on November 22, 2014

Our stay at the Rhett House was magnificent. I was on a road trip with 13 year old son just 'getting lost'. We made the reservation from Charleston the same day as our arrival. We arrived around 8:00pm and the woman who was at the front desk was very cheerful, welcoming and helpful. She offered me a complimentary glass of champagne which I accepted the next night. She directed us to restaurants a couple of blocks away on the water. We had room #7 which is huge. The room seemed a little musty at first. I guess it's becsuse of the climate and because it's a room on the 'lower' floor. The bath is tiny, but I don't mind that. After all it's a historic building that predates indoor plumbing I believe. However, the room opens on to a beautiful brick patioed garden with a fountain. It was nice to have the private entrance. There are several beautiful outdoor spaces to sit and chat, read a book, or just think. The Rhett House is visually like a movie set of a charming inn in the south - like something we conjured up. We had breakfast in the porch one morning and another in he dining room. They each had their own magical qualities. Besides the full inclusive breakfast, there was always some sort of snack out for guests. Cookies and sweet tea during the day, hors d'oeuvres in the evening and home made desserts at night. The stuff was lovely and we spent one evening chatting in the parlor over hors d'oeuvres and wine (or sparkling cider in my son's case). There is an honor bar with wine beer, mixers, sodas, etc. and you pay for the alcohol on the honor system but the rest is gratis. I would have liked to stay at least another night there. And highly recommended it.


Centrally located and great service

3.8 on November 14, 2014

Stayed for one night in early November. This was my husband's first BB so wasn't sure what he would think. He loved it! We had a great room (#10) which has a separate entrance off the back porch so easy access to your car or to walk the wonderful historic area without going through the house. All of the staff was friendly. Breakfast was cook to order and the evening dessert was excellent (Key Lime Pie). The appitizers before dinner were just cheese and crackers so a little disappointed there -- perhaps cause the inn wasn't fully booked. No liquor on Sunday just beer and wine and also several of the downtown restaurants are closed on Sunday. Short walk to the Marina where we caught a carriage ride of the historic district. Nice place although a little pricey.


Enjoy

5 on November 11, 2014

Wonderful jewel in quaint little town


Wonderful Stay

5 on November 09, 2014

Could not ask for a more relaxing and charming southern experience. We will certainly do this again.


warm and wonderful

5 on October 27, 2014

It doesn't take long to feel welcome. I was traveling alone and did not feel at all awkward. My only wish was that I could have spent more time there to really benefit from the hospitality. I will definitely be returning Thank you so much!!


A place to be pampered !

5 on October 17, 2014

We stayed two nights in Room 9 which had its own entrance from the porch and easy access to breakfast and happy hour. The staff could not have been nicer without ever seeming hassled. We were greeted with champagne on the porch and settled in easily. I cannot imagine staying at any other place in Beaufort and can't wait to return !


Great B&B in Beaufort

5 on October 15, 2014

All was wonderful. Great B and B


A very quiet place to stay for holidays and/or business.

4.6 on October 08, 2014

Enjoying four days of friendly service and great southern hospitality. Room and breakfast are exceptional. Very clean place in a quiet neighborhood. Great beach nearby. Most importantly: the service is fabulous.


Great Stay In Beautfort

5 on September 27, 2014

Pleasant Southern Hospitality !


Birthday Celebration

5 on August 27, 2014

Celebrated my wife's birthday in style. The RHI was fantastic from start to finish. Great Southern hospitality from the welcoming champagne to the delightful breakfast. Room #1 was terrific with beautifully appointed furnishings. The Inn was all we hoped it would be!


The Rhett House

4.0 on August 25, 2014

Perfect location, central to Historic Charleston. Outstanding service. Comfortable and clean accommodations.


Charmig Stay With All The Hospitality of the South

4.2 on August 17, 2014

We stayed three nights at the Rhett House Inn, in cottage 18 with private parking. The cottage was charming and very well maintained with a very comfortable bed. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. The Inn is located within a five minute walk to many fine restaurants, shops and the waterfront. The carriage ride tour was very informative and was very enjoyable. We highly recommend this guest house when visiting Beaufort SC.


Our favorite B & B

4.0 on August 14, 2014

A beautiful home in a beautiful town. From the wonderful staff to the delicious breakfast to the great evening snacks and deserts everything is the tops at the Rhett House Inn. Definitely our favorite B & B!


Beautiful place to stay. Don't miss the state park.

5 on August 04, 2014

The Rhett House Inn is beautiful and Beaufort is charming. The Water festival was going on when we were there and i would recommend going at a different time. The festival spoiled the water front somewhat with noise and barriers. But definitely -- Beaufort is worth a visit.


Very relaxing experience!

4.0 on July 28, 2014

The staff were incredibly welcoming, helpful and sincerely seemed to want our stay to be perfect. We stayed in Room 15 in the Cottage, a short walk from the main house. The room had a king sized bed, fireplace and small refrigerator and was very spacious. One of our favorite parts of the room was the balcony sitting area in which we enjoyed our morning cups of coffee and then in the evening with our glass of wine and desserts. There was always a nice breeze up there and it made for a very enjoyable experience. The only drawback I had with the cleanliness of the room, the bedroom was dusty, but otherwise was clean, the bathroom was the area of concern. The light fixtures were filthy and the Jacuzzi tub had not recently been cleaned as it had dirt and debris in and around it. Also, when I turned on the jets, many black pieces came out; it felt very unhygienic. But that said, once those were addressed our entire experience was excellent and very much exceeded our expectations. The staff were absolutely incredible as was the food which was served for breakfast, cheese plate in the evening followed by incredible desserts. I would entirely recommend this B&B to anyone as we had a very romantic, relaxing and entirely enjoyable experience.


The Rhett House Inn - A Lovely Get-a-way

4.2 on July 14, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Rhett House Inn. We especially enjoyed having breakfast on the porch and having a late dessert in the kitchen. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.


Rhett House Getaway

5 on July 10, 2014

I have been staying at the Rhett House in Beaufort since 1998 -- not sure how many visits, but many. (-: It is always such a pleasure & such a wonderful restful & pampered getaway. The staff make you feel as if you are staying in a friend's home -- always attentive, friendly & responsive. Beaufort is a delightful area to visit with a wealth of history to explore, as well as shops & delicious (and varied) dining experiences. Of course the wonderful, relaxed full breakfasts of your choice at the Rhett House are one of the best dining experiences of all, as are the wonderful cookies & desserts to round-out your afternoons & evenings!


Get-A-Way

4.8 on June 26, 2014

Great stay at Rhett House - Everything was exceptional especially breakfast!


Outstanding

5 on June 18, 2014

Unbelievably charming! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Room 7 which had a private access to the garden. Friendly and accommodating staff. Will be back to enjoy this beautiful Inn again!


Great day away at the Rhett House!!

4.0 on June 17, 2014

My stay at the Rhett House was fantastic. I have always had bad experiences at B&B's, but this was great. The rooms were nice and clean. The value is what I would expect given the location, service, and extras you get by staying here. Overall, the service was amazing. I would come here again for sure!!.


Excellent experience at Rhett House Inn

5 on June 14, 2014

We had an excellent experience at the Rhett House Inn. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The staff were friendly. There was lemonade, tea and cookies in the afternoon, followed by hors d'oeuvres and a cheese platter. There are many great restaurants in Beaufort. After dinner, we returned to the Rhett House Inn for delicious dessert. There are many fun activities in Beaufort, and we enjoyed being in walking to distance to the activities. I would highly recommend the Rhett House Inn. We will be back!


Rhett House Review

2.8 on June 07, 2014

It was pretty much what I expected. Would have liked a little more "southern hospitality" as that was the only thing that was lacking. Thought the price was a little high for what we got though.


Southern charm at its best!

4.0 on June 03, 2014

We spent our 30th Anniversary at the Rhett House. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all that the Inn had to offer, but also enjoyed getting to know the charming town of Beaufort. The staff was helpful and attentive and the house lives up to its high rating. We plan to go back when we can stay longer!


Hits all the right notes...

5 on May 30, 2014

Beautiful sweet spot to stay, friendly staff, comfortable rooms, lovely porches and gardens. Great breakfasts and cheese & charcuterie in the evenings. Loved the loaner bikes to cruise the area, and loved the hominess of walking through the working kitchen to get to the bike rack.


Great southern hospitality

5 on May 26, 2014

A 2 days stay in a charming house, with warm hospitality rather than mere effectivity. Very well appointed rooms, excellent breakfast and a reception desk very knowledgeable about the town and the region


Lovely stay in May

4.0 on May 26, 2014

Wonderful stay; Superb service from the moment we arrived; Large pleasant rooms; Lovely settings on the porch and grounds; Staff is welcoming and gracious; Breakfast and hors d'oevres and dessert were terrific. One main concern was the lumpy beds and pillows. Please replace the mattresses and provide pillow varieties.


The Rhett House is lovely!

5 on April 22, 2014

Joyce welcomed us as soon as we arrived through the back door! The kitchen smelled of fresh baked pie and cookies - wow. The house is beautiful - so charming. A few blocks to the main street and the water front. Cocktails in the front room was really fun - meeting the others staying there. Breakfast was great. Rooms large and comfortable. Highly recommend.


Anniversary

5 on April 11, 2014

Great vacation spot for rest and relaxation. Extremely enjoyable place to stay. Very capable and friendly staff.


A Port in the Storm

2.8 on March 10, 2014

We arrived in Beaufort on an atypically cold and rainy day that was warmed immediately by the gas logs fireplace in our room. The Inn is comfortable, conveniently located, and has a professional and friendly staff. The only negative was an average eggs to order-type breakfast unless the "famous Southern" refers to offering grits and country ham as sides. If so than it is a Southern breakfast but we have had more tastily-prepared offerings at iHOP. Nevertheless, if it's plantation ambiance you want then the Rhett House delivers and does very well. We enjoyed our stay.


Bed not so comfy...

4.4 on January 24, 2014

We love the Rhett House Inn and have stayed there multiple times. This stay however was not as restful as before. The mattress on our bed was awful and the waterproof mattress pad made a crunching noise every time you moved. The sheets were also scratchy, a very low thread count. We had never experienced this before when staying there. We were thankful to return home and sleep in our own beds. Everything else was outstanding! The bed was our only complaint.


Quaint, Cozy and Comfortable

5 on February 11, 2013

My partner and I traveled 8 hours to Beaufort, SC, on business and arrived in the town about 8:00 p.m., without a reservation - I had an important business meeting the next morning. We searched TripAdvisor for B&B's on our cell phone and called the closest one in the old town, the Rhett House. The on-duty host, Lanier, answered the phone, welcomed us at the door, showed us the available accomodations (we selected Room #2 on the 2nd Floor), checked us in, offered us a selection of wines, directed us to a restaurant, and made sure we both took a slice of homemade Key Lime Pie to our room for an after dinner dessert, and lent us one of 5 movies made locally in Beaufort to watch later on. For walk-ins without a reservation, we couldn't have been welcomed more warmly. We slept well. Although I had to be at my business meeting at 8:00 a.m., my partner slept in. When I returned at 10:00 a.m., I was expecting to receive coffee at most, but was delightfully surprised to sit down and, in short order, have a full breakfast served (pancakes, eggs, bacon - the whole works) - they have a chef on staff. Before we checked out at 11:00 a.m., we were greeted personally by the owner, thanking us for staying, and the morning hostess provided us a map detailing a self-guided walking tour of the historic town, which we loved. Overall, we had a fabulous experience at the Rhett house, and are looking forward to visiting again soon - with a reservation.


Antebellum Grace and Beauty

5 on April 23, 2011

This property is a visual delight, both inside and out. When my wife and I, traveling Canadians dawdling our way around the southeastern US arrived, we were greeted with the welcoming arms of the south. The innkeeper, Anya, quickly and cheerfully guided us through the checkin process and by coming in through the 'friend's back door' we were able to meet the Inn's owner, Steve, who very quickly invited us to visit his own home, The Innkeeper's Cottage. Our stay here for three nights was most pleasant, made even better by the wonderful breakfasts on the verandah, where I truly learned to love grits as a part of my gourmet breakfast. This inn, however, would not be for those with handicaps as the many stairs would make it a challenge to negotiate. That being said we loved our time both in the Rhett House Inn and in the wonderful old town of Beaufort.


Rhett House Inn transports visitors to a bye gone era - and back!

4.2 on July 09, 2010

The Rhett House Inn transports it guests back to an era of old world Southern charm and stately mansions. The setting in and among the oaks and Spanish moss covered trees, is light years away from the fast paced hustle and bustle of Beaufort's more cosmopolitan neighbor to the north (Charleston). The staff were outstanding from initial contact through reservations, check in and recommendations for dinner options within walking distance of the Inn. Visitors must take the opportunity to walk to dinner and visit the beautiful waterfront park afterward to ensure there is room for the Inn's complementary (and scrumptious) desert offerings. Breakfast the next morning was made-to-order and quite excellent. My wife and I would definitely stay at the Rhett House Inn on a future Beaufort visit. P.S. The Inn advertises a Sunday Brunch that would be fun to try if you were just passing through.


Perfect

3.8 on January 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed here in September. It was our anniversary gift to each other. It is a little expensive, but worth every penny. If you decide to stay at Rhett House, you will not be disappointed! I can't wait for our next anniversary. It will be spent at Rhett House Inn.


Wonderful!

4.0 on June 21, 2009

Our stay at The Rhett House was absolutely wonderful. The room was extremely spacious and beautifully decorated. The afternoon refreshments hit the spot after a long day of driving. The house is in walking distance to the downtown area and park. Breakfast was delicious.


Lovely place!

4.2 on July 09, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Lovely B&B, friendly and accommodating staff. We felt at home using the common verandas and rooms and the breakfast was quite good. The complimentary array of desserts in the later evening was an unexpected treat!


Great Find

4.0 on February 18, 2008

Driving from Savannah to Charleston we came upon Beaufort. We just drove around looking for a place to spend the night and chanced upon The Rhett House. What a fabulous surprise. Great room, great town and great breakfast. The Innkeeper also steered us to a remarkable Seafood Restaurant. Mata


Enjoy Southern Comfort at its Best

4.8 on January 12, 2008

Experience true southern hospitality in one of the most beautiful old southern homes with an amazing outdoor courtyard to relax in. Rooms are spacious and comfy. I swear...the very best grits for breakfast in the entire South! This B&B is a true jewel, charm, romantic and a wonderful location. We will be back. Wonderful and lovely.


The Rhett House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $289
  • Reviews (130) 4.5
  • Rooms 17
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8435249030
  • Fax 1-8435241310
  • Toll free 1-8884809530

Visit Website »

View details

Top