Beaulieu House at Cat Island Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
52 Reviews

Write A Review

We love your B&B!

5 on August 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Beaulieu House on Cat Island for a weekend getaway, and it was absolutely FANTASTIC!! The owner and her family were there and we loved getting to know them over lively breakfast conversation! The house is BEAUTIFUL and remote (a huge plus for us), but it's an easy drive to town. Our room was spotless and so comfortable, and we enjoyed looking at all the items the owner has collected throughout her travels. The pier is a great place to hang out as well... It was like we were the only people on the island! We will definitely be visiting again! See you soon, Sarah and Danny


awesome place!

5 on August 04, 2014

The Beaulieu House was great!! We didn't want to leave! Could stay there a month!! So peaceful and perfect location... Room was very nice with water view and a hammock on the veranda.. Very nice breakfast..hospitality was wonderful... Will definitely return!!!


Unique B&B - perfect for relaxing

4.0 on July 03, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet setting with a romantic view of the water, this is the perfect place. The house has a historic look, yet is really quite modern. Your Hostess (provided she is not on one of her frequent international trips) will provide charming company for breakfast and is certainly very knowledgable about almost any corner of the world. The city of Beaulieu, the beach and several places to dine are within easy reach by car. Overall, definitely a recommendable place for a few days of relaxing!


Beaulieu House

5 on June 22, 2014

Had a great time.


Gorgeous, relaxing B&B

4.6 on June 18, 2014

Convenient drive to Beaufort and other areas. Excellent location for walks and could not have planned a better breakfast view in the morning...dolphin swimming in the bay while we ate.


Serinity at its best!

5 on May 27, 2014

Beaulieu House at Cat Island is Beaufort's hidden gem. I had no idea how delightful the B&B was going to be. I stayed for 4 days and enjoyed every minute. Beautiful settings, extremely comfortable, delightful Host, perfect location, just minutes from Beaufort. Swimming pool, golf and tennis within just a few steps of the Inn. What more could you ask for? Will be looking forward to returning.


Nice Stay

4.0 on April 13, 2014

We had a great 3 night stay. Large clean room with nice bathroom. Our only minor criticism is that our host tried to make the breakfasts too fancy. We would have been happy with scrambled eggs, toast and cereal instead of eggs benedict.


Wonderful Anniversary stay!!!

5 on April 03, 2014

Spent three night at Beaulieu House for our anniversary. House is even more beautiful than pictures. We stayed in Room 3. Wonderful view. Breakfast was great. Susan was so nice and recommended many places to visit and the best restaurants in the area. Really enjoyed breakfast time and sharing experiences with other guests. Would love to go back again!!! David & Reba


What a lovely B&B!

4.6 on September 25, 2013

My family and I stayed three nights, and we absolutely fell in love with Beaulieu. The carriage house is uniquely designed, but makes a fun little home away from home. Our breakfasts were great and we enjoyed having wine with her in the afternoons. We look forward to visiting again!


Beautiful house on Cat Island

4.2 on August 07, 2013

The location is lovely ; the house is charming , very comfortable and clean. Stayed three nights and the Inn keeper was very helpful and informative about the area.


Twin mattresses pushed together does not a king bed make.

2.0 on July 27, 2013

Much show, little substance, given the price.


Beautiful B&B

4.8 on July 26, 2013

Thanks to Diane for a lovely stay. The location is perfect--right on the water and super quiet. Diane was very hospitable, welcoming us with a glass of wine on the gorgeous porch and giving us great restaurant recommendations. Our room was lovely and huge. We enjoyed chatting with the other guests.


Memorial Day weekend stay

3.6 on June 25, 2013

Great stay, comfortable room. The rooms on the front of the house were exposed to the afternoon sun a little too much but otherwise a great room.


Beaulieu Stay

4.6 on June 17, 2013

We were guests here for four nights and came in on short notice. The room was set ready for our arrival. There were other guests staying there with a pet (as this property is pet friendly) as well. Diann was kind enough to serve breakfast according to our schedules and the meal was wonderful! Not your muffin and coffee but really delicious dishes. I would stay here again. Why not! Comfortable rooms with a lovely view and a very welcoming inn keeper!!


Perfect weekend getaway!

4.2 on June 12, 2013

My teenage granddaughter, a dear friend and I had the pleasure of spending 3 glorious days at this river style waterfront home. We booked the carriage house which was bright, tastefully decorated, clean and roomy. The breakfasts were delicious and the host, Diann was accomodating. The house is a museum in itself displaying the collection of dolls, assorted interesting objects, photo books and collectibles from Diann's travels. I recommend this charming spot and would stay there again.


This place is loaded with character

4.0 on June 09, 2013

My wife and I are fairly new to the B&B environment, but are now huge fans thanks to Diane and the Beaulieu House. Diane gave us a great experience, and we plan to return often. The house, the room, and the view exceeded our expectations. We loved the privacy, and the views. We had a great room with a balcony and hammock with a great waterfront view. We were expecting a "marsh view" but the view was over deep water waterway, and we even saw dolphins or porpoises off of our balcony. We also were fortunate to see moon rises each night over the water from our room. We loved the overall location. Minutes to Beaufort for touristy stuff, and a reasonably short drive to Hunting Island State Park which is bar none the best beach to spend a day in South Carolina. Local restaurants are abundant and vary enough to meet most desires. We hope to return very soon.


RELAXING Awesome Weekend Getaway

5 on June 02, 2013

I love this place ! Great place to getaway! We stayed in the "room with a view" and a Hammock! very relaxing and awesome. We had cocktails and beer in the evening plus we were treated to dinner from Diann one night! She is so personable and very accomodating! We brought our small dog who was also welcomed. He enjoyed the "house dog" Jezibal too! The rooms were clean and the breakfast was great! My husband even enjoyed doing nothing. We also brought our son(4) who enjoyed just hanging out. There is a pool if you like which is wonderful for the kids and adults, just across the street (extra nominal fee) . I highly recommend! No matter where you are coming from this is a wonderful BnB!! Thanks! We will be back!


beaulieu house at cat island

4.4 on May 26, 2013

outstanding location, close to beaufort,wonderful veranda for sitting and looking at the islands, lovely hostess


Special Anniversary

5 on May 24, 2013

What a great"get away"!!! Hubby loved your breakfast & wishes he could get "great grub" like that everyday. I loved the whole thing and it was great to get a massage in our room. Your massage gal is the "cat's meow", Ha ha ha!! Soon, you will have everyone in Beaufort celebrating their anniversaries at the Beaulieu House B&B, because we are spreading the word how wonderful it was. I love that we got to watch you marry a couple in the back yard by the river...it was such a sweet ceremony. Thank you so very much for everything, I can't wait to come back on our next anniversary.


Not worth the price!

2.2 on April 30, 2013

We had a four night stay during which time the room was never cleaned, bed made, floor vacuumed, or trash removed. For what one pays a night, one would have expected wine or beer and snacks in the afternoon. Breakfast was a joke! Yes, there was always fresh fruit, but everything was over cooked or even burned. The inn keeper, Diann, hovered around the table and made folks feel uncomfortable. Coffee was a hazelnut blend that made gas station coffee taste gourmet. Better value at Motel 6!

Innkeeper Response
Dear A and K, I was most surprised to receive your review of me and my business. I remember you so well as K has the same last name as my favorite uncle. You complained about my price in your review...I remember when you reserved you weren't interested in spending the extra money for a waterfront room....but, since my best waterfront room was not booked, I decided to give it to you since you would be staying 4 nights. I was actually surprised when you never mentioned the upgrade. It would have cost $160.00 more had you reserved and paid for that waterfront room. Also, you may remember, you did, in-fact have wine your first afternoon here. When I inquired the next day if you would be coming down you told me " K preferred her own brand of wine", and you requested another bucket of ice. You happened to be present at breakfast the two mornings that my old high-school buddy was here with his wife. Perhaps you are referring to the African hunting conversation at breakfast. I apologize if the conversation & my comments made you uncomfortable, but I feel very strongly about wild-life conservation. As for the daily cleaning, I have been running my B&B for 14 years with the same guidelines, I allow my guests total privacy during their stay here, which I specifically outline on my website and which is also posted on the back of the room's entry door. I do provide room freshening on a daily basis upon guest request for an additional $20.00 per day. You did not request any room cleaning during your stay. I spend a fortune on cleaning services and personally oversee the entire process. Generally reviewers award me 5-stars on cleanliness and I have many repeat guests. Thank goodness that I am generally not perceived by my guests in such a negative fashion. I try to treat everyone with respect and friendliness, the same as I treated you.


Great Trip and B&B!!

5 on April 25, 2013

I stayed and had the pleasure to socialize with the owner for most of the trip. She is such a great lady with a lot of travel knowledge. She has a great house guest named Zeb ( i believe) who is a great little Girl dog that hung out. She is quite the character and such a sweet girl to have around. The location of the B&B is incredible and on the river. The views are so wonderful and relaxing. the rooms are warm and comfy and worldly in so many ways. The passion goes into the the decor. I look forward to going back again and spending time there. Gina H


Perfect Stay!

4.8 on April 17, 2013

Our 4-day trip to Beaufort was amazing, partly because of our beautiful accomodation at the Beaulieu House. The service was great. We had a great talk with the woman running the house, she even got us a glas of wine on our first evening there. Her home made breakfast was divine. Fritatta, pancakes, scrambled eggs and always fresh fruits - anything you could dream of. Every morning you will sit together with the other B&B guests which makes breakfast really interesting and you get to know really great people. We throughoutly enjoyed it. We were 3 persons (a family) and had enough space in the room. At the end of our holiday there we wanted to stay a littel longer because it was so nice there and it was no problem at all to prolong the stay. We got another room with an amazing view over the waterfront. We highly recommend the Beaulieu hotel and would love to come back soon. A perfect B&B for an unforgetable getaway!


Excellent Stay at Beaulieu House

4.4 on April 09, 2013

The entire ambience of Beaulieu House and Cat Island is charming, and the accommodations are comfortable and nicely appointed. Our room was spacious, with a lovely view of the water and a hammock on our balcony - all encouraging a relaxing visit. In the evening of our arrival we were welcomed with a treat of wine and cheese, and breakfast the following morning was excellent. We would (and probably will) stay at Beaulieu House again.


Great Retreat!

5 on March 22, 2013

I loved the privacy of the Carriage House. The food was excellent. I will return!


great spot

3.4 on November 14, 2012

We enjoyed this B&B as a good half way point to explore surrournding islands of the low country but close enough to Beufort to enjoy the town. Very quiet. Great view. Good food. The staff was helpful in making plans around the area.


Beaulieu House at Cat Island

5 on September 26, 2012

The B&B was very clean and the rooms are very comfortable. The Innkeeper was very nice and we had an enjoyable time talking with her. She made us feel very much at home. We loved the whirlpool tub in the room. The breakfast was delicious and the company pleasant. The area is very peaceful and we really enjoyed our stay. We would love to come back again for a visit.


Couldn't ask for anything more.

5 on September 23, 2012

Beaulieu House on Cat Island was a perfect get away. The view was wonderful. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. The shower was strong. The food was delicious. Diann was gracious and very helpful.


Quaint B&B for our 1 year anniversary

4.0 on August 17, 2012

It's a nice, quiet, quaint B&B in Beaufort (Cat Island). It's convenient to Beaufort, Port Royal, and surrounding areas. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfasts were awesomely done by the inn keepers with fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, and French toast. The inn keepers were very quick to respond to any problems there or questions about the area. The downside was in the wording of the website. We originally booked the carriage house suite because it stated it had views of the river and golf course. This was not entirely true. The view of the river was only possible when sitting on the veranda of the suite and hampered by the main house on the right, the detached two suites on the left, and a roof line connecting them over the back porch. The golf course is now somewhat obstructed due to 2 new structures that are being built. Not a huge deal, but we were expecting what the website had said. So upon seeing this on check-in, we wondered if one of the rooms on the back of the house (definite river view there) was available, no such luck. This is where I have to praise the inn keepers for making things happen. Jeff wanted our stay to be special and even though we said it would be ok to stay in the carriage house, he made a phone call to the owner and convinced her to let us stay in one of the detached suites on the river. These suites (or at least the suite we stayed in was slated to be a monthly rental) had all of the things we were looking for- a full kitchen, private entrance, and a screened in porch right on the river with rocking chairs. My hat is off to Jeff and Melanie for making this quite an enjoyable stay for us both. Because of them I would recommend this B&B to anyone who is heading to Beaufort, but does not want to be directly in the mix of things. It’s close enough, but nice and quiet. If we head to Beaufort again for a stay, I’m definitely going to stay here again. Now though, I’m reserving room #3 (awesome porch facing river with hammock).


We would go again!

5 on July 26, 2012

Diann is the Inn Keeper and she has a charming and fun personality. You feel welcome immediately and very comfortable. The rooms are very spacious and the view is magnificent. We would definitely return to this B&B. We found plenty to do in Beaufort and the restaurants were great!


A Great Find in Beaufort County

5 on June 22, 2012

We were so happy to find a B & B just outside Beaufort's historic district and away from noise and traffic. Our stay was quiet, the owner was very pleasant and fun and we thoroughly enjoyed seeing the dolphins during breakfast. Also, loved all the sweet babies with their mother's across the road at the country club. We didn't have to drive anywhere and went to the country club pub for dinner. It was all good. Apparently, they have good nightly specials. Also, Diane the owner is an art collector. If you enjoy art and tranquility, you will love Beaulieu House!


Great B and B

4.0 on March 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on March 9 to 11, 2012 and greatly enjoyed our stay. The setting on Cat Island is outstanding - scenic, quiet, and picturesque, especially for rooms overlooking the river. Diann the owner was away, but the innkeepers Terry and Wendy were very gracious, helpful, and accommodating. Terry is also an artist, and makes interesting sculptures from everyday items. I agree with other reviews that the dolls, toys, and other collectibles may be over the top for some visitors, and the directives about lights, towels, heating/cooling are a little obtrusive. All told, though, a definite thumbs up!


Great Place to unwind

5 on November 13, 2011

We were looking for a romantic getaway and found it at the Beaulieu House, hats off to Diann you made our stay every thing we wanted and then some.


Beaulieu House - what a find!!

4.8 on August 02, 2011

We just spent an incredible ong weekend at the Beaulieu House - what a find! We've stayed in historic Beaufort several times and thought we'd try something different for this trip. Cat Island itself is quiet, peaceful and relaxing and the Beaulieu House has the perfect setting on this wonderful island. Great location with just a short drive to Beaufort and Hunting Island State Park. Diann and her wonderful "insitters" are wonderful hosts. My only suggestion would be that Diann add more pictures to the website that include pictures of the rear of the house with it's wonderul porches and the great view out back. A perfect weekend escape...we can't wait to go back!!


Bed, but no breakfast?

3.0 on August 01, 2011

My wife and I took a two week road trip, and agreed to spend a little extra to wrap up the trip by staying at a Bed and Breakfast for the last night. We really enjoy B&Bs, because of the home setting, getting to see what owners have done to remodel the homes, and my favorite...the homemade local breakfast!!! On this trip we brought our two dogs, so we needed to find a B&B that allowed dogs, at a reasonable price. The Beaulieu House at Cat Island agreed to let us stay. It was an hour out of our way, but the pictures and description online convinced us it would be worth the extra drive. When we arrived, we had been upgraded to a room in the main house. The house was very nice and painted in bright colors, with lots of woodwork, which we enjoyed. The neighborhood was very well kept, and we saw a lot of deer at night, even in the yard of the B&B. My only complaint was that we were told that breakfast was not included in our rate. The website boasts, "Full gourmet breakfasts are served "common-board" in the River Room overlooking Chowan Creek and St. Helena's Island.". When we asked how much it would be to have breakfast, we were told an additional $20, but the employee recommended we go into town for breakfast, as this was only a light European B&B breakfast. The house was nice, but not getting to enjoy a breakfast made it not a place to which we will return or recommend.


Four days in Paradise

5 on July 26, 2011

My wife and I spent 4 days at the Beaulieu House at Cat Island. The B&B is beautiful and different and we loved every minute we were there. Breakfast was wonderful and we even met another couple there that we have become good friends with. Diane, who owns the Beaulieu House is so friendly and makes you feel right at home. We can't say enough wonderful things about our stay except that we can't wait to go back for another visit. Mr. Arnold Palmer


Fabulous!

5 on July 11, 2011

We enjoyed every aspect of our visit to Beaulieu House. Diann is the consummate hostess, and everything was wonderful, from the sumptuous breakfasts to the finely attuned rooms. We look forward to retunring as often as possible!


water view with balcony porch

2.6 on June 15, 2011

Dianne was not always on premises when needed...especially when some guests returned to facility and there was no power. Thus lights, air etc all out with temps in high 90's. Room had a pleasant breeze off water and was very basic. Could sit outside on balcony. Breakfast good...not real fancy. Owner Dianne very interesting personality but very disorginized. Pets were welcomed however and that was one of our main priorities.


Wonderful B&B off the beaten track

4.6 on June 12, 2011

This is a wonderful house, with clean and spacious rooms, and the house is a treasure trove of dolls. Gorgeous scenery all around and Diann providing wonderful suggestions for things to do and places to eat, including a not-to-be-missed dolphin seeing trip with Captain Bill


Felt like home

4.4 on May 17, 2011

We LOVED our stay at Beaulieu House! The Innkeeper, Dian, made us feel like we part of her family. There is something to discover in every room. We loved looking thru her many collections. The artwork throughout the house was beautiful. Breakfast was wonderful, not just the food, but talking with Dian while she was preparing it, and the company of the other guests. We will be returning. It will be like going home.


A coming-home kind of place

4.2 on April 06, 2011

I ended up here at Beaulieu House on Cat Island perchance, a minstrel in search of a muse. Upon arriving here, I was immersed in the eclectic wanderlust of hostess Diann Corsaro, the home speckled from floor to ceiling with souvenirs of her travels. I could have been in a Mexican casita, a French pied-a-terre, or my own grandmothers country home. But Diann's caring hostessing made me feel, no matter where I thought I was, I was really home. I loved my shower and tub, my comfy bed, and oversized room. I wished I had time for a tour of the grounds, where we were welcomed upon arrival by wild deer. I will be back. Thanks for a nice stay, Diann.


Beautiful setting, but that's all

4.0 on March 24, 2011

My wife and I had planned a romantic getaway, and all in all, it was successful. However, as regards the accommodation, the Southern charm and openness we had hoped for was missing. The room was fine, but the bed linen, though clean, was past its best and the breakfasts, though healthy, were small and not memorable. I am used to country B+B's away from the big cities and main tourist centers, where B+B is also a way of life for the owner(s). Here it seemed more that the place was a cash-cow for retirement purposes and long overseas vacations.


Great weekend getaway

5 on February 24, 2011

The house if nice. The hosts were great. The grounds and views were good too. We loved the hammock on the veranda overlooking the water. Overall, we had a very nice and romantic weekend getaway.


Mid-December, short but sweet stay

3.8 on January 02, 2011

Great location, as we wanted to play golf at nearby Sanctuary Golf Club. Great room, comfortable and with views of the water. Hostess had a "substitute" as she was away. The breakfast that was served was good, but the substitute "filling in" while the hostess was away needs to learn to prepare a simple egg dish -- scrambled with cheese would have been just fine. Good conversation helped to make up for the lack of a full breakfast. We'd stay there again on our travels south.


Graduation

3.6 on December 20, 2010

Rented the front part of the house in Port Royal. Very convenient to Parris Island. Fantastic restaurants within walking distance. The only bad thing was the walls are VERY thin and the shower did not get hot. There was hot water in tub and sink though. Would stay again!


Great Service

5 on December 08, 2010

I very much enjoyed my stay. The service was well above standards. I would definitely come back again.


Great stay!

5 on December 05, 2010

Excellent accomodation, service and breakfast. Great place to stay you you want to relax. View of the lake is incredibile!


great experience

5 on November 26, 2010

Great experience! Everything was exceptional - the rooms were spotless, the innkeeper extremely helpful and accommodating, and the view divine. Heartily recommend this charming B&B to everyone!


Best Vacation

5 on November 25, 2010

We had a fabulous time. This is the best place to stay in the area when attending Penn Center Heritage Festival and other events. The place is beautiful and the service outstanding.


Southern Adventure

5 on October 18, 2010

This place is amazing! It's quiet and an ideal getaway. It's like being on a whole other planet, but brings the homey feeling as well, full of collectibles and memories! The architecture and decor are top notch; spectacular and intriguing. The view of the ocean is incomparable, full of wildlife, and walking out on the pier is an experience in and of itself! Definitely the BEST PLACE TO STAY in the Port Royal/ Beaufort area - it's close enough to the city, back yard's a golf course, and yet is safely removed from noise and traffic like nowhere else I've ever been. As an experienced traveler, this is by far the best B&B, island getaway, I've ever been at.


Another memorable weekend

3.2 on September 24, 2010

My wife and I have just spent our three weekend in as many years at the Beaulieu House. We've fallen in love with the location; it's a quiet spot at the end of a 3-mile drive off a major highway. Our balcony room gave us a soothing vista across Chowan Creek. This is a prime location for dolphin-spotting (as well as the occasional alligator). Diane's guests with whom we've shared all our weekends provide pleasant conversation and there are always different experiences to share. If you want to kick back and daydream, this is the place.


A River View in Beaufort SC

3.8 on March 27, 2010

I stayed at the Beaulieu House in one of the river view rooms and enjoyed my stay very much. The setting is marvelous and so is the breakfast ... not too much food for a change! It was like staying at a friends house rather than a commercialized place and has the privacy I look for. If you want to see some interesting art, doll and toy collections, don't miss this one! Thanks!


Nice, but needs attention to detail

2.6 on September 21, 2008

My wife and I visited the Beaulieu House for a long weekend. The setting was absolutely beautiful; secluded, with fantastic waterviews, wonderful verandahs and a delightfully friendly hostess. For the price however, I would have expected more attention to details. The bed linens were below average, the pillows were of low quality, the towels should have been more plush and plentiful. There was no bathroom amenities and no robes in our room. We were disappointed to return to our room after a full day out to find it was not cleaned and the bed was not made. On the other hand, breakfast was absolutely wonderful each morning, served comfortably in the dining room. With just a little attention to details, what is a nice inn could very well be one of the best inns we have ever visited.


Beaulieu House at Cat Island

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $225
  • Reviews (52) 4.4
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8437700303
  • Fax 1-8437700303
  • Mobile 1-8435750303
  • Toll free 1-8668147833

Visit Website »

View details

Top