Recent Reviews in South Boston, Virginia

Top Notch B&B at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on August 25, 2016

I stayed at Charles Bass House B&B in August. It was a very good experience for me and I recommend it highly. The house is very well kept and John went out of his way to accommodate us in every way that he could.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing experience! at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 25, 2016

My girlfriend and I came up to South Boston and stayed in the Charles Bass house. It was a wonderful experience! John made us feel like royalty. the house is spotless, john is very welcoming, plus the breakfast he made was delicious. I'd highly recommend this bed and breakfast for anybody

View more reviews for this inn


Nice stay at Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on June 29, 2016

Our stay was just one night. The room was nice, bed comfortable but the best part was the breakfast. We had plenty of food, all freshly cooked with even fresh out of the oven berry coffee cake. We didn't utilize any of the grounds because it was a quick stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant surprise at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on March 05, 2016

Spacious rooms, great value, comfortable and relaxing. Wish I could have stayed longer.

View more reviews for this inn


Hospitality and charm in a beatiful home at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 02, 2015

My October 2015 stay at the Charles Bass House was delightful. John is a gracious and attentive host, and truly makes you feel as though you're a guest in his home. Staying there was like a mini-spa vacation...the hot tub was great after driving, with a glass of wine to enjoy as well, and made for a relaxing evening. John's restaurant suggestion of nearby "Bistro 1888" in the center of South Boston was equally enjoyable, with excellent food and a great atmosphere. I stayed in the first-floor suite, which was huge, very comfortable, and impeccably clean. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. I'm looking forward to future reasons to return to Charles Bass House!

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to stay! at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 14, 2015

We had a wonderful stay at the Charles Bass House B & B! John was a great host. We enjoyed the hot tub, the soothing music, the comfortable suite, the local wine, and the delicious breakfast. John directed us to a restaurant for dinner where we had a fantastic meal. It was a lovely stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on August 20, 2015

My family (my husband and I, my brother and his girlfriend, and my parents) stayed in this B&B while in town for a family wedding in May. The hosts were very accommodating of our boisterous group, and we enjoyed the dogs and the tour of the estate. Breakfast was great, rooms were clean, and we were so much happier staying here than at a chain hotel in South Boston! Beautiful house and grounds, great breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Valentine's Day Weekend Getaway at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on February 22, 2015

If you want a relaxing home away from home experience this is the place to go! My husband and I had an amazing Valentine's Day Weekend here and we can't wait to go back. The house was beautiful, clean, comfortable, and worth every cent we spent. John is a wonderful host and great cook. He made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in the door and we really enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub. I can't recommend this venue enough!!!

View more reviews for this inn


B&B done right at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2014

John Fulton knows his business, and every detail is just right. We've stayed in dozens of B&Bs over the years, and the Charles Bass House is our favorite. We love the suite downstairs -- it is plenty of private space, and the atmosphere in the house is perfect with wine and snacks available, music, and a well-maintained hot tub that is just the right temperature. Add in coffee on the sun porch in the morning, followed by a delicious breakfast, some social time (but not too much) and for us, the experience is just what we need when we plan a getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Charles Bass House at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on September 07, 2013

Stayed one night, first time at a Bed and Breakfast. It was during the weekday, so there was no hot breakfast, but we had the best continental breakfast we'd ever had! We really enjoyed it!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing house and host! at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on September 05, 2013

John was so welcoming and friendly. He was the perfect B&B host- he made us feel welcome but he didn't push himself on us too much or infringe on our privacy. The house is gorgeous and the room was clean and beautiful. The price was so reasonable. Definitely staying here again if we ever find ourselves in the South Boston area!

View more reviews for this inn


The BEST!!!!!! at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2013

You can tell that John takes pride in his establishment and has a passion for detail. The heavenly bed, soft music, candles inside and out, along with the perfect temperature of the hot tub, ensured that I would experience the best night of rest and relaxation. Waking up the the smell of breakfast cooking and a gracious host made it hard for me to leave. This place is a must if you are in the area. If not even in the area, it is worth the trip if you are looking for the perfect place of peace. Thanks John!!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Oak Grove Plantation at Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

3.8 reviewed on July 11, 2013

Enjoyable stay; friendly & helpful host; interesting family & home history. Nice place to stay in a pastoral setting.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2013

I highly recommend this B&B. John is a wonderful host and the house is gorgeous with an inviting hot tub.

View more reviews for this inn


Review by an Inside-outsider at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 15, 2013

I stayed at the Charles Bass House B&B from June 6-12, 2013. I live in IL, but I grew up in Halifax County. I wanted an alternative to a standard hotel, so I was delighted to find that this home had been converted to a B&B. I cannot rave enough about it. The home itself is absolutely magnificent. It has been beautifully restored and it is so elegant and comfortable. I stayed in the guest suite on the main floor, which has a large bedroom, a private bath and a private sitting room with TV. It is right in the heart of South Boston, but it is still quiet and you can sit outside without being bothered by too much noise. This is only minutes from the dining/shopping areas in downtown South Boston and Town of Halifax. Check out The Prizery to see if there are any concerts or Little Theatre productions while you are in town. It is also very close to several of the best restaurants in the area. As for amenities: I did not try the hot tub while I was there, but it is on a sheltered deck and you could enjoy it year-round because the weather is moderate even in the winter. The outside deck on the back of the house is idyllic. There is ample seating and a nice patio set with an umbrella for eating or reading outside. There is also off-street parking which was very convenient. Mr. Fulton is a gracious host and an excellent cook, so make sure you are hungry for breakfast! I think I gained about 5lbs during my stay. Fresh fruit every day, muffins and scones on weekdays, and freshly cooked bacon & eggs on the weekend. Oh, and great music and conversation! If you can't tell, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I cannot recommend it highly enough. I will most definitely call him first next time I go back for a visit. I hope this review will convince you to give it a try, or if you are local, to recommend it to family and friends. And if you do stay there, be sure you say hello to his dog, Raisin!

View more reviews for this inn


A gem in Southside Virginia at Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on May 29, 2013

I apologize if this review appears twice. Submission error occurred the first time I wrote this. My wife and I had a wonderful time at Oak Grove Plantation. It looked very interesting online and offered dog-friendly accommodations so that we could take our Standard Poodle with us on this getaway. When we learned that the owner, Pickett Craddock, had two Standard Poodles, that sealed the deal for us. Virtually everything about our visit lived up to our expectations. The house was well-appointed and interesting from an architectural and historical perspective. Our room, the Library, was generous and well-appointed. I loved the built in bookshelves, and the separate entrance made it easy to deal with the dog when necessary. Pickett made delicious and healty breakfasts with lots of fresh ingredients, and the converation around the breakfast table was consistently enjoyable. The grounds were lovely, and we had an opportunity to hike some of the trails which wind their way through the property. The trails were wide and well-maintained -- no machetes needed! South Boston and Halifax were pleasant surprises for such small towns. There were a number of interesting places to visit (don't miss the Prizery in South Boston or the sculpture gardens). There were also several outstanding restaurants which would hold their own in any major metro. Finally, the dogs. Pickett's dogs, Bonnie and Niko, are total sweethearts -- friendly, playful and well-behaved. Our dog Jefferson had a blast romping with them in the yard. I think Bonnie and Niko had fun also. If you like dogs at all, those two will get away with you. One very minor quibble was that the mattress on the bed sagged in the middle, so that I felt like I was sleeping uphill. Not terrible, but not as comfortable as I would have preferred. Still, that is a minor flaw in what was an otherwise outstanding experience. We will definitely come back another time.

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend getaway! at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on May 08, 2013

I had an awesome experience staying at Charles Bass B&B. I went for a weekend getaway for simple rest and relaxation and this was the place to go! John Fulton was the perfect host making sure that I was comfortable. I will definitely return for another r&r weekend! Larry Cline

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 19, 2012

We had a most enjoyable stay at Charles Bass House B&B. We felt very welcomed from the moment we arrived! Our room, which was a suite was so lovely , decorated so nicely. Our breakfast was so delicious, homemade blueberry pancakes along with other breakfast foods. We would recommend this B&B to anyone traveling in that area.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful at Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on October 15, 2012

My mother and I enjoyed our stay very much - it helped to have a vivid imagination!

View more reviews for this inn


Peace and Quiet at Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on September 10, 2012

We had a stressful time at home and wanted to get away to a peaceful place to recharge. Oak Grove fit the bill. Nice rooms in a 100+ year old house decorated with ancient photos of the relatives. Great breakfast with the owners and other guests which took forever because we found so much to talk about. Sitting on the front porch, drinking wine and reading our mystery paperbacks. Priceless.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Bed and Breakfast at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2012

Our stay at the Charles Bass House was enjoyable in every way possible. The house was lovely, the bed comfortable, the bath spotless , the drinks upon arrival fantastic, the orange/cinnamon french toast and fresh fruit breakfast yummy, and the hot tub relaxing! We will definately return again and again! All this for $100.00?????????????? Crazy Talk! lol

View more reviews for this inn


Great b and b at Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on July 14, 2012

Beautiful room and sitting room in a first floor suite. Lovely furnishings and accessories. Nice bath attached. Enjoyed the hot tub and the breakfast muffins.

View more reviews for this inn


birthday treat at Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on June 20, 2012

We went for a weekend stay in Virginia and stayed at the Oak Grove Plantation B&B. This B&B is wonderful and we enjoyed the peace and quietness. Our hostess explained about the history of the plantation. Thank you for a wonderful weekend

View more reviews for this inn


What a find! at Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on June 14, 2012

For those who appreciate history and a touch of luxury, Oak Grove is a wonderful place to stay in this area. My room was spacious, well appointed, and the bed could not have been more comfortable. Pickett is a lovely and welcoming host and makes delicious breakfasts! I only wish I had had more time to roam the beautiful grounds, but I will make sure I do next time.

View more reviews for this inn


Visit with Girlfriend at Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2011

My best friend and I stayed at Oak Grove the last weekend in September and it was great and the Innkeeper was a fine hostest. The food was good and the companionship was even better. Would recommend this for anyone who would want to get away from the day to day activities and relax.

View more reviews for this inn


One of the best at Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on June 28, 2011

It was more than we expected.Hostess was gracious and very helpful.Rooms were clean.Breakfast delicious!Loved the soft bathrobe provided.Hope to go back!!1

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}