Recent Reviews in Sonora, California

Perfect Weekend Getaway at Barretta Gardens Inn (Sonora, California)

5 reviewed on February 08, 2016

For a weekend getaway from the Bay area, my boyfriend and I stayed in the Tempranillo suite and found it to be very romantic, with the decorations and the whirlpool tub en suite bathroom. The thermostat in the room was stable and kept everything very comfortable, the bed was warm and there was everything from the typical toiletries to soft robes to lounge around in. It was a pleasant surprise to have it so clean compared to other B&Bs I have been to, as both my boyfriend and I are sensitive to dust and animal dander. Checking in was seamless, and we were greeted with some tasty oatmeal raisins cookies and tea. Coffee, cups, cream, and sugar were set on the table outside our room early in the morning, which we took back into the room discretely after we woke up before getting dressed for 9am breakfast in the dining room. Breakfast was balanced and delicious, not your typical continental or rough American style fare. Astrid is a lovely person to speak with, and has a lot of stories to share on really anything you can think of. She is attentive, kind, and accommodating with excellent recommendations on where to eat in the area. She has the living room stocked with brochures and pamphlets on activities in the area as well, should you ever need suggestions on those. I would definitely make an effort to stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful Winter Excursion at The Inn on Knowles Hill Bed and Breakfast (Sonora, California)

5 reviewed on February 04, 2016

Our trip was scheduled to Sonora to visit with family after a recent tragedy. Mr. and Mrs. Buess, the owners of Knowles Hill, treated us to hospitality that was unparalleled in our previous stays at other B&Bs. The breakfasts were truly scrumptious. The 1920s era home is masterfully decorated and lovingly detailed. We stayed in the Charles H. Segerstrom Room with the adjoining "Boys Room" for our daughter. The inn is located conveniently within walking distance, up and down the hill, from old Sonora. It was also an easy and gorgeous drive to Columbia State Park, which we visited twice; Yosemite; Big Trees State Park; even Stockton is only about a 45-minute drive down the hill. We were treated as family. The next time we are in northern California, we will not stay anywhere else.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Accomodations at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2016

We keep returning to the McCaffrey House Inn because the owners, Michael and Stephanie McCaffrey, make you feel very welcomed and comfortable in their Inn. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bathrooms are large and the showers are great. The breakfasts are delicious, filling and served to you in their lovely dining room. You can't go wrong if you book a get-away here.

View more reviews for this inn


Another great stay! at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

4.4 reviewed on January 02, 2016

Michael and Stephanie, again made us feel like family. I also enjoyed the upgrade in our room.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place to Relax at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2016

We have stayed at McCaffrey House several times and totally enjoy the experience. The innkeepers are friendly and helpful and love taking care of their visitors. The rooms are lovely and each one is different. The house is welcoming and warm. We a have a different breakfast each morning which includes fresh fruit, eggs or bread pudding, bacon or sausage and delicious coffee. If you want a great experience, any season of the year, we totally recommend McCaffrey House.

View more reviews for this inn


Best and Beautiful McCaffrey Bed & Breakfast in Twain Hart!!! at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

5 reviewed on December 29, 2015

Most wonderful host, Stephanie McCaffrey and most beautiful Christmas Ever!! I definitely will visit again!!

View more reviews for this inn


Definitely five star! at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

5 reviewed on December 29, 2015

Definitely a five star Bed and Breakfast. Beautiful location and the service was outstanding. -- B Myers, Reno, NV

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

3.8 reviewed on December 25, 2015

A lovely home in a beautiful setting

View more reviews for this inn


Holiday stay at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

5 reviewed on December 16, 2015

This is the most beautifully and tastefully decorated holiday house we've ever stayed at! So joyful and lovely. Stephanie managed 2 really tasty vegan breakfasts for us, and we had a truly lovely stay. Cindy McCarthy

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and cozy stay! at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

4.8 reviewed on December 09, 2015

We stayed at McCaffrey's for Thanksgiving weekend and Stephanie and Michael were so gracious and friendly. We had a very cozy stay, with the fireplace in our room and a very welcoming environment. The breakfast was delicious. It was like family. Loved it. We visited Sonora - vintage shops and restaurants and hiked around the Pine Crest Lake. Wonderful stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Anniversary Stay! We'll be back! at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

4.6 reviewed on November 11, 2015

What a fantastic place!!! My wife and I tried it out for a few days for our anniversary getaway and the weekend couldn't have been better. Michael, Stephanie and Marlene were all fantastic hosts...great to chat with, friendly and fun. And the doggies were sooooo nice!! We wanted to take them home with us (the dogs, lol!). The house was spotless, the rooms were comfy, the morning breakfasts were delicious and perfect, and the atmosphere was very relaxing. We will definitely be coming back to Twain Harte to visit soon, and we'll be staying at the McCaffrey House again!!! We love finding spots like this!

View more reviews for this inn


Very pleasant retreat in the Sierra at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

4.8 reviewed on October 24, 2015

Perfect place on our California tour, very nicely decorated house, owners very helpful and knowledgeable about the region, great breakfast

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay but too far from Yosemite at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

4.2 reviewed on September 25, 2015

This was a lovely, comfortable and welcoming B & B. The owners were helpful and accomodating in ever way. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. The drive to Yosemite was over hour each way but it was a pleasant ride with beautiful scenery. If you hate windy roads, you may want to forgo the trip since they're are many.

View more reviews for this inn


Two Night Stay in Sonora at Barretta Gardens Inn (Sonora, California)

5 reviewed on August 15, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed a two night stay in Sonora at the Barretta Gardens Inn. Astrid and Danny are wonderful hosts, although Danny was gone most of the time we were there as he does have a day job. Nonetheless, Astrid was a valuable and willing source of information and recommendations on activities, dining, etc. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean, well appointed, and comfortable. The location is quiet and peaceful. The gardens are spectacular, a labor of love that Danny has accomplished over a period of years. Lush vegetation, a koi pond, fountain, etc., etc, afford a wonderful place to relax. The front porch or side screened porch both offer peaceful locations to sit and enjoy the surroundings. The breakfast served each morning by Astrid was perfect, and coffee was available to enjoy beforehand. We visited Yosemite on the day following our arrival, and the drive to the entrance is about an hour. There are a number of dining options available, and Astrid is familiar with all of them, and can make recommendations based upon your budget, preferences, etc. I recommend Barretta Gardens Inn without reservation. It offers a good base from which to explore Yosemite and other area attractions.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

4.0 reviewed on June 08, 2015

I believe I did this already but will gladly do it again,. The hosts of the property were exceptionally polite and gracious, the room I stayed in was very romantic for me and my lady. To wake up with the view of the forest in the large picture window was awesome for the beginning of a day, to bring peace of the wilderness into the room exceptional. will I stay there again YES!!!!! also the breakfast was to die for Barry

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding B&B at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

4.6 reviewed on June 08, 2015

Probably the best B&B we have stayed at. Stephanie and Michael have perfected every detail, and went out of their way to make us feel like welcome guests in their home. They could write the book on how to run a B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


The perfect weekend getaway! at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

5 reviewed on May 27, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at McCaffrey House for the Memorial Day weekend. The gourmet breakfasts and the staff's hospitality went beyond our expectations; we truly felt at home. We also enjoyed a couples massage in our room with the scenic redwoods and chirping birds just outside our window. It was the perfect escape from the city life.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B! at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

5 reviewed on May 11, 2015

Excellent experience with the McCaffrey House! Very hospitable innkeepers and beautiful Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


piece of Paradise at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

4.2 reviewed on April 19, 2015

We stayed because the purpose of our visit was to get to know the area & the people. We are considering purchasing a vacation home. Thank you so much for the warm welcome.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful getaway at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

4.4 reviewed on April 02, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at McCaffrey House. Stephanie and Michael could not be more warm, welcoming, and gracious. The accommodations are comfortable, and the food was exceptional. The breakfast bread pudding is out of this world! If you're looking for a mountain getaway in California's charming gold country, we highly recommend McCaffrey House.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B I've ever stayed at! at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

4.2 reviewed on February 19, 2015

I've done a number of B&B when my wife and I where childless but only get out once or twice a year now with our daughter so we have some pretty high expectations. We came to the McCaffrey house with our 2 yr old daughter and where really impresses. The room was great with a separate area for our daughter in a quiet and comfortable room. The setting was beautiful. But best of all the owner was very outgoing and kind. I have ciliacs disease and don't eat wheat which the owner worked around. The food was outstanding and I had just a wonderful experience. I can't recommend this place enough. We are comming here for our future stays in this area.

View more reviews for this inn


Heaven at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

5 reviewed on February 04, 2015

I first came across McCaffery house over two years ago and planned the visit for my 50th. so in the Autumn (or The Fall) I took my family to California and booked in. It was everything I hoped it would be and more.... My only slight comment would be the owners could do with keep the dog poops off out of the view of the bedrooms... Thank you for a wonderful holiday!!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Stay! at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

5 reviewed on January 26, 2015

Staying at McCaffrey house was a very pleasant experience. There was a fireplace in our room, which was a lovely an romantic touch. The windows looked right out on the forest, all around. Stephanie is a wonderful cook, as well. And their pets-Finnegan and Blue the dogs and Granite the cat-were a joy to be around! I would love to return someday.

View more reviews for this inn


our 27th anniversary at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

3.8 reviewed on January 03, 2015

After a very difficult 2014, it was so nice to go to the MCCaffrery's home and feel like I went to my mom's for the holidays! We enjoyed meeting the family including the dogs! The food was awesome. We will be returning for another visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Our second trip to the McCaffrey House! Thanksgiving was wonderful! at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

5 reviewed on December 14, 2014

We stayed at the McCaffrey House Labor Day for four days and at Thanksgiving for three nights. Stephanie and her husband have always been so kind to my husband and I along wth our fur baby Sug. The other occupants were friendly and always had entertaining conversation along with amazingn food. During Labor Day we were able to enjoy the outside, and easily drive to PineCrest to get in the water and soak up some sun. We also visited Columbia, which is close by too, and experience a very old fashioned setting and take amazing photos. Jamestown is another great place to visit with antique shops and nice coffee shops. Twian Harte, where this bed and breakfast is has amazing restaurants minutes away that are yummy and offer outdoor seating and some are pet friendly. McCaffrey House offers massages and will accommodate your needs in the request form when you make your reservation. This bed and breakfast is gorgeous inside and out and the location could not be more perfect for that special getaway to relax and recharge. We will be back as soon as we can!

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy Inn in Twain Harte,CA at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

4.0 reviewed on December 04, 2014

Cute, cozy place in Twain Harte,CA. Most adorable two dogs of the owners made the stay even more memorable. Clean&comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved it! at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

5 reviewed on November 17, 2014

Warm friendly home, I felt like I was home as soon as I walked through the front door. I especially loved the four legged welcome host at the front gate who escorted my wife and I to the front door. I will definitely visit this B&B again!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful B&B at The Inn on Knowles Hill Bed and Breakfast (Sonora, California)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2014

If only every bed & breakfast could be as fantastic as The Inn on Knowles Hill. The room was delightful and very comfortable. The breakfast prepared by Rhonda each morning was a gourmet delight. My daughter and I stayed as part of a group that took over the Inn. It was such fun and was like staying with friends at their home. Thank you Rhonda and Fred.

View more reviews for this inn


Worth many return visits at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

5 reviewed on October 06, 2014

This was a return visit to our favorite B & B. As always, Stephanie and Michael and their staff made us feel welcome and valued. Our room was delightful as was our breakfast. Keep up the good work! Charlotte B

View more reviews for this inn


A Warm and Welcoming Retreat in Twain Harte! at McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Twain Harte, California)

5 reviewed on October 05, 2014

The McCaffrey's provide a wonderful atmosphere in their charming inn. Stephanie's breakfasts are amazing and the inn is filled with warmth and goodwill from the proprietors, staff and guests alike. We spent three days there recently and would love to go back, as many of the guests we met seem to do regularly. The setting is lovely--big trees all around--and the canine residents (Blue and Finnegan) are the perfect addition to the ambience. We loved it!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}