Recent Reviews in Smoketown, Pennsylvania

Home Away From Home at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on August 31, 2016

This is our home away from home when we stay in Lancaster County. The Kepiro Family are warm and welcoming and Lori's continental breakfast goodies are the best! I've been coming here for at least 12 years and we absolutely love it.

View more reviews for this inn


Lodge not Bed and Breakfast at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on February 15, 2015

We just spent the weekend here. We loved our visit with Lori upon arrival. The accommodations were beautiful and very well maintained. We have been staying in B&B's for years and noticed a big difference in this Lodge/B&B. There was no common area for guests and this is one of the great things about B&B's, being able to fellowship with other guests We had to have our breakfast in our room because there wasn't any sitting area. The homemade breakfast items were delicious and there were also other items available to have such as instant oatmeal and english muffins. A big thing we noticed about breakfast was there wasn't any milk, juice or fruit available. That was disappointing. In our opinion it was just like staying at a hotel and did not meet our expectations of a true B&B. Maybe it should just be considered a lodge

View more reviews for this inn


Our Lancaster area yearly visit. at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on February 13, 2015

We have been coming to the Homestead Lodging for 16 years, Lori was pregnant with Jill the first time we came. Now our son gives us a gift certificate for 2 nights each year and we stay an extra night because we love the area and all of their good restaurants. We consider Lori and Bob to be good friends, they are a lovely couple with 2 wonderful children.

View more reviews for this inn


Home Away From Home at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on January 11, 2014

We have been visiting Pennsylvania for the last 20-25 years and we always try to stay here when we can. We are from east Tennessee and when we pull in the driveway at Homestead we feel like we are at home. We originally started coming here because we had an antique consignment business and we enjoyed going to the antique markets. We no longer have the business but we continue to return because we just love the area. Bob and Lori always make us feel like family. There is plenty to do in the area and the location at the Homestead is perfect for exploring it all! We have enjoyed our many visits here. The place is always immaculate and the continental breakfast consisting of Lori's homemade goodies is always scrumptious. Thank you Bob and Lori for making us feel at home. We hope to return for many more years! Richard and Pat Light

View more reviews for this inn


A visit that is always Home from Home at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 06, 2012

Travelling from Staffordshire , UK , on our regular visits to the US we always make efforts to stay at Homwstead Lodings . The facilities in every aspect are first rate with the hosts Bob and Lorie only too pleased to provide a quality service supported by a warm welcome and a genuine smile. This Bed and Breakfast really complements the beautiful Area of Lancaster County .

View more reviews for this inn


Far better than " chain " accommodations at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on September 22, 2011

This home is in the heart of the interest area for which people come to this region. Not too far to drive to local areas, and less than three miles to Costco! My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here in the middle of Sept. 2011, for three days. Everything is as advertised, and mostly better. My wife and I will only stay at clean decent places - and we intend to come back here for another stay. Don't come here if mediocre is your standard.

View more reviews for this inn


Like visiting close friends!! at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on September 19, 2011

Visited from Worcestershire, England for 4 nights as part of a two week holiday at Easter 2011 having been to Minneapolis for a wedding and Washington DC . Lori and Bob could not do enough to ensure that our visit to Smoketown was relaxed but full of interesting places to visit and great places to eat. Room overlooked the Amish Farm which was fascinating, while not disturbing their Amish neighbour's privacy. Secluded, quiet but close to Lancaster and Strasburg. Weather was warm so able to sit on their patio to read surrounded by green fields and the meandering river-beautiful! Nothing was too much trouble and their children were delightful and helpful too. Breakfast is continental but adequate to start the day, Lori cooks all her own pasteries!! Highly recommend for its position, views and one of the warmest welcomes I have had in many visits to the USA. It provided great "down time" in a busy holiday and we then moved on to Gettysburg which is only 1hour 20 mins away which as Brits we found fascinating.

View more reviews for this inn


All that I could ask for, and more at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on September 05, 2011

I have stayed at Homestead Lodging often during the past 16 years. It not only has everything I could ask for, also, because I sometimes travel alone, I ALWAYS feel totally safe and protected there. I will be staying with Bob and Lori again later this month and am so looking forward to being there and seeing them. I think that the disapointment that someone voiced is due to not asking questions. If you look at the name of this place, nowhere does it say "bed and BREAKFAST"; it says lodging. A continental breakfst is provided, as stated on their website. If you make your reservations on the website, this information is provided just under the "rates" table so that you may factor that into your decision. Rooms and bathrooms are nice, comfortable and clean. All that I could ask for, and more.

View more reviews for this inn


We keep going back! at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on August 20, 2011

My husband and I live in Florida and are both retired. We often look for places to stay that are clean, quiet and have a small but good breakfast. Well, let me tell you, this is the PLACE!!!!! Lori and Bob can't be any nicer and more helpful. They have recommended great places to eat and visit. The breakfast is just right for a "senior citizen", I really don't think you need all that food, do you? She has beautiful fresh baked pastry every day. Also, there are bagels, muffins and oatmeal.Oh, and the coffee and tea are never ending. What more could you want to get your day started?????? Besides with all the Amish food, you will certainly get your fill later on in the day. We have stayed with them twice and plan on staying again in May of 2012. Can't wait to see you both. LoAnn and Bill Arnauckas

View more reviews for this inn


Very clean, great location, pleasent hosts. at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on June 26, 2011

My wife and I booked this place on internet on 6/25/2011 looking for bed and breakfast place (as advertised) for one night. On arrival we were greeted and welcomed by Lori. We were shown to our room on the second floor, nice room very very clean one could see all the nooks and cranies in the bathroom vere very clean, as well as the bedroom area. It was a little dificuld to walk into bedroom because the bathroom (3feet) was directly in front of the door so you had to walk into the bathroom then close the bedroom door and walk into the bedroom from the bathroom. However the breakeast was the bigest disappointment, no sit down area, two choices walk outside the house up and down on outside steps to the open patio or carry your coffe and mufing up narrow and steep stairs to your room and fight the bathroom door again. We wanted Bed and BREAKFAST thinking sit down "English" breakfast, instead it was less much less then normal "Continental" breakfast. Now we come to the paying surprise! if you pay with the credit card be prepared you will pay more then a quoted price. It all added up to our disappointment. Sorry Lori but taht's how we feel. Peter and Joeie

View more reviews for this inn


Loved it! at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on September 18, 2010

My husband Chris Cunningham and I stayed at Homestead for 3 nights and we thought it was clean and beautiful. We took many business cards so we can recommend Homestead Lodging to our relatives and friends. We will definitely use them in the future. The price was reasonable and the had a great breakfast. I give them an A+. Thank you Bob and Lori! Have a wonderful season.

View more reviews for this inn


Our experience at Homestead was a true pleasure. at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on September 16, 2008

Lori and Bob were phenominal hosts. They did everything they could to make our stay with them a great experience. Their location is central for taking in all the sites and experiences of the Lancaster area. I definitely would return to the Homestead.

View more reviews for this inn


Lancaster Countys Best Kept Secret at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on August 25, 2008

Exceptional in every way, the hosts Bob and Lori did all they could to make our stay most welcome. The rooms were exceptionally clean, tidy without the loss of character. The location was ideal in every way to visit the fine surroundings of Lancaster County.

View more reviews for this inn


Always Welcome at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on November 14, 2007

We’ve been staying here at least once a year for almost 20 years and it’s always a pleasure!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful! Clean! Beautiful Surroundings! at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on November 14, 2007

Never have I stayed in a better place! Lori made breakfast such a wonderful experience that though we planned to eat upon rising, we chose instead to partake in some of the best muffins (homemade) we had ever tasted! Four very fussy (past middle-aged) women all agreed we can’t keep our homes in such immaculate conditions! Kudos to Lori!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Home Atmosphere at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on October 15, 2007

The stay with homestead lodging was a relaxed and peaceful vacation. Breakfast was served promptly each moring . Bob and Lori were so accomodating and helpful. We highly recommend Homestead Lodging

View more reviews for this inn


First time at a B&B at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 20, 2007

This was my mother and i first stay at a b&b. We couldn't have had a better time. The room was clean the morning breakfast was wonderful and lori and robert were very nice. We would definitely come back again.

View more reviews for this inn


All Around Great Stay at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on August 31, 2007

Our family very much enjoyed our stay at Homestead. This B&B was a unique blend of custom built home / hotel. The rooms were of ample size all with adjoining baths. Sort of motel accommodations in a private home. The hospitality was wonderful and the breakfast pastries were to die for. The view and property were beautiful and the value was appreciated. We most definitely will stay again if in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful hospitality! at Homestead Lodging (Smoketown, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 01, 2007

I spent 6 days there last July and one night this past March. It was clean as a whistle in a beautiful setting and the innkeepers could not have been more hospitable or helpful! The pastries in the AM were to die for!! I challenge anyone to try to beat Lori in the art of baking! All I can say is, GOOD LUCK! You have your work cut out for you! I would never stay anywhere else if I were in Lancaster County, that's how much I loved it there!! If you go there, tell Lori Miss Apricot recommended her inn! She'll know exactly who it is!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Homestead Lodging (4.68)
Top
}