Get a free $50 Restaurant.com gift card with a $100+ purchase

Recent Reviews in Smithville, Texas

Weekend stay at 9E Ranch Cabins Lost Pines Bastrop (Smithville, Texas)

4.2 reviewed on June 30, 2014

My family of 6 stayed in the Daisy cabin during a weekend wedding engagement. What a lovely, peaceful time we had! The kids enjoyed the animals, and we enjoyed the seclusion!

View more reviews for this inn


More beautiful than you can imagine at 9E Ranch Cabins Lost Pines Bastrop (Smithville, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on May 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Texas Lone Star cabin, and it was more than we could have asked for. First of all, the scenery was absolutely breathtaking. On top of that, we couldn't get over how cute the cabin was, and it was clean and had everything we needed (a stove, pots/pans, dishes, shower, a/c, extremely comfy bed, etc.). It was the perfect first stop on our Texas road trip. The only thing I could mention that isn't even a real negative is that other guests said in their reviews that they got waffles, breakfast tacos, etc. for their breakfast. Our breakfast was a case of eggs in the frig and three muffins. We aren't complaining. We just made our own breakfast and went on with our day. The muffins looked homemade and were good, but we thought we were going to have a breakfast made for us since it is a "bed and breakfast," and that was what the other reviews had led me to believe. Maybe you only get a homemade breakfast if you stay for more than one night. I don't know. Either way, the cabin was awesome, and we definitely plan on returning. It was exactly the romantic getaway we wanted. From the walking trails, front porch sittin', awesome oldies CD selection and the adorableness of the log cabin, I assure you that you cannot go wrong with 9e ranch!

View more reviews for this inn


Bluebonnet Room Wknd at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

3.6 reviewed on May 19, 2014

Sallie met us upon our arrival, wonderful host! Chocolate chip cookies were baking, the smell of fresh baked bread permeated the house, very inviting. She took the time to tell us where everything was and escorted us to our Bluebonnet room making us feel very welcomed. Room was comfortable & cool (window unit/ceiling fan). Sallie was kind enough to make us reservations at the local "hot" spot on Main St. for dinner; even gave us a heads up about a group of diners that were getting there ahead of us, to get our order in prior to their arrival! More than enough for breakfast, great conversations & don't miss an evening sitting & swinging or rocking in the chairs on the front porch listening to the trains and enjoying a breeze! Thanks Sallie & Bruce for an enjoyable stay...

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Mother's Day at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 14, 2014

Did this as a surprise for my mom flying in from LA. I have to say, Sallie is very knowledgeable and helpful with providing the history of the town and a delicious spot to have a nice dinner! The breakfast, company and conversation was fantastic and we felt part of the family with how friendly everyone was. Will definitely have to go back. YAY!

View more reviews for this inn


Better than Marriott's Austin Courtyard South at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on May 06, 2014

The value is much better than Marriott's Austin Courtyard South. I wish my red eye flight had allowed me to stay for Breakfast, but I had to leave at 2:a.m. so I expected to not eat, so can't really rate it. The German Chocolate cake was good. Very Southern Hospitality. Ceiling fans and air conditioner were great for hot flashes. and mini fridge was very helpful. Bruce was very knowlegeable about house history.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderfl & Relaxing at 9E Ranch Cabins Lost Pines Bastrop (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2014

My husband, 6 month old son & I stayed at the 9E Ranch this past weekend for our first family vacation. It was amazing. We stayed in the Daisy Cottage, it was warm and inviting and we all felt right at home. Joan made us homemade Blueberry muffins that were absolutely delicious! There were Longhorns, Horses, Chickens, & Ponies on the property that our son fell in love with. They also have many wonderful hiking trails that we spent hours on. We found this place through a Google search on accident and it was one of the best vacations we've ever had! I highly recommend the 9E Ranch to anyone looking to escape their hectic city life you won't be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Darling little cabin and beautiful Spring wildflowers at 9E Ranch Cabins Lost Pines Bastrop (Smithville, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on April 28, 2014

We booked the "Lonestar Cabin" for a weekend in April. Perfect time to visit the ranch. The wildflowers are in full bloom and we got amazing pictures in the bluebonnets on the property. The weather was pleasant for exploring the grounds, spending time chillin on the front porch with our dog, and sleeping with the windows open. +1 for pet friendly! The Lonestar Cabin is one main room with a loft. That may seem small, but for a traveling couple we found it to be cozy and spacious enough for our needs. The rental is well-appointed with cookware and dishes and spices (we made spaghetti and meatballs), nice soaps/shampoo, extra towels, books, radio, etc. Just bring a change of clothes and walking/hiking shoes! The owner even leaves you fresh muffins and eggs from the chickens on property. The Lonestar Cabin is fairly private. The ranch lane passes by the house, but all the other cabins are quite a distance from this one and we never felt encroached upon. One important thing to note: The well water on the ranch is VERY sulfurous. I'm sure it's fine to drink, but if you're sensitive to smelly water, I would recommend bringing your own gallon jugs from HEB for drinking and cooking. Also, be aware that this is a ranch in Central Texas and you will encounter fire ants, wasps, and the occasional scorpion (we didn't see any scorpions). That said, we found the interior of the cabin to be completely free of bugs. The house seemed well-constructed and the windows are newer with quality screens, so you can let the breeze flow in at night. Bottom Line: Had a great time, farm animals!, beautiful cabin, pet friendly, close to Austin - LOVE IT.

View more reviews for this inn


We loved the Katy House B&B at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 24, 2014

Sallie and Bruce are stellar...had a wonderful stay. Thank you so much.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome experience at 9E Ranch Cabins Lost Pines Bastrop (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 23, 2014

Our family had a fantastic time escaping city life and retreating to the 9E Ranch. The Ranch is the perfect place to discover nature and find peace. The Ranch is very child friendly, and the hosts are warm and wonderful. I can not recommend the 9E enough to someone seeking nature at its finest!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming House, Charming Hosts at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on April 22, 2014

Excellent hospitality. Convenient location in walking distance of downtown Smithville. French toast and jalapeno cheese grits were breakfast high points. Bruce and Sallie are warm and friendly. Getting to know them was the best part of our weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


Heaven! at 9E Ranch Cabins Lost Pines Bastrop (Smithville, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on April 16, 2014

A perfect place to get away and relax in the country. Great views, hiking paths, beautiful horses and longhorns. Loved it.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved our stay at 9E Ranch Cabins Lost Pines Bastrop (Smithville, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on April 06, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lone Star cabin at 9e ranch. It looks extremely rustic, but was very well made and clean. Any amenity we needed was on hand and the muffins left in the fridge were delicious!

View more reviews for this inn


A very special experience! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2014

We recently stayed at the Katy House B & B and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The rooms are delightful and Sallie & Bruce most hospitable. We had friends visiting from Missouri and it was a real treat for them to see the wildflowers in the area and to stay in the Bluebonnet room with the gorgeous hand-painted tub.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful hosts, beautiful house at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on March 24, 2014

The house is gorgeous, warm and welcoming. The hosts, Sallie and Bruce are incredibly charming and fun. I will be back for another stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Great get-away not far from the bustle of the big city! at 9E Ranch Cabins Lost Pines Bastrop (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 17, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the peaceful, relaxing atmosphere that surrounds the cabins. From the carefully decorated interiors to the rustic exterior, we appreciated every detail. Joan and Kent are incredible hosts and extended a warm welcome. The walking trails are great and were a real treat to someone who typically walks in a residential neighborhood. We will definitely return with the hope that we can stay longer next time!

View more reviews for this inn


Incredibly impressed with my first B&B stay! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on February 20, 2014

Bruce and Sallie are incredible hosts, and seem to be incredible people. I stayed in the Katy Tower and it was very well decorated. My stay was in mid-February, and the first night I stayed, it did get a little cool at night. It took me until my second night to figure out exactly how to work the two heaters. The whirlpool tub was great, and utilized both days! The only problem is that the clip to hang the shower head was broken, so showering was a bit of a task. Breakfast in the main house is absolutely NOT to be missed. Sallie and Bruce are incredible cooks. The egg bake was delightful, and the homemade bread which became toast was out of this world. There are usually two jam selections and I thoroughly enjoyed the Fredericksburg peach variety. The french toast was also amazing. The conversation during this family style breakfast is a great way to get to know the other guests, Sallie and Bruce, and a generally great start to your day!

View more reviews for this inn


The Real Texas at 9E Ranch Cabins Lost Pines Bastrop (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on January 10, 2014

If you are a city-dweller, like I am, treat yourself to a few days at 9E Ranch. Our family had had enough of New York and Chicago, and we all gathered here for 3 days of bliss. We walked paths through the rolling hills, saw Longhorn cattle and horses, visited tiny old Texas towns, ate amazing barbecue, and saw an entirely different side of this great country we live in. Reasonable prices, and a memory that will last forever. We can't wait to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Delicious Breakfast only surpassed by Hospitality at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on January 09, 2014

We stayed with a family of four (two adults and two teens) in the Conductor's Quarters. We returned to this B&B based on an excellent experience during a previous stay. I was pleased that the layout of this room replaced a wee table in the kitchenette with a twin bed because that meant more (sleeping) room for all and was a better utilization of the space for our family. The breakfast selection, quality, and quantity was as awesome as we remembered - juice, homemade grilled toast, filling and tasty egg dishes, top-quality bacon, etc. And to top their hospitality from last year, the hosts invited my parents who live in the area to join us for breakfast one morning; my parents were super-impressed. We'll be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Bed and breakfast with a smile at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 20, 2013

I can't think of anything that would improve Katy House. I just wish we'd been staying more than one night. Sallie and Bruce were attentive and good company at breakfast. And what a beautiful home they have. What more can you ask for?

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and peaceful working ranch at 9E Ranch Cabins Lost Pines Bastrop (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2013

We love to stay at the 9 E Ranch, especially in the Eagle's Nest Cabin. We were really up in the pines with lots of windows and a beautiful view. It is a quiet and peaceful place to get away from it all. The star gazing is the best around. The cabin is very clean and the bed is very comfortable. Thanks to Kent and Joan for your hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay in Smithville! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.0 reviewed on September 30, 2013

The inn is very nice and roomy. Breakfast was truly superb. Check in and out was easy. Not noisy, and very very clean. We found the room to be a little warmer than we liked but we cranked down the A/C and it was fine later.

View more reviews for this inn


A perfect stay. at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on September 20, 2013

I was here for business in Smithville and was very pleased with my stay at the Katy House. Bruce and Sallie are super people and the breakfast was great! Great rooms, the house just is full of character and history. A wonderful stay!

View more reviews for this inn


I luv Sallie and Bruce! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on September 18, 2013

I enjoyed my stay so very much. Sallie and Bruce were great hosts and people. I am glad i had a chance to meet and talk with them as well as the other guests. I learned a lot! My dogs were also welcome and tolerated:) I will be going back on those weekends I have nothing to do and just want peace and great company.

View more reviews for this inn


Felt at home at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

3.6 reviewed on September 04, 2013

Convient location. Enjoyed visiting with owners and other guest. Food was special. Owners had great recommendations for local dining and shopping. Enjoyed learning about the Katy RR and history of Smithville.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Location, Great Breakfast, Great Company at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on August 31, 2013

My husband and I were in town for the Smithville HS football game and chose this lovely home to stay in. Our hosts were delightful and our room was comfortable and charming. Breakfast was outstanding, I asked for the recipe for their egg bake and the house blend coffee had me breaking my one cup limit. We will totally be back next time we head to Smithville.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming... at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time staying at the Katy House! Sallie and Bruce are an amazing couple to have as host and hostess. We felt at home right away! It is a beautiful home and we are grateful to have experienced it. We loved visiting Smithville and the surrounding area. It was very relaxing...just what we needed!!! We will absolutely be back!!! :) Thanks, Sallie and Bruce!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Friendliest hosts ever! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2013

Sallie and Bruce at the Katy House were our hosts during a film shoot for "Red Winds". They are the best hosts ever. The rooms are all unique and well considered. Also, having a casual, delicious, home-cooked breakfast and engaging conversation in the morning was a superb treat.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Texas Hospitality B&B at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2013

The most Hospitable B&B we have visited.

View more reviews for this inn


Thank you Joan and Kent at 9E Ranch Cabins Lost Pines Bastrop (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2013

My Mom and I stayed in the Daisy Cottage in April for our annual trip to the Round Top Antiques Market. We could not have felt more at home. The house was exceptionally clean and had all the amenities of home - and beautifully decorated too with Joan's art! We also enjoyed visiting the friendly donkey's as they will follow you around. We met Joan and Kent, the innkeepers and they made us feel so welcome - really lovely people! We will be coming back next year and beyond. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable and memorable! Sincerely, Jackie Johnston

View more reviews for this inn


Don't miss this great B&B in an old Railroad Town in Texas. at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on May 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Katy House - named after the Missouri, Kansas, Texas railroad lines shortened to K-T when referring to this Texas part and then to the well known Katy line. Temporary home to several movie stars when filming in Smithville for movies such as Hope Floats, Doonby and Under the Western Sky, Artois the Goat and several more, it's a small enough town to walk about to the antique shops, restaurants, art galleries. A warm welcome, great food and relaxing stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}