Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
73 Reviews

Write A Review

Enjoyable

4.2 on December 11, 2013

I stayed at this bed and breakfast as a second choice. Let me tell you I lucked out. It was a marvellous experience. It was not a bed and a room to stay in, it was way more than that. It was an enjoyable time in a rather stressful time in my life. I have to go back to Moose Jaw in January and have already booked my room there. Pleasant conversation with owners and other guests every morning. Great breakfast hat did not cost me thirty dollars extra.


Great place to stay in Moose Jaw,

5 on December 11, 2013

We have stayed at Wakamow Heights B&B several times while visiting family in Moose Jaw. John and Lois are wonderful hosts. And Lois' s Mother is a most interesting lady to visit with over breakfast. John has done extensive renos to this wonderful century old house. Every time we've visited, something new has been done. We highly recommend a stay at this B&B.


January 1, 2013 I was welcomed in on a miserable night of travel!

5 on April 14, 2013

My hosts John & Lois, welcomed me in with NO notice. John helped me unload my freezeables and fridge foods. Lois gave me the freedom to walk thru and choose my room, and oh what choices in this charming B&B! That night, it was the cozy RED room on the 3rd floor, I found out later called the Penthouse:)....I arrived looking like a deer in the headlights with nerves jangled, due to the icy road conditions! They helped me settle in quickly so that I could relax and enjoy, the clawfoot jetted tub in the room. Breakfast was superb the BEST ever omelettes along with a vist from Gladys an inspiration for us all, with smiles and color to brighten any snowy winter day. Time spent with Lois & Gladys after breakfast and the acknowledgement of continued poor weather conditions another night was encouraged and enjoyed, to REST and RELAX a little more! The hosts flexibility and down to earth hospitality is a rare gem for certain. I look forward to many more stop overs to come, on my travels. Western Canada's Nomadic Woman - Brenda


Ahhh-some!

4.4 on February 20, 2013

I had a lovely get away at Wakamow heights! My hosts were friendly, personable and very much small town home-y hospitality. It is a beautiful Victorian ambiance, but with all of the modern amenities! The deep jetted tub was heavenly, the electric fireplace was cozy and my stay so refreshing, relaxing and rejuvenating! Wakamow Heights is a perfect compliment to the unique city of Moose Jaw!


Wakamow Heights

5 on November 14, 2012

Beautiful setting and home, attention to details. Breakfast was delicious. Lois and John are warm, welcoming hosts. My daughter and I had a wonderful time. My daughter, in particular, enjoyed the home and relating it to history. She mentioned it would be fun to do some kind of school project on the B&B sometime! Thank you.


Enjoyable

3.2 on September 24, 2012

Wakamow Heights is a nice place to stay. It is currently under renovation and the rooms are not yet fully complete, but this does not detract from making it an enjoyable place to visit and clearly, a step above hotel accommodations. I'm sure we would stay there again if we were planning a visit. Lois and John are very nice people and are happy to spend time with visitors, which is what a good B&B does.


A Quiet, restful place to relax.

5 on September 18, 2012

This is a beautiful place to stay with a great view of the city, yet quiet qnd peaceful. The hosts were wonderful and served a fantastic breakfast.


relaxing

4.4 on September 09, 2012

My mother and I stayed in the balcony room, it was pretty nice. It was very clean. Just felt like the room was put together quickly as in the painting and ceiling tiles were slaped on.... But we were still very comfortable, the place was nice and quiet too. The breakfast in the morning was perfect! Wonderful fruit and veggies from the garden made it very tasty. The hosts were great and very welcoming. I would definitly recommend it to others and also come again.


Pleasant Saskatchewan B&B

4.0 on September 09, 2012

After 5 days of camping in Jasper and Banff National Parks, we spent the night at Wakamow Heights B&B. It was a great stop on our roadtrip for a night, delightful hosts and charming, clean rooms. We enjoyed relaxing on the terrace that was connected to our room (the Balcony Room) and even watched a DVD from the large collection. Great stay!


Wouldn't Stay Anywhere Else in Moose Jaw

4.6 on August 29, 2012

We had a fantastic stay here! John and Lois were outstanding hosts and made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Great food, beautiful home, and fantastic company!


We want to come again & again & stay longer,

5 on August 28, 2012

I am a Victorian era decorating enthusiast & everything about our stay fit the bill.


A nice overnight stay

3.8 on August 21, 2012

The grounds of the B&B were lovely. You can see an incredible sunset over Moose Jaw. The hosts were friendly and made sure that we were comfortable. The price was more affordable than other hotels nearby so that was great. Overall, our stay was relatively pleasant.


Wonderful stay in Moose Jaw

5 on August 16, 2012

An idyllic spot close to the city. The hosts were superb. Breakfast excellent and accomodating all our dietary allergies. A very nice stay


A Great Stay

5 on July 19, 2012

If you're heading to Moose Jaw, and need accommodations, look no further than Wakamow Heights B&B. We recently stayed at this fine establishment and were very impressed with the professionalism of the hosts and the comfort of their home. Besides being treated to a very large Penthouse suite with wireless, cable, jacuzzi tub and more, we had a delightful meal the next morning amongst great conversation. Don't miss this gem.


Back in Time

4.4 on March 02, 2012

Lovely Couple. Loved the rooms. Enjoyed looking at all the antiques. The lawns and veranda, beautiful!


We will be back...

4.0 on November 20, 2011

had a wonderful time. Great breakfast, wonderful hosts, beautiful property.


Big Sleepover weekend...

4.4 on November 19, 2011

Wanted to share that we truly enjoyed our stay with Lois and John. They are extremely generous and kind hearted. The breakfast was delish and the company was great. We stayed several days to watch our son play hockey - and we had lots of fun. The Wakamow has the character and charm of old mansion built by a Saskatchewan Pioneering family. The history of the house is very interesting. Great time we'll be back!


Best kept secret in Moose Jaw

5 on November 18, 2011

My cousin and I needed a convenient, comfortable and relaxing place to stay during a recent trip to Moose Jaw. The Wakamow fit the bill on all counts. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed with interesting antiques throughout. The breakfasts were filling and delicious. It was just what we were looking for to serve as a focus point of our "family reunion." The personal attention from the host and hostess was appreciated. The location is convenient to the walking trails. We will definitely be back.


First Time B&B Visit

4.0 on November 18, 2011

Great hospitality, great breakfast, great decor. Very nice rooms. Renovations on-going but that is understandable for a 100 year old home. Will definitely try more B&B's after this experience.


Unique place to stay

3.6 on November 11, 2011

Was an amazing place to stay. We enjoyed the old house charm and detail of this home.


A step back to the old traditional values and service

5 on November 08, 2011

A nice balance between traditional amenities and old fashion charm.


Nights Stay

3.4 on November 02, 2011

I think it will look nice once all the renovations are complete. We were a little concerned about all the extension cords by the fireplace and the electrical when we went to use microwave and it blew the breaker immediately.


20th Anniversary

4.0 on November 02, 2011

Very nice and cozy. Innkeepers are striving to finish all aspects of remodeling with this mansion. Very friendly and cordial. We would visit it again.


A HOCKEY WEEKEND with friends and family

5 on November 01, 2011

When we arrived at this beautiful Mansion on the hill we had Lois Knowles great us at the front entrance and she showed us to our rooms. We stayed in the Victorian Room that had a magnificent view of the City, beautiful claw jetted soaker tub and yes each room has their own bathrooms. The morning breakfasts were so tasty and well prepared. While we enjoyed drinking our coffee, Grandma Gladys would quietly join us in the dining room and share some of her valuable stories. John and Lois work so hard to make sure everything is fixed just to perfection for their guests. We felt so comfortable in their home and thank you for all your efforts. We will definitely stay with you again and tell other hockey friends.


Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast

3.2 on October 28, 2011

The innkeepers were wonderful. They were very accommodating when we asked if our grandchildren could come for a visit. The rooms were very comfortable and we would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Moose Jaw.


Great place to stay with friendly hosts

3.8 on October 12, 2011

Great place to stay with friendly hosts. Nice location near local trails.


Very nice change from a hotel. Very friendly owner's.

3.4 on October 06, 2011

The bed was very comfortable, rooms very big and the breakfast was great.


Moose Jaw's Best

4.2 on October 04, 2011

John and Lois are wonderful hosts who offered lots of local advice. The breakfast was delicious and sitting in the spacious sunroom was so pleasant. We enjoyed meeting the other guests. We enjoyed talking to Lois' mom Gladys who had so much information about the history of the area.


Our Vacation Beginning

3.2 on August 30, 2011

I enjoyed staying here...my children did too. The character of the suite is undeniable. There is a wonderful charm, and the tub, wow. To die for. We all had a turn! There were some small things, that if they were done inside the suite (finishing) that for me would have swept me away, but overall, we were very happy with the stay, and my daughter loved the tea cart and tea cups....the old world charm.


Excellent B & B

5 on August 24, 2011

We stayed at this wonderful B & B for the second time this August. We loved the beautiful Penthouse Suite with its own jacuzzi, comfortable beds and plenty of room. The breakfasts were delicious. On top of all this and most important was the wonderful hospitality shown to us by John, Lois and Gladys. We'll return again when we visit Moose Jaw!


Incrediable and fun

5 on August 16, 2011

The most amazing place to stay and relax. We go again and again.


A great place for a honeymoon

4.0 on August 09, 2011

My new wife and I decided to try out a bed and breakfast. We were really happy with our choice. The breakfast that John and Lois served were very good (love those fluffy pancakes). The room we were in was clean and very elegantly decorated. Going into town was just a short drive away, and the valley was beautiful for walks, afternoon lunches, etc. So there were lots of things that kept us busy between breakfast and bed. Also, the rates were comparable to booking a hotel room. I'd say give the bed and breakfast a call before you book the hotel. :) John and Lois were amazing hosts. Thank you.


Historic home under renovation

2.8 on August 06, 2011

Historic old home undergoing renovation-premises are rather untidy. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was good.


good night!

3.2 on August 06, 2011

good location, very friendly owners. The rooms are greatly renovated with comfortable beds, airconditioning. Breakfast was good but could have had a bit more variety.


Wonderful B&B!

4.4 on July 24, 2011

Beautiful rooms and delicious breakfasts for a great price. Will stay there again when we come to Moose Jaw!


Outstanding B&B

5 on July 19, 2011

You will not be disappointed with this wonderful B&B The heritage home is just the beginning of your awesome stay The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are oh so comfortable. Lois is the best hostess and her breakfast was very satisfying


Wakamow Heights is Outstanding

5 on July 05, 2011

We really felt welcome and enjoyed our conversations with other guests. The property itself is historic, unique, and well cared for, with modern conveniences in all rooms. Really a great place!


a beautiful old house

4.0 on June 29, 2011

Only stayed one night but enjoyed the atmosphere very much. Beautiful old home with lots of period furniture and lovely old wood. Big common area on first floor. Building under renovation at present but didn't really interfere with our stay. Peaceful and very quiet setting. A very enjoyable experience.


A great B&B experience!

3.8 on June 25, 2011

We usually just hotel it between Calgary and Winnipeg but decided to look around for a B&B that we could depend on. I'm a little concerned about the 3 day cancellation notice though.


Great spot!

4.0 on June 09, 2011

We have stayed at hotels in Moose Jaw in the past and were pleasantly surprised and glad that we decided to try a b&b. John and Lois were very friendly and accomodating - even serving breakfast earlier than usual so we could get to the golf course! We'll be back!


Little Sleep

3.6 on June 08, 2011

I thought that my room was lovely and I loved the big T.V. which I could watch from bed! Food was good and the hospitality was good. The bed was a little uncomfortable. I appreciated them allowing me to use their place as a backup for indoor photos for the wedding I was working at. I would have appreciated a heads up prior to my arrival about the Relay for Life taking place at the nearby park. I could hear loud music until 4am-allowing me very little sleep, which was frustrating since I was taking pictures at a wedding the next morning. If pre-warned I probably would have cancelled my reservations and tried this B&B at a later date. I tried to get ear plugs but no stores were open. I was offered to change rooms at 11:30 pm that night. I attempted this but I found the other room uncomfortable as my stuff was not in there. Since the room was being renovated I could faintly smell the saw dust causing me to return to my own room where I had only a few hours of sleep. (Due to an allergy) No discount was offered upon checkout for the inconveience, which was dissapointing.


Waka "WOW"!!!

4.0 on June 04, 2011

This was our first B&B experience and we were pleasantly surprised. Stayed only one nite, but enjoyed it so much that we plan to return for a longer stay. Hosts were wonderful!


Great Stay May 2011

3.6 on May 29, 2011

No problems here. Beautiful rooms and a great hot breakfast served to your table.


Great Stay

4.0 on May 23, 2011

Great value for money with nice clean rooms and a great breakfast.


Good value for the money

4.4 on May 17, 2011

John and Lois definitely make you feel at home and do all that is possible to accommodate you during your stay. The location is great and the price of a room for the value is a lot better than your typical hotel room. The penthouse was going through some renovations when we stayed but once complete it should be quite nice. Breakfast was amazing!


Charming and Warm

4.4 on May 04, 2011

Staying at Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast was a treat in itself. If you're looking for charm, warmth and comfort, consider staying here. The experience is so much richer than that of a sterile feeling hotel. The owners are friendly and caring and the accommodations have character. I will definitely stay there again.


Great Stay in a Magnificent House

4.2 on April 04, 2011

We loved our stay at Wakamow Heights B&B. Both John and Lois were very friendly and willing to share some of the house's history. Rooms are beautiful and the view is great. If we ever have to stay in Moose Jaw again it will be here! Thanks.


A Highly Recommended Place to Stay

3.8 on March 28, 2011

My girlfriend and I came back to stay here for a whole weekend this time because one night was just not enough. The value, cleanliness, and dining all met my expectations because I knew from our first stay that it they be great. I would recommend to anyone and will definitely stay here again. Great rooms, great food, and run by great people.


our weekend

4.8 on March 20, 2011

We just got back from a awesome weekend at this b&b... we were met by the hosts .We were in the executive suite... what a wonderful and charming room, great view and the soak-er tub was very nice,quiet, peaceful and very serene, with an awesome view of the valley...i will tell all my friends and family to come here as our hosts treat you like you are part of this family....i didn't wanna leave... thanks


Wonderful Place to Stay!

4.0 on March 13, 2011

Great people, great rooms, great beds, great tub and great food! We've already recommended this place to our friends and families.


If you like constant renovations..

2.8 on March 07, 2011

Wakamow Heights is a beautiful place but is under constant renovations. We were there 2 years ago and again a couple of weeks ago. Both times the house was in a renovation state. The first 4 hours of our stay had constant construction noises of drills, hammers and sawing. Not what I had in mind for a special night away. We were given a small discount but not enough to make up for the irritation of the evening.

Innkeeper Response
As always, we love to hear good comments about the job we do, but we also feel it is important to hear when a guest has a reservation concerning their stay. Though we do appreciate your thoughts on the topic we would like to reply to your comments. We are sorry you were not happy with your Feb. 19 stay and we fully understand your reasons. Our electrician was booked to come between 11:00 am and 3:00 pm on Feb. 19, before our guests were to arrive. Unfortunately he came right at 3:00 pm and there was not a thing we could do about it as that was the only day he could make it, the day you were booked in. Of course I knew that the noise the electrician was making was distracting you and that is why we deducted $30 off your stay. We also told your fiancé, the day you arrived that we would be doing that. Believe me, we would never have had any noise going on while guests were in the house if it were not for that reason. We just could not send the electrician away as apparently there was no other time he could be there. We apologize for that error as this is generally a very peaceful, quiet place to stay. John and Lois, Innkeepers


Amazing!

4.4 on February 16, 2011

My fiance and I spent a night at Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast for a weekend getaway in Moose Jaw. We were amazed at the beautifully decorated veranda as you walk into the house, the decor of the room and the service in general. John and Lois were great hosts and John even gave us a private tour of the house. Everything at Wakamow Heights was top notch. The jacuzzi tub was relaxing the antique furniture was beautiful, the bed was so comfortable and the breakfast was very good! If we ever return to Moose Jaw we will definitely be booking a room at Wakamow Heights! Thanks John and Lois! Brigitte and Brian


Wedding Night at Wakamow

4.0 on February 16, 2011

We made reservations but were changed to the terrace suit due to renovations. Room appeared exactly as the pictures. It was beautiful. Absolutely every comfort we could have asked for.


Thanks it was Awsome

4.6 on February 16, 2011

The Location has an incredible view on a hill facing the city, the river and a Park (skiing the Park was awesome). The house is beautiful, very peaceful and comfortable. The breakfast was truly outstanding, the tea cup of fresh fruit put it over the edge. John and Lois are real people, a pleasure to visit with and share their home. Can't wait to go back in the summer!


Hidden getaway

3.8 on February 14, 2011

Enjoyed our stay, such a unique place to get away! Only stayed one night too short, but excited to go again when it is warmer!


A very nice place

3.8 on February 13, 2011

My sister and I were given a stay at the Wakamow B&B as a gift. We stayed in January, which is not the best time of year to enjoy the out door activities, but the house was lovely. The setting is in the valley, so in the summer time one could enjoy walks in the valley and the out door. It is a lovely character home, with an interesting history as part of the establishment of Moose Jaw. The hosts were great, and very knowledgeable about Moose Jaw. It was clean and friendly. The renovations should be complete this summer and it will be even nicer. I recommend the place.


Our stay at Wakamow heights

4.6 on January 17, 2011

Such kind and caring people who know how to make their guests feel welcome and at home. We have been here twice and loved it. We will definitely be back!


Best weekend getaway

5 on January 07, 2011

My boyfriend and I were plesently suprised when we arrived at our room. The atmosphere of Wakamow Heights B&B was even better than we read on the site. We loved the look of our room and then jacuzi tub. The owners were wonderful. We don't know anywhere else where your host can give you rest. recommendations based on their own experience. We would most def. come back and we do recommend others to check it out as well. Its a gorgeous place to get away anytime of year while close to downtown Moose Jaw.


December Stay at Wakamow Heights

2.8 on January 02, 2011

Cozy . Would probably enjoy stay in the summertime more.......to enjoy the patios and views.


A home away from home.

3.6 on December 14, 2010

Our fourth visit and we'll keep going back. John and Lois are wonderful hosts.


What a great time!!

5 on December 14, 2010

Thank you John and Lois, we had a tremendous time, so much so we stayed an extra night!! The breakfasts were amazing and the room was magnificent. Thank you again for all the insight for my future endeavours and you will hear from me soon when I have it all up and running!! Thanks again, Mike and Miranda


Great place to stay.

4.6 on December 13, 2010

Stayed overnight. Wonderful atmosphere and genuinely nice people.


Quaint and Elegant

5 on November 30, 2010

This place is outstanding. We live in Moose Jaw but go there every year for our anniversary. Mostly because of the jetted tubs. The breakfasts a great, they make us feel very welcome. What a view! We found this place to be great value for our money.


Best Place To Stay!!

5 on November 22, 2010

I come to this B&B every year for a weekend getaway and keep going back. I highly recommend this place for your next trip as this is one of the best B&Bs you'll find. This beautiful brick mansion has lots of period antiques and finishes, with an overall charm that's hard to beat. All the rooms are individually decorated and tastefully furnished and each room has it's own unique touch. You can always guarantee to get fresh clean sheets and linens with the most comfortable beds ever. One of my favorite features is the jacuzzi tub, with it's powerful jets you can soak all your troubles away. A delicious gourmet breakfast is always served with a warm friendly smile and the atmosphere is always welcoming. The owners are very personable and accommodating and make you feel right at home. An added feature is it's beautiful wrap around veranda overlooking Wakamow Valley with its gorgeous landscape in the front complete with a beautiful water fountain. Overall, very comfortable, clean and cozy place to stay with very warm hospitality. You will be sure to leave with a smile at the door and guarantee you will be back!!


"Just the two of us"

4.4 on November 11, 2010

Very interesting house, the deck would be nice when the weather was warmer. The hosts are extremely friendly and and very nice people.


Home away from home

5 on October 31, 2010

Lois and John are excellent hosts. Their knowledge of Moose Jaw and the history of the house plus their eagerness to share made our stay beyond our expectation. Our room was as pictured, quaint and restored to the feel of earlier times. It was roomy and the TV(remote) kept my husband happy. It was fun to have breakfast with other guest, find out what events they had or were taking in at Moose Jaw. The breakfast was homemade and very tasty, but we heard John's pancakes are the best so we will be going back for them! Thank you Lois and John


Great place to stay

3.6 on October 19, 2010

Unfortunately we were only passing through and were only booked in for one night. A beautiful old home with fabulous woodwork inside. Especially like that it is "out of the way" and it's a nice little drive through the park and up the hill to get there. It was too cool to be able to spend time outside but it would be great in the summer or earler in the fall when you could spend time out on the upper deck that goes around the house. We would definitely stay again!!


Wonderful hosts & great accommodations

5 on October 15, 2010

I have had the opportunity to stay at Wakamow Heights B&B several times when visiting Moose Jaw. Lois & John Knowles are exceptional hosts.....eager to share the history of their home and of Moose Jaw. They serve an excellent breakfast. Visiting with other guests from all over makes breakfast at Wakamow Heights a memorable experience. The spacious and nicely decorated rooms with their own ensuites are comfortable and a relaxing place to be. I will stay at Wakamow Heights on my next visit to Moose Jaw.........and the next and the next and the next.


Classy old mansion

4.4 on October 08, 2010

We had a wonderful time in this stately home. The house has been lovingly restored and furnished with beautiful antiques.


A Wonderful Stay while on the Road

4.4 on October 01, 2010

While travelling for work I stay in many places throughout the Prairie provinces. Wakamow is one place I will come to again. Comfortable, relaxing and genuinely what I think of when I think B & B.


amazing

5 on September 30, 2010

my husband and i decided to get away for a couple of days and found this bed and breakfast on the website we never stayed at a bed and breakfast before and were'nt sure what to expect but it was so amazing the house was beautifull and the hospitality was great they really make you feel like your at home and the food was delicous we deffinatly will go back there. cheri and jason


A Lovely Stay

4.6 on September 13, 2010

Wedgewood Room lovely. Great hosts and a superb spot after a day's travelling!!


The Best Place to Stay in Western Canada!

5 on August 29, 2010

Lois and John Knowles are an amazing couple who have renovated a Heritage Home in Moose Jaw and created one of the Best B&B's I have had the pleasure of visiting. Each room is uniquely and beautifully decorated containing many extra personal touches; real wine glasses, a Fine China Teapot with china cup & saucer for your tea (a variety of teas provided), and hearty coffee mugs. After watching a movie, provided with Popcorn by the B&B, I luxuriated in a jacuzzi tub and wrapped my self in a large warm bath robe. After a good sleep on a comfortable bed, I was treated to a large tasty Breakfast is served with flair on fine china; Fresh fruit, including wonderful Saskatoon Berries, Flax Toast, bacon and eggs and lots of Great coffee. Engaging conversation is another highlight of the trip and the host couple create a homey welcoming atmosphere for all guests. I have met so many wonderful people at this B&B and will continue to bring my friends to this splendid place. I highly recommend this B&B.


Wakamow Heights Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate CAD 99 - CAD 120
  • Reviews (73) 4.3
  • Rooms 6

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3066939963
Top